This is Pakistan's best chance to win the ICC T20 World Cup tournament

Ab Fan

Senior Test Player
This is not a jinxing thread but given the current scenario of the teams and the matches coming up, Pakistan actually have the best chance to win this tournament.

Let us have a look at bogey teams for each of the four qualified teams :

New Zealand 's bogey team - Pakistan, England

England 's bogey team - Pakistan( lost in CT'17 and WC'19)

India's bogey team - New Zealand

Pakistan 's bogey team - Australia, India

Now given the qualifications scenarios :

S1 :- India vs England (Adelaide)
S2 :- NZ vs Pakistan ( Sydney)

The game between NZ and Pakistan is a game in which Pakistan go as favourites based on the enocunters of the two teams historically and also in recent times. The conditions in Sydney also gives Pakistan a great advantage.

India vs England could have been anyone's game. But on paper, England are stronger team, favourites and they do have an advantage vs India after beating them in 2019 World Cup. If England were not a strong team, India could have choked England like in 2013 CT Final.

This gives us a Pakistan vs England in Finals and if there is one team that England struggle in World Cups and Knockouts that is Pakistan. This gives Pakistan a scenario similar to 1992 World Cup.

Another scenario which is very less likely at the moment is if India loses to Zimbabwe then the semi final matches are :

India vs NZ- NZ
Pak vs Eng - Anyone but Pak has history on their side

NZ vs Pak - Pak should be favourites here too.

So, even in this scenario, Pakistan has a great chance of going all the way through and win the tournament. Their biggest mental block is against Australia who are out of this tournament already.

The only scenario where Pakistan may find it slightly tough is if they face India in finals because India have a 13-1 record against them in World Cups and India at the moment can afford a World Cup loss but not a loss vs Pakistan.

To conclude, Pakistan looks as the strongest contender for winning this tournament all of a sudden.

Agree on this although Pak batting is not up to mark but if they somehow put a decent total, bowlers can do the job. Pak bowling has the firepower to rattle Ind Eng & Newzealand batsmen:akhtar

Pretty much all the teams sucked at various stages. SA definitely does not deserve to go to the next round based on today's display.

The way Pakistan enter in semifinal its seem they destinate to win this WT20 Cup.

No way.

The way Kohli pulled India over the line against Pak was the one. It is his destiny to win India a trophy before he retires.

Let's see Pakistan should be confident going into SF
They had close defeats however their victories were more thorough and whelming

It's a battle between NZ, Eng & Ind, 3 choking teams Vs the strongest T20 side in world. :inti

That's a confident Pak fan claim but I guess this tells that my point in the OP is definitely a valid one based on the historical results between these teams as well as the strength of the teams too.

Pakistan has over achieved with a Semi Final berth.

I am worried about Babar and Rizwan batting, other than that batting is doing well and bowling is amazing. Do not see us winning against NZ

Pakistan are known for their unpredictable nature of cricket. If there is one team that can completely shift the momentum from now, that would be Pakistan. The loss of South Africa have given Pakistan a new birth in this tournament and that calls for a really frightening stuff for the other teams.

Imagine South Africa instead in a knockout and you would have felt a sigh of relief being from opposition camp.

Pakistan now have the momentum.

They should beat New Zealand in the semi-final.

paks batting is weak and pak made it to the semis by the skin of their teeth, paks chances last year, in "home" conditions were far better, but they bottled it.

pak need at least 30 overs of world class batting to win over two games, and i don't see where it comes from atm.

No they haven't.

Pakistan should have defeated India, only Kohli was difference and Pakistan is a better side than Zimbabwe.

Against SA, Dutch and BD you saw the normal side of Pakistan in this T20.

And don't forget that Pakistan have made it to semis without any good contributionf from the openers. If they can get us even 45 runs in PP, we will post a good total.

Pakistan now have the momentum.

They should beat New Zealand in the semi-final.

Unfortunately not. Today was a stutter thanks to Babar. He is also our captain transmitting his energy throughout the squad.

I'd say we're in the least best shape momentum wise out of the final 4.

Unfortunately not. Today was a stutter thanks to Babar. He is also our captain transmitting his energy throughout the squad.

I'd say we're in the least best shape momentum wise out of the final 4.

New Zealand have been Pakistan's bunny historically (knockout games).

I think current New Zealand side aren't that great. Aussies made them look good.

Has anybody been watching this Pakistan team? They have no confidence in their ability to make any kind of total. If it was any other team against them instead of BD they probably lose (see Zimbabwe). What are y'all seeing?!? Or better yet, what are y'all smoking?!? 😂

New Zealand have been Pakistan's bunny historically (knockout games).

