Umar Akmal : "In the coming months and years everyone will see a more mature Umar Akmal"

so what could he do today coming to bat at 9+ required rate?

This game was lost when Hafeez and Malik failed to put Zampa away for few boundaries to stop the RR going 7+.
he came at just over 8 an over. Yesterday two young indian players, pandya and jadav showed what could be done in siMilar situation. Also the players umar is compared to regularly have and would have won from similar situations

He will mature when score is 200-2 and we need 20 runs to win.

he came at just over 8 an over. Yesterday two young indian players, pandya and jadav showed what could be done in siMilar situation. Also the players umar is compared to regularly have and would have won from similar situations

They weren't facing Starc, Hazlewood, Cummins and Zampa. Completely different ball game.

A bowler like Zampa should be smashed. Pakistan can make anyone look like a million dollars.

A bit harsh.

I rate Zampa a good bowler in ODI.

If he plays consistently his detractors will be proven wrong.

A bit harsh.

I rate Zampa a good bowler in ODI.

If he plays consistently his detractors will be proven wrong.

He's a C-grade spinner who has gotten lucky through circumstances of scheduling and opposition.

Sick of this guy now.

Dude just can't consistently perform in international cricket.

Honestly even his talent is diminishing. He was promising a few years ago but now he's turned into a stroke-less wonder who can only get out of jail with the midwicket slog.

I don't hate or love him but I'm just tired of his constant failures.

This game was lost when Hafeez and Malik failed to put Zampa away for few boundaries to stop the RR going 7+.

so the solution was to bat at 3 an over?

Joke of a player that should be discarded for good after this tour. No ability and even less talent.

The guy who is responsible for making the usage of the word 'talent' an abomination.

forget cricket. on fitness grounds alone, he should not have selected. if a full time athlete cant manage his weight, it shows his committement to the cause. Your JOB (9 TO 5) is to play cricket. its like expecting a salesman in a suit that shows up in shorts. atrocious..

How many chances do you want to give this guy? If he really wanted do well and become a good batsmen then he would have got fit whilst he wasn't playing and played plenty of first class or some sort of cricket. Clearly he's a lazy man who wants everything given to him. Just his physical state proves that he doesn't have the work ethic in him to do well. Does he really think he's going to be successful at International cricket with no work? This talent rubbish needs to stop, it's hard work and ethic which is 99% and 1% talent. Pakistanis think it's the other way around

Look at him and look at someone like Kohli who works so hard and is a tremendous player. I can't people used to compare the two at one stage.

He's gotten fat and can barely hit the ball. He should not open he needs to be kicked out and buy himself a treadmill and never be allowed back in the team. It's a shame because I used to hope one day he would be great, but he's just great at being useless.

he cant do anything , so should be kicked out...

for your question what to do,, Imad wasim came in after UA and scored 25(17).... no matter what, u come up with lame excuses every time because UA fails every match...

Nothing really has changed regarding his batting style ..... a leopard can't change his spots !!!!!!

people who said he has become a blind slogger needed to watch his game today. paced it really well and played some delightful proper cricketing shots.

These people support the likes of fakhar because they can't see real ability. He must open especially now that Sharjeel could be out

umar akmal is the worst batsman i have seen after chris martin , umar akmal fans should be banned from watching match

Haha the superstar got a duck today. I screamed in delight when he got out. When are his fans going to realise that he isn't good enough? He is rubbish.

He was in at 4 and came at the crease in the second over so the usual excuse that he was batting too low doesn't apply.

And this guy is supposedly the "most talented" batsman in the country. What a joke that is.

Stop spreading propaganda. I think everyone is aware of the fact that not letting Umar open the innings is holding back and you will see the real talent when he gets to open the innings.

Umar akmal fans have excuses on excuses to justify his shortcomings. Maybe one day they'll ask him to be selected just because he can catch the ball or stand on his feet.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Umar Akmal now has the most ducks (24) in T20 cricket <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> <a href="https://t.co/a4xmb4FMRp">pic.twitter.com/a4xmb4FMRp</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/830818242520350720">12 February 2017</a></blockquote>

TWO ducks in THREE innings of PSL

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] [MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION]

TWO ducks in THREE innings of PSL

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] [MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION]

'Modern' batsman apparently.

