"Sorry brother - It’s call karma": Mohammad Shami's tweet after Pakistan loss in the final

Is this what a current cricketer should be tweeting?

Pretty poor from Shami but guess needs to do that to please domestic audiences.

Yes, it's in response to what Shoaib Akhtar said but this tweet is aimed at fellow cricketers who are still playing.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sorry brother <br><br>It’s call karma 💔💔💔 <a href="https://t.co/DpaIliRYkd">https://t.co/DpaIliRYkd</a></p>— Mohammad Shami (@MdShami11) <a href="https://twitter.com/MdShami11/status/1591759931862298624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 13, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Yes, it's in response to what Shoaib Akhtar said but this tweet is aimed at fellow cricketers who are still playing.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sorry brother <br><br>It’s call karma 💔💔💔 <a href="https://t.co/DpaIliRYkd">https://t.co/DpaIliRYkd</a></p>— Mohammad Shami (@MdShami11) <a href="https://twitter.com/MdShami11/status/1591759931862298624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 13, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

And what did Shoaib Akhtar say? To which shami responded

Karma for what? England gave phainty to India which they will not recover in next few years and they are talking about pakistan lol

Hopefully Pakistani twitter users will take care of Shami tonight :)

For some reason, Indian cricketers like to stick to our leg until we have to answer back

These Indo Pak players have become cringeworthy in the recent years. Tournament is over. Instead of licking their wounds, they are trying to knock each other when the other loses. Time to shut up and copy England. That's the mantra for all teams.

The difference between Pakistan and India is that we defended 138 runs like it was 180 runs and you defended 168 runs like it was 80 runs. :ht

Did Akthar say anything to him before?

If not then yeh loog tu waqai mein satyate ja rahe hai. Even their existing players have started doing this saas-bahoo type taunts :))

Perhaps humiliating defeats sure hit hard in the head so anything to soothe the deep wounds

Is losing against the best T20 team in the world considered the result of karma in India?

This is a game where there are winners and losers. The team that works the hardest and takes their chances has a higher chance of winning, nothing more to it. There's no such thing as karma.

is this any way related to subhash ghais movie karma ? i dont see any other relation with karma here.

These guys are trying so hard for brownie points and to appease the majority lol.

We scored 168+ first try to get there and we didn't lose to Zimbambe , Defeated Your team ,Entered in semifinal by scoring 8 points which was most in both group still admit our bowling was minnow level same as your batting atleast we didn't get our semifinal birth on mercy on someone else's.
And first check what kind of pathetic tweet that shoaib akhtar did,your prime minister also did, Shami resorted it back and don't think much about indian muslim we are far better in condition ,First check what was you done all of the years to your minority ,then become masiha of others.

Leave the guy alone after last years 152/0 he was called Pak agent terrorist & all sorts let him prove his nationality!! We won’t talk about how buttler took him to the cleaners…
I heard some said they’ll spend life time proving loyalty. It’s showing!

Seems rather hurt that he was having to watch the final on television and not playing in it.

What's he actually saying?

After his performance against Pakistan in the last WC he is trying too hard to be in good books of andhbhakhts. :genius :inti

Last year after WT20 defeat against, M.Shami was attacked in twitter by fake handles across the border. Just like how Arshdeep was targetted after Asia cup game.

Maybe Shami is talking about that Karma?

Is losing against the best T20 team in the world considered the result of karma in India?

This is a game where there are winners and losers. The team that works the hardest and takes their chances has a higher chance of winning, nothing more to it. There's no such thing as karma.

Come to think of it, do Shami and other Indian players think that they lost to England by 10 wickets due to karma? That would be damning if true.

I was also thinking that if things will go as per script of 1992 in the finals people will get disillusioned that it's not how you perform but destiny and rationality will take a back seat. This result will wake us up humans to do our best of our abilities as strings of our deeds effects others and vice versa. Pakistan was thinking of the coincidences of 1992 in a way using it as psychotherapy to keep away the pressure, hoping for divine intervention, batting has lost it for Pakistan not doing their bit 150-160 was on cards. England were so prepared and clinical for this finals.

I can’t take these Indian Muslims taking shots at Pakistan. We all know why they are doing it.

