The Education Thread

Chasing Cars

First Class Star
The Official Education Thread

Here's a thread where you can talk about your education.
What's been getting you down?
Do you have exams, which are leading to stress?
Do you need help in making your choices for future education?
Want to know more about courses?

Just let out all of your anger, happiness, frustration, curiosity here :D

It's easier to have it in one thread than ten million separate threads methinks :D :D

GCSE studying has now begun. I am going to be doing GCSE statistics this year. Actually started the studying since the new academic year begun.
Another GCSE exam I'll be having is in science.
Looking forward to it. :D

KhushbuHussain said:

It's easier to have it in one thread than ten million separate threads methinks :D :D

its like counseling or what because i want some help in this matter or this is a just a gup shup thread

Boi said:
GCSE studying has now begun. I am going to be doing GCSE statistics this year. Actually started the studying since the new academic year begun.
Another GCSE exam I'll be having is in science.
Looking forward to it. :D
Which science? :13:
And Kamran bhai, if you have a problem/query then post it here and we can see if anyone can help you :D

KhushbuHussain said:
And Kamran , if you have a problem/query then post it here and we can see if anyone can help you :D

ya need some help if i go uk for education what the situation there.

I have chance to do odd jobs.

my grades aren,t that great.

what the status of my visa there T.R.V OR S.V

and whats the value of england education is good as u.s.a or canada

I have exams starting on the 14th...make dua that i get my grades Insh'Allah

KhushbuHussain said:
And Kamran bhai, if you have a problem/query then post it here and we can see if anyone can help you :D

All three sciences. So yeah. Three exams from science department and 1 from Mathematics.

Mohsin said:
I have exams starting on the 14th...make dua that i get my grades Insh'Allah
Same but mine are starting one the 12th... please pray that I get good results... my dad's mood for the next six months depends on these results LMAO :))

And Kamran bhai, the unemployment rate here is quite high, but it depends what you would like to work as. And in my opinion, UK education is to the same standard as American and Canadian education.

kamranO said:
ya need some help if i go uk for education what the situation there.

I have chance to do odd jobs.

my grades aren,t that great.

what the status of my visa there T.R.V OR S.V

and whats the value of england education is good as u.s.a or canada

any body can answer my queries

KhushbuHussain said:
Same but mine are starting one the 12th... please pray that I get good results... my dad's mood for the next six months depends on these results LMAO :))

And Kamran bhai, the unemployment rate here is quite high, but it depends what you would like to work as. And in my opinion, UK education is to the same standard as American and Canadian education.

hello aunty abb baar baar mujhe bhai kyun keh rahi ho i know about recession but i ask for odd jobs here and there just like pocket money is it easy to get admission in any university or college of u.k.

and which is good place to live in u.k.

kamranO said:
hello aunty abb baar baar mujhe bhai kyun keh rahi ho i know about recession but i ask for odd jobs here and there just like pocket money is it easy to get admission in any university or college of u.k.

and which is good place to live in u.k.
1. Main aap ko bhai isliye kehti hoon kyunke aap mujhse baray hain :D

2. I don't know much about odd jobs like cleaning etc. but what you could do is come here and teach people how to speak a different language, i.e. Urdu and get some money that way.

3. University admissions are VERY competitive. This is because a student in the UK has exactly the same opportunity as someone in a country which belongs to the EU, i.e. Poland, france etc. I am assuming that you are living outside the EU, which would make it very hard, but not completely impossible. So it's worth giving it a go.

4. There's no best place to live and where you live will also depend on which uni or college you wish to apply to. I would stick to the desi areas, i.e. Birmingham, Manchester, Bradford etc. where you have lots of apnay who can help and lots of students.

Hope that helped :D

Anyone on here able to help me on accounting?

im doing aqa as accounting unit1 and finding it quite difficult exam is in 11 days time :|

I always end up getting panick attacks and stress flus before exams, how do i help that? I usually do very well alhamdulillah but i could do even better if i didnt get sick or these panick attacks, which include anxiety, nausea, vomitting, dizziness and well other stuff.

nice thread... i am midway my third year of BS(CS) in computer science at FAST NU Lahore, Pakistan (mashAllah). i am inshAllah going to start my 6th semester from 25th jan 2010. i just have 2 to 3 more semesters left to graduate inshAllah then i will be a professional computer scientist/software developer/web developer. :D

6xafridi said:
have to start studying for the SAT
any advice guys?

do alot of practice tests and make sure that you emulate the exact exam conditions. you have to sit in the exam hall for 3 to 4 hours, maybe even 5 hours if the exam is delayed.

practice is key here.

cricket_fever said:
I always end up getting panick attacks and stress flus before exams, how do i help that? I usually do very well alhamdulillah but i could do even better if i didnt get sick or these panick attacks, which include anxiety, nausea, vomitting, dizziness and well other stuff.

