Suresh Raina retires from all formats of Cricket

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Suresh Raina has returned to India for personal reasons and will be unavailable for the remainder of the IPL season. Chennai Super Kings offers complete support to Suresh and his family during this time.<br><br>KS Viswanathan<br>CEO</p>— Chennai Super Kings (@ChennaiIPL) <a href="https://twitter.com/ChennaiIPL/status/1299582504886775808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Apparently his family pressurized him not to play in the Ipl

Any source for this news?

Suresh Raina's uncle killed, bua critical after midnight attack in Pathankot; no clue of attackers yet

New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Former Indian cricketer Suresh Raina's relative is in critical condition while his uncle has died following a midnight attack in their Pathankot's Thariyal village. The attack took place on the night of August 19 when the family was sleeping on the terrace of their house. The unidentified assailants attacked them with lethal weapons when they were in their sleep.

It is being said that Asha Devi, sister of Raina's father is fighting for her life in the hospital, while his uncle, identified as 58-year-old Ashok Kumar died in the attack. His cousins - 32-year-old Kaushal Kumar and 24-year-old Apin Kumar also sustained injuries in the attack. Deceased Ashok Kumar's 80-year-old mother also sustained serious injuries in the attack.

Meanwhile, the police have paced their investigation after getting to know that the victims are the close relatives of Suresh Raina. A team of police and forensic experts have collected evidence from the spot. The police also took help from the dog squad to identify the attackers but failed to get any clue.

https://english.jagran.com/india/su...n-pathankot-no-clue-of-attackers-yet-10015930

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) all-rounder Suresh Raina headed back to India on Saturday, August 28, due to personal reasons. As he is set to miss the entire IPL 2020 edition, in the UAE, many have been speculating the reason for his sudden departure back to India.

As reported by jagran.com, Raina's relative is in critical condition while his uncle has died after a midnight attack in their Pathankot's Thariyal village. Reportedly, the attack occurred on the night of August 19 when the family was sleeping on the terrace of their residence. Just then, the unidentified assailants attacked them with lethal weapons.

It is believed that Asha Devi, sister of Raina's father, is in critical condition and fighting hard for survival. On the other hand, his uncle, identified as 58-year-old Ashok Kumar, succumbed to death. The former Indian cricketer's cousins - 32-year-old Kaushal Kumar and 24-year-old Apin Kumar have also attained injuries during the violent attack.

Earlier, CSK CEO KS Viswanathan was quoted as saying in the tweet posted by the franchise, "Suresh Raina has returned to India for personal reasons and will be unavailable for the remainder of the IPL season. Chennai Super Kings offers complete support to Suresh and his family during this time."

While the cricketer himself is yet to give an official statement in this regard, his absence is another huge blow to the MS Dhoni-led Yellow Army, who already have plenty of members to have tested positive for the novel coronavirus.

Thus, it has another big concern to find Raina's replacement. Considering the COVID-19 pandemic is still ruling the roost worldwide, it won't be a cakewalk for the franchise bosses to find a suitable replacement in time.

The three-time champions were to kick-off the IPL with the season opener against Mumbai Indians as per the original schedule. However, the Indian board might now have to rework the opening week of the upcoming tournament due to the alarming situation in the CSK dugout.

https://www.timesnownews.com/amp/sp...ntified-assailants-in-pathankot-report/644619

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/tv/CEeBAo-gf1O/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="12" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/tv/CEeBAo-gf1O/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;"> View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div></a> <p style=" margin:8px 0 0 0; padding:0 4px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/tv/CEeBAo-gf1O/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#000; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none; word-wrap:break-word;" target="_blank">@sureshraina3 - you and your family are in my thoughts. You will be dearly missed here [MENTION=129722]chenna[/MENTION]iipl. You have always been the heartbeat of the team so we will be doing everything we can to make you proud. Take care mate and stay safe.</a></p> <p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;">A post shared by <a href="https://www.instagram.com/srwatson33/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px;" target="_blank"> Shane Watson</a> (@srwatson33) on <time style=" font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px;" datetime="2020-08-29T10:02:43+00:00">Aug 29, 2020 at 3:02am PDT</time></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

Apart from the personal tragedy, according to reports, he was unhappy with the bio secure bubble and had under estimated the impact of the isolation and he wanted out.

