Sultanpuri accident in India: Accused deliberately dragged woman for 13kms, left her body on road

New Delhi: The national capital witnessed massive protests on Monday over the death of a 20-year-old girl who died after she was dragged by a car for around 13 kilometres on January 1. The girl was heading home on her scooty when a car hit her and dragged her for around 47 minutes.

Five persons who were in the car at the time of the horrific accident have been arrested and sent to 3-day police custody. The accused have admitted that they were under the influence of alcohol, sources told Times Now.

Now, more gory details have emerged in the case hinting that the accused dragged the woman deliberately and even left her in the middle of the road.

Times Now has accessed exclusive details proving that the suspects deliberately dragged the victims body for kilometres. Delhi Police has found that the accused's vehicle had a head-on collision with the victim's scooty.
All the five accused went on a joyride towards Murthal after taking a friend's car from Rohini. On the way, they were consuming alcohol and returned back to Delhi. They were moving towards Manoj Mittal's (one of the accused) house to drop him and on the way their car hit the victim's scooty.

They moved the car back and then drove ahead without realising that the victim was trapped under their vehicle.

After travelling for around two kilometers, one of the accused told the driver that there is something below the car but he did not stop. After travelling for 4 km, Mithun (one of the accused who was sitting on the left hand side) spotted a hand coming out from below the car.

They did not stop the car and kept moving till Kanjhawala, which is about 14 km from the accident spot. They all got down from the car, saw the woman's body lying there without clothes and left it in the middle of the road. They then headed to Rohini to return the car to the owner and went back to their respective houses in an auto.

What the accused said

According to sources, the accused have admitted that there were not stopped or checked by police at any point on the night of the accident. The accused, however, claimed they were not driving under the influence.
But the police said it will need a medical report to confirm whether the accused were intoxicated or not. All five accused are being questioned why they continuously drove between Sultanpuri and Kanjhawala

So far the accused have said they had gone out to celebrate New Year. They have denied committing any murder or sexual assault. In absence of any forensic report, investigating officers are not believing any statements given by the accused.

https://www.timesnownews.com/mirror...dy-on-road-exclusive-details-article-96688770

jsayoRWBldlINrPrph0v.png

These can't be humans?

She was a sole breadwinner - India should erupt for her.

Folks who are responsible for this should receive death penalties.

Tragic.

Delhi, Punjab and Haryana are the worst! Extremely disturbing this incident.

The men who hit a 20-year-old with their car in New Year and dragged her body for over an hour through the streets of west Delhi, have confessed to being drunk, says the First Information Report filed by the police. After hitting the woman, who fell from her scooty, they apparently panicked and were trying to get away, the FIR said.

Anjali Singh was returning from work around 2 am when the accident took place. After she fell from the scooty, her body got tangled in the undercarriage of the car, which ran for 13 km before the occupants apparently became aware of it, the FIR read.

The Maruti Baleno was twice-borrowed, the police have found. The owner, Lokesh, had loaned it to Ashutosh, who loaned it to his friends Amit and Deepak Khanna.

The Khannas were inside the car when the horrific events took place. The others in the car were Manoj Mittal, a local BJP leader who owns a ration shop, Krishan, who works at the Spanish Cultural Centre in Connaught Place and Mithun, who works as a hair dresser.

The police came to know that the nude body of a woman was found in Jonti village -- 13 km from the accident site -- while they were investigating Anjali Singh's abandoned scooty.

NDTV

Such a heinous crime this was! Everytime I read it sends a chill down spine.

What have people become!

Such things are normal in that part of the world.

​As Car Dragged Woman, Driver Felt Something Was Stuck, Others Said No
The man who was driving the car has told the police that a few km after hitting Anjali Singh's scooty in the early hours of Sunday, he felt that something was stuck under the car.

The men who allegedly hit a woman with their car and dragged her for about 13 km through the streets of west Delhi have made some new revelations during their interrogation.
The man who was driving the car has told the police that a few km after hitting Anjali Singh's scooty in the early hours of Sunday, he felt that something was stuck under the car, but the other four occupants asked him to drive on, sources say.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/sul...as-stuck-but-3658904#pfrom=home-ndtv_bigstory

One of them is a local BJP leader - so nothing is gonna happen to them. There is no justice in India

what a sad despicable country it is. No respect for women at all in India

They will pay a few carores to the poor family and move on. For the govt, it would be a win win as the family is poor and by giving them money, they will think they alleviated the family, problem solved.

but no one is gonna care about the life lost

They will pay a few carores to the poor family and move on. For the govt, it would be a win win as the family is poor and by giving them money, they will think they alleviated the family, problem solved.

