The Topicless Thread

I need to brush up my geography first.

And of course you were being sarcastic. I had to say something.

Topic-less thread

I am feeling so tired and sleepy that I ended up reading a post here as "You need to brush your teeth."

Topic-less thread

For you, obviously.

For me it's the US, for those from PAK, it's here.

I'm here for now, and for a long time to come. I don't think I'll ever go back permanently, but I don't think I'll stay here either, even though I love both places a lot.

I'll move to some new country.

True. Why so easily frustrated?

Topic-less thread

Blood test time:(.

Topic-less thread

Been a long time since I last interacted with you . How are the things with you brother? hopefully everythings fine now

Yeah man, haven't interacted with you since long.

I am well and fine. You see, we are made to accept things if circumstances have their say. As it is anyway, I was always ready to accept whatever suffering was to come my way, given that I made the decision myself. Have I been able to overcome it? Should it or does it even matter?

*Secret conversations:).... *

Anyway, how are you doing?

Yeah man, haven't interacted with you since long.

I am well and fine. You see, we are made to accept things if circumstances have their say. As it is anyway, I was always ready to accept whatever suffering was to come my way, given that I made the decision myself. Have I been able to overcome it? Should it or does it even matter?

*Secret conversations:).... *

Anyway, how are you doing?

True that bro sometimes we have no choice but to you know what I mean .
I m doing fine thanks. Life goes on

Topic-less thread

Blood test time:(.

My fears weren´t quite unfounded. Ouch, it hurt:boom:!

True that bro sometimes we have no choice but to you know what I mean .
I m doing fine thanks. Life goes on

Life is neutral you see: it neither favours us heavily, nor quite mistreats us that much. It however teaches us to go with its flow and just embrace whatever comes its way.

Topic-less thread

Mine is Be Positive, which is ironic considering how morose and depressed I usually am.

Mine is B+ too. My advisor used to tell me that I should smile (very few people have seen me smile) because he doesn't want other students to think that PhD is so depressing.

Topic-less thread

Mine is B+ too. My advisor used to tell me that I should smile (very few people have seen me smile) because he doesn't want other students to think that PhD is so depressing.

My PhD advisor only yelled at me. I would then crack the trademark sheepish smile.

I quit all three: the PhD, the advisor, and the smiling.

@96NotOut:-Do you struggle with Urdu? I think so because you haven't lived much in Pakistan.

I used to, consider myself a pro now. I'm pretty good at spoken Urdu, if I say so myself. Just get the ka/ki and other masculine-feminine variation thingamajigs messed up sometimes. And I can read and write it good too. :D

How's your Urdu?

I used to, consider myself a pro now. I'm pretty good at spoken Urdu, if I say so myself. Just get the ka/ki and other masculine-feminine variation thingamajigs messed up sometimes. And I can read and write it good too. :D

How's your Urdu?

I am very good at Urdu. I have always got A+ in Urdu and my marks have never been below 95/100.

I don't wish to come across as someone arrogant, or someone who blows his own trumpet.

You don't, don't fret. I worry about that too, when people ask you to describe yourself, and you start describing how awesome you are because you can find nothing wrong. :P

You study Urdu? Whoa. Were you born in the UAE or Pakistan?

You don't, don't fret. I worry about that too, when people ask you to describe yourself, and you start describing how awesome you are because you can find nothing wrong. :P

I agree.:P
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=6723175&postcount=100

You study Urdu? Whoa. Were you born in the UAE or Pakistan?

I was born in Pakistan and I moved to UAE in 2009. We have an option for 'Second Language' here. We can choose our preferred language and study it. I went for Urdu, of course.

Then your Urdu should be good. I heard that most students in the KSA had that option, but I guess it goes for all/most middle eastern countries. Or maybe just the more cosmopolitan ones.

Yeah, my stay in Pakistan helped my Urdu massively(I studied there till grade 2). The students who have studied over here from the starting have no clue about Urdu. I thrash them, usually.:yk

• 1002678_866917203334784_2439910351625898740_n.jpg
    1002678_866917203334784_2439910351625898740_n.jpg
    36.1 KB · Views: 38
  • 10253819_643319689082558_133324492988135657_n.jpg
    10253819_643319689082558_133324492988135657_n.jpg
    33.3 KB · Views: 37
And saying you thrash them is like me saying I annihilate my classmates when it comes to English.

#NotMuchToBeProudOf

And saying you thrash them is like me saying I annihilate my classmates when it comes to English.

