Sind v Baluchistan | NSK | Oct 31 - Nov 3 | Roaring Warrior Shahid Afridi

Afridi fans always bring up this myth of him being a bowling all rounder. The fact is they are only Afridi fans for his batting not his bowling. And if it wasn't for his batting they would never have been or would ever be Afridi fans.

Afridi is not a specialist bowler. He is an all rounder. Therefore to be failing miserably with the bat 99% of the time (as he is now....even against the likes of Balochistan), he is not justifying his selection, despite some good bowling performances against minnows. Let's not mention his bowling against India and Sri Lanka though!

At the moment (ie on current form) we would be far better served giving an ODI spot to a specialist spinner like Saeed Ajmal. Ajmal is probably a better batsman than Afridi anyway.

Hash,

Just to further reinforce your point. If Afridi is a baowling all rounder? Then why is he continually picked as part of a top 6 batting line up for pakistan????

Surely if pakistan viewed afridi as bowling all-rounder they would pick an extra batsmen in the team!

Ghoshtbuster said:
I would suggest that Afridi is followed exclusively for the way he plays, not specifically his batting.

Of course, asking Afridi (an all rounder) to perform with the bat and the ball in some consistent manner is perfectly acceptable - and low scores with the bat are somewhat of a concern. However, an Afridi who is on fire in both areas is not only irreplaceable, but irrepressible.

Thus, I would argue there is huge value in supporting Afridi through times of inconsistency.
As always, brilliant and reflecting a perspective on the game that's grounded in reality.

It's a game.

AJ, bowling all-rounder doesn't mean that he bowls but can't bat at all - look at his test record and ODI SR.

Easa said:
He can't, it's gone :(

But it was seven pages of build-up and the atmosphere was electric. I don't think any other cricketer can generate that kind of expectation or hype, living or dead. It was unbelievable to be a part of.
Wasn't it just!

Was unbelievable enjoyment. To be honest I cant believe that there's a type of person who's glum to such a degree as to feel irked by it

Final scores of the day's play?

DM said:
AJ, bowling all-rounder doesn't mean that he bowls but can't bat at all - look at his test record and ODI SR.

Well his ODI batting performances lately have been that of a number 11!

2ndly no point having a 100 S.R if you are in the changing room after 4/5 balls every match!

Easa said:
He can't, it's gone :(

But it was seven pages of build-up and the atmosphere was electric. I don't think any other cricketer can generate that kind of expectation or hype, living or dead. It was unbelievable to be a part of.

Exactly, that thread just shows how brainwashed the Afridi fans are, you make new threads days before his match even though you know that it is nearly certain he's going to get out for a duck, yet you carry on with these threads such as Bolochistan thread where he still got a duck.

The fact is, Afridi cannot bat to save his life and his fans cannot accept that he is not a proper all rounder.

And no, dont give me that rubbish about inspiring the team, if a duck from him inspires the team then the team is just as brainwashed as his fans are.

PlanetPakistan said:
why the heck is Misbah batting so low down the order?
He was scared of Afridi.

(I imagine A Rauf was sent in as night watchman, thus distroting the batting order - and providing a good excuse for the fear)

Hari Sombar said:
Exactly, that thread just shows how brainwashed the Afridi fans are, you make new threads days before his match even though you know that it is nearly certain he's going to get out for a duck, yet you carry on with these threads such as Bolochistan thread where he still got a duck.

The fact is, Afridi cannot bat to save his life and his fans cannot accept that he is not a proper all rounder.

And no, dont give me that rubbish about inspiring the team, if a duck from him inspires the team then the team is just as brainwashed as his fans are.
He's taken 3 wickets so far, all top order including Misbah

He got 59 runs at an amazing strike rate last match in an unbelievably aggressive approach to chasing a 350 target in the 4th innings.

The guy is unreal and what we need in Pakistan.

The flair and talent we had in the 90s is dwindling because of such views above. We only have a few big match winners now - Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar and maybe 1 or 2 others. We used to have a full XI brimming with match-winners. Anwar, Afridi, Ijaz, Inzi, Saleem Malik, Moin, Akram, Waqar, Saqlain, Akhtar, even Mahmood, Razzaq, Zahid when he was there.

