"SL players last time said they won't get IPL contracts if they go to Pakistan": Shahid Afridi

If Afridi wants to be taken seriously, then he has to name those players. Giving a general statement is very easy. Once those srilankan players confirm it, then BCCI can confirm or deny.

BCCI cannot respond to all of random comments.

Perhaps those players told him in confidence and he doesn't want to name them.

As victims of a 72 year old propaganda, we easily believe in half-baked news and one-sided stories when they conform to our confirmation bias, even if the latest source is someone like Afridi who has zero credibility.

However, let’s believe that these unknown Sri Lankan players would have lined up to earn top dollar in the IPL but they preferred to tour Pakistan instead.

PSL is just before IPL. If they carry an injury from the PSL into the IPL their IPL contract (presumably paying 10x) would be voided. Is this what was perhaps told to them?

Oh yes I’m planning to renew my annual Hotstar subscription to watch likes of Pereras, Matthews, and Chandimals in IPL. It’s totally worth it to spend $79.99/year to watch SL players in IPL.

You pay to watch IPL?

Yes.
Tbh the subscription comes not just with IPL but it’s a complete package that comes with Indian cricket and other Indian channels and shows.
But I must admit IPL was main deciding factor for purchasing the subscription.

I also want to say that deliberate obfuscation of truth in the name of nationalism is an increasing phenomenon in ‘New India’, and a study by BBC looking at social media, ‘trolling’ and this subject through polling and interviewing Indian nationals engaging in this behaviour online found this to be true.

Is it only true for India or the situation is same in Pakistan too. Just asking

bro, luke Ronchi was scoring runs easily. every 50 of his was off 20 balls.

No one is calling anyone great, but the fact that a batsmen who was doing so well doesnt get an IPL contract does make it suspicious

By your logic, Dwayne Smith is a legendary batsmen

Both Ronchi & Dwayne Smith played in 1st edition of IPL.Ronchi failed,Smith didn't do great either

But Dwayne Smith was performing in other leagues,he Did well for Sussex and next year he got a contract from Deccan Chargers where had a few good performances
Later Mumbai Indians bought him and he became a star and since then he has been an established name in the IPL

On the other hand,Ronchi failed to make any mark anywhere. Just doing well in 1 season of PSL won't get him selected especially when he is in mid 30s and also a top order batsman

Top order batsmen/Spinners are least likely to get an IPL contract

Even Imran Tahir was not picked in 2017 and then the conspiracy stories were cooked but he got picked as a replacement player

I am urging people to use their common sense. Look at the proposed squad of Sri Lankan players and consider how many players are playing in the IPL and how many are good enough to get IPL contracts.

That would clarify how truthful Afridi’s statement is.

The same IPL that invited Pakistani players to a auction and didnt select any of them

Afridi is sucha liar LOL. Why would BCCI or IPL care about SL players playing in Pakistan ? Only Malinga plays IPL lol.

Ofcourse it makes a different, even 1 or 2 big players refusing to come to pakistan creates the negative headline which india obviously wants. Its not rocket science.

Is it only true for India or the situation is same in Pakistan too. Just asking

Yes, in certain cases, is also true of Pakistan - more in religious fanaticism than in nationalism perhaps... Often the state does not allow the real stories to get through to the people, but if we are talking about the majority (unless in cases of blasphemy law etc) I do not think they would deliberately ignore their true sense of justice out of patriotism. Also I think anti-Pakistan sentiment in India is much stronger than anti-Indian sentiment in Pakistan and Pakistanis do not really want to see the destruction of India. But perhaps I am wrong on these counts as am not the most well informed when it comes to ground realities for the masses in Pk. But in terms of cricket, Pakistanis have a lot of love for Indian cricketers etc whereas Indian cricketers seem to be on the BJP hate train a lot.. Gambhir, Dhoni, Sharma for example.

