Should India become a Hindu Rashtra?

Despite all the posturing by the saffron brigade, I seriously doubt whether they would be stupid enough to push for this. They'd get a small electoral bonus - mainly in the cow belt but that group is already in their pocket anyway and wouldn't dream of voting for anyone else.

The flipside would be decades of national instability - potentially revival of the Khalistan movement which is currently a dead duck, state like Kerala calling for referendums on secession and increased insurgency in the Northeast.

I would just hope the inmates don't get such complete control over the asylum to actually be able to make a real issue of this.

Yeah I didnt sign up for the income tax bracket either but happens.

Just being able to practice our religion is not bad, I was in Chennai when government took over the temple i worshipped at, i was anti-BJP to the core until then and that made me change to atleast see there is an issue.(Government cannot take over other places of worship).

Just because appeasement isn’t done doesn’t mean people will have issues.
With income tax bracket you get a chance to vote them out every 4-5 years.

I dont think you will be able to vote out a hindu rashtra.

Just being able to practice our religion is not bad, I was in Chennai when government took over the temple i worshipped at, i was anti-BJP to the core until then and that made me change to atleast see there is an issue.(Government cannot take over other places of worship).

Why has the BJP done nothing about this issue ? They've had 10 years.

Conversion from one religion to another requires a spiritual and intellectual change of heart ..... how does one 'target' someone with this ?

If you're referring to entrapment after marriage, then maybe a law can be created for it. But otherwise a forced-conversion bill makes no sense.
I'm surprised the whole thing isn't more common knowledge. Here's how it works

There's a bunch of megachurches that raise money in developed countries (mainly from the American bible belt) to proselytize Christianity. They use that to drive conversion - usually large upfront payments and regular allowances in return for conversion and Church attendance. This is usually publicized back home and further funds are raised from the naive believers.

My maid was one of those. Tough to say how much she believes since she still maintains all the Hindu fasts etc. but none of my business.

Don't see this as something to get worked up about to be honest...seems a fair way to make money. The saffron gang get crazy worked up about it though. They should just raise money on their own and pay the folks to reconvert. Big commissions in it. You should see how the pastors in the megachurches live.

Much though I would love to see the rise of a hindu rashtra I just don't think Indians are capable of delivering it. They still cling to the modern name India on most portals I have seen, it is Britishers like me who are using the ancient and proud name Bharat.

I'm surprised the whole thing isn't more common knowledge. Here's how it works

There's a bunch of megachurches that raise money in developed countries (mainly from the American bible belt) to proselytize Christianity. They use that to drive conversion - usually large upfront payments and regular allowances in return for conversion and Church attendance. This is usually publicized back home and further funds are raised from the naive believers.

My maid was one of those. Tough to say how much she believes since she still maintains all the Hindu fasts etc. but none of my business.

Don't see this as something to get worked up about to be honest...seems a fair way to make money. The saffron gang get crazy worked up about it though. They should just raise money on their own and pay the folks to reconvert. Big commissions in it. You should see how the pastors in the megachurches live.

It's a joke. Your maid is cleverly making some easy money while still remaining Hindu, fooling those gullible megapastors. Nobody is going to genuinely convert because they get money, that's just plain stupid.

At least you concede this is an issue. Even though you won't blame those who do it, but blame someone for not undoing it.

The BJP came to power promising these actions and you have no problem with their inactivity even after 10 years. Which makes me wonder whether your & Jaded's grievances are genuine or phoney. You really don't care about temple control. It just gives you a right-wing talking point.

Why do you assume I have no problem with them(bjp).

When I say you I mean the hindu right wing ecosystem in general, I've never heard them rake up this issue.. only mentioned as a talking point against Congress. Fake.
You are just not well informed. What do you mean by right wing? Wanting freedom for your temples is no right wing idea, it is liberal idea. Hindus have been demanding freedom of their religious places, but things happen slow (just see how long it took for justice in Ayodhya).

The fact is majority of the BJP states wants to retain temple funds as revenue hence why they dont want to give away control of it. They've taken you for a ride.

Maybe, but that doesnt mean hindus are not demanding it. And before the temple was built, many said that BJP was taking hindus for a ride by promising it but not delivering.

That's what happened in the USA as well. A privileged elite forced a secular Constitution on a very religious majority in 1776. Last I checked, they're doing fine.

But they do have a majoritarian state in practice. The Hindu voting bloc, around 80% of the country, has got together and voted Modi into power twice in the last 10 years. What more do they/you want ?

In other words, how is the current Constitution crippling the Hindu majority here ? It's not.

Read article 29 and 30 of the constitution.

Read places of worship act.