It's wrong to call a whole country despicable. Having said that reading about this incident was very disturbing. Can't imagine what she was going through bein dragged like this. Astaghfirullah!

Will be interesting to see whether the Love Jihad protesters who are very concerned about Hindu women, will have any concern or demonstration? Whom are they going demonstrate against, will they ask local BJP leaders to be accountable given one of their members has been in that car. Will would have been their reaction has their been non Hindu males in that car instead? Will Indian mainstream media be asking these questions and seeking answers?

Crores? Forget it.

Having said that reading about this incident was very disturbing. Can't imagine what she was going through bein dragged like this. Astaghfirullah!
Indeed. How painful it must have been for her to be dragged like this for 13 KMs especially during chilly nights of Delhi winter!

Drinking culture among youth has increased so much since my youth days.

Exactly. And this is why many of them are also dying in 40s. Social media has given birth to these idiots who think drinking, smoking, and doing 'chichorapanti' will make them look cool.

It’s the disposable income that comes staying with parents and not being responsible.
Punjabis Haryanvis are notorious for driving drunk to hilly areas as well.(Mussorie particularly).

Irrespective I wouldn’t blame this on drinking culture alone but the culture of not caring and societal fall, people drink across India but it’s just certain belts where these incidents happen more frequently than others.

It’s the disposable income that comes staying with parents and not being responsible.
Punjabis Haryanvis are notorious for driving drunk to hilly areas as well.(Mussorie particularly).

Irrespective I wouldn’t blame this on drinking culture alone but the culture of not caring and societal fall, people drink across India but it’s just certain belts where these incidents happen more frequently than others.

Since this seems quite widespread, are there no routines for police check for blood-alcohol content in place?

I think more disposable income without any parental restraints these days have led to some serious decay to core working class values of previous century which is to stay humble, keep feet on the ground, care for others etc. There is no value or respect to the human toil that goes into earning every single penny within a certain section. The parents also share some blame as well. I won't necessarily limit this to one or two states but it's visible all across the country specially urban areas.

Since this seems quite widespread, are there no routines for police check for blood-alcohol content in place?

There are.. they get caught quiet often but unless their license is revoked I doubt they will stop, even then they won’t stop driving.
I think Certain states in India have attitude of breaking basic laws- Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, UP.

It’s not this ridiculous in Southern states(except Tamil Nadu) or Maharashtra , Gujarat as such is a dry state(liquor is available though illegally), so it doesn’t occur a lot in these states.

A lot of these incidents get covered up as well in Delhi.

I think more disposable income without any parental restraints these days have led to some serious decay to core working class values of previous century which is to stay humble, keep feet on the ground, care for others etc. There is no value or respect to the human toil that goes into earning every single penny within a certain section. The parents also share some blame as well. I won't necessarily limit this to one or two states but it's visible all across the country specially urban areas.

Have you noticed the drunk driving cases and which families this happens to?
I mention the states due to absolute visibility into who does this when I visit places.

People are actually wary of Haryana number plates in Dehradun.

This is what happens when you trade decency for "progress". There is nothing progressive about drinking alcohol and other similar nonsenses (partying like animals, living together etc.).

Drinking culture among youth has increased so much since my youth days.

Yes and we may see more and more incidents like this.

I hope you now understand why alcohol is prohibited in Islam. A lot can go wrong when alcohol is involved.

There is never an alternative to decency. Indecent behavior is not a sign of progress.

Yes and we may see more and more incidents like this.

I hope you now understand why alcohol is prohibited in Islam. A lot can go wrong when alcohol is involved.

There is never an alternative to decency. Indecent behavior is not a sign of progress.

Beasts will be beasts no matter whether alcohol is involved or not. Taliban and ISIS have done much worse things.

"They Deliberately...": Friend Recounts Delhi Car Horror, Says Men Knew

The men who dragged a 20-year-old for 13 km under their car in Delhi on New Year's morning, "knew she was stuck under," the victim's friend told reporters today. Nidhi, who accompanied Anjali Singh to a New Year Party, was riding pillion in the same scooty, the police have found. Nidhi, who apparently had a fight with Anjali, had fallen when the car allegedly hit the scooty and after seeing Anjali being dragged under the car, went home in shock.

