The Rajnikant Phenomenon

I am glad you enjoyed our hospitality bro ,I am not sure how an outsider finds it but I believe majority of Hyderabadis like any other place are very friendly and welcoming .

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk 2

Very friendly people. The shopkeepers had named me Mohtesham bhai. Whenever I went to the shops, they would say "Mohtesham bhai ko pehle do". Btw, I am not even half of Mohtesham.

Staying in Hyderabad was educational for me. There were burqa clad girls holding MBA books, waiting at the bus stop. So much different from the stereotypes.

One thing I didn't like was the state of affairs of historical places like Charminar and Golconda Fort, particularly the Mosques inside.

Very friendly people. The shopkeepers had named me Mohtesham bhai. Whenever I went to the shops, they would say "Mohtesham bhai ko pehle do". Btw, I am not even half of Mohtesham.

Staying in Hyderabad was educational for me. There were burqa clad girls holding MBA books, waiting at the bus stop. So much different from the stereotypes.

One thing I didn't like was the state of affairs of historical places like Charminar and Golconda Fort, particularly the Mosques inside.

Lol Did they meant Mohtesham -professional body builder :D. Where did you stayed in Hyderabad .

There are plans to renovate these historical places in hyderabad but like anything in India it takes ages to implement the plans.

Do you even watch tamil movies?? Cause the superstar of tamil cinema is VIKRAM... followed by SURYA(The hero in Ghajini)... Then there is MADHAVAN who acts in hindi movies..

How can this guy be a superstar if he is just upcoming.. he just made one movie..

how funny is that???Vikram is not the best
Surya is the best.....and dont bring Madhavan into the league of superstars.

Lol Did they meant Mohtesham -professional body builder :D. Where did you stayed in Hyderabad .

There are plans to renovate these historical places in hyderabad but like anything in India it takes ages to implement the plans.

Yes, the same Mohtesham.

I stayed at Begumpet near old airport. Hyderabad had everything for a person like me. Biryani at Cafe Madina near Charminar ( I think Paradise is overrated), classics and other books at Abids for bibliophiles, or just watching the pigeons fly at Mecca Masjid. Plus the people didn't mind talking about sensitive issues with me and it was a learning experience for me. I had shifted to Hyderabad just a week after the bomb blasts and was a bit paranoid initially.

I think the reason is that the buildings come under Archaelogical Survey of India (or do they come under Wakf?) and the Hyderabad municipal corporation has no big say in it.

Forgot to add. Did not like the sweet desserts of Hyderabad. Khubani ka meetha and double ka meetha was only tried once and didn't try it again. :)

Yes, the same Mohtesham.

I stayed at Begumpet near old airport. Hyderabad had everything for a person like me. Biryani at Cafe Madina near Charminar ( I think Paradise is overrated), classics and other books at Abids for bibliophiles, or just watching the pigeons fly at Mecca Masjid. Plus the people didn't mind talking about sensitive issues with me and it was a learning experience for me. I had shifted to Hyderabad just a week after the bomb blasts and was a bit paranoid initially.

I think the reason is that the buildings come under Archaelogical Survey of India (or do they come under Wakf?) and the Hyderabad municipal corporation has no big say in it.

Forgot to add. Did not like the sweet desserts of Hyderabad. Khubani ka meetha and double ka meetha was only tried once and didn't try it again. :)

Begumpet is a nice place to stay ,I used to hang out with my friends in Ameerpet / Begumpet area during my engineering days .

I can understand how you must have felt coming to a new place when there was fear in the air .

Yes these sites come under ASI but wakf would have done the same as i said earlier corruption and laziness is in our blood.

To be honest being a fitness freak I rarely eat sweets but biryani is something I cant resist.

sent from my Galaxy SII with Sleek ICS ROM

Only Rajnikanth

* Einstein Said: Everything is relative.
Karunanidhi said: Relative is everthing.
Rajinikanth said: I am everything.

* Rajinikanth doesn't answer nature's call. Nature answers Rajinikanth's call

* Govt of India pays tax to Rajinikanth for living here

* When Rajinikanth goes to a gym to workout, no one can workout since Rajini uses all the weights available.

* Einstein said you can't move at the speed of light, obviously he was never kicked by Rajinikanth

* Why Himalayas are rising? It's simple. Rajinikanth lives in Chennai. Lever effect.