The Raina family, comprising eight members, found itself in a fix till it came to know of the Guru Gobind Singh Sports College in Lucknow.

The rest, as they say, is history.

“Papa was in the Army, my elder brother is also in the Army. Papa used to make bombs in an ordnance factory. He was a master at that,” Raina said of his father on The Slow Interview by Neelesh Misra.

“He looked after the families of soldiers who had died. His was a very emotional work. This was tough, making sure that the money orders went and they received all the government benefits that they were eligible for, Raina, nickname Sonu, said.”

Looking to provide a safe environment to his family, Trilokchand had left everything in Rainawari in Jammu and Kashmir following the killings of Kashmir Pandits in the 1990s.

But, having settled down in UP’s Muradnagar, life was far from easy for the Raina family.

Suresh Raina has 5615 runs from 226 ODIs and 1605 from 78 T20Is for India. (Source: File)
“It always felt that his principle in life was if you live — live for others. If you only live for yourself — that’s no living,” said Raina.

“I used to play and there was no money then. Papa earned ten thousand rupees. We were five brothers and one sister. Then I came for trial in the Guru Gobind Singh Sports College in Lucknow in 1998. We could not manage 10000 at that time.”

“The fee was Rs 5000 for a year so papa said this he could afford. I did not want anything, I said let me play and study.”

Raina says he is always wary of saying anything that would remind his father about the tragedy in Kashmir.

“There are certain things that my father doesn’t want to remember, what happened with Kashmiri brahmins. So papa thought it better to take his family to a safe environment, that was one of the toughest decisions that papa made.”

“He had a house there and his brothers. It was a wise decision, he had four sons and then I was born.”

READ | You are way too young: PM Modi to Suresh Raina

And even though he had been to Kashmir in recent years, Raina did not disclose it to his family, especially his father.

“I have been two to three times to the LOC. I went with Mahi bhai, we have quite a few friends who are commandos. So, whenever there were shows I wouldn’t tell him. I was afraid… afraid that he might relive it in his mind.”

“And that he would worry that something would happen to me because he had seen the dangers there himself.”

Moving to cricket, Raina recalled an advice Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni gave them as they began preparations for the 2011 World Cup — not share any national team tactics with their IPL teammates from abroad.

“Dhoni started this, Sachin Tendulkar also said don’t reveal anything to anyone, because the World Cup was coming up.

This started in 2008-09. In 2008, we won the tri-nation series in Australia. In 2009, we won in New Zealand. In 2010 we won in Sri Lanka. And then the World Cup.”

Rahul Dravid had presented Suresh Raina with the ODI and Test caps. (Source: File Photo)
He was full of praise for batting great Rahul Dravid, saying his contribution to Indian cricket is second to none.

“Rahul Dravid contributed a lot to Indian cricket’s winning run from 2008 to 2011. He was a very strong leader and he was very disciplined.

“He does his work and doesn’t care about the fruits, but I do feel that the fruits that the Indian team got were because of his hard work. That’s a very good definition of him.”

As far as his mentor Dhoni is concerned, Raina said what set the just-retired two-time World Cup-winning captain apart was his honesty and selfless attitude.

“He is a very big captain. And he is a very good friend. And what he has achieved in the game I think he is the world’s number one captain. He is also the world’s best human being. Because he is very down to earth.

“His deeds are good. I have spent millions of days with him, travelling, playing he is very honest with his team. His honesty shows in his game. When he plays for the country, he always has his 10 men ahead and he stays behind. He is selfless.”
Raina followed Dhoni into international retirement, with both deciding to call it quits on the same day.

Raina added, “Dhoni ensured that the players don’t get distracted by all the fame and money. He sat with the team, discussed our performance, us how to stay humble, he became a big brand.

“But he showed us how to do our work and perform. I could tell from his eyes that its two runs.”

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...-to-suresh-raina-recognition-journey-6576344/

Apart from the personal tragedy, according to reports, he was unhappy with the bio secure bubble and had under estimated the impact of the isolation and he wanted out.

He reportedly had a a fight with dhoni over hotel rooms. CSK owner Srinivasan seems to be pretty upset with him

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...-prima-donna/359569?__twitter_impression=true

Cricketers are like prima donnas ... like the temperamental actors of the olden days. Chennai Super Kings have always been like a family and all seniors players have learnt to co-exist," said Srinivasan.