"The Baleno hit us head on. I fell to one side and she fell towards the front," Nidhi told reporters.

"My friend got stuck under the car. The men knew that a girl had rolled under their car. They deliberately ran over her. They knew. The girl was stuck under the car and she was screaming. I felt so hopeless that I went home," she told reporters this evening as her friend's body was cremated.

"I went home and didn't tell anything to anyone. I had panicked. I cried a lot. They drove forward and back twice. Forward and back. Twice. She was on her back. Probably got stuck into something. So they went forward and back. Then they just went ahead, dragging her under the car," Nidhi added, recalling the traumatic event in vivid detail.

Anjali's leg had got stuck in the axle.

The five men in the car, who are under arrest, have told the police that they had panicked after hitting the scooty and had no idea that the woman was stuck in the undercarriage. They said they were drunk, having polished off two bottles of alcohol on way back from Haryana's Murthal. Also, the music in the car was loud and they heard nothing, they said.

The men claimed that they saw the body when they were near the Jonti village. While taking a U-turn, they saw the woman's arm. Then they stopped the car and leaving the body there, drove off. They returned the borrowed car to Ashutosh and went home.

The 20-year-old, breadwinner for a family of eight, was cremated today amid horror and protests of a shocked city.

The postmortem examination has ruled out sexual assault – a claim made by the family in view of her unclothed body. Her clothes had ripped off and her skin was peeled when the body was found, the outcome of being dragged in the undercarriage for 13 km, the police said. The preliminary postmortem report indicated that the body bore extensive blunt trauma injuries.

The men have been accused of culpable homicide, but further investigations are on.

The horrific incident having taken place on New Year, when the city was under a security blanket, the Home Ministry has asked a senior police officer to look into the lapses on part of the Delhi police.

NDTV

Have you noticed the drunk driving cases and which families this happens to?
I mention the states due to absolute visibility into who does this when I visit places.

People are actually wary of Haryana number plates in Dehradun.

I actually have seen enough such instances in other parts of the country as well and these drunkards everywhere are so engulfed in their own world, they typically have no remorse. The only difference is that youth in those two states are loudmouth and try to do showboating because of the inherent culture , so they get more visibility. The other thing is less regards for women in particular in that belt compared to rest of the country, so once drunk their feudal mindset comes out in the open. But believe me drunk driving , rash driving happens in other parts as well , it's just that once caught they try to wrap it up quietly unlike those fools up North who will start with dialogues "Janta hai mera baap kaun hai, mera tau kaun hai"

To me the biggest difference is the time of the day they drink and only one of them drink like idiots during daytime in their car with that annoying plastic cups.

Irrespective maybe it's only my observation.

Is it a good thing or bad thing? I think it's a good thing.

I have gone through alcoholism in the past. The only advise I'll give my younger generation is to please, please, please stay away from alcohol, drugs or any other addiction. It appears cool to you when you start doing it. But the day your get trapped in addiction will be the day you'll want to come out of it, and by then it'll be too late.

Alcohol is the single worst thing that has ever happened to me in my life, even far worse than my ex girlfriends.

Death penelty plz and that too openly to spread message to everyone about the consequences of such a horrible crime.
They should send spread this penelty in media to create fear so public would think twice before doing such a horrible act :in

I have gone through alcoholism in the past. The only advise I'll give my younger generation is to please, please, please stay away from alcohol, drugs or any other addiction. It appears cool to you when you start doing it. But the day your get trapped in addiction will be the day you'll want to come out of it, and by then it'll be too late.

Alcohol is the single worst thing that has ever happened to me in my life, even far worse than my ex girlfriends.

India needs to tackle this (from NDTV)

7XTKdQz.png

The men who dragged a 20-year-old for 13 km under their car in Delhi on New Year's morning, "knew she was stuck under," the victim's friend told reporters today. Nidhi, who accompanied Anjali Singh to a New Year Party, was riding pillion in the same scooty, the police have found. Nidhi, who apparently had a fight with Anjali, had fallen when the car allegedly hit the scooty and after seeing Anjali being dragged under the car, went home in shock.

"The Baleno hit us head on. I fell to one side and she fell towards the front," Nidhi told reporters.