* Munni Badnaam hui Rajinikanth ke liye

* Rajinikanth can make his wife admit her mistakes

* Rajinikanth doesn't enjoy animation movies because he can see the gaps between the 24 frames every second

* The reason why Rajinikanth stuttered in the movie Darr, because he saw Rajinikanth behind Juhi

* When Rajinikanth gets depressed, the world faces great depression

* Rajinikanth is a vegetarian… He doesn't eat animals until he first puts them into vegetative state with his blow

* If Rajinikanth's PC hangs… its time for next windows release…

* Rajinikanth can sneeze with open eyes.

* Rajini is the reason why we don't have any other superheros in India

* Rajinikanth can make 2 parallel lines intersect just by staring at them.

* Rajinikanth can make dog say "Meow" !!

* Santa Claus waits for a gift from Rajinikanth every Christmas.

* Rajinikanth taught yoga to Baba Ramdev.

* Rajinikanth taught us all... Impossible is nothing...

* One of Rajinikanth's hobby: Swimming on Tsunami.

* Sh!t happens to everyone.. Even to Rajini... One time he coudn't kill 100 bears with a single punch but only 99 died.

* Rajinikanth uses Ambuja cement as tooth powder

* Once Rajinikanth dropped a coin while he was standing in the belcony... He went down to pick it up, but it was not there.... hmmmm... He reached there before the coin...

* Rajinikanth was not amused by Gandhi’s non violence movement.

* Lifetime Warranty does not exist only because of Rajnikanth

* If you want a list of Rajinikanth's enemies, just check the extinct species list.

* When RAJNI had surgery, the anesthesia was applied to the doctors.

* Adam and Eve are children of Rajinikanth

* Rajinikanth is so fast that he always comes yesterday

* Rajinikanth can get rid of his shadow

* Rajini's fav desert: Lal michi ki meetha kheer

* Rajini can eat dosa with chop sticks

* Tornado changes course when it sees Rajini standing in it's way

* Police dept is bored because of 0 crime in the city where rajini lives

* Gabbar singh forgets his dialogues when he sees Rajinikanth

* Rajini won the best actor oscar for his acting in a game of dumb charades

* The box office collection of the movie RA-One Was less than parking collection of ROBOT.......!

* Once Rajnikanth became the coach of Indian cricket team and guess wha India won the Fifa world cup !

* People update status from BlackBerry, iPhone, iPad, etc. Rajinikant updates his facebook status with a calculator !!

* Rajinikant got 150 questions in exam paper asking - "Solve any 100 questions" He solved all 150 and wrote, " Rascalla!, CHECK ANY 100!"

* Rajini participates in long jump once every four year.... And those years are called LEAP year

* Once Rajnikanth entered bigg boss...The next day announcement was made... Rajnikanth chahte hai ki bigg boss confession room me aaye

* Once Rajni was the guest contestant in KBC. Amitabh says: Computerji, Rajnikantji to phela sawaal poochiye. Computer: main lifeline use karna chahta hu.

* Ek bar Rajinikanth ne ek aadmi ko "Go to Hell" kaha... That person is now known as Yamraj !!

* Rajinikanth knows Ek chutki sindur ke kimat... Rs 0.0234355884

* Once Rajinikanth told joke to a little kid... Now he is known as laughing buddha

* Rajinikanth can cure cancer with his first aid box

* Once Rajinikanth used the support of a building to tie his shoe lace, the building is known as Leaning tower of Pisa.

* Rajinikanth knows those two persons.. who shake hands in NOKIA cell phones...!!

* Ram and Ravan were in a serious fight..
In the middle of the fight Ravan suddenly stopped after he saw someone standing behind Ram
Ravan : Acha chal bye..
Ram : Arey kya hua?
Ravan : Kuch nai ..bas bye
Ram : Arey lekin hua kya??
Ravan : Itni si baat ke liye Rajinikanth ko kyun bulaya yaar? :-)

* Rajinikanth's dog can bend a pipe with it's tail.

Lord Shiva: Mera Trishul kahan hai ?
Parvati: Rajnikanth le gaya.
Shiva: Kyun?
Parvati: Maggi khaane ke liye !!!

* Michael Jackson's moon walk is no match for Rajinikanth's Sun Walk...

* Rajinikanth Calls In Indian Airlines- how long it takes for a flight from Chennai to Kolkata?
Airline:1 hour Sir.
Rajnikanth: Issey accha mein paidal chala jau..

* The apple which fell on newton was actually thrown by Rajinikanth

* Only Rajinijanth has 32 wisdom teeth.

* When Rajinikanth goes thru immigration.. the officers show him thier passports

* Sun doesn't rise until Rajinikanth says 'Good Morning'

* Once Rajnikant, after chewing the 'PAAN', spit on the wall of a building.
Today that building is popularly known as THE RED FORT..

