Super Bowl 2018: Philadelphia Eagles triumph over New England Patriots (41-33)

Romali_rotti

Been waiting for my Eagles to win the Superbowl for over 35 years, I Hope we can finally win it in the rematch with Pats.

Any Eagle fans here ?? Halor at me..

FLY EAGLES FLY

Gotham Cromie where are you at ??

Dont follow NFL as much now but Eagles in the Super Bowl!

Never thought I would see it...

Wish it had been an All-Pennsylvania super bowl with Steelers in it.

Though not a big fan of either team, I think at 40 years old, I might...just might be able to bet against Tom Brady. But then again, it's Tom Brady, so you never know.

Sad to see the Jags miss out.

Really hope the Eagles can win this, it’ll be a great sight. Imagine if they had Wentz!

Hope the Eagles win but Brady has ice in his veins.

Even the #1 defense couldn't break him.

So Excited,I am thinking of flying to Minneapolis to watch the game live if I can get tickets. An Eagles win means more to me than any Indian win, any SRT 100 or anything over any other sport..

FLY EAGLES FLY, come on boys, bring it home.............

So Excited,I am thinking of flying to Minneapolis to watch the game live if I can get tickets. An Eagles win means more to me than any Indian win, any SRT 100 or anything over any other sport..

wow. really? surprising!

I lived a lot of my life in Philadelphia :angel:.. I am as hard core Eagles fan as the best of them..

Nice. Ive lived around Philly as well but I took a liking to the Steelers.

Only started following when I went to college in PA so certainly not hardcore by any means.

Nice. Ive lived around Philly as well but I took a liking to the Steelers.

Only started following when I went to college in PA so certainly not hardcore by any means.

Ohh wow, good to know :)... My love for the Eagles started when I first watched Randall Cunningham in 1986 I believe... Hope you going to be supporting the Eagles, they are reping Pennsylvania afterall :)

Been waiting for my Eagles to win the Superbowl for over 35 years, I Hope we can finally win it in the rematch with Pats.

Any Eagle fans here ?? Halor at me..

FLY EAGLES FLY

Gotham Cromie where are you at ??

Me too I really hope Phiilies win it this year. I've been waiting for so long, and thought we were close during Mcnab era. I've moved to St. Louis but I'll always be a philly fan at heart.

Eagles were close in Mcnabb era but Andy Reid wasted most of Mcnabb's years by giving him terrible WRs, he only had TO for one season. Kinda like SRT not having a world class fast bowler for almost all his career.... This is it bro, we have to win it, whatever it takes, get in Brady's face, hit him, do anything to get the trophy in the Eagles nest...

I know I'm going to cry like a baby if Philly looses. Fly eagles fly...

Patriots have won so many I just can't stand them winning. But deep down I have a feeling that the patriot experience will win them this and not having Carson wentz will play a big factor here.

[MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION] - congrats brother. One game away from the ultimate dream.

I drove up to Philly last night after the game last night and the scenes were amazing.

Kinda bummed at the Vikings not making it. My home team are the Lions and I hate them...seeing someone from our division in the superbowl would've been fun to rub in to the Lions fans.

[MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION] - congrats brother. One game away from the ultimate dream.

I drove up to Philly last night after the game last night and the scenes were amazing.

Thanks bro and congrats to you 2, Birds one game away. I wouldve killed to be in Philly right now, I might just make that trip to Minneapolis, checked ticket prices, going anywhere between $10 to $15 K per ticket :O...

I hope we win this, Billicheck cannot cheat or spy gate this time :P

Your OCI is here by rescinded.

:sachin

Aye SnakeEyes.. Never knew I live in the same city as you.. May be we should meet sometime. Been a big fan of yours!

Though not a big fan of either team, I think at 40 years old, I might...just might be able to bet against Tom Brady. But then again, it's Tom Brady, so you never know.

If you have a wife like Gisele Bundchen you'll always feel young :))

Eagles fans and the rest of America should hope for a close game at most...Brady is unstoppable

GO PATRIOTS

I absolutely dont see Eagle’s defence stopping the monster that Brady is.

Back to Back superbowl wins for NE Patriots.

The SuperBowl 2018 Thread

Super Bowl 2018: Eagles vs. Patriots Box Score and Stats Predictions

The Philadelphia Eagles and New England Patriots will meet for the first time since December 6, 2015 at Super Bowl LII. During the last meeting, three touchdowns from the defense and special teams led the Eagles to their only victory against Patriots quarterback Tom Brady.

