2 Mohammad rafi : Greatest male singer
3 Nusrat ali khan:King of sufi songs
4 Kishore kumar : Most versetile singer of all time
5 Mehendi hassan : King of Ghazal
6 Kumar sanu : King of 90s
7 Mukesh : one of the most melodious voice
8 Asha Bhosle:First female pop singer of india
9 Noor jahan : Greatest female singer of pakistan
10 Sonu nigam : Best singer we have today.

My Top 10 Playback singers from Southern India

1.K.J.Yesudass
2.S.P.Balasubramaniam
3.Ilaiyaraja
4.P.B.Srinivas
5.T.M.Soundararajan
6.Malaysia Vausdevan (Late)
7.Karthik (Currently the Topper)
8.S.Chithra
9.S.Janaki
10.P.Suseela

In Hindi Music Scene

1.Mohammad Rafi
2.Kishore Kumar
3.Shaan
4.Sonu Nigam
5.Udit Narayan
6.Roop Kumar Rathod
7.KK
8.Shreya Ghoshal
9.Sunidhi Chauhan
10.Jagjit Singh

My top ten Indian singers who have sung in Bollywood.

1. Kishore Kumar
2. Mohd. Rafi
3. Yesudass
4. Ghulam Ali
5. SP Balasubramaniam
6. Lata Mangeshkar
7. Jagjit Singh
8. Asha Bhonsle
9. Roop Kumar Rathod/Ajit Wadekar
10. Shubha Mudgal

My top ten Indian singers who have sung in Bollywood.

1. Kishore Kumar
2. Mohd. Rafi
3. Yesudass
4. Ghulam Ali
5. SP Balasubramaniam
6. Lata Mangeshkar
7. Jagjit Singh
8. Asha Bhonsle
9. Roop Kumar Rathod/Ajit Wadekar
10. Shubha Mudgal

lata mangeshkar at no6.are u kidding??

All those above her are great singers. It is difficult to rate one above the other. In terms of amount of work and quality of work, Lata would be number one, but, I always feel that she has an "unnaturally perfect" voice (no woman talks or sings like that naturally) hence I rate others higher.

My Top 10 Playback singers from Southern India

1.K.J.Yesudass
2.S.P.Balasubramaniam
3.Ilaiyaraja
4.P.B.Srinivas
5.T.M.Soundararajan
6.Malaysia Vausdevan (Late)
7.Karthik (Currently the Topper)
8.S.Chithra
9.S.Janaki
10.P.Suseela

In Hindi Music Scene

1.Mohammad Rafi
2.Kishore Kumar
3.Shaan
4.Sonu Nigam
5.Udit Narayan
6.Roop Kumar Rathod
7.KK
8.Shreya Ghoshal
9.Sunidhi Chauhan
10.Jagjit Singh

How ca you foget Kumar Sanu

1. Nusrat Fateh Ali khan

2. Daylight

3. Evening

4. Some more daylight

5. M. Rafi

6. Aziz Mian

7. Attaullah

8. Rahat Fateh Ali Khan

9. Mukesh

10. Reshma

NFAK was a sufi singer and not a typical playback singer. I wouldn't compare them to the regular playback singers. The likes of MS Subhalakshmi, Pandit Bhimsen Joshi and Ustad Bade Ghulam Ali would be better peers for him.

I must say Rahat Fateh Ali Khan is the best among any Indian/Pakistani singers active and alive now.

As blasphemous as I may sound here to all Indians here, I would like to say that from females I would prefer Shreya Ghoshal anyday over any of the old and famous singer. I have always been a huge fan of her and her song "Jaadu Hai Nasha Hai" causes something undescribable to me :28: .......

Of males there are some quality ones like Sonu Nigam or Udit Narayan, but I am a big fan of KK (Krishnakumar Kunnath), a hugely under-rated guy who sings some amazingly difficult songs and deserves an award with every song of his.

Atif Aslam is good from the current lot of Pakistanis.

1) Mohd Rafi/kishore kumar
3) Lata mangeshkar
4) Mana dey
5) Mukesh
6) Asha bhosle
7) Sonu nigam
8) kumar sanu
9) Nustrat fateh ali khan

Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.

Then the rest.

I also endorse Vegitto's post. Seal of approval.

