"This time around, we will strictly penalise anyone caught fixing" : Shahryar Khan [update#194]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PCB Chairman "We have evidence, definitely have evidence. We have proof against a few & are trying to gather evidence against more" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/830154193356914692">February 10, 2017</a></blockquote>

That means Sharjeel and Khalid are done. So sad. Can't believe this. Sharjeel out of all people...

Still can't believe this. How can anyone be so stupid to put his good 5-6 years career and different offers from different leagues at stake?
Greed is really a curse.
Hopefully others players are not as big disappointment as we have already got. :facepalm:

Good riddance. I was broken when Amir/Asif/Butt were convicted. Sharjeel may be just as big of a loss, but it is barely affecting me. I am glad these type of players are being weeded out. Complete lack of IQ in our players.

Getting bigger and worse this.

Other players involved according to the Chairman.

Still can't believe this. How can anyone be so stupid to put his good 5-6 years career and different offers from different leagues at stake?
Greed is really a curse.
Hopefully others players are not as big disappointment as we have already got. :facepalm:

This is seriously awful awful stuff. But still waiting for Investigation reports to come

PSL was supposed to unearth talented Pak domestic players.

Instead, Pak might lose a very good opener :sharjeel

This is absolutely shambolic from the PCB chairman!

When you've issued a statement that we have caught something . . You have named 2 players who you suspected . . And you have said we have launched an investigation and it's inappropriate to say anything till the inquiry is complete . .

Then why the hell would you come out and put fire on fuel?! Freaking keep it shut please!!!
Absolute shambles!
These guys don't know anything about media management, crisis management . .
Anywhere in the world, when you launch an investigation. . You don't speak or give people a reason to speculate until you have issued definitive statements . .

Exactly what I'm going to do too.

Everybody is innocent until proven guilty

Yeah, also Najam Sethi likes to create drama and portray himself as some holier than thou figure who's come to fix Pakistan cricket. Don't like him one bit, tbh. Wouldn't be surprised if a mountain was made of a molehill, though, should these guys be in the wrong, then they deserve the severest of punishments.

As it stands, there's a lot of hearsay, and nothing really substantial in terms of facts. So, we'll wait..

Apparently Sharjeel was crying the entire flight to Karachi. Also they are saying both have accepted their mistakes.

Sharjeel Khan comes across as a bit soft, so doesn't really surprise me that he'd cry on the flight. I probably would've done the same, guilty or not.

No point crying now, if guilty.

If guilty, you deserve to be ashamed of yourself for the rest of your lifetime, you hideous individual.

why on earth would this idiot come out and say that? rank speculation is going to spiral out of control and everyone is going to be suspected. sheryar is a massive liability, total buffoon and should be put out to pasture as soon as possible. the only country it can be believed he was a diplomat is one as dysfunctional and idiotic as this one.

So frustrated. What have you done Sharjeel?

Never came across as the sharpest tool in the shed. Not surprised that he got involved in the wrong people.

However, I would wait till confirmed reports come out.

Never came across as the sharpest tool in the shed. Not surprised that he got involved in the wrong people.

They've been sent back to Pakistan. What more confirmation do you need?

crying? he can spend the rest of his career making tea by the side of the road doing that. no sympathy. he had a significant lucrative t20 international league ahead of him - deserves everything coming to him for this level of gross idiocy and shamelessness.

He's already accepted his mistakes and was crying on the flight back to Karachi. His career is ruined.

crying? he can spend the rest of his career making tea by the side of the road doing that. no sympathy. he had a significant lucrative t20 international league ahead of him - deserves everything coming to him for this level of gross idiocy and shamelessness.

I completely agree with you. He does not deserve any sympathy. A life ban from all levels of cricket is just and deserving.

I know but just angry to see hear his name in this sort of news. He had everything lined up for him. Why would he even go near these people, freaking idiot.

Considering how SK speaks attention seeking, u-turn trash every now and then lets see if his statement about ''others'' being involved is true.

I know but just angry to see hear his name in this sort of news. He had everything lined up for him. Why would he even go near these people, freaking idiot.

Freaking 70,000 pound contract with Leicester blown away.

This is seriously awful awful stuff. But still waiting for Investigation reports to come

I think initial investigation has been done and Sharjeel and Khalid have already confessed that they met with someone. PCB have evidence of that. And meeting someone with doubtful background and not informing PCB or ACU is also a crime and it's punishment is 2 years max. Now, in Pakistan, they will do further investigations like was it spot fixing or match fixing and how did they contact them and all. So, I am seeing at least a 2 years ban on Sharjeel and Khalid.
That said, this is all my opinion and could be a conspiracy theory. Hopefully, I will be proven wrong.