Read HRCE acts

Read about Muslim personal laws in India.

Would love for India to become a Hindu state.

But I think it can only happen with another partition.

All Muslims had the choice of leaving India in 1947. They didn't. Now they have to accept whatever India is.

Non Muslims are not living to keep giving away their land as per the whims of Muslims.

It’s relevant here because our founders thought why only one religion needed the reform, they clearly appeased the other creating a divide that has haunted them.

“Ambedkar recommended the adoption of a uniform civil code but he resigned after he faced severe criticism in the parliament. Nehru administration then moved to pass Hindu code bills which would ensure modern reformation of Indian society.”

Not founders.

Only Nehru. That's why the Hindu bills were not passed in the 1950 constitution but added later on.

Nehru's attempt to only target Hindus was opposed by Sardar Patel, Syama Prasad Mukherjee, KM Munshi and Ambedkar himself m

Why has the BJP done nothing about this issue ? They've had 10 years.

Because BJP isn't in power in TN Kerala AP Telengana where the HRCE act is widely used. These are state acts and not a central act.

Didn’t you once call me out for supporting China?
Now when I agree that there needs to be a narrative and then do about it you have an issue?

Also yes BJP is failing on this and hopefully they will do it.

BJP can't do it all over India. Only hope is Supreme Court striking down the various HRCE acts as they are unconstitutional.

Most BJP states don't have HRCE acts that gives them control of day to day temple activities, funds and management.

Most have a government official usually the DM as a member of management committee to facilitate management and liaison between the temple administration and government.

It's a joke. Your maid is cleverly making some easy money while still remaining Hindu, fooling those gullible megapastors. Nobody is going to genuinely convert because they get money, that's just plain stupid.
I guess it's a mix. Some genuinely convert...some do it for the money.

I'm not sure why it's called 'forced conversion' and why laws are made against it though. Seems like an opportunity for both sides to compete to save poor people's souls (and hopefully put some money in their pockets).

The reason India needs a Hindu Rashtra is because religious minorities, especially Muslim's took advantage of the secular fabric of the Indian constitution. Ram & Rahim can only co-exist together when both parties agree. It can't be that followers of Rahim will get a separate country but Ram bhakts has to share the burden of secularism. That is a hypocritical stance and one day it had to close. Someday someone like Modi was about to happen...it was only a matter of time.

Hinduism teaches secularism by default. Most practicing Hindus will have no problem going into a Mosque, Church or even offer Namaz/prayer. I myself have been to Mosques & Churches multiple times and absolutely loved it. However, I don't think any muslim would agree to enter a temple and do Puja or Havan as idol worship is forbidden. That is why I believe it is difficult for Hindus & Muslims to co-exist without religious frictions bcoz Taaliya do haathon se bajti hai aur Mohabbat bhi do tarfa hota hai.

The reason India needs a Hindu Rashtra is because religious minorities, especially Muslim's took advantage of the secular fabric of the Indian constitution. Ram & Rahim can only co-exist together when both parties agree. It can't be that followers of Rahim will get a separate country but Ram bhakts has to share the burden of secularism. That is a hypocritical stance and one day it had to close. Someday someone like Modi was about to happen...it was only a matter of time.

Hinduism teaches secularism by default. Most practicing Hindus will have no problem going into a Mosque, Church or even offer Namaz/prayer. I myself have been to Mosques & Churches multiple times and absolutely loved it. However, I don't think any muslim would agree to enter a temple and do Puja or Havan as idol worship is forbidden. That is why I believe it is difficult for Hindus & Muslims to co-exist without religious frictions bcoz Taaliya do haathon se bajti hai aur Mohabbat bhi do tarfa hota hai.
Indians have been fooled by secularism. Secularism is a quality of the state, not the individual. State can be secular because it has to treat everyone equally irrespective of religion. And individual can be religiously tolerant but not secular. But the moron gandhi introduced this, he wanted muslims to say jai shri ram, and hindus to say allah hu akbar. This is not secularism. This is syncretism. A secular individual doesn't make sense. As a secular should I do namaz also if I do pooja? What rubbish. All the individual can be expected is to be religously tolerant. Secular idea applied to individuals, societies or even communities is horse pukky. Only the state can be secular.

Muslims don't say jai hanuman, and rightly so. But hindus will go to mazars and church thinking this makes them great humans. No, it only makes them idiots. They confuse syncretism with secularism without knowing what either of that truly means.

