Sharjeel Khan should not be banned, even if he is found guilty......

mz123

Tape Ball Star
I know I am probably going to get destroyed in this thread, but I don't mind....

First of all, the news circulating is that Sharjeel met with some suspicious person, and just failed to report. Hopefully it stays that way and Sharjeel hasn't done anything more stupid.

However, the last thing that we want to do is ban sharjeel from Cricket. We should use common sense here, banning him will affect pakistan cricket more than anything. By punishing him like this, you're also be punishing yourself. He is our only hope in the Champions trophy and next world cup. We don't have any openers in the domestic circuit who can even match him.

PCB should come up with another punishment, e.g banning him from playing in the PSL for one or two years, but he should notbe banned from playing international cricket as this will have a big effect on our chances in the next two tournaments.

I'd rather not play Champions Trophy, than have cheats playing in my team.

If PCB doesn't do anything ICC will and this time one cannot even say BCCI=ICC coz they have been ripping us apart,so its better PCB does something,even a HK player got banned for 30 months for not reporting an approach,1 year ban is atleast needed incase he didn't follow the rules.

He's a hack

Performs in a couple of games and that's it

He may have done well in Australia but that's it, he's another afridi if you look at his past games

Should be banned for life but sadly if no one is found in the psl

Expect the likes of Shahzad/Kamran/Azhar to play

This will likely be the case. Don't see PCB banning Sharjeel even if he has done something stupid.

no he didn't just fail to report, him and Sharjeel accepted the offer as well hence their central contracts are suspended. things are not looking good for Sharjeel and Latif at the moment.

Ok we let him play in the team. During champions trophy we find out he fixed the semi finals or something, then what?

He's a hack

Performs in a couple of games and that's it

He may have done well in Australia but that's it, he's another afridi if you look at his past games

Should be banned for life but sadly if no one is found in the psl

Expect the likes of Shahzad/Kamran/Azhar to play
too good he is found out early we didn't have to invest in him.

This will likely be the case. Don't see PCB banning Sharjeel even if he has done something stupid.

Idiotic statement, if this was the case then PCB would never have sent Sharjeel home,on top NS is even saying that he has evidence!

what are you saying ?
let corrupt people play in your team ?
this is stupidity
would rather lose with clean indiviauals rather than win with tainted ones

I don't think any other countries fans can even relate to what a Pakistani fan must be going through. Time after time just when you think Pakistan cricket is getting back to its feet and gained respect around the world, something like this happens.

Misbah may have not made your side world beaters but he took you up from the mess in 2010 and made pundits around the world respect Pakistan cricket again. All that took years and it's gone.

Idiotic statement, if this was the case then PCB would never have sent Sharjeel home,on top NS is even saying that he has evidence!

If there is some evidence, the ban will be limited to PSL. Think about it, PCB defended the trio even after they were exposed to be fixing international matches. So, how likely is it that they will punish Sharjeel for what happens in PSL?

stop your trolling.

yes but not after breaking our heart. its is not easy to blend our heart .
"kl say neid nahi aa rhi "

There is a huge difference b/w Butt and NS/SK. Butt wouldn't have send Sharjeel home in the first place.
Your post is as poor as that of Op's.

There is a huge difference b/w Butt and NS/SK. Butt wouldn't have send Sharjeel home in the first place.
Your post is as poor as that of Op's.

Is this the reason Salman Butt and Muhammad Asif were included in PSL draft?

Thats real dumb! Butt and Asif are free to play domestic and leagues as they have COMPLETED their punishment, PCB allowing them to play again doesn't mean they intend to let Sharjeel get away without facing punishment if he was involved in MF.They send him home, they said they have evidence, yet some trolls are saying PCb intend to let the players get away.

So even if hè is found guilty, hè should come back just because he is a good player and we have been looking for a good opener in a long long time?

That is just stupid.

Let me add to that that I felt like crying when I heard the news about Sharjeel. I was really looking forward to the CT just because of him.

