Time to drop Sarfaraz Ahmed from the Test team and pick Kamran or Rizwan

Suleiman

Khushamdeed.

As we all know Sarf hasn't been in the best possible form and is yet another false hope. England exposed him fully, and for his own sake we don't need him exposed a second time in England.

He has 1 attacking shot in the entire game, that being the sweep, other than that he looks uncomfortable against anything coming for his stumps, especially from pacers. Barmy army will be in tears if he tries this nonsense against a James Anderson swinging the ball at 133+ kph.

Now, on the other hand Kamran Akmal has been averaging 60 in The Quaid trophy with a blistering 80+ SR. Yeah he is a shady guy, but he is a senior and we need to respect that. He also seems motivated and is a much more complete batsman unlike Sarfraz.

Only issue is he cuts A LOT. A little too much. While I can appreciate a well played cut shot, too much of anything is not good, so I'd like coach Flower to have a word without him about that.

Other option is Riz, but he had a poor domestic season. Don't know of any other options, resident talent seekers please put any other names forward. But from me personally, my vote goes to Kami.

Sarfraz is overrated but there's no better option in Tests. Time to boot him out of Limited Overs for good.

lol @ Kamran Akmal.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] aren't you excited at the mention and prospect ?

Kamran Akmal has single handedly (or double handedly if he made it thus far) lost us uncountable matches - and entire series in places like England.

On the basis of his past performances, Sarfaraz deserves an extensive run in test matches.
On the basis of his past performances, Sarfaraz does NOT deserve a run in either ODIs or T-20s

In fact, I would definitely take him in T20s. He has been a great T20 batsman and has played some big knocks.

Sarfraz needs to shed 10 to 15 kg weight to improve as a batsman and as a keeper. Also he needs to work on his game.

I don't agree at all to drop him from test and odi team.

Pakistan selectors needs to develop Rehan Afridi as a keeper batsman. It was shocking to select karachi player with mediocre numbers ahead of him in pakistan A squad.

For T20's we should not have sarfraz or Rizwan. Both have poor strike rates for this format. Saifullah Bangash would be better.

I hoped that peshawar will pick Rehan Afridi as their keeper in PSL that would have been massive in his development but he wasn't picked by any franchise. He has played very little list A or T20 cricket uptil now to make anything from his numbers but having seen hi bat he has got good technique and has got decent number of shots in his armoury. He plays a lovely inside out drive over the cover against spinners in a stylo way :-)

In fact, I would definitely take him in T20s. He has been a great T20 batsman and has played some big knocks.

I think you forgot the last time he said "Give me three chances".

Shall I remind you ? :P

I think you forgot the last time he said "Give me three chances".

Shall I remind you ? :P

Well don't forget WT20 2009 and 2010 either. Sarfraz isn't winning us the tournament either. Neither will Rizwan.

Akmal bros can. Proven performers.

Well don't forget WT20 2009 and 2010 either. Sarfraz isn't winning us the tournament either. Neither will Rizwan.

WE are NOT winning with AKMAL BROS nor without them.

Likh lo..

You can write it.

OP of thread just to let you know today isnt the 1st of April :facepalm: so bit early for april fools jokes.

People need to admit it - we all miss Kamran's crispy fours through the off-side. Both him and Butt are off-side gods.

kamran sure the first name on the team sheet in t20s
sarfraz's game is centered around manipulation of the field and hitting quick single

Kamran loves hitting the ball for boundaries, very explosive player

People need to admit it - we all miss Kamran's crispy fours through the off-side. Both him and Butt are off-side gods.

Finally, an honest comment. People need to stop crying about Sydney and focus here. Sarfraz isn't fit to clean peak Kamran's shoes.

If you guys need a reminder:

Sarfraz can't do half the stuff Kamran does in this innings. He would've tried to greet Balaji in the middle of a threatening spell with a half hearted sweep, and then the Indian crowd would've laughed at us. Look at how Kami bludgeons the ball. What a talent he was yaar..

for me sarfaz , rizwan , rehan and saifullah are all test and odi players but gor t-20 only bismillah khan is suitable , rizwan and sarfraz are doing well in test and odi but we need bismillah khan in t-20 as opener

Doesn't belong in LOIs as a batsman or keeper. His keeping isn't anywhere near test level nor does he have the potential to improve but his recent batting exploits will probably keep him in the test team for another year.