"My friend got stuck under the car. The men knew that a girl had rolled under their car. They deliberately ran over her. They knew. The girl was stuck under the car and she was screaming. I felt so hopeless that I went home," she told reporters this evening as her friend's body was cremated.

"I went home and didn't tell anything to anyone. I had panicked. I cried a lot. They drove forward and back twice. Forward and back. Twice. She was on her back. Probably got stuck in something. So they went forward and back. Then they just drove off, dragging her under the car," Nidhi added, recalling the traumatic event in vivid detail.

Anjali's leg had got stuck in the axle.

The five men in the car, who are under arrest, have told the police that they had panicked after hitting the scooty and had no idea that the woman was stuck in the undercarriage. They said they were drunk, having polished off two bottles of alcohol on way back from Haryana's Murthal. Also, the music in the car was loud and they heard nothing, they said.

The men claimed that they saw the body when they were near the Jonti village. While taking a U-turn, they saw the woman's arm. Then they stopped the car and leaving the body there, drove off. They returned the car, borrowed from one Ashutosh, and went home.

The 20-year-old, breadwinner for a family of eight, was cremated today amid horror and protests of a shocked city.

The postmortem examination has ruled out sexual assault – a claim made by the family in view of her unclothed body. Her clothes had ripped off and her skin was peeled when the body was found, the outcome of being dragged in the undercarriage for 13 km, the police said. The preliminary postmortem report indicated that the body bore extensive blunt trauma injuries.

The men have been accused of culpable homicide, but further investigations are on.

The horrific incident having taken place on New Year, when the city was under a security blanket, the Home Ministry has asked a senior police officer to look into the lapses on part of the Delhi police.

NDTV

Delhi has to be the worst city we've got.

India needs to tackle this (from NDTV)

7XTKdQz.png

Air India Passenger Who Urinated On Woman Banned For 30 Days, Says Airline
New Delhi: A drunk man, who urinated on a woman co-passenger in the business class of an Air India flight in November and left without facing any action, has been banned from the airline for 30 days, the company said on Wednesday amid growing outrage. Weeks after the incident, Air India has also filed a case and has recommended that the unruly flier be placed on the no-fly list.

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation has sought a report from the airline into the incident that was revealed after the woman wrote to the group chairman of Air India, N Chandrasekaran.

"We shall take action against those found negligent," said the regulator.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/air...or-30-days-3662781#pfrom=home-ndtv_topstories

This action from AI is not even a slap on wrist. That cretin should have been given exemplary punishment.

What a depressing story. More awareness needs to be raised in third world countries of the danger getting behind the wheel intoxicated.

Nirbhaya's Mother Meets Family Of Delhi Woman Who Was Dragged For 13 Km

Asha Devi, mother of Nirbhaya who was gang-raped and murdered in 2012, on Wednesday met the family of the 20-year-old woman, who died after being hit by a car in the Kanjhawala area of the national capital and then dragged for a few kilometers on the road.

After meeting with the victim's family, Asha Devi urged the authorities to investigate the case and financially support the family.

She also said that a job should be given to a family member as soon as possible.

"I request authorities to investigate the case and support the family financially. The job should be given to the family member as soon as possible. I do not level allegations on anyone but I do not support what that girl (Nidhi) has said in her statement," said Nirbhaya's mother.

Anjali's friend Nidhi, who was a pillion rider at the time of the incident, on Tuesday said that the men knew the girl was stuck under their car, but still, they kept dragging her.

"After the car hit us, I fell to one side. My friend got stuck under the car. The men knew that the girl had got stuck under their car, still, they deliberately kept dragging her," she said.

Nidhi said that Anjali was in an inebriated state but still insisted on driving the two-wheeler.

"It is the fault of the girl who was driving in an inebriated state. I insisted to her so much that don't drive, I am alert, let me drive. She didn't believe me and believed herself," Nidhi added.

Earlier in the day, Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia visited the residence of the 20-year-old woman.

"It is a horrific incident. The 20-year-old was the only earning member of the family. She had siblings and the entire incident is saddening," said Manish Sisodia after meeting the family.

Mr Sisodia said that earlier Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had met with the victim's mother and assured her that her medical treatment would be taken care of. The victim's mother is reportedly suffering from Kidney related ailments and is undergoing dialysis treatment.

"Delhi CM met with the deceased's mother and assured her that whatever medical treatment is required will be provided by the Delhi government. The Delhi government will take after her dialysis treatment," said Mr Sisodia.

