Traffic fines are a joke in Pakistan!

Moiza

Tape Ball Captain
Our fines range from Rs 100-500, Im not sure if they go above Rs 500 but for the everyday offense they dont go above Rs 500. Now considering the value of Rs 500 and the frequency at which one is fines is so low that traffic laws are a joke for many people and in Islamabad people dont even bother to look around rather they just run the light, 99% of the time they are not caught and even if they are they get a fine of Rs 300 which as I mentioned earlier is a joke.

I dont get dont the traffic police increase the fines to bigger amounts such as Rs 5000-10000? There is an argument that police may fine some innocent people here and there but in Islamabad (lahore and karachi too I think) you have cameras everywhere so that eliminates the danger of wrong fines being issued out. Apart from this I dont see any reason why these fines should not be increased many folds since all of the cities in Pakistan are seriously lacking in basic road manners and etiquettes.

What are your thoughts on increasing the fines to bigger amounts like 1000,5000 or even 10000 to get a hold on stupid and senseless driving in most cities of Pakistan?

Do you even know how much a common man earns in Pakistan.

This is what i argue the most on pakpassion, majority of Pakistan is lower class not upper class.
A 300 fine is a very big fine for a poor person.

Do you even know how much a common man earns in Pakistan.

This is what i argue the most on pakpassion, majority of Pakistan is lower class not upper class.
A 300 fine is a very big fine for a poor person.
300 may be too much for many people but I cant assure you they wont be owning vehicles in the first place. Moreover its not like they are going to issue fines to all the people but if you break the law you deserve a good enough punishment. I see senseless breaking of traffic daily while travelling around Islamabad and this honestly is the only way to solve this growing problems. Many lives are lost just because some people want to save 60 seconds of their lives by running the light.

For a Honda CD-70 or Desi CD-70's majority of which are on installments 100-500 is a huge fine.

300 may be too much for many people but I cant assure you they wont be owning vehicles in the first place. Moreover its not like they are going to issue fines to all the people but if you break the law you deserve a good enough punishment. I see senseless breaking of traffic daily while travelling around Islamabad and this honestly is the only way to solve this growing problems. Many lives are lost just because some people want to save 60 seconds of their lives by running the light.

You should count the " Khoaari " aswell.

The person has to go to Bank, fill Challan and get his License back.

Ghareeb awaam ke pass khanay peenay ko nahi hai aur ap 5000 - 10,000 ka challan ki tajweez deh rahay hain.

Bhai behtar hai ke traffic police ko behtar kara jaye aur jo haal-e-nakara mein mubtala hain ossay nikala jaye.

Ghareeb awaam ke pass khanay peenay ko nahi hai aur ap 5000 - 10,000 ka challan ki tajweez deh rahay hain.

Bhai behtar hai ke traffic police ko behtar kara jaye aur jo haal-e-nakara mein mubtala hain ossay nikala jaye.
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] bhai I dont think you have been to Pakistan recently, or atleast driven in Pakistan recently. Every day its becoming more and more challenging to keep yourself and your car safe. People stopping the car 5-8 feet ahead of the zebra crossing is perfectly normal and even crossing at a green light is dangerous since you never know when some idiot decides to run the light. The other day near my house a whole local van turned upside down in an attempt to run the lights killing many innocent people. I honestly get sad when I see the current situation of traffic in the cities.

Dont even get me started on pindi, the poor officers have to form a human chain to stop traffic since most of the signals are just for show in that part of Pakistan.

And if you dont break the law you dont get the fine. Fair enough I think.

You should count the " Khoaari " aswell.

The person has to go to Bank, fill Challan and get his License back.

Going to NBP for anything is a task itself so at least this part of the system is good :afridi

You do the crime, you do the time in National Bank of Pakistan.

Give Police a monthly target, then they will come in action.

People are poor is no excuse to break rules, they are first to blame government.

No need to increase fines, just implement current rules.

vehicle owners fines are 500, bikes wala 300

Give Police a monthly target, then they will come in action.

People are poor is no excuse to break rules, they are first to blame government.

No need to increase fines, just implement current rules.

we are not saying that they should be excused, we are saying that the fines shouldn't be increased as they are still a heavy one for many

Even here in India, fines for minor offences like jumping a red light, driving without a license or vehicle insurance, using your phone while driving, riding on the footpath and pavements etc are not too huge. But if you are caught DUI, then you will be royally ripped off :D

I actually side with the OP on this.

You can decrease the fine to even 50 or 100rs, but then people know they can definitely pay it, and will break rules with vengeance.

Once the fine goes to 5000 rs, I dare see how even a stupid Honda biker will try to break any rule.

The fear of 5000rs will be way too high.

You want to stop traffic violations? Fine people. You want to stop incessant traffic violations? Fine people to the degree they don't think about doing it except in extreme emergency.

