Should the PSL have an auction system instead of draft system?

Should the PSL have an auction system instead of the draft system?

• Poll closed .

Bleedgreen4ever

Local Club Regular
Read somewhere that Rameez Raja suggested the PCB to replace the draft system with the auction system to increase the pool of foreigners and bring more money to the league.

Do you agree?

Please elaborate.

While the tournament is in UAE it looks very difficult as i dont think PCB can afford it but inshAllah when the tournament shifts to Pak i would love it if it was an auction. What are the pros and cons of an auction?

A player should be able to earn the maximum possible amount rather than be restricted to an artificial earning bracket whose purpose is to keep money in owners' pockets. Why should a player like Maxwell come to the PSL and labour for a month when he can sit on the bench in the IPL for a couple of games and earn more?

I thought the draft was embarrassing for players? But yes, it may open up the door to the big names

Draft is better, more professional, although trading before season should be allowed.

As far as I recall they did it to prevent from teams overspending beyond their means.

IPL has auction and it has succeeded in attracting gun foreign players

That's coz the owners are wealthy , nothing to do with auction,even for draft surely the prize probably would had been higher.
Yes ,but sometimes unknown players go for big auction which isnt great thing.

Draft is good at the moment, allows all the teams with a roughly equal opportunity to select squads of similar strength

PSL can determine a specific purse cap for auction so every team gets same resources and every player gets his maximum/correct value.

Not a fan of the auction system tbh. Draft system is fine just increase the pay level once more PSL games are in Pakistan

No, keep the draft. Increase the salary cap or scrap it. The NBA and MLB and all leagues in America use the draft system. The auction is jusy demeaning and insulting for players.

Auction will allow the wealthier teams to buy better players which will perhaps ruin the balance of the league

I align to the draft system because I sometimes follow NBA & stuff and they kinda use drafts which makes it a bit unique feature for PSL.

If I wanted our league to be IPL 2.0 I would've just went ahead and watched the IPL (no offense to them ofcourse)

This is Pakistan's brand and we should make it as unique as possible.

P.S. Please get rid of that cringeworthy head & shoulders move that they make people do in the crowd and that stupid Uber race :sanga

Every team is allowed to spend the same amount, let's say RS X crores, so all the team will have to buy 15-18 players from this amount only.
[MENTION=48834]proud_pakistani[/MENTION]

I align to the draft system because I sometimes follow NBA & stuff and they kinda use drafts which makes it a bit unique feature for PSL.

If I wanted our league to be IPL 2.0 I would've just went ahead and watched the IPL (no offense to them ofcourse)

P.S. Please get rid of that cringeworthy head & shoulders move that they make people do in the crowd and that stupid Uber race :sanga

IIRC draft system was used by BBL and CPL before PSL.

I don't follow other leagues outside IPL for obvious reasons; so not sure about draft system first usage, someone can correct me if I'm wrong :19:

Simply increasing the salary cap sounds like a better solution to attract bigger names. Love the draft system.

Draft or Auction doesnot matter as the salary cap decides how much is spent on players. In IPL the salary cap is almost 13mn i dont know how much it is in PSL.

Start playing other game to make it more unique

To get maximum value PSL should go for auction system in my opinion it ensure players are paid their true market value rewarding form and demand rather than fixed categories.

An auction may look glamorous but it is detrimental for the less famous domestic names. An example

1. Franchise has a purse of 1 Million
2. Spends 400K on a major international signing (Steve Smith)
3. Spends 200K on another major international signing (Luke Wood)
4. Spends 100K on a decent signing (Babar Azam)
5. Gets bargain buys for rest of the team and their salaries get impacted. Domestic players get their paydays slashed

All PCB needs to do is to just not put the players into categories themselves & raise the salary purse by US$ 250K. Players can be labeled as "Emerging" but the franchise can pick them in any category that they feel like.

