Trump pauses some reciprocal Tariffs for 90 Days, Raises China Tariffs to 125% [Update@post270]

Cricket Warrior

President Donald Trumpsaid on Wednesday that he would impose a 10% baseline tariff on all imports to the U.S. and higher duties on dozens of other countries, including some of the United States' biggest trading partners, deepening a trade war that he kicked off on his return to the White House.

The sweeping duties would erect new barriers around the world's largest consumer economy, reversing decades of trade liberalization that have shaped the global order. Trading partners are expected to respond with countermeasures of their own that could lead to dramatically higher prices for everything from bicycles to wine.

U.S. stock futures sank after the announcement, following weeks of volatile trading as investors speculated about how the incoming tariffs might affect the global economy, inflation and corporate earnings. U.S. stocks have erased nearly $5 trillion of value since February.

"It's our declaration of independence," Trump said at an event in the White House Rose Garden.
Chinese imports will be hit with a 34% tariff, according to Trump, on top of the 20% levy that he previously imposed on that country. Close U.S. allies were not spared, including the European Union, which faces a 20% tariff.

Here are Trump’s new tariff rates for more than 180 countries

President Donald Trump and the White House laid out the U.S. reciprocal tariff rates that more than 180 countries and territories will face under his sweeping new trade policy.

In charts posted on social media, the White House shows the effective tariff rates they claim other countries impose on American goods, including by “currency manipulation and trade barriers.”

An adjacent column shows the new tariff rates the U.S. will impose on each country or territory, including the European Union. The reciprocal rates are not necessarily the only U.S. tariffs these countries will face.

Trump held up the chart when he unveiled his tariff policy in the White House Rose Garden.

1743634090524.png

CNBC

Very bearish for Markets. He pretty much announced 50% of what other countries are tariffing US for their exports.

Companies like NVDA, APPL etc that rely heavily on China are shafted. At least in the short term. Their margins will be down.

I hope he does not drag it too much and drive US economy into a recession. It was very disappointing to hear him announce all those tariffs to that extent. I was hoping for a 10-20% flat tariff on all trading partners. But he went way overboard I felt. Very unpredictable.

PS - I feel no one is going to win in this trade war. All countries will lose if it drags on for a year or so. The longer, the worse it will be.

Good to see other countries flapping around after screwing the US for so long.

President Donald Trump and the White House laid out the U.S. reciprocal tariff rates that more than 180 countries and territories will face under his sweeping new trade policy.

In charts posted on social media, the White House shows the effective tariff rates they claim other countries impose on American goods, including by “currency manipulation and trade barriers.”

An adjacent column shows the new tariff rates the U.S. will impose on each country or territory, including the European Union. The reciprocal rates are not necessarily the only U.S. tariffs these countries will face.

Trump held up the chart when he unveiled his tariff policy in the White House Rose Garden.

View attachment 152891

CNBC
So isnt it fair?? The tariffs by the US are still discounted tariffs not equal reciprocal ones.

Very bearish for Markets. He pretty much announced 50% of what other countries are tariffing US for their exports.

Companies like NVDA, APPL etc that rely heavily on China are shafted. At least in the short term. Their margins will be down.

I hope he does not drag it too much and drive US economy into a recession. It was very disappointing to hear him announce all those tariffs to that extent. I was hoping for a 10-20% flat tariff on all trading partners. But he went way overboard I felt. Very unpredictable.

PS - I feel no one is going to win in this trade war. All countries will lose if it drags on for a year or so. The longer, the worse it will be.

Countries can simply do trades with other countries. America is not the only option.

This may hurt Americans more than other people in the long run. :inti

The tariffs are still fair with them being at 50% of what other countries are using. Short term pain for sure but long term markets will stabilize a d other countries will reduce tariffs on US goods which is what Trump is after. Issue is China is exporting high end stuff now to the US vs low end goods before.

Countries can simply do trades with other countries. America is not the only option.

Yes the Bangladesh textile industry will be hit very hard.:mw
Other countries are free to do what they want- nobody is forcing them to trade with the US. Should be equal trade tariffs simple.

The tariffs are still fair with them being at 50% of what other countries are using. Short term pain for sure but long term markets will stabilize a d other countries will reduce tariffs on US goods which is what Trump is after. Issue is China is exporting high end stuff now to the US vs low end goods before.
Problem is with inflation. Feds have struggled enough to bring the inflation down. All the companies that have manufacturing outside US will pass on the additional tariff costs to the consumers. Whoever does not do that, their margins will suffer which will bring the stock price down even more.
I do agree that the tariffs announced by US are still nothing compared to what other countries do to US exports. IS companies does their manufacturing outside of US for a reason. To keep the prices down by spending less capital expenditure.

It’s a bit of a messy situation. US cannot continue to bleed while all its allies are profiting so much at the expense of US companies. But if the manufacturing is brought back to US, the American worker is super pampered and the expenses to maintain American worker is astronomically high compared to the same worker if hired in Vietnam or Bangladesh or India. The cost of manufacturing is passed on to the US consumer. Which means inflation will start to creep up.
It’s a dangerous game Trump is playing. Hope this tariff drama does not drag on much longer.
I have a significant portfolio in the stock market. Year to date, I am close to 15% down. Looks like things will get much worse. I am hoping this is just transitory and does not last long.

US is the largest consumer of most of products manufactured in third world countries. If the US companies shift their manufacturing away from these countries, there will be huge repercussions on those poor third world. Countries. As it is there are not enough jobs there. This will hurt them even more.
Also, other countries will tariff these poor countries more unlike US. Their profits suffer. Which means job losses. It’s a chain and everyone suffers

Problem is with inflation. Feds have struggled enough to bring the inflation down. All the companies that have manufacturing outside US will pass on the additional tariff costs to the consumers. Whoever does not do that, their margins will suffer which will bring the stock price down even more.
I do agree that the tariffs announced by US are still nothing compared to what other countries do to US exports. IS companies does their manufacturing outside of US for a reason. To keep the prices down by spending less capital expenditure.