But IF he is found guilty he should be banned. No ways around it.

Thats real dumb! Butt and Asif are free to play domestic and leagues as they have COMPLETED their punishment, PCB allowing them to play again doesn't mean they intend to let Sharjeel get away without facing punishment if he was involved in MF.They send him home, they said they have evidence, yet some trolls are saying PCb intend to let the players get away.

I didn't say that either. All I am saying is that the punishment is likely to be limited to PSL and that's based on PCB's history and current handling of the tainted trio.

Apparently he took 20lakh for 2 dot balls if it's the true it's game over

I didn't say that either. All I am saying is that the punishment is likely to be limited to PSL and that's based on PCB's history and current handling of the tainted trio.

Why not wait and see? History certainly doesn't suggest what you have been saying as earlier PCB were letting the players get away completely free.
If Sharjeel was involve in MF, he will be out of team, just being out of PSL is no punishment and would be disastrous.

Why not wait and see? History certainly doesn't suggest what you have been saying as earlier PCB were letting the players get away completely free.
If Sharjeel was involve in MF, he will be out of team, just being out of PSL is no punishment and would be disastrous.

It certainly does, you have several examples from 90s to the present. PCB's history when it comes to handling corruption or fixing has been very poor, so don't blame me for keeping that view. Yes, current PCB administration may surprise us this time, but for that as you rightly said, let's wait and see.

If he's guilty of being approached and has not reported it, he has to be banned in line with the rules.

It certainly does, you have several examples from 90s to the present. PCB's history when it comes to handling corruption or fixing has been very poor, so don't blame me for keeping that view. Yes, current PCB administration may surprise us this time, but for that as you rightly said, let's wait and see.

You can keep whatever view you want to keep, i'm least concerned.Like i said, earlier PCB was letting players go freely while this time they are claiming themselves that they have some proof.If the intention was to lay everything under the carpet, pcb wouldn't have been so vocal in the first place.

Ok so let me analyse this situation from different perspective.

A group of opening batsmen sit for a group exam. Sharjeel cheats and scores higher points than all others in the exam, which eventually takes him to the team of rank holders. Now you found out that he cheated, should he still be part of rank holders team?

I just want to know what OP thinks of this situation. In life we need to take correct measures to ensure everyone is treated equally, I hope the correct action is taken this time around.

If Sharjeels only crime is failing to report an approach then a 12 month ban would suffice as punishment IMO. If he has been found to agree to take money to underperform or has already done that then Sharjeel should get banned for life.

why a 12 month ban? He shouldnt be banned if he's only mistake was failing to report....

Ok so let me analyse this situation from different perspective.

A group of opening batsmen sit for a group exam. Sharjeel cheats and scores higher points than all others in the exam, which eventually takes him to the team of rank holders. Now you found out that he cheated, should he still be part of rank holders team?

I just want to know what OP thinks of this situation. In life we need to take correct measures to ensure everyone is treated equally, I hope the correct action is taken this time around.

Hopefully he hasnt taken any money

You can keep whatever view you want to keep, i'm least concerned.Like i said, earlier PCB was letting players go freely while this time they are claiming themselves that they have some proof.If the intention was to lay everything under the carpet, pcb wouldn't have been so vocal in the first place.

Thanks for the favor. I would like to stress again that I am not saying that PCB don't plan to punish the players. However, whether it follows a technical or a moral approach is to be seen. All the posters wanting Sharjeel to be banned internationally seem to be following the latter, but that may not be how PCB look at it. A lot will depend on PSL's anti-corruption policy, and so far none of you seem to have much idea about it.

Nor do you! So just wait and see, we even need to know if he did actually accept the money, from the reports it looks like no match have been fixed but players were planing to fix some matches, so good work from PCB SO FAR.

why a 12 month ban? He shouldnt be banned if he's only mistake was failing to report....

I think he did much more than that.Also, for failing to report a player should get banned for atleast 1 year.