Srinivasan said the team was quickly trying to get over the Raina episode.

"My thinking is that if you are reluctant or not happy, go back. I don't force anyone to do anything ... sometimes success gets into your head," Srinivasan said.

If the room story is true it really makes him look bad

Raina will realise what he’s going to lose, his absence won’t impact CSK, says Srinivasan

“The season has not begun yet and Raina will certainly realise what he is missing and certainly all the money he is going to lose,” Srinivasan, a former BCCI and International Cricket Council chief, was quoted as saying.

CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan had confirmed on Friday that Raina had left the team and flown back to India due to “personal reasons”. While the cricketer hasn’t commented on the reasons for his exit from IPL 2020, it has been learnt that a tragedy in his family may have played a part in his decision.

thats such a surprising statement he gave, he just had death in his family

“The season has not begun yet and Raina will certainly realise what he is missing and certainly all the money he is going to lose,” Srinivasan, a former BCCI and International Cricket Council chief, was quoted as saying.

CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan had confirmed on Friday that Raina had left the team and flown back to India due to “personal reasons”. While the cricketer hasn’t commented on the reasons for his exit from IPL 2020, it has been learnt that a tragedy in his family may have played a part in his decision.
Really strong words from Srini! He knows more about the situation than all of us and hence his peeve with Raina should be viewed in that context.

Chennai Super Kings star Suresh Raina returned to India on August 29, with franchise CEO KS Viswanathan saying that the left-hander had left the United Arab Emirates (UAE) due to "personal reasons". Viswanathan, in a tweet posted on the team's official Twitter handle, had also said that Raina would be unavailable for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 season. However, a report has claimed that Raina was unhappy with the hotel room he was assigned and wanted accommodation similar to that of CSK captain MS Dhoni.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2020/su...-linked-to-row-over-hotel-room-report-2287808

Raina has been trying too hard to present himself as some kind of an Indian ATG which he definitely is not. Retiring on the same day as Dhoni and now demanding a room like him lol. What a despo. :inti

What is wrong if a CSK legend (no less than Dhoni) asks for a better room to deal with his covid-19 related anxieties. All teams give preferential treatment to their senior players with the captain getting the best of facilities.

For the CSK owner to come out and bash his 2nd best player, who has given 12 years to the franchise, winning them multiple trophies, only shows Srini in bad light. In fact, Srini as the owner of the team should have ensured each and ever player got a better room and facilities. Imagine being forced to spend 10-12 weeks in small hotel rooms with covid cases all around you in the so called bio-secure bubble.

Suresh Raina, in the headlines after his abrupt return home from the United Arab Emirates (UAE) ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020, stated that Chennai Super Kings (CSK) boss N. Srinivasan was like a father figure to him while CSK was family. Any stories about a fallout about the hotel room in the UAE were “fabricated” and “anyone who knows me, knows that these are all stories planted by people who don't want me or CSK to succeed," Suresh Raina told NDTV. He also stated that the team was doing a “commendable" job in handling the COVID-19 situation.

Following is the full interview:

Q: There are various reasons for your exit - could you please clear the air?

Suresh Raina: It was a personal decision and I had to come back for my family. There was something that needed to be addressed immediately at the home front and CSK is my family too and Mahi bhai is most important to me and this was a tough decision but with the family back home, I had to come back for them.

Q: What do you make of the way Srinivasan has reacted to your exit?

Suresh Raina: He is like a father figure for me and he's always stood by me and is close to my heart, he treats me like his younger son and am sure a lot is taken out of context. He didn't know the reason earlier and its all settled.

Q: Was there a fallout with the team over the hotel room?

Suresh Raina: These are all fabricated stories and anyone who knows me, knows that these are all stories planted by people who don't want me or CSK to succeed.

Q: Were you worried about the COVID situation in the team?

Suresh Raina: The team management and BCCI are doing a very commendable job keeping everyone safe. This has never been done before and its new for everyone so every day is a new. It's a highly secure environment and no one without access can move anywhere. We were all inside our rooms with no human interaction and there was a test every two days. This is a very deadly disease and even after so many precautions if staff gets infected it just says how bad it can be and it can happen to anyone.

