Trump raises India tariffs to 50% over Russian oil purchases [Update@post#255]

Pakistanis don’t understand self respecand freedom Their army crushes them under their boots time and again and they endure. So it doesn’t make a difference to them if they ben the knee to trump. They think this is some great diplomacy.

Indians don’t function like that. We take pride in our independence.
That is by far one of the laziest reply on this thread.

This is the issue if India gives in poor people will suffer inflation wrath if India doesn’t it will again be poor people as the factory workers and hand workers.

Rich will get away reducing production and cutting jobs.

Trump accused India of fuelling the war machine.

India has caused damage in many countries. Bangladesh they support a dictator, support Taliban in Afghanistan, support Baloch terrorists, murder people all over the West and now responsible for deaths of poor Ukranians.

Modi is worse than Bashar or Sadam. They too got similar rigged approval ratings. Regime change is a must.

Trump accused India of fuelling the war machine.

India has caused damage in many countries. Bangladesh they support a dictator, support Taliban in Afghanistan, support Baloch terrorists, murder people all over the West and now responsible for deaths of poor Ukranians.

Modi is worse than Bashar or Sadam. They too got similar rigged approval ratings. Regime change is a must.

Didnt Imran Khan supported Afghan Taliban as well?

Also, this has nothing to do with Modi. Trump even recently said Modi and he are good friends but he need to put tariffs as India dont do much business with USA.

Happy enough.

25% a day keeps Modi at bay.
source.gif

Trump raises India tariffs to 50% over Russian oil purchases

The White House announced Wednesday that it is imposing an additional 25% tariff on India, bringing the total levies against the major United States trading partner to 50%.

“I find that the Government of India is currently directly or indirectly importing Russian Federation oil,” President Donald Trump said in an executive order.

“Accordingly, and as consistent with applicable law, articles of India imported into the customs territory of the United States shall be subject to an additional ad valorem rate of duty of 25 percent,” the executive order reads.

Trump last week said that India would pay a tariff of 25%, in addition to a “penalty” over the country’s purchase of military equipment and energy from Russia. It was not clear at the time what such a penalty would look like.

But Trump said Tuesday that he would be raising the tariff on India “very substantially over the next 24 hours, because they’re buying Russian oil, they’re fueling the war machine.”

“And if they’re going to do that, then I’m not going to be happy,” Trump said on CNBC’s “Squawk Box.”

Source: https://www.cnbc.com/2025/08/06/trump-trade-india-tariffs-russia.html

Sorry India ain't becoming anything close to developer nation in 50 -100 years if we exist with climate change and water crisis...

Pollution population lack of civic sense...indiscipline lack of education and low job prospects...these are not easy to solve..what is achievable is growth and hopefully less corruption that will result in equitable wealth distribution ...we will see.
Still way more developed than Pakistan..

I wish the (h)Armies would open the markets up a’la Manmoham sir and move the nation forward as opposed to their personal bank balances..

Trump raises India tariffs to 50% over Russian oil purchases

The White House announced Wednesday that it is imposing an additional 25% tariff on India, bringing the total levies against the major United States trading partner to 50%.

“I find that the Government of India is currently directly or indirectly importing Russian Federation oil,” President Donald Trump said in an executive order.

“Accordingly, and as consistent with applicable law, articles of India imported into the customs territory of the United States shall be subject to an additional ad valorem rate of duty of 25 percent,” the executive order reads.

Trump last week said that India would pay a tariff of 25%, in addition to a “penalty” over the country’s purchase of military equipment and energy from Russia. It was not clear at the time what such a penalty would look like.

But Trump said Tuesday that he would be raising the tariff on India “very substantially over the next 24 hours, because they’re buying Russian oil, they’re fueling the war machine.”

“And if they’re going to do that, then I’m not going to be happy,” Trump said on CNBC’s “Squawk Box.”

Source: https://www.cnbc.com/2025/08/06/trump-trade-india-tariffs-russia.html

What are Indias biggest exports to USA?

Such tariffs hurt American consumers but they will just buy cheaper ones made in other countries.

IT services but there is a loophole for that.

Most affected will be pharma

Its not a major issue for India then.