Indians have been fooled by secularism. Secularism is a quality of the state, not the individual. State can be secular because it has to treat everyone equally irrespective of religion. And individual can be religiously tolerant but not secular. But the moron gandhi introduced this, he wanted muslims to say jai shri ram, and hindus to say allah hu akbar. This is not secularism. This is syncretism. A secular individual doesn't make sense. As a secular should I do namaz also if I do pooja? What rubbish. All the individual can be expected is to be religously tolerant. Secular idea applied to individuals, societies or even communities is horse pukky. Only the state can be secular.

Muslims don't say jai hanuman, and rightly so. But hindus will go to mazars and church thinking this makes them great humans. No, it only makes them idiots. They confuse syncretism with secularism without knowing what either of that truly means.

Love the name Moron Gandhi :ROFLMAO:

I totally agree with your post. Though I trust Gandhi and he probably envisioned Ram-Rahim bhai bhai in a good faith but didnt realize at that time it was not practical in the long run. Then subsequent congress governments, especially Indira Gandhi made the matter even worse by including the term secularism in Indian constitution which was nothing but a medium to capture votes from Muslim community.

I guess it's a mix. Some genuinely convert...some do it for the money.

I'm not sure why it's called 'forced conversion' and why laws are made against it though. Seems like an opportunity for both sides to compete to save poor people's souls (and hopefully put some money in their pockets).

This. I'm all for it. There have been plenty of conversions to various Christian denominations - Methodists, Baptists, Jehovah's Witnesses from amongst the maids, dhobis and basically those considered to be performing menial tasks(also happen to be lower castes) and this has been going on since British times.

Not only do they get money but also they get subsidised education in convent schools of the same denomination. If anyone has studied in a convent school , you'll see many from such backgrounds especially in southern India. Not sure about other parts of the country

If you only raise your voices when lower castes convert and turn a blind eye to their living conditions and are apathetic towards that , then why should they not convert ?

If the Indian state and Hindu society in general have failed them , then they have every right to convert to a Christian denomination if they wish - not just for themselves but also their future generations.

This. I'm all for it. There have been plenty of conversions to various Christian denominations - Methodists, Baptists, Jehovah's Witnesses from amongst the maids, dhobis and basically those considered to be performing menial tasks(also happen to be lower castes) and this has been going on since British times.

Not only do they get money but also they get subsidised education in convent schools of the same denomination. If anyone has studied in a convent school , you'll see many from such backgrounds especially in southern India. Not sure about other parts of the country

If you only raise your voices when lower castes convert and turn a blind eye to their living conditions and are apathetic towards that , then why should they not convert ?

If the Indian state and Hindu society in general have failed them , then they have every right to convert to a Christian denomination if they wish - not just for themselves but also their future generations.
Agreed. Forced conversion of the kind against is the stuff that seems to be prevalent say in Pakistan

What's happening here in India is relatively harmless if a shade queasy due to it's scale and industrialisation by the mega-churches.

Read article 29 and 30 of the constitution.

Read places of worship act.

Read HRCE acts

Read about Muslim personal laws in India.

Maybe you can summarise them here and tell us how it is relevant to the argument. Listing a bunch of random acts here is pointless.

Most BJP states don't have HRCE acts that gives them control of day to day temple activities, funds and management.

Most have a government official usually the DM as a member of management committee to facilitate management and liaison between the temple administration and government.

It doesn't matter, the government is still involved, be it HRCE or DM, and has a say in how temple funds are used.

Maybe you can summarise them here and tell us how it is relevant to the argument. Listing a bunch of random acts here is pointless.
You want to be spoon fed. What incentive does the other person have in arguing if he wants to raise your level by giving you pointers, yet you are lazy to do the homework? Those are not random acts, they are very pertinent to the unequal religious freedom.

That's how discussions and debates work, those involved post arguments and counter-arguments, not links to videos and websites lol. Links can be posted if I ask for a citation otherwise it should never be given as a response to a question.

The person who's being lazy here is joshilla, not me.

Agreed. Forced conversion of the kind against is the stuff that seems to be prevalent say in Pakistan

Parliamentary committee rejects anti-forced conversion bill

What's happening here in India is relatively harmless if a shade queasy due to it's scale and industrialisation by the mega-churches.
Yeah. The newer American backed denominations with flashy pastors are very shady in the way they operate and it's clearly a business.

But I don't think anyone indulged in "forced" conversion .

That's how discussions and debates work, those involved post arguments and counter-arguments, not links to videos and websites lol. Links can be posted if I ask for a citation otherwise it should never be given as a response to a question.

The person who's being lazy here is joshilla, not me.
Debates happen between near equals. When there is a huge chasm of knowledge between the two, the other person has nothing to gain from it. Then it comes schooling, not debating. So say clearly that you want to be schooled by joshila.