Q: Given the way the CSK owners have reacted, will you go back to CSK again?

Suresh Raina: CSK is family for me, its like home. A lot of what was said was taken out of context and Sreeni sir is like a father figure to me. He treats me like his own and when he got to know why I had to leave he understood the reason.

Q. Will you play IPL this season?

Suresh Raina: You never know, you might see me in the camp again. First, I have to take care of my responsibilities here and then am ready.

Q: Is the family satisfied after (Punjab Chief Minister) Capt Amarinder's assurances?

Suresh Raina: He's assured us that he's looking into the case and there will be a positive outcome soon. We are really thankful for his support in this tragic situation.

Q: Did you get emotional when MSD retired and decided to call time on your India career as well?

Suresh Raina: Mahi bhai is a like a brother to me. We have played together for 14-15 years now and the time that we spent cannot be measured. It was a very emotional time when we decided to retire from international cricket.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2020/fa...to-ndtv-on-ipl-hotel-room-controversy-2289256

Raina has been trying too hard to present himself as some kind of an Indian ATG which he definitely is not. Retiring on the same day as Dhoni and now demanding a room like him lol. What a despo. :inti

Why do you say so, brother ?

Chennai Super Kings batsman Suresh Raina wants to bring an end to the controversy that has sprung up in the past few days since he decided to leave the CSK camp in the UAE to return home. Raina, due to personal reasons, left the camp last week, a decision which reportedly did not initially go down too well with owner N Srinivasan.

On being asked about some of the remarks made by Srinivasan in the media regarding his departure, Raina said that a father can scold his son, but also added that he is sure Srinivasan’s words were taken out of context.

“He is like a father figure to me and he’s always stood by me and is close to my heart. He treats me like his younger son and I am sure a lot of what he said was taken out of context,” Raina told Cricbuzz.

“Ek baap apne bacche ko daant sakta hai(A father can scold his son). He didn’t know the real reasons for me leaving when he gave those comments,” Raina further revealed.

“Now he’s been informed about them and he even sent me a message thereafter. We’ve chatted about it and both CSK and I just want to get over with it,” the batsman further added.

Speaking on the reasons for pulling out of the tournament, Raina said: “It was a personal decision and I had to come back for my family. There was something that needed to be addressed immediately on the home front. CSK is my family too and Mahi bhai (MS Dhoni) is very important to me and this was a tough decision.

“There is no issue between CSK and me. Nobody will just turn their back on Rs 12.5 crore and walk away without a solid reason. I might have retired from international cricket but I’m still young and I am looking forward to playing for them in the IPL for the next 4-5 years,” he added.

The three-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings will look to win their fourth IPL title this year when the tournament kicks off from September 19th.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...n-s-remarks/story-OlyMGJv1jTyxcMCasp9ZVP.html

Former Australian cricketer Dean Jones reckons Suresh Raina’s absence from the IPL would be a major concern for three-time champions Chennai Super Kings, who open their campaign against holders Mumbai Indians on September 19.

Both Raina and senior CSK spinner Harbhajan Singh have pulled out of IPL due to personal reasons.

“Raina’s absence is a major concern this time and he is in the top 5 run getters in IPL. He is a left hander and plays spin very well and the weakness for CSK could be that majority of their players are right handed,” Jones told Star Sports.

Jones feels the team needs a like for like replacement for left-handed Raina. “They need some left handers or they could get stuck and particularly, if they are playing to leg-spinners and the ball is going away. So, whether to go with Sam Curran or Jadeja and Bravo or Tahir.

“Watson and Dhoni haven’t batted for long. Raina and Harbhajan have gone home as well, so it is up to Fleming and Dhoni, how they gel the team together,” he added.

All eyes will be on Dhoni, who comes into the IPL having retired from international cricket last month. He has not played a competitive game since India’s Word cup semifinal loss to New Zealand in July last year.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...s-absence-a-major-concern-for-csk-dean-jones/

Veteran Indian cricketer Suresh Raina on Saturday wished good luck to his team Chennai Super Kings ahead of the IPL 2020 season opener against defending champion Mumbai Indians at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Raina will not be part of the entire 13th edition of the tournament as he had opted out citing "personal reasons". He was part of the CSK pre-season training session at the Chepauk and had travelled with the team to Dubai as well before returning back to India.

