Shubman Gill versus Abdullah Shafique

Potential wise Gill is Tendulkar/Kohli level, I won’t Babar in that class.

I have to say even Kohli didn't look this good at this age, especially against the short ball. Kohli, however, has immense mental strength and exceptional work-ethic. So Gill might not become as great a player as Kohli, but the natural gift is at least on par with if not greater than Kohli's.

Gill is such a lovely player to watch from an aesthetic point of view as well. He drives off the front-foot like Kohli and off the back-foot like Root.

Technically he is as good as it gets. Mentally very strong as well. You can see some nerves which are extremely normal considering his age and the attack that he is up against, but he is going to get 5-6 hundreds within his first 20 odd Tests.

I have to say even Kohli didn't look this good at this age, especially against the short ball. Kohli, however, has immense mental strength and exceptional work-ethic. So Gill might not become as great a player as Kohli, but the natural gift is at least on par with if not greater than Kohli's.

Gill’s technique is so pure. Unless he suffers from a career-ending injury, I believe he will reach Kohli’s heights (at least in Test cricket) because he is so mature and level-headed. His composure is remarkable.

Couple of short balls he played towards midwicket indicated as if, he already knew it's going to be a short ball and he had it premeditated with 100% confidence.

It's as if, he could accurately read the bowler's mind and his body language to know with surety as to what was coming.
Now's that's a naturally gifted talent, sharp focus, and mental alertness/toughness, and game awareness. He is not worried about raising his collars.

So hats off to him.
Truly enjoyed watching his 50. It was a great mix of confidence and class against a top side in their own backyard.

Our debutants usually have their throats dried up, eyes wide open, heads down, on the backfoot body language, edges and nudges start with a nervous demeanor evident all over the body language, tuk tuk, and shattered on confidence, and 24/7 in the survival mode.

I hope we get a good team of coaches who could backup our youngsters to play confidently instead of being fearful of "Nahi tou daant parraygi".

Shafique is far below in terms of maturity, level headedness and development in comparison to Gill as of now.

That being said, yes he can play some classy strokes and you can easily find some of his innings on youtube. I hope he can develop as considering his overall backlift and stroke making he would be a good watch too at international level.

At the moment there is no comparison and even at U19 level Gill was much more mature and developed while Abdullah left a lot to be desired at that stage. At the end it will come down to the overall hardwork, will and determination, Shafique will need a lot of that as currently he quite a distance behind Gill in terms of development.

Watched some T20 knock highlights though they don't give proper idea.Does look talented and has all the shots

Also no way he's same age as Gill :P

Watched some T20 knock highlights though they don't give proper idea.Does look talented and has all the shots

Also no way he's same age as Gill :P

His thick beard/facial hair is possibly making him look older than he is. Looked like kid next door couple of years ago. Looks like genetics of the region, he gets to grow a good beard at 21 while Shaw suffers from hair thinning/ balding at 21. :13:

Gill is a bigger talent than Babar, let alone Shafique.

Temperament is lacking though. Need to go on and convert those good looking 50s into 3 digit scores. Only then he can reach at the level of Kohli, Babar etc. Hopefully it comes with time.

Gill has a lot of domestic and IPL experience which definitely helps with development. The only way Abdullah can somewhat match Gill's development fast is to get a permanent spot in atleast two formats of Pakistan's squad and remain there, then maybe after 2-3 series or an year his development will be pretty decent.

Possibly two of the most elegant young players from both sides with impressive back lift.

I don't want Abdullah near the team at the moment. He has no experience at all. Needs to go back to domestic cricket and play a few more seasons of List A, FC, and T20 before he can get a consistent chance. He already failed with two ducks in two innings against New Zealand, but I'm not holding him accountable for that failure because he was fast-tracked.

He should become a member of the T20 team after he has been played a full season of PSL, to see what he's made of. I want his batting to be tested in high pressure situations so that he can join the team as a better player. For now, we need to use Sharjeel and Babar at the top.

On the comparison with Gill, I'd take Gill any day. He is extremely talented, and he has a really impressive domestic record, something which Abdullah doesn't. Only after averaging 45 in List A and an impressive 73.8 in FC was he even considered for the team. Abdullah hit one century and if you take it away, he averages about 25 in T20s. That's not good in my opinion, should at least average in the 30s or 40s to merit such a quick selection, don't know what Misbah was thinking.

