"They say that we can push a button & start playing aggressively like Australia": Ramiz Raja

Ramiz speaking with a TV Channel:

"Our team has more than one match-winner. This team needs some time and these players will make you proud"

"I have told players, losing is not an option because fans are attached emotionally to this game. We are making mistakes and will make in the future too. We are not the best team in the world but this team is giving happiness to the fans"

"Who would have thought that this series will go like this. We thought the excitement between seven match will fade away. But, every match went down to the last over"

"Such a performance by the team is increasing confidence in our fans. Fans are taking ownership of this team which is why they are filling up stadiums"

Ramiz speaking with a TV Channel:

"Our team has more than one match-winner. This team needs some time and these players will make you proud"

"I have told players, losing is not an option because fans are attached emotionally to this game. We are making mistakes and will make in the future too. We are not the best team in the world but this team is giving happiness to the fans"

"Who would have thought that this series will go like this. We thought the excitement between seven match will fade away. But, every match went down to the last over"

"Such a performance by the team is increasing confidence in our fans. Fans are taking ownership of this team which is why they are filling up stadiums"

One has to acknowledge the fans in the stadiums. Karachi showed up (much to my surprise) and Lahore followed.

People underestimate how much packed stadia has an effect on both the spectacle and the viewing experience at home. It also makes young children watching dream, and encourage them to take up the sport. Harry Brook’s hitting in Karachi and Salt’s in Lahore would have really gee’ed the fans up.

It’s been ages since Pakistani fans have had the opportunity to witness top level teams visit their country. An entire generation has missed out on top quality international cricket, and surely that’s had an effect on both youth uptake and youth technique.

2022 has finally been the year when we’ve seen proper strong teams visit. Long may it continue and inshAllah may the crowds keep coming.

Hopefully inshAllah we see some games in Peshawar in the next two years.

Teams like England, Australia or India can easily make 2XIs. At least, their batters are competing really hard to find place in the final XI.

Pakistan, otoh, do have matchwinning bowlers but our batters except openers leave much to be desired.

"Losing is not an option" is a terrible statement.

And then people go crazy here when I say the expectations of Pakistanis are through the roof. These expectations are simply just not aligned with the ability of the team.

You put these players under so much pressure when losing is no longer an option. This is not Battle of Badr that you are fighting where losing is not an option. Allow these players to express themselves without fear of any backlash from the management, ex-cricketers and fans.

I cannot understand how he can make such statements. Is he on the same planet as us?

Will need all our match winners to stand up today. 200+ chase on the cards, can't just rely on Babar and Riz

Not sure about that but none of our 10 fielders can catch to save their lives.

Speaking on a video

“Our team have its own playing style and there’s nothing wrong in it in my view"

“If this style had any flaws, then our team's success rate in the last 12 months would not have been 80%.”

“It is said that push the button and start playing aggressively like Australia. They also say that we play old-fashioned cricket. It is not modern cricket"

"The team have won some thrilling matches and reached the knock-out stage in different events. National cricketers were selected in the ICC players of the year list. Where does it happen in such a big number"

One has to acknowledge the fans in the stadiums. Karachi showed up (much to my surprise) and Lahore followed.

People underestimate how much packed stadia has an effect on both the spectacle and the viewing experience at home. It also makes young children watching dream, and encourage them to take up the sport. Harry Brook’s hitting in Karachi and Salt’s in Lahore would have really gee’ed the fans up.

It’s been ages since Pakistani fans have had the opportunity to witness top level teams visit their country. An entire generation has missed out on top quality international cricket, and surely that’s had an effect on both youth uptake and youth technique.

2022 has finally been the year when we’ve seen proper strong teams visit. Long may it continue and inshAllah may the crowds keep coming.

Hopefully inshAllah we see some games in Peshawar in the next two years.

A significant factor in the big turnout was also that they kept the ticket prices low and affordable this time.

Having been listning to him for years from the commentary box and now reading his comments here, it's evident that he is not speaking from his heart. He is jut talking the usual rubbish when you are too attached to your 'kursi".

Had all the games gone to last over, I would have agreed with one of his comments but the last two games were pretty one-sided.

Speaking on a video

“Our team have its own playing style and there’s nothing wrong in it in my view"

“If this style had any flaws, then our team's success rate in the last 12 months would not have been 80%.”