All Misbah's fault.

This kid has ruined his career and he has no one to blame but himself. He is now down the pecking order, a lot older and doesn't have sympathy of Pakistani Fans and Board.

Shehzad also better wake up and STOP shennigins and try to get back to PAK team by putting his head down and putting some serious performances

'Modern' batsman apparently.

All Misbah's fault.

you missed the list they showed last night. I wish I could capture it. Umar Akmal has played 200+ games. There are very very few batsmen who have played such amount of matches. That's why Umar Akmal tops the list.

Where were all the haters after yesterday's game? :13: They only show up when Umar Akmal doesn't do well.

you missed the list they showed last night. I wish I could capture it. Umar Akmal has played 200+ games. There are very very few batsmen who have played such amount of matches. That's why Umar Akmal tops the list.

This ducks thing is an irrelevant stat, it doesn't matter, dunno why people are using it to bash umar akmal. Umar has a very impressive record in T20, that's all there is to it.

This is quite sad lengths you guys can go to make someone look like a villain. Umar Akmal has played 200+ games. Dilshan, Gayle and many big names have similar no. of ducks in less games if I'm not wrong.

U Akmal 24 ducks in 218 matches

Gayle 15 in 279
Hodge 14 in 270
McCullum 12 in 261
Warner 15 in 222
Pollard 12 in 346
Malik 6 in 259
Kohli 6 in 209
D Smith 23 in 277
Raina 10 in 245
Wright 20 in 265

This list gives the clear picture. This includes only International T20s.
Snap_2017.02.13 00.25.19_001.jpg

Gayle 15 in 279
Hodge 14 in 270
McCullum 12 in 261
Warner 15 in 222
Pollard 12 in 346
Malik 6 in 259
Kohli 6 in 209
D Smith 23 in 277
Raina 10 in 245
Wright 20 in 265

don't care about this list at all. Who knows what type of quality you face in domestic leagues. Int. cricket is the best judge in this regard.

His yesterday's performance was nothing special.

he played a match winning cameo when LQ lost quick wickets and Roy was going no where. It allowed Roy to settle and control the proceedings when UA was out. You need to watch the match before passing judgments like this. You have quite the poor understanding of the game.

This is quite sad lengths you guys can go to make someone look like a villain. Umar Akmal has played 200+ games. Dilshan, Gayle and many big names have similar no. of ducks in less games if I'm not wrong.

Umar Akmal has got to be the most hated player here for reason unknown. But we see blind support and fan following of Rizwan, Fakhar, Ammad who are yet to prove anything. incredible really.

Where were all the haters after yesterday's game? :13: They only show up when Umar Akmal doesn't do well.

Gayle 15 in 279
Hodge 14 in 270
McCullum 12 in 261
Warner 15 in 222
Pollard 12 in 346
Malik 6 in 259
Kohli 6 in 209
D Smith 23 in 277
Raina 10 in 245
Wright 20 in 265

Hahaha [MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] never bring stats to an argument when you don't know em...
Umar is not hatted for his brilliance he is as bad as Shehzad is...

don't care about this list at all. Who knows what type of quality you face in domestic leagues. Int. cricket is the best judge in this regard.

I don't particularly care about the list either, nor do I think that number of ducks proves much. But your point that there are 'many big batsmen who have similar # of ducks in lesser games' doesn't really add up.

Anyway, it really is not ideal to see him perform like this. After the ODI team (seemingly) has lost Sharjeel, we need dynamic players more than ever. I'm afraid that if Umar flops badly throughout PSL, he may not be retained by the selectors.

I don't particularly care about the list either, nor do I think that number of ducks proves much. But your point that there are 'many big batsmen who have similar # of ducks in lesser games' doesn't really add up.

Anyway, it really is not ideal to see him perform like this. After the ODI team (seemingly) has lost Sharjeel, we need dynamic players more than ever. I'm afraid that if Umar flops badly throughout PSL, he may not be retained by the selectors.

I agree but today was a very low scoring game. Every batsman struggled. Even Morgan who played a match winning knock last night. This was not the best track for batsmen. so we should also consider that while we are judging performance of a batsman.