As blasphemous as I may sound here to all Indians here, I would like to say that from females I would prefer Shreya Ghoshal anyday over any of the old and famous singer. I have always been a huge fan of her and her song "Jaadu Hai Nasha Hai" causes something undescribable to me :28: .......

Of males there are some quality ones like Sonu Nigam or Udit Narayan, but I am a big fan of KK (Krishnakumar Kunnath), a hugely under-rated guy who sings some amazingly difficult songs and deserves an award with every song of his.

Atif Aslam is good from the current lot of Pakistanis.

even shreya ghoshal wont admit that she is better than lata mangeshkar.Its like comparing don bradman to shahid afridi.

Baaz aajao bhai ^ Shahid Afridi is better than Bradman! :afridi

guys,can you tell me why k l sehgal was rated so highly by oldies ?

Lata Mangeshkar is overrated, Asha was better than her.
Rafi Sahab from India
Nusrat sahab from Pakistan.

The rest does not matter.

I have read through a number of threads on music where both Pakistanis and Indians give there opinions.

Indians, due to their Bollywood industry, tend to prefer filmi music which is run of the mill stuff. A new film comes out, with some good music and reshuffling of the same lyrics that you probably heard a million times, with a bit of help from the thesaurus to make it sound different. i.e.

Teri Ankhen.....
Tere naina......
For your eyes.......
Ankhon mein base ho....

Tujhe Dekha tu....
Dekh ke tujh ko...
Dekha tujhe tu...
Dekhne walon ne....

It is very much like Ready salted crisps. They all practically taste the same but names are different.

Pakistanis on the other hand tend to go for old school music and attach great significance to vocals. Actual vocals and not those which are tempered with in the recording studio.

Voices of the likes of Nusrat, Rahat, Attahullah, Aziz Mian, Reshma go through you when they hit those high notes. Every time you get goose-bumps as if you are experiencing something divine.

Just like a picture speaks a thousand words, the raags and alaaps of these singers are worth more than the lyrics themselves.

Coming to the lyrics, these are again the highest level of poetry that you can find in the sub-continent. Full of metaphors and similes (these should be part of literature taught in Pakistan along with Iqbal's poetry) and each individual can relate to these in their own way and give their own interpretation to these lyrics.

(I know that most of these are written by great sufi poets, but these singers give life to that poetry just like an actor gives life to dialogues written by a writer. Everyone remembers Amithab and Dilip kumar for Dialogue delivery, no one refers to the writer)

Can you imagine jugni being sung by anyone else other than Arif Lohar or Akhiyan Udeek Diyan by anyone else other than Nusrat. Even Rahat cannot sing what Nusrat has sung.

So I am not surprised by the list posted by the Indian members because Bollywood is what they have grown up on. I doubt they will ever understand.

I have read through a number of threads on music where both Pakistanis and Indians give there opinions.

Indians, due to their Bollywood industry, tend to prefer filmi music which is run of the mill stuff. A new film comes out, with some good music and reshuffling of the same lyrics that you probably heard a million times, with a bit of help from the thesaurus to make it sound different. i.e.

Teri Ankhen.....
Tere naina......
For your eyes.......
Ankhon mein base ho....

Tujhe Dekha tu....
Dekh ke tujh ko...
Dekha tujhe tu...
Dekhne walon ne....

It is very much like Ready salted crisps. They all practically taste the same but names are different.

Pakistanis on the other hand tend to go for old school music and attach great significance to vocals. Actual vocals and not those which are tempered with in the recording studio.

Voices of the likes of Nusrat, Rahat, Attahullah, Aziz Mian, Reshma go through you when they hit those high notes. Every time you get goose-bumps as if you are experiencing something divine.

Just like a picture speaks a thousand words, the raags and alaaps of these singers are worth more than the lyrics themselves.

Coming to the lyrics, these are again the highest level of poetry that you can find in the sub-continent. Full of metaphors and similes (these should be part of literature taught in Pakistan along with Iqbal's poetry) and each individual can relate to these in their own way and give their own interpretation to these lyrics.