You guys don't have chip system in license? We have chip system in license now here in metros so if you get caught the police guy will know how many precious offended you have committed and based on that you can have incremental punishment..

For e.g.

First offence 100-500
Second offence 1000
Third offence license cancel/jail etc

This sort of law should be implemented once you have chip licenses all over the country..

I actually side with the OP on this.

You can decrease the fine to even 50 or 100rs, but then people know they can definitely pay it, and will break rules with vengeance.

Once the fine goes to 5000 rs, I dare see how even a stupid Honda biker will try to break any rule.

The fear of 5000rs will be way too high.

You want to stop traffic violations? Fine people. You want to stop incessant traffic violations? Fine people to the degree they don't think about doing it except in extreme emergency.

People will start bribing traffic wardens again. The reason most people pay the fines instead of bribing wardens is that it's cheaper to do it legally but not cheap enough that you won't feel the loss(300 is a lot for someone on Rs. 30'000 bike). Once fines get high enough, we'll be back to those halcyon days of earlier this century when bribing a traffic warden was a part of people's daily grind.

I was thinking more on the lines of issuing fines directly since there are cameras everywhere in the city. I saw a post in another forum where a guy was issued a fine in Lahore which he got in the mail. He was driving on the wrong side of the road.

You guys don't have chip system in license? We have chip system in license now here in metros so if you get caught the police guy will know how many precious offended you have committed and based on that you can have incremental punishment..

For e.g.

First offence 100-500
Second offence 1000
Third offence license cancel/jail etc

This sort of law should be implemented once you have chip licenses all over the country..

We have started to get ids with chips, maybe they'll double as a license in the future.

How about this, fine people by looking at what kind of vehicle they have.

Islamabad grapples with traffic chaos​

Islamabad, once revered as a sanctuary of serenity and peace, is now entangled in a web of daily strife. For its residents, the idealised vision of life in the capital has become an increasingly elusive dream. The city, previously a symbol of tranquillisers, is now marred by ceaseless political protests, religious demonstrations, and the ever-present spectre of commuting chaos.

What was once seen as a haven has transformed into a battleground where daily existence is overshadowed by unrest, making life for its citizens an ongoing struggle. Doctor Alina Nasir, a 42-year-old medical practitioner, who moved to Islamabad from Azad Kashmir a decade ago for its reputed calm and better employment opportunities, now grappling with a relentless cycle of stress.

"I imagined a peaceful life here, but it's been anything but that," she shares, her frustration palpable. "Every day, I worry about my children's safety, especially when they travel to and from school. The political rallies and roadblocks are constant, making the daily commute a nerve-wracking ordeal." The city's infrastructure, once designed to accommodate its growing population, now buckles under frequent demonstrations and political unrest.

The roads are often clogged with traffic as protesters stage rallies, leaving residents stuck for hours. This has led to a deteriorating quality of life, where every journey feels like a gamble. Ali Raza, a 45-year-old businessman, echoes Alina's sentiments. "I used to think of Islamabad as a place where I could grow old peacefully.

Now, I'm not sure if I can even get to work on time. The protests that break out with little notice create havoc on our streets. It's not just inconvenient; it's dangerous." For families like Jaffrys, a school teacher who also relocated to Islamabad from Rawalpindi's far-flung village Kallar Sayedan to provide their children with better educational opportunities, the reality is far from ideal. "We moved here hoping for a safer environment for our kids," says Riffat, her eyes reflecting concern. "But now, every day, we face the anxiety of whether they'll be able to get to school safely or if they'll be caught in a protest."

Adding insult to injury are the frequent VIP movements, ongoing road construction projects, and high-profile cricket matches. These events often lead to road closures, making the daily struggles of Islamabad's residents more stressful. "It feels like we're constantly living in a pressure cooker," complains Anisur Rehman, a 47-year-old IT professional.

"VIP convoys speed through our neighbourhoods, roadwork is a never-ending saga, and cricket matches turn the city into a traffic nightmare. It's as if every aspect of daily life has become a series of obstacles. And unfortunately, I am residing near Faizabad, the epicentre of all the political and religious demonstrations."

The impact of this unrest extends beyond daily commutes and safety concerns. The constant disruptions are eroding the sense of community and well-being that once characterised Islamabad. Social gatherings are now rare, and the vibrancy of public life has been overshadowed by the grim reality of political and religious discord.

Doctor Maryam, a local psychiatrist, provides insight into this growing malaise. "The persistent stress and uncertainty are taking a toll on people's mental health. The idealised image of Islamabad as a peaceful capital is crumbling, and with it, the psychological well-being of its residents is suffering." And it must be a matter of concern for the relevant authorities, she forcefully stressed.