Also read he is trying to pull out Iphone manufacturing and bring into California. The bigger impact will be other foreign big firms cancelling new set ups in India.

Man i was jus enjoying all the nice Indian stuff at home goods. Dayum sad for all awesome workers that made those unique stuff

What are Indias biggest exports to USA?

Such tariffs hurt American consumers but they will just buy cheaper ones made in other countries.
I could actually do with a little less of the call center scammers and thieves.

and the rest of the exports, I am sure I don't have much use for them.

This will be a blow to India's export economy if Trump follows through on this promise - pharmaceuticals tarriff.

Pharma Tariffs will be a direct impact on US consumers and goes against Trumps efforts to lower prices of prescription drugs, so lets see what happens

Gautam Adani steps down from executive chairman post of Adani ports​

Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone (APSEZ), a subsidiary of the Adani Group, announced on Tuesday that Gautam Adani, the founder of the Adani Group, had stepped down from his key managerial position. He has assumed charge as the non-executive chairman.

The company, in a regulatory filing, said that the board had approved the re-designation of Gautam S Adani from Executive Chairman to Non-Executive Chairman with effect from August 5, 2025, and consequently he would cease to be a key managerial person of the company.

The APSEZ had appointed Manish Agarwal, additional director (non-executive, independent) of the company, for an initial term of three years beginning August 5.

Gautam S Adani, the chairman and founder of the Adani Group, has more than 33 years of business experience. Under his leadership, Adani Group has emerged as a global integrated infrastructure player with interest across resources, logistics and energy verticals.

APSEZ said in a statement that the change ensured compliance with the Companies Act’s provisions that limit key managerial personnel from simultaneously holding executive positions in multiple companies.

If RG had lost 6 rafales, asked for ceasefire then had so many tariffs imposed on him you guys would be calling for his head.
But aside from tarrifs..rest is just not true...op Sindoor was a massive success ..brt Pak begging for ceasefire...destroyed air bases and terrorist hqs
.what more do we want...peace is guaranteed now for few years as Munir wouldn't dare again until he repair the air bases ... With pappy Bhai..we would have kabaddi banned..and trade deal...with modi as he said goli ka jawab Gola..huge strategic victory for India...planes are meant to go and hit targets and will be shot down..if planes didn't participate then there is 0 losses..just ask PAF..they don't fly offensive missions..but it's an ineffective air force...cAnt protect its motherland...anyone can drone it..hit their most protected airbases their valued terrorist assets...even helicopters can go in and kill Osama..probably their vvvip guest..

What's wrong in that tweet? Tell us. :inti
Nothing .did I say the tweet was wrong..I dnt disagree with what Modi is doing though..look at my tweet. I said if pappu was PM..India would be in a worse situation..can you tell me short of surrendering the farmers and dairy sector as Trump is claiming..how would pappu protect India from these tarrifs..he might have avoided humiliating their proxy during op Sindoor but that's about it

These tarrifs have two targets...percent apple and others from moving to India and make India open up again and dairy sectors...rest is just smokeshow

Nothing .did I say the tweet was wrong..I dnt disagree with what Modi is doing though..look at my tweet. I said if pappu was PM..India would be in a worse situation..can you tell me short of surrendering the farmers and dairy sector as Trump is claiming..how would pappu protect India from these tarrifs..he might have avoided humiliating their proxy during op Sindoor but that's about it
You seem to agree with his tweet, yet refer to him as a joker. His potential performance as PM isn't the topic here. Modi is the current PM, and Rahul is in the opposition. Calling him a joker just for questioning those in power? If we are talking about who acts like a joker, I can share some clips of the person you admire and let others decide. :inti

To be honest, it is sad Pakistan is in such a pathetic state...

How a country can be so diabolical always amazes me, their citizens basically have zero future, they will keep getting high on the Kashmir narrative spun by their military, so pathetic and sad a whole nation gone right down the gutter....
The future is not written friend. Things change and one day you are on top and the next you are at the bottom. Don’t be so arrogant.

This was Modi's last term regardless, he is done as a PM of India. This year has been particularly bad for Modi.

Has the events v Pakistan and this tramping down by Yanks decreased or increased Modis popularity. Rahul Ghandi looks happier than Trump, lol.

