The standard of the Big Bash League is very low

minamino

Local Club Star
I don't see any player in BBL for whom I would like to pay to watch. I get there are many Australian stars but even most of them are busy on national duty whereas the overseas contigent of BBL is one of the worst. This time, it's a bit better but in previous seasons it was very average.

BBL is the second best league after IPL..the standard of cricket is quiet good and it given stars like Lynn.

BBL is the best league. Yes, even better than IPL. There is good, exciting competition from all teams, so the winner of the BBL and who comes second, last place, etc. a lot of young and exciting talented players are discovered in the BBL, good crowds, and one of the best things about BBL are the results/ matches have/ are balanced meaning, unlike in IPL and other leagues where there are 200+ scores almost every match, sometimes bat will dominate the match (high scoring matches), other times bowling will dominate the match (low scoring thrillers) or even, which makes almost every BBL match interesting to watch, and BBL has innovation, unlike all the other rip-off, boring and typical leagues. Just because Faheem Ashraf got selected doesn't mean the standard of the BBL is very low

It has lost it's sheen in the last couple of years. But it's still comfortably the second best T20 league in the world. And lol at it being better than IPL. Only place where it leads IPL is innovation. IPL has far better players and quality. Even Aussie international players don't play the BBL , but they queue up for the IPL. Tells you everything.

its exciting for sure. The quality of cricket isnt super high but the pitches, the crowd involvement (in IPL stadiums have attendance but crowd isnt as involved apart from just making noise), the innovation, the camera work etc is all top notch and makes it a fun viewing.

I neither watch IPL nor BBL, can you tell me what can crowd do apart from making noises to look more involved?

I take it that you watch both leagues so just being curious.

Quality of players determine the standard of the league and in that regard BBL is low in terms of quality .

Last time i checked a few BBL matches, most of the regular Australian National players were missing, Indian players are missing as per BCCIs policy and many other International team players are missing due to National team comnittments.

D Arcy Short, Mathew Wade, Callum Ferguson, Stonic were highest run scorers of the Last BBL tournament, that must tell you about the qualiy of the players and league.

Quality of players determine the standard of the league and in that regard BBL is low in terms of quality .

Last time i checked a few BBL matches, most of the regular Australian National players were missing, Indian players are missing as per BCCIs policy and many other International team players are missing due to National team comnittments.

D Arcy Short, Mathew Wade, Callum Ferguson, Stonic were highest run scorers of the Last BBL tournament, that must tell you about the qualiy of the players and league.

Not even that most of the times players like Klinger, Hussey topped the charts even though they were past their best.

bpl is nothing compared to lpl. let's be honest. Don't kid yourself. IPL is the real champions league of t20. Still. t20 is trash.

After Melbourne Renegades' announcement of acquiring the services of a fortunate Faheem Ashraf, there was a bound to be a thread slagging off the league as a whole.

BBL is far superior to PSL. Australian domestic cricketers are well coached and are product of an excellent system, which is why Faheem is going to be ruthlessly exposed in humiliating fashion.

The overseas contingent of BBL is worse than BPL and PSL. Dilbar, Samit, Gleeson, Gurney etc

I agree man lol It was so extremely poor. Some of the bowlers look worse than journey man. I caught only a few matches. IT was really poor.

IPL
PSL
BBL
CPL
BPL

BBL isn't ahead of PSL, no way. What does BBL has to offer? No-name domestic cricketers.

I neither watch IPL nor BBL, can you tell me what can crowd do apart from making noises to look more involved?

I take it that you watch both leagues so just being curious.

Not related to cricket but sometimes in other sports crowds makes it more entertaining for viewers than the game itself.

Cricket crowds are generally the most boring apart from golf. Sometimes the crowds are good like in ashes when songs and chants are sung loudly and the fever is high.

Sub continent crowds are boring, no charisma at all.

IPL
CPL
Canada GT20
PSL
BPL
BBL
MSL

Lol Canada gt20 being greater than PSL

I think PSL and CPL are similar level in terms of player quality

In terms of broadcasting and fan involvement BBL may be top

Caribbean league has overtaken BBL to be the second best franchise league in the last couple of years.