"Wishing you all the success boys [MENTION=129722]chenna[/MENTION]iIPL. Unimaginable for me that I’m not there today, but all my wishes are with you. Sending you all the good vibes! Go get it! #WhistlePodu," tweeted Raina.

Raina's absence might hurt Chennai Super Kings' cause in the UAE owing the lack of left-handed batting option in the batting lineup. While most have opined in promoting either all-rounder Sam Curran or Ravindra Jadeja to No.3 with both being left-handed batsmen, Raina feels that captain MS Dhoni shpuld replace him in the batting lineup.

In conversation with Outlook earlier this month, Raina justified his point by recalling the captain's impressive 148-run knock in 2005 against Pakistan at home.

"He has the experience to bat at that position. How can one forget Dhoni's 148 against Pakistan in the second ODI at Visakhapatnam in April 2005," said Raina.

The former Indian cricketer also reckons that Dhoni has the ability to "win a match single-handedly and can change the course of a match anytime."

"It's a very crucial position and the No. 3 position will give Dhoni more flexibility," said Raina.

https://www.indiatvnews.com/sports/...nnai-super-kings-mumbai-indians-opener-650644

Suresh Raina adopts 34 school to ensure the health of over 10,000 pupils. Heartwarming gesture from chinna thala.

He is going to build Sanitation, drinking facilities in 34 government schools as he is celebrating his 34th birthday on November 27th. Nice gesture from Raina.

Suresh Raina cricket Academy to develop cricketers from Jammu & Kashmir for national and international with training facilities at highest level. Well done, Suresh Raina.

One of the most decorated cricketers in the country, former international Suresh Raina found himself in trouble on Tuesday for having breached COVID protocols while in Mumbai. Raina was booked under 188, 269, 34 of the Indian Penal Code (IPC). Soon, the two-time World Cup-champion was released on bail.

In a statement issued by his managing team, it states that the cricketer was in Mumbai for a shoot and was then invited by a friend for a ‘quick dinner’. He was unaware of the protocols in place and once informed – like a good citizen – he complied with them.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...eters-arrest-in-mumbai-night-club-raid-962453

Indian skipper Virat Kohli’s decision to put family first has drawn immense criticism from the cricket fans. He returned home on paternity leave after leading the Indian side in pink-ball Test where the tourists experienced their worst-ever batting collapse.

The Adelaide horror fuelled the backlash as the fans opined that Kohli left the team when it needed him the most. But like several cricket experts, former Indian all-rounder Suresh Raina backed the Kohli for deciding to be with his family.

Raina, who pulled out from the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League citing personal reasons, told the Times of India that a person should be with his family when they need him the most. Appreciating Kohli’s move, he said, “It should be his personal decision. She (Anushka Sharma) is his wife. I did the same thing when my daughter was born.”

“The game is with you today but might not be tomorrow. It’s the family that will stay with you. When your family, your wife need you most, you need to be there, no matter what. Virat is doing a fantastic job by being there and looking after his wife,” he added.

Raina further stated that staying away from family during tough times like coronavirus pandemic also affects a cricketer’s game. Thinking about the well-being of his loved ones keeps bothering a player and as a result, he is unable to focus on the game.

“In this pandemic, you need to be there for your family. If your mind is worried about them, you can’t play. He [Virat Kohli] has given so much to the country and he deserves this,” Raina further said.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On this day in 2010, Suresh Raina became the first Indian player to smash a T20I hundred &#55357;&#56613;<br><br>He scored a spectacular 60-ball 101 in the 2010 <a href="https://twitter.com/T20WorldCup?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@T20WorldCup</a> against South Africa. <a href="https://t.co/xpxhcxXWMt">pic.twitter.com/xpxhcxXWMt</a></p>— ICC (@ICC) <a href="https://twitter.com/ICC/status/1388765361449971716?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It has been an absolute honour to represent my country & state UP. I would like to announce my retirement from all formats of Cricket. I would like to thank <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@BCCI</a>, <a href="https://twitter.com/UPCACricket?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@UPCACricket</a>, <a href="https://twitter.com/ChennaiIPL?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ChennaiIPL</a>, <a href="https://twitter.com/ShuklaRajiv?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ShuklaRajiv</a> sir & all my fans for their support and unwavering faith in my abilities 🇮🇳</p>— Suresh Raina🇮🇳 (@ImRaina) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImRaina/status/1567041995608309761?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Suresh Raina, who has not been picked by the franchise at the Indian Premier League (IPL) mega auction, earlier this year will ply his trade in the different T20 leagues across the globe.