Finally, an honest comment. People need to stop crying about Sydney and focus here. Sarfraz isn't fit to clean peak Kamran's shoes.

If you guys need a reminder:

Sarfraz can't do half the stuff Kamran does in this innings. He would've tried to greet Balaji in the middle of a threatening spell with a half hearted sweep, and then the Indian crowd would've laughed at us. Look at how Kami bludgeons the ball. What a talent he was yaar..

11 years passed.

[MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] is giving tough competition to [MENTION=65183]freelance_cricketer[/MENTION]

Bhai sab kheriyat hai na? :inti

Those sixes against Steyn and Johnson . . . . proven big match player. He's a borderline Pakistan great in my view, will get there if he has a good year or two before retirement. Has dropped many catches but features at the top in terms of dismissals and ratio/innings and not to mention some all-time classics with the bat across all three formats.

Pakistan should recall Abdul Razzaq as well then.
Love his clean hitting at end.
Razzaq was the catalyst for Pakistan's turnaround in the t20 cup win.

Pakistan should recall Abdul Razzaq as well then.
Love his clean hitting at end.
Razzaq was the catalyst for Pakistan's turnaround in the t20 cup win.

By no means am I in favour of a comeback for Kamran... but he has been playing and performing in domestic cricket. Razzaq barely plays any professional cricket at all.

Those sixes against Steyn and Johnson . . . . proven big match player. He's a borderline Pakistan great in my view, will get there if he has a good year or two before retirement. Has dropped many catches but features at the top in terms of dismissals and ratio/innings and not to mention some all-time classics with the bat across all three formats.

As subtle as ever:ibutt

The only thing going for Kamran Akmal is that he has toured England twice before in 2006 and 2010, so might come with some experience if Pakistan are that desperate.

Asian teams need to treat their keepers with more respect.

India disrespect Dhoni and we disrespect Kami. Both have played their fair share of quality knocks in test games, I salute them both. :110:

When I have a son or daughter Insh Allah and they like cricket, will push them to be keeper batsman/batswoman

Khushamdeed.

As we all know Sarf hasn't been in the best possible form and is yet another false hope. England exposed him fully, and for his own sake we don't need him exposed a second time in England.

He has 1 attacking shot in the entire game, that being the sweep, other than that he looks uncomfortable against anything coming for his stumps, especially from pacers. Barmy army will be in tears if he tries this nonsense against a James Anderson swinging the ball at 133+ kph.

Now, on the other hand Kamran Akmal has been averaging 60 in The Quaid trophy with a blistering 80+ SR. Yeah he is a shady guy, but he is a senior and we need to respect that. He also seems motivated and is a much more complete batsman unlike Sarfraz.

Only issue is he cuts A LOT. A little too much. While I can appreciate a well played cut shot, too much of anything is not good, so I'd like coach Flower to have a word without him about that.

Other option is Riz, but he had a poor domestic season. Don't know of any other options, resident talent seekers please put any other names forward. But from me personally, my vote goes to Kami.

With this outlook, no wonder, Pakistan Cricket isn't progressing and the tried and tested players are brought back into fold. I assume the next player that should be given a chance is Imran Farhat.

Not needed. Can I have Kamran's average in england in tests before being worried about Sarfraz batting against Anderson & Co.?

Khushamdeed.

Whilst I do respect Kamran's contributions with the bat over the years and I do genuinely believe he was the most talented WK batsman we ever had - it is fair to say he is past it and we should look forward to the future now.

Rizwan deserves chances as a WK batsman and we could also play Umer Akmal as the WK to accommodate an additional batsman/all-rounder for the WT20

Whilst I do respect Kamran's contributions with the bat over the years and I do genuinely believe he was the most talented WK batsman we ever had - it is fair to say he is past it and we should look forward to the future now.

Rizwan deserves chances as a WK batsman and we could also play Umer Akmal as the WK to accommodate an additional batsman/all-rounder for the WT20

Umar won't keep again, and I like Rizwan but he has serious issues against spin which will cripple us in the WT20 in India.

Now Sarfraz is a great player of spin bowling but he's not a match-winner with the bat in Limited Overs like Kamran.

He is in great form and I'm willing to give him another go. Yes he failed miserably in the last two WT20s in SL and Bangladesh respectively, but so did Malik and we all know he will be one of our top performers in India this time around.