IPL
CPL
BBL
T20 Blast
PSL
Super smash
Mzansi
BPL

Lol Canada gt20 being greater than PSL

I think PSL and CPL are similar level in terms of player quality

In terms of broadcasting and fan involvement BBL may be top

Broadcasting of BBL is better but I was talking about international contingent quality in that list. Canada GT20 had some really good players playing it. Far better than PSL. Fan involvement is highest in IPL.

The commies are good. That is why the BBL "appears" to look better lol But the actual quality is less.

If you want good quality games you need strong rivlary. CSK vs Mumbai Indians rivalry is always great. It might not exist anymore with aging Dhoni.

Not related to cricket but sometimes in other sports crowds makes it more entertaining for viewers than the game itself.

Cricket crowds are generally the most boring apart from golf. Sometimes the crowds are good like in ashes when songs and chants are sung loudly and the fever is high.

Sub continent crowds are boring, no charisma at all.

Boring?
Is it because they neither booze and nor snooze off during the match?

Don't think many Aussies are going to lose sleep over this. They have a test team that look like world beaters, they look like favoueites for the world T20 and their ODI side looks much stronger than it did 18 months ago.

They will win the world T20. WI and England dark horses.

Looks like there are a lot of CPL fans around. Its a good league but definitely not one of the top leagues.

Big Bash used to be pretty good but has gone considerably in last season or two.

I think its something like this at the moment:

IPL
PSL (Dont know better selection of local and foreign players)/ I think 100 will give it tough competition
Natwest/ CPL
Big Bash
BPL
Manzi T20
Global T20 Canada
APL and T10 leagues

Far better than PSL?

PSL has
Watson
Hales
Lynn
Roy
Steyn
Plunkett
Pollard
Collin Munro
Collin Ingram
Chris Jordan
Russouw
Simmons
Darren Sammy
Liam Livingstone
Cameron Delport
Tom Banton
Tymal Mills
Ben Cutting
Keemo Paul
Fawad Ahmed etc

And add to that players of No 1 ranked T20 team in the world.

Far better than PSL?

PSL has
Watson
Hales
Lynn
Roy
Steyn
Plunkett
Pollard
Collin Munro
Collin Ingram
Chris Jordan
Russouw
Simmons
Darren Sammy
Liam Livingstone
Cameron Delport
Tom Banton
Tymal Mills
Ben Cutting
Keemo Paul
Fawad Ahmed etc

And add to that players of No 1 ranked T20 team in the world.

Canada Global T20 had:
Faf Du Plesis
Yuvraj Singh
Pollard
Boult
Duminy
Lynn
Sherfane Rutherford
Williamson
Bailey
Narine
Kuggelijn
Neesham
Cutting
Bravo
Henriques
Van Der Dussen
Gayle
Russell

Not to mention a lot of Pakistani players. So the foreign players of GT20 were much better than PSL.

Canada T20 isn't that great, you have to play at least 3 to 4 local candian players(don't know the exact rule).

PSL is quality tournament because of local fast bowling talent, and batting is covered by foreign cricketers but IPL is the best.

Canada T20 isn't that great, you have to play at least 3 to 4 local candian players(don't know the exact rule).

PSL is quality tournament because of local fast bowling talent, and batting is covered by foreign cricketers but IPL is the best.

I am talking about foreign players quality. That is much better than PSL.

That Test team will be dud outside Aus.

Canada Global T20 had:
Faf Du Plesis
Yuvraj Singh
Pollard
Boult
Duminy
Lynn
Sherfane Rutherford
Williamson
Bailey
Narine
Kuggelijn
Neesham
Cutting
Bravo
Henriques
Van Der Dussen
Gayle
Russell

Not to mention a lot of Pakistani players. So the foreign players of GT20 were much better than PSL.

How is the overall list you have mentioned better than PSL?

Also the quality of the league is dependent upon local talent too which in PSL is obviously far superior.

The commies are good. That is why the BBL "appears" to look better lol But the actual quality is less.

yaar at the end of the day anyone watches t20 leagues (other than their home country) for entertainment factor. So broadcasting, crowd involvement, different innovations and exciting commentary/interviews help BBL a lot. This is why BBL is usually the 2nd favorite league of most people.