1. Indians living in India will decide that and not Islamists living in Bradford.

2. This 3rd term has just started and even if this happens to be his last, there are 4 more years left.

3. Once you realize who will replace him, you may want him back as Indian PM.

Basically all I am trying to say is, there is no joy for Pakistanis and they will not get any leverage.

#Rajdeep

The future is not written friend. Things change and one day you are on top and the next you are at the bottom. Don’t be so arrogant.
Very true.. also for all the folks consistently saying that for 15 years on this forum about India. Esp the Brit Pakistanis

Very cunningly US has put tariffs only on Goods and not IT as half their GCCs are opened up in India.

Probably the reason why he can’t do that to China as everything is manufactured there.

The US is a bully and has been for the last few decades as the sole superpower. This is not about Russian oil and more about Trump getting what he wants as he thinks the US is being taken advantage of by everyone else in terms of trade and everyone so far has bowed down so I suspect India will eventually as well once the tariffs become astronomical.

I do find it hilarious all the Indians that turned on Trump now, this is exactly what I said before he is a clown that will do what he wants.
Hopefully we learn that about Zionists sooner than later.

I do find it hilarious all the Indians that turned on Trump now, this is exactly what I said before he is a clown that will do what he wants.
Trump is a delusional Narcissist and the entire GOP has kissed the ring. People of Pakistan should not celebrate because sooner or later Trump will turn on Pakistan too.

The backlash against India, Indians and Indian immigrants will sooner or later turn to targeting "Muslim" immigrants, its just a matter of time.

But I have always believed that India is just a singular crisis away from the point of "unable to feed its population" and sheer chaos.

1. Indians living in India will decide that and not Islamists living in Bradford.

2. This 3rd term has just started and even if this happens to be his last, there are 4 more years left.

Basically all I am trying to say is, there is no joy for Pakistanis and they will not get any leverage.

#Rajdeep
sorry my bad , deported Hindutvas will decide India’s future . :sachin lol

When modi goes , I hope it doesn’t hurt too much

Trump is a delusional Narcissist and the entire GOP has kissed the ring. People of Pakistan should not celebrate because sooner or later Trump will turn on Pakistan too.

The backlash against India, Indians and Indian immigrants will sooner or later turn to targeting "Muslim" immigrants, its just a matter of time.

But I have always believed that India is just a singular crisis away from the point of "unable to feed its population" and sheer chaos.
If the gas prices increase thats when India wont be able to feed.
Americans want that clearly.

The Hindutuva celebrated and taunted Muslims with Trumps Presidency and today Facist Trump is beating up fascist India. The irony isnt lost on anyone. However, the Inds have done the right thing for a poor country and put the interests of their poor above of those of America. For entertainment purposes and I want to see both these countries to knock hells bells out of each other. Game on

It’s good for India to get this reality check, get the house in order now and force the reforms.

Yes, this is what I’ve been discussing within my friends’ circle.

We have always been complacent, inefficient, corrupt to the core and have had a chronic resistance to reform. Setbacks like these serve as necessary wake-up calls to shake us out of our inertia.

In that sense, 2025 has been a year of hard but necessary truths. The Pakistan episode reignited public interest in defense platforms and exposed how far we still are from true indigenisation. And now with this fallout with Trump, we are being reminded once again that protectionism has a shelf life. Sooner or later Indian industry will have to face global competition on a level playing field. It’s been decades of protectionism and the government must be held accountable if our agriculture, dairy etc cannot compete with MNCs in the domestic market.

Major economic reforms are the need of the hour. Our IT giants have been sitting on massive cash reserves for decades but have failed to significantly invest in cutting-edge R&D. The pharmaceutical industry too has mostly stayed within the comfort zone of generics.

Our economy might not be dead but it isn’t leading the world in innovations that will define the world in next few decades. Where China plans decades ahead, we are still clinging to the good old jugaad mindset of short-term fixes instead of visionary long-term strategies.

This moment howsoever uncomfortable is a blessing in disguise. It’s an opportunity to get our act together as a nation and position ourselves as a serious player in the emerging global order.