* Once Rajinikath shouted at a boy for not wearing cap in the hot sun.
Today that boy is known as Himesh Reshammiya.

* Rajnikanth Saw The Movie Break k Baad before the Break !!!

* Rajnikanth's pulse is measured in richter scale.

* Rajnikanth was practicing for a spelling test..the rough sheet he used is known as oxford dictionary..

* Rajnikanth has seen the face of the fat lady who owns the house in tom n jerry..

* Rajnikanth ploughs the field using nothing but his toes.

* Once spiderman,superman and batman visited rajnikant's house together.. it was teachers day!

* Rajinikanth can whistle and smile at the same time...

* Computer doesn't give warning message to Rajini… Rajini warns computer

* Rajini awards goes to Oscar

* Twitter follows Rajini

* When Rajnikant get angry at the Sun, it hides behind the moon… that phenomenon is called Solar eclipse.

* When rajnikant farts, all the girls follow him

* Rajini was born on 30th Feb, since then that date was removed from calendar so that noone else gets the same birthday.

* Rajnikanth can run Windows 7 on 64KB memory.

* Rajni never tweets, he only roars.

* Who can stop more than 50 cars with 1 hand... Trafic police.. Haar baar Rajinikanth thodi hoga...

* God is not Rajinikanth.

* Once Rajni was fined by cops for overspeeding at a 75 miles/hr zone... while walking ...

* Rajnikanth can send an SMS from a Landline phone.

* Rajnikanth doesn't write books... words assemble themselves.

* Rajinikant does not get frostbite. Rajnikant bites frost.

* Rajinikanth doesn't shower. He only takes blood baths.

* Rajinikanth's brain works faster than Chacha Chaudhury's.

* Rajni’s bike has semicircular tyres...

* We live in an expanding universe. All of it is trying to get away from Rajinikanth.

* Behind every successful man, there is a woman. Behind every dead man, there is Rajanikanth.

* Every morning rajni goes for spacewalk.

* When Rajnikant dies..his tombstone will not read RIP...... ......... It will read.......BRB!!

* Ghosts have been debating for ages whether Rajinikanth really exists or not.
But they are scared anyway.

* In Rajinikanth's wedding, the fire took the saath phere of Rajinikanth and his bride.

* Only Rajinikanth can kiss his own ass.

* Computer viruses are looking for Anti-Rajinikanth software.

* When Rajnikanth was a kid he made his mom eat her vegetables.

* The Great Wall of China was originally created to keep Rajnikant out.
They didn't know that Rajinikanth can walk through walls.

* Rajnikant can tie his shoes with his feet. Wink !

* In the back of the book of world records, it says "All records are held by Rajnikant.
The ones listed are in second place."

* Rajnikant can make a fire by rubbing two ice-cubes together.

* Rajnikanth and Superman once had arm wrestled and the loser had to wear his
underwear over his pants... We all know who won..!! It was even worse for Spiderman.
He had to wear his underwear over his head.

* Rajnikant irons his Pants with those still on.

* Rajnikant can squeeze orange juice from a banana.

* Rajnikanth can write into a READ ONLY file.

* Rajnikant once wrote his autobiography. Today that book is known as
"Guiness book of world records" and his childhood homework is now called Wikipedia

* What do you call Rajnikanth's Aunty ?? Rajini-Ki-Aunt !!!

* Rajnikant first takes the gold medal and then starts the race

* Rajnikanth went for morning walk...... In the afternoon police stopped him.. Because he
reached USA without visa..!!!

* Rajni gave permission to Sachin to score those hundreds..

* Alfred Noble is nominated for RAJNIKANTH award !

* Rajnikant knows the exact value of Pi upto a Googol

* Rajnikanth laughs at you and your silly jokes about him even before you think them up.

* Some actor set benchmarks in cinema, Rajnikanth sets deskmarks

* Rajnikanth has a deep and abiding respect for human life unless it gets in his way.

* Whenever Rajnikant makes an error, it’s an invention.

* Once God was surprised at something, he exclaimed "OMR" ("Oh my Rajnikaant!")

* There is no Ctrl button on Rajnikant's pc beacuse Rajnikant is always in control.

* Rajnikant cannot fly. He just jumps and chooses when to come down.

* Only Rajnikant knows Kaun Banega Crorepati.

* Only Rajnikant knows Choli Ke Peechhe Kya Hai.

* President is Indian citizen no.1...Rajnikant's number is 0

* Rajnikant twice won arguments with his wife.