It’s a bit of a messy situation. US cannot continue to bleed while all its allies are profiting so much at the expense of US companies. But if the manufacturing is brought back to US, the American worker is super pampered and the expenses to maintain American worker is astronomically high compared to the same worker if hired in Vietnam or Bangladesh or India. The cost of manufacturing is passed on to the US consumer. Which means inflation will start to creep up.
It’s a dangerous game Trump is playing. Hope this tariff drama does not drag on much longer.
I have a significant portfolio in the stock market. Year to date, I am close to 15% down. Looks like things will get much worse. I am hoping this is just transitory and does not last long.
Yeah its more to get the other countries down. Id they make their tariffs to 10-20% it will make it easier for Trump to back doen as well. And I believe that will be the case because the US can hold on much longer than any other country.

View attachment 152891

CNBC

Bangladesh 🤣🤣🤣🤣

1743655433166.png

@sweep_shot

Bro ye kya hogyi?
:yk3

Bangladesh with huge 37% tariff, the entire textile industry will be affected, they have to act fast and get a trade deal with USA otherwise Bangladesh is looking at economic collapse.

Indians and their obession with Bangladesh. :inti

Don't worry about Bangladesh. Bangladesh do trades with many different countries. They can adjust.

As a matter of fact, all countries can adjust.

Indians and their obession with Bangladesh. :inti

Don't worry about Bangladesh. Bangladesh do trades with many different countries. They can adjust.

You don’t have to worry.
We have a business plan ready for Bangladesh. You just have to make way for our Aunty Sheikh Haseena ji once again.

Tariff percentage is 50% of what the other country is charging.

So, for example, BD charges 74% tariff to USA. So, Trump decided to put 37% tariff on Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka charges 88% tariff to USA. So, Trump put 44% tariff on Sri Lanka.

Vietnam charges 90%. Trump placed 46% tariff on Vietnam.

Anyway, this may come back to bite USA. Countries can adjust and/or put retaliatory tariffs. Trump is behaving like an amateur.

:inti

A short to medium term loss. India has been subsidizing its farmers way too much. This will only push us towards more productivity. Hopefully the dumb protections for super rich farmers is taken away and led into free market for better efficiency. We are a poor country, and out wheat prices literally match more or less the global west.
We have the cheapest labor, cheap everything and farmers are subsidized like crazy and they are producing at the price of an American farmer??? 🤷‍♂️. Finally cheaper export quality food items in India :D.

Protectionism always leads to loss of competitiveness.

Trump to charge high tariffs on 'worst offenders' globally

President Donald Trump has announced new import taxes on all goods entering the US, in the biggest upheaval of the international trade order since the aftermath of World War Two.

His plan sets a baseline tariff of 10% on all imports, consistent with his proposal during last year's White House campaign.

Items from about 60 trade partners that the White House described as the "worst offenders", including the European Union and China, face higher rates - payback for unfair trade policies, Trump said.

Analysts said the trade war escalation was likely to lead to higher prices for Americans and slower growth in the US, while some countries around the world could be plunged into recession.

But in Wednesday's announcement at the White House, Trump said the measures were necessary because countries were taking advantage of the US by imposing high tariffs and other trade barriers.

Declaring a national emergency, the Republican president said the US had for more than five decades been "looted, pillaged, raped and plundered by nations near and far, both friend and foe alike".

"It's our declaration of economic independence," Trump said in the Rose Garden against a backdrop of US flags.

The White House said the US would start charging the 10% tariffs on 5 April, with the higher duties for certain nations starting on 9 April.

"Today we are standing up for the American worker and we are finally putting America first," Trump said, calling it "one of the most important days, in my opinion, in American history".

His decision stunned many analysts.

"He just dropped a nuclear bomb on the global trading system," Ken Rogoff, former chief economist at the International Monetary Fund, told the BBC.

Canada and Mexico not affected

Tariffs are taxes on imports. On the campaign trail last year, Trump said he would use them to boost manufacturing, promising a new age of US prosperity.

The import taxes could raise $2.2tn (£1.7tn) of revenue by 2034, according to the non-partisan Congressional Budget Office.

He spent weeks previewing Wednesday's announcement, which followed other orders raising tariffs on imports from China, foreign cars, steel and aluminium and 25% on some goods from Mexico and Canada.

For now, the White House said the latest changes would not change anything for Mexico and Canada, two of America's closest trading partners.

But other allies will face new tariffs, including 10% for the UK and 20% for the European Union, said Trump.

The measure introduces a new 34% tariff on goods from China, on top of an existing 20% levy, bringing total duties to at least 54%.

The tariff rate will be 24% on goods from Japan, and 26% from India.

Some of the highest duties will hit exports from countries that have seen a rush of investment in recent years, as firms shifted supply chains away from China following tariffs in Trump's first term.

Goods from Vietnam and Cambodia will be hit with 46% and 49% respectively.

Higher levies will also fall on much smaller nations, with products from the southern African country of Lesotho facing 50%.

"My advice to every country right now is, do not retaliate," Bessent told Fox News.

"Sit back, take it in, let's see how it goes. Because if you retaliate, there will be escalation," he said. "If you don't retaliate, this is the high watermark."

Later however, China's commerce ministry said it "firmly" opposed the US's new tariffs and will take "resolute countermeasures to safeguard its rights and interests".

European Commission head Ursula von der Leyen also said she was preparing to take further steps against the US in the event that negotiations failed.

The new duties will affect trillions of dollars in trade, likely setting the stage for higher prices in the US on clothing, European wine, bicycles, toys and thousands of other items.

Olu Sonola, head of US economic research at the Fitch Ratings agency, said the measures would bring the US tariff rate to what was in place in 1910.

"Many countries will likely end up in a recession," he said.

The US stock market was closed for trading by the time that Trump made his announcement, which he billed as "Liberation Day".

But shares in the Asia-Pacific region opened lower on Thursday morning.

Japan's benchmark stock index, the Nikkei 225, was down by 4% in early trading. Australia's ASX 200 was around 2% lower.

Wedbush Securities analyst Dan Ives described the tariffs as "worse than the worst case" that investors had anticipated.

But he said he believed there would be negotiations and exemptions.

Trump has described his measures as "reciprocal" - intending them as a retaliation for other countries' policies that he says fuel high trade imbalances.

These include high tariffs, as well as Value Added Tax (VAT) or regulations that bar foods with traces of certain chemicals.

