Sonu Nigam Vs Kumar Sanu Vs Udit Narayan - Better Singer

Arsalan_Khan

Comment please :)

According to me i think so as per my observation Sonu Nigam outshined Udit/Kumar due to the variety of songs he had given, Kumar sanu and Udit Narayan were monotonous romantic singers, Sonu had so much diversity in his work and was not limited to slow melody songs, he started carrer in 1993 film meherbaan's "Agar asmaan tak mere hath jaate" rose to fame from 1995 bewafa sanam , and came a long way with border and pardes and replaced kumar sanu as top most singer of the decade of 2000

where he had sung more hits than his counterparts, Udit fell off during 2003-2004 , Sonu practically was there in every super hit album till 2009, in his span of time he had given melodies like chote chote raatien , aisa dewana huwa hai yeh dil apke pyar main or refugee, fiza songs then also had sung songs like jeene ke hain char din , Chiggy Wiggy , 3 idiots songs , Lucky no time for love songs espacially "Sun Zara Soniye Sun Zara", Faana songs , to Qawali's/ Ghazals/ High pitch/ Low pitch, Duppata tera nau rang daa or Maria Maria from film partner or songs in Jodha Akbar, Saathiya, Janeman including sau dard hain, humko maloom hai, to something like Tauba Tauba Isqh Main Kargya from Kaal, to Chori kiya re jiya from Dabang to westrenzied singing like Soniyo O Soniyo from Raaz 2 or Just chill chill from Maine pyar kyun kiya each song is so different from the rest to semi classical songs... Sonu actually used to change his voice to different actors like he modulate for srk romantic image to Govinda macho image , Saif ali khan had unusual voice but Sonu had sung Piya Bole from parineeta giving the saif touch to it,

It's unfortunate that Sonu been victim of circumstances and was banned by t series, zee music in 2013 when he voiced out his opinion on illegal contract which singers were made to sign which deprived them from royalty , Many of Sonu songs got dubbed by other singers , music companies were not releasing his version due to Tussle

Technically, it is Sonu Nigam > Sanu > Udit

But if we look into throw and feelings/emotions generated I think Kumar Sanu is the best.

i would agree to disagree , Kumar sanu was very limited and predictable with his emotions/expressions too , i haven't heard kumar sanu singing too much intense like Sonu Nigam did in "Abhi Mujh Main Kahin" or "O Sahiba O Sahiba" or something like "Sau Dard Hain Sau Rahatien" or even "Jane Nahi Denge Tujhe from 3 idoits" ,,,,,,, Majorly Kumar sanu had similar kind of emotions in all of his songs which gets him under a monotonous category, if u know the famous salman khan song "Sun Zara Soniye Sun Zara" from film Lucky no time for love, the way Sonu nigam modulated his voice was just so classy i can not imagine Kumar Sanu doing it that way ,

I would like to ask the OP to add names of other singers of that Era to make the thread more interesting, add Abhijeet , Vipin Sachdeva , Arijit , Shaan , Md Aziz , Shabbir kumar

Comment please :)

According to me i think so as per my observation Sonu Nigam outshined Udit/Kumar due to the variety of songs he had given, Kumar sanu and Udit Narayan were monotonous romantic singers, Sonu had so much diversity in his work and was not limited to slow melody songs, he started carrer in 1993 film meherbaan's "Agar asmaan tak mere hath jaate" rose to fame from 1995 bewafa sanam , and came a long way with border and pardes and replaced kumar sanu as top most singer of the decade of 2000

where he had sung more hits than his counterparts, Udit fell off during 2003-2004 , Sonu practically was there in every super hit album till 2009, in his span of time he had given melodies like chote chote raatien , aisa dewana huwa hai yeh dil apke pyar main or refugee, fiza songs then also had sung songs like jeene ke hain char din , Chiggy Wiggy , 3 idiots songs , Lucky no time for love songs espacially "Sun Zara Soniye Sun Zara", Faana songs , to Qawali's/ Ghazals/ High pitch/ Low pitch, Duppata tera nau rang daa or Maria Maria from film partner or songs in Jodha Akbar, Saathiya, Janeman including sau dard hain, humko maloom hai, to something like Tauba Tauba Isqh Main Kargya from Kaal, to Chori kiya re jiya from Dabang to westrenzied singing like Soniyo O Soniyo from Raaz 2 or Just chill chill from Maine pyar kyun kiya each song is so different from the rest to semi classical songs... Sonu actually used to change his voice to different actors like he modulate for srk romantic image to Govinda macho image , Saif ali khan had unusual voice but Sonu had sung Piya Bole from parineeta giving the saif touch to it,