* Rajini doesn�t need water supply. He can mix hydrogen and oxygen and produce water
whenever he wants.

* There in nothing Rajini�Kant do.

* Rajnikanth runs until the Treadmill gets tired
* Rajinikanth wanted to organize a small show for his family and friends and
that's how CommonWealth Games came to India.

* How did Paul Octopus died?? He was asked to predict Rajanikanth's death.

* The missing piece of the Apple logo was eaten by Rajinikanth.

* Rajinikanth's email id... gmail@RAJINIKANTH.com

* Rajinikanth had to make 24 runs in just 1 ball remaining. He hit the ball in such a way
that it got broken into 4 pieces and he got 4 sixers.

* Genies rub Rajinikanth and he grants them three wishes.

* You will lose the game even though you have "3 aces" ... if the opponent have "1 Rajinikanth"

* Basketball player: "I can spin a basketball on my finger for 2 hours, can U?".
Rajinikanth: "How the hell do U think the earth rotates? "

* Viagra needs Rajinikanth.

* Rajanikanth can set ants on fire with a magnifying glass. At night.

* Warning on Condom packet "There is no such thing as protection from Rajinikanth!"

* Even Gajini remembers Rajini.

* Rajinikanth wear sunglasses to protect the sun from his rage.

* Rajinikanth can **** his name in concrete.

* Rajinikanth was offered Aamir's role in "Ghajini" but he denied. Because Rajanikanth
can only give memory loss.
* Rajanikanth can make onions cry.

* Rajanikanth can delete the Recycle Bin.

* Rajinikanth can divide by 0 (zero).

* Rajanikanth can build a snowman... out of rain.

* Bullets dodge Rajanikanth.

* Rajinikanth leaves messages before the beep.

* Rajinikanth doesn't wear a watch. He decides what time it is.

* Rajinikanth once ate an entire bottle of sleeping pills. They made him blink.

* Rajinikanth can handle the truth.

* Rajinikanth knows Victoria's secret.

* East India Company left India in 1947, because Rajinikanth was supposed to be born in 1949.

* Rajinikanth has already been to Mars, that's why there are no signs of life there.

* Rajinikanth doesn't breathe. Air hides in his lungs for protection.

* Death once had a near Rajinikanth experience.

* A Handicap parking sign does not signify that this spot is for handicapped people. It is actually in fact a warning, that the spot belongs to Rajanikanth and that you will be handicapped if you park there.

* Rajinikanth made an IPhone 8G for himself.

* Rajinikanth can answer a missed call.

* Once upon a time, a wild boar got in Rajinikanth's way & was pulled up by his nose & thrown 30 miles away. Today its descendents are known as elephants.

* Rajinikanth doesnt pay attention - attention pays him.

* Rajinikanth stared at the sun for hours, the sun then blink.

* Rajinikanth once entered a race he came first, second and third.

* Rajinikath once wrote a cheque the bank bounced.

* Once Rajinikanth while playing the game said "Statue" to a lady. Today it is known as the Statue of Liberty.

* Once Rajanikanth participated in 100 mts race and obviously he won. Light came second.

* A girl once lost her virginity. Rajinikanth brought it back.

* Once Rajinikanth was playing cricket, and he hit a six.... Now the ball is called Pluto.

* One nite while sleeping, Rajinikanth was mumbling some random numbers... That was how the log table was invented.

* Face book, twitter and orkut join Rajini today.

* Once a photo of Rajinikanth was given to get it xeroxed.... but got 2 xerox machhines.

* Rajinikanth knows which came first,the egg or the chicken.

* Whales live in deep oceans.. because they know Rajinikanth lives on land.

* Rajinikanth can cut diamond with his finger.

* Rajinikath doesn't use condoms... there is no such thing as protection from Rajinikanth

* Rajinikanth doesn't need a visa to travel abroad, he just jumps from the tallest building in Chennai and holds himself in the air while the earth rotates.

* Rajinikanth got small pox when he was a kid. As a result small pox is now eradicated.

* There is no such thing as evolution, it's just a list of creatures that Rajinikanth allowed to live.

* Archaeologists unearthed an old English dictionary dating back to the year 1236. It defined "victim" as "one who has
encountered Rajinikanth".

* Ghosts are actually caused by Rajanikanth killing people faster than death can process them.

* Only Rajinikanth can make wind visible.

* If you spell Rajanikanth wrong on Google it doesn't say, "Did you mean Rajanikanth?" It simply replies, "Run while you still have the chance."