I think current New Zealand side aren't that great. Aussies made them look good.

New Zealand would be like :-

"Acha khaasa South Africa mil raha tha semi final me, ab Pakistan ko jhelna padega" :91:

"It was going all good when it looked like we will face SA but now we have to deal with Pakistan " :91:

Has anybody been watching this Pakistan team? They have no confidence in their ability to make any kind of total. If it was any other team against them instead of BD they probably lose (see Zimbabwe). What are y'all seeing?!? Or better yet, what are y'all smoking?!? ��

I think you were right not too long ago. But Haris has been playing fearlessly, Ifti has found some form, and the rest have all chipped in with cameos at some point or other.

If Pakistan can learn from this opening debacle and seperate RizBab that will also increase our batting chances.

Pakistan also have the best bowling in the tournament so anything 150+ is all we need to be well in the game. That wasn't the case against India when we had the wrong bowling combination and a half-crocked Shaheen.

Pak lost 4-3 to an England team recently. That England team didn't have Wood playing all the matches, and didn't have guys like Butler and Stokes.

Pak didn't have Shaheen and the power hitting of Haris (in recent times anyway).

If those two are in the final, would be a good game.

I am glad Pak is playing NZ in the semi-finals, but I think it would be silly to underestimate NZ. Pak may take it too easy knowing they just beat NZ recently.

Has anybody been watching this Pakistan team? They have no confidence in their ability to make any kind of total. If it was any other team against them instead of BD they probably lose (see Zimbabwe). What are y'all seeing?!? Or better yet, what are y'all smoking?!? ��

They beat South Africa. Almost beat India too.

They are a very unpredictable and dangerous side.

We'll see I guess. I just have no faith in their batting and neither do they. Everyone looks like they're searching for shots and Haris is a pure slogger (Shahzaib Hasan, Khalid Latif, Rifatullah type) and luck has been with him. At least he's trying to score though for which I'll give him credit. Hope they prove me wrong.

Agree on this although Pak batting is not up to mark but if they somehow put a decent total, bowlers can do the job. Pak bowling has the firepower to rattle Ind Eng & Newzealand batsmen:akhtar

They can surprise india with Mohammad Haris opening..

This is not a jinxing thread but given the current scenario of the teams and the matches coming up, Pakistan actually have the best chance to win this tournament.

Let us have a look at bogey teams for each of the four qualified teams :

The game between NZ and Pakistan is a game in which Pakistan go as favourites based on the enocunters of the two teams historically and also in recent times. The conditions in Sydney also gives Pakistan a great advantage.

India vs England could have been anyone's game. But on paper, England are stronger team, favourites and they do have an advantage vs India after beating them in 2019 World Cup. If England were not a strong team, India could have choked England like in 2013 CT Final.

This gives us a Pakistan vs England in Finals and if there is one team that England struggle in World Cups and Knockouts that is Pakistan. This gives Pakistan a scenario similar to 1992 World Cup.

Another scenario which is very less likely at the moment is if India loses to Zimbabwe then the semi final matches are :

India vs NZ- NZ

So, even in this scenario, Pakistan has a great chance of going all the way through and win the tournament. Their biggest mental block is against Australia who are out of this tournament already.

The only scenario where Pakistan may find it slightly tough is if they face India in finals because India have a 13-1 record against them in World Cups and India at the moment can afford a World Cup loss but not a loss vs Pakistan.

To conclude, Pakistan looks as the strongest contender for winning this tournament all of a sudden.

Strongest contender? Didn't you say that this is a joke of a format and any team can beat any other team so this shouldn't be taken seriously? All of a sudden Pakistan are favorites now? On the basis of what? Kindly elaborate. :kp

In a logical and trolling less world, these are the favorites:

England
India
New Zealand
Pakistan

:inti

Favourites tag goes out of the window now.

It's a matter of two good games for each side. The skill gap between the final 4 isn't big enough to counter anything other than what happens on the day.

Boys are happy to reach the semis. I think that's the end of the road for us and I'm ok with that.

The skill gap between the final 4 isn't big enough to counter anything other than what happens on the day.

Yes. Pakistan has openers that match the power hitting capabilities of the other 3 teams. Also, middle order batsmen and finishers who can match England, NZ and India lol

Has anybody been watching this Pakistan team? They have no confidence in their ability to make any kind of total. If it was any other team against them instead of BD they probably lose (see Zimbabwe). What are y'all seeing?!? Or better yet, what are y'all smoking?!? 😂
Would you say the same thing for England? Let’s see you be fair about it.

