Shoaib Malik rejoins Pakistan squad, available for selection for 2nd ODI [Update #52]

Mueez

Update on Shoaib Malik from the PCB

Lahore, 29 April 2019:

The Pakistan cricket team management has given leave to Shoaib Malik so that he can return home to deal with a personal issue. He is expected to rejoin the team in 10 days’ time.

The PCB will not be making any further comments and fully expects all concerned to respect Shoaib’s privacy.

I just can't understand this phenomena. Whenever someone's place is in question either he gets injured or goes back to home because of personal reasons. This isn't happening for the first time with players.

Bring in Umar Akmal or Rizwan instead. Keep Shoaib Malik locked up in Pakistan please.

After the announcement of his retirement, Malik's focus is not on cricket. His recent performances show this as well. He is not even scoring against spin bowlers. He has already started a award show for sports-persons.

I think Malik should put retirement out of his mind and put his focus back on cricket. He was shaping to be a very good finisher for Pakistan last year. And before the announcement of his retirement, his comeback was very successful.

People, he has a personal issue, important enough to leave the tournament of a lifetime. Give him space.

Not my favorite player but casting doubts on someone's intentions isn't cricket.

stop judging.. fellow ppers.
but i would like to add here those who have personal issues.. as in case with malik.
and mentally not fit to play as their daughter is not well.. as in asif ali case.
isnt this means they are unfit? like hiding injury and playing for your national team.
even this is injury if not physical but mental.
isn't this is like cheating with your nation and millions of pakistani fans around the world?
don't you guys think if these unfit players be their with family instead of not being 100% & still playing in biggest event?

Personal reasons are personal reasons for a reason.

Not anyone's business except Malik and/or PCB

We should respect his personal commitments.

Also, he should respect the fact that he doesn't deserve to play for Pakistan, our worst performer in the last 2-3 years.

Keep him in Pak!

Also, he should respect the fact that he doesn't deserve to play for Pakistan, our worst performer in the last 2-3 years.

Keep him in Pak!

Exactly. Rubbish player.

Bring in Umar Akmal or Rizwan instead. Keep Shoaib Malik locked up in Pakistan please.

Keep him in Pak!

Exactly. Rubbish player.

Criticising a player based on personal bias does not equate to having knowledge of this thing we call cricket.

Anyone who understands the game knows that Malik is a must for Pakistan in the world cup

Criticising a player based on personal bias does not equate to having knowledge of this thing we call cricket.

Anyone who understands the game knows that Malik is a must for Pakistan in the world cup

Hope all is well for him at home Thoughts are with him

Regarding his selection Malik with his record and recent form should be nowhere near the squad im afraid

In these conditions he just isnt good enough and its pretty obvous he is blocking the selection of a more deserving player

I hope that everything is ok with Malik and Family and wish him well. Oppurtunity for Pakistan to draft in a good replacement

Understands the game? Do you think his performances and averaged over the last two years speak a must have for Pakistan to get far in the World Cup?

Or his average In England where the World Cup is held?

I don’t think you understand the game.

Hope it is nothing too serious and inshallah Malik and his family get the matter resolved swiftly and effectively.

Being a married man with children myself, I fully understand, family matters happen and a man has to take care of them on priority bases.

Recent form aside, Shoaib has been a good servant of Pakistan cricket for long, a very committed and selfless team man.

We should respect his privacy and wish him all the luck. Hope , nothing serious at home front and he will back in 10 days to join the team.

Being a married man with children myself, I fully understand, family matters happen and a man has to take care of them on priority bases.

Recent form aside, Shoaib has been a good servant of Pakistan cricket for long, a very committed and selfless team man.

We should respect his privacy and wish him all the luck. Hope , nothing serious at home front and he will back in 10 days to join the team.

I really do hope your right. Would be very difficult to watch Pakistan play if there is no Malik

At this point it's possible that he's got a "personal issue"

ie - been considered surplus to requirements, or come to his own senses that he brings nothing to the squad anymore

I really do hope your right. Would be very difficult to watch Pakistan play if there is no Malik

Lol not sure if serious Pakistan is much more watchable with someone deserving in the team rather than someone who has a tailenders avge in england over the 20 years

Hopefully nothing too serious. Asian media will probably come up with a million conspiracy theories though as usual.

Yeah there must be something serious.