Not needed. Can I have Kamran's average in england in tests before being worried about Sarfraz batting against Anderson & Co.?

Who cares about stats? I watch the game on a Samsung Smart TV 42 incher, not on espncricinfo statsguru.

Some things are immeasurable, like ability and potential. It is so obvious who should be our keeper for the next tour.

When you love a girl, does she look at your average, strike rate of feelings, how many times she has stumped you or caught your behind? No, there's no way to measure your love for her. You know it's there, and she does too, she can see it in your eyes not on some statsguru...

But even if you want to talk about stats, refer to Kami's twitter for his recent performances. [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION], please link this fellow to Kami's tweet.

Who cares about stats? I watch the game on a Samsung Smart TV 42 incher, not on espncricinfo statsguru.

Some things are immeasurable, like ability and potential. It is so obvious who should be our keeper for the next tour.

When you love a girl, does she look at your average, strike rate of feelings, how many times she has stumped you or caught your behind? No, there's no way to measure your love for her. You know it's there, and she does too, she can see it in your eyes not on some statsguru...

But even if you want to talk about stats, refer to Kami's twitter for his recent performances. [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION], please link this fellow to Kami's tweet.

Oh yeah and his average of 60 mentioned in OP is literature I guess? :facepalm:.

The only thing going for Kamran Akmal is that he has toured England twice before in 2006 and 2010, so might come with some experience if Pakistan are that desperate.
And been disastrous on both

His butterfinger nature started on that tour in 2006 and continued through 09 aus where he was briefly replaced and eng tour in 10 where zulqarnain came in for him infamously because of his usual iron clad gloves

[MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] is a great addition to this forum but this sort of thread is something that you would expect from a troll.

Sarfaraz averages 46-47 at a SR of 60+ in test cricket. I don't care how many shots he has, he's the face of Pakistan cricket. :cena

His keeping is also better than Rizwan's and of course, any Akmal's. He's as undroppable as it gets.

Rizwan should be our keeper in LOIs. He has the potential of becoming a poor man's AB de Villiers.

[MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] is a great addition to this forum but this sort of thread is something that you would expect from a troll.

Sarfaraz averages 46-47 at a SR of 60+ in test cricket. I don't care how many shots he has, he's the face of Pakistan cricket. :cena

His keeping is also better than Rizwan's and of course, any Akmal's. He's as undroppable as it gets.

He is probably enjoying and laughing reading all the comments in the thread.

He isn't a troller, he is a TeaRoller, starts a debate, gets a cup of tea and enjoys the world burning in front of his eyes on his 42 inch flat screen attached to his laptop or ipad or Mac Air or whatever.

Sarfraz is one of our pepsi sipping star players. His poor numbers in ODI's are a result of us pigeoning him down the order because of a lack of space at the top of the order of which he cannot fit in. The solution is to either open with him or play him at number 4 since he's not a finisher by any means, we're literally wasting him.

Oh yeah and his average of 60 mentioned in OP is literature I guess? :facepalm:.

From the legend himself:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p lang="und" dir="ltr"><a href="https://t.co/Na18PR90Ca">pic.twitter.com/Na18PR90Ca</a></p>— Kamran Akmal (@KamiAkmal23) <a href="https://twitter.com/KamiAkmal23/status/686204015324086272">January 10, 2016</a></blockquote>

What a player. Time to give him another "three" chances in the upcoming WT20. I have no doubt he will smash hundreds at will.

In his last six Test series - in the last 18 months - his series batting averages have been:

............. And you want to drop him????????????

In his last six Test series - in the last 18 months - his series batting averages have been:

............. And you want to drop him????????????

If not for Kamran, then Umar. Now you agree, right? :ghalib

Khushamdeed.

you need to go back to sleep and wake up again; may be it will clear your head

No, [MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION].

I think that the apparent decline of Umar Akmal has been because he hasn't played a Test for 4 years, in which time he has been used only for 50 and 20 over slogs and to keep wicket.

I think Umar Akmal should purely and exclusively bat at number 5 in Tests instead of the past-it-outside-Asia Misbah, with his cousin Babar Azam at 4 instead of Younis, whose true age is 40.