He further said that the Delhi government would help in providing jobs to a member of the family.

In a major development into the Kanjhawala death case, the Forensic Science Laboratory said that initial examination suggests no sign of any woman present inside the car has been found so far.

It further said that the woman was stuck onto the front left wheel of the vehicle as most blood stains were found behind the front left wheel.

"Initial examination of the accused's car suggests that the woman was stuck onto the front left wheel of the vehicle. Most blood stains were found behind the front left wheel. Blood stains have been found on other parts also, under the car," the FSL report said.

"No sign of the woman present inside the car found so far," the report added.

Blood samples of the occupants of the car who are arrested have also reached the FSL for detailed examination.

Meanwhile, the Post Mortem Examination (PME) has ruled out any injury suggestive of 'sexual assault', the police informed on Tuesday.

Earlier, according to the FIR lodged by the Delhi Police in the incident in which a 20-year-old girl was killed after she was hit by a car and then dragged for a few kilometers on the road, being entangled in the wheels, two of the four accused Deepak Khanna and Amit Khanna borrowed the car from one of their friends at around 7 pm on December 31, 2022, and parked the car back at his house at around 5 am on January 1, 2023.

The FIR said that Deepak was driving the car while accused Manoj Mittal was sitting next to the driver's seat.

"Accused Mithun Kumar and Amit Khanna were in the back seat of the car," the FIR read.

"After fleeing from the accident spot they stopped the car near village Jaunti on Kanjhawala Road, where they found the victim woman's body stuck under the car," the FIR further stated.

NDTV

Her friend who was riding pillion at the time of the accident recorded her statement with Delhi Police on Tuesday.

She claimed that the victim was drunk at the time and had insisted on riding the two-wheeler.
The friend, who did not wish to be named, said they had gone to meet her friends at a hotel on Saturday night.

Maliwal questioned why she had kept silent till the police traced her on the basis of footage from CCTV cameras.
"The victim's friend has put the blame on her. She was with her when the accident happened. She left from the spot and went home. Didn't she feel the need to inform (the) police or the victim's family about what had happened? She could have followed the car that was dragging the woman, who must have been crying for help. She could have done something so that her life could have been saved. What kind of friend is she?," Maliwal asked.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/fsl-team-conducts-mechanical-inspection-of-car-in-delhi-hit-and-run-case/articleshow/96735422.cms

OMG..Something fishy there.

:facepalm

Nidhi, who apparently had a fight with Anjali, had fallen when the car allegedly hit the scooty and after seeing Anjali being dragged under the car, went home in shock.

Nidhi said that Anjali was in an inebriated state but still insisted on driving the two-wheeler.

"It is the fault of the girl who was driving in an inebriated state. I insisted to her so much that don't drive, I am alert, let me drive. She didn't believe me and believed herself," Nidhi added.

what a stupid friend..

the so called friend needs to be investigated aswell

Engineering Student On Life Support After Hit-And-Run In Greater Noida

A college student is in hospital with severe brain injury in Greater Noida, unconscious for five days now, after some men in car ran over her when she was walking on the roadside around 9 pm on December 31. Two others suffered minor injuries, while the men in the car remain untraced so far.

The hit-and-run took place near a bus stop in the Beta 2 area of Greater Noida when the car ran into three engineering students from GNIOT College from behind.

Sweety Kumari, a BTech final-year student, was rushed to the local Kailash Hospital, where her family from Bihar has reached too.

She is currently on life support after a brain surgery. She also has a fracture in her left leg and an ankle injury. Doctors said she is stable, though still unconscious.

Her friend Karsoni Dong, one of the others injured, said the Hyundai Santro that hit them was speeding.

Outside the hospital, Sweety Kumari's friends are collecting money for her treatment. They say her parents, who live in Patna, do not have the capacity to bear the cost of her ongoing treatment.

Her mother, Lalmani, said, “Doctors say that she has a deep brain injury, and that it will cost a lot of money. We are labourers. Our daughter is very good in studies.”

Three teams of cops have been deployed to trace the accused, said Dinesh Kumar Singh, an area police officer.

“We are examining CCTV footage from the area for clues," he added.

The incident occurred the same night that a 20-year-old woman in nearby Delhi was killed in the early hours of New Year after her scooter was hit by a car and she was dragged for several kilometres under the vehicle.

