"Sohail Tanvir is one of the best all-rounders in the world" : Saqlain Mushtaq

Saqlain said this while commentating on the Karachi Blues vs Rawalpindi game.... said it on the basis of his performances in the CPL.

It was very annoying listening to his commentary... dont take anything serious about the commentary from ptv sports..Anyhow very funny watching ajmal's fielding, khalid, khurram and fawad's batting..

Tanvir then proceeded to miss 3 slower balls trying to hoick them to the leg side following it up by running his partner out when missing the 4th one as well.

harsh! has been top limited overs player for Pakistan. clean hitter with the bat and quality boler. Wish he were still in sides.

Should team up with Razzaq sometimes. Shehzad should wield the willow, and Tanvir should bat and bowl.

That's the thing with ex-players!

They really rate Malik, Tanvir, Anwar Ali, Bilawal, Asad Shafiq (ODIs), Umar Gul, Yasir Shah (ODIs). Basically, all failures. :D

We should ban these ex-cricketers from playing any role in selection/player development. They're hell bent on taking us into the 80s.

Are we back to the old days of threads filled with ex-cricketers making funny statements?

I don't mind these tbh. :))

But Mohsin's are depressing even for neutrals. lol.

Are we back to the old days of threads filled with ex-cricketers making funny statements?

I don't mind these tbh. :))

But Mohsin's are depressing even for neutrals. lol.

Look, Mohsin et. al. rooting for Gul, Shafiq, Malik are understandable.

But... Tanvir hasn't done anything in any format, ever. :danish This takes the cake!! :D Mohsin can't reach this level of statement.

Tanvir then proceeded to miss 3 slower balls trying to hoick them to the leg side following it up by running his partner out when missing the 4th one as well.

This^^^ LOL...anyone remember the grand statement from Tanvir aka the Best Cricket mind in Pakistan as captain of his domestic team saying "I don't want to expose youngsters to the pressure of a chase"

That's the thing with ex-players!

They really rate Malik, Tanvir, Anwar Ali, Bilawal, Asad Shafiq (ODIs), Umar Gul, Yasir Shah (ODIs). Basically, all failures. :D

We should ban these ex-cricketers from playing any role in selection/player development. They're hell bent on taking us into the 80s.

It's not about rating,they don't know anything about ours domestic players so they just name renown players.

The new sobers avges mid 30s with the ball and 14 with the bat in odis

This just emphasises how clueless are our ex cricketers are, they are part of the reason why we are no 9 in odis

He was a below average player for us in ODI's but quite a good one in T20's, he regularly beat the outside edge of the bat and got a lot of clean bowled deliveries. I will admit that his batting was frustratingly poor in the sense that we know he's a lot better most of the time but he's literally a leg side hack. A poor fielder though.

"All rounder " Sohail Tanvir has cost us nunerous games thanks to his diabolical batting in the tail. Most recently the T20 v England in UAE.

Why people take him as a all rounder I never Understood.

He is a number 10 at best.

In pakistan anyone who can hold a bat and hold a ball is a all rounder. We have no expectations from our all rounders.

Either you are a batting all rounder. A specialist batsmen who even without his bowling would be in the team as a batsmen. Stokes last 2 odis, yuvi, sehwag, clarke, symonds, sanath etc

How many batting all rounders do we have?? None. Because maliks batting alone doesnt merit a starting place.

Or you are a bowling all rounder. A player who is a specialist bowler and without his batting would be in the team as a bowler. Woakes, pollock, wasim, harbhajan, warne, lee, vettori etc

This is something we as a team lack desperately and why we are ranked so low.

Tanvir is a awful all rounder. So are anwar ali bhatti iftikhar bilal asif.

Imad nawaz are slightly better but no where near the level of oppositions.

Only hope now is aamer yamin and amad butt.

Maybe we should just stick with the old school method. 6 bats specialist 5 bowlers specialists dont bother with all rounders

Don't get the hate for tanvirs bowling, his bowling is great in t20s especially, batting is mediocre, not an allrounder

Rashid was praising Khurram Manzoor and Khalid Latif
Saqlain did same with Tanvir, The Ptv sports commentators which are ex-players are awful to say the least.

This is why we are number 9 in odis. We have people like this on selection panels and other important roles.

Saqlain said this while commentating on the Karachi Blues vs Rawalpindi game.... said it on the basis of his performances in the CPL.

LoL... Is that expert advice that Saqlain is getting paid for, when he is coaching all these international teams.