You could try some breathing techniques to help get oxygen into your brain.
What I used to do to de-stress was relaxation and concentration yoga. It really helps :D I'll see if I can find you some exercises. It really refreshes you and gets rid of the "sick" feeling.
Drink plenty of water and eat lots of fresh fruits and veg. I find that cucumber and carrots did the job for me :D
Also one known method is reading the Ayat-Ul-Kursi :D It's always very calming :D

Sohaib-789 said:

im doing aqa as accounting unit1 and finding it quite difficult exam is in 11 days time :|
am doing AAT accounting and am in the final level but still no luck with a job, recession :po: :pissed: :Sami

Accounting is very competitive in terms of jobs but you just need 1 break and Insha'Allah soon i get given a chance

AAT accounting work-wise is hard and challenging but with me not having anything to show for my success is disheartening and maybe i'll never get a chance in the financial environment :(

I've got my first AS modules coming up starting on Monday.

Good luck to everyone studying, taking exams. Inshallah you will get the grades you want.

IF you guys have mathematics or science questions will be glad to help.
I am going back to school (MBA) in a few months.
Other than that decent grades in school, horrible ones in engineering :D

If anybody has any problems with Japanese, feel free to ask. :D

2 months till exams, tense study starts now. Luckily exams are after the T20WC 2010 :D !!

Please all pray for my success and good luck to all in this important academic year !

I think I have done more studying/learning in past few years of working , than all the years combined in school/college ...I had a serious dislike for books then :)

If anybody has any problems with Japanese, feel free to ask. :D
Brother, on a serious note howz the education standard and job opportunity in Japan for Pakistani students,
would you recommend them learning Japenese and think about coming to Japan for future rather than moving to UK, US , Canada, and Australia??

oh yes Momo...
Translations in Japanese for ...
How do you do?
You have very pretty eyes.
care for a dance.

anyone who knows Korean please feel free to add translation for that as well :)

deathstreak said:
oh yes Momo...
Translations in Japanese for ...
How do you do?
"Genki?"

deathstreak said:
You have very pretty eyes.
"Me ga kirei!"

deathstreak said:
care for a dance.
"Udorimasen ka?"

Note: The pronounciation is not like English. The sound of e in Me (as in any other word) is like the e of Elephant. U like u of put, not but.

The standard sequence of the three sentences would be: 1, 3, and then 2. :P

Golden arm said:
Brother, on a serious note howz the education standard and job opportunity in Japan for Pakistani students,
would you recommend them learning Japenese and think about coming to Japan for future rather than moving to UK, US , Canada, and Australia??
The education standard is not good unless you are talking about the top three or four universities. Even then, it is different from say US and UK where there's more emphasis on broad based education from the Freshman year. In Japan the emphasis is on depth more than breadth from a pretty early stage, unless you go out of your way.

The job market on the other hand is going to be great in the coming years because of the below freezing point growth rate. They are going to be more and more dependent on people from outside if they are to run their country.

From the social point of view, Japan is a pretty hard country to settle down and make it one's home. Unlike US, UK (I guess) where people feel comfortable enough after some time there to make it their home.

All things considered, I'd say no to studies (at the moment) and yes to work (for not more than a few years).

cricket_fever said:

That is not a promising sign..

Here are some tips from an exam veteran and expert (I think!)

1. Plan well in advance for your exams
2. Get a revision technique in mind e.g. use abbreviations for those hard to remember theories, highlight key words and use word showers
3. Stay away from distractions
4. Ensure you know at least 80% of all of your revision topics
5. Remain calm and cool

And remember, you are destined to get what is written for you. If you fail an exam or two, so be it, get on with life and try again..

Family and peer pressure can be exhausting but, you can only try as much as effort you have put in for revision..

No charges thank you and hope all goes well

Luton Bad Boy said:
That is not a promising sign..

Here are some tips from an exam veteran and expert (I think!)

1. Plan well in advance for your exams
2. Get a revision technique in mind e.g. use abbreviations for those hard to remember theories, highlight key words and use word showers
3. Stay away from distractions
4. Ensure you know at least 80% of all of your revision topics
5. Remain calm and cool

And remember, you are destined to get what is written for you. If you fail an exam or two, so be it, get on with life and try again..

Family and peer pressure can be exhausting but, you can only try as much as effort you have put in for revision..

No charges thank you and hope all goes well

Since you are an exam veteran, would you consider laying off w**d a couple of months prior to the exams as a good move?

