The official Pushto learning thread

Mohsin

Hey folks, i've always wanted to learn Pushto it sounds like a great language from great people.

Can anyone help start things off with the 'new addition' in this forum and start with the Pushto teaching:)
I wonder how many PPs speak fluent Pushto :afridi

Khabri420 said:
Singa haal de or Singa chel de - How are you? :yk :afridi :gul

Can you break it down as well. I worked out what haal and chel means but what about singa and de?

There are 6 dialects of Pashto and not all Pashtuns can understand each other.

Singa yai!
How are you?

Khayee-UM
Fine.

Yakh Ubba Rora Kanna
Bring me cold water

Chai uski
Do you want to drink tea

Doda-ai Khorai
Do you want to eat roti

Ala Ka- Charta Zai
Alla Ka, Where are you going?

That's all I know.

A little help here Zee

no one has yet mentioned Khotcha. To use in sentence ... Oye Khotcha

I've got a Pashto book.
Will be the defacto teacher up here until better help arrives

Thanks Wazeeri:)
C'mon guys keep em coming i'm sure there are some fluent Pashto speakers here.

Sure Zeenix and the person with a guy thinking on a beach avatar

The crow's colour is black
Dakar ghai rank toor dai

My name is Mohsin
Zama Naam Mohsin Daraz dai

The fishes are in the river
Kaban pa sand kehnai di

Quiz: We all know that the language of Jannat (Paradise) is Arabic. So what do you think is the language of Dozakh (Hell)?

Hint: No hint needed. :)

Yakh = Cold
Garam/Tod = Hot
Stare Mashe = Welcome
Manana/Mehraabaani= Thankyou
OOR= Fire
UBOO= Water
KHAAR= City
KILLI= Village
Tu=You
Taasu = You (dignified)/ Plural
Zu= I
Zamma=Mine
Sta=Yours

Quiz: We all know that the language of Jannat (Paradise) is Arabic. So what do you think is the language of Dozakh (Hell)?

ENGLISH???

I have an irrational hatred of Pushto...

Japanese?

Firstly how do we know Arabic is the language of Heaven? Secondly if it is then it's likely the language of Hell too bcos Iblis comes from Heaven

Mercenary said:
Firstly how do we know Arabic is the language of Heaven? Secondly if it is then it's likely the language of Hell too bcos Iblis comes from Heaven
There are some hadiths that say Arabic will be the language of Jannah, but I think they have been declared weak...Can someone more knowledgeable confirm this?

Thanks.

mamoo gogo said:
There are some hadiths that say Arabic will be the language of Jannah, but I think they have been declared weak...Can someone more knowledgeable confirm this?

Thanks.

That's assuming we communicate via our vocal chords in heaven and not via telepathy or smoke signals

The coolest word in pashto that I know:

shpug (six, 6)

Wow! Very imposing and menacing!

You don't want to say SIX when Afridi hits one out of the ground; you wanna say SHPUG!

The language of hell will definitely be amongst this lot:
1.hebrew
2.Sanskrit
3.English

Anyone know how to say

'Want to go lunch?'

'Is it lunch time'?

Bat = sobade or sobare, the prnounciation isn't r or d its kida like both combined. Ball = pandoske. Run = manda. Walamba = take a shower, u can a frend tht but can be used as a curse also cuz in islam ppl take a shower aftr sex lol. Pa makha de kha = gud bye. Dha khudai pa aman = may god take care of u. Pashto is my first language so u can ask me anythin and I will answer.

khanz141 said:
Bat = sobade or sobare, the prnounciation isn't r or d its kida like both combined. Ball = pandoske. Run = manda. Walamba = take a shower, u can a frend tht but can be used as a curse also cuz in islam ppl take a shower aftr sex lol. Pa makha de kha = gud bye. Dha khudai pa aman = may god take care of u. Pashto is my first language so u can ask me anythin and I will answer.

Za kha da.... Munga pa khpalo kay khabaray kho kole shu.. Au sok ba pay poegi ba hum na..

Tu pukhtoonkhwa kay da kum zai ai.. Roora..

I think I might ask my mum to teach me some ... she's supposed to be a Pathan, but I don't think she speaks Pashto very well! :p

I love the sound of spoken Pashto! And also Arabic :D That's probably why I spend the majority of my time watching the newsreaders on the Abu Dhabi channel XD or Al- Jazeera :p

I learned 1-10 in Pashto today from my friend.She is from Quetta.:D

1-Yau
2-Duwa
3-Drea
4-Saloor
5-Pinzah
6-Shpax(x is pronounced as z but slightly diff)
7-Woa
8-Attah
9-Nah
10-Lass

haroonrasheed320 said:
Momo common man where is the answer
Here's a hint: you will find the correct answer somewhere on this thread. :D

The coolest word in pashto that I know:

shpug (six, 6)

Wow! Very imposing and menacing!