* When Rajanikanth gives you the finger, he's telling you how many seconds you have left to live.

* Rajanikanth can kill two stones with one bird.

* Rajanikanth was once on Celebrity Wheel of Fortune and was the first to spin. The next 29 minutes of the show consisted of everyone standing around awkwardly, waiting for the wheel to stop.

* Leading hand sanitizers claim they can kill 99.9 percent of germs. Rajanikanth can kill 100 percent of whatever he wants.

* There is no such thing as global warming. Rajanikanth was cold, so he turned the sun up.

* It takes Rajanikanth 20 minutes to watch 60 Minutes.

* Behind every successful man, there is a woman. Behind every dead man, there is Rajanikanth.

* Rajanikanth destroyed the periodic table, because Rajanikanth only recognizes the element of surprise.

* Rajanikanth got his drivers license at the age of 16 Seconds.

* When you say "No one's perfect", Rajanikanth takes this as a personal insult.

Finally, the reason for last year's power failure in many North Indian states are out.

Rajni sir was charging his mobile phone.

New movie of his coming out.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/kyt_V_UZfvI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The animation quality isn't that good.

New movie of his coming out.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/kyt_V_UZfvI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The animation quality isn't that good.

Looks dated by 20 years at least.

Rajnikant and his blind fan following

So, another Rajni movie and the usual hype and hoopla accompanying it.

Air Asia flew a plane to bring the actor’s fans from the Far East for a special show, topped with food and the works. And there is a bus running with Rajinikanth’s photographs splashed all over.

Thousands of fans are all set to anoint tall wooden cut-outs of the star with milk -- despite huge protests by milkmen in Chennai and elsewhere not to waste this precious food in a country where more than a third of the population goes to bed hungry, where children do not get enough milk, if at all.

I have heard after Rajni's entry in a film, there is no dialogue for 10-15 min because it is a normal sight to see people go crazy, go to the screen, shout, throw currencies at the screen.

Seriously baffles me, how can people be so stupid. Many film stars and sports-persons are revered all over the world but Rajni fans take it to whole different level. What makes them worship Rajni?
[MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] and all other posters from Chennai, your insights are welcome.

I agree with the milk thing its stupid,about fans i guess its just fun to enjoy someone's movies like that bro and his screen presence ,I get a lot of it also has to do with our culture of idol worship but surely next generation is not going to do anything like that.

I agree we can't hear movie dialogues at all,I remember going on 100th day for Chandramukhi and oh my still the theatre was full,I think its something about his dialogue delivery which has become a part of Tamil cinema and tbh no one is able to replicate the same.

When some Tamilians can be hardcore Vijay, Ajith fans, then you shouldn't be surprised.

Vijay......Ajith......

What's wrong with Ajit?

What's not wrong with Ajith?

So is it safe to assume you also watched the first show at 4 am?

Nah....don't really care.

Probably will be an okayish movie only. If others rave about it, I might have checked it out.

Today I got some free tickets and my mom (who ain't no movie fan or Rajini fan) wants to go. So going with her tomorrow.

lol.

Never understood public's obsession with this clown.Even Salman Khan is better.

Salman doesn't have 1/10th of the presence this guy has on screen,inspite of all his FLAB! The less talked about Salman's comic timing the better.

TBH Vijay fans annoy me more than Ajith fans,could be also coz i prefer Ajith over Vijay,sadly I've lost interest in Tamil cinema or even Hindi cinema,I booked Star Trek instead of Kabali(coz no tickets) but doesn't look like the reviews are great and i might give it a miss itself.

Indian cinema tbh is not able to make engaging cinema for Pan India,for which we would be excited to go to cinema hall for.Surprisingly Bahubali,PK,Bhaijan were ones out of which found Bahubali,Bhaijaan not that great.

It's a Tamil thing, I think. Look at the way they revere their politicians, even.

On a side note, when MGR dies, Chennai literally rioted for a few days. I know people who were there at the time -who claim MGR groupies were randomly beating up people, the city shut down, offices closed (Day 1) and then on later days passers by were being forced to bow before MGR's framed photos. Some fans committed suicide. A friend says he even saw a group of befuddled firangs being made to 'pray' to an MGR picture outside the railway station. :))

It's a Tamil thing, I think. Look at the way they revere their politicians, even.

On a side note, when MGR dies, Chennai literally rioted for a few days. I know people who were there at the time -who claim MGR groupies were randomly beating up people, the city shut down, offices closed (Day 1) and then on later days passers by were being forced to bow before MGR's framed photos. Some fans committed suicide. A friend says he even saw a group of befuddled firangs being made to 'pray' to an MGR picture outside the railway station. :))

Rajnikanth,Jayalalitha will be the last from such a generation of craze,if a Vijay,Ajith fan tries to do anything like that he would be smacked right away!

