The Commonwealth Games, Birmingham (July 28 - August 8)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Excellent performance from Inayat Ullah who wins the Bronze medal for Pakistan in the Men's Freestyle 65kg Wrestling <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CommonwealthGames?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CommonwealthGames</a> <a href="https://t.co/UI8rNNiSui">pic.twitter.com/UI8rNNiSui</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1555593393278951430?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 5, 2022</a></blockquote>

Plenty of Indian fans in the wrestling stadium.

A few boos when the Pakistani wrestler came out.

Bajrang Poonia GOLD !!!

Legend - 3rd consicutive CWG GOLD as well as Olympic and Asian games medalist.

Indian Wrestlers on fire today.

One Gold and One Silver already..

Four more medal matches coming up today ( two final and two bronze medal match )

Sakshi Malik GOLD!!

CWG champion along with Olympic medalist.

Another Legend !!

India smashing it in the wrestling today.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Excellent performance from Inayat Ullah who wins the Bronze medal for Pakistan in the Men's Freestyle 65kg Wrestling <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CommonwealthGames?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CommonwealthGames</a> <a href="https://t.co/UI8rNNiSui">pic.twitter.com/UI8rNNiSui</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1555593393278951430?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 5, 2022</a></blockquote>

Dc3GZaA.png

Indian wrestlers are good. They are not Olympic gold level wrestlers but they still can win against most of these countries.

Alex Moore of Montreal Quebec Canada my hometown, wins bronze in mens 86 kg freetsyle wrestling vs New Zealand wrestler. He finished the match very quickly and in style winning 10-0.

Really Happy for him :)

Alex Moore of Montreal Quebec Canada my hometown, wins bronze in mens 86 kg freetsyle wrestling vs New Zealand wrestler. He finished the match very quickly and in style winning 10-0.

Really Happy for him :)

Bro check your PM

Thanks

Congrats to Deepak on winning gold. You are still a champion Inam Bhai :) great job on silver medal.

3rd Gold medal for India Today in Wrestling.

Deepak Poonia is already star.

Came 4th in Tokyo Olympic and now CWG champion.

Wrestling is the the sport where our wrestlers are olympic level.

Watch out for Ravi Dhahiya tomorrow ( Tokyo Olympic silver medalist )...he will annihilate the field tomorrow....

Shajar Abbas finished 3rd in semi-finals 200 mens meter, needed to finish top 2, to make the finals, but still an amazing result from him, look forward to see what he can do in the future, and hope he can get more support in the future as well

India keep surprising in Lawn Bowl.

After winning Gold in Woman fours, another Indian team is in final.

So good to see this performance in a new sport.

Shajar Abbas finished 3rd in semi-finals 200 mens meter, needed to finish top 2, to make the finals, but still an amazing result from him, look forward to see what he can do in the future, and hope he can get more support in the future as well

He can still make it to the final depending on the timings of the other semi-finals. So still hope is there

Wow Divya won a wrestling bronze match in just 30 seconds...LOL...pinned her.

5 medals in wrestling today so far with one bronze match still to go....

3 Gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze.

Tt, badminton, boxing, wrestling, bowling, field hockey, couple of events in athletics - medal prospect events left for India in next 3 days.

If only archery and shooting were present!! It would have been a supreme performance. Now we need to settle for 4th spot 😔

Not the best of performances by Inam in the final.

Looked like he wasn't fully fit and going through the motions.

I made a mistake Sharjar did finish 3rd, however he still was able to book a place in the final. The top 2 in each semi finals advanced ( a total of 3 semi finals) 6 runners advances, 7th and 8th runners advanced based on their time, and Sharjar had a good time to advance.

Do not think he can get a medal since their is a lot of good runners for the finals, but still an amazing performance from considering no government supports, none from your sports board or private sponsor either.

Has he qualified? As the 2 fastest losers qualify.

Not the best of performances by Inam in the final.

Looked like he wasn't fully fit and going through the motions.

I would have been surprised if INAM won. Deepak was the favorite. Upcoming youngster- world championship medalist and also creditable 4th place in the Olympics ( the Iranian and the AMerican are absolute legends difficult to get into the final).