Nor do you! So just wait and see, we even need to know if he did actually accept the money, from the reports it looks like no match have been fixed but players were planing to fix some matches, so good work from PCB SO FAR.

I never claimed that. From the start I was very clear about this being my personal view that is based on PCB's history in handling such matters.

I think he did much more than that.Also, for failing to report a player should get banned for atleast 1 year.

why 1 year for failing to report ? Should't be banned if this was his only mistake.

He will be banned for one year by PCB and then will come back... Champions trophy he wont play if found guilty but will be back in team for an all important WC

Height of stupidity!

First of all he isn't as talented as he's made out to be, he's ordinary at best, has an extremely poor technique coupled with equally poor fitness and is highly inconsistent as his career suggests, the chances of him delivering a substantial performance are significantly lower than him failing which is usually the case. And lets not even mention his lethargic and lazy attitude on field, he looks so indifferent and apathetic to what's happening and doesn't look motivated at all, comes across like a person who's there to earn his share of the pie and head off to where he came from. No wonder he pursued illicit means to earn some quick bucks 'cause he knows his place in the side isn't permanent as he doesn't seem a long term solution to our opening woes and he knows it too.

However even if was the promised one in terms of talent and his batting performances reaffirmed that fact, still it doesn't in anyway gives him a right to do illegal things and it also doesn't mean that he should be pardoned if found guilty under the name of talent. No one is above the law and if the charges laid against him and his partners in crime are confirmed during the investigation, PCB should undertake the strictest disciplinary action against the perpetrators to set a precedent in order for others to avoid doing something similar if they get tempted in future. But keeping the incompetence of PCB in dealing with similar cases in hindsight, doubt they'll impose a severe career-defining penalty on Sharjeel to make him an example for others 'cause he is supposed to be "valuable" player, a ray or light and a beacon of hope amidst the shocking mediocrity PCB has its disposal.

If he failed to report a bookie approach he should get a ban but come back. Reporting bookies or fixing is a little harder, there are other people and factors involved.

If he fixed, life ban.

If he failed to report a bookie approach he should get a ban but come back. Reporting bookies or fixing is a little harder, there are other people and factors involved.

If he fixed, life ban.

why a ban if he failed to report ?????

Height of stupidity!

First of all he isn't as talented as he's made out to be, he's ordinary at best, has an extremely poor technique coupled with equally poor fitness and is highly inconsistent as his career suggests, the chances of him delivering a substantial performance are significantly lower than him failing which is usually the case. And lets not even mention his lethargic and lazy attitude on field, he looks so indifferent and apathetic to what's happening and doesn't look motivated at all, comes across like a person who's there to earn his share of the pie and head off to where he came from. No wonder he pursued illicit means to earn some quick bucks 'cause he knows his place in the side isn't permanent as he doesn't seem a long term solution to our opening woes and he knows it too.

However even if was the promised one in terms of talent and his batting performances reaffirmed that fact, still it doesn't in anyway gives him a right to do illegal things and it also doesn't mean that he should be pardoned if found guilty under the name of talent. No one is above the law and if the charges laid against him and his partners in crime are confirmed during the investigation, PCB should undertake the strictest disciplinary action against the perpetrators to set a precedent in order for others to avoid doing something similar if they get tempted in future. But keeping the incompetence of PCB in dealing with similar cases in hindsight, doubt they'll impose a severe career-defining penalty on Sharjeel to make him an example for others 'cause he is supposed to be "valuable" player, a ray or light and a beacon of hope amidst the shocking mediocrity PCB has its disposal.

I've never thought Sharjeel was all that either. His technique looks poor, his fitness poor, footwork is poor, just looks so ugly at the crease. He's a clean striker and good hand eye coordination but that's it. He could go on to be a decent player, but he's extremely limited, you'll never see him become a great.