Trump also reinstated plans to end tax-free treatment for small packages from China as of May, a move that would hurt Amazon rivals such as Shein and Temu.

He confirmed that a 25% tax on imports of all foreign-made cars, which he announced last week, would begin from midnight.

And he repeated his intention to hit specific items that were exempt from Wednesday's action, such as copper and pharmaceuticals, with separate tariffs.

SOURCE: https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cm257z1y2q9o

A short to medium term loss. India has been subsidizing its farmers way too much. This will only push us towards more productivity. Hopefully the dumb protections for super rich farmers is taken away and led into free market for better efficiency. We are a poor country, and out wheat prices literally match more or less the global west.
We have the cheapest labor, cheap everything and farmers are subsidized like crazy and they are producing at the price of an American farmer??? 🤷‍♂️. Finally cheaper export quality food items in India :D.

Protectionism always leads to loss of competitiveness.

Good quality and prices in US is really good. I think all the necessary protection to local companies, farmers etc must gradually reduce. We can compete with the world. Competition will eventually bring the best out of our country. If wil hurt for a year or so, within a couple of years all our companies will bounce back with better efficiencies to capture major market share.

Our FMCG products are extremely low quality.

Is the tarrifs that are calculated accurate? Do India and Pakistan have 50%+ tarrifs or is it creative maths from Trump.

Trump placed 26% tariff on India and 29% tariff on Pakistan. Check post #2.

To be honest, I expect all these tariffs to be reversed or reduced at some point (either by Trump himself or by next administration). This tariff war is not good for Americans because their costs can rise also.

Donald bhai really stopped at Bharat and had to give an explaination there for the tariffs despite the friendship. So nice of you President Trump. Your friendship means everything to us. We know you had to do it for the sake of American economy and we understand.

Thanks to American citizens and their governments for making billionaires out of our millionaires. It’s been a great run and we owe you a hit thank you and if it was down to me a box full of Alfonso mango the king of the fruits would be coming your way right now.

Good quality and prices in US is really good. I think all the necessary protection to local companies, farmers etc must gradually reduce. We can compete with the world. Competition will eventually bring the best out of our country. If wil hurt for a year or so, within a couple of years all our companies will bounce back with better efficiencies to capture major market share.

Our FMCG products are extremely low quality.
Most of the excess tarriffs imposed are for agriculture only. It will be nice to let free market competition give us better quality products.

I've been reading intensively on the tariffs in the last few hours (part of my job to be honest) and have reached a few conclusions.

- Unfortunately the tariff rates are not based on actual tariffs by each of the countries. They are more a reflection of the trade deficit the US runs with that country. For example, the US imports approximately $87B from India and the trade deficit is $46B which means a import tariff of 46/87 i.e. 52% is assumed. By his vague discounting formula, a reciprocal rate of 26% is imposed. Here's a sample calculation
1743674541940.png
- The above means that the only way to get the Trump administration to drop the rates (barring inside negotiations) is to buy more from the States. Countries like India cannot import stuff that they currently buy from China from the US so we'll have to essentially start buying a lot more of the stuff that the US does produce - agricultural products, crude and military equipment.

- Overall winners and losers are tougher to determine.
In the short term, it'll be mainly American consumers who lose. The US just doesn't produce enough for other countries to buy and it'll be years before they build up the capacity to do so. We're talking about a Trillion dollars worth of products (the current trade deficit) annually. Therefore prices to American consumers will rise since they'll be paying the tariffs. Maybe Trump will implement some kind of tax cuts to compensate the consumers but the bottom tercile of Americans won't benefit from that since they pay very little tax anyway
As far as countries go, it'll take a while to understand impact. All major exporters to the US are hit with tariffs so minor differences in the rates (say 24% vs 32%) will determine winners in price sensitive products. Weird side-effects will suddenly be apparent - shortages in unexpected categories, prices zooming up in others etc.

- One thing really good for India so far. Trump doesn't really seem to think of Services (offshoring for example) in terms of Imports & Exports so they're not covered in the tariff regime. That's very important for India since the largest chunk of our exports are in that area.

It's going to be a very busy few months for guys like me as it all shakes out and we understand the full impact.

I've been reading intensively on the tariffs in the last few hours (part of my job to be honest) and have reached a few conclusions.

- Unfortunately the tariff rates are not based on actual tariffs by each of the countries. They are more a reflection of the trade deficit the US runs with that country. For example, the US imports approximately $87B from India and the trade deficit is $46B which means a import tariff of 46/87 i.e. 52% is assumed. By his vague discounting formula, a reciprocal rate of 26% is imposed. Here's a sample calculation
View attachment 152899
- The above means that the only way to get the Trump administration to drop the rates (barring inside negotiations) is to buy more from the States. Countries like India cannot import stuff that they currently buy from China from the US so we'll have to essentially start buying a lot more of the stuff that the US does produce - agricultural products, crude and military equipment.

In the short term, it'll be mainly American consumers who lose. The US just doesn't produce enough for other countries to buy and it'll be years before they build up the capacity to do so. We're talking about a Trillion dollars worth of products (the current trade deficit) annually. Therefore prices to American consumers will rise since they'll be paying the tariffs. Maybe Trump will implement some kind of tax cuts to compensate the consumers but the bottom tercile of Americans won't benefit from that since they pay very little tax anyway
As far as countries go, it'll take a while to understand impact. All major exporters to the US are hit with tariffs so minor differences in the rates (say 24% vs 32%) will determine winners in price sensitive products. Weird side-effects will suddenly be apparent - shortages in unexpected categories, prices zooming up in others etc.

- One thing really good for India so far. Trump doesn't really seem to think of Services (offshoring for example) in terms of Imports & Exports so they're not covered in the tariff regime. That's very important for India since the largest chunk of our exports are in that area.

It's going to be a very busy few months for guys like me as it all shakes out and we understand the full impact.

What kind of impact would the new tariffs have on the Asian Football powerhouse Bangladesh.

They have a former Leicester City player in the team so it’s quite serious business.

What kind of impact would the new tariffs have on the Asian Football powerhouse Bangladesh.

They have a former Leicester City player in the team so it’s quite serious business.
I recognise you're joking but impact would be minor if things stay as announced.