It's unfortunate that Sonu been victim of circumstances and was banned by t series, zee music in 2013 when he voiced out his opinion on illegal contract which singers were made to sign which deprived them from royalty , Many of Sonu songs got dubbed by other singers , music companies were not releasing his version due to Tussle

Udit did not fell off in 2003-2004.he was ruling the south film industries singing more songs than everyone else.

Sonu nigam because he is way more versatile than kumar sanu and udit narayan. Can sing multiple genre of songs unlike other two. Sonu is still surviving & his voice is still relevant in current era.

None for me. Didn't like the style of their songs. I am more into Kishore Kumar and rarely a singer will make an impact near equal as him in bollywood industry.

Kumar Sanu
Udit Narayan

Daylight

Sonu Nigam

I know music is subjective and to everyone's own taste but I have never liked Sonu Nigam songs. I would even take KK or Abhijeet over him.

Kumar Sanu
Udit Narayan

Daylight

Sonu Nigam

I know music is subjective and to everyone's own taste but I have never liked Sonu Nigam songs. I would even take KK or Abhijeet over him.

To each to his own, but i would rather choose a singer who has touched every genre , then to listen to someone like kumar sanu who had sung similar kind of songs again and again and again with no vareity similar tunes , similar singing style , with monotonous voice, on contrary to udit/shanu MONOTNOUS songs ,

Sonu Nigam has mix of every genre , for melody its Mere hath main tera hath ho, Suraj huwa madham , Main agar kahoon tumsa haseen, Taal pe jab yeh zindagni chale, Abhi saans lene ki fursat nahi hai ,,,,to more energetic numbers like Aisa pehle baar huwa hai satra atra saloon main , satrange re , banke tera jogi, jeene ke hain char din, to emotional songs like Tanhayee from dil chahta hai or 3 idoits songs , to westernised singing , Sonu Nigam is the only singer who can be called as master of ustad in the field of music , rest kumar sanu or udit narayan were just romantic crooners or perhaps one zoner singers, their career dont have much to offer besides similar kinds of songs in vast quantity

There is a reason why Sonu Nigam is more celebrated singer from Bollywood for past 30 years is that his career is not made up of only romantic songs , there is so much to learn from him, rest of the bollywood singers were typecast for particular hey hey la la kind of songs

There are few example of what Pakistani artist think of Sonu Nigam//

Abida Parveen
"No singer has been born in Pakistan or in India in recent times that could surpass the talent of Sonu Nigam," says Pakistani Sufi singer Abida Parveen
http://sufinews.blogspot.com/2006/11/no-singer-can-surpass-sonu-says-abida.html

Alamgir old Pakistani Legend singer
"Sonu Nigam Is The Most Sureela Singer Of Subcontinent" - Alamgir

Nabeel Shaukat Ali - Young Pakistani talent

"I have learnt singing by listening to Sonu Nigam songs" Says Nabeel
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYOAVqLvPTQ&t=15s

Farhan Saeed
Listening to Sonu Nigam songs is a lecture on vocal expressions to me, Says Farhan Saeed

Adnan Dhol from Coke Studio Pakistan popular for track "Bol Hu"
"Sonu Nigam voice have something very soothing to it , no one else had that calmness" Says Adnan Dhol

Rahim Shah Pashto Popular Singer Talking About His Fav Singer Sonu Nigam
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKX5sKhV0sI&t=1s

Pakistani Channel Show First Time Giving Tribute To Any 90's Singer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AIjEXr83Yrs