Not really a fan of those types of players. Talented yes, but his fitness/technique/footwork suggest poor work ethic. Sharjeel's first good tour was Australia (he did relatively nothing until then). It might be his last now too.

Standard punishment for failing to report, it's considered a crime. I think it's a one or two year ban. Failing to report allows fixing to go on, bookies are able to approach cricketers to fix without danger . If everyone reports fixing, harder for bookies to recruit people to fix.

It's a bit of a harsh punishment, but it helps root out fixing. As I said, I would be totally sympathetic to someone coming back after a short ban due to failing to report. Fixing is another matter.

Part of the rules.

You have to report any interaction with a bookie. Otherwise, you're allowing such activity to occur without alerting authorities (even if you don't participate).

Standard punishment for failing to report, it's considered a crime. I think it's a one or two year ban. Failing to report allows fixing to go on, bookies are able to approach cricketers to fix without danger . If everyone reports fixing, harder for bookies to recruit people to fix.

It's a bit of a harsh punishment, but it helps root out fixing. As I said, I would be totally sympathetic to someone coming back after a short ban due to failing to report. Fixing is another matter.

Ban is too harsh, there should be another punishment....

LOL.

He should absolutely be banned if found guilty.

Embarrassment for the whole country!

I didn't know Justice Qayyum posted on PakPassion.

There can be no soft corners for corrupt players.

Ban is too harsh, there should be another punishment....

Yes they should enact a shrine for his honesty.

And people can throw petals at him for staying strong and not succumbing to the pressure of fixing even though he met with a bookie.

And then when the next fool fixes, we can consider whether he is important to the team or not.

If he is, Amir or Sharjeel way.

If he isn't, Cronje way.

Long live Pakistan.

Long live its citizens.

If he gets a life ban than in a few years time we'll be hearing about how Pakistan lost someone who was going to go down as one of the legends of the game to fixing...

Lmfao are you even kidding me, I read the title and thought, i bet the thread OP will have a twist. But mate, are you even serious. If proven he should be banned. Even if he was bradman. You expect people to stop corruption when your point of view itself is corrupt. No suprise these guys are not fearing the consequences since they could be "forgiven".

I am saying the he shouldnt be banned IF HE FAILED TO REPORT !

Not only should they ban him if found guilty but also send him to jail for at least half a decade. Anyone trying to vilify the best thing that's happened to Pakistan cricket in years (PSL) should go to jail, especially if they're Pakistani.

that means you make a simple rule for all the top performers;

1) earn as much from spot fixing as possible

2) when found out, start playing loyally.

If guilty of fixing then lifetime ban

If he didn't report anything to the authorities than a minimum 1 year intl ban and 5 year domestic ban.

Sharjeel doing so well in Australia has complicated this situation a little bit for the fans.

Just ban him if he is guilty of fixing or else a limited sentence will suffice. Its good that the decision has been swift and appropriate. Pakistani fans should be happy if he indeed was involved in fixing, he would be expunged before raising too many hopes, he was just starting to play well and was in his infancy.

I am saying the he shouldnt be banned IF HE FAILED TO REPORT !

Disagree. They are all lectured about all the rule pertaining to bookies and are also given a list of suspicious people before the tournament. This is like meeting with a guy who could as well have a WANTED sign taped to his forehead and then not telling your bosses, who had specifically told you to tell them.

I know I am probably going to get destroyed in this thread, but I don't mind....

First of all, the news circulating is that Sharjeel met with some suspicious person, and just failed to report. Hopefully it stays that way and Sharjeel hasn't done anything more stupid.

However, the last thing that we want to do is ban sharjeel from Cricket. We should use common sense here, banning him will affect pakistan cricket more than anything. By punishing him like this, you're also be punishing yourself. He is our only hope in the Champions trophy and next world cup. We don't have any openers in the domestic circuit who can even match him.