“It is said that push the button and start playing aggressively like Australia. They also say that we play old-fashioned cricket. It is not modern cricket"

"The team have won some thrilling matches and reached the knock-out stage in different events. National cricketers were selected in the ICC players of the year list. Where does it happen in such a big number"

Maybe he should revisit his old vlogs on Pakistan’s “own style”

The man epitomises baatain croro ki dukaan pakoro ki mentality

Ramiz needs to go. He appointed skillless, Clueless and yes man Saqlain, nobody Abdul Majed as a fielding coach, unskilled Yousuf as a batting coach, nothing special Tait as a bowling coach.

"It has been a great privilege to host England. They came here after a gap of 17 years so how could we have not allowed them their trophy. We are not letting them go empty handed but, honestly, they turned out to be the better side," said Ramiz after the seventh T20I on Sunday.

I take it he was trying to make a joke which would have been ok as a commentator, analyst or casual fan, but was embarrassing coming from the chairman of the national cricket board. No self respect.

Did he actually say that? He is still in commentator mode

Success rate 80% in last 12 months , how many matches did they win against top tier full strength teams

Interested to know the success rate of that.

Speaking on a video

It’s funny how our ex players tune changes when they are part of PCB and when they are not. There is a viral clip of Ramiz going around from couple of years ago when he was not managing PCB:

honestly, he is coming across as a very insecure leader. Keeps comparing to Australia, and other teams. We have our own legacy you fool, wake up and smell the coffee.

Nobody is saying play like Australia.

Nobody is saying our players can play like Warner, Finch and co.

What people are saying is show some fight, some spirit, some guts, some determination and be positive. Don't hide behind 2 or 3 players all of the time.

The fact that he uses Australia as an example of aggressive cricket (for T20s) itself shows how behind the times he is and betrays his silly inferiority complex about Australia.

Yes Australia are T20 Champions and they certainly aren’t a negative team, but they are not the model aggressive t20 team. They won with will, team cohesiveness, plans etc last year, not aggression.

England are the model aggressive team in T20s.

Success rate 80% in last 12 months , how many matches did they win against top tier full strength teams

Interested to know the success rate of that.

This is all this team and management come out with. Random stats with zero context. We do the same with all the chest thumping about Babar and Rizwan’s stats. Again without context

Same excuses we have been hearing for years. The team in spineless and boring to watch. I don't know what Ramiz is on about fans taking "ownership" of the team.

All the matches went to the last over?
I see he's acting as a cheerleader, which I think is his main job as PCB chair now, and to some extent it's understandable.
We as rationalist fans have a different view of the game than the match-going fans in Pakistan do. It's hard to believe that there were full houses in both Karachi and Lahore but they really wanted to see the English side after nearly two decades. Their anger at Khushdil is understandable too, although it's really misdirected.
We here on this forum want to see the right experimentation and long-term planning, even planning for the World Cup, but the fans there, and the team under Babar, are focused on each game in front of such big home crowds as life and death. That's a valid point of view, up to a certain extent.

Minnow mentality comments once again, we've been T20 world champions been ranked no.1 team but still oh we can't play like Australia.

For the record Australia is not as aggressive as we think. Their strike rate is below Pakistan's strike rate in the last 2 years. Against top 8 Australia 133.21, Pakistan 133.39. They lost 5 series in a row before winning world T20. If we strictly talk about aggressive batting England, SA, India.

This fascination with Australia is one big reason why we don't fare well against them. We rate them way too highly.

England is a better LOI unit than Australia and South Africa is a better test unit than Australia.

Ramiz sounds so confusing here in what he's trying to say or whatever he's trying to say, he is uttering the in a very poor way.

He tried to be the media guy before in the test series vs Australia earlier this year and it turned out to be a disaster both as PR wise and performance wise.

Just excuses, doesn’t want to improve things. Get the cheque and head out for the next chairman who will do the same. Sip chai in the VIP booth for the games, give a token statement when we win 1 game, and then another token statement when we lose a series / get KO’d of a tournament.

But no long term changes being made to develop proper cricketers from a young age.

Speaking on a video

Summary:

Nothing is going to change. We’ve always done it this way, and always will.