They should just work on reinventing the draft & freshen it up a bit. Make some interesting rules and let franchises bid for players & the one that offers the highest category at the time of their pick gets the player. That way it's possible to get best of both the worlds. A player like Ali Raza, Samir Minhaas or Maaz Sadaqat may actually get purchased as Platinum/Diamond pick while still being in the emerging category.

"Parosi k bachay k qudarti gaal laal houn tau apnay bachay k gaal thappar maar maar k laal nai kia jaatay".

It will make franchise use picks wisely, before they had 2 3 platinum picks from limited amount of players, now they will think about their purse before spending extravagantly on high cost players. This way emerging players get more chance as theyd be cheaper, and senior players will not get free ride.

PZ and LQ are the one's strongly oppossing the Auction. The PCB also has this wierd fixation of trying to keep everyone happy i.e. they won't go for the auction unless they have a unanimous vote. You can't keep dragging the league down just because some of the franchises have their own vested interests or don't have the stomach to make bold calls. If majority wants the auction then go for it.

I'm hearing a DRAuction mode. Hybrid. Auction for overseas and Draft for locals.

But why? Doesn't make sense to have overseas players pool in free market model while your locals get preassigned categories and money.

Only reason I could think of now is that it protects PR players like Babar and Rizwan. As they will be guaranteed a higher category.

PZ and LQ are the one's strongly oppossing the Auction. The PCB also has this wierd fixation of trying to keep everyone happy i.e. they won't go for the auction unless they have a unanimous vote. You can't keep dragging the league down just because some of the franchises have their own vested interests or don't have the stomach to make bold calls. If majority wants the auction then go for it.
Why can't PCB release all existing owners and sell them for over 100 plus crores.... why obeying their tantrums?

Draft and direct signing from free market along with trade and draft pick trades.

Not the current drafting system, but proper nhl/nba drafting not the ones they have.

Drafting should be done of youngsters and first time foreigners.

After which all players are retained, no releasing of players.

Auction is a thing of IPL, i dont understand why leagues think copying IPL means they would come out as better

An auction may look glamorous but it is detrimental for the less famous domestic names. An example

1. Franchise has a purse of 1 Million
2. Spends 400K on a major international signing (Steve Smith)
3. Spends 200K on another major international signing (Luke Wood)
4. Spends 100K on a decent signing (Babar Azam)
5. Gets bargain buys for rest of the team and their salaries get impacted. Domestic players get their paydays slashed

All PCB needs to do is to just not put the players into categories themselves & raise the salary purse by US$ 250K. Players can be labeled as "Emerging" but the franchise can pick them in any category that they feel like.

They should just work on reinventing the draft & freshen it up a bit. Make some interesting rules and let franchises bid for players & the one that offers the highest category at the time of their pick gets the player. That way it's possible to get best of both the worlds. A player like Ali Raza, Samir Minhaas or Maaz Sadaqat may actually get purchased as Platinum/Diamond pick while still being in the emerging category.

"Parosi k bachay k qudarti gaal laal houn tau apnay bachay k gaal thappar maar maar k laal nai kia jaatay".
Franchise had purse of over 1.5 mullion dollar

I'm hearing a DRAuction mode. Hybrid. Auction for overseas and Draft for locals.

But why? Doesn't make sense to have overseas players pool in free market model while your locals get preassigned categories and money.

Only reason I could think of now is that it protects PR players like Babar and Rizwan. As they will be guaranteed a higher category.
Why any sane franchise will pick rizwan?

There is nothing bold about being an idiot.

Lahore qalander has invested on the players, why should they be forced to release players after every season for marketing gimmicks?

The PCB is allowing 3-4 retentions. That should be enough for the franchises to retain their core. So far 5-6 franchises have voted in favour of the auction, PZ is undecided and LQ is the only one opposing the auction using wierd excuses ie how would you feel if your family members were put in an auction, players all over the world are happy to play in the PSL at the current prices, why do you want to change that, psl is doing just fine without an auction.