Both Ronchi & Dwayne Smith played in 1st edition of IPL.Ronchi failed,Smith didn't do great either

But Dwayne Smith was performing in other leagues,he Did well for Sussex and next year he got a contract from Deccan Chargers where had a few good performances
Later Mumbai Indians bought him and he became a star and since then he has been an established name in the IPL

On the other hand,Ronchi failed to make any mark anywhere. Just doing well in 1 season of PSL won't get him selected especially when he is in mid 30s and also a top order batsman

Even Imran Tahir was not picked in 2017 and then the conspiracy stories were cooked but he got picked as a replacement player

watch the psl and you will know. ROnchi innings were just some fluke innings, all the quickest 50s were owned by him.

Plus hes a keeper batsmen that opens

D'Arcy Short got paid Rs 4 crores (US$584,000 approx) to play in this year's IPL. Luke Ronchi went unsold. Short has played two years of the BBL - in that time (including a handful of T20Is), he has averaged 42 while striking at 150. Those are significant numbers, but they were virtually all in one competition, and over less than 18 months. In that same period, Ronchi has averaged 34 but struck at 175. Ronchi achieved these numbers in the Super Smash, Blast, BPL, CPL and PSL while also being a first-choice keeper (compared to Short's part-time bowling).

we Pakistanis saw what roonchi was doing in PSL, and it make syoun wonder why IPL never gave him a contract

and as for you saying its conspitracy and all, in my orginal post i have mentioned that India does ilolgical things every now and than.

They boycotted pakistan players from IPL 2. You cant do that, our players didnt carry out mumbai attacks. THat was discrimination.

second, indian companies pulled out of their contracts midway through broadcasting of PSL, even websites like cribuzz also took down the PSL link.

Professional websites like cricinfo owned by ESPN kept on showing it.

So illogical and dumb behavior is known with indians, so it isnt a conspiracy theory

PSL is just before IPL. If they carry an injury from the PSL into the IPL their IPL contract (presumably paying 10x) would be voided. Is this what was perhaps told to them?

How many Sri Lankan players play in both IPL and PSL?

If IPL wanted that to happen, they would have never allowed de Villiers to play for Qalandars.

ABD didn't play the game in PAK.

That is not the point. The other poster said (the post that I quoted) that the IPL franchises might have warned the players that if they pick up an injury in the PSL, their IPL contract could be voided.

If that was true, BCCI would have blocked de Villiers, their most prized overseas player, from playing in the PSL.

He could have dislocated his finger or fractured his wrist while playing for Qalandars in the UAE, jeopardizing his participation in the IPL.

All these conspiracy theories of BCCI preventing players from touring Pakistan or playing in the PSL doesn’t hold up when you take facts into consideration. About time we stop blaming others and look inwards.

My gut feeling, Afridi is just making it up. He likes to be in news, whatever it takes.

Afridi is an international embarrasment for us. Why cant our ex cricketers behave like the likes of dravid, tendulkar, ponting or sangakara

Perhaps those players told him in confidence and he doesn't want to name them.

And why? People who have no ipl contracts and never will, walked up to afridi and spoke about ipl contracts? I think I have a couple of bridges to sell to a lot of people on this thread

bro, luke Ronchi was scoring runs easily. every 50 of his was off 20 balls.

No one is calling anyone great, but the fact that a batsmen who was doing so well doesnt get an IPL contract does make it suspicious

By your logic, Dwayne Smith is a legendary batsmen

Guys Luke Rounchi was already tried and tested in initial seasons of IPL. I dont remember exact season because he didnt do well; may be 2009 or 2010. He was with Mumbai Indians and badly failed. Once a player fails in IPL in his initial outings he gets out of favour from IPL Franchises. Its bussiness for them. its very difficult for such players to attract bids in his favour in IPL

and as for you saying its conspitracy and all, in my orginal post i have mentioned that India does ilolgical things every now and than.

They boycotted pakistan players from IPL 2. You cant do that, our players didnt carry out mumbai attacks. THat was discrimination.

second, indian companies pulled out of their contracts midway through broadcasting of PSL, even websites like cribuzz also took down the PSL link.

So illogical and dumb behavior is known with indians, so it isnt a conspiracy theory

They boycotted players ipl AFTER Pak players did the drama of not visiting india and PCB not giving NOCs. If you get the facts straight you won't need to make up conspiracy theories

Other boards are not as unprofessional as PCB. Once PCB did the drama all the franchise said they couldnt trust Pak players as they could be unavailable suddenly and couldnt risk money on them

Yeh accha hai, your board and players behave unprofessionally, does it give NOCs, pulls put last moment and then you blame a professional board and franchise for not buying them?