Each one of those could have taken the match by the throat and slain it with their bare hands.

I'm sorry but I dont subscribe to the timid, safety approach above at all. We're Pakistan, we know better. We used to give baptisms of pure flames to teenagers and tell them to swim or they sink. Now we wait until they're fat, balding, thirty and have lost their sting.

We used to mutilate teams on our day. It was ecstatic to watch.

Right now we're suffering the consequences of being timid. We're becoming more boring and less successful.

Afridi is the antithesis of this pathetic anaesthesia and is one of the antidotes to our decline.

DM said:
He's taken 3 wickets so far, all top order including Misbah

He got 59 runs at an amazing strike rate last match in an unbelievably aggressive approach to chasing a 350 target in the 4th innings.

The guy is unreal and what we need in Pakistan.

The flair and talent we had in the 90s is dwindling because of such views above. We only have a few big match winners now - Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar and maybe 1 or 2 others. We used to have a full XI brimming with match-winners. Anwar, Afridi, Ijaz, Inzi, Saleem Malik, Moin, Akram, Waqar, Saqlain, Akhtar, even Mahmood, Razzaq, Zahid when he was there.

Each one of those could have taken the match by the throat and slain it with their bare hands.

I'm sorry but I dont subscribe to the timid, safety approach above at all. We're Pakistan, we know better. We used to give baptisms of pure flames to teenagers and tell them to swim or they sink. Now we wait until they're fat, balding, thirty and have lost their sting.

We used to mutilate teams on our day. It was ecstatic to watch.

Right now we're suffering the consequences of being timid. We're becoming more boring and less successful.

Afridi is the antithesis of this pathetic anaesthesia and is one of the antidotes to our decline.

Ok, but how often will he make that kind of contribution ?

He might save you the odd match with his batting, but he will also lose you double the matches with his headless batting.

Take for example the T20 final, all he had to do was bat sensibly and rotate strike ..... what did he do ? He skied it up in the air going for a six.

So he might win you a match once in a blue moon, but he will lose you double the matches he wins for you

No, im not talking about is bowling, because he's supposed to be an allrounder

Hari Sombar said:
Ok, but how often will he make that kind of contribution ?

He might save you the odd match with his batting, but he will also lose you double the matches with his headless batting.

Take for example the T20 final, all he had to do was bat sensibly and rotate strike ..... what did he do ? He skied it up in the air going for a six.

So he might win you a match once in a blue moon, but he will lose you double the matches he wins for you

No, im not talking about is bowling, because he's supposed to be an allrounder
he bowls 10 overs in almost every ODI that he plays and bowls all 4 overs in T20s which clearly means that he plays as a specialist bowler(which he shouldn't do any more because now we have Ajmal who should be given 7-10 ODIs)

PlanetPakistan said:
he bowls 10 overs in almost every ODI that he plays and bowls all 4 overs in T20s which clearly means that he plays as a specialist bowler(which he shouldn't do any more because now we have Ajmal who should be given 7-10 ODIs)
this is just in ODIs, in T20 he should be able to walk in to the PAK team or for that matter any team in the world.

PlanetPakistan said:

Hash,

Just to further reinforce your point. If Afridi is a baowling all rounder? Then why is he continually picked as part of a top 6 batting line up for pakistan????

Surely if pakistan viewed afridi as bowling all-rounder they would pick an extra batsmen in the team!

Bro, we're not going to see face to face on this

And he's not supposed to be an "all-rounder", but a bowling all rounder with impact batting (words of Bob Woolmer, which is why he, the coaching legend, continued to play him).

He can't only "save" games with his bat - he can take it completely away in a manner not seen on a cricket pitch.

I refer you to my lengthy and dry post above (no. 65)

And the fact that he doesn't bat sensibly is astonishingly entertaining. Yes it can look bad, example you give above, but it can also look exciting beyond anything the world has ever seen.