Like I dont watch much of these leagues at all but i try to follow PSL. BBL is during winter break so i do catch it a lot of the times due to the timing factor and other reasons I just mentioned. IPL I usually follow if i switch on tv and by chance a big player is in action (AB, Steyn ,Maxwell etc)

IPL needs to do more tech wise , which will give it even more authority.

Also should have some tamasha stuff , like all star games or something.

How is the overall list you have mentioned better than PSL?

Also the quality of the league is dependent upon local talent too which in PSL is obviously far superior.

Most of the players in GT20 are still available for national selection whereas most foreign players in PSL have either retired or are at the late stages of their career.

GT20 is superior to any league played in UAE but the PSL is coming home now. :afridi

Australia have let the cat out the bag this year
Some very odd team selections mixed with the normal Australian orthodoxy surrounding t20 cricket

They need to find a way to schedule the BBL where the top Australian players can feature for most of the tournament.

Boring?
Is it because they neither booze and nor snooze off during the match?

Boring because they don't do anything other than shout and make noise after every 4 or 6 or a wicket. Nothing to boost viewership experience for people watching on TV.

Compared it to football where fans sing songs and boo players so hard it affects players.

Just lack charisma. In IPL, RCB fans sometimes are pretty good, must say that.

They need to find a way to schedule the BBL where the top Australian players can feature for most of the tournament.

Not going to happen, the BBL is not marketed for the serious cricket supporters. Its a family entertainment show and not serious cricket. Playing test cricket for Australia is still the prize.

You still didn't answer how the foreign contingent of PSL is better than GT20?

Below ones from PSL are currently active international cricketers and available for selection:

Hales
Roy
Jordan
Lynn
Van Der Dussen
Pollard
Munro
Steyn
Plunkett
Jordan
Simmons
Livingstone
Banton
Keemo Paul

In comparison to GT20 with only:

Williamson
Pollard (Common)
Boult
Neesham
Lynn (Common)
Rutherford
Van Der (Common)
Faf
Maybe add Kugglin as well

There is a clear difference between overall quality in my eyes.

Below ones from PSL are currently active international cricketers and available for selection:

Hales
Roy
Jordan
Lynn
Van Der Dussen
Pollard
Munro
Steyn
Plunkett
Jordan
Simmons
Livingstone
Banton
Keemo Paul

Williamson
Pollard (Common)
Boult
Neesham
Lynn (Common)
Rutherford
Van Der (Common)
Faf

Also add Dwayne Pretorius on PSL side.

Hales
Roy
Jordan
Lynn
Van Der Dussen
Pollard
Munro
Steyn
Plunkett
Jordan
Simmons
Livingstone
Banton
Keemo Paul

Williamson
Pollard (Common)
Boult
Neesham
Lynn (Common)
Rutherford
Van Der (Common)
Faf

How are Simmons, Plunkett, Keemo Paul better than Southee, Williamson, Faf Du Plessis. There are way more players like Chris Green, Klaassen, Ben McDermott who are much better players than most of the foreign players in PSL.

Firstky you were talking about active players now what exactly are you talking about?

Hales, Roy, Steyn, Ingram, Russouw, Steyn etc are worse than Ben Mcdermott and Klassen? What criteria are using?

Which are those most PSL players you are talking about?

[MENTION=151731]minamino[/MENTION] give some facts and numbers as what you are saying is completely subjective. You asked about currently active ones and I have already proved that number is more in PSL taking into account the list of GLT20 you provided.

Firstky you were talking about active players now what exactly are you talking about?

Hales, Roy, Steyn, Ingram, Russouw, Steyn etc are worse than Ben Mcdermott and Klassen? What criteria are using?

Which are those most PSL players you are talking about?

The fact that you had to use Steyn twice in your list shows the quality of foreign players in PSL. Hales and Roy okay fine but how washed out Steyn, Ingram who is on Kolpak, Russouw another kolpak are better than Klaassen and McDermott who both are young and still in contention for their respective national teams? You forgot Jimmy Neesham, are you gonna say Jimmy Neesham who almost won the WC for NZ is worse than Keemo Paul?

Not going to happen, the BBL is not marketed for the serious cricket supporters. Its a family entertainment show and not serious cricket. Playing test cricket for Australia is still the prize.