They boycotted players ipl AFTER Pak players did the drama of not visiting india and PCB not giving NOCs. If you get the facts straight you won't need to make up conspiracy theories

Other boards are not as unprofessional as PCB. Once PCB did the drama all the franchise said they couldnt trust Pak players as they could be unavailable suddenly and couldnt risk money on them

Yeh accha hai, your board and players behave unprofessionally, does it give NOCs, pulls put last moment and then you blame a professional board and franchise for not buying them?

Haha biggest joke thread for a long time. So you are saying every single IPL team decided not to buy a single players just because PCB decided to withdraw NOCs last minute previously? For your knowledge it was a systematic decision. But maybe your are too naive to know that.

Faf Du Plessis, Miller, Perera, Tahir etc did tour Pakistan as part of World XI some time back. They all played full seasons in IPL. Did they not share their thoughts with Afridi?

While working as unpaid defense attorney for IPL, you could have come out with some intelligent statement. We all know its easy to intimidate a weaker person than a strong one. In cricketing sense, a budding SL player doesn't hold the same power and value as Faf, Miller and Tahir do.

Haha biggest joke thread for a long time. So you are saying every single IPL team decided not to buy a single players just because PCB decided to withdraw NOCs last minute previously? For your knowledge it was a systematic decision. But maybe your are too naive to know that.

IPL owners are professional businessman/businesswoman. They will not take the risk of buying Pakistani players and wasting their precious foreigner slots on risky investments.

BCCI may have banned Pakistani players in future, however the initial step and subsequent boycott was the sole responsibility of PCB.

It is discriminatory to ban an entire country’s players from the competition. Regardless of Pakistan’s revocation of NOC’s whatever for that season, future seasons have been systematic decisions and, at the present time or in the last many years, no IPL team would be allowed to acquire the services of a Pakistani cricketer regardless of whether IPL owners consider it is a good or bad investment.

And humiliating players because a board pulled noc’s is not a morally right thing to do anyway. It is in fact pretty ugly and vindictive.

Also, by your logic, the numerous times India has made commitments for series’ and then pulled out, or when they cancelled their broadcast deal for the PSL last season because of Pulwama (which had nothing to do with Pakistan), etc are also unprofessional decisions, no?

Do you wish Pakistan cricket well or not? By the sounds of many posters here, not really - ‘they deserve to not have any cricket in their country; they deserve to not be part of the IPL; it is right to discriminate against Pak cricketers, they deserve it, blah blah blah’

And to that trolling guy who supports Eng/Ind only and hates Pak cricket telling PCB to look inward - what efforts haven’t they made to bring cricket back? What control does the PCB have over whether the IPL discriminates against them or not? We have problems with our cricket for sure, but the world isn’t black and white, so please avoid presenting it reductively.

Some IPL fans are both funny and hypocrites. They will go to any length to blame Dhoni for playing politics and influencing the selection of Indian team. But IPL influencing some players to not tour other country can't be true lol.

How does it feel to get the dose of your own medicine now? If you can blame a player for playing politics without any proofs why can't others do the same? :inti

get your facts right atleast

'We have been informed by the Pakistan Cricket Board that they have not been able to obtain the visas as of now,' Modi told local media.

https://www.dawn.com/news/836623

Guys Luke Rounchi was already tried and tested in initial seasons of IPL. I dont remember exact season because he didnt do well; may be 2009 or 2010. He was with Mumbai Indians and badly failed. Once a player fails in IPL in his initial outings he gets out of favour from IPL Franchises. Its bussiness for them. its very difficult for such players to attract bids in his favour in IPL

Dwayne SMith failed in the first 3 ipls, he was than agian selected in 2012

Yes, every IPL team refused to buy Pak players because Billionaire businessmen or Billion dollar industries refuse to be held hostage by Biryani eating PCB buffoons.

get your facts right atleast

'We have been informed by the Pakistan Cricket Board that they have not been able to obtain the visas as of now,' Modi told local media.

https://www.dawn.com/news/836623

What is this supposed to mean?