Bangladesh's major exports are textile. It's major competitors for textile exports to the US are China, Vietnam, India. All of the these countries (except India which is lower at 26%) have been hit with similar or higher tariffs.

Don't worry about Bangladesh. Some of you Indians are obsessed with Bangladesh. :inti

Bangladesh's trading partners are diverse (Germany, France, China etc.). So, it is not a major blow if one country puts high tariff.

Don't worry about Bangladesh. Some of you Indians are obsessed with Bangladesh. :inti

Bangladesh's trading partners are diverse (Germany, France, China etc.). So, it is not a major blow if one country puts high tariff.
USA is literally 1/5th of all Bangladesh exports, while China doesn't even figure in top 15 of Bangladeshi exports.
Maybe an update on data is needed at your end. :inti

View attachment 152899

Very interesting and an insightful post. I haven't been able to read into this in too much detail but found the "tarrifs" that Trump presented to be very odd. They just didn't feel like actual tarrifs levied by those countries.

I think a couple of nice words from some countries will be enough to make Trump drop the tarrifs.

Very interesting and an insightful post. I haven't been able to read into this in too much detail but found the "tarrifs" that Trump presented to be very odd. They just didn't feel like actual tarrifs levied by those countries.

I think a couple of nice words from some countries will be enough to make Trump drop the tarrifs.
I'm not so sure. The Trump of the first term was just a minor variation from previous presidents. A lot of bluff and bluster but nothing much in actual practice - maybe a few miles of wall on the Mexico border, appointing conservative Supreme court justices...stuff that was barely relevant to the outside world. That Trump would've never dared a move like this.

The Trump of the second term seems a lot more ideologically driven and willing to damn real world consequences. The economic inefficiency of tariffs is an almost undisputed fact in every major economic school over the last 100 years. In fact, the last time the US implemented large scale tariffs (Smoot-Hawley if you remember 'Ferris Bueller's Day Off'), it was one of the major triggers for the Great Depression. Now maybe most economists are wrong and the common-sense America-first bros Trump seems to be relying on for economic advice are right but personally, I wouldn't bet on it. He seems a lot more committed to trying these radical ideas.

If the US ever manages to rebuild large scale manufacturing, the real question is, who outside of America could actually afford those products? With high labor costs, strict regulations, and other overhead, goods made in the US would be significantly more expensive than those coming out of places like China or Vietnam.

The US market alone isn’t enough to sustain a booming manufacturing sector. To really succeed, these industries would have to sell globally, but that means competing with countries that have much cheaper production costs. Unless American companies can drive down prices or offer something the world can't get elsewhere, they’re going to have a tough time.

Even with tax breaks or government subsidies, the average American could end up footing the bill, paying higher prices for goods, while the broader economy sees limited benefits.

Just look at Europe, aside from a few American staples like Coca-Cola or Whiskeys and Harley Davidsons, most of what's sold there comes from China, Southeast Asia, or Africa. There's a reason for that, cost matters, and global markets vote with their wallets.

If this reality doesn’t shift, political promises to "bring jobs back" might not deliver the outcomes people expect. And that could have real political fallout. Trump might find that out the hard way in the midterms.

He is a failed businessman and he is trying to run the world like he ran his businesses - into the ground. This will hurt a lot of people in the US and outside.

Maybe he should focus more on his efforts to annex other countries like Iceland, Greenland, Mexico, Canada, etc and leave the economic stuff alone. At least we will have a more relaxed laugh at those sorry attempts.

China imposes 34% tariff on imports of all U.S. products starting April 10; Trump says Beijing played it wrong​

Mr. Trump criticised China’s retaliation, saying on his Truth Social platform that “CHINA PLAYED IT WRONG, THEY PANICKED - THE ONE THING THEY CANNOT AFFORD TO DO!”​

China announced on Friday (April 4, 2025) that it will impose a 34% tariff on imports of all U.S. products beginning April 10, part of a flurry of retaliatory measures following U.S. President Donald Trump’s “Liberation Day” slate of double-digit tariffs.

The new tariff matches the rate of the U.S. “reciprocal” tariff of 34% on Chinese exports Mr. Trump ordered this week.

Mr. Trump criticised China’s retaliation on Friday (April 4, 2025), saying on his Truth Social platform that “CHINA PLAYED IT WRONG, THEY PANICKED - THE ONE THING THEY CANNOT AFFORD TO DO!”

The Commerce Ministry in Beijing also said in a notice that it will impose more export controls on rare earths, which are materials used in high-tech products such as computer chips and electric vehicle batteries.

Additionally, the Chinese government said it has added 27 firms to lists of companies subject to trade sanctions or export controls.

You can't bully China like this, Mr Dolaand Trump. :inti
I think he can to be honest. For a decade or more yet1 at least. For all the progress China have made and the hundreds of millions they've lifted out of poverty, they're still a developing middle income country very dependant on exports and specifically on US consumption.

A global recession with an oversized drop in US consumption spending could hit them badly. Especially with the construction sector - a huge growth engine for them over the last decade already in a slump.

They're uniquely vulnerable to US bullying at this point unless they manage to somehow stimulate massive domestic consumption growth.

I think he can to be honest. For a decade or more yet1 at least. For all the progress China have made and the hundreds of millions they've lifted out of poverty, they're still a developing middle income country very dependant on exports and specifically on US consumption.

A global recession with an oversized drop in US consumption spending could hit them badly. Especially with the construction sector - a huge growth engine for them over the last decade already in a slump.

They're uniquely vulnerable to US bullying at this point unless they manage to somehow stimulate massive domestic consumption growth.
This is true.

What would the fed do if there is a recession in the US?
Cut interest rates?
Whose going to really benefit from that?

Those who can invest.
I am perhaps being naive but I reckon given the make up of Trump advisors and members of the US government including the president himself that many people will make a killing. Sold at the top before Tarrifs announced and they will buy back at the bottom timing it correctly for some announcements that will bounce the markets.

Worst week for US stocks since Covid crash as China hits back on tariffs

Stock market turmoil deepened on Friday, as China hit back at tariffs announced by US President Donald Trump, raising the likelihood of an extended trade war and damage to the global economy.