Would be nice to see the likes of Smith , Warner , Labuschange, play against Starc, Cummins, and Hazelwood.

The fact that you had to use Steyn twice in your list shows the quality of foreign players in PSL. Hales and Roy okay fine but how washed out Steyn, Ingram who is on Kolpak, Russouw another kolpak are better than Klaassen and McDermott who both are young and still in contention for their respective national teams? You forgot Jimmy Neesham, are you gonna say Jimmy Neesham who almost won the WC for NZ is worse than Keemo Paul?

Now the criterion is young players? :13:

Rossouw and Ingram are both very good T20 cricketers. Hales and Roy aren't just 'fine', they are amongst the best in the world in their roles.

So the argument is now based upon a typo in my post?

Again, either bring in some stats to prove your arguments that players you are mentioning are better than all the players I have mentioned in PSL. Neesham also played PSL I guess couple of seasons ago.

Your argument started with quality of players then when I presented the list of players which is much superior than GLT20, you moved the goal post to currently active players and then I gave list of players which is much larger than GLT20 which are currently active the you are moving the goal post to young and prospective players.

There is absolutely not metric upon which GLT20 can be compared to PSL (Any league rankings, financial success, crowd, players etc) however, you have every right to believe what you feel like.

Big Bash is too long..you can sustain such a long tournaments without star players....I find it little boring and monotonous watching second string local Australian players most of the time...

More big names nominate for the Big Bash Overseas Player Drafts

August 24, 2023

The Big Bash League has today announced a new batch of world-class cricketers who have nominated for the upcoming Weber WBBL and KFC BBL Overseas Player Drafts.

A list of top-tier nominations has been unveiled for the first Weber WBBL Overseas Player Draft, reinforcing the competitions’ status as a favourite amongst the world’s best cricketers. Cricket powerhouse and Proteas all-rounder Marizanne Kapp has put her name forward for selection in the Draft. One of the world’s best cricketers and potential Perth Scorchers retention pick, Kapp has played over 100 WBBL games and will be looking to add to that number this summer.

Fellow Proteas players Laura Wolvaardt, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Anneke Bosch and Tazmin Brits have also put their hands up for selection as well as former South Africa player and captain Dane van Niekerk. Wolvaardt (Strikers), Tryon (Thunder) and de Klerk (Heat) are eligible for retention picks, while van Niekerk, Bosch and Brits can be picked up without retention by any club.

On the men’s side, the KFC BBL Draft has a list of outstanding nominations, ensuring an electrifying season ahead. Sam Billings and David Willey are returning to the BBL Draft after both were selected as a first round Platinum pick last year. Billings was drafted by the Brisbane Heat at pick four, while Willey was selected by the Sydney Thunder at pick seven but withdrew ahead of the BBL|12 season.

The English talent continues to roll in with Dawid Malan, the number one ranked ICC Men’s All-time T20I batter nominating. With over 8500 T20 career runs to his name, if selected, BBL|13 will mark Malan’s second appearance in the competition.

Ashes opening batter Zak Crawley, who scored an impressive 189 runs in the first innings of the fourth test, has nominated after making his first appearance in the BBL with the Hurricanes last season. Batting star Harry Brook, who recently set the record for the fastest century in The Hundred scoring 105 runs off 42 balls, has also put his name forward for selection.

Joe Clarke (Stars), Will Jacks, Dan Lawrence, James Vince (Sixers), Tom Curran (Sixers), Ollie Pope, Gus Atkinson, Tom Banton (Heat) and Tom Kohler-Cadmore are also among the English talent hoping to be selected in the second BBL Overseas Player Draft.

Rounding out the latest players to be announced are BBL favourite and Renegades retention option Martin Guptill, and his fellow countryman and big-hitter, Jimmy Neesham (Hurricanes).

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said:

"The anticipation for the upcoming Draft is well and truly building. We have no doubt clubs will be faced with tough decisions given the abundance of top talent from across the globe to choose from.

“We are excited to see such an impressive lineup of players expressing their interest in being part of the upcoming Big Bash seasons via the Draft and look forward to releasing the final names and full list of player nominations on Monday.”

