Should India have forfeited the 5th Test against England?

What should be a fair conclusion of the India - England Test series?

So why did ECB did not coperate with India when South Africa coperated with them in cancelling the series due to covid.

The covid circumstances were similar for both teams.

ECB became numb seeing 40 million pound loss and the insurance claim and did everything to pressurise Indian players to play despite of covid cases in the camp.

Because the situation on this tour is very different with everyone vaccinated and the ECB making it clear before the tour that they were expecting it was quite probable there would be positive tests this summer and procedures would be in place to deal with them, with India touring in the knowledge of that.

Compare that to the situation in SA where no one was vaccinated, South Africa had the most notable/dangerous variant in circulation and chuck in the fact that some CSA officials tried to blame the English touring party for the outbreak (with the SA team doctor later admitting their own team were too lax in following protocols) and explicitly stated they wouldn't be taking responsibility for their safety.

Indian players where in contact of assistant physio including the covid subs who was tested positive not by india but England.

They didn't choose to play because the assistant physio who attends player's that includes subs as well was also tested positive .so they were well within rights to not play.

Covid rules are strictly upto the medics! If they ask the players to isolate or not. None of the players were asked to isolate so the medics judged them to be safe to move around and play however players decided not to play anyway.

What's so wrong in playing the same match next year against a better English team( Having Stokes)?

Nothing wrong with it. Infact we will be at disadvantage because it will be the only match and we have a pretty good chance of losing these one off matches initially on a foreign tour. :inti

This was not your typical pyjama league or a mohalla cricket match which can be postponed by 2 days on such a short notice. ECB also had to think about their broadcasters, people who purchased the match tickets and so many other little things that are arranged for every match. :inti

Lol, the typical slave mindset for anything that's white. So ECB can't wait for 2 days but expect us to play despite covid situation in our camp and without our support staff.

These are exceptional circumstances and boards needs to be flexible and understanding and explore all options.

The cancelled match in any case did set ECB back by 40 milion pounds. So, what did their rigidness achieve ? Zilch.

They took BCCI for granted.

Nothing wrong with it. Infact we will be at disadvantage because it will be the only match and we have a pretty good chance of losing these one off matches initially on a foreign tour. :inti

For me it's just won't work.
You could have two different teams, different captains...
I know chances are slim but you don't know what can happen in 10/11 months.
A team will also lose or gain form/momentum.

This is why a series should be played in one go. Otherwise if India lose the excuses will come out and vice versa if England lose.

The result of these series should be 2-1 to India or 2-2...
There is only so much money can buy and it can't buy the exactly same players or form that far in advance.

Nah, begging is reserved for smaller boards.

BCCI is a bad boy. Jay Shah has given a pure warning - a clear message. Go to ICC for resolution and say bye to lucrative T20.

Ecb- take your pick.

Lol do you think this is Shootout at Waddala or something :)))

and players knew it too. Yet they chose to do it.

Lol, the typical slave mindset for anything that's white. So ECB can't wait for 2 days but expect us to play despite covid situation in our camp and without our support staff.

These are exceptional circumstances and boards needs to be flexible and understanding and explore all options.

The cancelled match in any case did set ECB back by 40 milion pounds. So, what did their rigidness achieve ? Zilch.

That'll be made good by the match next year. Even though ECB did nothing to compensate CSA.

Lol do you think this is Shootout at Waddala or something :)))

It's funny but yes its like a bollywood shootout...

ECB released a statement about forfeit and then took it back.

BCCI - match cancelled due to covid. Ready to compensate

ECB - Match cancelled due to mental health and not covid. ( Being greedy - need insurance money )

ECB - Asks ICC to decide

BCCI - No chance of forfeit - make a dangling offer of two extra T20 along with one off test. Offer revoked if ECB goes to ICC.

Over to ECB.

I would have said the same even if it was West Indian team because it doesn't change the fact that they are answerable to their broadcasters and people who bought the ticket. You have to get out of this desi mindset of "main jo bolunga wohi hoga, nahi toh nahi hoga". This shows we have a long way to go before becoming professionals in every sector. :inti

For me it's just won't work.
You could have two different teams, different captains...
I know chances are slim but you don't know what can happen in 10/11 months.
A team will also lose or gain form/momentum.