All three major stock indexes in the US plunged more than 5%, with the S&P 500 dropping almost 6%, capping the worst week for the US stock market since 2020.

In the UK, the FTSE 100 plunged almost 5% - its steepest fall in five years, while Asian markets also dropped and exchanges in Germany and France faced similar declines.

Trump, who has vowed to remake the global trade order, dismissed concerns about the market shock, noting that the US labour market is strong.

Worst week for US stocks since Covid crash as China hits back on tariffs

Stock market turmoil deepened on Friday, as China hit back at tariffs announced by US President Donald Trump, raising the likelihood of an extended trade war and damage to the global economy.

All three major stock indexes in the US plunged more than 5%, with the S&P 500 dropping almost 6%, capping the worst week for the US stock market since 2020.

In the UK, the FTSE 100 plunged almost 5% - its steepest fall in five years, while Asian markets also dropped and exchanges in Germany and France faced similar declines.

Trump, who has vowed to remake the global trade order, dismissed concerns about the market shock, noting that the US labour market is strong.

I am hoping for Trump to roll back the tariffs over the weekend or at least does a modified tariff rates. Like 20% flat or so. Otherwise, the market will bleed for weeks.

For long term investors in stock market, this is Ok. Its a buying opportunity for them. For traders and short term gamblers, they are screwed. Small businesses that rely on raw material from China, Canada etc will suffer. They can go bankrupt. Many businesses operate or narrow margins. They cannot handle these tariffs.

China imposes 34% tariff on imports of all U.S. products starting April 10; Trump says Beijing played it wrong​

Mr. Trump criticised China’s retaliation, saying on his Truth Social platform that “CHINA PLAYED IT WRONG, THEY PANICKED - THE ONE THING THEY CANNOT AFFORD TO DO!”​

China announced on Friday (April 4, 2025) that it will impose a 34% tariff on imports of all U.S. products beginning April 10, part of a flurry of retaliatory measures following U.S. President Donald Trump’s “Liberation Day” slate of double-digit tariffs.

The new tariff matches the rate of the U.S. “reciprocal” tariff of 34% on Chinese exports Mr. Trump ordered this week.

Mr. Trump criticised China’s retaliation on Friday (April 4, 2025), saying on his Truth Social platform that “CHINA PLAYED IT WRONG, THEY PANICKED - THE ONE THING THEY CANNOT AFFORD TO DO!”

The Commerce Ministry in Beijing also said in a notice that it will impose more export controls on rare earths, which are materials used in high-tech products such as computer chips and electric vehicle batteries.

Additionally, the Chinese government said it has added 27 firms to lists of companies subject to trade sanctions or export controls.

LOL. Trump is panicking.

Trump should understand China is unlikely to stand there and take it. As a matter of fact, Canada is also planning the same (retalitatory tariff). I also expect European countries to follow through.

Trump may get a reality check very soon (recesession > midterm election defeat).

I am hoping for Trump to roll back the tariffs over the weekend or at least does a modified tariff rates. Like 20% flat or so. Otherwise, the market will bleed for weeks.

For long term investors in stock market, this is Ok. Its a buying opportunity for them. For traders and short term gamblers, they are screwed. Small businesses that rely on raw material from China, Canada etc will suffer. They can go bankrupt. Many businesses operate or narrow margins. They cannot handle these tariffs.
but illegal immigrants! woke!

LOL. Trump is panicking.

Trump should understand China is unlikely to stand there and take it. As a matter of fact, Canada is also planning the same (retalitatory tariff). I also expect European countries to follow through.

Trump may get a reality check very soon (recesession > midterm election defeat).

What great wisdom!

Dating back to 1990, only once has the president party has won the mid term elections: 2002

Every other time, congress has gone to opposing party

Yup.

but illegal immigrants! woke!
May be you can invite illegal immigrants in your country and house them there in nice hotels.
As a. American, I will not vote for a party that lets my tax payer dollars fund illegals that jump the wall.
You seem to be woke as hell. Show a picture of illegal in your house and let us all know how generous hearted you are🤡

May be you can invite illegal immigrants in your country and house them there in nice hotels.
As a. American, I will not vote for a party that lets my tax payer dollars fund illegals that jump the wall.
You seem to be woke as hell. Show a picture of illegal in your house and let us all know how generous hearted you are🤡
Economy is crashing and burning in a matter of 2.5 months and Cadet Bonespurs running the show and you keep yapping about illegal immigrants.

Here is a bit of clue for the brainless ones.

BTW, I pinged you a few times on the other thread. feel free to visit. Stomping you is fun.

Economy is crashing and burning in a matter of 2.5 months and Cadet Bonespurs running the show and you keep yapping about illegal immigrants.

Here is a bit of clue for the brainless ones.

BTW, I pinged you a few times on the other thread. feel free to visit. Stomping you is fun.
I was one of the first persons to post criticizing the over the top and unsustainable tariffs.

Since you tried to take a shot at me for not supporting the illegal immigrants, I had to respond. ;)

Owning your behind is also lots of fun for me. Leftie liberals are too easy. Between, how many illegals have you helped or housed them in your spacious palace? You seem to be a bleeding heart and a woke looney leftie. Feel free to post some pictures with Joses and Gonzalez's of the world. Will wait patiently.:cobra

PS - Something tells me you got deprted back to Patiala a month ago in chains. So salty. :vk2

I was one of the first persons to post criticizing the over the top and unsustainable tariffs.
He is doing exactly what he said he would. why do you sund suoprised?
Since you tried to take a shot at me for not supporting the illegal immigrants, I had to respond. ;)
As was pointed out multiple times, Obama and Biden deported more and were for more effective in weadoing out torubell some elements instead putting on a right wing nutjobs
Owning your behind is also lots of fun for me. Leftie liberals are too easy.
Sure, you have owned liberals so often. /S
Between, how many illegals have you helped or housed them in your spacious palace? You seem to be a bleeding heart and a woke looney leftie. Feel free to post some pictures with Joses and Gonzalez's of the world. Will wait patiently.:cobra
Nah, I just don't like dumb hypocrites. Elon musk is illegal immigrant and he is on record saying so.
So is Melania. you picking on joes and gonsoles makes you racist d%^^head

May be you also want nice white immigrants only, regardless of their legal status, just like cadet bonespurs
PS - Something tells me you got deprted back to Patiala a month ago in chains. So salty. :vk2
Sure.

