SS Millenium Pro Batting Gloves Review

Cover Drive

Hey,

Ordered these gloves along my clubmates stuff which was a month or so ago. Got busy with school and family commitment that I wasn't able to pick them up from him so met him at indoors last Saturday and took the gloves. I paid $40 for them which is around 25 Pounds. First impression is that they are truly bargain! Palm is like my GM Original LE and in 25 pounds I think they are very good. So as soon I got the gloves from him I took them and had nets in them. They did not take time to open up or break in and felt very good! They are extremely soft and light weight. Being a soft geek I have 7 pairs of gloves right now and two more on its way so these gloves are one of the best I have where the best being GM Original LE, then MB Malik Bubber Sher and then Salix, Newbery, SS etc

Thought I'd write a quick review, just wrote what came in my mind so bear with me regarding the mistakes etc.

Pictures (if anyone wants to see more pictures then please let me know, I'd be more than happy to snap few for them and post em)

Enjoy!

IMG-20110123-00085.jpg

IMG-20110123-00086.jpg

Mashallah CD bhai they look great you got excellent deal.

Bhai I hope you don't mind agar mey aap sey question ask karoon, but regarding what you told me yesterday are those pittard palms because I just checked on my Adidas gloves and it looks like it's calf and they are taking some time to break in as they are quite stiff, I'm actually quite worried if they remain so stiff.

Wow CD, they look brilliant! Probably the best looking Indian gloves I've seen in a while.

For $40 you got a one heck of a deal as those are most certainly Pittards!

they look awesome. you got a great deal.

JazakAllah Khair, your's are impressive as well :D

Mashallah CD bhai they look great you got excellent deal.

Bhai I hope you don't mind agar mey aap sey question ask karoon, but regarding what you told me yesterday are those pittard palms because I just checked on my Adidas gloves and it looks like it's calf and they are taking some time to break in as they are quite stiff, I'm actually quite worried if they remain so stiff.

JazakAllah Khair bhai :)

Arre yaar I have gotten tried after telling you that don't worry and ask whatever you wish to :)

Actually it takes a bit time for you to get used to the gloves. It happens with every gloves so don't worry with time, it will improve, I'm sure:)

Wow CD, they look brilliant! Probably the best looking Indian gloves I've seen in a while.

For $40 you got a one heck of a deal as those are most certainly Pittards!

JazakAllah Khair Bro :)

These Pittards are lovely and they are like my GM Original LE for which I paid $50. They are very comfortable and SS work on gloves is impressive as well.

Asalamalakium WAASIF Bhai,

Hope you're well!

First of all, welcome to PakPassion and more importantly to Cricket Equipment Section. It is great to have you here!

Bhai, I bought these gloves from onlinestockists.

If you have anymore questions please don't hesitate to ask :)

AoA CD, thanx again. I am still undecided, ordering from Ajit will come to approx $60 with shipping. Dushy from tornadocricket.com has sent me GM original and Aero P1 gloves to try out and buy whichever one i like, i really like the SS Mil pro gloves as well, im confused. has anyone had any experience with Aero P1 floves?

No worries!

I haven't tried Aero gloves but they look wired and I have my doubts over them because not many players (both international and non-international) use them so personally I won't invest my money in that.

GM Original aren't bad but I think Dushy is selling for a higher price.

Do you mind telling me how much Dushy is asking for them ?s

There website says $75 for GM Original so if you get them for $50 then I wouldn't say its a bad purchase.

Waisay they are 2010 ones right?

To be honest, I'm confused as well :S

Do you care about palm? I mean personally I'm pittard palm liker and GM Original's have Calf palm whereas these SS Mil Pro have Pittard Palm which is like GM Original Limited Edition and it is very good I must say (again am not saying this because I have it but it is good).

So if you don't care about palm and you don't mind calf over pittard then I'll go for GM Original any day of the week.

I have GM gloves and they fit and feel very good slightly better than SS Mil Pro.

I have never used pittard palm before, so I dont know what to expect, GM do feel good.
Lets see what Rehan thinks.
GM for $50 or SS for $60?

I concur CG Bhai, SS indeed makes the best softs in the world.

GM gloves are also made in India but I'm not sure who makes them could be SS.

WA Bhai, if you need to see these gloves from different angle don't hesitate to ask for pictures, I'll snap few for your from different angles etc.