The batting isn’t great, made to look worse by the two opening batters who are literally playing match-losing knocks.

But Pakistan is not to be discounted, they are a terrible team to predict anything against :facepalm;

Even with Rizwan and Babar batting so badly?

My gut tells me,

These two will win us one of the two games. Or one will contribute significantly in the Semi and the other might make a decent or substantial contribution in the final.

Knockouts of this nature are extremely hard to predict with Pakistan. When they are on this tournament streak role, literally anyone can do something extraordinary to get you over the line.

Yh historically weve done well against the kiwis in wc and then its the final

Id back ourselved to beat england in the final

Pakistan will InshaAllah win the tournament because of that legendary tournament/ backs against the wall fighting out of the corner momentum....not because they are the strongest on paper to do so.

Babar needs to come out with a cornered tiger shirt, a special tribute to [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] 🤣

My gut tells me,

These two will win us one of the two games. Or one will contribute significantly in the Semi and the other might make a decent or substantial contribution in the final.

Knockouts of this nature are extremely hard to predict with Pakistan. When they are on this tournament streak role, literally anyone can do something extraordinary to get you over the line.

I do have a feeling that Babar would bring his A game in both the knockouts of they get to final.

Till now he was trying his best to get kicked out early, unfortunately they qualified

Only 2 games from now would see them home , he missed the chance last year after being in the winning position , I hope he learnt his lessons.

The way this tournament has gone with so many upsets historical data goes out of the window. All 4 teams are in with an equal chance and its a matter of which teams has 2 good days.

Would you say the same thing for England? Let’s see you be fair about it.

The batting isn’t great, made to look worse by the two opening batters who are literally playing match-losing knocks.

But Pakistan is not to be discounted, they are a terrible team to predict anything against :facepalm;

You can make your judgements about me being fair or not. England is overrated, they don't have the bowling and batters haven't been able to click post Morgan. Indian bowling is worse than a club cricket lineup. I would still take both rosters in a heartbeat over Pak. Also, none of that takes away from Pak's woes and the reality of the Pak team. They can't score quickly, never been able to and when they do it's a one-off. Top that off with the slowest opening parternership in the history of T20 cricket (exaggerating for effect, but you get the point), terrible fitness, and beyond terrible fielding. It always takes some kind of miracle for them. Hope they prove me wrong, but even if they somehow win this WC, all the warts are there and not going away anytime soon (see post champions trophy pakistan).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="zxx" dir="ltr"><a href="https://t.co/OsnK5tlHCr">pic.twitter.com/OsnK5tlHCr</a></p>— Ramiz Raja (@iramizraja) <a href="https://twitter.com/iramizraja/status/1589166416787542016?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 6, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This was Australia's best chance to win another tournament, until it's not anymore. It's just a game, there are 12 teams fighting for the prize and there can only be one winner. There are o trophies for participation.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="zxx" dir="ltr"><a href="https://t.co/OsnK5tlHCr">pic.twitter.com/OsnK5tlHCr</a></p>— Ramiz Raja (@iramizraja) <a href="https://twitter.com/iramizraja/status/1589166416787542016?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 6, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Very cryptic tweet by Rameez. :inti

This was Australia's best chance to win another tournament, until it's not anymore. It's just a game, there are 12 teams fighting for the prize and there can only be one winner. There are o trophies for participation.

Yeah but they were written off before the UAE and ended up winning that.

T20 is a crazily unpredictable tournament. Who knew we can lose to Zimbabwe then trash South Africa a few days later. England can lose to Ireland yet everyone is scared of them in the finals.

The whole tournament is about which of the top teams is in the best form or gets the most luck over a few weeks.

Strongest contender? Didn't you say that this is a joke of a format and any team can beat any other team so this shouldn't be taken seriously? All of a sudden Pakistan are favorites now? On the basis of what?<B> Kindly elaborate.</B> :kp

In a logical and trolling less world, these are the favorites:

England
India
New Zealand
Pakistan

:inti

Padh le bhai thoda, bas aakar hag deta hai! :91:

Complete elaboration is done in that post only and the final conclusion is that Pakistan looks as strongest contender for winning the tournament. :facepalm :inti

Read that post again.

Nope.

England v New Zealand final coming up.

And I get the feeling New Zealand will win it. Though I want England to lift the trophy.

Don't believe historical records have any relevance to the present. The game and the calibre of sides have changed so much in the last 10 - 15 years let alone the entire history of the sport.