Riff said:
Since you are an exam veteran, would you consider laying off w**d a couple of months prior to the exams as a good move?

Apparently that is a great stimulant for concentration but, should be used sproadically..

Adding to this, I remember the hey-days of University, when all and one would be churning out hours of crammed revision, whilst, this friend of ours literally the day before would find a female friend who attended all courses and she would prep him for the exams...

The guy walked out with better exam results than those who did crammed revision..

By the way he was one of the guys who enjoyed his extra-curricular herbal remedies almost 24 hours Seven...

Luton Bad Boy said:
Apparently that is a great stimulant for concentration but, should be used sproadically..

Adding to this, I remember the hey-days of University, when all and one would be churning out hours of crammed revision, whilst, this friend of ours literally the day before would find a female friend who attended all courses and she would prep him for the exams...

The guy walked out with better exam results than those who did crammed revision..

By the way he was one of the guys who enjoyed his extra-curricular herbal remedies almost 24 hours Seven...

This guy once told me that he use to revise being stoned, and he could never remember what he revised until he got stoned again. :))

Riff said:
This guy once told me that he use to revise being stoned, and he could never remember what he revised until he got stoned again. :))

I have seen the best stoners compete astonishingly well in exams, I am surprised tutors alike do not recommend this as an exam technique...

I am sure the demand would definitely outweigh the supply...

Un-proven studies (not by me) say that you're more likely to get higher marks in an exam going in high on weed compared to normal and 'full of revision'...

From the social point of view, Japan is a pretty hard country to settle down and make it one's home. Unlike US, UK (I guess) where people feel comfortable enough after some time there to make it their home.
QUOTE]

any special reasons? or its just there is so little desi community!

"Genki?"

"Me ga kirei!"

"Udorimasen ka?"

Note: The pronounciation is not like English. The sound of e in Me (as in any other word) is like the e of Elephant. U like u of put, not but.

The standard sequence of the three sentences would be: 1, 3, and then 2. :P

Hate Studies! only studying for money. Otherwise it will be last thing i would like to do

Mohsin said:
Un-proven studies (not by me) say that you're more likely to get higher marks in an exam going in high on weed compared to normal and 'full of revision'...
If anybody is willing to provide me with the "goods" to carry out and prove or disprove this experiment, I am willing to conduct it. I am a scientist after all :D Anything in the name of science :D

Gcse exams start 21/5/19. I'm predicted 8Astars and 2 As. Pressures on to get tht/beat it. M
gonna be a lot of hard work. However once it's over lifes gonna be good. That's what u remind my self to keep me going.

Zu456 said:
Gcse exams start 21/5/19. I'm predicted 8Astars and 2 As. Pressures on to get tht/beat it. M
gonna be a lot of hard work. However once it's over lifes gonna be good. That's what u remind my self to keep me going.

Wow those are some great predictions, as well as added pressure for you to get them..

Just click on this link pls

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jkN9VdjgDwM

Here you a full idea of expectations and what is demanded from parents..

Zu456 said:

MashAllah you have very nice predicted scores, means you must be a good student.

But having gone through gcse's and a levels, and now in the thick of uni, I really want to stress how important it is to NOT burn yourself out at this stage.

You should definitely aim for your best, but not at the expense of your drive.

Because trust me, when you get bogged down for too long in anything, you will get burnt out and to recover from that is hell.

But best of luck to ya! ;-)

im predicted 8Astars and 2As for my GCSEs as i said before. You guys who think youre underpressure uve got no idea what ive got. When i got my predicted grades my parents saw it They said the usual you are good enough why dont you get Astar in the other two.
let me tell me the pressure im under. My brother got 11 A stars at GCSE and in three of those subjects (ICT,Business studies and statistics) he got top ten award (he was among the top ten results in the country) then he got into cambridge for medicine. It doesnt stop there. My cousine got 10A stars and his sister got 9A stars. pressure is on me to beat my predicted not match it.

KhushbuHussain said:

i was going smooth in my research , 2 weeks back suddenly I got stuck to a certain technical point where i am so far unable to find a plausible solution though i have other possible options but their plausibility is questionable . Its a tricky situation now for me . Because i have time till june to finish this thing i am working on .

whats getting me down ? nothing so far .

future ? finish this thing and begin PhD . I have always aimed for that and now its a step away . May ALLAH help me like He the almighty always have !

and good luck to all , who have examinations coming their way !