Haha. Pakistan gave Eng tough time in the middle rather than 10 wickets humiliation. I guess he is trying to cheer up BJP or rather fooling them. LOL

We lost to india but for some reason there is karma? Hum nay kya keya bhai :)))

This is a response to the statements made by Pakistan's Prime Minister. For someone at such a highest position commenting it basically represents what the millions of citizens in that country want to say.

It is poor of Shami to say this but when a country's Prime Minister comments then nothing is more shambolic than that. Tough words but facts!

No Intikhab Alam icon this time.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sorry brother <br><br>It’s call karma &#55357;&#56468;&#55357;&#56468;&#55357;&#56468; <a href="https://t.co/DpaIliRYkd">https://t.co/DpaIliRYkd</a></p>— Mohammad Shami (@MdShami11) <a href="https://twitter.com/MdShami11/status/1591759931862298624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 13, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
:lol what a idiot

Last year after WT20 defeat against, M.Shami was attacked in twitter by fake handles across the border. Just like how Arshdeep was targetted after Asia cup game.

Maybe Shami is talking about that Karma?

Agree Indians and hindus can do no wrong only pakistanis and muslims are evil.

This is a response to the statements made by Pakistan's Prime Minister. For someone at such a highest position commenting it basically represents what the millions of citizens in that country want to say.

It is poor of Shami to say this but when a country's Prime Minister comments then nothing is more shambolic than that. Tough words but facts!

Did he tell you that personally? If it is in response to Pak's PM tweet then why is he quoting Shoaib Akhtar lol? :inti

He shouldn't have gone to the gutter level of Prime minister of Pakistan. Shami shouldn't have made such poor comments.

Being happy because some other team lost reflects poorly. Now Shami is not exactly being happy with comment here, but it was a poor comment with full of bitterness.

Huh? That honestly sound really stupid the way you justify it. What does what PM or Ramiz or some analyst say anything to do with karma and that too to a post of Akhtar who hasn't said anything directly to Shami?

This seems like a desperate attention seeking post and he was just looking for any opportunity to post quickly after the loss. This is coming from an existing player, that's just absolutely third class. If this is what happens after a humiliating defeat to players then it's not a surprise why Indian social media fans are so toxic and immature.

Poor tweet by a poor player and a poor man.
The role of a current player is to play and perform. The role of Shoaib Akhtar, Irfan Pathan and other ex crickters is to comment and moke each other.

You can't play well, then quit cricket and start commentating on cricket.

Ex Players are already cringeworthy. Shami is a current player. He shouldn't be involved in this. Nobody should stoop down to the level of politicians especially.

Poor tweet by a poor player and a poor man.
The role of a current player is to play and perform. The role of Shoaib Akhtar, Irfan Pathan and other ex crickters is to comment and moke each other.

You can't play well, then quit cricket and start commentating on cricket.

I will still give him a benefit of doubt. The amount of criticism and abuse he got from Indian fans after losing against Pakistan in the last world cup still haunts him. May be he was feeling guilty and wanted to get rid of that feeling by making fun of Pakistan. :inti

He shouldn't have gone to the gutter level of Prime minister of Pakistan. Shami shouldn't have made such poor comments.

Being happy because some other team lost reflects poorly. Now Shami is not exactly being happy with comment here, but it was a poor comment with full of bitterness.

I agree that is why I maintain that it is poor of Shami to say this but just pointing how it started.

Keep it clean please.

Some poor comments above.

I don’t get it.

Indian fans gave Pakistan plenty of flak for losing against Zimbabwe

Pakistan fans gave some back when they got knocked out

Karma for what?

These indian Muslims are so confused man. I feel sorry about them. Right wing Hindus are assaulting their women but they don't miss a chance to prove their patriotism. Becharay are stuck in a war zone because they forefathers made the wrong choices during partition.

Correct. They seem confused.

Anyway. Poor from Shami. Not sure why he used the word "Karma". I have never heard a Muslim use this word before.

Shami is saying this to Shoaib personally and not particular to Pakistanis because after India lost the Semis game Akhtar said in his video that why was Shami picked all of a sudden, he should have not been picked.

I don’t get it.

Indian fans gave Pakistan plenty of flak for losing against Zimbabwe

Pakistan fans gave some back when they got knocked out

Karma for what?

Exactly. And India already won against Pakistan in the group stages. Not sure what kind of karma is it? I think he asked someone else to tweet it. Maybe his nephew tweeted it? :inti

Sure thing Shami bhai whatever keeps ICT fans off your back. Hopefully shoaib just laughs this off but who knows.