This is from Dec 2009. This very article says that PCB refused permission to pakistan players in IPL 2.

From this very same article.

Pakistani cricketers took part in the IPL's inaugural season in April-May 2008, but were denied permission by Islamabad to play in the second edition earlier this year due to growing political tensions with India.

Yes, every IPL team refused to buy Pak players because Billionaire businessmen or Billion dollar industries refuse to be held hostage by Biryani eating PCB buffoons.

This guy really seems to be pretty cocky and up himself about India and the IPL. Not like the other Indian fans I have seen on here. Wonder why he is on a Pak cricket fan page if he dislikes Pakistan so much.

While working as unpaid defense attorney for IPL, you could have come out with some intelligent statement. We all know its easy to intimidate a weaker person than a strong one. In cricketing sense, a budding SL player doesn't hold the same power and value as Faf, Miller and Tahir do.

CSA is in turmoil, most SA white cricketers are going Kolpak and Rand is sinking faster than the Titanic. Everyone has to maintain his living standard, I'd argue it would be easier to threaten/intimidate Faf, Miller than the SL cricketers. SA cricketers need IPL more than the opposite, you saw how Rabada ran himself into the ground in India before this WC? Also these SA players are more likely to get picked than SL youngsters, something to lose vs nothing to lose, elementary human psychology.

You don't need to hypothesize what I support or where my loyalties lie, if everyone starts doing that mods will have a tougher job here, don't you agree? How about just sticking to the topic at hand rather than speculating about strangers? Thanks :)

India is not the only country which has tried to isolate it's "enemy".

USA did with USSR,Arabs did with Israel.Israel were even forced to leave Asian Union everywhere including sports.Even now Saudi is boycotting the Qatar World Cup along with it's allies. But you guys will turn blind eye on these cases for obvious reason.

And if Pakistan was in more stable state then they might have taken similar steps. The obsession Pakistanis have is well known to us now.We have seen how frustrated some Pak fans on this forum were after our test series win in Australia and have been trying to discredit our victory.Your Cricket coaches scold players by calling them Kafirs(in your own words). What does this tell about you guys?

The logic that "we would ask the SL players to not tour Pak in favour of IPL contracts just because we are isolating your country" doesn't make sense because there is only one SL player playing in the IPL. And why would the SL players tell Afridi about this "secret" knowing he isn't the wisest person?

This is cringeworthy statements by afridi. He is doubting the character of srilankan cricketers who have a genuine fear of travelling to some countries due to security.

Teams like Australia and England have not toured Pakistan for decades now. Why not send statements against them? The cash ridden srilankan cricket team is soft target now in cricketing world. And blaming india for every issue of yours has become boring now!!!

USA did with USSR,Arabs did with Israel.Israel were even forced to leave Asian Union everywhere including sports.Even now Saudi is boycotting the Qatar World Cup along with it's allies. But you guys will turn blind eye on these cases for obvious reason.

And if Pakistan was in more stable state then they might have taken similar steps. The obsession Pakistanis have is well known to us now.We have seen how frustrated some Pak fans on this forum were after our test series win in Australia and have been trying to discredit our victory.Your Cricket coaches scold players by calling them Kafirs(in your own words). What does this tell about you guys?

The logic that "we would ask the SL players to not tour Pak in favour of IPL contracts just because we are isolating your country" doesn't make sense because there is only one SL player playing in the IPL. And why would the SL players tell Afridi about this "secret" knowing he isn't the wisest person?

This is called ‘whatabout-ism’. Doing something immoral and then saying other people do it too. Actually, out of the above, I would only endorse the BDS movement against Israel anyway and would be against the other examples, though I don’t know what that proves in this case to you.

I don’t know what ‘kaffir’ comment you are talking about but if we pick one example, I am sure there will be plenty of things that come up in Indian news as well. And your Australia series comment is also a bit touchy. There is a lot of love for Kohli on this site, and Tendulkar and Bumrah, so I don’t know what you are on about there either. Of course, if India win just after Australia have lost two of their best batsmen then questions will be raised. What do you expect? Again, not sure what you were trying to prove, maybe that Pakistani’s are bad people who spew hatred as well? Is this whataboutism again, therefore implicit recognition that Indians do actually have no love for Pakistan and want to see it discredited, isolated and fail?