Zu456 said:
im predicted 8Astars and 2As for my GCSEs as i said before. You guys who think youre underpressure uve got no idea what ive got. When i got my predicted grades my parents saw it They said the usual you are good enough why dont you get Astar in the other two.
let me tell me the pressure im under. My brother got 11 A stars at GCSE and in three of those subjects (ICT,Business studies and statistics) he got top ten award (he was among the top ten results in the country) then he got into cambridge for medicine. It doesnt stop there. My cousine got 10A stars and his sister got 9A stars. pressure is on me to beat my predicted not match it.

sick ****!!

Im in grade 8, I love school! :D

but not when it interferes with Pakistan matches :(

iHammad said:
Im in grade 8, I love school! :D

but not when it interferes with Pakistan matches :(

:)) I used to bunk some lessons when Pakistan were playing, the last time i bunked school for cricket was during the Pak-Aus series in Abu Dhabi/Dubai

I'm NOT condoning bunking btw lol

I've got my exams in June.

Good luck to everyone who are studying and hopefully you all pass your exams with the grades you want.

Zu456 said:

Do not let let family pressure burden you down. Don't worry about it, it is not a competition. you are one of the best students out of all the students in your school. You've done extremely well my friend, just keep on going and stay focused.

Good luck and wishing you an extremely successful GCSE exams this year.

Mohsin said:
:)) I used to bunk some lessons when Pakistan were playing, the last time i bunked school for cricket was during the Pak-Aus series in Abu Dhabi/Dubai

Ahaha I did that too! :)) Pak vs. Australia in the Champions Trophy :D

Mohsin said:

I use to do taht in high school. At that time they were decent, I wouldn't bunk for these lot. Though I do bunk a lot in university....but not for Pakistan...I just do it when I want :P

On a side note, have an midterm on Wednesday. Hard to study as I work 50-60 hours a week and this is a online course I am taking so I have an easier next semster.

KhushbuHussain said:
Ahaha I did that too! :)) Pak vs. Australia in the Champions Trophy :D
Oh lol. I did this back in 1996 for the World Cup. Pakistan vs New Zealand in Lahore. A friend and I tried to get tickets to see the game the morning of but were unsuccessful. So we just watched it at home. Next day I got a warning letter from the school saying I'd be suspended if I pulled another stunt like that. My friend got his warning overturned by saying he was 'sick'. I forget what I did.

First GCSE exam for me on 21st May. Statistics exam sometime in June. :42:

Boi said:
First GCSE exam for me on 21st May. Statistics exam sometime in June. :42:

Good luck and relax!

At least you dont have your exams at the very same time as the T20 WC! :ibutt

We have to do a book report, on a Mind Map! Imo, this is the most stupid assignment ever....

:po: Gcse exams start 21st may. so many distractions eg world cup. Trying to get this business studies coursework over and done with but its dragging on. ACtually PP has beeen the biggest distraction. I find myself unknowingly on after every time i write 1 word.
to anyone else doiing gcse at the moment how anoying are those poems by armatageand duffy!!

Zu456 said:
Gcse exams start 21st may. so many distractions eg world cup. Trying to get this business studies coursework over and done with but its dragging on. ACtually PP has beeen the biggest distraction. I find myself unknowingly on after every time i write 1 word.

My son will also be taking his GCSEs and FACEBOOK is a killer - I have now blocked it on our home network - I think one of the PPErs asked to be banned for a month or so for this reason as well

Facebook is a big destraction my dad was so angry when my bro was taking it he kept saying youl fail because your on it so much. Cause of my bro my dads not let me get facebook till after the exams. And yeah PP is so distracting for some reason as i write this i know i should be doing coursework but i cant force myself to do it. Im just searching between all the forums to just try and find something to say to avoid coursework.

Sohaib-789 said:

hello buddy, sorry for not reading this earlier. How did the exam go? also if you want any help in the future, give me a shout. Will try my best to help.

Yup, tbh he wont really need the computer.

Books, paper, past exam papers and a desk. Thats it
Oh and a stop watch for the practise exam times.

Second year Maths student.

If anyone has any difficulties with Maths then please feel free not to ask me. :D

Juggernaut said:
Second year Maths student.

If anyone has any difficulties with Maths then please feel free not to ask me. :D
Maths? God I feel for you bro.....
But then again, I'm taking physics and chemistry.... :)) But thats only to AS level at the moment :D And then I can drop physics :D and do politics :D

Mohsin said:
Yup, tbh he wont really need the computer.

Books, paper, past exam papers and a desk. Thats it
Oh and a stop watch for the practise exam times.

He lives off Khan Academy videos ( and goal.com!)

Ok I need an English Teacher koi hai idhar? :26:

but remember FEES nahi doo ga :D :137:

Hmm maybe I should request this as well. BIG exam coming up April 30th.