These statements are full of denial and contrary to reality. The reality is the foreign roster in the SA T20, ILT20, Big Bash, Hundred, MLC has improved in comparison to the psl. The salary cap in the PSL per team has remained stagnant at $1.3 million whereas the other leagues minus the IPL are now at $2-2.5 million.

The PSL cannot afford to be left behind any further and it has to raise the salary caps. The PCB has accommodated the first 5 franchises by giving them a great discount on the franchise fees, now these franchises should dig into their pockets and raise the salary cap and spend big on players via direct signings, auction.

Mohsin Naqvi has rightfully told the franchises that it's time to now take the PSL to the auction, it would be great if everyone unanimously agrees on this otherwise I have the final authority to make the call based on majority vote. This is franchise cricket, if you can't afford to spend more money on players, then make way for other owners in the market with deeper pockets. At the end of the day the PSL is owned and operated by the PCB, the final decision on all psl matters belongs to the PCB. This is the unanimous message the PCB needs to send to the franchises

Some of the franchises are warning the PCB that if the PSL significantly pays a lot more money to foreigners vs Pakistani superstars, the Pakistani players like Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Shadab, Rauf etc will boycott the PSL and choose to play in other leagues. The beauty of letting the market decide is that players are rewarded, penalized monetarily based on their present form, abilities and skills.

Why any sane franchise will pick rizwan
The PCB is allowing 3-4 retentions. That should be enough for the franchises to retain their core. So far 5-6 franchises have voted in favour of the auction, PZ is undecided and LQ is the only one opposing the auction using wierd excuses ie how would you feel if your family members were put in an auction, players all over the world are happy to play in the PSL at the current prices, why do you want to change that, psl is doing just fine without an auction.

These statements are full of denial and contrary to reality. The reality is the foreign roster in the SA T20, ILT20, Big Bash, Hundred, MLC has improved in comparison to the psl. The salary cap in the PSL per team has remained stagnant at $1.3 million whereas the other leagues minus the IPL are now at $2-2.5 million.

The PSL cannot afford to be left behind any further and it has to raise the salary caps. The PCB has accommodated the first 5 franchises by giving them a great discount on the franchise fees, now these franchises should dig into their pockets and raise the salary cap and spend big on players via direct signings, auction.

Mohsin Naqvi has rightfully told the franchises that it's time to now take the PSL to the auction, it would be great if everyone unanimously agrees on this otherwise I have the final authority to make the call based on majority vote. This is franchise cricket, if you can't afford to spend more money on players, then make way for other owners in the market with deeper pockets. At the end of the day the PSL is owned and operated by the PCB, the final decision on all psl matters belongs to the PCB. This is the unanimous message the PCB needs to send to the franchises
Yeah why they are taking tantrums from lahore owner when auction shows that they can sell team at 3x price...? Plus even if they allow 3 retentions...even then all Pakistan main players will be retained and new 2 franchises will left with scraps...

This doesn't happen every year. They have had the chance to retain their core for 10 years now.

2 new teams are coming. If every team will retain 3 players. That's your best 18 players of PSL gone. Likely almost all of them being local.

New franchises need fair ground to start their team building.

Here's why LQ is opposing Auction.

They believe that their players have highest value in PSL. If they get to Auction pool. LQ won't be able to pay big for all of them. To get their players back.

With draft. Fakhar, Shaheen, Rauf, Abdullah, Sikander can all get preassigned category pay.

I know LQs are opposing this not because they don't want to pay their players their fair share of money. But that in Auction they won't be able to retain most of their core. Hence potential for losing their strength as a team that they have build over the past 5 years.

But that is part of league Cricket. A great reset has to happen every 10 years to reshape things and bring back the balance of the league for all teams.

Some of the franchises are warning the PCB that if the PSL significantly pays a lot more money to foreigners vs Pakistani superstars, the Pakistani players like Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Shadab, Rauf etc will boycott the PSL and choose to play in other leagues. The beauty of letting the market decide is that players are rewarded, penalized monetarily based on their present form, abilities and skills.
I don't think that will happen.