#Rajdeep

:inti

Diabolical attempt to impact SIR': Fake certificate names Donald Trump a Bihar local; FIR lodged​

If the gas prices increase thats when India wont be able to feed.
Americans want that clearly.
Gas prices is exactly what Trump is targeting which goes at the heart of India's ability to feed its massive population.

We should actually be thankful to Trump. He’s done us a favour by lifting the mask.

The US has never truly viewed India as a potential ally or a friend but as a pawn in America’s broader geopolitical chessboard. While previous US administrations maintained a facade of friendship, Trump being Trump has stripped away all subtlety and exposed the raw truth of America’s growing insecurity about India’s rise.

To the US, India is not a partner to be empowered, but a future threat to be contained.

Americans are insecure to the core about India emerging as the voice of the Global South. In India, they see a potential challenger in multilateral forums, someone who won’t obediently fall in line within America-dominated global institutions. This unsettles them. It frustrates them.

Indians are deeply and rather needlessly emotional about friendships. We must as a nation learn to deal with every nation in a very transactional manner. No friendship. No animosity. Just pure business and geopolitical interests.

Uncle Trump has given us a lesson for some tariffs the Americans will pay anyway. Sometimes a harsh truth from a clown like Trump is more valuable than sweet lies from a seasoned actor like a Obama or a Biden. Trump just gave us that harsh truth. Now let’s grow up and act accordingly.

I'm personally a little contrarian on this. I would say it's good for India to get a little bullied by Trump and the States. We obviously can't give the US everything they want in terms of access but the way we've been dragging our feet on any and all concessions is a bit much.

We've honestly gotten used to being a bit pampered by the US Establishment especially during the Biden administration given our position as a strategic partner and long term ally against China. Trump is obviously a lot less strategic and a lot more transactional and we've been slow to adapt.

It'll be painful but we'll have to give if we want to get. It's unfair (after all we're a lot poorer) but the world is unfair.
- Some of what's being demanded - freer agriculture imports, access to retail markets etc. will be painful and may cause disruption but impact can be mitigated through cash transfers and indirect subsidies.
- Russian oil is easier. Yes it's cheaper right now to buy from Russia but oil prices are dropping anyway and OPEC just announced a production increase. Plus Trump's likely to forget about this soon

In the short term, it's better to recognise we don't have too many cards to play, appease Trump's ego and wait it out. The question is not of just the current exports to the States. There is a unique opportunity over the next few years of chaos to boost India's manufacturing with stuff voluntarily or involuntarily moving out of the world's factory - China. We can't miss the bus.
You fall in this trap of usa they will keep asking for more using these tactics lookat our neighbour
Usa is a very unreliable ally so to appease them we can’t leave russia

You seem to agree with his tweet, yet refer to him as a joker. His potential performance as PM isn't the topic here. Modi is the current PM, and Rahul is in the opposition. Calling him a joker just for questioning those in power? If we are talking about who acts like a joker, I can share some clips of the person you admire and let others decide. :inti
Sure please share. I am not calling him a joker for this tweet..I'm calling him a joker to think he could do anything better...for sure he would do everything worse...it's not about modi..of Congress gets some one competent ..I will vote for him...right now this pappu is focusing only on winning election...his plank is caste based reservation that will doom the country...his previous planks was communalism which most of the country don't care and then rural economy...which is a good thought but his idea is just sops...does he have a vision of India..zero nada....all he tries is to undermine the govt but his message is falling short ...

You fall in this trap of usa they will keep asking for more using these tactics lookat our neighbour
Usa is a very unreliable ally so to appease them we can’t leave russia
This ..never ever leave a time tested ally for a transactional partner...and dnt ever buy critical defense equipment else tarrifs would be dependent on getting parts and maintenance

#Rajdeep
:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: Are you positive Yogi will replace him?

Gas prices is exactly what Trump is targeting which goes at the heart of India's ability to feed its massive population.
Yes and also he wants India to open up the agriculture sector , which is not happening not before reforms atleast.

Thanks for sharing your perspective, i think i had tagged you because i value your generally reasonable comments which are not always emotionally driven as a Pakistani.

You’re right, India does depend significantly on trade with the West but our reluctance to bow to Trump’s increasingly rigid demands isn’t about ego or hindu nationalism but about safeguarding long-term interests.