The four regular-season meetings and one Super Bowl showdown between the two teams have seen a wide array of participants enter into featured roles, with Brady being the lone constant figure.

For example, Nick Foles is the fifth Eagles quarterback Brady will face. Donovan McNabb, A.J. Feeley, Vince Young and Sam Bradford are the others.

When putting together a statistical projection for Super Bowl LII, it's hard to find players other than Brady with familiarity against their opponent, and only a handful of key contributions from the 2015 meeting at Gillette Stadium remain on both rosters.

Based off the head-to-head totals that are available, playoff production and recent performances, we took a shot at predicting what Sunday's box score may look like.

Passing Stats

Nick Foles: 20-of-37, 275 yards, 2 TD

Foles entered the postseason with a wide range of criticism directed at him for his last two regular-season performances against the Oakland Raiders and Dallas Cowboys, but he's responded in a way few expected.

The Eagles quarterback threw for 246 yards in the divisional-round victory over the Atlanta Falcons and put on a show in the NFC Championship Game, as he totaled 352 yards in the air and three touchdowns.

It's not likely that Foles replicates his marvelous showing from two weeks ago in the Super Bowl, but head coach Doug Pederson will set him up with a game plan that allows him to succeed and outgain Brady.

Tom Brady: 21-of-32, 260 yards, 3 TD

Brady might not throw for more yards than Foles, but he'll have the more efficient day in the pocket and throw for one more touchdown, a pass that should secure New England's sixth Super Bowl win.

In five games against the Eagles, including Super Bowl XXXIX, Brady has thrown for 12 touchdowns and two interceptions. One of the picks was turned into a 99-yard interception return for a touchdown by Eagles safety Malcolm Jenkins in 2015.

Look for Brady to find tight end Rob Gronkowski early in the game as he tries to develop a rhythm with the large target, who told reporters on Tuesday he should be cleared from the concussion protocol on Wednesday, per ESPN's Mike Reiss.

In addition to Gronkowski, Brady may look to occupy the Eagles linebackers by finding running back James White on short routes. White has a pair of 100-yard receiving games in his career, one in Super Bowl LI and the other in the 2015 meeting with the Eagles.

Rushing Stats

Eagles

Jay Ajayi: 15 carries, 70 yards

LeGarrette Blount: 7 carries, 24 yards

Jay Ajayi played the Patriots on three occasions with the Miami Dolphins and totaled 75 yards on 28 carries.

The struggles of the current Eagles running back against the New England defense will end on Sunday, as he plays a major role in the offense by producing a few thunderous runs of over 10 yards.

LeGarrette Blount, who won the Super Bowl with the Patriots a year ago, will be relied upon in short-yardage situations and in the red zone, but he won't be able to score against his former employer.

Patriots

Dion Lewis: 12 carries, 55 yards

James White: 9 carries, 34 yards

No one knows what to expect from the New England running backs given how large a role Brady is expected to play in the passing game.

If Brady finds success early through the air, the Patriots may stick to that game plan and avoid taking him out of a rhythm by feeding the ball to running backs Dion Lewis and White.

Conversely, the Patriots could use the run to set up the pass and then turn to it on occasion to keep the Eagles defense honest.

Either way, don't expect Lewis and White to make their mark on the contest on the ground. Their biggest impact could come in the passing game, especially White.

Receiving Stats

Eagles

Zach Ertz: 6 receptions, 76 yards, TD

Alshon Jeffery: 5 receptions, 68 yards, TD

Torrey Smith: 4 receptions, 55 yards

Nelson Agholor: 3 receptions, 45 yards

Corey Clement: 2 receptions, 31 yards

Tight end Zach Ertz and No. 1 wide receiver Alshon Jeffery should be targeted by Foles a good amount, but his first main target will be wide receiver Torrey Smith, who has Super Bowl experience from his time with the Baltimore Ravens.

The Eagles haven't shied away from launching a deep ball in the direction of Smith to start a game, which is why we think Smith will easily eclipse the two receptions and 35 yards he earned in Super Bowl XLVII.

Ertz and Jeffrey will be called upon in the red zone to make touchdown catches, and Foles will turn to both of them for a few key third-down conversions.

Look for wide receiver Nelson Agholor to be a weapon in the slot if Jeffrey and Smith are occupied, and don't be surprised if running back Corey Clement gets involved, especially when the Eagles are in need of yards on third down. Six of Clement's 16 receptions in 2017 have come on third down, as have both of his receiving touchdowns.