The Weber WBBL and KFC BBL Overseas Player Drafts will be broadcast on Fox Cricket on September 3. The full list of players to nominate for this year’s Drafts will be announced next Monday August 28. The players selected for the Platinum category of each Draft will be announced Wednesday August 30.

Retention Picks

Players in both the WBBL & BBL Overseas Player Drafts will be an eligible retention player if they fit any of the following criteria:

Have been in a Big Bash team squad for a minimum of two seasons and haven’t been contracted to another team since

Have been in a Big Bash team squad the previous season

Was in a team squad last season but did not play in the starting 13 and have been approved by the Big Bash Technical Committee

Is otherwise approved by the Big Bash Technical Committee due to exceptional circumstances

Player Nominations

The following players have been announced as nominations for the upcoming Overseas Player Drafts.

WBBL:

Chamari Athapaththu, Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Yastika Bhatia, Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Nadine de Klerk, Harleen Deol, Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Sophie Ecclestone, Hurley Gala, Richa Ghosh, Sarah Glenn, Shabnim Ismail, Hayley Jensen, Frances Jonas, Marizanne Kapp, Harmanpreet Kaur, Jess Kerr, Heather Knight, Veda Krishnamurthy, Emma Lamb, Kate Levick, Sune Luus, Hayley Matthews, Shika Pandey, Shreyanka Patil, Karishma Ramharack, Sneh Rana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Fatima Sana, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Pooja Vastrakar, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Laura Wolvaardt, Issy Wong, Danielle Wyatt, Radha Yadav.

BBL:

Rehan Ahmed, Gus Atkinson, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Joshua Bishop, Harry Brook, Joe Clarke, Sheldon Cottrell, Zak Crawley, Tom Curran, Marchant de Lange, Faf du Plessis, Laurie Evans, Shafiqullah Ghadfari, Richard Gleeson, Martin Guptill, Alex Hales, Beuran Hendricks, Akeal Hosein, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Dan Lawrence, Josh Little, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Colin Munro, Izharulhaq Naveed, Jimmy Neesham, Callum Parkinson, Matt Parkinson, Wayne Parnell, David Payne, Nicholas Pooran, Ollie Pope, Matt Potts, Rilee Rossouw, Lakshan Sandakan, Jayden Seales, Tabraiz Shamsi, Ramon Simmonds, Olly Stone, Imran Tahir, Josh Tongue, Reece Topley, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, James Vince, David Willey, Luke Wood, Dan Worrall.

Rachael Haynes and Trent Copeland have been appointed general managers of BBL sides Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder respectively.

Haynes, a long-term vice-captain of the national team in her playing days, has been promoted from the now defunct position of head of club at the Sixers.

Fast bowler Copeland, who retired from playing last year, had previously served as Cricket NSW's strategy and growth manager.

Both have already commenced their new roles as the Sixers and Thunder review the recent Weber WBBL and KFC BBL seasons, and both are expected to continue their roles as media pundits.

“These changes have been made as we strive to achieve our ambitious goals and operate as effectively and efficiently as possible,” Cricket NSW chief executive Lee Germon said.

"Both Rachael and Trent have impressed greatly in their most recent roles at Cricket NSW, showing the leadership and strategic thinking that will help us deliver on our lofty goals."

Chris Botherway and Andrew Gilchrist, previously in charge of Cricket NSW's two BBL teams, have left the organisation.

The appointments come as Cricket NSW considers whether to re-sign off-contract coach Trevor Bayliss after the Thunder men's team finished last this summer.

Cross-town rivals the Sixers reached the final of the BBL but lost to Brisbane Heat, while Cricket NSW's WBBL sides enjoyed modest success in their own tournament.

Thunder import Chamari Athapaththu picked up player of the tournament but her side were knocked out in the first finals match and the fifth-placed Sixers missed the post-season.

A designated batter... and baseball runout chaos: BBL considers host of new rule changes​

It has been another huge summer for the Big Bash League — and cricket officials are discussing major rule changes that could make the competition even more entertaining for fans next season, a new report says.

The Sydney Morning Herald reported on Friday morning that there have been high-level discussions in Cricket Australia about the changes, which include having a designated hitter and the potential of double play runouts.

Nothing is locked in yet and the key stakeholders are yet to be officially consulted over the changes, but the workshop ideas have an eye towards making matches quicker and more exciting, while also increasing the league’s appeal to the sport’s biggest names.