Your outside-Asia-in-2016 Test team should be:

1 Salman Butt
2 Ahmed Shehzad
3 Azhar Ali
4 Babar Azam
5 Umar Akmal
6 Asad Shafiq (c)
7 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk)
8 Mohammad Amir
9 Yasir Shah (or, if banned, Ehsan Adil or Mohammad Irfan)
10 Wahab Riaz
11 Mohammad Asif

That's probably the best Test team in the world.

No, [MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION].

I think that the apparent decline of Umar Akmal has been because he hasn't played a Test for 4 years, in which time he has been used only for 50 and 20 over slogs and to keep wicket.

I think Umar Akmal should purely and exclusively bat at number 5 in Tests instead of the past-it-outside-Asia Misbah, with his cousin Babar Azam at 4 instead of Younis, whose true age is 40.

Your outside-Asia-in-2016 Test team should be:

1 Salman Butt
2 Ahmed Shehzad
3 Azhar Ali
4 Babar Azam
5 Umar Akmal
6 Asad Shafiq (c)
7 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk)
8 Mohammad Amir
9 Yasir Shah (or, if banned, Ehsan Adil or Mohammad Irfan)
10 Wahab Riaz
11 Mohammad Asif

That's probably the best Test team in the world.

It's not like Umar Akmal was setting the world on fire when he was playing tests. The problem with Umar Akmal is that he has the talent but does not have the intelligence or the mentality to go with it and so he will always be a hit and miss type of player. I've never doubted the lads talent, I mean he is a complete batsman in my books and has the ability and the skills to play all types of shots, yet why he keeps throwing his wicket away playing rather cheap ones is a mystery to me.

I remember when he started his test career he was doing really well. I think averaging around 50ish for the first few games and now this has dropped to mid 30's. He has a habit of throwing his wicket away cheaply, something we all wished would be history as the player matured but that hasn't happened.

I believe what has been his undoing is his attitude. Incidents of gross misconduct are now becoming regular. If anyone remembers his innings of 90 odd against Sri Lanka back in 2011, you would remember how after getting dismissed he sat in the pavilion without looking a distraught figure and refused to take off his pads. That particular game showed how selfish of a player he is. We were doing so well chasing the target. I think he hit a couple of back to back boundaries and then aired one for no reason and completely faltered the chase.

Umar Akmal has never taken responsibility. He is old enough now to realize the burden on his shoulders which is natural considering the talent he possesses. He needs to step up now and take the place of the likes of Inzimam or Yousuf. He needs to show that he can adjust his attitude and become a mature senior player before being allowed to the ODI and Test sides. There is no need for Prima donna's in the cricket side anymore.

Kamran Akmal? :))

Let's not forget the point of a wicketkeeper is to be a wicketkeeper first. Kamran Akmal no matter how well he can bat is one of the worst keepers in the country.

I'd rather keep Sarfraz.

Sarfraz averages 46 in tests even if that is boosted by not outs. It is more than good enough for now.

Anyone who suggests Kamran Akmal as a possible replacement should get his head examined.

It's not like Umar Akmal was setting the world on fire when he was playing tests. The problem with Umar Akmal is that he has the talent but does not have the intelligence or the mentality to go with it and so he will always be a hit and miss type of player. I've never doubted the lads talent, I mean he is a complete batsman in my books and has the ability and the skills to play all types of shots, yet why he keeps throwing his wicket away playing rather cheap ones is a mystery to me.

I remember when he started his test career he was doing really well. I think averaging around 50ish for the first few games and now this has dropped to mid 30's. He has a habit of throwing his wicket away cheaply, something we all wished would be history as the player matured but that hasn't happened.

I believe what has been his undoing is his attitude. Incidents of gross misconduct are now becoming regular. If anyone remembers his innings of 90 odd against Sri Lanka back in 2011, you would remember how after getting dismissed he sat in the pavilion without looking a distraught figure and refused to take off his pads. That particular game showed how selfish of a player he is. We were doing so well chasing the target. I think he hit a couple of back to back boundaries and then aired one for no reason and completely faltered the chase.

Umar Akmal has never taken responsibility. He is old enough now to realize the burden on his shoulders which is natural considering the talent he possesses. He needs to step up now and take the place of the likes of Inzimam or Yousuf. He needs to show that he can adjust his attitude and become a mature senior player before being allowed to the ODI and Test sides. There is no need for Prima donna's in the cricket side anymore.
I agree, but he hasn't taken the field in a Test since he was 21. How will he ever grow up as a Test cricketer without playing?