Not a surprise, Ramiz was famous for hitting 20 off 50 balls in 50 over cricket himself. He still thinks we are in the 90s.

If this is how the chairman thinks then why expect players to think different?

By the way, we all know 1000% that if he was sitting in the com box he would be echoing what all the fans and all the cricketing commentators have been saying about Pakistan, that we have to play faster. Once he is a commentator, he will change his tone again.

No idea why he’s fronting. Maybe because accepting things without improvement requires less work.

I am all for the full house in stadium for watching, But Authorities needs to make better plan for traffic diversions, It makes the life of people around a living hell so much traffic jams.

Just excuses, doesn’t want to improve things. Get the cheque and head out for the next chairman who will do the same. Sip chai in the VIP booth for the games, give a token statement when we win 1 game, and then another token statement when we lose a series / get KO’d of a tournament.

But no long term changes being made to develop proper cricketers from a young age.

Completely agree with this. The good players should come from U15s-U19s and they should be completey ready before they represent the country.

That is why Australia and now also England are so good. Any player representing the senior team, even if he is 21, is ready to smash a fluke-less fifty.

And we have also selection-issues. We tend to pick players not suited for one particular format. Test-players were picked to play LOIs and vice versa.

I can’t remember for how long - every administrator, selector, coach and captain always excuses every performance hiding behind “Young team”, “don’t set expectation too high” “we are learning” “give us time”, “changes don’t happen overnight”, “back the team please”.

As someone said - complete mediocre and minnow mentality.

With such a long history and such a strong cricket heritage, why can’t we play like top T20 teams?

In the last 70 years, haven’t we learned or don’t we know the plans, the drills and energy boosting workouts that develop a fast scoring T20 batsman?

I mean, there are some very good videos on YouTube that coach and train in hard hitting techniques. And these lessons help in the development of T20 batsmen. I think any young and talented batsman who religiously do these drills and follow the coaching lessons can become a powerful hard hitter.

Do any of our players regularly and continuously go thru any such drills and coaching lessons to sharpen their power hitting skills?

With their feeble postures and week body structures, it doesn’t look like it.

Do we at PCB even have an effective program and routine, in place to actually DEVELOP power hitter? I highly doubt it.

We just jump into PSL books and pick the highest scorers or if they are Baber’s friend -and play them in the national team. And hope to win.

I don’t think Moyo or Saqlain can teach power hitting techniques and these specific T20 drills to any player.

I've made no secret of the fact I opposed Ramiz's appointment as Chairman. His time as CEO coincided with the destruction of our FC game (mandating green pitches/involving too many teams diluting the quality). As a commentator he rarely possessed any insight and his only qualification was friendship with Imran.

I've also disliked his tendency to promote pet projects without applying logic (PJL/Drop in pitches), self-promotion, micromanagement (censoring commentators from criticising the AUS series pitches), and making silly comments (blank cheque/we made flat pitches to negate Aussie quicks/losing not an option).

That said Ramiz has overseen some good initiatives like including foreign coaches in domestic and junior cricket, and the Cricket Pathway programme.

However his biggest mistake is giving a visionless, inept and conservative skipper Babar Azam total authority over tactics and selections, and hiring a dummy coach in Saqlain when Babar needs an astute taskmaster to challenge and support him. You cannot recreate the Imran captaincy model with someone who's little better than Azhar Ali.

All I am reading these days in Pakistan cricket is finger-pointing and excuses, instead of accountability, responsibility and ownership.

Everyone just seems to be watching their own back to keep themselves in a job, instead of actually taking the game forward in Pakistan.

According to sports reporters, both Ramiz and the Chief Selector Mohd Wasim held a meeting with Babar where they expressed their concerns and suggested to him to have a rethink regarding his preference for a few players in the team especially Khusdil, Asif but Babar stuck to his guns that this is the team he wants.

So far the PCB has wholeheartedly backed Babar to their credit, however a shambolic performance by the team in the T-20 WC will be curtains for his captaincy, either he will be asked to step down or be replaced by someone else.

Babar is coming across as quite a stubborn nutcase if he's persisting with his chosen players just for the sake of it, and without really giving any valid justification.