NDTV

This action from AI is not even a slap on wrist. That cretin should have been given exemplary punishment.

AI can't even name and shame the individual. I have a hunch he's some politician/politician's kid or well connected businessman.

Her friend who was riding pillion at the time of the accident recorded her statement with Delhi Police on Tuesday.

She claimed that the victim was drunk at the time and had insisted on riding the two-wheeler.
The friend, who did not wish to be named, said they had gone to meet her friends at a hotel on Saturday night.

Maliwal questioned why she had kept silent till the police traced her on the basis of footage from CCTV cameras.
"The victim's friend has put the blame on her. She was with her when the accident happened. She left from the spot and went home. Didn't she feel the need to inform (the) police or the victim's family about what had happened? She could have followed the car that was dragging the woman, who must have been crying for help. She could have done something so that her life could have been saved. What kind of friend is she?," Maliwal asked.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/fsl-team-conducts-mechanical-inspection-of-car-in-delhi-hit-and-run-case/articleshow/96735422.cms

OMG..Something fishy there.

:facepalm

If the victim was drunk, then most likely her friend was too. Seems the whole incident might have been a tale of drunken bawdiness gone disastrously wrong.

Engineering Student On Life Support After Hit-And-Run In Greater Noida

A college student is in hospital with severe brain injury in Greater Noida, unconscious for five days now, after some men in car ran over her when she was walking on the roadside around 9 pm on December 31. Two others suffered minor injuries, while the men in the car remain untraced so far.

The hit-and-run took place near a bus stop in the Beta 2 area of Greater Noida when the car ran into three engineering students from GNIOT College from behind.

Sweety Kumari, a BTech final-year student, was rushed to the local Kailash Hospital, where her family from Bihar has reached too.

She is currently on life support after a brain surgery. She also has a fracture in her left leg and an ankle injury. Doctors said she is stable, though still unconscious.

Her friend Karsoni Dong, one of the others injured, said the Hyundai Santro that hit them was speeding.

Outside the hospital, Sweety Kumari's friends are collecting money for her treatment. They say her parents, who live in Patna, do not have the capacity to bear the cost of her ongoing treatment.

Her mother, Lalmani, said, “Doctors say that she has a deep brain injury, and that it will cost a lot of money. We are labourers. Our daughter is very good in studies.”

Three teams of cops have been deployed to trace the accused, said Dinesh Kumar Singh, an area police officer.

“We are examining CCTV footage from the area for clues," he added.

The incident occurred the same night that a 20-year-old woman in nearby Delhi was killed in the early hours of New Year after her scooter was hit by a car and she was dragged for several kilometres under the vehicle.

NDTV

Another tragic incident.

I wonder if alcohol was involved again.

It should be banned everywhere ideally.

Alcohol is a recipe for disaster. A lot can go wrong when you are drunk.

I know but banning it directly in India won't work, people will keep finding other ways of selling and purchasing alcohol. The US tried it in prohibition in 1920's and it didn't work.

Ideal approach is the Islamic one, where alcohol was gradually forbidden to the believers through progressive Quranic revelations.

Delhi Car Horror Accused Face New Charge Over Inconsistency In Statements

In a significant development in the Kanjhawala case, Delhi Police on Thursday added the 'destruction of evidence' section of the Indian Penal Code (IPC) to the FIR against the accused.

"The police added section 201 of the Indian Penal Code to the FIR after finding incoherence in the statement of the accused," sources said.

It is pertinent to mention that, Rohini Court on Thursday extended the police custody for four days of all the five persons, accused of hitting a 20-year-old girl and dragging her for a considerable distance leading to her death in Outer Delhi's Kanjhawala.

All the accused, Deepak Khanna, Amit Khanna, Manoj Mittal, Krishan, and Mithun, were produced through video conferencing, due to security reasons, from Rohini Court's lockup amid heightened security. They were arrested on January 1.

"Police demanded five days of custody but the court granted them a four-day custody," Advocate Shivani, counsel appearing for Deepak Khanna, Amit Khanna, Krishan and Mithun, told ANI.

"Police told the court, that their investigation is incomplete and two other names of accused have come to the fore, that's why we need a five-day police custody," she said, adding that no evidence was presented yet.

Earlier in the day, Delhi Police said that two more people have emerged as suspects in the case.