Wrong!!. It took sometime for Kohli to get going in Tests. The kid has only 3 innings so far and you expecting to convert it big? He is playing his first ever test series , debut against Australia in Australia. Give him some break. He has outshined all other openers on this tour so far.

Couple of short balls he played towards midwicket indicated as if, he already knew it's going to be a short ball and he had it premeditated with 100% confidence.

It's as if, he could accurately read the bowler's mind and his body language to know with surety as to what was coming.
Now's that's a naturally gifted talent, sharp focus, and mental alertness/toughness, and game awareness. He is not worried about raising his collars.

So hats off to him.
Truly enjoyed watching his 50. It was a great mix of confidence and class against a top side in their own backyard.

Our debutants usually have their throats dried up, eyes wide open, heads down, on the backfoot body language, edges and nudges start with a nervous demeanor evident all over the body language, tuk tuk, and shattered on confidence, and 24/7 in the survival mode.

I hope we get a good team of coaches who could backup our youngsters to play confidently instead of being fearful of "Nahi tou daant parraygi".

He picks up the length really early. A gift the great Tendulkar had.

Temperament is lacking though. Need to go on and convert those good looking 50s into 3 digit scores. Only then he can reach at the level of Kohli, Babar etc. Hopefully it comes with time.

Lacking temperament????

It's his 2nd test and he is really facing a high quality attack in Australia

Come on now that's very harsh. He's played two innings and already you're expecting him to play daddy hundreds. That's unfair.

His temperament is fine. It's just a lack of experience. Give him a few more games and see him develop. For example, he's probably already realized that he shouldn't have played a forward defensive shot to the delivery he got out to. It was too wide for that shot and he wasn't behind the line of the ball.

Well played :rp

Been saying this for a while, Gill is their Kohli replacement.

It's crazy how seamlessly they find these generational batting prospects.

Gill is class while Shafiq looked very ordinary vs a much weaker attack.

Tbh I think it’s a fair comparison because both are very similar in their style of play. One has stayed grounded and toiled hard, then cashed in. The other has a bit of a journey ahead now. Maybe he makes a name for himself in the next PSL and can come back stronger

"always" lol. It's his 2nd Test.

Lacking temperament????

It's his 2nd test and he is really facing a high quality attack in Australia

Come on now that's very harsh. He's played two innings and already you're expecting him to play daddy hundreds. That's unfair.

His temperament is fine. It's just a lack of experience. Give him a few more games and see him develop. For example, he's probably already realized that he shouldn't have played a forward defensive shot to the delivery he got out to. It was too wide for that shot and he wasn't behind the line of the ball.

Not only based on these 2 test innings but even in warm up match he was looking millions dollar in both the innings (43 and 65) but somehow threw it away. Also, in 3rd ODI his 33 runs innings was brilliant but I was expecting him to go a bit longer.

I am a big fan of Gill and he has loads of potential. Just need to concentrate bit more and look for those 100s. That is all I am saying but hopefully it will come with time.

Gill is class while Shafiq looked very ordinary vs a much weaker attack.

Not comparing both, it's way too early to do so, and Gill has a lot more experience but you can't comment On Abdullah Shafique performances, these failures means nothing. If I am not wrong, even Gill failed in LOI'S a year ago in NZ.

More innterested in Gill vs Pucovski.That kid has a bright future

Hoping that Gill gets to bat at no. 3 for few years alongside Kohli before latter retires.

Shafique is far below in terms of maturity, level headedness and development in comparison to Gill as of now.

That being said, yes he can play some classy strokes and you can easily find some of his innings on youtube. I hope he can develop as considering his overall backlift and stroke making he would be a good watch too at international level.

At the moment there is no comparison and even at U19 level Gill was much more mature and developed while Abdullah left a lot to be desired at that stage. At the end it will come down to the overall hardwork, will and determination, Shafique will need a lot of that as currently he quite a distance behind Gill in terms of development.

Hes gone into the gold category for the psl right move or should be in a lower category ?

As he has represented Pakistan he couldnt have been in emerging category. Yes one can argue if he should have been in Silver or Gold as default category. If no team selects him in Gold he will automatically go down to sliver category. However, I think it shouldn’t make much of a difference in terms of how he needs to work and go about his game going forward.