Great locals are a commodity. Shaheen as a bowler and captain has delivered in PSL. He will get a really high bid even now with his injury scare.

Shadab is a utility T20 player. One that has served Islamabad well.

Then you get breakthrough players each year. Franchises would be willing to bid high for them.

But players today like Rizwan and Babar who only have their PR strong and not the T20 game, will see their demand in Auction diminish a bit compared to few others that I've mentioned.

The beauty of free market is that it works in the favor of the best product. If not right now. In the coming seasons we will have players reinventing themselves in the game and finding themselves on the podium as the highest sold player.

This doesn't happen every year. They have had the chance to retain their core for 10 years now.

2 new teams are coming. If every team will retain 3 players. That's your best 18 players of PSL gone. Likely almost all of them being local.

A different view, the new franchises have the opportunity to do a Lahore Qalandars and invest in the emerging, unknown local players and foreign players now and make them the super stars of the Franchise in 1-2 years. This is how all franchises develop their core and identity. There is no fun if they have to buy iconic players from other franchises, the only time iconic players move away from their long term franchises when they have had a falling out or they want to start afresh with a new team for e.g. David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Babar Azam (Karachi Kings), Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings), Mohammad Amir (Karachi Kings). LQ have a deep love affair with Shaheen, Haris Rauf today and IU has a deep love affair with Shadab today but things could automatically change in 2-3 years time.

I don't think restricting yourself to just emerging and unknown players is a good strategy. Lahore had to suffer a lot in initial years. Where even with strong overseas cast. They had less local talent and suffered.

Their PDP did pay off but it took years to get going and seeing results.

I'm not of the opinion that no retentions should be allowed. 2-3 retentions is fine. Allows franchises to retain their core players

Even then though. 3 retentions per team means arguably best 18 local players gone.

Why is Pakistan/PSL obsessed with copying India and the IPL?

The draft system is better and creates more competition, hence why the NBA and NFL both go for this approach.

Lets assess core players quickly.

Potential Retentions with rank order. I'm assuming they all retain locals

Lahore:
1. Shaheen
2. Haris
3. Fakhar

Islamabad:
1. Shadab
2. Naseem
3. Nawaz

Peshawar:
1. Saim
2. Babar
3. Ali Raza

Quetta:
1. Abrar
2. Faheem
3. Hasan

Karachi:
1. Niazi
2. Abbas
3. Khushdil

Multan:
1. Rizwan
2. Obaid
3. Usama

Best locals that two new franchises would be left to draft or direct sign would be;

Saud? Haris? Abdullah? Wasim Jr? Amir? Imad? Usman T? Yasir? Hasan Ali?

You can already see options are limited. You can either go for an oldie or some inconsistent youngsters as your core locals.

Reading reports that the PCB is going for a full fledged auction but have accepted the franchises demand to retain 5 players

Lets assess core players quickly.

Potential Retentions with rank order. I'm assuming they all retain locals

Lahore:
1. Shaheen
2. Haris
3. Fakhar

Islamabad:
1. Shadab
2. Naseem
3. Nawaz

Peshawar:
1. Saim
2. Babar
3. Ali Raza

Quetta:
1. Abrar
2. Faheem
3. Hasan

Karachi:
1. Niazi
2. Abbas
3. Khushdil

Multan:
1. Rizwan
2. Obaid
3. Usama

Best locals that two new franchises would be left to draft or direct sign would be;

Saud? Haris? Abdullah? Wasim Jr? Amir? Imad? Usman T? Yasir? Hasan Ali?

You can already see options are limited. You can either go for an oldie or some inconsistent youngsters as your core locals.
Maaz naeem saad masood
Imvest in young lads

Reading reports that the PCB is going for a full fledged auction but have accepted the franchises demand to retain 5 players
I don't mind this. Retensions is good for brand identity and establishing long term rivalries.

