Sharjeel, Babar, Haris, Sarfraz and Imad from #2 to #6 - Will this improve the ODI team?

in what world is Imad a no. 6... that like when people used to say Wahab can be an all-rounder

and Haris Sohail is probably not even good enough for a good first class team right now, let alone the national team
Harris wasn't even that good pre injury, he got stuck in 40 for half an hour before getting I and nobody complained. Imad is simply overrated by us fans. He is no way near the level required at no.8 let alone 6. His bowling is getting found out as well. But,but he scored 2 50s against England. He was just not getting out, rarely timed any shot and was lucky there.

13 off 25 balls, didn't play badly. Hmmm

He is just out of touch and not timing his shots properly otherwise he had done his job in the second match that was to stick at one end. Afridi and Sammy are not in best of forms and if Haris got out there trying some adventurous shot or improving his strike rate for you, he might got out and Pehawar might lose that match.

Haris, for what I saw him for few balls was still premeditating a lot. He don't play the ball on merit, rather plan the shot beforehand and try to execute it for any sort of delivery. Haven't seen him against short ball but he used to have weakness against it too. He used to try to play it while still having his weight on frontfoot. Let's see how his game progress after the injury but early signs are not auspicious.

haris should be using the psl to take a net everyday against his team mates.
not ready by a stretch at the moment. i was hoping he would be ready by CT but that was stretching it

He is just out of touch and not timing his shots properly otherwise he had done his job in the second match that was to stick at one end. Afridi and Sammy are not in best of forms and if Haris got out there trying some adventurous shot or improving his strike rate for you, he might got out and Pehawar might lose that match.

i agree but then he got dropped for nxt gme

Not sure about Sharjeel now but I really want to see Babar, Umar and Sarfaraz batting from 3-5 in the batting lineup. Umar has the talent, Sarfaraz has the brains while Babar has both. They can be expected to put up 100 runs in every match, at least.

The #6 position is the mystery right now. I'd open with Sami and Imam and have Wasim at #7. Amir, Riaz, Junaid and Hassan as the four-man pace attack.

1) Sami Aslam
2) Imam ul Haq
3) Babar (vc)
4) Umar
5) Sarfaraz (c) (wk)
6) ?
7) Imad Wasim
8) Mohammad Amir
9) Wahab Riaz
10) Junaid Khan
11) Hassan Ali

It would be epic if we went with this team for the CT. That's unlikely though because Hafeez, Azhar and Malik are likely to plague out LOI teams for a little while longer.

We saw what happened in the last match. Chasing a mammoth total of 60 became a problem for PZ because they had no proper batsman like Haris. The only bat they have is Morgan and he was going to win it for them easily until Aleem bhai decided to help LQ out a bit :afridi

Not sure about Sharjeel now but I really want to see Babar, Umar and Sarfaraz batting from 3-5 in the batting lineup. Umar has the talent, Sarfaraz has the brains while Babar has both. They can be expected to put up 100 runs in every match, at least.

The #6 position is the mystery right now. I'd open with Sami and Imam and have Wasim at #7. Amir, Riaz, Junaid and Hassan as the four-man pace attack.

1) Sami Aslam
2) Imam ul Haq
3) Babar (vc)
4) Umar
5) Sarfaraz (c) (wk)
6) ?
7) Imad Wasim
8) Mohammad Amir
9) Wahab Riaz
10) Junaid Khan
11) Hassan Ali

It would be epic if we went with this team for the CT. That's unlikely though because Hafeez, Azhar and Malik are likely to plague out LOI teams for a little while longer.

your number 8 needs to be beter than that.
i still would consider sohail khan for CT

1) Sami Aslam
2) Imam ul Haq
3) Babar (vc)
4) Umar
5) Sarfaraz (c) (wk)
6) ?
7) Imad Wasim
8) Mohammad Amir
9) Wahab Riaz
10) Junaid Khan
11) Hassan Ali

:misbahSami and Imam combo will be awful, both are defensive minded player, remove any one of them and add Fakhar, he can play aggressively while the other anchors the innings.
Umar at 5 is a joke, he should not be in the team, he was horrible in Australia and he is not improving it seems.
playing Imad at 7 means not using his full batting potential, he should be tried at 5, with Sarfraz at 4, Malik is not going anywhere realistically, should bat at 6 and he should be told to play aggressively, and a proven big hitter from PSL should come in at 7

your number 8 needs to be beter than that.
i still would consider sohail khan for CT

Sohail Khan is a rubbish bowler. Your number 8 needs to be good with the ball first and foremost. Besides, Amir is pretty decent.