Hmmm

Lifetime ban for all caught
No surprise chairman came out with something
He loves going to the media 24/7
Sharjeel gives off the vibe of a guy who gives no F so probably saw it as an easy way to make money

Lifetime ban for all players involved
And that will be a big warning to any other idiots too

I think initial investigation has been done and Sharjeel and Khalid have already confessed that they met with someone. PCB have evidence of that. And meeting someone with doubtful background and not informing PCB or ACU is also a crime and it's punishment is 2 years max. Now, in Pakistan, they will do further investigations like was it spot fixing or match fixing and how did they contact them and all. So, I am seeing at least a 2 years ban on Sharjeel and Khalid.
That said, this is all my opinion and could be a conspiracy theory. Hopefully, I will be proven wrong.

That is more than likely what happened. Atleast that is what initial reports suggest as well.

Sethi looks much more professional with the task at hand and this SHK guy just can't miss an opportunity to sit in front of media and talk about something so openly that needs more professional handling. He should be issuing statements to media after completely checking again and again than giving media interviews.

Exactly what I thought when I heard the news. You can't be a total idiot to do something like fixing in this part of your career, It'd be like suicide. Also these guys don't look like trouble makers tbh.

They will I think be charged as proven to meet with doubtful person and handed over 6months to year ban probably whilst for failure to report.

Lets hear the full story before passing judgement.

But it is really disappointing to hear Sharjeel linked with this, just when he seems to be growing nicely in the international setup.

Exactly what I thought when I heard the news. You can't be a total idiot to do something like fixing in this part of your career, It'd be like suicide. Also these guys don't look like trouble makers tbh.

They will I think be charged as proven to meet with doubtful person and handed over 6months to year ban probably whilst for failure to report.

that implies if they didn't match fix or spot fix...

I completely agree with you. He does not deserve any sympathy. A life ban from all levels of cricket is just and deserving.
if he's guilty, yes.

as Seth said, there should be an absolute zero tolerance policy. thats only half the battle though, the other half is persuading the media and fans who have no sense of morals themselves not to elevate them to the status of martyr like they did with the trio.

I seriously think they haven't fixed. They may have failed to report for which they are now realising is a very serious offense.

Sethi and Shehryar are media buffons, They are probably just preaching their zero tolerance and strict culture on media by giving these statements.

That was Sethi implied in his statement to, he said "there is reason to believe that they may have already fixed, or were planning on fixing in the future"

So Sethi sahab isn't sure whether the act of fixing has taken place or was supposed to take place at a later date.

There might even be a situation where Sharjeel and Latif weren't intending to fix but didn't "know" that they had to report that they had met a fixer.

I seriously think they haven't fixed. They may have failed to report for which they are now realising is a very serious offense.

Sethi and Shehryar are media buffons, They are probably just preaching their zero tolerance and strict culture on media by giving these statements.

as [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] said the wording used by Sethi "damaging the league" so there is quite high chances of players involved in spot fixing/match fixing.

That was Sethi implied in his statement to, he said "there is reason to believe that they may have already fixed, or were planning on fixing in the future"

So Sethi sahab isn't sure whether the act of fixing has taken place or was supposed to take place at a later date.

There might even be a situation where Sharjeel and Latif weren't intending to fix but didn't "know" that they had to report that they had met a fixer.

A simple statement of ''we are aware of two players being involved and they have been suspended pending further investigations. We will not comment further until all the facts are known'' would have sufficed.

Instead our dear chairman cannot resist the TV attention.

If you see Sethi's talk with media he says:
Pehli baat to yeh hai ke agar aap kissi aise shakhs se milte hain aur phir aap hummain inform nahi karte....

Sethi and Shehryar are media buffons who want attention for their zero tolerance and strict norms for PSL, Hence this reaction and sending back of players for Investigation. Simple

as [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] said the wording used by Sethi "damaging the league" so there is quite high chances of players involved in spot fixing/match fixing.

Sethi and Shehryar while on media can say anything in flow.

If you see Sethi's talk with media he says:
Pehli baat to yeh hai ke agar aap kissi aise shakhs se milte hain aur phir aap hummain inform nahi karte....

Sethi and Shehryar are media buffons who want attention for their zero tolerance and strict norms for PSL, Hence this reaction and sending back of players for Investigation. Simple

then explain the silence from the players..they should have cleared the confusion..

No idea, Maybe board has noe asked them to be quiet over the issue since they also may realise they have failed to report.

'Didn't know' is no more an excuse. There was extensive education after the trio saga.

I know I have 70k Pound deal in my bag, Lots of other leagues already attracting, Fancy PSL contact and a regular Pakistan XI in all formats.

I'd be a total clown to go for fixing from this position which is certainly risky and shameful option also considering where my career stands.

I know I have 70k Pound deal in my bag, Lots of other leagues already attracting, Fancy PSL contact and a regular Pakistan XI in all formats.

I'd be a total clown to go for fixing from this position which is certainly risky and shameful option also considering where my career stands.