The question I have is simple - do you wish Pakistan cricket well or not?

Funny how you changed your post compltely.

When usa was at war with soviets they didnt discrimnate their people in jobs. Hell nhl still gave out contracts to them.

You nationalistic bias doesnt allow you to see the discrimination your country does.
Do the same discrimination against you folks, you start crying.
Remember snapchat..

What is this supposed to mean?

This is from Dec 2009. This very article says that PCB refused permission to pakistan players in IPL 2.

From this very same article.

Pakistani cricketers took part in the IPL's inaugural season in April-May 2008, but were denied permission by Islamabad to play in the second edition earlier this year due to growing political tensions with India.

Read the full article atleast. In the end it states that islamabad gave permission and were waiting for visas by the india govt who didnt provide them

The article is talking about the 3rd edition of the IPL. The second edition finished in 2009 May. So there is no question of visas to be granted in dec 2009 for an event that happened in 2009 april.

This guy really seems to be pretty cocky and up himself about India and the IPL. Not like the other Indian fans I have seen on here. Wonder why he is on a Pak cricket fan page if he dislikes Pakistan so much.

So PCB is synonymous with Pakistan?

This is from the Dawn article Jan 2010.

Pakistani cricketers took part in the IPL's inaugural season in 2008, but were denied permission by Islamabad to play last year due to growing political tensions with India.

https://www.dawn.com/news/836799

Blame PCB. They thought they could arm twist BCCI and hold IPL hostage.

This is from the biggest cricket website on the planet.

The Pakistan government had not permitted its players to participate in last year's tournament due to security fears after the Mumbai attacks. The wrangling continued in the run-up to this year's auction; when the Pakistan players failed to procure the requisite NOCs, the IPL shut its doors on them for missing out on the December 7 deadline but relented when Pakistan's interior ministry cleared the players for participation in the IPL.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ipl2010/content/story/445037.html

Shahid Afridi said it so it must be true।

He rarely makes loose statement.

This is from the biggest cricket website on the planet.

The Pakistan government had not permitted its players to participate in last year's tournament due to security fears after the Mumbai attacks. The wrangling continued in the run-up to this year's auction; when the Pakistan players failed to procure the requisite NOCs, the IPL shut its doors on them for missing out on the December 7 deadline but relented when Pakistan's interior ministry cleared the players for participation in the IPL.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ipl2010/content/story/445037.html

Again i provided the link of dawn it has been mentioned that at the end govt gave permission but they never got visas.

Now you can pretend to believe what you wnat

Again i provided the link of dawn it has been mentioned that at the end govt gave permission but they never got visas.

Now you can pretend to believe what you wnat

I provided a link from the most reputed cricket website.

And Dawn talked about 2010 season. Even espncricinfo says the same. That NoCs were received late.

Btw 2009 IPL was played in South Africa, so India had no role in visa.

Keep lying.

Last time or this time, the situation hasn’t changed.

Sri Lanka played a T20I at Lahore in October 2017.

PSL has been offering contracts to several IPL players since 2016.

World XI toured Pakistan in September 2017 with IPL players.

Sri Lankan players except Malinga were irrelevant in IPL.

Afridi had zero credibility in 2017 and he has zero credibility in 2019.

Again, if you can prove Afridi is lying, then send that information to the BCCI so they can sue him for libel. Like I said, I await your decision.

Its not for BCCI to respond to indirect frivolous allegations by afridi of all people. He tried to bite the seam of a cricket ball in front of a world audience. And he is mostly irrelevant in the context of ipl and BCCIs broodings.
That is not to say though that BCCI is saintly. They may have hinted along those lines. It has to do with the tensions in the last few years. But afridi is just hard to believe as a person. I still remember rana naveds reaction as he bit into the ball!

Lala has no credence.