Agreed, hence why this whole forced conversion bill nonsense reeks of insecurity. Sanghis are terrified of the demographics, they don't actually care about the plight and living conditions of those who convert. What a phoney bunch !

So you support ghar wapsi?

Won't deny. Sometimes I pull out from a debate. What I seek is that the other person be honest and/or intelligent. If none of these are present, I take an exit.

It doesn't matter, the government is still involved, be it HRCE or DM, and has a say in how temple funds are used.

DM has no say in day to day activities or funds use. None. He is part of the management board so that the temple issues like security, crowd management, public procession, protocol of VVIPs and any other activity that requires the help of the government is carried out smoothly.

HRCE is totally different. There the government takesover the entire temple, its management etc.

A number of times courts have had to interfere in HRCE controlled temples because funds were being used for government purposes or non Hindus were being appointed in temple management.

Lol at Hindu Rashtra. :misbah Real hindus are in minority in India. With real hindus I mean those who stay away from eggs and meat. :inti

I suspect most BJP voters are not practicing Hindus. It is a gimmick for them.

I could be wrong though but that's what it seems like.

What is a practicing hindu? Your quoted an ignorant person. Hindu diets has three types satvik, rajasic and tamasic. Meat and eggs come under the second two types.

India is already and always was an ultra Hindu state. Why do you think Pakistan had to be formed?

Every individual should be allowed to practice his religion with freedom in every part of this world be it India or some other country. You cannot oppress minorities just because your country's name is "Hindu"stan. Religious freedom is everyone's right.

DM has no say in day to day activities or funds use. None. He is part of the management board so that the temple issues like security, crowd management, public procession, protocol of VVIPs and any other activity that requires the help of the government is carried out smoothly.

HRCE is totally different. There the government takesover the entire temple, its management etc.

A number of times courts have had to interfere in HRCE controlled temples because funds were being used for government purposes or non Hindus were being appointed in temple management.

The BJP as the ruling party can make a national law on religious endowment and free temples from state govt control.

Is that not true ?

You are right. It is a gimmick for them. Most of the hindus who eat meat and eggs try to avoid it on Tuesday and during Navratri they don't even eat onions. And these hindus are the ones who preach others about hindu religion. This is hypocrisy at its best. :inti

So bengalis are not hindus, as they use fish even for pooja?

When Qaid-e-Azam wanted a muslim homeland, were muslims debating that let us all become fully pious and practicing muslims first, otherwise it is a political gimmick? Thank god they did not, and even if they did, Q-e-A was too wise to listen to them.

But in desperation, the haters of hindus are finding a new line of argurment, that hindus are not fully practicing, so they should not ask for a hindu nation. LOL

The BJP as the ruling party can make a national law on religious endowment and free temples from state govt control.

Is that not true ?

No it can’t . Its a state subject. And state laws already exist on it.

Right now the HRCE Act has been challenged in the supreme court.

No it can’t . Its a state subject. And state laws already exist on it.

Right now the HRCE Act has been challenged in the supreme court.

It's not a state subject. It's on the concurrent list which means both the centre and state can make laws on it. If the two laws conflict, then the centre gets priority.

If so, why have the BJP done nothing in 10 years ?

So you mean to say if Hindus do not follow anything , Muslims should do the same. Muslims should also start going to Temples and prostrating to Stones , Trees , humans and animals ?

Most hindus are confused , I would say Majority of them. There is very little jurisprudence in Hinduism , so practically they follow whatever some gurus tell them.

There is a clear cut contradiction in fundamentals of Hinduism.

When Qaid-e-Azam wanted a muslim homeland, were muslims debating that let us all become fully pious and practicing muslims first, otherwise it is a political gimmick? Thank god they did not, and even if they did, Q-e-A was too wise to listen to them.

But in desperation, the haters of hindus are finding a new line of argurment, that hindus are not fully practicing, so they should not ask for a hindu nation. LOL
That is why Pakistan is a muslim majority country , not an Islamic country.

It is never a binary, but almost always a spectrum. On the spectrum of Islamic, Pakistan may not be there, but it is incorrect to say it is a non islamic country.

This news was published on 22nd January. If it was not right to eat non veg on 22nd January then why is it ok to eat it now. Is this not hypocrisy? :inti

Zomato suspends delivery of non-veg items in North India, says this is due to govt order​

In response to a government order, Zomato has temporarily suspended the delivery of non-vegetarian items in several states in North India. In respect of the consecration ceremony, meat shops in some states were closed today. Here is everything you need to know.​

In response to a government order, Zomato has temporarily suspended the delivery of non-vegetarian items in several states in North India. Users across various cities reported the absence of non-veg food options on X (previously Twitter), leading to speculations regarding the cause. It is believed that the move is in respect of the consecration ceremony for the Ram Mandir in Ayodhya, an event of significant cultural and religious importance.