On Tuesday, he made the announcement on Twitter by saying, “It has been an absolute honour to represent my country & state UP. I would like to announce my retirement from all formats of Cricket.” The southpaw has decided to bid adieu to the IPL and will play in T20 leagues in South Africa, Sri Lanka and UAE. Raina will not play for Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming domestic season.

Earlier, Raina was quoted by news daily Dainik Jagran saying, “I want to continue playing cricket for two or three years. There are some exciting youngsters who are coming through the ranks of Uttar Pradesh cricket. I have already taken my No Objection Certificate (NOC) from the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA). I have informed BCCI secretary Jay Shah and vice-president Rajiv Shukla about my decision.”

The former India batter Suresh Raina will play in the Road Safety World Series, starting from September 10.

“I will play in the Road Safety Series. T20 franchises from South Africa, Sri Lanka and UAE have contacted me but I am yet to take any decision,” said Raina, who has been training at the RPL cricket ground in Ghaziabad for the past one year.

Raina had announced his retirement from international cricket less than one hour after MS Dhoni announced his on August 15, 2020. Raina was part of the 2011 World Cup-winning team under Dhoni.

Raina represented India in 18 Tests, 226 ODIs and 78 T20Is in an international career spanning 13 years. He also had the honour of captaining the team briefly. Raina mustered 5615 runs from 226 ODIs and 1605 from 78 T20Is for India. Raina, who scored a century on debut in Tests, is also the first Indian to slam hundreds in all three formats of the game and his centuries were scored outside India.

Raina, who has been the backbone of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) for 12 years, is the fourth-highest run-scorer in IPL history with 5,528 runs from 205 games. For CSK only, he has registered 4,687 runs.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...es-in-south-africa-sri-lanka-and-uae-8133566/

Also - Raina, along with Yuvraj and maybe Sehwag should be suspected of age fudging. You don't decline like that in your late-20s/early-30s unless you were 22 pretending to be 19.

Yuvraj looks his age. Blame the cancer for the decline.

Was a pretty dangerous batter. A very good fielder and a reliable part timer. Don't really remember when he got dropped from the side.

Yuvraj looks his age. Blame the cancer for the decline.

Yeah actually I'll go easy on Yuvraj. Among other things he is the son of a former cricketer Yograj Singh so his year of birth would have been documented properly.

"Gangsters Killed Entire Family": Suresh Raina On Sudden IPL 2020 Season Withdrawal​

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) legend Suresh Raina has opened up on the much-talked-about controversy surrounding his withdrawal from the IPL 2020 season in the UAE. Amid the Coronavirus pandemic, Raina had travelled to the country with the rest of the players but pulled out before the start of the season, citing personal reasons and COVID-19 bio-bubble arrangements. There were different theories regarding Raina's decision to pull out. One such rumour claimed that Raina left the bio-bubble after he was denied a hotel room with a balcony.

Addressing the rumours, Raina revealed that he pulled out of the tournament to spent time with his father and close ones after his relatives were killed in Punjab.

"There was bereavement in the family, I went to Punjab. In my uncle's family, there were deaths. The kaccha gang..who come with oil on their body. A group of gangsters killed the entire family, my grandmother was also there. It happened in Pathankot. So I went there. But there was a bio-bubble in the IPL, where you couldn't return. My father was very upset. When the Kachche gang did what they did, my entire family was in stress. I thought cricket came next, I could play anytime, first, my family was important," Raina said during an interaction on Lallantop.

Raina further revealed that the situation back home was chaotic and the ongoing pandemic made the situation even worse.

"Yes, I told this to MS Dhoni and the team management. Family comes first. Then I returned, we played the 2021 season. We won the trophy. But the previous year, the family was in chaos. They were all in depression already due to Covid-19 and then this happened. I thought I should go home and be with my family," he added

After missing the 2020 season, Raina returned to CSK the next year and helped them win the title.

It turned out to be his last season as later that year, he decided to announce his retirement from all formats of the game.