A Psychological Doosra

Saqlain is usually good in analyzing games, but again as usual, another player with less cricketing sense.

In Pakistan every coward wants to be a bits a pieces cricketer so that they may be realized as utility player and be selected one way or another. Example Malik , Hafeez.

After coming in the team, instead of improving their mediocre selves ,which every person who cares for the team should be doing, they carry on their mediocre ways and hope to become a senior and pretender and play for their own selves rather than the team.
Tanvir is same.

Good figures by Tanvir Sobers today

He gets dropped against top batting line ups mostly and gets picked mostly against weak teams.

He has the best PR which for me isn't honest.

As per reports of many sports journalists Sohail Tanveer and couple of other players passed fitness tests on 3rd yes 3rd attempt. This is a joke and mean of accomodating those who you want.

Legendary performance , even got a wicket this time

That takes it to 53 wickets from 55 games for the t20 specialist

Saqi bhai aisi statement na diya karen. Doubt jata hai kahin aapne kuch piya to nahi.

I thought Saqlain was sensible among others. This is horribly wrong statement. :))

Saqlain know's how to get his bread buttered these days, by making positive and encouraging remarks to everyone is the way to go.

Buttering up the England camp has landed him a lucrative deal with them which should be financially extremely satisfying.

Saqlain know's how to get his bread buttered these days, by making positive and encouraging remarks to everyone is the way to go.

Buttering up the England camp has landed him a lucrative deal with them which should be financially extremely satisfying.

pretty much anyone associated with Pakistan cricket is like that- selectors, chairman, players, commentators, analysts... pretty much any one of them will sell theirs souls to make an extra buck or two

I realise it's fashionable to criticise sohail tanvir but I think he outbowled wahab in the first t20.

^^^And that is the level we set any bowler i.e. outbowl XYZ, irrespective of how bad the rest of their game is i.e. fielding, batting, running etc?

Just amazing logic!

I realise it's fashionable to criticise sohail tanvir but I think he outbowled wahab in the first t20.

Are you 10 year old or what, no disrespect intended but Tanvir has been criticized on PP and all over Pakistan since the second year of his Int'l career. This is because instead of improving any aspect of his game (does have a few slower balls and that's it, which is nothing special considering his actual speed is usually in the 120 KMH range anyway), every aspect of his game including his physical fitness has regressed and yet he continues to be picked for some God known (only) reason!

It is not as if he gets 3-4 top/middle ordewr wickets in each game and doesn't get hit around that we cannot try someone else in his place...his fielding, running, catching, and batting, less said, the better!

This man is stealing a living.

Cannot believe he was promoted ahead of Shadab.

He is the biggest TTF I can ever remember. Even, the likes of Hafeez, Kamran, etc. at one point gave good performances. This guy I cannot recall ever did anything notable.

This man is stealing a living.

Cannot believe he was promoted ahead of Shadab.

I cannot remember a SINGLE match winning innings from this guy. A guy who is playing T20 but averages less than one wicket PER GAME.

Ridiculous stuff.

He is the biggest TTF I can ever remember. Even, the likes of Hafeez, Kamran, etc. at one point gave good performances. This guy I cannot recall ever did anything notable.

He has less than 1 wicket per game in t20s which is pathetic to say the least. Dont know why he is considered the best t20 bowler in Pak. His legs have left him and gone for Umrah already. I dont understand how he passed the fitness test even in the second attempt.

And he is lauded as a T20 specialist. With 53 wickets in 55 games. :))

He even managed to fool the cpl management , the highest paid pakistani player.

He is fine in cpl because local players haven't yet adjusted to the novelty factor of his action. He eventually got smashed of out county, smashed out of ram slam, smashed out of big bash (before it was a league) and has been smashed in psl as well .

It doesn't take a Rocket Scientist to figure out why.

Saqlain also said earlier today that Hafeez shouldn't have been dropped for Fakhar, should have waited until the series was sealed before introducing the new player...

Don't think I agree. :hafeez

Tanvir is just too old, doesn't have any steam left. He actually was very good about 8 years back against WI with new ball, but he was in his early 30s that time (yes, 8 years back); now he is almost a Zombie - earning his living at the lip service of his old pals.

I don't think Saqui bothers much about PAK cricket - he is involved with English cricket & his only touch point with PAK cricket is how he can milk PCB through some high paid jobs & promote his acquaintances. If asked, I am sure he'll tell that YK still has future in ODI cricket.

Lol inzi and the management agrees.
What's the purpose of his existence (around the team ) though ??