That is why I'm willing to give him the benefit of doubt at this point in time and would like to hear his side of the story before making any judgement.

If you think you will get awaywith it easily why don't take a extra 10-20000 dollars

Pakistan cricket once again being dragged through mud.

I feel sick.

No idea, Maybe board has noe asked them to be quiet over the issue since they also may realise they have failed to report.

if your name is mentioned along the lines of match fixing on all new channels and being discussed all over the cricketing world I'm sure you would come with some safe statement if you haven't done anything..insteadd we are hearing Sharjeel was crying in the plane.

As someone stated guy is a soft individual and has goodish reputation, Being named in fixing and corruption stuff could lead to trouble and possible ban for failing to report, Also since this all happened in a t20 league he may loose his goodwill for t20 contracts and leagues. In such situations it's likely to shed a year or two I guess? And yes media likes to hype it up, Like crying and stuff. They certainly didn't put camera over him to watch the guy cry over in plane.

My first feeling about this was that it's probably a failure to report case or something like that, And Sethi along with Shehryar are famous for their statements in media and U-turns so that shouldn't be a surprise but these guys named along In Fixing is certainly is a surprise and shock.

Why are people surprised that some players are corrupt? PK is one of the the most corrupt societies on earth and these players are from the that society.

As someone stated guy is a soft individual and has goodish reputation, Being named in fixing and corruption stuff could lead to trouble and possible ban for failing to report, Also since this all happened in a t20 league he may loose his goodwill for t20 contracts and leagues. In such situations it's likely to shed a year or two I guess? And yes media likes to hype it up, Like crying and stuff. They certainly didn't put camera over him to watch the guy cry over in plane.

My first feeling about this was that it's probably a failure to report case or something like that, And Sethi along with Shehryar are famous for their statements in media and U-turns so that shouldn't be a surprise but these guys named along In Fixing is certainly is a surprise and shock.

it could be speculations but looks like crime is definitely committed..it is only the length of crime to be determined. It's been like 9 hours since media naming them match fixing so should have seen some statement from the accused players.

All the excitement of this ongoing PSL has been ripped apart over the last few hours. I'm done with this edition.

Pakistan cricket is a torture. We are a disgrace, both as players and supporters. Shame on the fixers and shame on the people who support them.

Not sure why people are so mad about this. I'm pretty indifferent. Sharjeel will just be replaced. Nobody cared about Latif anyway.

I'm not sure why you aren't mad.

There is more context to this than you are suggesting.

Had a dream last night that it was the Pak vs India champions trophy match and we were batting first. Sharjeel and babar both made centuries.

I actually had a really good feeling about sharjeel that he would do well in champions trophy

I can't believe what these guys have done. Sharjeel had a good career ahead of him. Earlier i was trying to watch the Zalmi vs Karachi game but couldn't even concentrate on it. As I was just feeling heartbroken about what these guys have done. Now there is more names, seriously considering a long break away cricket. These guys will never learn.

First of all it ruins the entire atmosphere of the league.

Second of all Pakistan have lost one of their best OD bats.

Imo the atmosphere will only be bad if people continue to overreact like they currently are.

After everything that has happened to us why did they do this. How do they expect to get away with it with so much scrutiny. Stupid stupid people.

Why are people surprised that some players are corrupt? PK is one of the the most corrupt societies on earth and these players are from the that society.

Even overseas' pakistanis are really corrupt,so many pk in all sorts of fraud here and they think they are honest peoples lmao.

Should call off this edition of PSL. Have lost interest specially after hearing that others might also be involved.

No sympathy for any of the corrupt players, should be handed life bans. There is zero reason for corruption when you can still make millions in an honest way.

Just because of his situation does not give him benefit of the doubt. Do you really think PCB sent him back to Pakistan and made all the fuss about this issue in public before hearing his side of the story. How naive are one allowed to be? Remember Aamir, Butt and Asif. They had pretty bright future ahead of them as well.

Obviously we need to let all the facts come out. But this is sickening and dispiriting. The hard work of rebuilding Pakistan cricket's image in the last 7 years has been thrown away. Lack of education is not an excuse. Since the spot fixing scandal, there's been increased emphasis on educating the players about what to do if approached by bookmakers and how to report it.

Lack of pay is not an excuse. Sharjeel had a Leicestershire deal lined up with further lucrative t20 contracts inevitable and is playing regular international cricket. Latif has just got back into the national side.

These two have seen their OWN teammates getting jailed only a few years ago due to spot fixing. I will give credit to PCB for being proactive - after the success of the first PSL it was inevitable that the leeches would descend on the UAE this year to try to corrupt players. It seems they've done their homework by monitoring certain individuals and they've sent a strong message suspending two high profile players.

If Sharjeel is proven guilty, I might stop watching Pakistan cricket altogether.

What have we done to deserve this bs?