Take agriculture and dairy. The US wants India to open these sensitive sectors but that would devastate millions of small Indian farmers and dairy producers who cannot compete with heavily mechanized and subsidized large scale American competitors. No government regardless of ideology can afford that kind of economic and social disruption. Its not an economic barrier from Indian POV but a necessity arising out of our societal construct.

Then there’s defense where the US expects India to buy the most expensive weapons platforms in the world without any commitment on timelines for deliveries, without offering source-code access, tech transfer, or long-term maintenance guarantees, nothing! India has diversified its suppliers base out of necessity to maintain long term reliability.

As for Russian oil, i think that's a general topic so you know everything about energy requirements and the double standards of Western sanctions. In pure economic terms, India's done the world a favour by purchasing Russian oil and stabilizing the price and deliveries of crude oil globally and we were encouraged to do originally by the Americans. Now Trump thinks its an issue because he wants to put a gun on our head to agree to his demands.

So yes, relations with the US matter enormously. But India is not a subordinate ally. Our leadership is answerable to the people of India. Playing the long game sometimes means weathering short-term pain especially when the alternative is accepting terms that compromise core national interests. Life cannot always by hunky dory. There will be challenging times which every nation must be prepared to face. Everyone can see how Trump is attacking leading nations of the Global South. We have to whether the storm collectively.

The bigger picture that we see is one that includes defending our sovereignty and national pride in global affairs.
theres two parts to this, firstly im not attacking India's protectionism, although i disagree in the long-term efficacy of protectionism in promoting the most efficient use of a country's resources, if your protectionist, thats fine, but then you have to expect other countries will retaliate.

the second part i kinda disagree with, india is not an equal partner with the US, India has far more to gain from an open trading relationship with the USA in the long term than vice versa, if anything open trading relationships are likely to hasten the bridging of the gap between both countries economically. India is a big country, but isolationism doesnt help any one, politics is all about finding compromises in difficult spots, and shutting up shop is a sign you are admitting political defeat, although im pretty sure behind the scenes both parties are working to find a workable solution that saves face for both countries.

if its a trump thing, then fine, but if its a concensus shift in american foriegn policy india will pay a heavy price for it, if you want to take that punt then fine, but i dont believe anyone is taking that punt and ull pbly find some kind of concession reached in the medium term.

Trump is really upset that India is not paying attention to his threats and acting defiant. So threatening to increase tariffs again :rp

BTW, international media is also supporting India's rights of sovereignty

Modi ji zindabaad. I hope he continues to fight the masters. This is fun.

IT services but there is a loophole for that.

Most affected will be pharma
As I said, Pharmaceuticals are exempt from Tariffs

Pharma Tariffs will be a direct impact on US consumers and goes against Trumps efforts to lower prices of prescription drugs, so lets see what happens

Lot of posters here convinced themselves Dolaand and Modi were best friends because Modi kept hugging him and holding hands lol. deltexas comes to mind.

The two can barely understand each other's language but they're supposed to be 'besties'.

A whole lot of nothing statement. We are sad and disappointed but we will take it from USA. Response of a true ghulam. Upset at the master but knows he can’t do anything.
The master? If the leader of the country keeps travelling to US on being called then that country is the slave.

Please check who is going to US yet again, is baar to pakka Nobel dilwake hi aayenge Munirji

The master? If the leader of the country keeps travelling to US on being called then that country is the slave.

Please check who is going to US yet again, is baar to pakka Nobel dilwake hi aayenge Munirji
Oh you won’t find me arguing against how Pakistan’s elites are in USA pockets. Most of Pakistanis know that, but we don’t live in a delusion that we can stand up to USA.

Indians on other hand are in this illusion that thinks that USA doesn’t control most of their country. They were used for as long as possible against China. Now that they served their purpose, US is putting it back to its position.

Honestly, just look at the way Trump or for that matter most of west sees Indians. After all this worship of GDP, development, technology, Trump and Modi bromance and in few days the statements clearly sees India and Pakistan at same level.

It burns Indians hearing this but this is a fact. You have served your purpose of cheap labor, now that purpose can be accomplished by philipines, Indonesians or Vietnamese.