You don't want to say SIX when Afridi hits one out of the ground; you wanna say SHPUG!

Very true Sir :D

And when he hits it out of the ground, I guess it would be a...

SUPER SHPUG :D

KhushbuHussain said:
Yay :D and Inshallah it'll be a hit (get it? :D)
Very nice! :14:

Your sense of humour is quite unfemale like. Very impressive! :afridi

Mohsin said:
Anyone know how to say

'Want to go lunch?'

'Is it lunch time'?

Who's the girl and why can't you ask her in English?

:malik

Poison said:

He may be afraid that if the girl understood the question, she might say no. :naved

Very nice! :14:

Your sense of humour is quite unfemale like. Very impressive! :afridi
Why thank you :D Not the first thing a person usually notices, and its probably the first time I've been told that :))

Poison said:

:)):))...very good P...very good

He may be afraid that if the girl understood the question, she might say no. :naved

It is not love that is blind, but jealousy my friend....

KhushbuHussain said:
Yay!!! :D You used it in the commentary thread :D
I did. And Mohsin liked it very much and then he did it too.

But I must acknowledge it here that the term 'Super Shpug' is copyrighted and trade-mark-registered in the name of KhushbuHussain (something I couldn't do in the hectic commentary thread).

Guys which Pashto are you guys talking about?

I think its in the Afghani Pashto coz in that dialect you say "Shpug"

Whereas in the Pashto spoken in Quetta,etc,its said as "Shpuz".
The "z" is pronounced as
ژ

Sorta like "SH" but the "S" is pronounced like "Z"

I did. And Mohsin liked it very much and then he did it too.

But I must acknowledge it here that the term 'Super Shpug' is copyrighted and trade-mark-registered in the name of KhushbuHussain (something I couldn't do in the hectic commentary thread).
Yay :D Thankyou :p Although I think it should be part copyrighted to you as well :D

haroonrasheed320 said:
:))) :))) :))) kuch acha sikho (lag khe izda ka)
ok...how about this...a new thing a learnt:
Where is the toilet?.....tatee cheRta dey?

btw....doesnt "tattee" mean sh** in bad urdu language?

Can someone translate these lines from a Zeek Afridi song for me? Thanks in advance :D

Soomra Haseeni Yara Stas stiri Giri
Oh Mata, oh mata,
Mata yasmeeni yaara stas stiri geeri, stas stiri giri

PS - Sorry if I got some of the words wrong, but thats what they sound like :p

KhushbuHussain said:
Can someone translate these lines from a Zeek Afridi song for me? Thanks in advance :D

Soomra Haseeni Yara Stas stiri Giri
Oh Mata, oh mata,
Mata yasmeeni yaara stas stiri geeri, stas stiri giri

PS - Sorry if I got some of the words wrong, but thats what they sound like :p
Kitni khoobsurat he teri ankhein mere mehboob,
oh muje, oh muje
muje Yasmin ki tarah lagti hain teri ankhein teri ankhein

Yasmin is that round small flower we call it Jasmine in English

cricket_fever said:

No this is wrong My God, if you want to ask where is toilet you have to say, toilet charta dhey or washroom charta dhey or hamam charta dhey not what you wrote yukh hahaha

cricket_fever said:

:))) LEGEND! keep going plz :asif

i think we need to discuss its other variations aswell.

Disco_Lemonade said:
:))) LEGEND! keep going plz :asif

i think we need to discuss its other variations aswell.
variations of the meaning of the word tattee?
by the way does "pa-kha-na"in pashto also mean toilet?

haroonrasheed320 said:
Kitni khoobsurat he teri ankhein mere mehboob,
oh muje, oh muje
muje Yasmin ki tarah lagti hain teri ankhein teri ankhein

Yasmin is that round small flower we call it Jasmine in English

Thanks Haroon bhai :D It makes sense now :D

Mohsin said:
[UTUBE]71lfQcZj518[/UTUBE]

[UTUBE]aPUZHSdvc6E[/UTUBE]

I love both versions :D Had them on my iPod for agesss now:D Plus a random selection of other Zeek Afridi songs :D

KhushbuHussain said:
I love both versions :D Had them on my iPod for agesss now:D Plus a random selection of other Zeek Afridi songs :D

lol OMG same here, i have them on my ipod too! :inzi