One of the potential changes includes having a designated hitter like baseball, or in this case a designated batter, in the XI.

This would allow each team to pick one player solely for their talents with the bat in hand.

The BBL experimented with the introduction of ‘X-Factor’ substitutes ahead of the 2020-21 season, which allowed teams to name two players to sub in after 10 overs of the first innings.

That rule was later scrapped, but this one would specifically allow some of the league’s most electric batters to rest and not waste any of the energy in the field, instead conserving all of it to put on a show for the fans by blasting boundaries instead.

The reduced workload could encourage more overseas stars to play in the BBL along with Australian players juggling commitments to the national team.

Under this new rule, teams would also pick a specialist fielder.

Another change being considered is the possibility of double plays, but only on runouts, which would see both players dismissed if they are out of their crease and the bails are taken off at both ends.

The Herald reported that some people believe double-plays should also apply to a catch and then a run-out, as is the case in baseball, given it would discourage batters from backing up too far.

That change, however, is considered unlikely.

Elsewhere, another rule change that is being discussed according to the Herald is one which reduces the number of end changes in order to speed up the game and limit player fatigue.

If this rule change went through, teams would bowl 12 balls from one end and then swap, while captains would also be able to let one player bowl 12 consecutive deliveries over two overs in a row.

They would still only be allowed to bowl 24 balls, or four overs, in one match.

The Herald reported this is the most likely rule to be approved, but only if all stakeholders are on board with the change.

Finally, the Herald also reported that influential figures have suggested ways to make maidens more exciting — including a batter being given out if they have six dot consecutive balls bowled at them or a bowler being rewarded with a fifth over if they record a maiden.

KFC BBL Player Movement Window opens

January 28, 2025

The KFC BBL’s inaugural Player Movement Window has opened, with 52 Eligible Free Agents available to be contracted by a new club over the next 10 days.

The Window comes after a historic KFC BBL|14 Final last night, with Hobart Hurricanes crowned champions for the first time after defeating Sydney Thunder by seven wickets at a sold out Ninja Stadium.

During the Window, clubs may only sign an Eligible Free Agent or trade a player and/or Draft picks with another club. A club may not adjust an existing player contract in this time.

View a full list of Contracted players, Eligible Free Agents and Uncontracted players below.

The 52 Eligible Free Agents are players whose BBL contracts expired at the completion of BBL|14. These players must have held a Primary Domestic Contract (49 players) with a BBL club, or a CA Marquee Supplementary Contract (three players), prior to expiry.

Overseas and Local Replacement Players whose contracts have expired are ineligible for contracting during the Window.

The BBL Player Movement Window will close on Thursday, February 6 at 5:00pm AEDT. Clubs may have a maximum of 12 players on their BBL|15 list at that time.

No further contracting activity will be permitted until the lifting of the Contracting Embargo, anticipated to occur in March.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s Executive General Manager, Big Bash Leagues, said:

“The BBL’s first Player Movement Window follows an incredible summer of Big Bash, with two first-time champions in the Melbourne Renegades (WBBL) and Hobart Hurricanes (BBL) crowned.

“Introducing Player Movement Windows has added another strategic dimension to both the WBBL and BBL this season.

“Trade activity immediately after the WBBL Final created strong discussion among our fans, broadcasters and the media, while also adding certainty and stability for those players who did sign for a new club.

“The BBL window has been highly anticipated, and the calibre of names among the 52 Eligible Free Agents ensures clubs, players and fans alike will have plenty to consider over the next 10 days.”