Yep Shooting is a big miss...

England played dirty....Shooting is an olympic sport...you can't just remove it because you couldn't arrange the shooting infra...

StillI we are doing way better and on traget for 50+medals.

BIRMINGHAM: Pakistan's Shajjar Abbas has qualified for the finals of Men's 200m in the Commonwealth Games 2022.

Shajjar clocked 20.89 to cover the distance, finishing third in his heat and among the top eight overall to qualify for the final.

BIRMINGHAM: Pakistan's Shajjar Abbas has qualified for the finals of Men's 200m in the Commonwealth Games 2022.

Shajjar clocked 20.89 to cover the distance, finishing third in his heat and among the top eight overall to qualify for the final.

what time is the final by the way

Mohit gerewal signed off the wrestling today with another bronze for India.

6/6 medals for India in Wrestling today.

3 Gold, 1 Silver, 2 Bronze.

Over to day 2 now !!!

Zaman Anwar lost his final and will settle for silver.

in total 3 medals today for Pakistan so far.

Zaman Anwar lost tamely by fall...

2 silver, 1 bronze for Pakistan today then...

Good effort by wrestling team.

Bit of a disaster for Pakistan that!

Men's Freestyle 125 kg Finals

cIpJKDt.png

U1QszyZ.png

mMAwlWh.png

Bit too harsh. She just looked dejected.

Granted the Indian Wrestler looked dejected not the result she wanted, however in sports, once the match finishes regardless of the result, you always shake hands, it does not look good, if you don't or look reluctant to do so.

Silver for Zaman Anwar in the Men's Freestyle 125 kg Finals

68c553bc-6033-4ef8-b559-0b3b0e4fad73.jpgdec300d3-6de1-4f07-8520-7fcec86c925d.jpgfba3aeb3-45c4-4fcd-8964-e23cc6c5989f.jpg

England Womens team beat New Zealand Womens team in semi-finals Women Hockey

(0-0) England won on penalty's 2-0

England advance to the finals

Decent day for Pakistan picking up a few medals today.

One has to remember that a lot of these athletes have no backing, support or sponsorship which is a travesty.

In 2018, India got 26 gold? :O

Can India match that this time around? I don't follow these games at all, but any experts here know if they can get close to 26 gold like last time?

One has to remember that a lot of these athletes have no backing, support or sponsorship which is a travesty.

All of these performances could be Biopic material then. With no support and from humble backgrounds would make a great story.

Very disappointing that a nation boasting so much natural talent is not nurturing this at all in the Olympic/Commonwealth Games arena.

<b>Day Eight — summary</b>

• Athletics - England's Hughes into 200m final but Gemili misses out; Elaine Thompson-Herah wins in women's semis

• Nathan Maguire lands men's T53/54 1500m gold for England; Scott Lincoln takes shot put bronze

• Diving - England's Matty Lee & Noah Williams win men’s synchro 10m platform gold after Amy Rollinson 1m springboard bronze; Jack Laugher & Anthony Harding won synchro 3m springboard gold

• Hockey - England's women into final after shoot-out win over New Zealand

• Rhythmic gymnastics - Marfa Ekimova wins individual all-around final for England's first gold in event

• Lawn bowls: England beat Malaysia 17-9 in women's triples final

• George Miller, 75, becomes oldest Commonwealth Games gold medallist as Scotland beat Wales 16-9 in lawn bowls mixed pairs B2/B3 final

• Wrestling: England's George Ramm and Mandhir Kooner win bronze medals

Australia women's Hockey Team Beat India Women's Hockey Team
(1-1) Australia won in Penalty 3-0

And will advance to Play England in the finals for Gold Medal.

Can India match that this time around? I don't follow these games at all, but any experts here know if they can get close to 26 gold like last time?

Not without shooting Archery.

Shooting we won 16 gold last time. This time without it we will win 15 gold, much better performance in other sports. Overall we will win 40-45 medals this time ... Improvement for sure but gold medal tally would be less than Canada n probably NZ who are not better than us in cwg

3-0 penalty shoot out Can’t get better than that

Australia team was too good because they know how to handle pressure

India can't compete in Olympics.
They are not good enough.
India is not gonna finish higher than 5th here.