And what is the reason behind this hero worshiping?

Idol worshipping,in TN there aren't much things to do bro other than sports,studies and Movies also i think earlier the fans were like serious ones owadays its just that fun to say things like "Thalaivaaa", similar to how educated Punjabis,Haryanvis in Delhi,Punjab,Haryana want to be Paindoo for the fun of it.

Can watch for one time.

Just hope They don't give the National award for the best actor (like they give it to the 'Panama' actor last year). There are many to choose from.

Can watch for one time.

Just hope They don't give the National award for the best actor (like they give it to the 'Panama' actor last year). There are many to choose from.

That is still better than Harry met Hum Tum getting it under Congress for Saif from Tagore wanna be Patuadi Momy.

Both were wrong though but harry waala kuch zaida hogaya!

Salman doesn't have 1/10th of the presence this guy has on screen,inspite of all his FLAB! The less talked about Salman's comic timing the better.

What screen presence? The guy looks and behaves like a middle-aged sabzi wala.

Try watching his movie in a cinema with South Indians,anywhere in the world,UK,Canada,Australia,Usa,India,Singapore,Malaysia you would understand what i'm saying.

There are various actors who look better than him notable Kamal,Aarya,Ajith(in Tamil) random etc but screen presence sabki bas ki baat nahi. He connects more with his audience and as SIF already said his charisma!

His old films were good but his acting in new films are awful. I tried watching his few new movies but changed the channel in few minutes. He is a good human being and down to earth person, this is the reason everyone likes him including his critics.

I heard that along with rajni and other leading actor kamalhassan, vijay, ajith didnt even care about the chennai disaster and donated much less than what other film industry actors have donated especially the telugu actors.. But still people go crazy about this rajni shows their weak IQ and how much this guy has infiltrate his presence into the minds of this poor people... State of chennai is ruled by people who are connected to film industry somehow and all the three leading parties are from jayalalitha, karunanithy and vijaykant..as far as chennai state is concerned get famous in film industry and rule the province..

Try watching his movie in a cinema with South Indians,anywhere in the world,UK,Canada,Australia,Usa,India,Singapore,Malaysia you would understand what i'm saying.

There are various actors who look better than him notable Kamal,Aarya,Ajith(in Tamil) random etc but screen presence sabki bas ki baat nahi. He connects more with his audience and as SIF already said his charisma!

Try watching Bhai's movie in a theatre on Eid day and you would understand what I'm talking about.

Tamil Movie industry far more superior

Your opinion but the fact is Rajni tried to make his name in Bollywood but faied miserably so got back to what he does best.

Look at how Lullu he looks in some of the Bollywood movies he has worked in, Hum for example. Just given third grade roles so good he quit Bollywood.

Salman can visit 90 % of the country and there will be Crowds thronging to meet him in nook and corner of every street. And then come regional stars like Ranji, Fajni who would hardly be popular in 10 % of the country, restricted to their exclusive zones.

I'm a fan of nobody just a fact.

Your opinion but the fact is Rajni tried to make his name in Bollywood but faied miserably so got back to what he does best.

Look at how Lullu he looks in some of the Bollywood movies he has worked in, Hum for example. Just given third grade roles so good he quit Bollywood.

Iam not Rajni fan , am just saying Bollywood is not the yardstick .

Salman can visit 90 % of the country and there will be Crowds thronging to meet him in nook and corner of every street. And then come regional stars like Ranji, Fajni who would hardly be popular in 10 % of the country, restricted to their exclusive zones.

I'm a fan of nobody just a fact.

True. But how does that take away anything from Rajni.? Salman Khan's Super Stardom is just few years old from the movie wanted. But rajni's superstardom has been going on forever. and when it comes to fan frenzy and fervour bhai fans are nothing.

I am mostly a fan of salman but judging or comparing their popularity is wrong because hindi is more or less the national language and more people from non hindi belt watch bollywood movies than tamil because of knowing the language and the location of bollywood in mumbai rather than north and also because of the lack of their own movie industry and hence the 90% for salman 10% for rajni in popularity.

Your opinion. Hindi audience and Tamil audience are different. In fact no regional actor was able to make it into Bollywood. Be it mamooty or Kamal or Vishnu Vardhan or Uttam Kumar. It is not easy.