He is doing exactly what he said he would. why do you sund suoprised?
Because everyone expected him to put a 20% tariff. Not dumb unsustainable 50% tariffs.
As was pointed out multiple times, Obama and Biden deported more and were for more effective in weadoing out torubell some elements instead putting on a right wing nutjobs
Yes they deported. But not enough obviously. Millions are still entering US from both southern and Northern borders. Something has to be done. US cannot keep taking millions every year.
Sure, you have owned liberals so often. /S
Obviously. :cobra They are too easy with their weird nonsense talking points.
Nah, I just don't like dumb hypocrites. Elon musk is illegal immigrant and he is on record saying so.
So is Melania. you picking on joes and gonsoles makes you racist d%^^head
Prove that he is an illegal. Prove that Melania is illegal. If they are, there would be cases on them from all lefties and both would have been deported.

May be you also want nice white immigrants only, regardless of their legal status, just like cadet bonespurs

Sure.
Did I tell you that I want white immigrants? Whoever it may be, everyone has to wait in line and come in legally. Just because one has a sob story to narrate does not make them special and cut the line.

US needs immigrants. But the right ones whose background has been checked thoroughly before letting them in the society. Not the ones with criminal backgrounds running from their home countries and people associated with Mexican, central and south american gangs.

It is clear , you are just a full blown leftie who cannot see the obvious faults in the far left politics of democrats. I criticize Trump if I find his policies bad. Just because Trump is a lose cannon at times does not mean I will sit and bash him all day and criticize everything he does.

I am still a liberal. I should be supporting Democrats. But the Dems have swung too far left in the past decades. Can't support a far left Dem party now.

Because everyone expected him to put a 20% tariff. Not dumb unsustainable 50% tariffs.
Not everyone. only dumbkofs who voted for him
Yes they deported. But not enough obviously. Millions are still entering US from both southern and Northern borders. Something has to be done. US cannot keep taking millions every year.
Do you realize how stupid you sound?

Obama (before Trump) deported more than Trump and Biden (after Trump) deported more than Trump. Let that sink in.

If it don't hget it, let me know the stock code of your employer, with employees like you it will be good short.
Obviously. :cobra They are too easy with their weird nonsense talking points.
the fact that you have resort dance tells me you don't what wining owning anyone is.
Prove that he is an illegal. Prove that Melania is illegal. If they are, there would be cases on them from all lefties and both would have been deported.
There is video. where he admits he worked illegally in the US without work permit.

So did melania. she came to US a no work visa and was illegally employed. So did Arnold. /shwarzenbanger
Did I tell you that I want white immigrants? Whoever it may be, everyone has to wait in line and come in legally. Just because one has a sob story to narrate does not make them special and cut the line.

US needs immigrants. But the right ones whose background has been checked thoroughly before letting them in the society. Not the ones with criminal backgrounds running from their home countries and people associated with Mexican, central and south american gangs.

It is clear , you are just a full blown leftie who cannot see the obvious faults in the far left politics of democrats. I criticize Trump if I find his policies bad. Just because Trump is a lose cannon at times does not mean I will sit and bash him all day and criticize everything he does.

I am still a liberal. I should be supporting Democrats. But the Dems have swung too far left in the past decades. Can't support a far left Dem party now.
LMAO. describing obama and biden as far left tells me yo don't now you head form your ***

Not everyone. only dumbkofs who voted for him
Okay man. Better than the dumb*uks who think that there are 70 genders and you can be anything you want including a whale and a walrus if you want to be. Not to forget the brining of America during BLM riots, Dems in bed with communists and antifa that took over Portland and made self governed areas. What did the Dem politicians say about it? "The summer of love" or something like that. I guess I am not as dumb*uk as the ones that support such policies.
Do you realize how stupid you sound?
Not as stupid as the one that votes for communists and socialists. I bet you an an AOC and that clown Berne Sanders too.
Obama (before Trump) deported more than Trump and Biden (after Trump) deported more than Trump. Let that sink in.
Deport some and then import a million more with porous borders.
If it don't hget it, let me know the stock code of your employer, with employees like you it will be good short.
Yeah, like I will reveal the details of me to a random youtube stanky troll.
the fact that you have resort dance tells me you don't what wining owning anyone is.
Ohh boy!! Dance? You came out agrressively swinging to the heavens. No responses and then want a one on one show off.
There is video. where he admits he worked illegally in the US without work permit.
Put a case on him and deport. What is stopping you.
So did melania. she came to US a no work visa and was illegally employed. So did Arnold. /shwarzenbanger
Again, file a case against them and see if it has an ground to stand on.
LMAO. describing obama and biden as far left tells me yo don't now you head form your ***
Again, take the shlang of Bernie and AOC out of your mouth and take a deep breath. Lack of oxygen is crowding your thinking.

You see, I can reply the same way like you do. You think by using some cuss words you can have an upper hand over others. I have lived more years in US than you will ever do. So take a hike you poor little thing.

You think you know more about Elon and Melania than all the Woke democrats combined. They have done nothing to deport both of them. But you think you are so smart and know the truth behind it. :vk2

Okay man. Better than the dumb*uks who think that there are 70 genders and you can be anything you want including a whale and a walrus if you want to be. Not to forget the brining of America during BLM riots, Dems in bed with communists and antifa that took over Portland and made self governed areas. What did the Dem politicians say about it? "The summer of love" or something like that. I guess I am not as dumb*uk as the ones that support such policies.
You are deflecting: Trump is doing excatly what he said he was going to during the campaign. you were either too dumb to realize he is lunatic or you have buyers remorse. make your pick.

Genders: not my thing.

BLM: brought about by racist polcies of conservative ******** who killed blacks over cigarette and a fake 20 dollar bill.

while white guys with guns taking over public lands walked free.

and conservatives attack the capitol trying to overturn an election.

One is law and order problem. The other one is treason: You prefer treason

Not as stupid as the one that votes for communists and socialists. I bet you an an AOC and that clown Berne Sanders too.