This is why a series should be played in one go. Otherwise if India lose the excuses will come out and vice versa if England lose.

The result of these series should be 2-1 to India or 2-2...
There is only so much money can buy and it can't buy the exactly same players or form that far in advance.

The Covid pandemic is really forcing a change in every aspect of our life. Things that we would have taken for granted or would be unthinkable in the past are becoming a new norm now. This is not the end of it and we will see more such scenarios playing out in the future. Who is ultimately responsible for calling off a match? The captain who is closest to the game and other team players or the board and its officials.

This needs to be truly thought through and new rules put in place for this and other similar scenarios. Until then the debate continues.

That'll be made good by the match next year. Even though ECB did nothing to compensate CSA.

There is a world of difference between that South Africa series and this one.

However people here keep bringing it up without addressing the facts which are as follows:-

It was the ODI leg.
They were living in a bio secure bubble.
A South African player tested positive.
Both boards agreed to delay the odi by two days.
Then a hotel staff member tested positive.

This was all before the vaccine.

Finally, both boards, and I repeat both boards, mutually agreed to cancel the tour and to re-schedule the odi's for a later date.

The two scenarios are incomparable.

However people here keep bringing it up without addressing the facts which are as follows:-

It was the ODI leg.

Finally, both boards, and I repeat both boards, mutually agreed to cancel the tour and to re-schedule the odi's for a later date.

The only thing which is comparable is that ECB bullied the South Africa and tried similar tactics aginst BCCI.

I found it funny when people try to bring in scene by scene comparison of two situation.

It's still COVID and it's still life threatning. There are families involved. Vaccine or no vaccine.

Who would have taken responsibility of any player got covid positive on Day 3 of the match endangering players of both sides.

Enough of this professionalism ********. Everyone should be considerate first about the disease.

ECB didn't agree here because they were losing 40 millions pound. It's only about money and greed.

ECB stop giving disingenuous BCCI five tests.

Give Pakistan five tests.

And the Kiwis - England fans deserve to see the world’s best team for more than two tests per visit.

It was the ODI leg.

Based on what I have read so far, the Indians were only asking for a postponement by a couple of days so that they had a better understanding of what they were dealing with. If more folks had shown up positive then we would still have had a cancellation, even for a Sunday start. It seems lkike ECB wasn't even willing to consider that and seems to be pedaling the "Indian team refusing to play" narrative. I would seriously question ECB's motive.

As for the fallout, it looks like BOTH BOARDS have agreed to have this test scheduled at the same venue, next year.

ECB stop giving disingenuous BCCI five tests.

Give Pakistan five tests.

And the Kiwis - England fans deserve to see the world’s best team for more than two tests per visit.

Tell that to ECB who is most likely to accept the carrot dangled by BCCi secretary.

The only thing which is comparable is that ECB bullied the South Africa and tried similar tactics aginst BCCI.

I found it funny when people try to bring in scene by scene comparison of two situation.

It's still COVID and it's still life threatning. There are families involved. Vaccine or no vaccine.

Who would have taken responsibility of any player got covid positive on Day 3 of the match endangering players of both sides.

Enough of this professionalism ********. Everyone should be considerate first about the disease.

ECB didn't agree here because they were losing 40 millions pound. It's only about money and greed.

Ok firstly you need to drink a glass of water and calm down.

The South African board agreed to delay the England series. No one was strong armed into it.
The South African variant was the Dominant one at the time, this is before the delta variant was on the scene.

Whichever way ones spins it, the truth is that pre vaccines there was no protection against the virus.
Once team members and a hotel staff got it there was little choice but to cancel the tour.

Based on what I have read so far, the Indians were only asking for a postponement by a couple of days so that they had a better understanding of what they were dealing with. If more folks had shown up positive then we would still have had a cancellation, even for a Sunday start. It seems lkike ECB wasn't even willing to consider that and seems to be pedaling the "Indian team refusing to play" narrative. I would seriously question ECB's motive.

As for the fallout, it looks like BOTH BOARDS have agreed to have this test scheduled at the same venue, next year.

My point was only addressing the comparisons being made with the South African series.

It was the ODI leg.