Yes, you need to be firm and back your squad but at the same time you need to be ruthless with the lack of performance. If you're not, you look like a fool.

According to sports reporters, both Ramiz and the Chief Selector Mohd Wasim held a meeting with Babar where they expressed their concerns and suggested to him to have a rethink regarding his preference for a few players in the team especially Khusdil, Asif but Babar stuck to his guns that this is the team he wants.

So far the PCB has wholeheartedly backed Babar to their credit, however a shambolic performance by the team in the T-20 WC will be curtains for his captaincy, either he will be asked to step down or be replaced by someone else.

Babar should handover captaincy burden to asif ali .. he is not fit for T20s

All I am reading these days in Pakistan cricket is finger-pointing and excuses, instead of accountability, responsibility and ownership.

Everyone just seems to be watching their own back to keep themselves in a job, instead of actually taking the game forward in Pakistan.

And they happily take that mouth watering salary check every month.

i've predicted for a while that babar will soon no longer be captain of the t20 side. And eventually captain of none of the formats. He's not going to grow into the role just as shan masood will never grow into a naturally talented batsman. The world cup is the final call for this ******** "winning formula" that everyone including ramiz has had to take up on babar's behalf because the latter is currently untouchable. but this will change soon. It's clear now that sarfraz, though i deeply resented his shouting and bullying, was a better tactical captain. We've regressed massively, to a large extent because Babar does not have the imagination and boldness to against such crazy edicts as Misbah forcefully making a place for Rizwan as opener when he doesn't belong in the T20 format.

honestly, he is coming across as a very insecure leader. Keeps comparing to Australia, and other teams. We have our own legacy you fool, wake up and smell the coffee.

Australia has a better legacy. They have a better process.

i've predicted for a while that babar will soon no longer be captain of the t20 side. And eventually captain of none of the formats. He's not going to grow into the role just as shan masood will never grow into a naturally talented batsman. The world cup is the final call for this ******** "winning formula" that everyone including ramiz has had to take up on babar's behalf because the latter is currently untouchable. but this will change soon. It's clear now that sarfraz, though i deeply resented his shouting and bullying, was a better tactical captain. We've regressed massively, to a large extent because Babar does not have the imagination and boldness to against such crazy edicts as Misbah forcefully making a place for Rizwan as opener when he doesn't belong in the T20 format.

Too many random points. Rizwan is carrying our batting line up.

Secondly, Sarfraz was playing as a specialist captain. His performance was poor and did not make the team on merit.

There is some thought that Sarfraz and Rizwan can both be part of the team, but then Rizwan is a better keeper also.

Sarfraz train has passed.

Speaking in a TV interview

“Previously we used to falter at the very first hurdle. Yes we reached the final and yes we did not play well. But it's okay to have a bad day. But there were others teams as well in the Asia Cup. I mean then India should then have been severely criticised for not reaching the final. But that is not what their fans and media do. I'll tell you...when Virat Kohli scored a century against Afghanistan, they forgot their entire Asia Cup. Will we ever do that? What we say is that Babar Azam scored a ton, but his strike rate was 135 while David Warner's was 147.3. So this is useless,"

Forget our Men’s playing fearless cricket

How did our women lose to Thailand?

Ramiz seems more concerned about protecting reputations than trying to make progress. Instead of getting defensive about not being able to play like Australia, he should be asking what needs to be done to change the mindset of Pakistan's approach.

Why does Babar160 always want to set a target of....160?

No one is saying push a button and fix it, but this issue has been glaring for a few years now, what has been done to address it?

Ramiz seems more concerned about protecting reputations than trying to make progress. Instead of getting defensive about not being able to play like Australia, he should be asking what needs to be done to change the mindset of Pakistan's approach.

Why does Babar160 always want to set a target of....160?

No one is saying push a button and fix it, but this issue has been glaring for a few years now, what has been done to address it?

Because Babar has done the maths with his and Rizwan’s strike rate and knows 160 is achievable even on an off day for the batting side

It's kind of good that Babar is sticking to his guns but if anything less than a semi final then he should be sacked as captain.

see this proves our team/system is full of mental midgets... kyon tum log tunday ho? go woth positive and aggressive intent and in t20 more often than not this alone will get u matches u never thgt possible to win.