(I know that most of these are written by great sufi poets, but these singers give life to that poetry just like an actor gives life to dialogues written by a writer. Everyone remembers Amithab and Dilip kumar for Dialogue delivery, no one refers to the writer)

Can you imagine jugni being sung by anyone else other than Arif Lohar or Akhiyan Udeek Diyan by anyone else other than Nusrat. Even Rahat cannot sing what Nusrat has sung.

So I am not surprised by the list posted by the Indian members because Bollywood is what they have grown up on. I doubt they will ever understand.

i am not talking about technical or classical singing otherwise bhimsen joshi is father of all singers.I am only talking about professional singers

lol what is professional singing if it aint technical??

thread Fail..

Well I guess that is where our differences start.

I do not know what your definition of a singer is but for me he has to be someone who has the power in his voice to pierce your heart, make a stone cry, send you in a trance etc.

lol what is professional singing if it aint technical??

thread Fail..

Professional singers are trained to sing according to the mood of songs.Whereas classical singers can only sing in their zone.Thats y singers like bhimsen joshi never recieved much offers from bollywood and u probably dont even know his name.Belive me, In classical singing india is miles ahead of pakistan.India is birthplace of classical singing.Only in professional singing pakistan can match india.

Professional singers are trained to sing according to the mood of songs.Whereas classical singers can only sing in their zone.Thats y singers like bimsen joshi never recieved much offers from bollywood and u probably dont even know his name.

ya i dont... :)

Well I guess that is where our differences start.

I do not know what your definition of a singer is but for me he has to be someone who has the power in his voice to pierce your heart, make a stone cry, send you in a trance etc.

lol ... only good lyrics make you cry ... though high pitched besuri voice can make you weep in despair :))

How ca you foget Kumar Sanu

Since I come from Tamilnadu that too not from a metro like Chennai there was not much of Hindi music influence for me during up until late 90's.

It was only post 2000's that I have started listening more of Hindi cinema music (thanks to my study related relocation to Hyderabad first and then Pune n mushrooming Music channels). By this time I guess Sanu's career in Hindi film music industry was almost over.

TBH, Sanu always sounded to me like a poor version of Kishore Kumar. Nevertheless he is also a legend from Hindi film music industry. BTW, My most favt song of Sanu is Kuch Na Kaho from film 1942 A love story.

Shoaib Akhtar.

The milky-way.

Nusrat.

The 7 heavens.

Then the mortals.

1 Lata mangeshkar : Daylights above anyone
2 Mohammad rafi : Greatest male singer
3 Nusrat ali khan:King of sufi songs
4 Kishore kumar : Most versetile singer of all time
5 Mehendi hassan : King of Ghazal
6 Kumar sanu : King of 90s
7 Mukesh : one of the most melodious voice
8 Asha Bhosle:First female pop singer of india
9 Noor jahan : Greatest female singer of pakistan
10 Sonu nigam : Best singer we have today.

Noor Jehan below Lata? Seriously? Why dont you go and ask Lata herself.

Lata could never sing Ghazals which are the most hard to sing. Lata is melodious but when it comes to vocal quality and tone then Noor Jehan is way above all. Just ask musicians, not a lay man.

Also Noor Jehan had very wild life style(married quite a few time with unlimited affairs ) so she did not maintain her voice unlike Lata who has lived life like saint.

Professional singers are trained to sing according to the mood of songs.Whereas classical singers can only sing in their zone.Thats y singers like bhimsen joshi never recieved much offers from bollywood and u probably dont even know his name.Belive me, In classical singing india is miles ahead of pakistan.India is birthplace of classical singing.Only in professional singing pakistan can match india.

Pakistan had amazing classical singers till 80s but since 90s pop culture took over every thing. Just check out family line of Shafqat Amanat Ali Khan and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan.

India still value classical music but it does not mean Pakistan had no classical singers,

lol ... only good lyrics make you cry ... though high pitched besuri voice can make you weep in despair :))

If you were a true music lover, you would not call any musician besura.

it might not be to your taste, but to class it as besura just goes to show that you are just someone who lacks knowledge.

How can the sargam, the alaaps and the raags, the very basics of musical learning be classed as "besuri" i will never know.

If you were a true music lover, you would not call any musician besura.

it might not be to your taste, but to class it as besura just goes to show that you are just someone who lacks knowledge.

How can the sargam, the alaaps and the raags, the very basics of musical learning be classed as "besuri" i will never know.

i said besuri voice .....