ODI leg would have made more money.An LOI can always be played with specific player isolated.No risk of getting infected in middle of match like a 5 day Test

There was no bubble here and maskless crowd allowed. So ECB at fault too.
ECB didnt agree to delay the Test as per reports

Which is the later date the ODIs were scheduled to?Its been months on that news.

Here also it was a joint decision

https://www.bcci.tv/articles/2021/news/155082/fifth-test-match-at-manchester-called-off

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) along with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have jointly decided to call off the 5th Test Match scheduled at Manchester in ongoing India’s tour of England 2021.

Even ECB CEO has said BCCI wanted the Test to go on

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...manchester-test-on-ecb-ceo-1851456-2021-09-10

It seems the men who matter at ECB & BCCI are in agreement :)
Team physio is far more close contact than hotel staff

Tell that to ECB who is most likely to accept the carrot dangled by BCCi secretary.

You should keep that arrogance aside and think as a cricket fan for once. He didn't say anything wrong. Other teams should also play more tests against England in England. BCCI needs ECB/CA as much as ECB/CA needs BCCI. Kindly drill that into your brain. :inti

There is a reason they don't. Aus-Eng play 5 tests between themselves too.

Only NZ deserve 5 Tests being top quality team. I wish there were more in both home and away series in NZ.

ODI leg would have made more money.An LOI can always be played with specific player isolated.No risk of getting infected in middle of match like a 5 day Test

There was no bubble here and maskless crowd allowed. So ECB at fault too.
ECB didnt agree to delay the Test as per reports

Which is the later date the ODIs were scheduled to?Its been months on that news.

Here also it was a joint decision

https://www.bcci.tv/articles/2021/news/155082/fifth-test-match-at-manchester-called-off

Even ECB CEO has said BCCI wanted the Test to go on

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...manchester-test-on-ecb-ceo-1851456-2021-09-10

It seems the men who matter at ECB & BCCI are in agreement :)
Team physio is far more close contact than hotel staff

We had the IPL postponed
We had the PSL postponed

We had no vaccines

Both boards decided to postpone.

Those are the facts regarding the South African series

Now coming to the England Series, we've read the statements which back up what you say but we're also hearing all these other rumours surrounding it. I think in time we'll get to know more.

From my perspective, a line should be drawn under the series and it either ends 2-1 or 2-2.
A one off test match next year just doesn't seem right guvejcthat so many things could be different in 10 months time.

I realise that a lot of the arguments being made so that India doesn't forfeit the test match and a three May we'll be valid. However that decision is down to the ICC unless a one off test match has been agreed for next year.

This was not your typical pyjama league or a mohalla cricket match which can be postponed by 2 days on such a short notice. ECB also had to think about their broadcasters, people who purchased the match tickets and so many other little things that are arranged for every match. :inti

Chicha kuch bhi keh lo,if ecb had to think about broadcasters,players too had to think about safety first

There is a reason they don't. Aus-Eng play 5 tests between themselves too.

Only NZ deserve 5 Tests being top quality team. I wish there were more in both home and away series in NZ.

I said they should play more tests not necessarily 5 tests. Pak can play 3 or 4, others should at least play 3. The only way to improve is to play more and more tests in that place. You can't expect players to improve without even playing in those conditions. KL Rahul has played 9 tests in the last two tours of England and he showed some improvement. :inti

Also almost all test matches in England are sell outs.
The English public love their test matches

Covid rules are strictly upto the medics! If they ask the players to isolate or not. None of the players were asked to isolate so the medics judged them to be safe to move around and play however players decided not to play anyway.

Players decided not to play because when you come into contact of a covid infected person signs usually take 4-5 days to show,if first report is negative doesnt automatically guarantee safety that is why two ,possibly three tests are done

If it will do Zilch then why is Jay Shah begging them not to?

Lol. BCCI doesn't beg. Others beg the BCCI.

BCCI has made an offer to the ECB. Play the extra matches, take the money. Or have a confrontation with BCCI and suffer financial loses till forever.

Lol. BCCI doesn't beg. Others beg the BCCI.

BCCI has made an offer to the ECB. Play the extra matches, take the money. Or have a confrontation with BCCI and suffer financial loses till forever.