Sajad Ali Talking About Sonu Nigam

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaCJJu8dEyY

Amanat Ali and Umar Shariff Talking About Sonu Nigam
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ck_3xjXCk_4&t=5s

and infact Himesh Reshamiya as music director was asked to rate singers he rated Udit 7/10 and Sonu 10/10 .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOWRC88Dw_w&t=15s

So, the amount of celebration Sonu Nigam got in subcontinent is something else its due to his diverse range of work, rest were romantic crooners or for particular zone songs,

Sonu Nigam. I’ve been a singer and performed on stage all my life, won awards, etc. and Sonu Nigam has always been my inspiration.
Having said that, different songs suit different voices and styles. I’d take a Udit Narayan for a “Main yahaan hoon” (veer zaara) and Kumar Sanu for a “Meri mehbooba” (pardes).

As I said before Sonu Nigam is technically the best , there is No way one can place anyone above him , except for personal choice.

I like Sanu more , but he is not close to range of Sonu. Sonu range and subtle harkats as well as intrinsic voice quality is better than others.

In fact his intrinsic voice quality would be only less than Rafi Sahab.

Sonu Nigham and then Udit Naryan. Kumar Sonu picked up popularity tring to sing like Kishore, and most his songs sounded similar, but not to extent they sound same for KK who has no variation and even genre and lyrics aremostly same.

This song is the clear differential factor for me.

Sonu Nigam's version - excellent

Then when you hear the same song in Udit ji's voice, it takes you to a different world

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION].. Falak dekhoon was never meant for udit narayan and he had sung this as his usual self same style you would find me singing every song of him, this song needed the energy the warmth which Sonu Nigam brought into it and that's why udit version was rejected and sonu one was kept, Sonu sang it with all the passion missing in udit narayan monotonous singing....

And I may mention another song Resham Si Hain Yeh Hawaien Sanam.... Sonu Nigam just over ruled and outshined udit narayan with his mesmerising touch to it and udit was same his usual smiling self, the intensity he brought into it was something udit narayan can't do.... And that's why SURAJ HUWA MADHAM came sonu's way else this was to be sung by udit narayan but karan johar insisted that sonu can bring more emotions and depth to it... Rather then just a smiley voice singing in similar texture which udit had done multiple times in the past.... Sonu brought a freshness in playback singing..

Not to forget the title song of Mujhse Shaadi Karogi... Again Sonu Nigam outshined udit... The masti the energy sonu brought, udit was no where around into it

Sonu Nigham and then Udit Naryan. Kumar Sonu picked up popularity tring to sing like Kishore, and most his songs sounded similar, but not to extent they sound same for KK who has no variation and even genre and lyrics aremostly same.

Sanu used to sing cover versions of Kishore , so its natural he would copy him.
Sanu was initially called clone of Kishore

Sonu Nigam announced retirement from Bollywood in 2013 over his dispute with labels

Singer Sonu Nigam has apparently refused to sign a contract with music company T-series, which will deprive him of royalty.

Justifying his decision, Sonu tweeted: ‘All of us used to sign until we were made aware about the illegality of the contracts. If I show u a sample of the contract they make composers, lyrics writers and singers sign, you'll faint. We can all end up in the jail in the future. They r lucky that the press hasn't gotten into the depth of the matter. It's feudal, humiliating and illegal, and can only end up in tedious and deliberate court cases for nuisance value. Who wants to get into it?’

Sonu is so upset by the incident that he’s contemplating retirement. ‘I'd rather sit at home and do Yoga than get into this mess. Shekhar ji is a good man, and understands our compulsions. I've asked him to get my voice dubbed by anyone who agrees to sign this... I'm sure the music will speak for itself. So actually I think it is time for me to announce my retirement from film music,’ he added..
My parents didn't give birth 2 me, 2 be subservient to a music company just because I can sing.

aIKr9UUc3qZ9.jpg

2 of the great songs before the tussle with T Series during 2012

Apna Mujhe Tu Laga - 1920 Evil Return (2012)

Allah Maaf Kare - Desi Boyz