Deport some and then import a million more with porous borders.
Yup. Dumb as f'n rock.
Yeah, like I will reveal the details of me to a random youtube stanky troll.
Not asking for your name bro. Just the stock code. Why are you worried, if you are good and I'm wrong, I'll lose money any way.
Ohh boy!! Dance? You came out agrressively swinging to the heavens. No responses and then want a one on one show off.
Can't make sense of that sentecne
Put a case on him and deport. What is stopping you.
aren't you the one worked about the illegals ruining the country. Guess you don't mind unelected illegal Nazi's making polciies.
Again, file a case against them and see if it has an ground to stand on.
Yup becos the insurrectionist didn't have any evidence against them either. Thats why Trump pardoned them all.butu he wil sure proscuete ullegal nazi Doge bro. sure.
Again, take the shlang of Bernie and AOC out of your mouth and take a deep breath. Lack of oxygen is crowding your thinking.
You think I'm bernie bro? LAMO.
You see, I can reply the same way like you do. You think by using some cuss words you can have an upper hand over others.
I'm having the upper hand becos you prefer treasonists, you prefer illegal Nazi's, you prefer racist cops.
I have lived more years in US than you will ever do. So take a hike you poor little thing.
Nah, you sound exactly someone who came over in Shrub's time.

Been here before email was a thing in universities
You think you know more about Elon and Melania than all the Woke democrats combined. They have done nothing to deport both of them. But you think you are so smart and know the truth behind it. :vk2
Becos Dams have had bigger problems to deal with? a guy claims to have been US so long would sure know that Conservaties F things up every time

Reagan with debt build and Bush Senior paying the bill. Of course who could forget conservative contriubitons ot he Taliban.

Remember what situion was in 2008 when Obama took over? In 2020 after the first trump f'up?

of course Trump 2.0 is of to swimming start.

Quit while you are still behind wt behind the ears muppet.

Owning your behind is also lots of fun for me. Leftie liberals are too easy. Between, how many illegals have you helped or housed them in your spacious palace? You seem to be a bleeding heart and a woke looney leftie. Feel free to post some pictures with Joses and Gonzalez's of the world. Will wait patiently.:cobra

I am pretty sure you think Dylan Malvany is a woman and Lea Thomas is a great female swimmer. After all, the ones you support agree about them.

This suits you very well. Bye bye snow flake. Get well soon.

1743888609663.jpeg

You are deflecting: Trump is doing excatly what he said he was going to during the campaign. you were either too dumb to realize he is lunatic or you have buyers remorse. make your pick.

Genders: not my thing.

BLM: brought about by racist polcies of conservative ******** who killed blacks over cigarette and a fake 20 dollar bill.

while white guys with guns taking over public lands walked free.

and conservatives attack the capitol trying to overturn an election.

One is law and order problem. The other one is treason: You prefer treason

Yup. Dumb as f'n rock.

Not asking for your name bro. Just the stock code. Why are you worried, if you are good and I'm wrong, I'll lose money any way.

Can't make sense of that sentecne

aren't you the one worked about the illegals ruining the country. Guess you don't mind unelected illegal Nazi's making polciies.

Yup becos the insurrectionist didn't have any evidence against them either. Thats why Trump pardoned them all.butu he wil sure proscuete ullegal nazi Doge bro. sure.

You think I'm bernie bro? LAMO.

I'm having the upper hand becos you prefer treasonists, you prefer illegal Nazi's, you prefer racist cops.

Nah, you sound exactly someone who came over in Shrub's time.

Been here before email was a thing in universities

Becos Dams have had bigger problems to deal with? a guy claims to have been US so long would sure know that Conservaties F things up every time

Reagan with debt build and Bush Senior paying the bill. Of course who could forget conservative contriubitons ot he Taliban.

Remember what situion was in 2008 when Obama took over? In 2020 after the first trump f'up?

of course Trump 2.0 is of to swimming start.

Quit while you are still behind wt behind the ears muppet.
Boohoo!!

Keep voting for dumfuks that think there are more than 70 genders and gender itself is a spectrum and you can identify as whatever you choose to be on that particular day.

Both dems and republicans are corrupt and I don’t blindly support one over the other. But you are one straight up hater. Get well soon. It’s not good for your little brain to have so much pent up emotion and anger.:vk2

Boohoo!!

Keep voting for dumfuks that think there are more than 70 genders and gender itself is a spectrum and you can identify as whatever you choose to be on that particular day.

Both dems and republicans are corrupt and I don’t blindly support one over the other. But you are one straight up hater. Get well soon. It’s not good for your wee little brain to have so much pent up emotion and anger.:vk2
Can't handle facts huh?

common with conservative idiots.

Newsflash: facts don't change beocs your are too scared of them

Guess the stock market is having trump derangement syndrome too.
Sure why not. Markets always have these kinds of moments and I bash Trump for over the top tariffs.
But you are a big time tool. Your hate is on a different level. Keep it down a bit and see what wonders it can do to your life.👍

Can't handle facts huh?

common with conservative idiots.

Newsflash: facts don't change beocs your are too scared of them
Sure conservatives are idiots. They believe in Bible fairytales and creationism myths.

The biggest difference is I am willing to change my opinion if I find evidence of something. I voted for Obama in his 2nd term. The last 2 elections I changed my opinion and voted republicans. Because I can always change my mind. You sure will not. It’s called Trump Derangement Syndrome. Can’t see anything but wrong when it comes to Trump and republicans.

Sure conservatives are idiots. They believe in Bible fairytales and creationism myths.
and have been supporting treason since 1865
The biggest difference is I am willing to change my opinion if I find evidence of something. I voted for Obama in his 2nd term.
why not the first term?
The last 2 elections I changed my opinion and voted republicans.
Yup, support treasonists and rapists
Because I can always change my mind. You sure will not. It’s called Trump Derangement Syndrome. Can’t see anything but wrong when it comes to Trump and republicans.
Its called being informed. try it. but again your tiny brain might break. not that is doing all that much good for you now anyway.

BTW: don't mind lincoln type republicans. too bad there aren't any left

and have been supporting treason since 1865

why not the first term?

Yup, support treasonists and rapists

Its called being informed. try it. but again your tiny brain might break. not that is doing all that much good for you now anyway.

