Should making unsubstantiated match-fixing claims to settle personal scores be a criminal offence?

Savak

World Star
We first saw this with Miandad in a fit of anger accusing Afridi of match fixing for which he had to retract under threat of a legal law suit.

Now we saw Aamir Sohail hint at conspiracy and match fixing for Pakistan making it to the final of the CT and gave no credit to Sarfaraz at all

Sarfaraz Nawaz has a PHD in accusing others of match fixing and betting.

This is just ridiculous and only adds to the anxiety of players who have a lot to deal with anyways in international cricket.

The Pakistani police, law enforcement, judicial authorities need to make it a criminal offence if any former player in the press, media, social media accesses any current or former player of match fixing and fails to provide proof in 24 hours? A 5-10 year jail sentence at least. This is the only way people will think twice before opening their big mouths to settle personal scores and to deliberately destroy reputations.

Absolutely. The Match Fixing allegation is used too loosely in Pakistan and really dents the credibility of some cricketers even when they've maintained controversy free careers.

Bhai jo moh mein ata hai boltay hain... this is the by-product of having hundreds of channels each competing to get the viewers attention. That is why they call these "experts" to give their "expert opinion". Aisay experts ko tou onkay gullay mohallay mein koi moh nahi lagata...

Exactly. Almost EVERY former player is on TV these, be it the Mullahs, the liberals, the educated, the uneducated, the politicians and some are even hosting their own Ramzan game shows. There's bound to be such statements flowing around every once in a while. I'm surprised it doesn't happen more often frankly.

I'm no lawyer, but I believe it is a crime

It's defamation of character, Sarfraz can probably take Sohail to court to seek damages if he so chooses

And I believe there was talk of Afridi taking Miandad to court before Miandad apologized

Aamer Sohail did not accuse anybody of match fixing though. Match manipulating maybe but that too I think he was talking about ICC and not any players

Oh and baseless allegations like that come under the clause of defamation and liable or slander in some countries. Both an accused Imran back in the 80s, Imran sued him won the case and took him to the cleaners.

It is due to our pathetic legal system where we have people in Pakistan loosely accussing each other of crimes without facts. Had we had a solid legal system, no one would dare do this

We first saw this with Miandad in a fit of anger accusing Afridi of match fixing for which he had to retract under threat of a legal law suit.

Now we saw Aamir Sohail hint at conspiracy and match fixing for Pakistan making it to the final of the CT and gave no credit to Sarfaraz at all

Sarfaraz Nawaz has a PHD in accusing others of match fixing and betting.

This is just ridiculous and only adds to the anxiety of players who have a lot to deal with anyways in international cricket.

The Pakistani police, law enforcement, judicial authorities need to make it a criminal offence if any former player in the press, media, social media accesses any current or former player of match fixing and fails to provide proof in 24 hours? A 5-10 year jail sentence at least. This is the only way people will think twice before opening their big mouths to settle personal scores and to deliberately destroy reputations.

It already is.

Please legally illiterate people shouldn't complicate things. These situations are already covered by law. It is called defamation when you make statements that can harm the reputation or character of a person. That is why Miandad was forced to withdraw his statement.

Defamation suits can and have been brought there is no problem here. You don't need to have a specific law for accusing players of match-fixing, and another one for accusing persons of adultery, and a third for suggesting someone indulged in gambling etc etc.