1) Sami Aslam
2) Imam ul Haq
3) Babar (vc)
4) Umar
5) Sarfaraz (c) (wk)
6) ?
7) Imad Wasim
8) Mohammad Amir
9) Wahab Riaz
10) Junaid Khan
11) Hassan Ali

Yaar Sami and Imam are both two slow for modern day ODI cricket. They are in the same mould of Azhar and Shehzad. Imam is a bit better in the sense that he can find the boundary when needed but Sami is a full-on tuk tukiya. At max I would have Imam as a back-up opener in the squad, that's about it.

Umar Akmal has time and again shown that he is simply not good enough. He has just 2 fifties in his last 25 innings. Even in the ongoing PSL, a tournament in which he is supposedly a champion, he has 2 ducks in 3 innings and the other innings was a run a ball (or bit better) 30 odd. Nothing special to write home about. His own teammate, Fakhar Zaman, has looked miles better and looked international class. If Umar has to be played he has to open, where his mindless slogs will not find boundary riders. Even then I'm skeptical that he won't be successful because in the 2 ducks he scored he came into bat fairly early in the innings and couldn't last long. There is nothing to suggest that Umar would find any success in the opener's slot, but it is worth a shot since he is floundering like no tomorrow in the middle order.

I would draft Haris Sohail back into the ODI side and give him time to assimilate after the injury lay-off. So my top six would look something like this.

1. Fakhar Zaman (small question mark)
2. Umar Akmal (huge question mark)
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail (medium question mark)
5. Sarfaraz Ahmed
6. ???????

The phainta Junaid will receive in the Champions Trophy will certainly be epic. He shouldn't even be in the squad, let alone playing XI.

Sami Aslam is not ODI material. Getting rid of Azhar but replacing him with Sami will not change anything. It's a complete sideways move.

Sharjeel getting banned means Azhar will most certainly survive till the Champions Trophy.

The other opener is most likely going to be either Shehzad or Kamran. Fakhar has an outside chance too, while Shahzaib only has a glimmer of hope at the moment but it can change quickly if he can impress Mickey, who will surely be working closely with him and probably has him in mind as a potential replacement for Sharjeel.

:misbahSami and Imam combo will be awful, both are defensive minded player, remove any one of them and add Fakhar, he can play aggressively while the other anchors the innings.
Umar at 5 is a joke, he should not be in the team, he was horrible in Australia and he is not improving it seems.
playing Imad at 7 means not using his full batting potential, he should be tried at 5, with Sarfraz at 4, Malik is not going anywhere realistically, should bat at 6 and he should be told to play aggressively, and a proven big hitter from PSL should come in at 7

I don't know much about Fakhar but I want two fresh, new openers at the top. The openers set the tone and if we have two 35 year olds struggling at the top, it send a terrible message. So yes, any two out of Sami, Imam and Fakhar would do.

Umar Akmal is one of our best ODI batsmen like it or not. He should be playing and the #4 spot is the best for him since he won't have to face the new ball, nor bat at the death. He can provide impetus during the middle period and then Sarfaraz, the #6 and Wasim can finish off.

Imad is a bowler first. If he continues improving with the bat, he can be tried up at #6 but at the moment, the #7 spot is the best for him. He can play a role similar to Moeen Ali's, for Pakistan.