Few of Indian wrestlers are good though surely they are not gonna win gold in Olympics but surely they can compete.

India can't compete in Olympics.
They are not good enough.
India is not gonna finish higher than 5th here.

Few of Indian wrestlers are good though surely they are not gonna win gold in Olympics but surely they can compete.

We can compete and we are. Winning medals is a different story, last time we won 7 and narrowly missed out few.

Hoping for a double digit count in 2024 Paris games.

Aim is to finish in top 30.

Realistic chances to win medals in Olympics next time for India ::

Shooting 3
Boxing 2
Badminton 1
Wrestling 3
Athletics 2
Field hockey 1
Archery 1
Weight lifting 1

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Penalty miss hua Australia se and the Umpire says, Sorry Clock start nahi hua. Such biasedness used to happen in cricket as well earlier till we became a superpower, Hockey mein bhi hum jald banenge and all clocks will start on time. Proud of our girls &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56819;<a href="https://t.co/mqxJfX0RDq">pic.twitter.com/mqxJfX0RDq</a></p>— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) <a href="https://twitter.com/virendersehwag/status/1555774075821527042?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 6, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Penalty miss hua Australia se and the Umpire says, Sorry Clock start nahi hua. Such biasedness used to happen in cricket as well earlier till we became a superpower, Hockey mein bhi hum jald banenge and all clocks will start on time. Proud of our girls ����<a href="https://t.co/mqxJfX0RDq">pic.twitter.com/mqxJfX0RDq</a></p>— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) <a href="https://twitter.com/virendersehwag/status/1555774075821527042?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 6, 2022</a></blockquote>

:)) The commentators are not neutrals nice..

They deserve it...

Anyways, the commentators is saying Commonwealth games hai yaye as if its really a major event. Its not, which is why alot of mistakes have been made by the technicle comititee

They deserve it...

Anyways, the commentators is saying Commonwealth games hai yaye as if its really a major event. Its not, which is why alot of mistakes have been made by the technicle comititee

I recall that a Pakistani athlete's name was missed as well from list of events.

They deserve it...

FYI this has happened the second time. In the tokyo olympics, the clock didn't stop on time and India had to play extra seconds. In those seconds the opposition got a penalty corner and scored.

So yes Sehwag is absolutely correct. Time India tries to do the same in Hockey that it did in Cricket.

FYI this has happened the second time. In the tokyo olympics, the clock didn't stop on time and India had to play extra seconds. In those seconds the opposition got a penalty corner and scored.

So yes Sehwag is absolutely correct. Time India tries to do the same in Hockey that it did in Cricket.

No he is not correct.

Basically the indian answer to anything unfair against you is that we will dominate and than become unfair to the world.

The cycle just continues.

If you guys promote fairness and equality than that would make more sense.

Always remember, it was during the 2011 world cup mid tournament that we got that 2.5 m lbw rule in an indian dominated icc.

And had this been indian dominated hockey with indian player taing the penalty and having too reset, all you indian posters would had come over and defended it

I recall that a Pakistani athlete's name was missed as well from list of events.

Yup, it was in boxing i guess.

One thing i do appreciate after following these events or even field hockey is that in comparison to other sporting organizations, ICC is pretty good in handling and organizing cricket events.

No he is not correct.

Basically the indian answer to anything unfair against you is that we will dominate and than become unfair to the world.

Always remember, it was during the 2011 world cup mid tournament that we got that 2.5 m lbw rule in an indian dominated icc.

And had this been indian dominated hockey with indian player taing the penalty and having too reset, all you indian posters would had come over and defended it

Certain games where there is Australian and English domination a lot of things happen against non whites.

Hockey was played on grass. India and Pakistan dominated it for decades because they were far better dribblers. Suddenly the FIH removed grass and mandated astro turf.

It made dribbling difficult. It became a physical game of who was faster and fitter. Also India and Pakistan didn't have money to put astro turfs all across the country like Europeans.