Coming to Hum, I wanna share a story. The movie was shot in Ooty and the scene where old Amitabh unites with Kimi Katkar needed a lot of audience. So the director spread the word that Amitabh is coming. Quite a few people came but not many. Then he spread the word that Rajni is coming and called him (even though he wasn't in the scene). The crowds came pouring in and started chanting his name. Looking at this Amitabh told Govinda that "Ise kehte Hain star power. Iske saamne mai kuch bhi nahi" and Govinda said "sir agar aap hi aise kehenge to mai kya Hoon"

This is a story from an interview Govinda gave long long ago. I'm not making it up.

Bhai who watches this babajee no offense, standard must be pretty low where ever his movies are watched!

Rajinikanth is loved for what he is off screen more than what he does on screen. He is extremely humble human being. You should have seen his speech during Kamal Hassan's 50th year celebration on a television channel. The way he praised the actor by talking himself down was amazing. The guy does lots of charity. Here you go:

"After my life, My whole property will go the Raghavendra Public Charity trust. Each paisa will go to the Tamil people who gave me life and not one paisa will go to my family. This came out of hardwork, Not me, But You, its the 5Rs 10rRs money you spent on ticket to watch me"

This is the reason people like him. Please stop abusing someone without knowing anything about him and just based on his looks.

Nothing wrong with it. He's like Chuck Norris for Indians and few Pakistanis. Sometimes you have guys in media with the correct personality and appearence to trigger a cult following which rajnikant has much like Chuck.

KRK was right about South Indian Cinema.Fans do not have brains and go to watch movies just because of the stories

Indians always need an idol to look up to.. The blind following is ridiculous, declaring holiday when movie is releasing, wasting milk.. Even when Jayalalitha was convicted for corruption people were actually grieving. Non sense I tell you...

Unfortunately nobody would understand the craze for Rajni if they don't understand Tamil or Telugu. The man has incredible style, great lifestyle and is known to be very charitable. True that the fans can go OTT many a time. I can't exactly explain why people go nuts for him but calling him names just because of skin color shows the upbringing of some people here. Ignore if you don't like, but don't be racist :)

For those mocking him, show me one video of any other actor who can be so down to earth even after achieving so much stardom! This man is awesome. No matter what people say, he the one and only superstar of India.

I am neither a fan of Salman or Rajni.

But being a regional star his movies gets released in 12000cinemas with shows starting as early as 4am.

Salman khan's mostly 1/3rd of that volume even after being popular in 90% of the country.

Unfortunately nobody would understand the craze for Rajni if they don't understand Tamil or Telugu. The man has incredible style, great lifestyle and is known to be very charitable. True that the fans can go OTT many a time. I can't exactly explain why people go nuts for him but calling him names just because of skin color shows the upbringing of some people here. Ignore if you don't like, but don't be racist :)

I would've posted in this thread but the thread has been quite predictably hijacked by the usual bunch of racist Indian noobs, it's futile anyway..

Can't understand why he gets so much hate! Neither did he give any controversial statements for publicity of his films, nor was involved in any hit and run cases. He is philanthropic and gives back to the society. No wonder South Asia is the hub of racism.

I'm not his biggest fan, in fact I used to make fun of Rajni movies (new ones) to tease the Rajni fans in my hostel. He is humble and down to earth, though his philanthropic activities are a bit overrated, there are others that do much more. But to make fun of him just because of his appearance is quite low, all the more ironic when Indians cry of racism when they get slagged off as curry munchers and dot heads in the west.

What you see as hate is actually wise people trying to educate the stupid fans to see a clown for what he is - just an entertainer. and not to erect temples, spray milk and go batshit crazy because they have nothing else to be proud of.

Indians always need an idol to look up to.. The blind following is ridiculous, declaring holiday when movie is releasing, wasting milk.. Even when Jayalalitha was convicted for corruption people were actually grieving. Non sense I tell you...

Agreed. Grade-A morons, the lot of them:

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WRxj200iRCg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bit like the death eaters and Voldemort for crying out loud.

I bet there will be suicides the day rajnikant dies. It would be funny if it was not so tragic. Waste of life to become a devotee of matinee idols.

I am neither a fan of Salman or Rajni.

But being a regional star his movies gets released in 12000cinemas with shows starting as early as 4am.

Salman khan's mostly 1/3rd of that volume even after being popular in 90% of the country.

The thing is rajnikant is popular in Japan has more fan clubs in the world.

Sent from my SM-N900 using Tapatalk

True. But how does that take away anything from Rajni.? Salman Khan's Super Stardom is just few years old from the movie wanted. But rajni's superstardom has been going on forever. and when it comes to fan frenzy and fervour bhai fans are nothing.