Sindh 240-odd behind and staring down the barrel. They'll have to work hard to draw the game and reduce the number of points they give up.

That Nasir-Sadaf partnership took the game away with the Federal Areas recovering from 150-7 to 331-8.

Nevertheless, another top effort from Sohail Khan with figures of 4-66 from 26 overs with 7 maidens.

Good support from Afridi who also picked up a 4-fer, but was a tad expensive.

DM said:
Bro, we're not going to see face to face on this

And he's not supposed to be an "all-rounder", but a bowling all rounder with impact batting (words of Bob Woolmer, which is why he, the coaching legend, continued to play him).

He can't only "save" games with his bat - he can take it completely away in a manner not seen on a cricket pitch.

I refer you to my lengthy and dry post above (no. 65)

And the fact that he doesn't bat sensibly is astonishingly entertaining. Yes it can look bad, example you give above, but it can also look exciting beyond anything the world has ever seen.

Agree lol, I have more to say but ain't bothered so I'll just leave it there ;-)

Sheikh said:
Sindh 240-odd behind and staring down the barrel. They'll have to work hard to draw the game and reduce the number of points they give up.

That Nasir-Sadaf partnership took the game away with the Federal Areas recovering from 150-7 to 331-8.

Nevertheless, another top effort from Sohail Khan with figures of 4-66 from 26 overs with 7 maidens.

Good support from Afridi who also picked up a 4-fer, but was a tad expensive.
Thanks for the update Sheikh, great fightback from Baluch. Good bowling from Afridi and Sohail.

Sind openers still in, I really hope they can set Baluch a target

Gosh this is going to be exciting :D :D :D

Excellent performance by the lower order at 150/7 i would have backed sindh to win the game.

p.s i think it will be awesome if Baluchistan wins this tournament.

Latest updates

Sindh 24/0 still trailing by 212 runs

And yes Afridi and Sohail Khan took 4 wickets each :D

If arguably the greatest cricket coach of our generation, Bob Woolmer, saw the value of Shahid Khan Afridi, then who are we to refute it? Armchair critics are a dime a dozen; I would be terribly interested in knowing how many here participate in any form of league cricket or even have a fitness regime they follow. It's all too easy to sit back and criticise men who are representing your country at the highest level.

The Blazer said:
If arguably the greatest cricket coach of our generation, Bob Woolmer, saw the value of Shahid Khan Afridi, then who are we to refute it? Armchair critics are a dime a dozen; I would be terribly interested in knowing how many here participate in any form of league cricket or even have a fitness regime they follow. It's all too easy to sit back and criticise men who are representing your country at the highest level.

Totally agree with you!

Statistics speak volumes...

Apparently Afridi is the best Pakistani bowler as of recently.

However, statistics clearly show he is not, and is nowhere near.

Bob Woolmer, saw the value of Shahid Khan Afridi, then who are we to refute it? Armchair critics are a dime a dozen;
some here have said Woolmer was not that good, and to take the arm chair critics out, Razzaq also said it and probably some other Pakistani cricketers.

I am just reporting what have been posted here in last couple of years

Afridi has been a very good bowler for us for the last 5 years, he is an impact player.

His batting is just annoying now, even if he makes 30 off 30 balls i would be happy for at least a few games, i just feel like telling him to hit it on the ground and stop swing at & skying the ball all the time.

Having said that i would pick Afridi the bowler over a number of international bowlers from other countries at the moment.

Interesting match this is turning out to be. Yes Balochistan have the upper hand, but you can bet your bottom dollar that Afridi will still be thinking of victory. It's likely that Sind will bat out tomorrow at a fairly brisk rate and hope to set a target of 250 at least and then hope to bowl out their opposition on the final day. An Afridi special is required tomorrow and considering how Federal Areas were decimated so brutally in the last match and that Afridi is a 2nd innings batting specialist the signs are ominous.