Brother Suleiman, Kamran Akmal Bechara ko Afridi na Rehma Kha Kar Peshawar Zalmi, na leliya.... warna he will be crying all over places... and Quetta Na Sarfaraz ko Captain Banadia..... You will see in coming days Sarfaraz will be ODI, Test Captain Insha Allah....

Kamran Akmal, The match dropper, Loss whole series in Australia...

The only place that I'd be OK with Kami is as an opener (exclusively) in T20s. That. is. it.

He has done nothing wrong in Test format. Rizwan devilliers has shown no signs of being a Test quality batmen. His last series has exposed him completely against spin.

You can always play with Kami in Cricket 2007. :D

I agree, but he hasn't taken the field in a Test since he was 21. How will he ever grow up as a Test cricketer without playing?
Maybe he should play a lot of fc cricket and rack up some big figures than playing in these tamasha leagues

Someone mentioned his last fc ton was a couple of seasons back, on merit he doesnt make the test 15 never mind the test 11

Me too; only in t20s. At least in the squad. However, the issue is that its too late to include him in the t20 squad. Maybe after the WC.

[MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] is giving tough competition to [MENTION=65183]freelance_cricketer[/MENTION]

Bhai sab kheriyat hai na? :inti

He writes jaai sree raam and he has started writing khushamadeed. Doesnt takes much to notice a human xerox in motion.

It should only be Rizwan. Kami is the worst keeper in the games recent history.

Sarfraz needs to shed 10 to 15 kg weight to improve as a batsman and as a keeper. Also he needs to work on his game.

I don't agree at all to drop him from test and odi team.

Pakistan selectors needs to develop Rehan Afridi as a keeper batsman. It was shocking to select karachi player with mediocre numbers ahead of him in pakistan A squad.

For T20's we should not have sarfraz or Rizwan. Both have poor strike rates for this format. Saifullah Bangash would be better.

I hoped that peshawar will pick Rehan Afridi as their keeper in PSL that would have been massive in his development but he wasn't picked by any franchise. He has played very little list A or T20 cricket uptil now to make anything from his numbers but having seen hi bat he has got good technique and has got decent number of shots in his armoury. He plays a lovely inside out drive over the cover against spinners in a stylo way :-)

Doesnt Numan Anwar keep in t20s

And has OP provided a solution to the 20 dropped dollies Mr. Butter Fingers will be spilling in each game? This is the typical don't think, just open a new thread PP poster!

never rated sarfraz ahmed he is big karachi parchy like khurram manzoor, shazaib ahmed n asad shafiq etc. Kamran Akmal is the best Batsman wicket keeper Pakistan ever produced name one wicket wicket keeper batsman as good as kamran akaml? as for drooping catches sarfraz ahmed dropped a lot of caches especially against bangladesh series he dropped like 3 or 4 catches in a single match. with kamran akmal we get a decent opener who is dangerous and gives us hope that he would do something compared to the rest of lot we have.

Kamran Akmal >>light years>> sarfraz ahmed

who can forget Kami's MoM performance in Sydney - effecting THAT run out!!! £££££$$$$$$$

Rightly said bro.

I mentioned it also before that we shuld discard half players. We need complete package players.
These types of players we need:

- a natural stroke maker
- can play at a sr of 110 consistently rather than players who try to play like that

And the most important thing is that if u are a natural stroke maker. Then it becomes easier for u to play consistently at a sr of 110.

If u are set then u can go guns blazing and shuld also look a million dollar. That is the advantage of being a natural stroke maker that if he is set. He can go guns blazing. Rather than someone like azhar ali, sarfraz, rizwan, shehzad, hafeez.

Even if these players are set. They ll struggle to take a bowling line up apart. Like martin guptill for example or, rohit sharma, david warner. Our players ll struggle, bcz they are not natural stroke makers. They ll just keep on tuk tukking on a sr of let we say 90 or even 100. Jhn whn 3,4 chakky mar dein gye spinners ko and when we ll be in last 12 or 10 overs. Then they ll go guns blazing and get out to the faster bowler.

People don't see the reason behind that, that why they get out in that stage. The reason is simple, bcz they can't take fast bowlers apart.

Nateeja ye niklta hy ke ek dam se humry us stage pr 3,4 out ho jty hain aur hum phir ussi survive mode my chlly jty hain.

