T20: Auckland -vs- Pakistan - 23rd December 2010 [Pak Lost - Review thread]

I wouldn't read too much into this game. Ground was nothing more than a glorified club facility, and Pakistan only just arrived after a very long flight. Auckland are a very good team, with current and ex internationals. Pakistan bowling was decent, just let down by the batsman. But that's 20/20 - luck of the draw is as important as skill and talent. Obviously, Pakistan should have beaten them, but I am not reading anything into this in preperation for the game on Sunday against NZ.

Positives - Shoaib, Riaz looked sharp and all bowlers got cob webs out of system. Umar played a few nice strokes. Team got a taste of local conditions (and everyone here at pakkpassion got a taste of local commentators :asif).

I still don't rate 20/20 cricket as highly as any other form. It's a great leveller which allows average players to luck it out and play well. The real indication of where Pakistan are at will be at the start of test series and through the ODI's. Still, will be nice to start tour off with some wins in the T20's, if only to get a psychological advantage.

true say..id say lou vincent is better than our entire team

nahi yaar!!

dont say that!!

inshallah 2-1 we win T20 and ODI 3-2 with one game being rained off..

inshallah!

yaar dil se main tumhare saath hoon. Lakin when you don't have a good leader this is what you will get. We need to replace Afridi if we have any chance of winning anything in ODI or T20

yaar, it's too late now to replace captain, we need afridi till after the w/c now. we need to support him and back him up, no matter what now...

for pakistan cricket we need to support afridi....

yaar, it's too late now to replace captain, we need afridi till after the w/c now. we need to support him and back him up, no matter what now...

for pakistan cricket we need to support afridi....

yaar I support Pakistan cricket and Afridi plays for himself in Pakistan cricket team. So I guess I will support him too

Come on support your team, what happened to supporting your team?
that used to be your mantra but not anymore

so our captaan made 4 balls one run and gave away 10 runs in 8 balls without a wicket. Good outing by his standard

Telling story when only 6 is hit by YK who most PPers want out of the T20.
Very poor batting performance to day the least.

bhai mere always supporting our team:) kasie ho, long time no see:)

welll its clear you want pakistan to lose so afridi can lose captaincy and stuff, so i dont think you support pakistan, infact you hope that pakistan rather lose so afridi can get out of the team, its very obvious

ab kiya kahoon main aap se, sach tou yeh hai ke I don't dislike Afridi that much.:) On the game day all I see is Pakistan X1 and my support for Pakistan is unconditional:)

I laughed when i saw the scorecard . Some new bacha named " Hira " got two wickets ! :)) Pathetic to say the least .

Much needed wake up call...oh wait my bad...we've had more than enough in the past year

Lol. again, its a warm up game. Pleyers barely try in these games, especislly pak players.

poor batting by Pak.

And very disappointing to see YK jump back in after just retiring on a high last year. YK should have stuck to his decision which was a good one and concentrated on ODIs and Tests.

Why are we going into a t20 game with 7 batsman? Why on earth is Fawad Alam and Abdur Rehman in the T20 squad?

Only the PCB selectors would be stupid enough to select ODI/Test specalists for a T20 game. Australia would never select someone like Katich to play T20's. Hence why he only has 3 games played in his entire career.

The sad thing is, people like Fawad are keeping out brilliant T20 specalists like Shoaib Malik and Imran Nazir. Real impact players who are equally as good (if not better) in the field.

I laughed when i saw the scorecard . Some new bacha named " Hira " got two wickets ! :)) Pathetic to say the least .

same here, i woke up just now, came and checked up the score and then my jaw DROPPED (worse than a kakmal drop :p ) and i just stared in dibelief at the scorecard and then apni qismat per, i burst our laughing!!

mashallah just saw the scorecard....auckland se har gaye

and whos this hira chick playing for auckland :)))

Lol @ posters who keep saying that it's good to lose the warm-up, this way we will do well bla bla. Of course it's only a warm-up but for a former World champion team, a national team, it's embarrasing to lose against Auckland.

You expect "star"players to perform in games like this where the opposition isn't that strong. People were laughing of Indians the other day and this collapse is actually more worrying as we still haven't faced the their premier bowlers.

Having said that, this should be a wake-up call for our captain/management that you can't take NZ too easy though they have struggled recently. They are after all playing home now...

Now I have released my anger and I'm ready to support the team on boxing day again :)

Why are we going into a t20 game with 7 batsman? Why on earth is Fawad Alam and Abdur Rehman in the T20 squad?

Only the PCB selectors would be stupid enough to select ODI/Test specalists for a T20 game. Australia would never select someone like Katich to play T20's. Hence why he only has 3 games played in his entire career.

The sad thing is, people like Fawad are keeping out brilliant T20 specalists like Shoaib Malik and Imran Nazir. Real impact players who are equally as good (if not better) in the field.

this is mystery

This is vintage Pak performance. Historically we have always lost all the side games only to go on and play well.

I wouldn't read to much into this..... Remember we have just come off playing well against SA so this result does make us a bad team overnight.

I fully expect asad shafiq to come in for fawad alam and abdur rehman to be dropped hopefully in the first t20.

Better to get the crap performances out of the way in tour games. Hopefully the batsmen will play alot better in actual series. The batting line up though does look pretty weak!

The bowlers bowled to many extras and hopefully that will be reduced during the series as well.

Good to see that i took wise decision to sleep and not to wake up whole night

Please people dont judge pak team performance based on this match... Which holds no value, its a mess about game!!!!

Atleast the coaches will pick up on the weaknesses that they witnessed from the Pakistani batsmen and hopefully improve on that before the first T20 game.

I'm glad Umar Akmal top scored - he's a player who highly relies on his confidence and being the top scorer for Pakistan will do him good for his confidence.

I know know PP'ers must not be looking forward to the tour now but here are some comments from Waqar which are very good points... or excuses as some fans would say:p...

Waqar after the game :-

"It wasn't the ideal start but that happens sometimes when you've just arrived in the country and you don't really know much about the pitch conditions," Waqar said. "I'm not really worried about it."

"The batting had been undergoing a good deal of work but the batsmen failed to click in the game and no-one had taken responsibility to anchor the effort."

I think they've learned the lesson and hopefully in the next game it will be a different ball game," Waqar said. "We have done badly today, and we have spoken about it. We have to work hard over the next couple of days so we don't repeat this type of performance."

I didnt expect anything more from our openers. I had a feeling Ahmed Shazad is gona get a big fat duck.
What do u expect when u keep on leaving the best T20 opener out of the side out from the format hes made for.
Leaving out Imran Nazir time and again from this format is a cardinal sin. :iamlegend

Pakistan lost T-20 practice match against Auckland Aces

AUCKLAND : Pakistan lost the practice match against Auckland Aces. Auckland Aces won the toss and put Pak to bat first.

The team could make only 91 runs. Auckland team achieve this target in 14th over easily with 5 wickets left.

Umer Gul remained top scorer with 19 runs while Younis Khan scored 18.:razzaq:razzaq:razzaq:razzaq