To be honest it’s interesting to see mostly Indians populating this thread. When Gill turns out to have a much more successful career, as he probably will, they’re also gonna be the ones bumping this thread. Really no Pakistani seriously thinks there’s a comparison.

As he has represented Pakistan he couldnt have been in emerging category. Yes one can argue if he should have been in Silver or Gold as default category. If no team selects him in Gold he will automatically go down to sliver category. However, I think it shouldn’t make much of a difference in terms of how he needs to work and go about his game going forward.

He should have demoted him self to silver or even bronze.why would you play your self in silver.defonitley it may help him get his confidence back ans work on his technique and other aspects

Amazing....

Seems like the PSL franchise circles and Pakistan cricket team are two different entities all together

Gill is such an upgrade over other Indian batsmen let alone Pak batsman. Hope we don't drop him if he has one bad series because apart from him, we have Rohit(33), Pujara(33), Kohli(32) and Rahane(32) in our XI and all of these guys are 30+.

:))) SHubam gill being compared to a guy who cant even get a psl team.

All of a suddnes fans will say that 6 PSL teams dont know what they are doing.

:))) SHubam gill being compared to a guy who cant even get a psl team.

All of a suddnes fans will say that 6 PSL teams dont know what they are doing.

No one in their right mind will say Abdullah shafique over Gill just like no one in their right mind will say misbah over yousuf.

He should have demoted him self to silver or even bronze.why would you play your self in silver.defonitley it may help him get his confidence back ans work on his technique and other aspects

He automatically got demoted to Silver category but, couldnt get selected in any team even in supplementary.

Its proberly a good thing to be honest it will give him time away and work on different aspects they proberly dont see him as a t20 player

What I think is that teams saw his performance in the international T20s, and have doubts he's international quality. Otherwise he'd have got a place just like Imam who's proven he's international quality even if he's not a T20 player. As even good non-T20 players will adapt and do decent usually in PSL like what Imam does as they can cope with stronger bowling attacks.

And Abdullah already has been terrific in T20s domestically. It's not like he has to prove himself in domestic first.

Really worrying. I think they've just concluded he isn't good enough based on the NZ T20s. By good enough i mean T20s or ODIs. Which seems ridiculous but is probably true. I mean someone hyped that much, Multan were ready to hang on to him before no question before he actually set foot in international cricket.

In 2005, there was Dhoni vs K. Akmal
In 2010, there was Kohli vs U. Akmal
Now we have Gill vs Abdullah.
This thread will be fun down the road.

Gill is such an upgrade over other Indian batsmen let alone Pak batsman. Hope we don't drop him if he has one bad series because apart from him, we have Rohit(33), Pujara(33), Kohli(32) and Rahane(32) in our XI and all of these guys are 30+.

Gill will be one of the greatest of all time. Indian will not drop him even if he bags five consecutive ducks.

Not too sure of that.Kohli's handling of youngsters is atrocious

Yes if Rahane bags 5 consecutive drops he won't be dropped

Not too sure of that.Kohli's handling of youngsters is atrocious

Yes if Rahane bags 5 consecutive drops he won't be dropped

Kohli rates him very highly. Players who are in his good books always stay in the squad.

Is that why he's never given consistent run in ODIs and took Rahane as captain to debut in Tests,despite whole batting being poor

Abdullah Shafiq and Saud Shakeel > Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill

Shaw in particular is so overrated. Technique is all over the place, both his footwork and flashing hard at everything.

Gill is a class act but I Feel like Abdullah is really solid and can also hit big even though it doesn’t come naturally to him.

Just like Babar trumped Rahul, it’s now Abdullah’s time to do the same :babar

Gill is streets ahead of Abdullah & Saud. It’s not even a comparison.

What I think is that teams saw his performance in the international T20s, and have doubts he's international quality. Otherwise he'd have got a place just like Imam who's proven he's international quality even if he's not a T20 player. As even good non-T20 players will adapt and do decent usually in PSL like what Imam does as they can cope with stronger bowling attacks.

And Abdullah already has been terrific in T20s domestically. It's not like he has to prove himself in domestic first.

Really worrying. I think they've just concluded he isn't good enough based on the NZ T20s. By good enough i mean T20s or ODIs. Which seems ridiculous but is probably true. I mean someone hyped that much, Multan were ready to hang on to him before no question before he actually set foot in international cricket.