#NotMuchToBeProudOf

No problem, I cover and do that as well.:yk

Honestly, I think that we need to learn beyond the books. The current set of students just mug up things from the textbooks and don't make an effort to learn the reason and concept behind a topic.

We need to explore things. We need to learn online and refer to different books to understand things better.

Exactly, which leads them nowhere, which has brought Pakistan to what it is today.

Textbooks are useful if you don't understand something, but personally, I set store by other sources a lot. Which means I'm always buried in an encyclopedia or on the Internet, and that is a LOT of work.

Other kids have it easy. They do nothing and still get grades because they just memorize a 200 page book.

Exactly, which leads them nowhere, which has brought Pakistan to what it is today.

Textbooks are useful if you don't understand something, but personally, I set store by other sources a lot. Which means I'm always buried in an encyclopedia or on the Internet, and that is a LOT of work.

Other kids have it easy. They do nothing and still get grades because they just memorize a 200 page book.

Perfect.

I can really feel the chemistry blossoming between you two :P

I know you are joking but I am afraid that you are wrong. We are just posting like random posters. If we go by your logic, all the male posters who have a conversation with other male posters are homosexuals.:asif:yk2:akhtar

Haha true.

Im sure your exams will go well anyway. Delighted i dont have any major ones this year

In'Sha'Allah everyone that has exams will do very well.

Shezan Mango juice has to be one of the best :akhtar

Topic-less thread

Lol it's appam, kutty thattu dosa and coconut chutney. Full vegetarian. What's haram in it?:amla

The words he highlighted would suggest you were eating a dog's... mountain oysters.

In Urdu anyhow.

Topic-less thread

There's an academic of Keralan origin in Karachi, called BC Kutty.

Urdu/Punjabi speakers would have a field day with that name. I'm sure he got picked on as a child.

Re: Topic-less thread

Urdu/Punjabi speakers would have a field day with that name. I'm sure he got picked on as a child.

That's just cruel parenting.

The words he highlighted would suggest you were eating a dog's... mountain oysters.

In Urdu anyhow.

But dog is 'kuttha' no? And I had no idea about this mountain oyster thing lol. Never studied urdu..:amir

Topic-less thread

But dog is 'kuttha' no? And I had no idea about this mountain oyster thing lol. Never studied urdu..:amir

Kutti would be Mrs. Dog. And she doesn't have mountain oysters, so that makes it even odder as a dish.

I think the phrase we are looking for is "false friends," words which mean different things in different languages.

Kutti would be Mrs. Dog. And she doesn't have mountain oysters, so that makes it even odder as a dish.

I think the phrase we are looking for is "false friends," words which mean different things in different languages.

But the pronunciation of this urdu 'kutthi' (Mrs Dog) and malayalam 'kutty' (meaning small one) are totally different. You should ask a malayali to know about that.:msd

Topic-less thread

But the pronunciation of this urdu 'kutthi' (Mrs Dog) and malayalam 'kutty' (meaning small one) are totally different. You should ask a malayali to know about that.:msd

I don't know any Malayalis. Besides, it would ruin the fun, knowing that it isn't pronounced like what I thought it was.

By the way, mountain oysters from goats are an optional element in takatak (or katakat), a wonderful melange of organ meats. I've never had the, uh, guts, to eat them though.

Apparently they are popular in Spain too. So there's the story of this guy who went to see the bullfighting in a remote Spanish town. The tradition in that town was that after the bullfighting, the local butcher would carve up the bull and then one could order it at the local restaurant.

So our friend the tourist developed a liking for the oysters. One day, they were smaller than usual, but just heavenly. He insists on complementing the chef.

So the chef shows up, the guy compliments him, and then asks why they were smaller than usual.

The chef says, "Ah, Señor, sometimes the bull wins."

I work with someone with last name "Dong" and it's a she. Not sure how she was able to survive school and college here in US.

Words like Kutti or Kutta are for kids. Karachiities are well versed in much obscene and vulgar curse words as I'm sure folks in Punjab are. In college I was known for having a colorful language. In right company, there was barely a sentence I spoke which did not have some curse word in it. It got so bad than when I eventually got hooked up with a gf during college, I constantly had to stop mid sentence or apologize. Now, I barely even say the F word, let alone other curse words.

Topic-less thread

I work with someone with last name "Dong" and it's a she. Not sure how she was able to survive school and college here in US.

I knew a Yuan. Now, Yuan is a respectable Chinese name, but in Punjabi it is anything but respectable. You can imagine how hard it is to suppress one's laughter upon seeing a restaurant called Tau Yuan.