Ppers can be negative toxic or repeatedly bang on about the same thing

However if pakistan wins with this strategy and the way they are playing, no sane fan will care how its done as long as it is

Best chance was last year. But Pakistan generally play poorly under high expectations so we bottled it.

Anyway, Pakistan England to meet again in a repeat of the 92 final.

India has to up their game, spin will play a major role in semi finals and out of all the teams, India has looked toothless in spin department. Ranking wise
1- Shadab + iftikhar + Nawaz
2- Santner and Sodhi
3- Moeen - Rashid
4- Axar-Ashwin least effective

Rizwan and Babar need to fire in this last two games. One of them play well can make a big difference to the team.

This Pak team has shown to be very mentally weak in this tournament and over the last few months. However the captain is, his personality leaks over to the players.

As much as I opposed Sarfraz the player, as a captain he injected a lot of confidence in the team.

Babar has been the opposite. We choked Vs India, Vs Zimbabwe and openers + fielders tried their best to choke yesterday as well- in all 3 games we were the ones in the strong positions.

NZ aren’t as stone cold killer of a team like Australia or India historically that absorb pressure like a sponge. Even India isn’t as strong mentally after Dhoni left. But Kohli is the difference.

We have to man up and quit fearing failure. Need to reframe our mindset. I know Babar and Rizwan can perform, but for the time being they need to let someone else take control.

Look at how these new promising Pak batsmen bat when they first get into the team. Harris, Haider, and even U Akmal (when he first came in)- Look at how they played initially.

And instead of promoting Harris, Umar and Haider we tried to force them to become #6 sloggers. Saw the post match speech Babar gave to the boys, and while they were clapping for Haris, he mentioned “finishing” to him. Wth?

I absolutely hate this pathetic mentality of the openers playing like a snail and some makeshift sloggers having to bail them out.

It’s high time we take the bright spots in our team, promote them to where it’s easier to make an impact and let them loose with a LONG rope.

Pakistan will likely lose primarily due to bad captaincy/strategy.

They have a solid team otherwise.

The best chance for Pakistan to win another world cup was last year. We are the best team on the planet on those pitches and were the favorites going into the KO matches.

This time around we only made the semis due to spectacular circumstances (see Ramiz's tweet above) and need to play far better cricket if we are to defeat New Zealand and the other finalist.

Problem with an inconsistent team like Pakistan is that it drives its fans insane. As a result, Pakistani fans over many decades become wrist slitters after every defeat and world conquerers after every win. But one thing that’s true is that an inconsistent team is not a great team, just a lucky team. So if you’re lucky then you’ll be happy for a few days before it’s time to slit those wrists again.
It’s like a circle of life on the forum.

Gotta love how easily murtads get triggered by Muslims sharing ayaats of the Quran.

I thought Rameez was an Ahmedi, been under this impression for few decades now. None the less sharing Quranic ayaats when it suits you isn't the way to go from an official, well we beat a muslim opponent as well, are they less muslims or inferior muslims than us?

Problem with an inconsistent team like Pakistan is that it drives its fans insane. As a result, Pakistani fans over many decades become wrist slitters after every defeat and world conquerers after every win. But one thing that’s true is that an inconsistent team is not a great team, just a lucky team. So if you’re lucky then you’ll be happy for a few days before it’s time to slit those wrists again.
It’s like a circle of life on the forum.

People don't understand that, while I love that team is winning, I can do that without the heart attacks and high blood pressure in each game. I will take a clinical approach nine out of ten times and a thriller once in a while. Unfortunately it is reverse for us.

The only thing I can say is that India's chances look bleak. I am an Indian but I need to be honest. Looking at the performances so far, Indian batting does not inspire any confidence. Can't comment on the chances of the other teams and none of them have been a standout. If we are looking at non-cricketing criteria's like fans do then may be Pakistan as they made a comeback from nowhere to reach the semis. Except for that I don't think any of the 3 teams have any advantage. All 3 teams other than India have a good bowling attack and except for Pakistan the other 2 teams have great batting as well. NZ & England also have another thing which both India & Pakistan struggle with which is the fielding. So no favourites for me, just know that it will be difficult for India as I don't see them winning.

It is indeed the best chance for Pakistan to win as they face England tomorrow in the finals.

<B>Let us have a look at bogey teams for each of the four qualified teams :

This gives us a Pakistan vs England in Finals and if there is one team that England struggle in World Cups and Knockouts that is Pakistan. This gives Pakistan a scenario similar to 1992 World Cup.</B>

India vs NZ- NZ

Read the bolded part and tell me if I didn't got it absolutely spot on! :) :inti