1. Himash Rashmiya

2. Imran Khan

3. Bohemia

4. The guy from She Laaft Me Alone song

5. Debojeet from Saregamapa

6. Waris Baig

7. The lead of Strings

8. The lead of Jal

9. Salman Ahmed of Junoon

10. Haroon

There. :asif

Top 10
1.rafi/lata/asha/kishore-tie
2. sonu nigam
3.geeta dutt
4.Talat mahmood
5.shreya ghoshal
6. udit narayan/shaan

Rafi
Kishore
Lata
Mukesh
Kumar sanu
Udit
Mahendra kapoor
Asah bhosle
Sonu nigam
amit kumar

Noor jahan
Mehdi hasan
Masood rana
Akhlaq ahmed
ahmed rushdi
naheed akhtar
mona
massarat nazir.

Lata daylight ahead of Noor Jahan and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan?

I stopped reading the OP after that.

Singing:

Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan,
Pt Bhimsen Joshi, day light and then the rest ...

Playback Singing : ( Pakistan doesn't have much of this style of singing, so its pretty much Indian )
Md Rafi, Kishore Kumar, Lata Mangeshkar, RFAK

Singing:

Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan,
Pt Bhimsen Joshi, day light and then the rest ...

Playback Singing : ( Pakistan doesn't have much of this style of singing, so its pretty much Indian )
Md Rafi, Kishore Kumar, Lata Mangeshkar, RFAK

There is someone called m.s.subbulakshmi who was the first ever singer/musician in india to be awarded the bharat ratna.

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru about M.S. Subbulakshmi- "Who am I, a mere Prime Minister before a Queen, a Queen of Music".

^^ Agreed. I know who she is and how accomplished she is but I prefer to listen to a male voice in classical music. Matter of choice. But a great great singer nevertheless...

Music is all about taste!
I don't have any specific singer whom I listen to. I listen to songs I like which makes me relax or feel better. I don't care about who is the singer or which country the music is from. Ofcourse I don't listen to Chinese or Japanese frequently because I don't understand anything of it. And there is times I feel to listen to a specific singer forexample Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan or a specific genre like pop or Ghazals or sufi but that does not mean I like Nusrat Saheb better then someone else or I like Pop more then other genres.

You should think about that you are comparing all time legends - so Instead of fighting for who should be nr. 1 or who should be nr.2 go to youtube and enjoy the great music all those legends have made for you.

I kinda have to put Abida Parveen too in that list.. her voice is great.. to me

Lata daylight ahead of Noor Jahan and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan?

I stopped reading the OP after that.

as i said EARLIER that their is difference between playback singing and classical singing.U cant compare both.

lata is miles ahead of anyone in playback singing , their is not even close competitor.

In classical singing, Bhimsen joshi is greatest classical singer of all time AND THEN COME THE REST.

Teri Ankhen.....
Tere naina......
For your eyes.......
Ankhon mein base ho....

Tujhe Dekha tu....
Dekh ke tujh ko...
Dekha tujhe tu...
Dekhne walon ne....

Very good analysis. Let me point out why I disagree completely.

(1) It seems to me that you're assuming Indian music is only Bollywood music. Not even close. Preferences can vary but in terms of sheer variation and styles, what we call Indian music leaves what we call Pakistani music far far in the shade

(2) You said

Coming to the lyrics, these are again the highest level of poetry that you can find in the sub-continent.

Opinion again, but I would say a flat no. In all courtesy, what do you know, for example, of Rabindra sangeet? Of the freewheeling Bauls?

Don't get me wrong, I love the sufiana/ Ghazal styles. But I know that these are by no way the "highest level of poetry" in the sub-continent.

3. You said:
Pakistanis on the other hand tend to go for old school music and attach great significance to vocals.

If Pakistanis had a successful counterpart to Bollywood, you'd see the same thing there. Bollywood is mass commercialization of a product. That does not mean that it is the only product.

Finally, my opinion on Nusrat - just because a man has a 'rustic' traditional voice does not mean he is the better singer. Conversely just because a man is a 'commercial' singer does not mean he is automatically inferior.

Nusrat was amazing, but his style or school was what made the man. The content and the music of what he sang was the 'killer' part of his singing, not, IMO, his voice.