Umar Akmal needs to be dropped, he should play one full domestic season and perform there to get back in the team, not by begging to prime minister

Gayle 15 in 279
Hodge 14 in 270
McCullum 12 in 261
Warner 15 in 222
Pollard 12 in 346
Malik 6 in 259
Kohli 6 in 209
D Smith 23 in 277
Raina 10 in 245
Wright 20 in 265

Abdullah bhai you just ended him.

more matured to make andas into omelettes... tomorrow morning for breakfast he should be able to make enough omelettes for all in his team

he played a match winning cameo when LQ lost quick wickets and Roy was going no where. It allowed Roy to settle and control the proceedings when UA was out. You need to watch the match before passing judgments like this. You have quite the poor understanding of the game.

Lol it was an ok innings. Not some great innings. One ok innings doesn't prove anything. He will probably flop for the rest of the tournament. He is so bad.

So, dynamic Akmal has 2 ducks in 3 matches and not made for LOs Sarfraz played a match winning 50 yesterday.

Brainless the boy wonder continues his March on the road to mediocrity..fakhar zaman looked better than him..I swear the next poster to say akmal is a good player will face serious trolling

Why all the hate for the guy? The proved himself at the very highest level when he was very young. He's still young though and can and inshaAllah will turn it around. He was badly out of touch at the time of his recent recall, hardly his fault. Sammy benched him in BPL because of his poor form and he got a recall after that league. Ridiculous man management, systematic destruction of a good player.

You have to ask us why the hate?

Besides the fact you just joined last month, I honestly think you're a new fan to Pakistan Cricket, you don't have to ask such questions.

A complete joke of a batsman that has failed to rekindle his early promise. He's still got time to turn it around but really when is he actually going to do it?

I think what UA meant was...you will see much fatter Umar Akmal in the coming months.

So he scores 0 in a match in which one team is 59 All Out and the opposition scores 60-7.

And he's written off for that?

His overlall t20 record is good
218 matches 204 innings 4773 runs ave-30.40 strike rate 131.99
This record is good for t20s!
He is a good t20 batsman top scorer of previous PSL!
I hope he plays well in next matches!!

You have to ask us why the hate?

Besides the fact you just joined last month, I honestly think you're a new fan to Pakistan Cricket, you don't have to ask such questions.
At least come up with a point that can be discussed, did you ignore the rest of my post? Yeah, sure you did.

There was a reason why I never posted in this thread at all. He's mentally not capable to be left on his own in a free functioning society.

These people support the likes of fakhar because they can't see real ability. He must open especially now that Sharjeel could be out

Fakhar has already played a more meaningful innings than Akmal probably ever will.

Totally given up on him, hope he never returns. Should invest in Talat at 6 rather than going back to this guy.

Some people never mature. He belongs to the Sreesanth mold, in terms of maturity.

Yaar ye tou serious hogayaaa

Umar Akmal 116, 20x4s, 1x6, 114 balls

Itna mature honay ke kyaa zorath thee...
:danish
Abb kahi Inzy serious na hojaaye :shezzy

1 hundred doesn’t make a difference. He’ll need to make 5-6 more to get selection.

But this is Pakistan so this will probably be enough for him to get back in the team in the eyes of the selectors.

I would much rather have him open with fakhar in odis and t20s than imam ul haq or azhar ali as he plays an attacking game and when he comes off he can be lethal. We trusted sharjeel and he worked until he got banned so we should at least give umar a chance if proven fit to open before the world cup. Azhar and imam seem like 90s openers. We need attacking batsmen opening considering our middle order has many accumulators.

1 hundred doesn’t make a difference. He’ll need to make 5-6 more to get selection.

But this is Pakistan so this will probably be enough for him to get back in the team in the eyes of the selectors.

he was banned for half the tournament. PTV were all out on 37 in the first innings in the same match. It was definitely a good knock. but yes consistency is needed. This only proves the point that he is still a match winner and impact player to have in the team.

Looking at Pakistan's problems of struggling to find dynamic batsmen it should not be that long before he makes a comeback provided he keeps batting with this hardwork in the domestic cricket.

I would much rather have him open with fakhar in odis and t20s than imam ul haq or azhar ali as he plays an attacking game and when he comes off he can be lethal. We trusted sharjeel and he worked until he got banned so we should at least give umar a chance if proven fit to open before the world cup. Azhar and imam seem like 90s openers. We need attacking batsmen opening considering our middle order has many accumulators.

