Uganda (78/7) defeat Papua New Guinea (77) by 3 wickets and registered their first win in ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Cricket Warrior

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 12, 2023

Both underdogs and coming off opening defeats, PNG showed a hearteningly hard-fought effort against the hosts, while Uganda received a harsh lesson from Afghanistan. However, one of these teams will claim their historic first World Cup win tonight at Guyana's National Stadium, weather permitting.

This will be only the second T20I between the two sides, who first faced each other in the 20-over format at the 2022 Qualifier in Zimbabwe, with PNG emerging as comfortable winners. The only other short-format fixture between them was a warm-up back in 2013 at the Global T20 Qualifier, featuring former England keeper Geraint Jones behind the stumps for the Barramundis. Despite this, they've encountered each other frequently in 50-over cricket across various divisions of the old World Cricket League.

The Papuans have generally had the upper hand over Uganda in 50-over internationals, winning four of their five official matches, though the contests have often been closely contested. PNG won by one run in a thriller at the 2005 ICC Trophy in Dublin, their first ICC competition meeting, while Uganda secured a narrow one-wicket victory in their subsequent clash at the 2007 Division 3 in Darwin.

PNG repeated their one-run victory at the 2010 WCL Division 2 in Dubai, but their 9-wicket triumph at the 2014 World Cup Qualifier in New Zealand was more decisive. This victory helped set the Barramundis on course for ODI status and a two-cycle stint in the top tier of Associates competition, first in the WCL Championship and then in CWC League 2, while Uganda slipped into the lower divisions.

The two teams now appear to be converging again, with PNG's recent relegation meaning they'll be competing at the same level of 50-over competition as Uganda next cycle, though in different groups within the Challenge League. Uganda's rise through the African regional ranks has been impressive, consistently outperforming old rivals Kenya and trailing only Namibia among the region's leading Associates.

Uganda also defeated a Full Member, Zimbabwe, by 5 wickets to reach this stage, marking their first official victory against a Full Member. This is a feat Papua New Guinea has yet to achieve, though they aim to do so in this tournament. For both teams, the immediate priority is securing their first win on the world stage, and they know this is likely their best opportunity to achieve it.


Papua New Guinea Squad:
Tony Ura, Assad Vala(c), Lega Siaka, Sese Bau, Hiri Hiri, Charles Amini, Kiplin Doriga(w), Chad Soper, Alei Nao, Kabua Morea, John Kariko, Norman Vanua, Semo Kamea, Jack Gardner, Hila Vare

Uganda Squad: Ronak Patel, Simon Ssesazi(w), Roger Mukasa, Riazat Ali Shah, Dinesh Nakrani, Alpesh Ramjani, Robinson Obuya, Brian Masaba(c), Bilal Hassan, Cosmas Kyewuta, Henry Ssenyondo, Fred Achelam, Frank Nsubuga, Juma Miyagi, Kenneth Waiswa


All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.
looking forward to this game to be fair, most games have been 1 sided except canada vs usa and the oman vs Namibia both games which i quite enjoyed.
Hopefully, PNG bat first and score around 180.

Need performances from Asad Valla, Tony Ura and Charles Amini !!
i wouldn't take this game lightly, if uganda beats PNG and west indies and babar loses to USA and India brian masaba will be equal to babar azam's records as most wins as a captain.
Brian Masaba >>>>>>> Dhoni
Uganda have won the toss and have opted to field

Papua New Guinea
(Playing XI): Tony Ura, Assad Vala(c), Lega Siaka, Sese Bau, Hiri Hiri, Kiplin Doriga(w), Charles Amini, Norman Vanua, Alei Nao, Chad Soper, John Kariko

Uganda (Playing XI): Simon Ssesazi(w), Roger Mukasa, Robinson Obuya, Dinesh Nakrani, Riazat Ali Shah, Alpesh Ramjani, Kenneth Waiswa, Brian Masaba(c), Juma Miyagi, Cosmas Kyewuta, Frank Nsubuga
Last edited:
Pitch Report: It's another warm and sticky night with high humidity, and dew could be a factor," says Darren Ganga. "The square boundaries are 73 meters, and it's 83 meters straight down the ground. The pitch is quite similar to the one used in the Afghanistan-Uganda game, though it looks drier. Batting will focus on handling slow bowlers, with rotating strike and minimizing dot balls being key.
I was initially a fan of more associates being part of the WT20 tournament, but the gap is way too big.

Zimbabwe, Netherlands and Afghanistan are the only 3 teams that can challenge the top teams in a ICC event.

Let the rest of the teams play in a mini WT20, the winner gets promoted.

A round robin in the WT20 with all the big teams is the way to go, team at the bottom gets relegated to the mini Wt20.

Imagine fans paying for tickets to watch these low scoring games.
43-year-old Franco Nsubuga has bowled the most economical four-over spell in the history of the men's T20 World Cup.
Gave away just 4 runs in his 4-over spell and also took 2 wickets.

Age is just number, my friends.
Hard-fought victory for Uganda. PNG would have thought that they were in the game but Uganda kept their nerves and won it in the end. Excellent game of cricket we have seen.

Historic day for Uganda with inaugural T20 World Cup triumph

Uganda overcame a few hiccups in their run chase to pick up their first victory at a T20 World Cup.

Uganda won by three wickets

Veteran spinner Frank Nsubuga created history in Guyana on Wednesday as Uganda registered their first ever victory at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup with a three-wicket triumph over Papua New Guinea.

In his first T20 World Cup appearance at 43 years of age, Nsubuga collected figures of 2/4 to help bowl out Papua New Guinea for just 77 at the Guyana National Stadium and the African nation held their nerve to chase down that total with 10 deliveries remaining.

The four runs conceded by Nsubuga was the fewest by any bowler in the history of the Men's T20 World Cup to have bowled their full allotment of four overs, going past the seven runs South Africa quick Anrich Nortje conceded in the Proteas' match against Sri Lanka earlier in the tournament.

Fewest runs conceded in four-over spell at Men's T20 World Cup

BowlerRuns concededYear
Frank Nsubuga (Uganda)Four2024
Anrich Nortje (South Africa)Seven2024
Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)Eight2012
Mahmudullah (Bangladesh)Eight2014
Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)Eight2022

Nsubuga was one of four Uganda bowlers to collect a pair of wickets, with Alphesh Ramjani (2/17), Cosmas Kyewuta (2/17) and Juma Miyaga (2/10) also getting in on the act as Papua New Guinea ere dismissed in the final over of their innings.

Uganda were reduced to 6/3 in reply as Papua New Guinea threatened to fightback, but Riazat Ali Shah (33) held his nerve to ensure the side clinched their first win at a Men's T20 World Cup.