That's why we cant post mammoth totals, bcz we got lassi batsmen. Ek nzr mro yaar dusri teams pr.

Look at their batsmen and then look at our batsmen. Batsmen of other teams are complete players. They can play at a sr 0f 100 to 110 consistently and when the time comes. They ll take the bowling apart, bcz they are natural stroke makers.

It's is not rocket science.

Sarfraz has the same syndrome of KAkmal, only difference is that, he is far, far, far inferior WK & batsman - considering both at their prime.

This guy KAkmal is seriously underrated here in PP because I understand most of the posters started watching/following cricket in last 7-8 years. KAkmal started career in 2002, by 2003 he replaced Latif as No. 1 WK for both (later 3) formats & for next 2-3 years, he was easily the best potential to replace Gilly as world's premier WK-batsman (despite the presence of a certain MSD). I have lots of respect for Aussie Captains as they don't come in dozens like Pakistan & one of them is the meanest of characters, when it comes to praise non Aussies - I for one hardly can recall Sr. Chappell praising a non Aussie player - KAkmal was one of those very few.

From 2004 to 2006, KAkmal played half a dozen gems of innings - hardly ever can be matched by any PAK WK - Mohali, Karachi, Brisbane, Lahore ...... and his WK was efficient, almost a class apart from other PAK WKs, barring Latif, of his generation. What went wrong for KAkmal (I don't want to bring off-field issues here), is the common story of PAK cricket -

1st - he has bunked 3 to 5 years, so he was about 29 by 2006. An age, when you need to work really hard with your fitness & if you are a WK, need to look after your diet to manage weight. KAkmal, got married sometimes around 2005 & within few months, added at least 10 KG to wrong areas.

2nd - he was part of the poisoned era of Molla Haq, when you need to manage bhaieeee, rather than anything else to be part of the team. Inzi made sure that there is no one near KAkmal's job, even if he is half unfit, which made KAkmal complacent. He went to ENG in 2006, with a troubled thumb, but kept playing & PAK team kept suffering; Molla kept carrying him. UK & IND are two places, where you can't keep an unfit WK or someone low in confidence - ball moves late, spins sharp & uneven.

3rd - by the time Molla left, Malik became Captain & fortunately for KAkmal, he was his greatest pal (they represented several PAK sides since 14 years of age). Some of the worst attitude seniors ever, made Malik's life difficult, so he did exactly what one 'll do as counter measure - bring/establish friends to form own group within team - KAkmal remained in the team, & his WK kept declining, because that's one f**king thankless job, for which, you need to sweat a lot.

4th - Cursed Inzi era created a generation gap in PAK WK - there was none one to replace KAkmal to be honest & Molla often even didn't pick a backup WK in 15/16 men squad (worst was the attempt to try a back-up WK out of YK), PCB did try with Haider, an official 33 years old guy from Faisalabad (forgot name, played in WI), Adnan - most of them found out to be even worse, not much better WK, nothing with bat - KAkmal kept making comebacks, kept struggling & kept damaging his outstanding early reputation from 2003 to 2006.

Now, this guy Sarfraz could only make a comeback in the LO team indirectly for Akmals. PCB invested almost 18 months & over 25 matches to get a WK out of Umar in LOs, which gave the team excellent balance. 3 months before WC team selection, Umar played his cards & there came Sarfraz, with a maximum degree of difficulty - opening against AUS, in ODI for someone probably never opening in his career previously. KAkmal was basically 3 failures away from Sarfraz to make the WC (in fact against NZ in UAE) - to his credit Sarfraz did perform with bat & his WK looked like Allen Knott, for those whose memory of KAkmal was limited only from 2008 & afterwards. I could have spent an hour to search my posts on Sarf's WK capability (even after the WC match at Auckland) as a reference, but my issue here is not to disgrace Sarfraz, he was the need of the hour - it was Umar who made the problem to pay back later & rightly so.

In UK - Sarfraz 'll make PAK pay. But, there is not much option either - at this age of 38, PCB can't recall KAkmal for WK, neither can bring back Adnan, with a FC average of 23. For this one, we can hardly blame PCB - it's players own responsibility to improve own core skills, management only can facilitate. I wrote it earlier & I am writing again - it's not a PCB style 2 Test mickey-mouse series - it's a complete 4 Test tour & PAK team 'll fight back, at least in last 3 Tests. It's not the bowling, neither the batting or Captaincy, it's the CATCHING that's going to hurt PAK most - someone mark this post - Barring weather, result of the Series 'll swing between ENG winning 4-0 to PAK drawing 2-2, to be determined on how many catches PAK drops than anything else - & I am writing this considering that ENG is easily the best Test team in world at home.