Not sure what you're actually basing this sentiment on. You can go with all of the positive intent in the world. It won't win them anything if they can't actually bat.

It was embarrasing to see our middle order play with intent and fail, or even try and play themselves in and fail. Obviously they are just bad.

Ultimately we need to accept that we have nothing to work with in terms of batting aggression. Our most likely winning strategy remains to let our only two decent batsmen play the most balls and have our bowlers defend it.

It's kind of good that Babar is sticking to his guns but if anything less than a semi final then he should be sacked as captain.

Are we really saying that a team that has zero middle order is required to finish in the top 4 in Australia as a minimum?

Why?

Are we really saying that a team that has zero middle order is required to finish in the top 4 in Australia as a minimum?

Why?

Yeah it just requires Babar and Rizwan to keep opening and bury its head in the sand.

Speaking on a TV show:

About Pakistan defeating India in the Super 4s stage of the Asia Cup 2022 tournament

“Their achievement is nothing short of a miracle. I never saw Pakistan beating India (in World Cup), but now they have done it. But then, people say, ‘ok, this has happened. Let's move on'. You should pause a little and recognize their achievements. We have defeated a billion-dollar cricket industry. It isn't easy,"

“This team has a wonderful temperament. There are issues in the middle order and we tend to freeze and drop catches in big games. But these aren't things where you can work upon. Everything is possible,”

Ok Ramiz Bhai...win or lose, we will never criticize our team, because they are still learning. We will give them years to learn. I know learning is not easy. As per Malcolm Gladewell it takes 10 years to become an expert in any field.

Ramiz Bhai, the problem is we don't have a growth/learning mindset. Successful teams even learn and grow when they are winning.

“This team has a wonderful temperament. There are issues in the middle order and we tend to freeze and drop catches in big games. But these aren't things where you can work upon. Everything is possible,”

These aren’t things you can work on? Did he really say that?

Ramiz said:

“India should then have been severely criticised for not reaching the final. But that is not what their fans and media do. I'll tell you...when Virat Kohli scored a century against Afghanistan, they forgot their entire Asia Cup. Will we ever do that?”

Salman Butt response:

“There was absolutely no need to take a dig. Aap relevant example bhi nahi de sakte. Vo duniya ka top player, he's only the second (third) man in entire history of cricket jiske 70+ hundred hai. Beherhaal, I don't know.. he is frustrated. Maybe he's got some news, jo baakiyon ko kuch dino baad milegi. Unhone aur bhi kayi baat ki hai jinka koi mettle ya logic nahi tha. Bas satehi baatein ki hain (You can't even give relevant examples. He's only the third man in cricket history with 70+ international tons. He is frustrated. Maybe he has some news that others will get a few days later. He said a lot of others thing that didn't have any logic. It's just superficial talk)"

Ramiz on experimentation with Pakistan middle-order

“Humlogo ne pichle T20 me kiya tha, mujhe koi problem nehin hain. Mere jo philosophy hain na cricket ki aur achhi team ki woh yeh hain ki ek consistency chaiye selection main. Dusra, aapko captain ko strong karna chaiye. Humrahe bench main koi Lionel Messi nehi baitha huya hain, aur humne ekdom hi raddi players ko rakha hain. Humare options limited hain. And isiliye option ko barane kiliye and talent pool ko increase karne kiliye junior level ke upar bohot kaam kar rahein hain. May be iss wqat hit and miss hain...but mera philosophy wohi hain ki captain ko strong karna chaiye. Unko aap options de ki kin players ko khilana chaiye"

Wow! I’m excited. Only last week he said we don’t have a maradona. Now he says we haven’t got Lionel Messi. Has he found our Maradona?

On a serious note, he’s just rinsing, repeating the same stuff but using different words. I’m so glad we don’t have to listen to his cliche ridden nonsense in commentary on a daily basis anymore.

Shoaib Malik was reportedly considered for re-entry into the squad for the previous T20 World Cup. Ramiz Raja, the head of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), had quite unusual perspective on the subject when he was questioned about it.

Pakistan hasn’t played their best until the T20 World Cup 2022. Pakistan was defeated at home by England in a 7-match T20I series, 3-4, after failing to win the Asia Cup. In contrast, Babar Azam’s team appears to be making improvements in the tri-series against Bangladesh and New Zealand.