There's even a joke about it. PTV Khabarnama is reporting the state visit by the Chinese PM to Pakistan. Guy's name is Yuan. In trademark Khabarnama style, the newscaster says "Aaj Pakistan mein Cheen ke Wazir-e-Azam Yuan aaye hein."

I knew a Yuan. Now, Yuan is a respectable Chinese name, but in Punjabi it is anything but respectable. You can imagine how hard it is to suppress one's laughter upon seeing a restaurant called Tau Yuan.

There's even a joke about it. PTV Khabarnama is reporting the state visit by the Chinese PM to Pakistan. Guy's name is Yuan. In trademark Khabarnama style, the newscaster says "Aaj Pakistan mein Cheen ke Wazir-e-Azam Yuan aaye hein."

Good one. I get the same reaction when talking to a Randy.

Mountain Oysters are also known as prairie oysters, Montana tendergroins, cowboy caviar, calf fries and my favorite.....swinging beef.

Topic-less thread

Good one. I get the same reaction when talking to a Randy.

Sweden was (probably still is) a popular destination for grad school. They have some good schools: KTH, Chalmers... L**d.

An acquaintance of mine got his MS there. When probed about which school, he'd say, "Hai ek university. You've probably not heard of it." Then he'd go into an explanation of how the Swedes try to ensure that all their schools were equally good, so a Swedish MS is a Swedish MS. End of.

Sort of like the "degree degree hoti hai" gem by Aslam Raisani.

Topic-less thread

Words like Kutti or Kutta are for kids. Karachiities are well versed in much obscene and vulgar curse words as I'm sure folks in Punjab are. In college I was known for having a colorful language. In right company, there was barely a sentence I spoke which did not have some curse word in it. It got so bad than when I eventually got hooked up with a gf during college, I constantly had to stop mid sentence or apologize. Now, I barely even say the F word, let alone other curse words.

Other way round for me. I prided myself for never cursing. These days I curse like a sailor. Interestingly, I've noticed that I talk to myself in English, dream in Urdu, and curse exclusively in Punjabi.

There's a nice passage in Shahabbama (yes, I'm guilty of having read the book one winter as a teenager) about the notorious Malika-e-Dushnaam (Queen of Curses) that Qudratullah Shahab encountered on his bus trip from Jammu to Srinagar.

That's where I learnt the word Duahnaam. It appears a few times in Faiz Sb's poetry:

Hum per tumhari chah ka ilzaam hi to hai
Dushnaam to nahein hai, ikraam hi to hai

And in the wonderful "Aaj Bazaar Mein Pabajolaan Chalo":

Teer-e-Ilzaam bhi, Sang-e-Dushnaam bhi

Sweden was (probably still is) a popular destination for grad school. They have some good schools: KTH, Chalmers... L**d.

An acquaintance of mine got his MS there. When probed about which school, he'd say, "Hai ek university. You've probably not heard of it." Then he'd go into an explanation of how the Swedes try to ensure that all their schools were equally good, so a Swedish MS is a Swedish MS. End of.

Sort of like the "degree degree hoti hai" gem by Aslam Raisani.

He should have been proud of the name of his University. What better way to say "It's a man's world"

At least he didn't graduate from Rice University or Colgate University.

Other way round for me. I prided myself for never cursing. These days I curse like a sailor. Interestingly, I've noticed that I talk to myself in English, dream in Urdu, and curse exclusively in Punjabi.

There's a nice passage in Shahabbama (yes, I'm guilty of having read the book one winter as a teenager) about the notorious Malika-e-Dushnaam (Queen of Curses) that Qudratullah Shahab encountered on his bus trip from Jammu to Srinagar.

That's where I learnt the word Duahnaam. It appears a few times in Faiz Sb's poetry:

Hum per tumhari chah ka ilzaam hi to hai
Dushnaam to nahein hai, ikraam hi to hai

And in the wonderful "Aaj Bazaar Mein Pabajolaan Chalo":

Teer-e-Ilzaam bhi, Sang-e-Dushnaam bhi

Always wanted to read Shahab Nama. Must be a very interesting read from what I've heard.

Topic-less thread

He should have been proud of the name of his University. What better way to say "It's a man's world"

At least he didn't graduate from Rice University or Colgate University.

Rice is a good school. Too bad it's in Houston. and named after a grain. Then again, Kellogs is a fine business school, despite the name.

Topic-less thread

Always wanted to read Shahab Nama. Must be a very interesting read from what I've heard.

You should. It's available online if you're not averse to accessing some quasi-legal websites.