BBL|15 Contract Lists

Adelaide Strikers

Contracted for BBL|15: Cameron Boyce, Jordan Buckingham, Alex Carey, Thomas Kelly, Harry Nielsen, Lloyd Pope, Alex Ross, Matt Short, Henry Thorton

Eligible Free Agents: James Bazley, Brendan Doggett, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, D'Arcy Short, Jake Weatherald

Uncontracted: Fabian Allen, Jamie Overton, Ollie Pope, Liam Haskett, Harry Manenti, Liam Scott

Brisbane Heat

Contracted for BBL|15: Xavier Bartlett, Max Bryant, Spencer Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Matt Kuhnemann, Nathan McSweeney, Colin Munro, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Callum Vidler

Eligible Free Agents: Marnus Labuschagne, Will Prestwidge, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth, Jack Wood

Uncontracted: Tom Alsop, Tom Banton, Paul Walter, Daniel Drew, Tom Straker, Tom Whitney

Hobart Hurricanes

Contracted for BBL|15: Iain Carlisle, Nikhil Chaudhary, Nathan Ellis, Caleb Jewell, Chris Jordan, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Matthew Wade, Mac Wright

Eligible Free Agents: Tim David, Paddy Dooley, Jake Doran, Peter Hatzoglou, Billy Stanlake, Charlie Wakim

Uncontracted: Shai Hope, Waqar Salamkheil, Marcus Bean, Cameron Gannon, Tim Ward

Melbourne Renegades

Contracted for BBL|15: Josh Brown, Harry Dixon, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Nathan Lyon, Fergus O'Neill, Tom Rogers, Tim Seifert, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa

Eligible Free Agents: Xavier Crone, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Kane Richardson, Gurinder Sandhu, Jon Wells

Uncontracted: Jacob Bethell, Laurie Evans, Hassan Khan, Tawanda Muyeye, Sam Elliott, Ollie Peake, Callum Stow

Melbourne Stars

Contracted for BBL|15: Scott Boland, Hilton Cartwright, Tom Curran, Glenn Maxwell, Hamish McKenzie, Tom Rogers, Peter Siddle, Marcus Stoinis

Eligible Free Agents: Brody Couch, Sam Harper, Campbell Kellaway, Jon Merlo, Joel Paris, Mark Steketee, Doug Warren, Beau Webster

Uncontracted: Joe Clarke, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Adam Milne, Usama Mir, Austin Anlezark, Peter Handscomb, Blake Macdonald

Perth Scorchers

Contracted for BBL|15: Ashton Agar, Finn Allen, Mahli Beardman, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner

Eligible Free Agents: Jason Behrendorff, Sam Fanning, Nick Hobson, Mitch Marsh, Matthew Spoors, Andrew Tye

Uncontracted: Matthew Hurst, Keaton Jennings, Bryce Jackson

Sydney Sixers

Contracted for BBL|15: Sean Abbott, Joel Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Moises Henriques, Todd Murphy, Mitch Perry, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk, Steve Smith

Eligible Free Agents: Jackson Bird, Josh Hazlewood, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Ben Manenti, Kurtis Patterson, Mitchell Starc

Uncontracted: Akeal Hosein, Jafer Chohan, James Vince, Lachlan Hearne, Hanno Jacobs, Lachlan Shaw

Sydney Thunder

Contracted for BBL|15: Wes Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Sam Billings, Ollie Davies, Chris Green, Sam Konstas, Nathan McAndrew, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner

Eligible Free Agents: Pat Cummins, Matt Gilkes, Ryan Hadley, Liam Hatcher, Nic Maddinson, Will Salzmann, Jason Sangha

Uncontracted: Lockie Ferguson, George Garton, Muhammad Hasnain, Sherfane Rutherford, Tom Andrews, Dan Christian, Toby Gray, Blake Nikitaras, Hugh Weibgen

I used to enjoy BBL during the first few years but it seems like it has become boring now.

BBL used to have players like Malinga, Samuels, Shane Warne, Brendon McCullum, Brett Lee etc. Those were the golden days.

Nobody cares about T20 leagues. They’re just for fun for domestic audience.

If anyone is free enough to watch them, then i reckon what would be the point of watching anything other than IPL. I personally don’t watch IPL either but in terms of star power it’s the closest you can get to international level and at times higher than an average international match quality talent is at display. But still, I don’t see the points of seeing these marasis dancing their way from one league to the other for money and with club loyalty.

I used to enjoy BBL during the first few years but it seems like it has become boring now.

BBL used to have players like Malinga, Samuels, Shane Warne, Brendon McCullum, Brett Lee etc. Those were the golden days.

Having said that, I still think BBL is the #1 T20 league in the world.

It is just that many of the old legends have retired. So, BBL is not as fun as it used to be.

one psoter around here loves it soo much that he tags us to let us know :))