Sri Lanka vs India | Asia Cup | Karachi | 03/07/2008 |

jusarrived said:
2 catches down , one lbw not given & couple of swing & miss ...hes still bating , I think today is his day !

:younis

The more chances he is given the more he will score. Soon he will give himself a room and startaaa to hittaaa some saxes.

OK, I am leaving for home at 5

I never knew that we are playing the Lankans today, juat came to know from this thread ...Damn .... tough on the players ...

Pathan trundling in at 77 mph sad looking storey here, he should not be allowed to bowl in the sub continent.

Even if Jaya is tensed he is scoring more than run a ball.Agar is ku aisey he tense hona hai tu not bad :D

I hope he scores big inspite of his hit and miss style today.

Irfan Pathan is a joke of a bowler. He is the new Agarkar.

Jaya treats that with the contempt it deserved...

Romali_rotti said:
Everytime Waqar says it may have missed the stumps, replay is shown straight away showing it hitting the stumps lol :)))

Thats why we love Waqar. :younis

Smashed for another 444444444 by Jaya. Looks like hes coming into one of his moods.

wat ever SL do , they wont get more than 280 ....I think they will make around 240 today , which wont be easy to chase IMO !

jusarrived said:
wat ever SL do , they wont get more than 280 ....I think they will make around 240 today , which wont be easy to chase IMO !

They need 330 to win without Mendis.

10.4 Pathan to Jayasuriya, FOUR, now he charges Pathan and lofts the ball from short of a length over cover for four more, he can do this confidently against Pathan's gentle pace

Even cricinfo agrees with Pakpassion on Pathan's pace :P

:younis

The more chances he is given the more he will score. Soon he will give himself a room and startaaa to hittaaa some saxes.

OK, I am leaving for home at 5

hoping SL are 4 down by the team you reach home ! :)

Another 4444444 this time throught the fielders legs.

This is so funny. :wasim :gul

3 consecutive fours.
Irfan Pathan should go back to India.

Thanks to Indian fielding, Sri Lanka scoring at 6 despite Sanga playing thuk-thuk and Sanath our of sorts.

Wah ji Wah out of touch Jaya has scored 43 off 34 balls. let him be out of touch in this game.

Teeli bowling well, trying to undo the damage. Jaya will just sit back and wait for the loose deliveries.

jusarrived said:
I dont think mendis is all that great .....its going to be difficult to score against vaas & murali !

There is no Vaas bro

bhabi Praveen needs to sort out his club standard fielding. he appears to be half a sleep.

Will never forget Pathan's smile of resignation at Ojha's misfielding.

Jayasuria murdered Pathan that last over

For the first time ever, I am not using any metaphorical diction whatsoever. What I actually mean is that Sanath Jayasuria, Sri Lankan opener ended Pathan's lineage.

11.2 I Sharma to Jayasuriya, no run, short of a length on middle stump, Jayasuriya stays in his crease and defends on the off side, he hasn't charged Ishant as yet

Cricinfo wants Jaya to charge at every indian Bowler LoLz :)))

Jaya goes! In an identical fashion to sanga, gloved down the leg side.

SANATH OUT

Caught down leg side - glove dit.

India really poor

Jayasuriya gone

Im leaving. He did a good job and Sri Lanka are in a better position than they were against us at the same stage so 300+ still very possible.

Vaas isn't playing Jusoo bhai

oh thats sad , its no fun beating a depleted side !

lucky there sharma , but he shud have got him before .....jaya was hopless against ishant in aus as well!

Well Jaya just wasn't himself today. All those people who did not see the action and instead followed on cricinfo etc cannot realize how out of sorts he was. The decent score that Sri Lanka has posted is mainly due to Indian catching and fielding.

Ive only seen Teeli Sharma in about 4-5 games for India.

And he's been pi55-poor in all of them.

How was he seen as the 'next great hope'???

Magnificent cover drive, almost off the backfoot WI shtyle!

That was the new guy in, he also likes to play his shots so the run rate should remain high.

Boundaries galore.

Wkt or no wkt - the runs flowing

79-2

Mahela hits a cover drive off the front foot, and this was even better. High elbow and punched through the gap.

How was he seen as the 'next great hope'???[/QUOTE]

He is very very very very good on responsive surfaces. Gets ultimate bounce + cut.

get jayawardene out , its all over for SL ....though i rate chamara silva very high , I have a feeling he wont score much today !

Easa said:
Jayasuria murdered Pathan that last over

For the first time ever, I am not using any metaphorical diction whatsoever. What I actually mean is that Sanath Jayasuria, Sri Lankan opener ended Pathan's lineage.

All hopes of a succession now from Yousaf Pathan. :))

On a related note, watching a few highlights of the Pak-Ind game.....Praveen Kumar.....is it my eyes or does he go the blatant throw now and then?

hes still the next great hope for us , sharma is a better bowler in the longer version of the game ......& he was poor today ?

jusarrived said:
hes still the next great hope for us , sharma is a better bowler in the longer version of the game ......& he was poor today ?

Has not been poor today, has been a class above any phaast bowler in this tournament

Random Aussie said:
Has not been poor today, has been a class above any phaast bowler in this tournament

When you prepare wickets this pathetic, all bowlers no matter how good will be taken to the cleaners.

Romali_rotti said:
When you prepare wickets this pathetic, all bowlers no matter how good will be taken to the cleaners.

Except for Constrictor the GREAT.

ojha will surprise a few people today , have wanted to see him national team for some time ....hes a very difficult bowler to hit out !

Romali_rotti said:

Even Multan / Faisalabad tracks offer assistance to the bowlers.

Administrators want the world to believe that there is only cricketing life in Karachi :miandad & Lahore :imran .

i think he is bowling good today on a flat pitch. Also Jaya's dismissal was well planned off with 2 fielders on the boundary at leg. the plan was to get him hooking.

Even Multan / Faisalabad tracks offer assistance to the bowlers.

Administrators want the world to believe that there is only cricketing life in Karachi :miandad & Lahore :imran .

This is just cruel to see, wickets like these are enough to turn off potential up/coming talented bowlers and look for an office job instead..

Romali_rotti said:
This is just cruel to see, wickets like these are enough to turn off potential up/coming talented bowlers and look for an office job instead..

Random Aussie said:
On a related note, watching a few highlights of the Pak-Ind game.....Praveen Kumar.....is it my eyes or does he go the blatant throw now and then?
No he just has a big wrist flick which looks like a chuck, but his arm is actually straight.

TruSachFan said:
which even sucks these days. His main role is to be economical during the MO which he cant do.

he played a good knock yest , dont expect more than his 25 avg with the bat ....pathans bowling though has been poor in the last few matches he can bounce back ...with his pace hes bound to be taken for lot once in a while ...IMO for now his place in the 11 is fixed any where we play !

Some variable bounce has finally raised its ugly head on the Karachi patta.

if i may ask are india looking lethargic on the field, they surely have to be feeling it out there from yesterdays game?

MaVeRiCk said:
if i may ask are india looking lethargic on the field, they surely have to be feeling it out there from yesterdays game?

Yes they have fielded poorly and that is one reason Sri Lanka is in a fairly reasonable position. RP and Ishant have bowled beautifully today.

MaVeRiCk said:
back to back days again in this heat.

I wont blame Indian team if htey lose today, totally unfair to expect them to play back to back

come on RAIN