By the way, I now have it on much higher authority than Afridi and Fawad Chaudry that India has been pressuring Sri Lanka and Bangladesh cricket baords about touring Pakistan, offering more games in India if they refuse to tour Pakistan!

This wouldn't surprise me.

Please share the source with us.

I doubt that - if they really wanted to block cricket in/with PAK, they actually can isolate PAK completely. Oblate, PAK’s major tour partners are SRL, WIN & ZIM - you (or your much higher authority) have absolutely no clue what a commitment of a tour by even IND B in every year for 3+3 ODI/T20 series can achieve for them in this regard including PSL.

And, your (much higher authority) cluelessness is evident in your post - offering more games in India doesn’t do any jack for the board, hosting them does. You may share this info to your much higher authority - he or she needs basic understanding of the concept first.

It would be totally consistent with everything else they've been doing for the last 4-5 years.

"Babar Azam isn't a 50-run type player but is capable of scoring 100, 150, 200 runs" : Shahid Afridi

Shahid Afridi speaking on his youtube video

"I say to Babar Azam I want you to play long innings and you are not a 50 runs type player but you are capable of scoring 100, 150 or 200"

"You (Babar) are the backbone and a consistent performer for the Pakistan team"

"After a long time we saw a Pakistan fast-bowler get the man of the match award, to win this award on a Karachi batting wicket is an outstanding achievement"

"Welcome back to the team (Shinwari), you werent in the side during the World Cup and we really missed you but its good that you cameback and performed well"

"About the crowd, I will say that they were more during the 2nd innings and I do understand that this was a working day but I hope that more will come in the next matches and a positive message will go to the world that Pakistani people want to see international cricket being played at home"

I doubt that - if they really wanted to block cricket in/with PAK, they actually can isolate PAK completely. Oblate, PAK’s major tour partners are SRL, WIN & ZIM - you (or your much higher authority) have absolutely no clue what a commitment of a tour by even IND B in every year for 3+3 ODI/T20 series can achieve for them in this regard including PSL.

And, your (much higher authority) cluelessness is evident in your post - offering more games in India doesn’t do any jack for the board, hosting them does. You may share this info to your much higher authority - he or she needs basic understanding of the concept first.

:)) clapss hope posters read it.

How about Shahid Afridi post a message that he will be in the ground supporitng the team and others should join him?

India didn’t pressurise our players to not tour Pakistan: Sri Lanka Sports Minister

Sri Lankan Sports Minister Harin Fernando on Tuesday dismissed suggestions that the BCCI had issued a threat to their players that they will be ousted from the cash-rich IPL, if they toured Pakistan. Fawad Chaudhary, Pakistan’s Minister for Science and Technology, had alleged that India was pressuring Sri Lankan players not to tour Pakistan. He had tweeted that Indian “sports authorities” were resorting to cheap tactics.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) still sent its team for an ODI series though Island nation’s top players opted out of the tour. But Fernando said that the BCCI never tried to influence their decision and Fawad’s tweet landed him in a tough situation.

“To be honest with all fairness to the (Pakistan) minister, it caused a lot of controversy as only (Lasith) Malinga had a contract to play in the Indian Premier League. I got into a situation where the Indian High Commission and everybody started talking to me and said to retweet that they had nothing to do with it which I did and that is the truth,” said Fernando.

“It is a fact. I said it was nothing and we stand by our decision and we wanted to go. But from there onwards it became a different problem and Sri Lanka got sandwiched in between. We were lucky we got ourselves out of it.”And India is also a big brother with us they sit right next to us. We need to have cordial relations with them. Pakistan has always been our friend when it comes to sport they have always supported us,” Fernando said.

The Minister also spoke about cleaning up Sri Lankan cricket and said it was the first Asian country to introduce a proper anti-corruption bill.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ts-minister/story-BMrNK1UVHPKkpXMljDKTUL.html

India didn’t pressurise our players to not tour Pakistan: Sri Lanka Sports Minister

Sri Lankan Sports Minister Harin Fernando on Tuesday dismissed suggestions that the BCCI had issued a threat to their players that they will be ousted from the cash-rich IPL, if they toured Pakistan. Fawad Chaudhary, Pakistan’s Minister for Science and Technology, had alleged that India was pressuring Sri Lankan players not to tour Pakistan. He had tweeted that Indian “sports authorities” were resorting to cheap tactics.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) still sent its team for an ODI series though Island nation’s top players opted out of the tour. But Fernando said that the BCCI never tried to influence their decision and Fawad’s tweet landed him in a tough situation.