It's a catch 22 situation - but only person can fix that is probably Sarfraz - he has 6 months to prepare for Tests & ODI; in T20, I would have never picked him, neither KAkmal at this age (though, he probably shouldn't have been dropped from T20 either); rather I would have forced Umar to Keep again or get dropped at the exchange of Siddiq (or someone new - Rizwan is an asset in out-field, shouldn't be wasted behind wicket, in a 120 balls gung-ho style game).

never rated sarfraz ahmed he is big karachi parchy like khurram manzoor, shazaib ahmed n asad shafiq etc. Kamran Akmal is the best Batsman wicket keeper Pakistan ever produced name one wicket wicket keeper batsman as good as kamran akaml? as for drooping catches sarfraz ahmed dropped a lot of caches especially against bangladesh series he dropped like 3 or 4 catches in a single match. with kamran akmal we get a decent opener who is dangerous and gives us hope that he would do something compared to the rest of lot we have.

Kamran Akmal >>light years>> sarfraz ahmed

Hmmmmm....... There are two things that's going against in this post for you:

1) Everything that you've written is what YOU THINK AND FEEL
2) Unfortunately for you, I came back from work early today, so I'll have the utmost pleasure of destroying whatever bubble you reside in. To begin with I'll highlight some basic aspects of how things work in general:

In real life, which I am sure you're also a part of (I don't know how much you take from it whenever you're posting) is a place where numeric and empirical data makes more sense than some random subjective opinion about Player A relative to Player B. If selections were based on how individuals felt about players rather than what numbers they produce then I guess Umar Amin and Umer Akmal would have been our mainstay test bats since 2010 and Misbah would have retired post 2011 WC.

The selectors and some sane people working in the PCB; a term I can't believe I am associating with PCB :facepalm:, do actually work there and they rightly believe that performance should be the basic and most relevant metric to select at least test teams that represent us in the UAE and overseas as well.

For your love and affixation with Kamral Akmal and how you think he's the next best thing since sliced bread please for everyone's sake just go and read this thread

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...-Look-at-the-Chances-Missed-by-him-Since-2006

This was a thread that some good old folks on PP created way back in 2011(I presume you hadn't even heard of us back then) when all of us were literally brain***** by what Akmal was producing during the WC. Trust me poster were literally crying on how awful this guy was and the way he had cost us SO SO MANY GAMES OVER THE YEARS. I don't know the statistics now and quite frankly I don't care but at that particular point Mr. Butter Fingers had a grand total of 84 muck ups behind the stumps and cost us with more than 2K runs. I know this won't even make you realize anything because the whole argument was destroyed when you claimed that K.Akmal>>>Light years>>>>Sarfraz. But just to make sure of where exactly K.Akmal stands I had to do this.

Coming to Batting Stats [Purely Tests, since the thread is about Tests]

These are Sarfraz's numbers over the course of his career.

1.jpg

I'll quickly point out the most obvious facts. He has a Career average of 46.28 and a runs per innings accumulating to 35.02. He's played against 6 different test nations and out of these he's managed to only average below 30 against two; England (27.80) and South Africa (13.83).

The series against SA was Sarfraz's first major test assignment so given how our batsman we're torn apart like cotton candy and the team bundled for double digit scores, a 13.30 average is a decent showing. Remember Hafeez was averaging in single digits during this tour and, as per your claim, the Pharchi based selection Asad Shafiq hit a century against Styen, Philander and Morkel during that same said tour.

However coming back to Sarfraz, out of those averages against different countries his numbers against Australia are 49.66, against SL 60+, against NZ 67.00 and against Bangladesh 121.00. Make that of what you may but I am pretty sure that even without quoting Kami's figures I can safely say that Sarfraz is gonna win this battle with a landslide - But guess what I am quite determined to proved my point today so I'll take this to the grave.