Why do you always sound like a BCCI spokesperson here? Don't you have your own views lol? :inti

Perhaps not relevant in this thread, but one of the awesome things that happened in the Ind-Aus tour was how Indian team fought inspite of so many injuries to the main players; Ashwin and Vihari batted entire day with broken backs, they even played T20 backup/practice bowlers like Natarajan, Thakur and Sundar and YET won the matches. That spirit made the series much more memorable in my eyes.

Coming to this series, the way players were "dead scared" (as per the official reports) to play in the final test and how they swiftly flew away to UAE for IPL, it just doesn't paint a brave picture for the Indian team. I understand this is a much scary situation with COVID compared to injuries in Australia, but I would have loved this team even more if they had decided to play the final test in spite of the Covid scare.

Having said that, I don't fault the players for the final test debacle. Covid is a serious concern and they had the right to express their reservations. The fault lies entirely with the boards (BCCI being more accountable) in how they handled the situation.

We had the IPL postponed
We had the PSL postponed

We had no vaccines

Both boards decided to postpone.

Those are the facts regarding the South African series

Now coming to the England Series, we've read the statements which back up what you say but we're also hearing all these other rumours surrounding it. I think in time we'll get to know more.

From my perspective, a line should be drawn under the series and it either ends 2-1 or 2-2.
A one off test match next year just doesn't seem right guvejcthat so many things could be different in 10 months time.

I realise that a lot of the arguments being made so that India doesn't forfeit the test match and a three May we'll be valid. However that decision is down to the ICC unless a one off test match has been agreed for next year.

IPL & PSL were multi-team,multi matches tournaments so no direct comparison.

I agree we should all wait for the ICC verdict. I think the Test will be held regardless to cover ECB's financial loss.

I thought the same of India's tour of England 2011 after 2007 tour was so one sided.

Teams have to be evenly matched for long series.

Improvement can be shown by first performing well in those 2-3 Tests.

Still the ECB has surplus revenues only if Australia or india tour. Why?

Yes yes money talks...
Forget the fact that Test Cricket fills the stadiums and brings in revenue to Beer sellers, caterers, staff etc etc etc

Also almost all test matches in England are sell outs.
The English public love their test matches

Tickets sales is a small part of cricket revenues. The bigger part is tv revenues. Unfortunately for Pakistan , the tv rights is not as lucrative as India

That's why India gets to play 5 test series in England while Pakistan does not. Bcoz 5 tests against India is a bonanza for Sky network which holds the tv rights. Sad reality of modern day cricket

Ideally all teams should be playing 4 test series with each other

Post the segmented breakdown of the revenue if you wish to counter.

You claimed that it was due to broadcast revenue only.

The ecb CEO in past has been very catagorical that they generate surplus revenues only during india and ashes tours.

Tickets sales is a small part of cricket revenues. The bigger part is tv revenues. Unfortunately for Pakistan , the tv rights is not as lucrative as India

That's why India gets to play 5 test series in England while Pakistan does not. Bcoz 5 tests against India is a bonanza for Sky network which holds the tv rights. Sad reality of modern day cricket

Pakistan plays five tests
Only in recent years that changed as we played two tests one season and then played three tests last year.

Pakistan has also played a multitude of ODI's and T20 series in England.

When it comes to performing in tests in England Pakistan lost the last series narrowly.
Should have won the first test and drew the other two due to extremely bad weather.
Also due to covid no tests at the Oval and Lords which are great venues for Pakistan.

Before 2019, Pakistan played two four game series and drew both of them.

So, and this isn't aimed at you, but people should stop bringing in performances to justify why Pakistan doesn't deserve four or five tests in England.

Finally, the grounds are packed for tests and millions pay to watch it on sky. If sky felt there was no market in Pakistan then they wouldn't have bought the rights for all Pakistan home games.
That a two million cricket crazy population, second largest market in the world.

Perhaps not relevant in this thread, but one of the awesome things that happened in the Ind-Aus tour was how Indian team fought inspite of so many injuries to the main players; Ashwin and Vihari batted entire day with broken backs, they even played T20 backup/practice bowlers like Natarajan, Thakur and Sundar and YET won the matches. That spirit made the series much more memorable in my eyes.