It’s probably cos a small section of our fans at the ground abuse him, but I’m sure our players get the same abuse from Indians yet you’ll never see them tweet or cry about it.

It’s very easy to get under an Indian cricketers skin

I think Shami meant to say fate not karma and his English isn't the best either...players should really have professionals run their socials.

This is as cringeworthy as Mushfiqur’s embarrassing truth after India lost in 2016 WT20

If only were in Pakistan. You would know he doesn’t represent many Pakistanis.

Does he know Shoaib wanted India to make the final? I think he’s a bit confused, but very classless tweet. Especially after all the support he got from Pak from last years incident

Seems like a reference to Akhtar’s comments about Shami’s place in the Indian side.

He also made another tweet congratulating England and appreciating the Pak bowling

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations <a href="https://twitter.com/ECB_cricket?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ECB_cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/josbuttler?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@josbuttler</a> A well deserved win for England in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCupFinal?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCupFinal</a> . <a href="https://twitter.com/benstokes38?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@benstokes38</a> played a brilliant innings. Some great bowling by <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> <a href="https://t.co/xLhrK8zglB">pic.twitter.com/xLhrK8zglB</a></p>— Mohammad Shami (@MdShami11) <a href="https://twitter.com/MdShami11/status/1591766204242620416?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 13, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Seems like a reference to Akhtar’s comments about Shami’s place in the Indian side.

He also made another tweet congratulating England and appreciating the Pak bowling

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations <a href="https://twitter.com/ECB_cricket?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ECB_cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/josbuttler?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@josbuttler</a> A well deserved win for England in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCupFinal?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCupFinal</a> . <a href="https://twitter.com/benstokes38?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@benstokes38</a> played a brilliant innings. Some great bowling by <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> <a href="https://t.co/xLhrK8zglB">pic.twitter.com/xLhrK8zglB</a></p>— Mohammad Shami (@MdShami11) <a href="https://twitter.com/MdShami11/status/1591766204242620416?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 13, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I hope Dravid and Sharma have watched this game just to understand what high quality pace does when you are playing in a full crowd.

That just adds a bit more pressure on batsman facing it. Hope they learn and when they start planning their bowling attack from now on, the first name that comes into their mind is not Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. It should be atleast two 140k+ pacer and a left arm pacer who can swing both ways.Also, keep one 140k+ pacer in the squad too.

I hope Dravid and Sharma have watched this game just to understand what high quality pace does when you are playing in a full crowd.

That just adds a bit more pressure on batsman facing it. Hope they learn and when they start planning their bowling attack from now on, the first name that comes into their mind is not Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. It should be atleast two 140k+ pacer and a left arm pacer who can swing both ways.Also, keep one 140k+ pacer in the squad too.

Bumrah's comeback will help. India's bigger worry is a wicket taking spinner

It seems Shami's comment was particularly to Shoaib Akhtar because Akhtar in his video, he said something like Shami coming into the Indian squad at last moment wasn't a right decision.

Shami being a current cricketer shouldn't have got triggered with this because Akhtar was giving his review about India's selection in World T20 and considering that he has a right to make his point.

But seems Shami, being a friend of Shoaib(not sure how much of friend they are) felt disheartened with that and responded to Shoaib harshly.

Current players shouldnt be getting involved in these verbal spats with ex players Theres only one winner there

Its better to improve your skills and let your ball do the talking than running your mouth off and looking silly

We scored 168+ first try to get there and we didn't lose to Zimbambe , Defeated Your team ,Entered in semifinal by scoring 8 points which was most in both group still admit our bowling was minnow level same as your batting atleast we didn't get our semifinal birth on mercy on someone else's.
And first check what kind of pathetic tweet that shoaib akhtar did,your prime minister also did, Shami resorted it back and don't think much about indian muslim we are far better in condition ,First check what was you done all of the years to your minority ,then become masiha of others.
You got the mauling of a lifetime in a semi-final. No one cares about an over-rated LOI team right now.

Our openers did better than yours throughout the World Cup. Have some shame.

You got the mauling of a lifetime in a semi-final. No one cares about an over-rated LOI team right now.

Our openers did better than yours throughout the World Cup. Have some shame.