Sohail Khan is a rubbish bowler. Your number 8 needs to be good with the ball first and foremost. Besides, Amir is pretty decent.

i would have sohail amir hasan as the 3 bowlers from 9 to 11.
you will get 5 decent overs from sohail first up and 3 good ones at the death.
Imad and a bowling allrounder at 7 n 8.(
malik will be 6,

I don't know much about Fakhar but I want two fresh, new openers at the top. The openers set the tone and if we have two 35 year olds struggling at the top, it send a terrible message. So yes, any two out of Sami, Imam and Fakhar would do.

Umar Akmal is one of our best ODI batsmen like it or not. He should be playing and the #4 spot is the best for him since he won't have to face the new ball, nor bat at the death. He can provide impetus during the middle period and then Sarfaraz, the #6 and Wasim can finish off.

Imad is a bowler first. If he continues improving with the bat, he can be tried up at #6 but at the moment, the #7 spot is the best for him. He can play a role similar to Moeen Ali's, for Pakistan.
since the start of 2016, 5 players have better ODI averages than Umar Akmal, along with better strike rate
cricinfo link

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION], I'm not too knowledgeable about the domestic scene so I was just naming the two, young batsmen that I've heard have done well down there. Fakhar, I have been told, is another good option. With the team we have, our best chance of putting up 300 on the board is if the openers play out the first 15 for around 70-80 runs. Any two of Sami, Imam and Fakhar seem capable of that. We're not Australia or South Africa so targeting 100 in those first 15 will be an epic failure, especially with our best hack now banned.

Babar, Umar and Sarfaraz are our three best ODI batsmen, in my opinion. Umar is far from a world class player but he's better than Rizwan, Malik, Hafeez, etc and after being brought back into the team, deserves a long rope. Maybe for the last time. It is make or break for him though.

Haris isn't in the picture until he proves himself in a match or two, at least.

1) Sami Aslam
2) Imam ul Haq
3) Babar (vc)
4) Umar
5) Sarfaraz (c) (wk)
6) ?
7) Imad Wasim
8) Mohammad Amir
9) Wahab Riaz
10) Junaid Khan
11) Hassan Ali

LOL at Sami & Imam as ODI openers. What is this ? 1990 ?

Haris will have no impact in this PSL, and he needs runs to get back into the team. It will be a brave call on Inzi The Revolutionary's part to select him for the Caribbean ODI series, but I hope that he does.

This is what I want to see in the Champions Trophy given the circumstances:

Shehzad
Kamran
Babar
Haris/Malik
Sarfraz *+
Umar
Imad
Anwar
Amir
Wahab
Hasan

Fakhar, Malik/Haris, Asghar, Sohail to complete the 15 man squad.

However, knowing Inzi The Revolutionary, he will probably end up selecting Azhar, Hafeez and Shafiq as well as Junaid.

since the start of 2016, 5 players have better ODI averages than Umar Akmal, along with better strike rate
cricinfo link

Two of those are the aforementioned Babar and Sarfaraz. One of them is the now-banned Sharjeel and the other is Imad, who is also in my team.

Thanks for proving my point. It would be stupid to drop the third best batsman in Pakistan.

i would have sohail amir hasan as the 3 bowlers from 9 to 11.
you will get 5 decent overs from sohail first up and 3 good ones at the death.
Imad and a bowling allrounder at 7 n 8.(
malik will be 6,

Sohail is unfit, over 30 and not any better than a much younger Junaid. This team needs to go on and play the World Cup, and investing in 30 year old, mediocre pacers hardly makes sense.

I'd have Fakhar & Shahzaib open for us in LOI's for the time being. Sharjeel is a pretty big loss tbh.

Fakhar
Shahzaib
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Malik

Would be my Top 6 for the WI series. Its a side that would probably struggle against the bigger sides, but will do okay vs WI I think. Desperately need to find some big hitters

It would be the 90s if Azhar and Hafeez continue to open, that's for sure.

Sami & Imam would be an awful combo. Imam could do alright, but needs a more dynamic opener alongside him if he has to play ODIs

Yeah it's good, but of course Sharjeel is gone.