Coming to this series, the way players were "dead scared" (as per the official reports) to play in the final test and how they swiftly flew away to UAE for IPL, it just doesn't paint a brave picture for the Indian team. I understand this is a much scary situation with COVID compared to injuries in Australia, but I would have loved this team even more if they had decided to play the final test in spite of the Covid scare.

Having said that, I don't fault the players for the final test debacle. Covid is a serious concern and they had the right to express their reservations. The fault lies entirely with the boards (BCCI being more accountable) in how they handled the situation.

It's one thing to play with a broken arm when you are risking only yourself, but totally another thing to play after covid breakout when they are with kids.

Ticket and hospitality sales are almost the same size as the broadcast deal in England.

I agree. As I said in my post, they are very different cases, apples and oranges, one can say.

On a side note, doesn't COVID affect kids the least ? Not that the players should have risked playing the test.

I think a lot of disappointment stems from the (seemingly) lack of intent among Indian players and TM to play the test by whichever alternative means. It looked like they were in a hurry to get out of UK and fly to UAE for the IPL.

I could be totally wrong, perhaps BCCI tried its best to make the test happen. Who knows?

It's one thing to play with a broken arm when you are risking only yourself, but totally another thing to play after covid breakout when they are with kids.

Who is stopping other team to play more test in England, surely not BCCI ? They can play as many as test they wanted .

What a great pity after four excellent Test matches that the series & its outcome have become so irreversibly tainted in this way.

Indian players where in contact of assistant physio including the covid subs who was tested positive not by india but England.

Players decided not to play because when you come into contact of a covid infected person signs usually take 4-5 days to show,if first report is negative doesnt automatically guarantee safety that is why two ,possibly three tests are done

Play cannot happen if players are at a risk of getting infection.

It is not up to the players but the medics if the players should go into isolation or not, they were not asked to go into isolation so should have played so the medics decided there was no risk. Indian players are the only players in the world who decided they know better than the medics.

The more you think about it the more this smells if the IPL was not around players would have just played. Even ganguly said its the players who decided they are not going to play not the BCCI.

Not in England where tickets are expensive. Some tickets are upto 200£ each. England has high paying public so they make a lot from gate sales too plus the sales

2-1 is a fair reflection of the series. India were a better team and they deserve the win. It is ridiculous to assert that BCCI did this or Indian cricketers did that. They played better cricket and most would agree to it.

I called them home track bullies after the New Zealand away series but now I agree that they are certainly a great team with an acceptable batting lineup ( great at home) and great bowling attack.

It is not up to the players but the medics if the players should go into isolation or not, they were not asked to go into isolation so should have played so the medics decided there was no risk. Indian players are the only players in the world who decided they know better than the medics.

The more you think about it the more this smells if the IPL was not around players would have just played. Even ganguly said its the players who decided they are not going to play not the BCCI.

Its the players who are at risk, not the medics. First Shastri got infected. Then 2 other support staffs.

The medics asked them to continue playing. Then after couple of days their junior physio got infected.

This not a joke.

IPL had nothing to do with this. Players were anyway leaving England on 15th September.

Can please post a proper source regards to this statement?

The value of the broadcast deal is well published and ticket and hospitality prices are readily available. After that it just takes some estimations and maths to see that it's true.

A cold war seems to have erupted between the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) ever since the 5th Test between India and England was cancelled. How the cancelled 5th Test will be categorised, however, hasn't yet been. The ECB is reportedly pushing for the match to be given the status of a 'forfeit' by India while the BCCI wants the match to be rescheduled next year.

As many as 4 people among India's backroom staff were tested positive for Covid-19, with head coach Ravi Shastri being the first one and assistant physiotherapist Yogesh Parmar being the most recent. The fact that Parmar had attended to a few Indian players became the reason for the visitors' reluctance to field a team in Manchester. However, England are not willing to cite Covid-19 as the reason behind the Test's cancellation.

The insurance clause

The ECB are reported to be heading towards a loss of GBP 40 million (INR 400 crores) because of the Manchester Test's cancellation. However, the board has insurance to cover some of these costs. To trigger the insurance clause, some conditions have to be met.

