Shahid Afridi recovers after testing positive for Covid-19

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I’ve been feeling unwell since Thursday; my body had been aching badly. I’ve been tested and unfortunately I’m covid positive. Need prayers for a speedy recovery, InshaAllah <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/pandemic?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#pandemic</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/hopenotout?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#hopenotout</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/staysafe?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#staysafe</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/stayhome?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#stayhome</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1271720209657630720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 13, 2020</a></blockquote>

Wish him a speedy recovery inshallah

Its no surprising tho the amount of times ive seen pics of him on his charity drive without adequate social distancing

He has nothing to worry about, how many 16-year olds has Covid consumed? :batman:

jk - get well soon!

Get well Soon Lala.

You may have not taken your cricketing career seriously, but you have been a real human being off the field.

#hopenotout

Best wishes to him.

Hope he makes a quick recovery.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Misbah "My prayers & well wishes are with Shahid Afridi. May Allah help him recover soon. He was doing a lot of charity work in Balochistan & Northern Areas for people of those regions. Throughout this situation he's been helping the poor and has been doing an excellent job"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1271740112628518913?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Get well soon Lala.

I am pretty disappointed to see comments from some indians on social media and youtube. Some of them saying stuff like 'RIP' and laughing like idiots. How can people make fun of others when our own country is suffering from the same virus?

Prayers for your speedy recovery Afridi.
Get well soon.

Get well soon Lala.

I am pretty disappointed to see comments from some indians on social media and youtube. Some of them saying stuff like 'RIP' and laughing like idiots. How can people make fun of others when our own country is suffering from the same virus?

I read the comments under his twitter and think whether humanity is dead in India, and then I log on to PP and see your comments and it gives me some hope.

As for Shahid Afridi, I pray you make a full recovery and get back to helping humanity as quick as possible.

So sorry to hear :(

Shows that no one is immune to this and Covid-19 is no joke. Whilst Afridi has been out and about on a good cause, there is a very good reason why the world is shouting about social distancing.

Lessons to be learnt from this. When a strong lad like Afridi can feel the body ache than this is serious stuff.

The thing that makes it worse is that this is truly irresponsible behaviour by Afridi for travelling around the country (whatever cause it was). Simply because he has not only endangered himself but also his family, friends and loved ones who he has been meeting for the last few weeks.

May Allah have mercy and hope he recovers soon.

Very sad news but Inshallah he will recover soon

Get well soon Lala.

Absolutely right. Some of the comments by the Indians are nauseating. They did that even when the PIA crash occurred. Pathetic stuff and absolutely disgusting behaviour!

Hope Afridi recovers quickly. He should be ok, as most young people are recovering. Get well soon Lala!

Absolutely right. Some of the comments by the Indians are nauseating. They did that even when the PIA crash occurred. Pathetic stuff and absolutely disgusting behaviour!

Hope Afridi recovers quickly. He should be ok, as most young people are recovering. Get well soon Lala!

Dont think we should delve on such people - they exist everywhere but I just wish some big names got up and said enough is enough.

===

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir also kept aside his long-standing feud with Afridi and hoped that the latter would recover soon.

“I have political differences with Shahid Afridi. But I hope he recovers soon from coronavirus,” said Gambhir while talking to SportsTak.

World Cup-winning India cricketer and Bharatiya Janata Party MP Gautam Gambhir wished Shahid Afridi a speedy recovery after the Pakistan cricketer on Saturday revealed he had contracted the novel coronavirus.

Gautam Gambhir, speaking at Salaam Cricket 2020, said he might have his political differences with Shahid Afridi but he doesn’t want anyone in the world to be affected by the Covid-19 pandemic.

“Nobody should be infected with this virus. I have political differences with Shahid Afridi but I want him to recover as soon as possible. But more than Afridi I want every person infected in my country to get well as soon as possible,” Gauram Gambhir said.

“I have to worry about the people in my country. Pakistan has offered to help India but they need to provide help in their own country first. They have offered to help and I am thankful for that but first they need to eradicate the cross-border terrorism.”