Thanks CD, I would actually need to feel the gloves to get a better Idea, I think im going to go with the SS.

How long did the delivery take from Ajit? Did you have to pay any duties?

I practice from 1-3 at Khan on Saturdays so if you want to drop down and have a feel then you're more than welcome to do that.

Actually my friend ordered his stuff (pads and gloves) so I told him to add my pair as well, so I'm not too sure. I think it took no longer than 2 weeks.

No, not a single penny was given at customs.

You might want to add something else as well because then shipping would get cheaper for you. If you're after pads then shipping is not a lot to be honest.

Thanks again for that CD. Its a little difficult for me to get out on Saturdays.

I already got the shoes and arm guard from Dushy. I need a chest guard, I dont think Ajit has any of those. We use the team pads (Puma).

Which team do you play for? if you dont mind me asking.

No worries, I live in Brampton (Mavis and Steeles) so if you want to come and try at my place then you're more than welcome to do that :).

Ah okay, Khan has Aero Chest Guard. I see you're ca_gold bhai's team mate so when you're there on Sunday check em out. (Waisay chest guards are not for Pakistani's :D only player like Ganguly wear them :)) :)) )

If you want from Ajit he can get them for you (if you ask him to). Are those Puma pads like Brendon McCullum's ?

LOL no worries bhai ask it away. I play for GT.

I Never used chest guards before (I have been playing since 1996). I dont think I will need the chest guards during the season because the pitches play a lot slower than the nets. I got hit on the Ribs last week, we have good fast bowlers in our team. I will use them during nets for sure. I am not going to go for Aero Chest guard, I dont want to spend that much on the chest guard. I'll probably go for a cheaper option.

I live in Milton, I think I will just pull the trigger, Im sure SS fit just as good as the GN or even better.

Ah okay, yes Khan does have his brand 'KS' chest guards so worth having a look at them.

As you wish :)

Which Gray Nicolls gloves do you currently use? Also do you have long fingers/hands?

I dont have my own pair right now, I bought KS Brand gloves last year, they are useless. I am using team gloves right now (Ihsan inferno 950s).

I dont have long fingers, I have a medium size hands :)

I Never used chest guards before (I have been playing since 1996). I dont think I will need the chest guards during the season because the pitches play a lot slower than the nets. I got hit on the Ribs last week, we have good fast bowlers in our team. I will use them during nets for sure. I am not going to go for Aero Chest guard, I dont want to spend that much on the chest guard. I'll probably go for a cheaper option.

I live in Milton, I think I will just pull the trigger, Im sure SS fit just as good as the GN or even better.

I sometimes wear a chest guard in the nets(trent bridge) because the nets I play at have very quick surface and bowlers get lot of pace and bounce of the pitch. Even some slowers can trouble you with pace and and bounce coz pitch is very quick and bouncy. I have 2 chest guards, one AJ and Kook Ice. AJ one is ok and Kook Ice is very good I think its test quality.

I also tried to get a chest guard of Ajit but he couldnt get them then. If you want I can ask him for you, to try to get chest guards. He will listen to me coz we are friends lol

That would be awesome Majid, I am about to place my order of SS gloves with him. Let me know If he can find them. I had some communication with him via Email. I guess it will be better since he is a good friend of yours, ask him to give me some discount :)

Ahh okay, I would never suggest anyone to buy KS stuff because it is just waste of money.

I have Ihsan Inferno 950 gloves and these gloves are a lot like Inferno 950 but these are tad comfier (due to pittard palms) and weight is pretty much the same if not then Ihsan are probably slighty lighter.

If you want I can post picture comparison of Ihsan Inferno 950 and these SS gloves for you

That would be awesome Majid, I am about to place my order of SS gloves with him. Let me know If he can find them. I had some communication with him via Email. I guess it will be better since he is a good friend of yours, ask him to give me some discount :)

Ok bro I will tell him. One negative with SS or SG chest guards they dont look great and they have 2 straps and 2 strap ones are not comfortable and not easy to strap on when wearing so try locally as well if they have any similar looking to Kook or GN chestguards.

I will try locally, Since I never had a chest guard before, I want to make sure I take a close look before I buy.
Any recommendations or pricing in the GTA CD?

I am going to place my order for the SS Gloves Today.