As per reports in English media, the insurance doesn't come into the picture if the match is cancelled purely because of Covid-19 infection. Though as many as 4 people in India's backroom staff were tested for the coronavirus, none of the 20 members of the playing staff were tested positive.

Though it is a possibility that one of the Indian players who have reached UAE from the United Kingdom could test positive for the virus at any point of time during their 6-day hard quarantine, the ECB doesn't want the match to be given Covid status as it deprives them of the insurance amount.

In the initial rounds of tests, none of the Indian players had tested positive but the fact that many of them were attended by the Covid-positive physiotherapist, the likelihood of the infection spreading to them does exist.

The ECB is even reportedly on the brink of writing to the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the match to be given the status of a 'forfeit'. If the ICC agrees with the ECB's request, not just the match will be given a 2-2 scoreline, the situation would also see the board become eligible for the insurance amount.

The cancellation of the match has resulted in a 'cold war' between the two boards, with the ECB still looking for ways to make up for the losses it incurred after what happened in Manchester. However, the matter, for now, is far from being resolved.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...and-ecb-over-cancelled-manchester-test/811664

The ECB could withdraw it's letter to the ICC and now instead can negotiate a settlement with the BCCI privately.

Some things are more important than money. Honour, truthfulness, doing what you say you will, that sort of thing.
ECB has at times given the impression that money is more important. Hence its love for its unconditional association with BCCI, hence the hundred, and hence its previous association with Stanford 20/20.

I would be amazed if ECB writes to ICC.

Its the players who are at risk, not the medics. First Shastri got infected. Then 2 other support staffs.

The medics asked them to continue playing. Then after couple of days their junior physio got infected.

This not a joke.

IPL had nothing to do with this. Players were anyway leaving England on 15th September.

Exactly its not a joke people should listen to experts and medics did not ask them to self isolate which means there was no risk. Nobody actually knows why the players decided not to play the only explanation so far that has been given that the players got scared which really smells of IPL something that was pre-planned between players and IPL teams.

ECB has at times given the impression that money is more important. Hence its love for its unconditional association with BCCI, hence the hundred, and hence its previous association with Stanford 20/20.

I forgot about Stanford. That was in 2009. It’s possible to do business ethically and a culture change is under way as more and more firms look to the triple bottom line instead of the single. That’s the way I hope ECB will behave now.

The value of the broadcast deal is well published and ticket and hospitality prices are readily available. After that it just takes some estimations and maths to see that it's true.

What is the value of the broadcast deal with Sony India?

Exactly its not a joke people should listen to experts and medics did not ask them to self isolate which means there was no risk. Nobody actually knows why the players decided not to play the only explanation so far that has been given that the players got scared which really smells of IPL something that was pre-planned between players and IPL teams.

You are cooking up stories now. No one knew if junior physio will be covid positive a day before the test.

Again, the medics were not at risk. The players were. Atleast 8 players were close contact of the physio. No one knows if they will turn positive in next few days.

Secondly, with no covid protocols, the players could catch the infection from the crowd.

I couldn't care about the test result. My concern is again about elites vs common man for covid management.

Had a common man been close contact to Covid person, they would have under compulsory quarantine for many days, couldn't leave the country. Yet, elites are once again shown to be above the rules.

You are cooking up stories now. No one knew if junior physio will be covid positive a day before the test.

Again, the medics were not at risk. The players were. Atleast 8 players were close contact of the physio. No one knows if they will turn positive in next few days.

Secondly, with no covid protocols, the players could catch the infection from the crowd.

Its clear you have no respect for professionals, I guess you are one of those who self treat yourself rather than going to the hospital to seek professional advise?

For the rest of the sane minded people its quite simple Indian players ignored professional advise and decided they would rather not play the last test match at this stage and run to IPL. The explanation from BCCI is even more dodgy which basically said players got scared and did not want to play but wanted to catch the first flight to IPL.

If I was an Indian fan I would be really worried that my country men decided t play IPL instead of playing for the country. But I guess we are living in an increasingly money driven word and players like Virat who has a lot to say is for public consumption only.

I couldn't care about the test result. My concern is again about elites vs common man for covid management.