BTW: don't mind lincoln type republicans. too bad there aren't any left
Bye bye. Good luck.

When all you have are accusations and hate, nothing to discuss.

Trump is a fraud. Just like Biden, Obama, Bush and many others before. I don’t put Trump on a pedestal and act holier than thou. All politicians are frauds. The sooner you realize this, the better.

I don’t have to explain anything to some random troll on a public message board. Bye bye…👋

I have no sympathy for Trump voters.

There is currently a stock market crash going on in United States thanks to Trump's stupid tariff policies.

Economy is going down in USA. I hope all the Trump turds are learning a big lesson. That's what you deserve for supporting this stupid man. :inti

BTW, it seems like Trump tariffed the seagulls too. LMAO! You can't make this up. See below:

============================

'Tariff the seagulls?' These are the remote islands on Trump's tariff list, and what they export​

Hit list includes some of the most remote, smallest territories in the world​

An uninhabited Antarctic outpost populated by penguins. One of the smallest economies in the world. An Arctic archipelago with more polar bears than people.

To quote Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, it really does appear that "nowhere on Earth is safe" from U.S. President Donald Trump's sweeping tariffs.

Trump rattled markets, manufacturers and more Wednesday announcing a baseline of 10 per cent tariffs on imports into the United States — and far higher on goods from some places, notably those with high trade surpluses with the States. In enforcing his steep and broad tariffs, analysts have suggested Trump has upended the global order.

But to many observers, the most puzzling aspect of Trump's list was that it included some of the most remote and smallest territories and islands in the world. Places that, in some cases, are largely inhabited by penguins.

Like Australia's Heard and McDonald Islands in the sub-Antarctic region, one of the most remote places on earth, and which, according to the Australian government website, have only been visited by humans about 242 times since 1855.

"The Heard and McDonald Islands are completely uninhabited. Population zero. I guess we're going to tariff the seagulls?" wrote Aaron Reichlin-Melnick, a senior fellow at the American Immigration Council, on X.

Source: https://www.cbc.ca/news/world/trump-tariffs-islands-1.7501898.

Bye bye. Good luck.

When all you have are accusations and hate, nothing to discuss.

Trump is a fraud. Just like Biden, Obama, Bush and many others before. I don’t put Trump on a pedestal and act holier than thou. All politicians are frauds. The sooner you realize this, the better.

I don’t have to explain anything to some random troll on a public message board. Bye bye…👋
troll? nah. factual, nasty, unforgiving. yes.

Troll. nope.

enjoy this one last gift.

Trump tariffs come into effect in ‘seismic’ shift to global trade

Donald Trump’s 10% tariff on all imports from many countries, including the UK, has come into force after 48 hours of turmoil.

US customs agents began collecting the unilateral tariff at US seaports, airports and customs warehouses on Saturday, with higher levies on goods from 57 larger trading partners due to start next week – including from the EU, which will be hit with a 20% rate.

Trump’s sweeping changes have roiled global markets, with China, hardest hit by the tariffs, announcing a slew of countermeasures, including extra levies of 34% on all US goods and export curbs on some rare earth minerals.

“The market has spoken,” the Chinese foreign ministry spokesperson Guo Jiakun said in a post on Facebook on Saturday.

Despite the turmoil, Trump has continued to champion his “liberation day” tariffs.

“China has been hit much harder than the USA, not even close,” Trump said on social media on Saturday. “THIS IS AN ECONOMIC REVOLUTION, AND WE WILL WIN. HANG TOUGH, it won’t be easy, but the end result will be historic.”

The UK prime minister, Keir Starmer, was expected to spend the weekend speaking to foreign leaders about the tariffs, after calls with the Australian prime minister, Anthony Albanese, and the Italian PM, Giorgia Meloni, on Friday in which the leaders agreed that an “all-out trade war would be extremely damaging”.

Starmer was “clear the UK’s response will be guided by the national interest” and officials would “calmly continue with our preparatory work, rather than rush to retaliate”, a No 10 spokesperson said.

Up until now, UK ministers have avoided voicing any criticism of Trump as they sought to secure a trade agreement with the US – hoping for some exemption from the tariffs. However, the UK government has drawn up a list of products that could be hit in retaliation, and was consulting with businesses on how any countermeasures could affect them.

Ralph Goodale, the high commissioner for Canada in the UK, told BBC’s Radio 4 Today programme that the US needed to “feel the pain” and Canada would stand firm.

“The action taken by the US government is completely illogical. It will damage the United States itself,” he said. “It will raise costs in the United States. It will eliminate jobs in the United States. It will reduce growth in the United States and we have to make it abundantly clear not just that that is going to happen rhetorically, but the US has to feel the pain, because ultimately it will be Americans who will persuade their government to stop this foolishness.”

Trump’s announcement of the tariffs on Wednesday shook global stock markets to their core, wiping out $5tn in stock market value for S&P 500 companies by Friday’s close, a record two-day decline. The prices of oil and commodities plunged, as investors fled to the safety of government bonds.

“This is the single biggest trade action of our lifetime,” said Kelly Ann Shaw, a trade lawyer at Hogan Lovells and former White House trade adviser during Trump’s first term.

While speaking at a Brookings Institution event on Thursday, Shaw said she expected that over time the tariffs would evolve as countries started negotiating lower rates for themselves, but she called the change “huge”.

“This is a pretty seismic and significant shift in the way that we trade with every country on Earth,” Shaw said.

Australia, the UK, Colombia, Argentina, Egypt and Saudi Arabia are among countries initially hit with the 10% tariff.

Trump’s higher “reciprocal” tariff rates of 11% to 50% are due to take effect on Wednesday. EU imports will face a 20% tariff, while Chinese goods will be hit with a 34% tariff, bringing Trump’s total new levies on China to 54%.

Canada and Mexico were exempt from Trump’s latest duties because they are still subject to a 25% tariff related to the US fentanyl crisis for goods that do not comply with the US-Mexico-Canada rules of origin.

GUARDIAN

Well, well, well, it's working!

Nissan now thinking of opening a factory in USA, as well as Apple.

India's dream of becoming a China manufacturing clone is tatters too.