“To be honest with all fairness to the (Pakistan) minister, it caused a lot of controversy as only (Lasith) Malinga had a contract to play in the Indian Premier League. I got into a situation where the Indian High Commission and everybody started talking to me and said to retweet that they had nothing to do with it which I did and that is the truth,” said Fernando.

“It is a fact. I said it was nothing and we stand by our decision and we wanted to go. But from there onwards it became a different problem and Sri Lanka got sandwiched in between. We were lucky we got ourselves out of it.”And India is also a big brother with us they sit right next to us. We need to have cordial relations with them. Pakistan has always been our friend when it comes to sport they have always supported us,” Fernando said.

The Minister also spoke about cleaning up Sri Lankan cricket and said it was the first Asian country to introduce a proper anti-corruption bill.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ts-minister/story-BMrNK1UVHPKkpXMljDKTUL.html

I am ALMOST 100% sure, some of the Lankan players might have said some thing in this regard to Afridi, and there could be some truth as well - might not be direct threat but these cricket boards are run by political crooks, many of whom has raised from literally street fighting; therefore it can happen that some BCCI/IPL official or franchise people had said (might be as a mock as well) that ..... "... seems like you guys are in love with PAK cricket and PCB/PSL .... tere ko 3/9 yaad hai ke nahin? Look, jayada pairi maat dekhao ...... ... Tere ko IPL Khelna hai ke nahin?". It's a shadow war - and every thing jayez in war & love :( And, from the statement of SRL Sports Minister, my suspicion is even more stronger.

But, my point is that this guy Afridi is an absolute *****. These Lankan players were coming to PAK, the series was on and these players also have to maintain a good relationship with their other neighbors - you don't put your good guests in a position that either they have to tell a lie or suggest their host is a liar. Yaar, if I had shared everything that my wife & mom talked about each other during their "emotional breakdown", during my early days of conjugal life - do you think, I would have been a father of two by now?

IMO, the reason why some of SL players skipped the Pakistani tour is because of no monetary benefits. I raised a similar point last year when World XI team visited Pakistan with some monetary benefits. I raised a point that, are players visiting Pakistan for goodwill gesture or purely monetary gain? And What would happen if PCB stops offering cash for visiting Pakistan? Will players still visit Pakistan if there is no money to be made?

Well, i got my answers now. Even PCB recently said they would not commit any monetary offer for players visiting Pakistan. I think for PCB real test will be convincing players to visit Pakistan. Goodluck to them

Take from it what you will, but this source is much more directly involved with the matter than you or I, so I am inclined to believe them!

To be fair, present SL players rarely get IPL contracts. I think those players didn't come because of personal fears.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Renewed memories of my Test debut on my NSK visit for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvSL</a> match today. Good to see the NSK Honours Board, great way of celebrating Pakistan and international cricket heroes. <a href="https://t.co/hYQVElj625">pic.twitter.com/hYQVElj625</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1179377484808282113?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 2, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

In his latest video

"I have always said that both UA and AS are very good talents and good luck for the 2nd T20I but I have always said that they have to deliver in a manner which befits their talent"

"I have seen Ahmed work hard and expectations from both UA and AS are high as we want them to score many runs"

We have given a lot of chances to Faheem Ashraf and undoubtedly he has talent but he is not able to deliver"

"We can giv e Faheem another chance if captain so wishes else get a genuine fast-bowler in such as Wahab or Shinwari who is in good form"

"We need to play a proper bowler and not someone who can bowl or bat in half measure"

"Our batting lacked a plan, our pitches are good and our batsmen have to score on these pitches"

Absolute nonsense.

To be fair, present SL players rarely get IPL contracts. I think those players didn't come because of personal fears.

Their own loss. This line up in Pak is doing a lot better than many players in the Sri Lanka 'best side'.