Had a common man been close contact to Covid person, they would have under compulsory quarantine for many days, couldn't leave the country. Yet, elites are once again shown to be above the rules.

Fairly sure there would have been nothing stopping a close contact who was double vaccinated from leaving the country. Wouldn't necessarily be particularly responsible but I'm fairly sure they'd be allowed.

I have said long back in this thread ipl is part of reason of not playing and it's perfectly fine. What is problem here?

players had a health risk and they had a perfectly valid reason to not play in that situation.

If england was so concerned about hundred and also being adamant on holding the 5th test so close to rescheduled ipl inspire of requesting not to, and also not postponing the test by 2 days, then india is also justified in their decision to not harm their chances of risking the IPL. Remember IPL is a 300 million dollar tournament.

They all had IPL on their minds, so ended up pulling an act like this which only desis are capable of. Shame on them.

According to some reports, they already have written to ICC. There plan is simple,

Get the forfeit result

Claim the full insurance cover

Equal points on WTC

According to some reports, they already have written to ICC. There plan is simple,

Get the forfeit result

Claim the full insurance cover

Equal points on WTC

Pretty sure ECB will prefer a rescheduled test + 1 extra T20 & ODI next summer than get a forfeited test + insurance which wont cover entire loss + sour relations with BCCI

ECB is not run by emotional fools !

Pretty sure ECB will prefer a rescheduled test + 1 extra T20 & ODI next summer than get a forfeited test + insurance which wont cover entire loss + sour relations with BCCI

ECB is not run by emotional fools !

How are you pretty sure they would want that? ECB is not Sri Lankan cricket board

Money talks. ECB has 2 major cash cows - Ashes & India. Little point in offending India & spitting in the bowl that feeds you

Its very easy to talk of honour & pride as casual fans - not so easy when as ECB CEO you have to balance the financial books especially during a pandemic situation

And ECB is run by sensible folks, not emotional fools. They understand the math

Money talks. ECB has 2 major cash cows - Ashes & India. Little point in offending India & spitting in the bowl that feeds you

Its very easy to talk of honour & pride as casual fans - not so easy when as ECB CEO you have to balance the financial books especially during a pandemic situation

And ECB is run by sensible folks, not emotional fools. They understand the math

I’m not sure what you are ranting on about here. ECB does not depend or survive on the Indian tour. Yes it generates a lot of money but by no means is it the reason for ECB’s sustainability, they will not die out without the extra Test or 2 T20i against India lol

The only person who is sounding like an emotional fool online is you here. Take a deep breath and read your posts again. What can you do if ECB has already written to the ICC seeking a result of this match? Just chill out man

Durham's County Championship match against Surrey has been cancelled following an unnamed Surrey player testing positive for Covid-19.

The two sides were due to face each other at Emirates Riverside, Chester-le-Street from Monday.

The player and "a significant number" of other Surrey players are isolating having been deemed close contacts.

How the points will be awarded from the Division Two fixture will be confirmed at a later date by the ECB

So one player tested positive and even though substitution was allowed, match was cancelled because others were deemed to be in close contact.

Would like to know how the ECB eventually awarded points in their domestic competition.

I’m not sure what you are ranting on about here. ECB does not depend or survive on the Indian tour. Yes it generates a lot of money but by no means is it the reason for ECB’s sustainability, they will not die out without the extra Test or 2 T20i against India lol

The only person who is sounding like an emotional fool online is you here. Take a deep breath and read your posts again. What can you do if ECB has already written to the ICC seeking a result of this match? Just chill out man

ECB does exist to just survive. Its goal is to flourish & ensure the best possible results for its stakeholders

Of course ECB can survive without BCCI - just like PCB has since 2009. But that's not something the ECB bosses will want to do

Especially in these difficult times where every sport is undergoing financial trouble. Every penny counts - even 1 extra T20 & ODI against India is worth 8-10 million pounds in ticket sales / tv rights / sponsor revenue. Its not peanuts

Like we say in Hindi / Urdu - " josh se nahin , hosh se kaam karna chahiye "

Of course there will be posturing & hand wringing over this incident - ECB wud want to get best possible deal out of this issue & rightly so. But pretty sure both ECB & BCCI will settle it behind the scenes to the satisfaction of both parties