Zomato, addressing user concerns on X, clarified that the decision to disable the delivery of non-veg items was in compliance with the government's notice. "We have disabled delivery of non-veg items in Uttar Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan as per govt. notice. Hope this clarification helps," stated Zomato's customer care support on the social media platform.

It is not surprising because Varun Khera, the head of the National Restaurant Association of India in Uttar Pradesh, affirmed that restaurants across the state had collectively decided to serve only vegetarian food on January 22. Khera emphasized the need to honour the government's order, especially considering the magnitude of the event taking place in Ayodhya.

In respect of the ceremony, meat shops in the affected states were closed today. The chief secretary of Uttar Pradesh, Durga Shankar Mishra, had issued an order instructing district magistrates to ensure the closure of liquor vends and meat shops on January 22.

“The government order didn’t ask us to stay shut on Sunday, but only on Monday. Since so many people are already celebrating the occasion, we thought it would be improper to sell meat amid all the revelry,” Mohammad Ehsanullah, a meat shop owner in Ghaziabad told TOI.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma similarly announced the closure of meat shops and slaughterhouses until 4 pm on January 22 in alignment with the Ram Temple consecration ceremony. He further urged restaurants in Assam to refrain from serving non-vegetarian food items until 2 pm on the day of the 'Pran Pratishtha'. The Assam government has also declared Jan 22 as a 'Dry Day' to maintain the religious sanctity of the event, further reinforcing the significance and solemnity attached to the Ram Mandir consecration.

Looking at what the Islamic Republic of Pakistan has turned out to be for its muslims, I think the Indian muslims made an excellent choice.
Sure they did, except Muslims in the secular democratic India cannot pray in the open for be protected against attempted genocide. Haha. What a joke!

At least Indian muslims can pray safely in their mosques, unlike their counterparts in Pakistan who have had their mosques blown to smithreens during prayer time.

Of course, just like your previous statement, mosques are bit blown to bits in Pakistan with the same cadence and intensity as Muslims are being killed or beaten up for praying outside. lol

5000 years in existence and India is still no Hindu rashtra. What makes anyone think India will become a Hindu rashtra in the next 5000 years?

Beef or any food should not be banned. Please don't equate Hindu Rastra with facism. People can eat/drink/wear whatever they want. Hindu Rastra must not have any such restriction and anyone opposing people's freedom should be jailed.

By Hindu rastra, I meant Hindus first. The rights of hindus will be given 1st priority and there will no 'No go zone' for hindus. India should be truely Hindustan, not by name only but in every sense - socially, culturally and politically. But it does not mean minorities will be ill treated...far from it.
What hindu culture are you talking about? If you take out the part tracing back to muslims your culture will be significantly limited no?

What would you do with Taj Mahal for instance? And with the rest of the arches, domes and minarets? Will they have same fate as the Babri mosque?

Your whole Bollywood industry are circled around muslims, urdu poetry and ghazals and qawwali, starting from probably the biggest movie adjudted for various indexes, Mughle-Azam.

And your cuisine, what will it be without Biryani, Ghulab Jaman and Jalebi?

I mean your culture will not be the same if you try to eliminate everything related to muslims.

So you mean to say if Hindus do not follow anything , Muslims should do the same. Muslims should also start going to Temples and prostrating to Stones , Trees , humans and animals ?

No I am not saying that. It is not that hindus follow anything and everything, rather they are much more liberal. As you said a muslim would never go to a temple but even a practicing hindu won't have any issue going to a mosque or even offer namaz. So the fact that Ram and Rahim can't co-exist together is only due to muslims and not other way around. That is why they even got their own country in 1947 as they can't co-exist.

All this is fine but the problem arises when burden of pseudo secularism is forced on hindus alone. That is why there is a demand of Hindu Rashtra as many feel its their right.

No I am not saying that. It is not that hindus follow anything and everything, rather they are much more liberal. As you said a muslim would never go to a temple but even a practicing hindu won't have any issue going to a mosque or even offer namaz. So the fact that Ram and Rahim can't co-exist together is only due to muslims and not other way around. That is why they even got their own country in 1947 as they can't co-exist.

All this is fine but the problem arises when burden of pseudo secularism is forced on hindus alone. That is why there is a demand of Hindu Rashtra as many feel its their right.

Didn't you remark that you were happy that netflix banned a movie that showed a hindu pray namaz?

Joshilla bhai was particularly upset too.

But now you say there is no problem.

i have seen India mosques, they are in terrible state, crumbling and left to rot