I am mostly a fan of salman but judging or comparing their popularity is wrong because hindi is more or less the national language and more people from non hindi belt watch bollywood movies than tamil because of knowing the language and the location of bollywood in mumbai rather than north and also because of the lack of their own movie industry and hence the 90% for salman 10% for rajni in popularity.

Actually if you go to Muslim dominated areas of UP the belt of Meerut, Moradabad, Muzzaffarnagar etc Bhai's fan following is huge.. Ofcourse not as much as rajni who is basically a being made a god (what a joke)..

The thing is rajnikant is popular in Japan has more fan clubs in the world.

Sent from my SM-N900 using Tapatalk

True Vir sanghvi once said that he was talking to a japanese diplomat and after some time the diplomat asked him " Will Thalaiva join politics?? Rajni is a big star in japan. His muthu was a big hit and some distributers decided to dub other indian movies mainly hindi with srk but they did not work. I was in chennai when lingaa was released and even there japanese fans had come all the way to see his movie. Even during modi's visit to japn the english media which acts as if it is national media was all suprised that people in japan were talking about rajini.

Forget all that arnold Schwarzenegger was in chennai for the music launch of shankar's movie. There is a whole world out there other than bollywood. Just beacause pakistanis and north indians don't know or care seems jackass. When aamir was on promotion spree for PK he went in disguise to most indian metros. he said that he need not have used disguise in chennai because people there did not know who he was. Take that!

True Vir sanghvi once said that he was talking to a japanese diplomat and after some time the diplomat asked him " Will Thalaiva join politics?? Rajni is a big star in japan. His muthu was a big hit and some distributers decided to dub other indian movies mainly hindi with srk but they did not work. I was in chennai when lingaa was released and even there japanese fans had come all the way to see his movie. Even during modi's visit to japn the english media which acts as if it is national media was all suprised that people in japan were talking about rajini.

Forget all that arnold Schwarzenegger was in chennai for the music launch of shankar's movie. There is a whole world out there other than bollywood. Just beacause pakistanis and north indians don't know or care seems jackass. When aamir was on promotion spree for PK he went in disguise to most indian metros. he said that he need not have used disguise in chennai because people there did not know who he was. Take that!

Is Rajni famous in Japan? With their love for comics and cartoons, it makes sense.

personally, I feel embarrassed when rajni is introduced as some kind of indian superstar to foreigners. Makes India look bad.

Actually if you go to Muslim dominated areas of UP the belt of Meerut, Moradabad, Muzzaffarnagar etc Bhai's fan following is huge.. Ofcourse not as much as rajni who is basically a being made a god (what a joke)..
Last year I saw a sea of skull caps in every major cinema of Jaipur when bajrangi bhaijan was released.Couldn't find a ticket even in black.Such is the popularity of Bhai.And its not just Muslims alone .Bhai's secular nature is the reason why so many Hindus are his big fans.

Is Rajni famous in Japan? With their love for comics and cartoons, it makes sense.

personally, I feel embarrassed when rajni is introduced as some kind of indian superstar to foreigners. Makes India look bad.
Ur embrassment is ur problem.? I also feel embarrassed as i lived in usa and they generally make fun of indian movies all that singing and dancing. Makes india look stupid and bad etc. Still i think it is not a big deal i enjoy indian movies far more than hollywood ones. Who cares what others think.!

I share your embarrassment caused by Bollywood. But at least the actors are presentable.

Last year I saw a sea of skull caps in every major cinema of Jaipur when bajrangi bhaijan was released.Couldn't find a ticket even in black.Such is the popularity of Bhai.And its not just Muslims alone .Bhai's secular nature is the reason why so many Hindus are his big fans.

Oh ofcourse, didn't mean only muslims Hindu's ofcourse love him too.. I was just saying in those cities the craze for Bhai is more than in let's say some hindu dominated areas.. He has come a long long way from the times of Veer, London Dreams, God Tussi great ho etc.. SRK has regressed (Probably due to his fan following being amongst girls and those girls are now grown ups/married while new girls prefer Ranbir/Varun/Siddhart etc) while Salman has gone onto a different level (Probably since his fan following amongst young men has not been impacted since today's young kids also love his movies for all the fighting and his attitude and physique)..

Salman has huge fan base in India,Pakistan,Afghanistan or anywhere in this world where people can speak or understand Hindi or Urdu whereas Rajni is famous in only small diaspora of South Indians(Many of them are here in UAE)