Another interesting Stat that I figured during the Sarfraz vs Kami comparison is that from Season 2014 to 2014/2015 and concluding with 2015 Sarfraz's consecutive Batting Scores were

55 Away
52 Away
103 Away
55 Away
109 Home
15* Home
19* Home
13* Home
112 Home
24* Home
15 Home
37 Home
82 Away
21* Away
18* Away
96 Away
14 Away
16 Away
78* Away

That's a total of 19 innings with only getting dismissed 4 times for a score less than 50 runs. 19 FREAKING INNINGS with only 4 dismissals of 50 runs of less. This list includes 11 away games and 8 Home matches. The record also included 10 consecutive innings without getting dismissed for 50 runs or less which I think is the most by any Pakistan WC batsman in test. Also If I must then please remember the Sharjah Innnigs, which Sarfraz was a major catalyst of, helped Pakistan achieve a historic chase and set the World record of the fastest test chase for 300+ runs in the 150 years history of the game.

Now coming to Kami.......

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...ult=2;result=4;template=results;type=allround

Kami's career average in test is 30.79 in 53 matches. For the sake of complete unbiased metrics if we take his runs per innings then it drops to 28.78. His sample size is way larger than Sarfraz and he's played 53 matches for Pakistan. If after 53 matches a bloke is border-lining the 30+ range as a batsman then it's safe to say that he isn't even remotely capable of playing a test innnigs let alone be our mainstay WK for the the national team. It's as simple as that.

His batting Average against Aus is sad sad 15 and against SL it's 38+ for both of which Sarfraz is averaging 49 and 60+ respectively. In addition, to his hackiness as a batsman K.Akmal as I've pointed out earlier is practically a drop machine and the main architect and culprit for the Sydney test which, if you ask me, was blatantly fixed to the core - Akmal has one of the most shadiest performance in those games and if you doubt me go and watch the footage of how many drops he's incurred and how he deliberately didn't run Watson out. Even the commentators we're :facepalm: ing at the blatant nature of Akmal's antics. I for one would never ever ever want him to be even remotely close to any form of Pakistan cricket.

As for Shafiq, well in case you've missed or it might be that you don't know but Asad is practically the best #6 batsman (Purely Speaking on Statistics) in the history of the game. You can check his average and the number of tons he's scored in that position and how he's leading in the all time list for that particular aspect. Don't take my word for it just run some numbers on cricinfo and you'll get there - I hope you do.

Khurram Manzoor is a hack and I agree he might be a nepotist selection but in all fairness he did score 148 against Styen and Co on his debut game along with Shan Masood at the UAE. This was when Hafeez was terribly out of form as a batsman and continuing in the season he was also part of that historic Sharjah case. So Khurram for all his weaknesses has some very good and honest contributions to Pakistan Cricket. In a nutshell however, I will well and truly define him as a hack of the highest order.

I my efforts might make you see things in better perspective. Have a nice day.

Khushamdeed.

Kamran Akmal is a waste of space.

I agree with Ian Chappell "Even if he(Kamran Akmal) is Better Don Bradman he can't make up for his poor Wicketkeeping "
So don't start a new thread on Kamran Akmal unless he becomes better than Don Bradman...

And has OP provided a solution to the 20 dropped dollies Mr. Butter Fingers will be spilling in each game? This is the typical don't think, just open a new thread PP poster!

Deeply hurt by this comment. I only want what's good for the team.

The past is the past bhai. We forgave Amir, so forgive Kamran. The select few elite cricket experts on this forum agree with me. We are a forgiving and generous nation. Waqar Younis said it best the other day "Forgiveness is a quality of the strong". Are you strong?

I'm not going to waste too many words on Kamran - he should be banned from playing international cricket again not just because of being a shady character but because how crap he is - average of 30 or less in all 3 formats and probably the best Pakistani keeper of all time too.

Anyone that's advocating for his selection based on a couple of fluke performances a decade ago and his domestic performance this year can't be taken seriously because of the amount of international cricket that Kamran has played. 53 Tests and over a 100 ODIs are more than enough to see that he's not international class and thus a TTF.

[MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION], perhaps these threads are being made to highlight your point regarding Afridi as a role model, as you've taken [MENTION=65183]freelance_cricketer[/MENTION] as your posting role model when it should be someone like [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] or [MENTION=97523]Buffet[/MENTION].

sarfaraz is better than him anyday

btw dude Idk if I can be vice captain in PCL, my activity may go down in February, I'm not sure, so I don't want to take vice captaincy and then be inactive.

Give it to someone experienced like 96notout.