Pakistan won both of their series’ first games against Bangladesh and New Zealand. However, there are still uncertainties over the team’s middle order. Ramiz Raja was questioned by Geo News about the state of affairs at the moment and Pakistan’s plans to deal with them.

It’s not like Pakistan has Lionel Messi on the bench and a “raddi” guy is playing, Raja added, in a pretty cynical perspective on the situation.

“It’s not like we have Lionel Messi on bench”: Ramiz Raja criticizes Pakistan’s batting unit

“We did it in the last T20 World Cup (selecting Shoaib Malik). I don’t have any problem doing it again. My philosophy is simple, you should have consistency in selection. You need a strong captain as well. We don’t have Lionel Messi sitting on our bench and it is not like we have selected really bad players. We have limited options,” Ramiz said on the Pakistani channel.

“To increase options and talent pool, we are working on our junior leagues, at this point in time, it’s a bit of hit and miss but my philosophy is to make the captain strong. You should give him the options on which players to give chance to,” he added.

DailyTimes

I don’t know why people are taking offense to what he is saying. It’s true India didn’t get criticized as much as Pakistan would have, had we crashed out of the group stages. While Kohli’s hundred against Afghanistan did invoke numerous articles and shows about his return, while Babar’s hundred against England was met with a lukewarm response from his own fans (and surprisingly some hate too).

He is 200% correct on the limited options we have at the moment. Going back to Shoaib Malik, who himself is a waste of space in Australia, is not the answer to our woes.

Nothing wrong with anything he has said. He is rubbing people the wrong way because he is talking facts, rather than cherry coat his statements with the usual drivel. There is no magic wand that could have produced a dynamic middle-order batsman in Pakistan in the one year he has been in charge. You want to blame someone? Blame his predecessors for continuing with mediocrity and not selecting the right people at grass-root level to identify talent.

Ah, no wonder Aqib Javed is rubbing 90% of the people here in the wrong way too ;)

I don’t know why people are taking offense to what he is saying. It’s true India didn’t get criticized as much as Pakistan would have, had we crashed out of the group stages. While Kohli’s hundred against Afghanistan did invoke numerous articles and shows about his return, while Babar’s hundred against England was met with a lukewarm response from his own fans (and surprisingly some hate too).

He is 200% correct on the limited options we have at the moment. Going back to Shoaib Malik, who himself is a waste of space in Australia, is not the answer to our woes.

Pakistan is a land of fairy tales so the awaam thinks anything is possible. And a minority of their delusional armchair fans too who will criticise the things that are going right, and make numerous excuses for those that aren't.

You're speaking sense 100% but don't be surprised if you get back responses on why Babar isn't really suited to opening and flana flana should come in and they will hit a sixer on 6 out 6 balls. And all our worries will drive into the sunset.

Pakistan is a land of fairy tales so the awaam thinks anything is possible. And a minority of their delusional armchair fans too who will criticise the things that are going right, and make numerous excuses for those that aren't.

You're speaking sense 100% but don't be surprised if you get back responses on why Babar isn't really suited to opening and flana flana should come in and they will hit a sixer on 6 out 6 balls. And all our worries will drive into the sunset.
Find it funny people want to break the one thing that’s working for our batting, just to fulfill their desires of watching Fakhar and Sharjeel open the batting. In an ideal world that should be the case, but Fakhar and Sharjeel’s records do not suggest they can be relied upon to provide stable starts. Isn’t it better to have Rizwan and Babar set the tone, rather than have them come in at 10-2 every other game?

The problem is it is the easiest thing in the world to say "Well I've done my best", "this is all we can do for now, we are still learning".

When will anyone take some accountability?

I agree Shoaib Malik is not the answer, but you can do more, you can always do more.

For the T20 WC 2021

“Babar Azam was here with the Chief Selector before leaving for the World Cup, and I asked him what are your plans against India"

“I can tell you how to get rid of Rohit Sharma right now and Babar was intrigued. I said get Shaheen Afridi bowling at 100mph, get a man at short-leg. Just bowl that inswinging yorker at 100mph and do not give him a single and keep him on strike. You will get him out"

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...missal-india-vs-pakistan-101665913870941.html