Result is that they started dominating the game.

The 2.5mt rule existed long before 2011 WC. It robbed India off a wicket against England. It was after this that it was changed as almost every one was criticizing that rule.

When the first mistake happened in Tokyo people were disappointed. But it has happened again now. Twice is too much of a coincidence.

Clock not working properly.

Certain games where there is Australian and English domination a lot of things happen against non whites.

Hockey was played on grass. India and Pakistan dominated it for decades because they were far better dribblers. Suddenly the FIH removed grass and mandated astro turf.

It made dribbling difficult. It became a physical game of who was faster and fitter. Also India and Pakistan didn't have money to put astro turfs all across the country like Europeans.

Result is that they started dominating the game.

The 2.5mt rule existed long before 2011 WC. It robbed India off a wicket against England. It was after this that it was changed as almost every one was criticizing that rule.

When the first mistake happened in Tokyo people were disappointed. But it has happened again now. Twice is too much of a coincidence.

Clock not working properly.

Umm, no, that astroturf conspiracy is a desi story that we are told by our elder desi conspiracy theorists..

Hockey is a game that requires smooth surface because you are dribbling the ball on the surface. The reason why ice hockey is exciting is because the puck slides on the ice and isnt airborne. On grass, hockey wasn't going to be a successful sport as the ball would be more airborne and bouncy instead of staying on ground. You cant display hockey skills until unless the ball is on ground. I realized this by watching ice hockey where skaters show their skills because the puck is always sticking to the ice.

Football is a good example where the ball is more airborne than you think. The ball bounces when you dribble it, it doesnt really stick it self to the ground.

In hockey the ball sticking is importing as you are playing with sticks.

Plus, another issue with grass hockey is that when it rains, the game itself becomes difficult to play. Astroturf absorbs the water.

Astroturf was never the problem, Pakistan won the Esanda Cup in 1979 on AstroTurf.
The World Cup of 1978 and 1982 was held on grass, while the Hockey Olympic event of 1980 and 1984 was held on AstroTurf.

Upon some research I found out that, Pakistan won the 1982 World Cup (grass) and the 1984 Olympics (AstroTurf). Both these events stared Hasan Sardar and Hanif Khan who were great forwards.

Now the reason why Pakistan sucked later on was because they were not willing to invest money on astro turf. Astro turf requires maintenance. There is a cost when you implement it and have to look after. No one wanted to buy it and install it. Eventually, there were also not that many clubs and the sport died down.

The sport never became part of our traditions like cricket has, where you play cricket in galis but not hockey in the galis and this plays a factor.

The university that i went to had a gym with a matting that was in its worst state. The university was never willing to either invest in a wood floor that would last long. I had also done my highschool in Toronto from a public school. There wood gyms were installed in the 80s and 90s and were still going strong....

As for your second part of the post, had India gained advantage to an unfair decision, wouldn't you guys been giving excuses here that the decision was right? We posters have seen this all the time in cricket, so plz dont cry foul now.

Credit to indian team for making it this far but even if the missed shot counted australia would have won

For 3 reasons

Australian goalkeeper is a beast in shootouts
Australian shooters seemed more composed
Indian shooters just looked off if you saw the penalty shootout itself.

Indian women should still be proud they have come a long way.

Credit of sports developement in India should be given to present govt about how they promote & invest in a sporting culture. It is no longer a 'one sport' country. What we are witnessing in this year's commonwealth is a result of massive investment that has gone at the ground levels.

No he is not correct.

Spot on and well done sir. Post of the year

Credit to indian team for making it this far but even if the missed shot counted australia would have won

For 3 reasons

Australian goalkeeper is a beast in shootouts
Australian shooters seemed more composed
Indian shooters just looked off if you saw the penalty shootout itself.

Indian women should still be proud they have come a long way.

Once something like this happens to you twice, its obvious the team lost its composure and hence the result.

Umm, no, that astroturf conspiracy is a desi story that we are told by our elder desi conspiracy theorists..