PCB should come up with another punishment, e.g banning him from playing in the PSL for one or two years, but he should notbe banned from playing international cricket as this will have a big effect on our chances in the next two tournaments.

which means all the other players who said no to fixing will also start fixing then

He has to be punished according to the crime commited or the evidence that has been gathered against him.

People shouldn't jump the gun yet as speculation doesn't do anyone any good at this stage.

I am not surprised tbh about fixing, it's always Lurking around. But it's still very dissapiointing it's happening and it erodes trust when you watch the game.

I really believe sport alone will not crush corruption when it's present everywhere else in Pakistan at every level.

I believe your are just taking a ****.

if not

Then don't worry. Sharjeel will get away with this. ONE TRUE BHAI WASIM AKRAM did. and Amir and Butt and Asif and Whole 90's pakistani team.

sjould b made sign a contract if found cheating again will b banned for life..it should enough

I'm sorry but this is a pathetic mentality, and outside of PP a lot of people will have the same opinion in Pak. No wonder we have such deep issues in our country.

There is no reason for this story to be made public already. They should have kept it under wraps for now, let the PSL contunie without having its integrity damaged and then, if corruption was proven beyond a shadow of a doubt, a professional presser should have disclosed it.

Sharjeel should be banned, if found guilty. If he's dumb enough to do this when he has so much going for him, he's too dumb to be playing international cricket. Open with Sami and Imam.

Lol Sharjeel is no Tendulkar or Ricky Ponting. He is massively overrated. When was the last time he hit a 100?

Even Kamran Akmal can be a temporary solution.

I would rather have Asad in the ODI team than this cheat.

This is the problem with our society where people are ready to accept corruption just to get what they
want. That's why the corruption is so prevalent in our society because people are happy to accept corruption. There is so sense of morality and justice in our society. I couldn't care less about winning when we have corrupt and morally deficient players in our team. I rather lose with honest players than to win with corrupt players. Sports are meant to be played in the right and fair competitive way. Not place for people who fix in the team. Every single fixer should be given a life ban.

ARY today had Danish Kaneria on the line to discuss spot fuxing issue. :facepalm: We are the biggest culprits. We create sympathy for players ala people did for Amir.

Forget about this thread, "justifications" and "Clarifications on misunderstandings" are already underway. Whereas, when a dozen players were originally named yesterday and countless rumours were spread, Dunya News too was happy to jump on the gun; but later on when the rest were cleared of any misconduct and only two are left now as suspects and suspended, both of which hail from the team sponsored by the channel, they´re now out to peel the skin of the issue to find out the truth.

The "truth" now is, the guy with whom Sharjeel and Latif´s photos are circulating on social media, the guy with whom they´ve alleged conspired to fix, is just a layman by the name of Sanaullah. Forget about that, the guy has offered to be investigated by the ICC, the PCB or whomever. The guy has "Praised Dunya News for highlighting the facts", and you know, it was just a routine meeting with them.

Next up, the PCB will be blasted for not firstly investigating the matter properly, before suspending two harmless souls. No, I´m not denying that these could be innocent after all, but the efforts which some people make to get the names of alleged fixers is disturbing. I remember when The News of the World´s shop was shut down, many people used to as an opportunity to push the agenda that the trio too could after all have been "framed", you know.

Anyway, here´s Sharjeel´s road to recovery: after a few months post-ban, appear as guest in some or the other morning show, ideally Nadia Khan´s on Geo TV, tell stories of being wronged and framed, get the host to wet the floor with tears and you´re on your way! As for Latif, well, he´ll have to settle with being hired as an expert on some channel during some ICC tournament. His comeback is unlikely, he wasn´t of too much value to the national team.

ARY today had Danish Kaneria on the line to discuss spot fuxing issue. :facepalm: We are the biggest culprits. We create sympathy for players ala people did for Amir.

So then, what were the views of saint Kaneria?

The ARY Network has special sympathy for fixers. They´ve often hired Butt as an expert in the past.

Would like to see the players banned at least for 2 years. I mean its ridiculous. No common sense.