But with imaam he has shown he can do it in international even if its odis format.abdullah only had a few chances in international so we cant say if hes good enough or not but playing for Pakistan decreased his chances of getting picked in the emerging category.

Yaar yeh kis tarah ka comparison hai. Sharam nahi aati

[MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION] pointed this out in another thread but where does the confidence for such comparisons come from :stokes

Gill has played over 50 List A and T20 games and 25 first class games.
Abdullah 1 List A and FC game and 13 T20s. He got a hundred in that FC game.

I'm not saying a young Pakistani batsman can't come along who's better than Gill, but right now how do people draw these comparisons.

Did he have some great U19 WC or something?

[MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION] pointed this out in another thread but where does the confidence for such comparisons come from :stokes

Gill has played over 50 List A and T20 games and 25 first class games.
Abdullah 1 List A and FC game and 13 T20s. He got a hundred in that FC game.

I'm not saying a young Pakistani batsman can't come along who's better than Gill, but right now how do people draw these comparisons.

Did he have some great U19 WC or something?

PP is always on the hunt for a saviour.

Definitely Abdullah Rafique. What kind of question is this?

Gill is likely to go on and become the successor to Gavaskar, Tendulkar, and Kohli.

Shafique is nowhere close and to make these comparisons is absolutely idiotic. He is a player with potential who should have been allowed to play first class rather than miss a full season of 11 FC games for 3 T20 games...... Until he plays first class cricket, these hype threads are incredibly embarrassing.

Even after a full season of dominating first class (though we have no reason to believe he would) there would be a long way to go in stepping up his game.

One of the worst selections in Misbah’s tenure, especially if you consider that Abdullah didn’t even have a particularly special T20 season before T20 debut, aside from his debut century.

At best, best, should have been taken on tour with Pakistan A though even this I wouldn’t have done. In terms of brain cells, this is right up there with the recall of Mohammad Irfan or the Test debut of Musa Khan.

Once again, this isn't to compare the two

It's to compare how they will end up. Who will have the better career? How were the two developed.

Both are the best upcoming batsmen in each respective country. So lets see.

In 47 games Shubman Gill: 0 hundreds

In 1 game Abdullah Shafique: 1 hundred

In t20 cricket.

Gill has already played a match winning/series winning knock in AUS. Something which no Pak batter has been able to do ever.

This is not even a comparison. Gill is miles ahead.

Delete the thread before it becomes an embarrassment.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear. We've done it again.

Abdullah Shafique isn't even fit to tie Gill's laces.

I don't think badly of any youngster, but Abdullah Shafique's non-existent cricketing credentials coupled with an infamous agent we are all familiar with doing his digital marketing for him on the back of zero said credentials is what turns me off him bigtime.

If he's that good, wait for him to make an international score or two. Then talk.

The numbers that stick out for me:

Both 21

Gill already 26 first-class matches
Abdullah only 1 first class match

It's to compare how they will end up. Who will have the better career? How were the two developed.

Gill will develop better. You have to be a Babar level talent to make your mark in the Pakistan system, Abdullah is not a Babar level talent.

Gill is an absolutely elite talent and has more confidence and authority than the likes of Babar, Kohli, Williamson did at this age.

If Abdullah is the best up-coming bat Pakistan are doomed

I have not seen Abdullah to comment, but Gill looks like an elite level batsman to me.

He will surely face some trouble here and there, but he seems to have a very simple way to play. He plays balls on merit and has a range of shots. Seems very assured and confident. I have not seen many 21 years old playing like that.

I think what people tend to forget about the development of these young players is the competitive environment and the role models they see at the domestic level. For example if your Abdullah who are you competing against at the provincial level and for place in the national team, yes players like Haris Sohail etc. Lazy and unmotivated, happy go lucky characters. Is that rally going to spur you to improve your game, no chance. Gill is up against good players and he knows that if doesnt work hard and develop, there will be 3 or 4 happy to work harder than him.

That’s why it’s good that Abdullah has an intrinsic work ethic. Comparisons with Gill aside, simply in comparison with other Pak youngsters Abdullah is definitely one to watch. For me he’s in a similar “to watch” category as Saud Shakeel.

It’s another matter entirely how far ahead India is of us.

Gill will have a better career than Babar let alone Shafique.