Hockey is a game that requires smooth surface because you are dribbling the ball on the surface. The reason why ice hockey is exciting is because the puck slides on the ice and isnt airborne. On grass, hockey wasn't going to be a successful sport as the ball would be more airborne and bouncy instead of staying on ground. You cant display hockey skills until unless the ball is on ground. I realized this by watching ice hockey where skaters show their skills because the puck is always sticking to the ice.

Football is a good example where the ball is more airborne than you think. The ball bounces when you dribble it, it doesnt really stick it self to the ground.

In hockey the ball sticking is importing as you are playing with sticks.

Plus, another issue with grass hockey is that when it rains, the game itself becomes difficult to play. Astroturf absorbs the water.

Astroturf was never the problem, Pakistan won the Esanda Cup in 1979 on AstroTurf.
The World Cup of 1978 and 1982 was held on grass, while the Hockey Olympic event of 1980 and 1984 was held on AstroTurf.

Upon some research I found out that, Pakistan won the 1982 World Cup (grass) and the 1984 Olympics (AstroTurf). Both these events stared Hasan Sardar and Hanif Khan who were great forwards.

Now the reason why Pakistan sucked later on was because they were not willing to invest money on astro turf. Astro turf requires maintenance. There is a cost when you implement it and have to look after. No one wanted to buy it and install it. Eventually, there were also not that many clubs and the sport died down.

The sport never became part of our traditions like cricket has, where you play cricket in galis but not hockey in the galis and this plays a factor.

The university that i went to had a gym with a matting that was in its worst state. The university was never willing to either invest in a wood floor that would last long. I had also done my highschool in Toronto from a public school. There wood gyms were installed in the 80s and 90s and were still going strong....

As for your second part of the post, had India gained advantage to an unfair decision, wouldn't you guys been giving excuses here that the decision was right? We posters have seen this all the time in cricket, so plz dont cry foul now.

Plenty of dribbling and hockey skills were displayed by Indians and Pakistanis on grass and they made a mockery of the Europeans something they could not digest. That is the reason for change to Astro Turf, where they have the advantage.

Ice hockey and field hockey are different games.

India too won the 1980 olympics gold. But soon the Europeans because of their better physical game and fitness and better facilities overtook India and Pakistan.

The international level players in India and Pakistan in 70s were already playing on Astro turf in Europe and has access to good facilities in their own country as they were already established players and playing for the national team.

You are absolutely correct. Countries like India and Pakistan didn't have the money to invest in Astro turf hence the young generation that came playing the game on grass was found wanting when playing the game on astro turf.

Exactly. The Western countries already had facilities while India Pakistan didn't. so within 7-8 years once the existing generation of India and pakistani players retired the next generation was overwhelmed by the western countries who were far more experienced in playing the physical astro turf game.

A bad decision once is bad luck, happened in Tokyo it happening twice in a year and in such important match is diabolical.

Indian women's hockey is still some way off the best teams but we seem to pull off a great result here or there. Top effort by the girls to push Australia all the way but they were the better team on the whole

Pakistan wrestlers in operation soon

UK 10:30am

97cf1b24-6c67-47f0-84e8-bb0f4219216e.jpgddfdcb9e-e8f8-4f32-8107-70449e48e7fb.jpg27122588-da4b-43fd-a425-4dfcff206849.jpg

Just a note on the wrestling

The commentator obviously of Indian origin wastes no time in making everything about India

Even when the Canadian guy was wrestling against Pak - he kept on mentioning the Indian roots.

I found that very distasteful. The wrestler is representing Canada - why bring in the India thing?

Nitu demolishes her canadian opponent in Boxing 45-48 kg category semifinal. Over to final now.

Good start in boxing. Today there are 6 other boxing semifinal for India.

And another win for Pakistan

Ali Asad wins his Men's Freestyle 57Kg Round of 16 bout - very WWE style entrance :)

4694b648-48cb-47a0-a865-ea7b43ccec28.jpg
b05ab25b-06af-4ee2-a73b-39c89e349d86.jpg

dc378370-d17d-4cf7-aaf4-6bc608a86043.jpgc3129686-8441-4ef7-b032-cbf504024a71.jpg