So have something like:
Shahzaib
Zaman
Babar
Sarfraz
Akmal
Wasim
Anwar

Two of those are the aforementioned Babar and Sarfaraz. One of them is the now-banned Sharjeel and the other is Imad, who is also in my team.

Thanks for proving my point. It would be stupid to drop the third best batsman in Pakistan.

Sohail is unfit, over 30 and not any better than a much younger Junaid. This team needs to go on and play the World Cup, and investing in 30 year old, mediocre pacers hardly makes sense.

just for the CT. after that sohail can be consigned to history

I'd have Fakhar & Shahzaib open for us in LOI's for the time being. Sharjeel is a pretty big loss tbh.

Fakhar
Shahzaib
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Malik

Would be my Top 6 for the WI series. Its a side that would probably struggle against the bigger sides, but will do okay vs WI I think. Desperately need to find some big hitters

That middle-order has no striking power. Umar Akmal for all his faults is a better hitter than anyone in that team barring Shahzaib, and unless he fires at the top like Sharjeel, the likes of Babar, Haris, Sarfraz and Malik will not be able to take Pakistan to a competitive total or chase down anything above 300.

Potentially speaking, if Umar fires once in 10 games, he can play those 60 (30) type knocks, which the others cannot.

It's unfortunate but there is no better candidate than Umar for the number 6 position at the moment, unless Maqsood has a good PSL, because he possesses similar striking power.

its so depressing removing Sharjeel from that lineup. I actually we could get something decent together.

Now i hope shazaib gets some form and we discover a new opener. Otherwise back to shezhad, kamran and Azhar

That middle-order has no striking power. Umar Akmal for all his faults is a better hitter than anyone in that team barring Shahzaib, and unless he fires at the top like Sharjeel, the likes of Babar, Haris, Sarfraz and Malik will not be able to take Pakistan to a competitive total or chase down anything above 300.

Potentially speaking, if Umar fires once in 10 games, he can play those 60 (30) type knocks, which the others cannot.

It's unfortunate but there is no better candidate than Umar for the number 6 position at the moment, unless Maqsood has a good PSL, because he possesses similar striking power.

I now think its time to make Maqsood open in light of Sharjeel's stupidity.

Maqsood's best performances have come at 3 in List A, even for Pakistan he seems to play the best in a power play.

This is more lack of options then anything else. I hope Shazaib does well but beyond him i dont see much bar TTFs.

Fahkar Zaman has the numbers, and looked okay in his last innings for Lahore, but something tells me he will wont work. Either deserves a go

I'm tired of backing Umar. Some people don't learn

I now think its time to make Maqsood open in light of Sharjeel's stupidity.

Maqsood's best performances have come at 3 in List A, even for Pakistan he seems to play the best in a power play.

This is more lack of options then anything else. I hope Shazaib does well but beyond him i dont see much bar TTFs.

Fahkar Zaman has the numbers, and looked okay in his last innings for Lahore, but something tells me he will wont work. Either deserves a go

Fakhar looks suspect against raw pace. His dismissal against Sami few days back was a classic example of someone not having the reflexes for 140+ bowling, and no amount of technical adjustment and hard work will help there, that's where natural talent comes into play.

Maqsood or Umar as opener with one of them at 6 can potentially work, but for that someone has to think out of the box. Mickey is the only hope on that front, at times he thinks like a PPer.

What has Sohaib Maqsood done since being dropped? Was mightily disappointed when he kept failing consistently. He could be our #6 once again.

I'm tired of backing Umar. Some people don't learn

Yes, time to accept his failures and take the good with the bad. That's how Afridi played for two decades, no other spinner in the country could play the pinch-hitting role like him.

Haris will have no impact in this PSL, and he needs runs to get back into the team. It will be a brave call on Inzi The Revolutionary's part to select him for the Caribbean ODI series, but I hope that he does.

Shehzad
Kamran
Babar
Haris/Malik
Sarfraz *+
Umar
Imad
Anwar
Amir
Wahab
Hasan

However, knowing Inzi The Revolutionary, he will probably end up selecting Azhar, Hafeez and Shafiq as well as Junaid.