Shahid Afridi, who has been out on the field with his charity organisation Shahid Afridi Foundation, on Saturday took to social media to reveal he had been feeling unwell with a severe backache over the last few days and that he decided to take the test for Covid-19.

"I’ve been feeling unwell since Thursday; my body had been aching badly. I’ve been tested and unfortunately, I’m covid positive. Need prayers for a speedy recovery, InshaAllah (sic)," Afridi said in a social media message.

Meanwhile, Pakistan head coach and chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq also wished Shahid Afridi a quick recovery from the virus.

“My prayers & well wishes are with Shahid Afridi. May Allah help him recover soon. He was doing a lot of charity work in Balochistan & Northern Areas for people of those regions. Throughout this situation he's been helping the poor and has been doing an excellent job,” Misbah was quoted as saying by Pakistan journalist Saj Sadiq.

Shahid Afridi is not the first international cricketer from Pakistan to test positive for the virus. Former opening batsman Taufiq Umar revealed in May that he tested positive for novel coronavirus.

Earlier in April, first-class cricketer from Pakistan, Zafar Sarfaraz also tested positive in April. Sarfaraz, however, was not able to recover as he died due to the virus.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...ery-misbah-ul-haq-pakistan-1688640-2020-06-13

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi has done so much for those in need. He's travelled all over Pakistan recently to help so many people. Best wishes to him in his recovery from Covid-19 <a href="https://t.co/h8byfX1OhV">https://t.co/h8byfX1OhV</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1271730043161632768?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 13, 2020</a></blockquote>

Hope lala recovers soon, and hope his near and dear ones stay healthy.

Shahid Afridi tests positive for coronavirus

In a tweet, Afridi said that he had been "feeling unwell since Thursday and his body had been aching badly" He added that he got tested for Covid-19 which came back positive.
He requested prayers for a "speedy recovery".

Get well soon dear.

Sad to see people trying to turn this into yet another India bashing thread by reacting to online trolls..

Get well soon Lala :afridi

Not surprising. I hope he recovers quickly. We need more people like him in this world.

Wishing speedy recovery for Lala..

There are lot of Afridi fans in India and we all wish for his speedy recovery.

Afridi risked his life for charitable causes. Even patients who recover, their lungs don't remain the same again. I wonder if this is curtains for his playing days

That happens only to the very severely ill patients, the ones that need ventilator support. People with relatively minor symptoms usually recover fully.

Get well soon Afridi. Prayers for his Speedy and eventful recovery.

COAS Bajwa calls Shahid Afridi to inquire after his health

Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa has called former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi to inquire after his health, after the latter tested positive for the novel coronavirus, according to Afridi's spokesperson.

The army chief prayed for Afridi's recovery and advised him to rest and take precautions to aid his recovery.

It’s nice to see Gautam Gambhir wishing him a speedy recovery.

Saw comments from Indian fans that were disgusting on YouTube and Twitter . I understand they have hatred to Muslims and Pakistan but Afridi is a cricket player he isn't someone that is killing people or even a solider I can understand maybe if they would be happy if a solider got injured hurt or passed away but this is a cricketer who got the virus due to helping people with his charity work. Seems like no humanity exist in India but than again I am not shocked

These disgusting humans exists everywhere not just in India... Have Seen some rotten comments from across the border when late Sushma Swaraj died..better to ignore these attention seeker trolls and not judge whole country base on comments of few individuals

It’s nice to see Gautam Gambhir wishing him a speedy recovery.

These sorts of best wishes can be kept by Gambhir thanks. Every decent word said by Gambhir is followed by some sort of dig at Pakistan :facepalm:

Wishing :afridi a full recovery from this covid.

The hatred is real as so many hateful posts under his tweet.

The guy just wanted to tell people that he's covid positive and to pray for his recovery but some just take it the other way and show their humanity cells don't exist.

Politicians over the decades have done this and now with the BJP government it's got worse over the years and their anti Pakistan slogan and the hatred they're spreading for non Hindus and Pakistan is getting worst by the day.

Indians celebrating Shahid Bhai being tested positive for corona virus, while their country crossed 3 lac mark. Idiots for a reason.