Addressing a press conference here today Special Commissioner of Police (Law & Order) Delhi Police Sagar Preet Hooda said the men are Ashutosh, the owner of the car, and Ankush, the brother of one of the accused. He said the two suspects would be arrested soon.

"We have arrested five accused and we are interrogating them. During interrogation, we found that two more people are involved in the incident. Our team is conducting raids," said senior police officer Hooda.

"The names of the other two accused are Ashutosh and Ankush Khanna. We are in search of them. Both of them are the friends of the five men under custody. They tried to protect the five accused," he added.

According to the police commissioner the pair also attempted to tamper with the evidence as they tried to help the accused. A total of 18 teams of Delhi Police are investigating the case.

NDTV

If the victim was drunk, then most likely her friend was too. Seems the whole incident might have been a tale of drunken bawdiness gone disastrously wrong.

No, the victim was not drunk. This news have been spread in order to discredit the victim.

Delhi has to be the worst city we've got.
When you've a home minister under whom the Delhi police is directly under, busy doing sanghi campaigns in various election bound states, this is what happens.

Law and order in Delhi is in complete shambles.

Delhi Car Horror Case: 6th Accused Sent To 3-Day Police Custody

A court in New Delhi on Friday remanded in police custody for three days the sixth accused arrested in the case of death of a woman who was hit by a car and dragged on the roads for about two hours in the national capital.

Police had arrested Ashutosh earlier in the day.

Metropolitan Magistrate Sanya Dalal allowed his three-day custodial interrogation after the Delhi police sought his remand for five days.

The five people accused of causing the death of 20-year-old Anjali Singh had allegedly borrowed the car from Ashutosh.

Those arrested earlier are: Deepak Khanna, Amit Khanna, Krishan, Mithun and Manoj Mittal.

The victim was killed in the early hours of the New Year Day after her scooter was hit by a car and she got entangled underneath the vehicle before being dragged for more than 12 kilometres. Her body later got dislodged and was found lying on the road in Kanjhawala.

The court had on Thursday extended the police custody of the five accused by four days.

NDTV

In Delhi Car Horror Case, Bail To Man Who Allegedly Shielded The Accused

A court here on Saturday granted bail to Ankush Khanna who allegedly shielded the accused involved in the Kanjhawala accident case.

Metropolitan Magistrate Sanya Dalal granted the relief to Khanna, who had surrendered on Friday, after observing that the charges against him were bailable.

The judge noted that according to the Investigating Officer (IO), Khanna had in his statement to the police said that accused Deepak was driving the vehicle. However, according to the investigation conducted so far, it has been found that accused Amit was driving.

The court also noted the investigation officer's submission that Ankush Khanna along with another accused Ashutosh had assisted the co-accused in hiding them at Deepak's residence.

"...Offences alleged are bailable in nature. Hence accused is granted bail on furnishing personal bond of ₹ 20,000 along with one surety of like amount," the judge said.

The court asked the accused to join the investigation as and when required by the IO, attend the trial and not tamper with evidence.

During the proceedings, the prosecution sought 14 days of judicial custody of the accused.

Police had booked Ankush Khanna for the offences under sections 201(causing disappearance of evidence of offence, or giving false information to screen offender), 212 (harbouring offender), 182 (false information, with intent to cause public servant to use his lawful power to the injury of another person) and 120 B (criminal conspiracy) of the Indian Penal Code.

Police had earlier arrested Deepak Khanna (26), Amit Khanna (25), Krishan (27), Mithun (26), and Manoj Mittal in the case. Later, they zeroed in on Ashutosh, who was arrested on Friday, and Ankush Khanna for allegedly shielding the accused.

Anjali Singh, 20, was killed in the early hours of the New Year after her scooter was hit by a car which dragged her for 12 km from Sultanpuri to Kanjhawala.

NDTV

Shah Rukh Khan's Charity Donates To Delhi Car Horror Victim's Family

Actor Shah Rukh Khan's philanthropic initiative -- Meer Foundation -- has donated an undisclosed amount to the family of Anjali Singh, the Delhi woman who was dragged and killed in the early hours of the New Year.

20-year-old Anjali died in a brutal hit-and-run in North-West Delhi's Kanjhawala. The victim, survived by her mother and siblings, was the sole earning member of the family.

The Meer foundation, named after Shah Rukh Khan's father Meer Taj Mohammed Khan, said it aims to help the family, especially the mother with her health issues while providing adequate relief to Anjali's siblings.