U need to watch north american sports to understand how sports teams are made

Well there is a way to it. Allow the new franchises to select 2 players from each team and each team allowed to protect 5 players, but the rest players they get to keep

Funny how positive thinking, achievements gives confidence to make bold decisions. A few weeks ago we all felt PSL's outlook was negative and the leagues finances did not allow for an auction but the sale of the two new teams at a higher than expected prices has injected energy and a feel good feeling in the league which was missing for the last 5 years.

Again, just because you see an auction in IPL doesnt make it a bold or positive thing.

The league structure of psl is further weakened by adopting this and limiting retentions to only 5 players.

Posters before commenting about this should watch north american sports league structure of free agency, trade and draft picks

Whatever it is, if it is good for PSL then go for it... Franchises may want to retain some players, so I think make it fair for everyone... Don't want to press down hard on the new franchises.

AS PER REPORTS:
The Pakistan Super League (PSL) is set to enter a transformative phase as Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Mohsin Naqvi, urged franchise owners to increase the players' salary cap and adopt an auction-based model for player recruitment. This recommendation came during the PSL Governing Council meeting held at the National Cricket Academy, where representatives from all eight franchises, including the newly inducted teams from Sialkot and Hyderabad, were present.

Naqvi emphasized that the rising market value of franchises—highlighted by the recent acquisition of Sialkot and Hyderabad for Rs1.75 billion and Rs1.85 billion respectively by FKS Group and OZ Developers—justifies a boost in player compensation.

He proposed that PSL 11, scheduled to begin on March 26, 2026, should feature a full auction or a hybrid “drauction” model to allow teams greater flexibility in squad building. The PCB chief also stressed the importance of providing equal opportunities to the new franchises in player selection. Additionally, the meeting discussed key issues such as player retentions and the possibility of direct signings, with a working group formed to further deliberate on these matters in an upcoming session. This marks a pivotal moment for the PSL as it expands from six to eight teams, signaling a bold new chapter in the league’s evolution.

4 players per team to be retained, one in each category

That sucks! Sab ko auction main daalo!

IMO the players have the right to choose if they wish to be retained by the franchise or they go into the auction.

This should be the case this time round

Not an ITK, but I’d imagine it’s a local player draft in PKR and overseas auction in $s.

If it’s a 5 player retention, it’s a full on joke. 5x6teams = 30 players (with all these probably being local players). What are the 2 new teams going to pick from then? 30 players makes up the entirety of the Pakistan t20 squad and probables. Even 4 players (4 x 6teams = 24 players) retained is too much.

This way both Sialkot and Hyderabad are in trouble

Eb

I am fine with a couple retentions. 4 is too many.

But why do we need to specify categories now?
Because then some teams might retain 2-3 in the platinum and not release good players

A team like LQ can retain all 4 of Shaheen, Rauf, Fakhar and Mitchell if they want…

Although one has to be Platinum, then Diamond, Gold and Bronze.

Let’s see if all 4 are happy to be retained this way.

“In the previous PSL and the season before that, players were greatly troubled by Peshawar Zalmi..., Babar Azam also wanted to leave, but the matters were resolved...,, and this time too, they weren't giving their opinion initially; now that everyone has agreed on the auction, Zalmi did not vote in favor of the auction...,

But thanks to Allah, under the leadership of Mohsin Naqvi Sahib, everyone agreed on the auction, and under the leadership of Salman Naseer Sahib, the Pakistan Super League will continue to flourish”

Babar should be counting his stars they didn’t let him leave.

Because then some teams might retain 2-3 in the platinum and not release good players

A team like LQ can retain all 4 of Shaheen, Rauf, Fakhar and Mitchell if they want…

Although one has to be Platinum, then Diamond, Gold and Bronze.

Let’s see if all 4 are happy to be retained this way.
I'd rather have things simple. Remove categories. Allow teams only 2-3 retentions.

I think the categories are the master stroke

You will get better Players in the auction this way.

Saim Ayub, Harris, Fakhar etc will be in the auction.

The back room staff and officials running the PSL Franchises will now actually have to earn their keep and properly plan for the auction.