Agree with you Raz, one never knows what the Beast is upto

This is gonna require an outstanding effort from Sindh. They trail by around 200, and need to get around 400 runs on day 3 and then declare, for a result. It looks hard, but not when you have the eager Wolf Man in the dugout.
:afridi

Shahid bhai chagaya ... awesome bowling performance

NOW we need that quickfire 50 as BONUS !

btw : anyone knows sources where Woolmer said these things about Shahid bhai. or quotes ?

hasan316 said:
Slogger afridi slould learn to hit the ball from his BAAP ( CHRIS GAYLE )
boss they were chasing 100 in a T20 match--> No Contest!
I bet ya Karachi Dolphin can beat these so called Superstars

Prince of Pakistan said:
btw : anyone knows sources where Woolmer said these things about Shahid bhai. or quotes ?
Listen, not only did he say that, but Woolmer said, and I quote:

"Shahid Afridi is the most talented cricketer I have seen in my entire life"

16 of 10 with three boundaries, come on Ox :afridi

Anyone want a wager - I bet he's gonna score x amount of runs but in seemingly unchaste, ugly-to-the-bone ways, a form of scoring that brings about nationalistic depression and world-wide economic recession.

Anyone want a bet? Huh? Huh!?

Ohh I like that

Well I'll bet that pieces of meat, real meat, real human meat and entrails, real entrails, real human entrails will be lodged into his bat as the match takes a truly ugly turn and falls out of the parameters of the word "cricket" by any definition of the word however liberal and woeful. There will be a permanent crimson tint on his Sher and right incisors after today's quasi-surgical activities.

Eleven wreaths are being prepared by the local florist.....with ten more on standby pending news of the Canine Malfunction's appetite and bull-ox rage.

To be honest both our bets are overly conservative but that's understandable considering the credit crunch

Baluch firmly in the drivers seat, I just hope Sind can post a target for them

I should put a disclaimer that you will temporarily speak in Victorian tongue after viewing the aforementioned literature.

Afridi does a lot of charity work for the Baluchistan region. I predict him to be """sympathetic""".

why does the scorecard say 16 of 10 balls not out afridi for hours now, and then it says at the top match still in progress, no updates?

Maybe the bowler is taking his time to send the next delivery in. Don't underestimate the effect of mind-games my friend

AMAZING!!!!! AMAZING FROM THE OX-MAN!!!!!!

WOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! AFRIDI TOP SCORING WITH 81 off 73!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!

Sind all out 364 giving them a lead of 128, not really enough to defend

Please bowl with flames Sohail Khan. Kill them... kill them.

:))) :))) @ DM

A top captains innings. Knowing Afridi and his limited cranial capacity, he will think this is in the bag.

The OXMan plays a Captains innings!!

Come on sind!!

Shahid Afridi's Batting form.....RETURNS!! And brilliant bowling form - Next step? :D

A brutal vicious knock of 59 off 36 last game and JUST NOW he's scored 81 off 73 batting at number 6.

What an amazing Strike Rate! - The game looked buried and gone and the best anyone could have EVER hoped for was a draw and he has batted to WIN IT!!!!

Unbelievable!!!! No-one like him in the history of the game :afridi :afridi :afridi

That kind of aggression is EXACTLY what I'd love to see in our national side

He's also taken 4 wickets - 3 of them TOP order including Misbah! 2nd Innings yet to be bowled - small target to defend but what a performance already!

Great to see the man-axe back in form with EVERYTHING. I'd still have had him as captain of all our national sides anyway before these 2 games, but now there's less of an argument against it.

Shahid is back :afridi

Ghoshtbuster said:
DM, my scorecard says 364/8, Anwer Ali and Tanvir ahmend still batting.
OH AMAZING!! Didnt notice that, I really hope they get at least a 150 lead

I swear if Sind win this Afridi should be made president of Pakistan

I imagine Fawads innings got lost under the rubble after the disaster itself. These things happen. Salman Hussain (the scorer) is most likely only human.

DM said:
Hmmmm

If this is a mistake, then frankly someone is going to get hurt

The runs don't add up to 364 in Sindh's 2nd innings, they are about 60 runs short. Maybe they just have Fawad Alam's total wrong and he scored 68 not 8???