Anwar?

Bukhaar hai kia mamoon bhai?

I think Kamran Akmal should be tried as an Opener,he does possess good big hitting ability and could be very handy in first 10 overs.

Fakhar Zaman/Mohammed Hafeez
Kamran Akmal
Babar Azam
Harris Sohail
Sarfraz Ahmed
Shoaib Malik
Umar Akmal
Imad Wasim
Mohammed Amir
Hasan Ali
Junaid Khan

:69:
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] [MENTION=137148]Rayyman[/MENTION]
Umar Akmal's last 10 ODI innings:
33(42), 19(13), 13(20), 20(29), 20(25), 17(25), 18(20), 39(51), 11(23), 46(40) (survived a dropped catch and missed run out)
236 runs with an of average of 29.5, strike rate of 81
not even one 50

Shehzad
Kamran
Babar
Haris/Malik
Sarfraz *+
Umar
Imad
Anwar
Amir
Wahab
Hasan

Anwar? Seriously? Seriously? I had to double check to see whether you had actually written his name.

Why not amir yamin?

:69:
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] [MENTION=137148]Rayyman[/MENTION]
Umar Akmal's last 10 ODI innings:
33(42), 19(13), 13(20), 20(29), 20(25), 17(25), 18(20), 39(51), 11(23), 46(40) (survived a dropped catch and missed run out)
236 runs with an of average of 29.5, strike rate of 81
not even one 50

He was dropped due to a poor run form and then selected again while in bad form. Still that average and strike rate isn't terrible for a #6 in bad form; But yes, it isn't ideal. The sad part is that there are not much hitters available in Pakistan so Akmal has to play.

Given the circumstances, most likely Sharjeel will not play. This is the team that should play in Champions Trophy:

1. Shehzad
2. Shahzaib Hasan
3. Babar Azam
4. Malik
5. Sarfaraz
6. Fakhar Zaman
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan
9. Amir
10. Wahab Riaz
11. Hassan Ali

Haris Sohail was pretty average before the injury and looks like one of the worst T20 players i have ever seen. Cant play through the off side because of his over reliance of the bottom hand and zero power.

Anwar?

Bukhaar hai kia mamoon bhai?

Bukhaar nai hai bhai, but hamaray paas Stokes ki tarha khilari nahi hain. Anwar ki PSL me aala karkardagi ne ye saabith kardiya ke wo Pakistan me sab se acha seam bowling all-rounder hai. Us ko moqa dena chahiye, acha khel raha hai. PSL me achi karkardagi ko tukhrana nahi chahiye.

Anwar? Seriously? Seriously? I had to double check to see whether you had actually written his name.

Why not amir yamin?

Anwar has done well in the PSL, he looks like the best seam bowling all-rounder in the country as he himself said. PSL performances need to be rewarded. I don't care about domestic cricket in general, but PSL is different.

Well we were promised youngsters for the WI series after the Australian debacle. I think that will long forgotten with the help of PSL.

I wont mind taking a bet on Harris on WI tour and see how he can do in the ODIs but has to play all three ODIs to stake a claim for the CT.

Shafiq should certainly miss out. Not sure about Hafeez though.

Many of you are saying that with Sharjeel out Azhar gets a lifeline but i think that is also true for Hafeez too. I dont think I would take Shehzad for Hafeez - Hafeez at least offers some balance with bowling.

But Hafeez is guranteed to perform poorly opening the batting in England - terrible options.

Bukhaar nai hai bhai, but hamaray paas Stokes ki tarha khilari nahi hain. Anwar ki PSL me aala karkardagi ne ye saabith kardiya ke wo Pakistan me sab se acha seam bowling all-rounder hai. Us ko moqa dena chahiye, acha khel raha hai. PSL me achi karkardagi ko tukhrana nahi chahiye.

Let's see how he fares for the rest of the tournament. Akmal junior smacked him big time last year.

But yes, he has bowled well thus far and is generating a decent amount of inswing which was missing before this tourney.