These disgusting humans exists everywhere not just in India... Have Seen some rotten comments from across the border when late Sushma Swaraj died..better to ignore these attention seeker trolls and not judge whole country base on comments of few individuals

I'm not judging the whole country but their wasn't a few by rather a lot and even when rishi kapoor died he made fun of Pakistan during champions trophy but people in Pakistan wished him and his family well at the end of the day we are all human beings and should not wish sickness or death upon someone

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A quick message to thank everybody who’s been praying for my recovery and for the heartfelt messages I’ve been receiving; thank you so much. Please stay safe & continue to look out for those who need help during these testing times. Lots of love for you all &#55357;&#56911;&#55356;&#57339;</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1272096488957579264?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 14, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Indians celebrating Shahid Bhai being tested positive for corona virus, while their country crossed 3 lac mark. Idiots for a reason.

I never get people who thrive on the misfortune of others.

This was at the back of my mind when he was travelling for his charitable work. Hope he gets through it.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A quick message to thank everybody who’s been praying for my recovery and for the heartfelt messages I’ve been receiving; thank you so much. Please stay safe & continue to look out for those who need help during these testing times. Lots of love for you all ����</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1272096488957579264?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 14, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Leave social media for a while.

Its pretty commendable that he contracted this disease while doing so much charity work. A brave person in a noble cause. Since he is a healthy sportsperson, ideally he should be ok without anything serious

yeh he has, but many occasion he hasn't and nearly all those pics /videos he is touching other people hands /standing shoulder with them

I remember a video where some 85 year old
Woman wanted to hug him after he delivered ration to her tiny house. Ideally you would stay away but I’m sure when you’re in the moment you just are unable to do that

I remember a video where some 85 year old
Woman wanted to hug him after he delivered ration to her tiny house. Ideally you would stay away but I’m sure when you’re in the moment you just are unable to do that

You have to slog, as just say if afridi had it and then hugged that old lady - lets be honest she would be dead.

remember most of the people who are picking up rice and flour - wont be young kids or even young adults - its people who will have a slow immune system - unfortunately

You have to slog, as just say if afridi had it and then hugged that old lady - lets be honest she would be dead.

remember most of the people who are picking up rice and flour - wont be young kids or even young adults - its people who will have a slow immune system - unfortunately

Wishes for a speedy recovery of the giant. He has been an icon of Pakistan Cricket for last 2 decades.

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FShahidAfridiOfficial10%2Fvideos%2F677102742838653%2F&show_text=0&width=267" width="267" height="476" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>

Shahid Afridi speaking to fans on Social Media:

"I have read a few reports about me on social media so have decided to come in front of you"

"The first few days (of my ailment) were a little tough for me but as time has gone by, my health has got better and better"

"There is no need to make this situation into something big because no disease/ailment can beat you if you fight it"

"The toughest part of taking precautions for the last 8-9 days is that I havent been able to hug my children and I am really missing that when it comes to my youngest child"

"I had an idea that I would get infected because of the travelling that I have done; But, I am grateful to the Almighty that I didnt get this infection earlier because then I wouldnt have been able to travel so much and wouldnt have been able to get rations over to many people"

"Felt good to get messages of support for myself and its always good to know that you have people who are praying for you"

So Shahid Afridi put this video out to stop rumours that he was seriously ill.

Dear me, some people.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Alhamdulillah, my wife & daughters, Aqsa & Ansha have re-tested after our previously positive results for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a>, & are now clear. Thanking u all for your continuous well wishes, & may the Almighty bless you and yours. Now back to family time; I’ve missed holding this one &#55357;&#56842; <a href="https://t.co/J5mDv7DnBD">pic.twitter.com/J5mDv7DnBD</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1278658493352865793?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Photographed recently - no mask?

EhYSXLZXYAEuc0M

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The endless love of these beautiful people drew me into celebrating their rich beautiful culture with them <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/wana?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#wana</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/waziristan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#waziristan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/AkmArgmEYg">pic.twitter.com/AkmArgmEYg</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1302329123969392641?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>