Patriots

Danny Amendola: 8 receptions, 97 yards, TD

Rob Gronkowski: 4 receptions, 85 yards, TD

James White: 6 receptions, 60 yards, TD

Brandin Cooks: 3 receptions, 18 yards

It comes as no surprise that wide receiver Danny Amendola and Gronkowski will be Brady's top targets on Sunday.

Amendola has 18 receptions for 196 yards and two touchdowns this postseason, and he was thrown to on 11 occasions in Super Bowl LI.

The former Eagles practice squad player should occupy defensive backs alongside wide receiver Brandin Cooks, while Gronkowski uses his size to create a mismatch across the middle.

Just like he was a year ago, White will be a vital asset on underneath routes, but this year he'll benefit from the space Gronkowski opens up.

With Amendola and Gronkowski receiving most of the targets, Cooks may be forced to play a diminished role as he takes on an extra defender with the Eagles trying to prevent the deep threat of the former New Orleans player.

Score After Each Quarter

1st Quarter: Eagles 3, Patriots 3

2nd Quarter: Eagles 10, Patriots 3

3rd Quarter: Eagles 17, Patriots 16

Final: Patriots 23, Eagles 17

We know we sound far from original by stating Brady will lead a fourth-quarter comeback to win the Super Bowl, but that's what we're going with.

The Eagles will play stingy defense in the first half, which will force head coach Bill Belichick and offensive coordinator Josh McDaniels to make halftime adjustments.

Foles will play well enough for three quarters to keep the Eagles in the contest, but once Brady pulls the Patriots into the lead in the middle of the fourth quarter, the five-time champion won't let go of the advantage.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/...s-vs-patriots-box-score-and-stats-predictions

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/6BTRW1VpGuA" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

FLY EAGLES FLY, its getting closee.... Come on boys bring it home..

From Stallone's instagram account.. Greatest Eagles fan of all time :)

• rocky-eagles-vs-drago-patriots.jpg
    rocky-eagles-vs-drago-patriots.jpg
    125.8 KB · Views: 287
Another one from Sly's instagram :::

• SLY SUPERBOWL.jpg
    SLY SUPERBOWL.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 282
What makes patriots GOAT nfl team? Is it cultural? Or is it all Brady ?

One more reason I'm happy I no longer live in the Minneapolis suburbs.

Not long to go, excitement and anxiety is killing me. I have so much goosebumps I no longer look HUMAN... Come on Eagles, bring it home, FLY_EAGLES_FLY

Can somebody explain how this sport works?

How many times can one team's players be brought down/tackled before the other team gets the ball?

Can somebody explain how this sport works?

How many times can one team's players be brought down/tackled before the other team gets the ball?

Each team has 4 tries to advance 10 yards. If they are unable to advance 10 yards the other team gets possession. If one of their passes is intercepted by the other team and cleanly caught the opposition gets possession. If the quarter-back is pick-pocketted while in the process of passing, the other team gets possession.

Let's assume a team fails to cross 10 yards on the first 2 tries, but crosses 10 yards on the third attempt, are their tries refreshed(?) or something?

Yes... so it becomes 1st down again (down = try)

Got it. Thanks :)

Typically what happens if the team is unable to do the 10 yards in 3 tries, they just kick it forward on the 4 down. That way when the opposition defense catches it they can tackle them and opposition has to start their offense from deep into their own half.

Obviously that didn't happen right now :ibutt

But they failed to make the pass so the opposition is going to start from where they failed to advance

Patriots are playing like garbage again in the 1st half.

Just like last year ;)

Bye bye patriots.... unless they do something like last year

Must score a touchdown on the drive - cannnot mess it up again.

Bhai kya baqwas khel raha hai Brady.... retire hoja :danish

Touchdown.... the previous long pass made this

Patriots are as annoying as Aussie team of the 2000s ,hoping they lose but they are coming back to win it,brady is going to be a Demi god

It’s called greatness!

James White has now scored 4 career Super Bowl touchdowns, tied for 3rd-most all-time. Only Jerry Rice (8) and Emmitt Smith (5) have more.

- ES

People talk about advertisements in IPL but lmao at this,NFL is probably the darling of advertisers.

That was nicely done.... just when you think Pats are making a comeback. Too much to do for Pats now, me thinks.