Pakistan already got enough accumulators. I don't think Imam will live long. Azhar has been incredible consistent when it comes to scoring runs in ODIs but as the time has proven he makes Pakistan's chances only worse to win the game.

One hundred and its time to hand out the mithai.

What about all the other failures this season ? He needs to top the batting charts for at least two seasons before even being thought of for re-selection.

One hundred and its time to hand out the mithai.

What about all the other failures this season ? He needs to top the batting charts for at least two seasons before even being thought of for re-selection.

The threshold for getting back in to form has always been very low for Umar Akmal. As it was for Afridi before him. A couple of half decent innings and ‘he has turned the corner’. He needs to be forgotten for two years at least. His sense of entitlement is his biggest impediment to improvement.

Yaar ye tou serious hogayaaa

Umar Akmal 116, 20x4s, 1x6, 114 balls

Itna mature honay ke kyaa zorath thee...
:danish
Abb kahi Inzy serious na hojaaye :shezzy
I would wager it was a high risk innings where he was dropped at least twice early. Poor fielding flatters these figures. Will be found out by a half decent fielding team in international cricket

This is probably my first and only post to even give credence to the most worst ***** Pakistan cricket team has ever seen.

It is a shame, that there are way better people to be discussed than this Akmal folk who has sucked blood of Pakistan team for 7 years and continued to get selected due to connections. There were a lot of players who were discarded after one or few matches in a series. Khurram Manzoor hit a century against South Africa and failed in 2-3 matches was dropped on that basis, even he would've done better than Akmals all together.

I checked his stat he played only 6 innings and make 76 runs in whole QEA trophy and before this 100 [ someone must've dropped him early] his average was 15.2 . The team he plays for (UBL) is one of the best sides in Quaid e Azam Trophy having won 5 out of 6 matches. This team has players who need to be discussed and promoted like Saad Ali, Hammad Azam, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Khan, Sohaib MAqsood etc.. Now Akmal averages around 32, even Sohaib Maqsood has better average than him [33-34] plus a brilliant 145 partnering with Saad Ali, both single-handedly won the match for UBL. Sohaib Maqsood also has self-destructive issues but still is a way better batsman than Umar Akmal.

REquest folks to spare Pakistan cricket from these Akmals, already have lost 12+ years, lost test matches i and captains like Younis Khan to accomodate these people.

This is probably my first and only post to even give credence to the most worst ***** Pakistan cricket team has ever seen.

It is a shame, that there are way better people to be discussed than this Akmal folk who has sucked blood of Pakistan team for 7 years and continued to get selected due to connections. There were a lot of players who were discarded after one or few matches in a series. Khurram Manzoor hit a century against South Africa and failed in 2-3 matches was dropped on that basis, even he would've done better than Akmals all together.

I checked his stat he played only 6 innings and make 76 runs in whole QEA trophy and before this 100 [ someone must've dropped him early] his average was 15.2 . The team he plays for (UBL) is one of the best sides in Quaid e Azam Trophy having won 5 out of 6 matches. This team has players who need to be discussed and promoted like Saad Ali, Hammad Azam, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Khan, Sohaib MAqsood etc.. Now Akmal averages around 32, even Sohaib Maqsood has better average than him [33-34] plus a brilliant 145 partnering with Saad Ali, both single-handedly won the match for UBL. Sohaib Maqsood also has self-destructive issues but still is a way better batsman than Umar Akmal.

REquest folks to spare Pakistan cricket from these Akmals, already have lost 12+ years, lost test matches i and captains like Younis Khan to accomodate these people.

Younis, in fact likes him and wants to work with him to make him a better batsman.

The threshold for getting back in to form has always been very low for Umar Akmal. As it was for Afridi before him. A couple of half decent innings and ‘he has turned the corner’. He needs to be forgotten for two years at least. His sense of entitlement is his biggest impediment to improvement.

He has no business in Test side at this stage and not a place in ODI XI as well. But he was sidelined for fitness issues and if he regains fitness he can feature in T20 side without any proof of form.

But everything depends on his mindset. He needs to score more runs in the domestic cricket before being considered for longer versions of the game.