Meer Foundation says it aims to "effect change at ground level and works to build a world that empowers women".

Five men, who allegedly admitted to being drunk at the time, were arrested and charged with "culpable homicide not amounting to murder", rash driving and causing death by negligence on January 1.

Anjali Singh was returning home with a friend on her scooter when she was hit by the car a little after 2 am. Her leg was stuck in the car's front axle, and she was dragged away by the car, while her friend fell on the other side and escaped without injury.

On Tuesday, the friend -- Nidhi -- who was with Anjali at the time of the incident, told the media that the latter was drunk on the day of the incident.

Seven accused in the case are now in the custody of Delhi Police.

NDTV

In Delhi Car Horror, Centre Wants Murder Charges, Cops Suspended:Sources

Murder charges should be filed against the five men who were involved in Delhi's hit-and-drag case in which a 20-year-old died, the Union Home Ministry has directed, sources told NDTV. The ministry also asked that the policemen who ignored the multiple SOS calls from eye-witnesses that night be suspended immediately, sources said. The ministry's instructions came after it received the report of an investigation it had ordered into the shocking case the nation woke up to on New Year.

The five drunk men had hit Shalini Singh's scooty on New Year and as her body rolled under their car and got tangled in the undercarriage, they drove for 13 km, trying to dislodge the body. A postmortem examination showed the woman died of horrific impact injuries, her head fractured, and skin peeled off. Her friend who was riding pillion, sustained minor injuries.

The police, who were out in strength in view of it being New Year's eve, did not respond to multiple calls alerting them to the situation.

Amid massive public outrage, the Union home ministry had ordered a probe.

The investigation, conducted by senior police officer Shalini Singh, has found personnel in three PCR vans and two police pickets guilty of negligence.

Sources said the ministry has instructed that a showcause notice also be sent to the District Police in-charge. The officer should clarify what was the law-and-order situation in the area at the time. In absence of a satisfactory response, action should be taken against him as well, sources said.

The five men in the car, who are under arrest, told the police that they had panicked after hitting the scooty and had no idea that the woman was stuck in the undercarriage. They said they were drunk, having polished off two bottles of alcohol on way back from Haryana's Murthal. They heard nothing as the music in the car was loud, they claimed.

The police now say they have established through CCTV footage that the men were completely aware that the woman was stuck under their car.

Earlier this week, the police told a Delhi court that one of the six CCTV footages they have show two of the men getting off the car two minutes after the accident and seeing the trapped woman. Then they drove on, trying to dislodge the body.

The men have so far been charged with "culpable homicide not amounting to murder", rash driving, and causing death by negligence.

NDTV

Murder Charges Against Men Who Dragged Woman Under Car In Delhi

Murder charges have been filed against the men allegedly involved in Delhi's horrific New Year hit-and-drag case following an order by the Union home ministry. The order came last week after a special investigation was conducted in the case that had shocked the nation. The ministry also said the policemen who ignored the multiple SOS calls from eye-witnesses as the 20-year-old was dragged 13 km under the car of five drunk men -- be suspended immediately, sources said.

The men had hit Anjali Singh's scooty on New Year and as her body rolled under their car and got tangled in the undercarriage, they drove for 13 km, trying to dislodge it. The postmortem report said she died due to impact injuries. She had suffered a fatal head fracture and the skin had peeled off parts of her body, leaving bones exposed.

The police, who were out in strength since evening, which was New Year's eve, did not respond despite calls alerting them to the situation.

The ministry had ordered a probe amid massive public outrage. Senior police officer Shalini Singh, who led the investigation, has found negligence on part of three PCR vans and two police pickets.

A day after the ministry's order came, the Delhi Police suspended 11 personnel -- two sub-inspectors, four assistant sub-inspectors, four head constables, and one constable. Six of them were posted on PCR duty and five were manning the pickets.

The police have arrested seven people in the case – the five occupants of the car shortly after the incident, and two others later for abetment.

The police say they have established through CCTV footage that the men were completely aware that the woman was stuck under their car. They got off the car two minutes after the accident and saw the woman's body tangled in the undercarriage. But instead of helping her, they tried to shake off the body by driving fast and taking multiple U-turns.

They were earlier charged with "culpable homicide not amounting to murder", rash driving, and causing death by negligence.

NDTV