So what happened? Was Sahibzada Mohammad at the epicentre of this carnage?

The Blazer said:
So what happened? Was Sahibzada Mohammad at the epicentre of this carnage?

Yes, Misbah, being the possesor of a wise if not experienced head, decided to give the guy an opportunity to hit himself back into some sort of form.

O Ji o merey sher kia baat hai teri merey yaar, Qurban jaon tere is beastility per

Hail the Beast :afridi

Iqbal'sh said:
The runs don't add up to 364 in Sindh's 2nd innings, they are about 60 runs short. Maybe they just have Fawad Alam's total wrong and he scored 68 not 8???
Good work Sherlock. It is a plausible answer.

What a match this is turning into, its such a shame that there is no proper coverage of Pakistans premier domestic 4-day tournament.

After scoring 126 in the first innings, and the opposition doubling that score in their reply - i can only imagine the bloodshed in a commentary thread had this been a Pak Test match. Now with one day to go - all three results are a possibility, with a sindh victory the least likely but most memorable.

It is no coincedence that the Sindh second innings is the only innings where batsmen have scored aggresively with Latif at a strike rate of about 70 and Sarfraz Ahmed putting a slection note-worthy innings at a strike rate of about 85. And leading by example, Afridi. Previously, batsmen had to dig in to score (Usman Tariq 50 from 192 balls) showing that the pitch is not easy, and a lead of 150 will be something worth fighting for.

SHAHID KHAN AFRIDI , THE WEAPON OFF MASS DESTRUCTION DOES IT !

AFRIDI brings NEW LIFE in Sindh , and they are back !

What a CLASS performance by SHAHID BHAI :D

Have you all noticed ? AFRIDI ALWAYS performs in LONGER VERSION of the game , but is so INCONSIStent in the LIMITED overs game .. strange isn't it ??

Maybe because the fielders are inside etc. and he can hit them for four . what would been his dismissal normally in ODI.

AFRIDI SLAPS the haters , Shahid bhai :afridi

Brilliant stuff guys

If Sind win this then Zardari should be replaced by Afridi immediately in all forms of government.

Prince of Pakistan said:
SHAHID KHAN AFRIDI , THE WEAPON OFF MASS DESTRUCTION DOES IT !

AFRIDI brings NEW LIFE in Sindh , and they are back !

What a CLASS performance by SHAHID BHAI :D

Have you all noticed ? AFRIDI ALWAYS performs in LONGER VERSION of the game , but is so INCONSIStent in the LIMITED overs game .. strange isn't it ??

Maybe because the fielders are inside etc. and he can hit them for four . what would been his dismissal normally in ODI.
:))) :))) :))) great post and completely agreed about the fact that he CAN play the longer version of the game

It's amazing - despite statistical evidence (his test match averages) people STILL think he cant play the longer version of the game

His God-given talent and timing means that Afridi is comfortable with the longer version

DM said:
Brilliant stuff guys

If Sind win this then Zardari should be replaced by Afridi immediately in all forms of government.

And you bet there is only one thought going around in Beast's mind right now.

Victory at any cost :afridi

Afridi for captain of our national side

Afridi can (if he wants) sort out the credit crunch. :afridi

Brilliant innings if it was him; now he needs to replicate this on the international stage.

SHAHID KHAN AFRIDI is GOLD , IF he had a Captain like Imran Khan , I BET he would be the most succesfull player ever !

Woolmer understood him, and see how succesfull he was in 2004/2005/and half of 2006 !

He is a WEAPON of MASS destruction !

The Blazer said:

Brilliant innings if it was him; now he needs to replicate this on the international stage.
Afridi is the causer of the credit crunch :afridi

Literally, with his ape teeth :afridi

The Blazer said:

EXACTLY

I am waiting for that , WE and He REALLY need that

It's time for the haters , to hail the Beast :D

:afridi

12thMan said:
some here have said Woolmer was not that good, and to take the arm chair critics out, Razzaq also said it and probably some other Pakistani cricketers.

I am just reporting what have been posted here in last couple of years

did he?