Gill is in the league of Tendulkar and Kohli. Babar is not in that league and Shafique is not in Babar’s league.

Gill will score 70+ international hundreds. Shafique will do very well to manage 20+.

I wonder why all these comparisons are India-Pakistan players?

Pandya-Faheem
Shubman-Shafique
Shubman-Haider
Kohli-Akmal

When will people get that any Indian player right now is eons ahead of any Pakistani player.

Why can't people think about Pucovski vs Haider for a change? or Dan Lawrence vs Shafique?

Not comparing both, it's way too early to do so, and Gill has a lot more experience but you can't comment On Abdullah Shafique performances, these failures means nothing. If I am not wrong, even Gill failed in LOI'S a year ago in NZ.

Shafiq hasn't even played a full match (T20 don't count ) and people are already judging and passing comments.

Gill will have a better career than Babar let alone Shafique.

Gill is in the league of Tendulkar and Kohli. Babar is not in that league and Shafique is not in Babar’s league.

Gill will score 70+ international hundreds. Shafique will do very well to manage 20+.

Gill will do well to surpass Babar's level in limited overs forget Kohli and other top batsmen.

In tests he has very good potential to be one of the top batsmen in the next 10-15 years but he doesn’t look to be as good as Kohli in limited overs.

In comparison threads Kohli Vs Umar Akmal was the best. I dont think any thread will match that ever!

Unfortunately Akmal didn’t get the backing as a long term top order batsman in tests and ODIs he could’ve beaten Kohli in terms of average and strike rate combination in tests and been a match winner on his day in ODIs if not as good as Kohli in that format.

Abdullah Shafiq and Saud Shakeel > Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill

Shaw in particular is so overrated. Technique is all over the place, both his footwork and flashing hard at everything.

Gill is a class act but I Feel like Abdullah is really solid and can also hit big even though it doesn’t come naturally to him.

Just like Babar trumped Rahul, it’s now Abdullah’s time to do the same :babar
Lol can't stop laughing 😂😂 are you for real??

Unfortunately Akmal didn’t get the backing as a long term top order batsman in tests and ODIs he could’ve beaten Kohli in terms of average and strike rate combination in tests and been a match winner on his day in ODIs if not as good as Kohli in that format.

Akmal wouldnt had done well in Indian system as well, he had loads of attitude issue, also what do you mean by backing?

:))) Carry on.

It maybe funny but an average close to 50 and a strike rate of 70 beats Kohlis combination in tests and he was capable of that playing more at UAE and in Pakistan would’ve helped to score a few big hundreds maybe a double.

Akmal wouldnt had done well in Indian system as well, he had loads of attitude issue, also what do you mean by backing?

Backing to become a top order batsman in tests and ODIs long term mostly played at 6 in ODIs and was dropped from tests early on I’ll leave it at that thread is on Gill vs Shafique not Akmal.

Gill is playing with superstars and Abdullah is playing with Pakistani Media stars,huge difference.
To what i have seen so far, AS looked to be timid character, almost like Asad Shafiq where Gill is full on future star. Gill will be thoroughly exposed in England where the bowlers are more skilful in swing conditions. Starc and GOAT have let down Ausssies. Broad and Anderson will eat this kid alive. I hope he proves me wrong though

Gill's batting is a sight to behold. It's safe to say that India have found their torch bearer after Kohli. In regards to this comparison, Gill will most likely be the superior batsman at the end of it all but at the very least Abdullah needs more FC experience and runs to at least contend.

wait.

we are comparing a guy who has played 57 LIST A matches, has a first class average of 68, and was one of the leading scorers in IPL,

with a guy who has played 1 first class match, no domestic one day matches, and never played in PSL?

What's next comparing floyd mayweather to jake paul?
or should we compare lebron james to lonzo ball?

this thread needs to be cancelled. lol

Gill is an exceptional talent. A treat to watch in the little I've seen of him in tests and u19 WC. Natural talent. Caresses the ball.

Abdullah on the other hand looks like he's modeled himself on Kohli, and plays with hard hands. Not as aesthetically pleasing as Babar/Haris. Looks slightly manufactured and robotic tbh, a bit like Root. But definitely has all the strokes.

One thing about Abdullah is that I feel he has lots of heart and character. A player Pakistan really needs in the lineup. One who scores when the chips are down. It'd be foolish to write him off after those T20Is.