I am surprised no one has mentioned Manna dey! and the legend is still living
Quite underrated he is!
<iframe width="425" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/3vgDb4TQneA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="425" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/6LU4TA9KcA4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

pak singers i like are iqbal bano, abida parveen, nayyara noor,NFAK, RFAK, strings

atif aslam has some good songs too- out before i get lynched :))

bhimsen joshi aint famous..coz he sucks lol

Or may be you don't have a taste for classical music?

Honestly, this is the first time I've encountered someone who thinks that he's not that good.

If it comes to classical music, I think, the best in business today is Parveen Sultana. Amongst her peers, she is the highest rated. Unlike most top female classical singers, she doesn't have a "tough" voice (if you get what I mean) but her range and ability would put most to shame.

i put manna dey and mukesh in same category, some really good songs but not a fan of their voices per se.. manna dey was also a bit of a classical song specialist except for those songs from anand

Manna Dey's best song ever

[utube]uD5Pe4k3myI[/utube]

Now, this takes some beating.

agree! watching contestants trying to perform this song in reality music shows in cringeworthy

my favorite manna de is this song

<iframe width="425" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ZgKR8fFb_dw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Or may be you don't have a taste for classical music?

Honestly, this is the first time I've encountered someone who thinks that he's not that good.

If it comes to classical music, I think, the best in business today is Parveen Sultana. Amongst her peers, she is the highest rated. Unlike most top female classical singers, she doesn't have a "tough" voice (if you get what I mean) but her range and ability would put most to shame.

im kiddin man relax.. i jus havent heard of him, he may be the best..

I guess, I am the only Mukesh fan here! :)

I am surprised no one has mentioned Manna dey! and the legend is still living
Quite underrated he is!

Amazing singer. My favourite song of his is Jhanak jhanak tori baaje paayaliya from Mere Hazoor

im kiddin man relax.. i jus havent heard of him, he may be the best..

Alright man. His songs are mainly raga based and take digressions from the main lyrics often. But, he is a sight to behold when he sings - he's completely in the music like some animal who doesn't give a hoot about how others perceive him.

Most of his youtube videos are not that great because he was very old when they took it and could hardly sing with the same vigour. You've got to watch those rare videos of his youth.

There are a handful of classical singers in the sub-continent who have managed to bring rain which was never forecasted singing raag malhaar. Bhimsen Joshi has passed away but he's one of those people who could do it. I was very skeptical about these things until I met someone who has actually done the same. These people are tremendous singers who become ill just because of the intensity with which they sing. Watching one of them, live and at their best, is a great experience.

Very good analysis. Let me point out why I disagree completely.

(1) It seems to me that you're assuming Indian music is only Bollywood music. Not even close. Preferences can vary but in terms of sheer variation and styles, what we call Indian music leaves what we call Pakistani music far far in the shade

(2) You said

Opinion again, but I would say a flat no. In all courtesy, what do you know, for example, of Rabindra sangeet? Of the freewheeling Bauls?

Don't get me wrong, I love the sufiana/ Ghazal styles. But I know that these are by no way the "highest level of poetry" in the sub-continent.

3. You said:

If Pakistanis had a successful counterpart to Bollywood, you'd see the same thing there. Bollywood is mass commercialization of a product. That does not mean that it is the only product.

Finally, my opinion on Nusrat - just because a man has a 'rustic' traditional voice does not mean he is the better singer. Conversely just because a man is a 'commercial' singer does not mean he is automatically inferior.

Nusrat was amazing, but his style or school was what made the man. The content and the music of what he sang was the 'killer' part of his singing, not, IMO, his voice.

You tell any other singer to sing any of his songs and then you come and tell me that his voice was not special.

Even Rahat cannot sing what Nusrat has sang. To possess a six-octave vocal range voice is not something to be taken lightly.

Finally, you may be right and India may have a thriving Classical music scene but is it even known outside India?

Answer is: No, not really.

Indians love their bollywood soo much that between 2002 to 2005 there was a storm of old songs being remixed with raunchy videos and all that was ever played on indian channels were those songs nothing classical at all.

A show like coke studio can never survive in India. You might have a classical scene but if someone was to watch your mainstream channels, they would not know that it existed.