It's better to lose England than gets beaten by Zimbabwe and gets berth in semifinal on mercy of Netherlands,we are proud. Rahul still did better than both of your tuk tukers though he was poor.

Khush Amdeed. Your team is great. The best in World. No doubt about that. Next time you will come with 4 teams; India A, B C and D. All 4 will make the semi-final.

So according to you karma concept have religious angle i thought it's universal concept , there's famous saying you will reap what you sow, Going by theory All these invention, Discoveries , technology Should't be used by other belief persons cause most of these are done by Christians,needle to aeroplane, This all world belongs to us and we are all brothers.

That's very poor comment from him. He should think and work on his bowling after SF match instead of this. Very poor Mr Shami

A most organized and clinical bowling effort of England,who have been consistency and professionalism personified personified in recent months in T-20 Cricket.All credit to Pakistan for displaying such relentless spirit to claw back with wickets of Hales,Stokes and Brooks at junctures when the match looked to have slipped from their grasp.It was in the 16th over after Afridi was injured and replaced by Ifthikar Ahmed,that Stokes and Moen Ali unleashed a final knockout punch to put England in the drivers seat first,and by the 17th over reduce the result to mere ritual with the result a foregone conclusion.If Pakistan had registered around 160 it may have been anybody's game.I give credit to Pakistan for staying in the reckoning or in the hunt till the 15th over.

A lot of you are reading too much into it. The way so many people were mocking India after having lost to England, including ex Pakistani cricketers, that deed just came back to bite you in the behind. That’s “karma” - you made fun of someone, and qismat made fun of you!

Hopefully a lesson to our players agents who manage their SM accounts. STOP POSTING TWEETS FULL OF PRAISE TOWARDS INDIAN CRICKTERS.

Excluding Ashwin, how often will you see a current Indian cricketer praising a current Pakistani cricketer on SM.

Rizwan defending Shami after last years WC(?)

Babar backing Kohli.

Ifthikar posting a collage of him and kohli side by side.

Seems rather hurt that he was having to watch the final on television and not playing in it.

What's he actually saying?

I had a lot of respect for Mohammad Shami the bowler, honestly a good bowler and was a disciplined character.

He is close to joining the likes of Irfan Pathan in unnecessarily picking fights to prove nothing but the fact that he was a massive under-achiever trying to live like he is one of the greats of the game.

How low must you stoop to take personally the comments of a few clueless fans and such?

Shami of all people should know that Akhtar has no sensible statements; he is the media personified without a filter.

I had a lot of respect for Mohammad Shami the bowler, honestly a good bowler and was a disciplined character.

He is close to joining the likes of Irfan Pathan in unnecessarily picking fights to prove nothing but the fact that he was a massive under-achiever trying to live like he is one of the greats of the game.

How low must you stoop to take personally the comments of a few clueless fans and such?

Shami of all people should know that Akhtar has no sensible statements; he is the media personified without a filter.

Shami actually congratulated the Pakistan team. His tweet may not be in good taste or senseless but that was more between him and Akhtar. I don't know what dynamics the two have and whether it's friendly pinch at each other or not. Fans should chill out.

I recall Akhtar and Sehwag both takes dig at each other in social media but then they are like family friends, so it hardly bothers them even though fans on both side best each other virtually.

Shami actually congratulated the Pakistan team. His tweet may not be in good taste or senseless but that was more between him and Akhtar. I don't know what dynamics the two have and whether it's friendly pinch at each other or not. Fans should chill out.

I recall Akhtar and Sehwag both takes dig at each other in social media but then they are like family friends, so it hardly bothers them even though fans on both side best each other virtually.

I am more concerned with Irfan Pathan than Shami to be fair. I think that cricketers should be wise enough not to meddle with fans. Replying to another cricketer is a different story, but we all know how annoying some fans can be. Also making categorical statements to represent all fans is not right.

If they have a friendly relationship (Shami and Akhtar), then it's fine. It doesn't really seem as though from what I'm seeing.

Wow! Some current and former Indian players have a really thin skin. Imagine us responding that way every time the likes of Sehwag, Gautam Baggins, Chucky Singh etc open their mouths.

Then it will be a proper war! Lol lighten up guys. All in good fun.

Shami has been a spent force over the last 12 months, but Akhtar needed some of this for being a social media troll.