It's a funny old book in some respects. It is purportedly an autobiography, but its more an attempt on Shahab's part to clear his name and wash his hands of a lot of things. Like the narrator in "Sympathy for the Devil," the guy was everywhere.

In spite of the fact that Shahab was the leading light of the Writer's Guild, set up under Ayub Khan's patronage to counter the Progressive Writers' Movement, and the fact that Shahab was seen in those days as Ayub's foremost confidante, the overwhelming feeling I got from the book was that back in those days, there was a great deal of decency present in all involved, barring obvious villains like Yahya Khan. And that politics aside, cordial relations abounded. There are countless examples of that: Faiz visiting Shahab in exile during a snowstorm, Zafarulla Khan being a regular dinner guest, Ayub advising Shahab against using his Provident Fund before retirement, and everyone standing up to Yahya.

Shahab was Kashmiri, and his experiences as a Kashmiri Muslim shape much of the discourse. He stereotypes Hindus and Sikhs freely.

Of course the book is best known for three chapters: the heartrending love affair with a Hindu girl called "Chandrawati," the horror story "Bamla Kumari ki be chain ruh," and the spiritual final chapter, which includes a description of how to become an "astral body" by repeating a certain verse from the Quran pertaining to death.

I read the book despite my bias against him and the rest of the anti-progressive crowd. I can't say I didn't find parts of it over the top, offensive or downright suspicious. But I still recommend it. It's a compelling read.

You should. It's available online if you're not averse to accessing some quasi-legal websites.

It's a funny old book in some respects. It is purportedly an autobiography, but its more an attempt on Shahab's part to clear his name and wash his hands of a lot of things. Like the narrator in "Sympathy for the Devil," the guy was everywhere.

In spite of the fact that Shahab was the leading light of the Writer's Guild, set up under Ayub Khan's patronage to counter the Progressive Writers' Movement, and the fact that Shahab was seen in those days as Ayub's foremost confidante, the overwhelming feeling I got from the book was that back in those days, there was a great deal of decency present in all involved, barring obvious villains like Yahya Khan. And that politics aside, cordial relations abounded. There are countless examples of that: Faiz visiting Shahab in exile during a snowstorm, Zafarulla Khan being a regular dinner guest, Ayub advising Shahab against using his Provident Fund before retirement, and everyone standing up to Yahya.

Shahab was Kashmiri, and his experiences as a Kashmiri Muslim shape much of the discourse. He stereotypes Hindus and Sikhs freely.

Of course the book is best known for three chapters: the heartrending love affair with a Hindu girl called "Chandrawati," the horror story "Bamla Kumari ki be chain ruh," and the spiritual final chapter, which includes a description of how to become an "astral body" by repeating a certain verse from the Quran pertaining to death.

I read the book despite my bias against him and the rest of the anti-progressive crowd. I can't say I didn't find parts of it over the top, offensive or downright suspicious. But I still recommend it. It's a compelling read.

Sounds interesting. Will try to check it out on one of those quasi legal websites. Copyright is such a loosely based concept in Pakistan, not sure if I will even feel guilty about it.

You are right about the congenial and hospitable environment among foes during that time. They may have disagreed and opposed the others but still respected them for their contribution to their respective fields. It was a gentleman's world. Even the relationship between generals of opposing armies were cordial and respectful. I was reading somewhere the musings of Air Marshal K.C. Cariappa, son of legendary Indian Army Field Marshal K.M.Cariappa (Kipper), who had a great relationship with Ayub Khan. As an air force pilot, when he was caught and became POW during the 1965 war, Ayub wrote to Cariappa, offering to release his son immediately, to which Cariappa is supposed to have told Ayub Khan to give his son no better treatment than any other POW. Per his own account the POWs were treated with fairness and dignity, given three meals with puris and tea for breakfast and never once were tortured. On the contrary during the Kargil conflict in 1999, he was greatly anguished over reports of soldiers' bodies being handed over in mutilated conditions. "The times have changed".

And its not "BC" lol, It's BM Kutty (Biyyothil Mohyuddin Kutty). One of my uncle too lived in Karachi for 3yrs and he has very fond memory about that place and the people living there..:)

I am very good at Urdu. I have always got A+ in Urdu and my marks have never been below 95/100.

I don't wish to come across as someone arrogant, or someone who blows his own trumpet.

Do you study Urdu in an Indian School or you are talking about the time when you were in Pakistan?

In Pakistan,Urdu is the least scoring subject,one has to write a loooooot and then he/she gets 70-75 out of 100,and only the toppers cross the sum of 80.