Malik is not the same anymore...

Please enlighten us on his record for the last two years as well as in England

If anyone has a personal bias it’s you

Malik opting out of ODI series means he will go to WC without proving his form with bat in Eng series. Well played Malik saab!!!

Well hope everything is fine. Never want to mock someone who is leaving for personal reasons. We don't know what is the nature of the issue.

Yes, you never know. The last thing Malik wanted prior to his last WC was any distraction. Like another player, he was not an "automatic selection" and I am sure he wants to be remembered for his last WC performance.

Wishing Malik well, however anybody who is saying he is a must for the World Cup is probably not aware that he averages 13 in England after 20 matches .

Hope is OK but also he doesnt deserve to be playing for Pakistan for the World Cup.

Average of 11 in 25 odd games is not someone who is going to make any useful contribution.

Rather play Rizwan or Hussain Talat.

Lol not sure if serious Pakistan is much more watchable with someone deserving in the team rather than someone who has a tailenders avge in england over the 20 years

Please enlighten us on his record for the last two years as well as in England

If anyone has a personal bias it’s you

Agree.

Not sure why [MENTION=149517]Rifaqat[/MENTION] thinks we are biased, when in fact it's him who is biased and ignoring how pathetic Malik has been in cricket.

I hope Malik overcomes all personal issues and returns to join the team asap

We need him yaar

Keep him in Pak!

How has he been our worst player in last 3 years? Has consistently been scoring in UAE for last 4 years. Has failed terribly in SENA though.

Im telling you yaar some people here dont really watch the game and if they do watch it, they dont really understand it

Yes, you never know. The last thing Malik wanted prior to his last WC was any distraction. Like another player, he was not an "automatic selection" and I am sure he wants to be remembered for his last WC performance.

Imam ul Haq was an automatic selection, according to himself:)

Update on Shoaib Malik

London, 7 May 2019:

Shoaib Malik will rejoin the Pakistan cricket team in Southampton on Thursday and will be available for selection for the second One-Day International against England to be played on Saturday, 11 May.

Maaf karo bhai... Pakistan mein hi enjoy karo.

Funny thing is when Malik returns he will be drafted straight back into the side and the usual casualty will be our second/third best bat, Harry Sohail.

Not really need Malik, but I want Hafeez fit. Any news about Hafeez?

Not sure if Malik will be focused considering the way things might be going in his personal life.

If that deserving player is Asif Ali than god help us, on the other hand I don't mind if it is Hafeez who is selected ahead of him in the team.

I hope every player in the 1st ODI does enough to warrant another game. Only way Malik will be kept out of this XI.

Pakistan are in a pickle. They have decided to as expected put faith in two seniors who have been mediocre batsman in there 15 plus year careers with poor averages in England and poor records in iCC tournaments.

Now both are short of match practise and are mentally weak players on a global level. This will not bode well for Pakistan unless these two perform like they have never done before in there enitre careers.

Thankfully we have a solid top 4 with fakhar, imam, babar and haris. With captain due to bat at 5 this only really leaves the number 6 spot up for runnung, which i would not mind Hafeez taking.

Pakistan are in a pickle. They have decided to as expected put faith in two seniors who have been mediocre batsman in there 15 plus year careers with poor averages in England and poor records in iCC tournaments.

Now both are short of match practise and are mentally weak players on a global level. This will not bode well for Pakistan unless these two perform like they have never done before in there enitre careers.

Thankfully we have a solid top 4 with fakhar, imam, babar and haris. With captain due to bat at 5 this only really leaves the number 6 spot up for runnung, which i would not mind Hafeez taking.

But the problem is that Haris is not their first choice. Malik is coming at no.6 and Hafeez at no.4

Given Haris recent form it will be surprising if he is not first choice however nothing is beyond the selectors when it comes to there obsession with the "seniors". However there is no hiding place now Malik and Hafeez will both get 3-4 games to prove there worth. I dont see them doing that well and i see Haris staeting against the Windies.

Shoaib Malik has joined the Pakistan ODI squad and is available for selection.

Time to drive Pakistan to victory Malik Sahib!

D6Hp2L7XsAAemiu.jpg:large

I’d like to see Hafeez in the playing XI- Malik doesn’t deserve to be in the team m.

Malik is gonna score a double hundred..watch him smash Archer to all parts..mark my words..