I sometimes wear a chest guard in the nets(trent bridge) because the nets I play at have very quick surface and bowlers get lot of pace and bounce of the pitch. Even some slowers can trouble you with pace and and bounce coz pitch is very quick and bouncy. I have 2 chest guards, one AJ and Kook Ice. AJ one is ok and Kook Ice is very good I think its test quality.

I also tried to get a chest guard of Ajit but he couldnt get them then. If you want I can ask him for you, to try to get chest guards. He will listen to me coz we are friends lol

Majid bhai, do you play in Trent Bridge, as in the actual Trent Bridge?:O

Yeah I have actually played one match on the ground but not allowed to play there everyday. I practice in the indoor nets they have in one of the big stands. They have 3 indoor cricket centres, 2 of them are in the biggest stand(dont know the stands name) and older nets are on the opposite side of that stand.

Woah thats so cool man, think you could get me a game there? ; )
I'll try but cant promise lol :akhtar the ground is lovely I did have very good contacts as I went there on my school work experience. I got to know everyone and knew the ground inside out but now I dont go there often only once a week.

I will try locally, Since I never had a chest guard before, I want to make sure I take a close look before I buy.
Any recommendations or pricing in the GTA CD?

I am going to place my order for the SS Gloves Today.

Sorry yaar have no clue on pricing, shouldn't be more than $15-$20 bucks I'd say.

Waisay Khan does have few of "unbranded" chest guards try there.

Bhai, where you do you have your indoors ?

That will be great CD

Sorry for taking a bit long but here are the pictures, bear with me as I'm not a photographer like ca_gold bhai so...here are the pictures and enjoy (went wild and took from all angles);

DSC05175.jpg

DSC05176.jpg

DSC05177.jpg

DSC05178.jpg

DSC05179.jpg

DSC05180.jpg

DSC05181.jpg

DSC05182.jpg

WOW CD!!! Im speechless.

Thank you very much, thats just amazing. I love all the pic, You got some serious talent with the camera. I really appreciate that.

I will definitely order these gloves, Insha-Allah. Now I just need P2 strippers at a good price (Dushy only has Large at a very good price) I need mediums.

We practice at Khan's on Sundays at 11 - 1 . You can drop in anytime, ca_gold will be there as well.

WOW CD!!! Im speechless.

Thank you very much, thats just amazing. I love all the pic, You got some serious talent with the camera. I really appreciate that.

I will definitely order these gloves, Insha-Allah. Now I just need P2 strippers at a good price (Dushy only has Large at a very good price) I need mediums.

We practice at Khan's on Sundays at 11 - 1 . You can drop in anytime, ca_gold will be there as well.

LOL yaar no worries.

As far my camera skills goes, I kinda suck but nothing beats ca_gold bhai's skills!

Anyways, if you don't mind me asking how much is Dushy giving them for ?

P2 are generally for youth, they are not proper mens strippers. Would say chip in a bit more and get P1's as they offer a lot more protection. Plus you're team has Imran Khan and many other fast bowlers (:D ) so better safe than sorry. P1 offer protection upto 100 mph :akhtar whereas P2 are upto 80 mph mark.

Khan sells P1 for $100 whereas he might negotiate a bit as well.

Had been talking about this to another PPer in the following thread (link is below);

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=109954&page=6

Hope it helps

Im on a budget, ideally I should get P1 but I dont think anyone in our league bowl at over 75mph on astro pitches. Its only during practice on the concrete where the bowlers get nice kick and pace. During the season its the other teams that will be worried about the pace of our bowlers.

Ah okay, sounds fair.

Will look around and see if I come across P2 at a good price.

Did you give Asad Bhai a shout ? I think ca_gold bhai got his strippers from him...

I'll try but cant promise lol :akhtar the ground is lovely I did have very good contacts as I went there on my school work experience. I got to know everyone and knew the ground inside out but now I dont go there often only once a week.

Ok jazakallahKhair,

Me and you can open, maybe 100-120 in first powerplay, then go berserk and post a good score of around 500ish, sound good?:)

Its listed at £35 plus £9 for shipping. I will try to find it locally first. I guess it should be a deal for $65.

WAASIF Bhai, have you ordered the gloves? Khan is selling these gloves for $65 whereas he can probably let you go with the $5 so I would say buy from Khan as it will save your time.

Khan has few more SS gloves which you might want to try and see if you like them. The one I found to be priced well were SS Supertest LE (Sangakarra ones like ca_gold bhai has).