Mukesh was pure quality.He hits to songs ratio is by far the best in bollywood history.

I do enjoy Mohammad Rafi and Kishore Kumar songs.. occasionally

1. Lata Mangeshkar
2. Kishore Kumar
3. Hemant Kumar
4. Rafi
5. Manna De
6. NFAK
7. Geeta Dutt
8. Suraiyya
9. Jagjit Singh
10. Rahat Fateh Ali Khan

You tell any other singer to sing any of his songs and then you come and tell me that his voice was not special.

Even Rahat cannot sing what Nusrat has sang. To possess a six-octave vocal range voice is not something to be taken lightly.

Finally, you may be right and India may have a thriving Classical music scene but is it even known outside India?

Indians love their bollywood soo much that between 2002 to 2005 there was a storm of old songs being remixed with raunchy videos and all that was ever played on indian channels were those songs nothing classical at all.

A show like coke studio can never survive in India. You might have a classical scene but if someone was to watch your mainstream channels, they would not know that it existed.

Well, they are going to start airing Coke Studio in India from this month on. I think, it's gonna be a hit.

I don't watch any music reality shows as I prefer listening to music by the professional singers rather than some newcomer trying it followed by hours spent on his childhood, his father crying with pride and him getting shouted at by some judge.

But, I'm definitely going to follow Coke Studio.

Actually, Indian classical music does have quite a following outside India as well and most top classical singers make money mainly from their foreign concerts, but, like the domestic scene, classical concerts outside are also mainly for a niche audience who are interested in it or related to it and is not marketed properly to everyone.

Classical musicians themselves have to take some blame because most of these singers have a giant ego and they wouldn't perform for crowds who don't appreciate their art or behave in a manner that they don't like.

even shreya ghoshal wont admit that she is better than lata mangeshkar.Its like comparing don bradman to shahid afridi.

You really think only Shreya Ghoshal can convince me? Secondly, Lata Mangeshkar was no where referred to in my post.

It is a matter of taste and choice. You don´t have any statistics in singing like cricket:26:. A comparison to Shahid Afridi was unfair as the girl´s consistency is unquestionable.........

As I said, my statement would be considered blasphemous:facepalm:.........

ok - lemme post mine from what i have heard :
mard- kishore , nusrat[indem high notes],rafi,mukesh ,sukhvinder[ da guy who sung chaiyaan chaiyaan]
zanani - noor babz, aasha , lata[skilled but thin awaaz]& shreya

..if some1 who has heard kl sehgal extensively tell moi why is he rated so highly by budhdhas,i am gonna do a musical jihad & post 5 reshamiya songs here !!!

Kishore Kumar from old ones was simply brilliant:14:!

I personally don't like female singers with the high pitched adolescent type voice...like asha+lata. Sorry folks.

I'm not denying his greatness; but to me he has a 'thin voice', and an oeuvre that focused on one 'style' of singing that is inspirational, soulful, devoted even, but stays in that oeuvre.

It's not that this diminishes him in any way, but it's not to my taste.

I'm curious - why is 'known outside India' even important

You're making generalizations again, IMO; I think you see what is Bollywood and think that is all there is of Indian music.

If you were to watch mainstream Hollywood movies, you'd think all they had was sex and violence. Not really the case is it?

Indians love music from hindi movies the most, its just a cultural thing.Thats the reason non bollywood music has never taken root. And the classical scene is a niche audience.
But it in no way implies that one form of music is inferior the other. Musical taste is very personal and i would not look down upon people who don't like the same music as i do

Indians love music from hindi movies the most, its just a cultural thing.Thats the reason non bollywood music has never taken root. And the classical scene is a niche audience.
But it in no way implies that one form of music is inferior the other. Musical taste is very personal and i would not look down upon people who don't like the same music as i do

It's not just an Indian culture specific thing, though. Commercial/ Popular music tends to dominate traditional/ classical music in terms of reach. Look at the Western tradition.

TBH, in Southern India (especially in Tamilnadu and to a large extent of Kerala, Karnataka n even Andhra Pradesh barring Hyderabad) local language music rules the roost and Bolly music is not as big as it is in Hindi belt.

Even on the classical music scene - Karnatik Music has much wider audience in Southern India being it is from natives than Hindusthani Music.