Specialist spinners for Pakistan in different formats

Uzair Tariq

As Yasir Shah is our first choice spinner in test matches, Usama Mir should be our specialist spinner in ODIs and Shadab Khan in t20is. Asghar should be our second spinner along these guys in all three formats. Sadly there is no Off spinner in the country but these four comprises a very good bunch of spin bowlers for now.

Tests:

1. Yasir Shah
2. Muhammad Asghar

ODIs/T20s:

1. Shadab (playing XI)
2. Usama Mir (squad)
3. Asghar (stand-by, back-up, reserve)

The only reason Mir and Asghar aren't in my playing elevens is because of their incompetence with the bat. In modern day LOI cricket you can only afford one or two proper tailenders.

Should we go for specialist spinners in LOIs ? I think the time has come where we're going to have to prioritise spin ARs over specialists. The game has changed and Pakistan needs the batting depth anyway.

I understand if we play a specialist spinner in the UAE. But right now, my two spinners in LOIs would be Shadab and Imad, both are ARs.

In Tests if we're playing two spinners - I agree with the Yasir and Asghar suggestion.

Should we go for specialist spinners in LOIs ? I think the time has come where we're going to have to prioritise spin ARs over specialists. The game has changed and Pakistan needs the batting depth anyway.

I understand if we play a specialist spinner in the UAE. But right now, my two spinners in LOIs would be Shadab and Imad, both are ARs.

In Tests if we're playing two spinners - I agree with the Yasir and Asghar suggestion.

plus Shadab and Immad are quite good late order bats too so they would get ahead of anyone else in Pakistan as spinners. also will add variations. a left arm spinner operating from one end and a leg spinner from another would be great sight.

Tests:

1. Yasir Shah
2. Muhammad Asghar

ODIs/T20s:

1. Shadab (playing XI)
2. Usama Mir (squad)

The only reason Mir and Asghar aren't in my playing elevens is because of their incompetence with the bat. In modern day LOI cricket you can only afford one or two proper tailenders.
Usama is quite raw. He was almost gifting victory to IU with his pathetic line. He doesn't have a great control. compare to him Immad was look gold. Shadab also bowled on the same pitch with great control.

This was due to dew factor.

Tests:

1. Yasir Shah
2. Muhammad Asghar

ODIs/T20s:

1. Shadab (playing XI)
2. Usama Mir (squad)

No Imad?

T20Is:

Shadab Khan (playing XI)
Imad Wasim (playing XI)
Mohammad Asghar (playing XI, depending on conditions)
Usama Mir (squad option)

Hasan Khan (standby)
Zafar Gohar (standby)

ODIs:

Shadab Khan (playing XI)
Imad Wasim (playing XI)
Mohammad Asghar (squad option, depending on conditions)
Mohammad Nawaz (squad option)

Usama Mir (standby)
Zafar Gohar (standby)

Tests:

Shadab Khan (playing XI in a 5-man attack)
Yasir Shah (playing XI)
Mohammad Asghar (squad option)

Zafar Gohar (standby)

T20Is:

Shadab Khan (playing XI)
Imad Wasim (playing XI)
Mohammad Asghar (playing XI, depending on conditions)
Usama Mir (squad option)

Hasan Khan (standby)
Zafar Gohar (standby)

ODIs:

Shadab Khan (playing XI)
Imad Wasim (playing XI)
Mohammad Asghar (squad option, depending on conditions)

Usama Mir (standby)
Zafar Gohar (standby)

Tests:

Shadab Khan (playing XI in a 5-man attack)
Yasir Shah (playing XI)
Mohammad Asghar (squad option)

Zafar Gohar (standby)

Waah bhai kya baat hai! Bara effort daala tum nai. Inzi revolutionary ki bhi jaga lele.

I have detailed squads ready with a stacked bench, standby players, and all types of talent included.

Tell me if you want me to post. :smith

Tests:

Yasir, Asghar, Zafar and Shahzaib Ahmed.

LOI:

Imad, Shadab, Asghar, Usama and Zafar.

Really need Asghar in tests (at the least) and Usama Mir in the limited overs format. These guys are the future. Asghar has been doing well for a very long time now.

In Shadab I see a genuine allrounder. So he could assist one of these spinners from the other end.

Yasir and Asghar for tests. Gohar and Usama as back ups. Nawaz and Shadab competing for the all rounder spinner slot.

In LO, Shadab and Imad can start together . With Usama in the squad also. Don't mind these 3 in t20s as well.