Umar Akmal : "In the coming months and years everyone will see a more mature Umar Akmal"

He should be in the T20 team, regardless of whether he has matured or not. An immature Umar is a better T20 batsman than most of our mature options.

You are right;he is better than experienced minnow-basher Malik.

Agree he should be in our T20 team.

If he performs in domestics then he can make a comeback, being in the Pakistan cricket team isn't his birth right. He hasn't set the domestic scene on fire that he should be recalled. Infact every Tom, Dick or Harry is out-performing this supposedly Godly talent.

He needs to have a very good PSL like the first season.He is still the best t20 player in whole country nobody comes close to him.He will feature in Odis after a good PSL! Wish him luck!

If he performs in domestics then he can make a comeback, being in the Pakistan cricket team isn't his birth right. He hasn't set the domestic scene on fire that he should be recalled. Infact every Tom, Dick or Harry is out-performing this supposedly Godly talent.

He is way better than the useless players like Asad Shaiq, Shan Masood type non-performers using their birth right to be with the team. Not sure how unfit players like Sarfaraz and Sharjeel passed the same fitness test which he failed. Only your biasness hates him and we all know why!!!

Yes... I'm so biased, that is why my favourite players in the side are Hasan and Shadab.

RIP logic

:salute

ya ya that's for face saving :) Lets get back to the topic. Umar Akmal is a class player!!!

Yeah class player who has the following record in the last 4 years.

Capture.JPG

I'm biased against this class player... sher-e-Lahore

:salute

sher e lahore? a gaye na apni biasness per. That's exactly i wanted to prove!! Bias people expose players ethnicity or city affiliations and make up numbers by their personal filters. His averages and strike rates are better than many in our current team. Even your bias filter numbers are not bad. I could generate a filter on your Sarfu and could prove him a useless player. But there should be a diff in us. He got out from the team because of his fitness and attitude not because of his cricketing ability.

lets get back to the topic, Umar Akmal is a class player and he will show you again this PSL :)

sher e lahore? a gaye na apni biasness per. That's exactly i wanted to prove!! Bias people expose players ethnicity or city affiliations and make up numbers by their personal filters. His averages and strike rates are better than many in our current team. Even your bias filter numbers are not bad. I could generate a filter on your Sarfu and could prove him a useless player. But there should be a diff in us. He got out from the team because of his fitness and attitude not because of his cricketing ability.

lets get back to the topic, Umar Akmal is a class player and he will show you again this PSL :)

Ok... make same filter on Sarfaraz for the last four years. Infact I'll do it myself.

Capture.JPG

twice as many matches, but substantially better record in the last four years

:shh :shh :shh

Umar is doing reasonably OK in domestic and will prove his form in PSL inshaAllah. I met with inzi few weeks back in Milton and he said Micky doesn't like his fitness and that's the only issue. With his current fitness he should be selected in our T20s but then Micky in in between!

What was he doing in Milton? :danish

Inzi and Yousaf came to Canada for 2 weeks in late december to mid January for some religious conference. for one day we Miltonians invited them in EC Drury Hall for 2 hours chit chat session.

This tailunt is a lost cause. He has zero work ethic, zero determination, zero mental fortitude, zero attitude, zero professionalism, zero fitness & training.

If this clown was passionate about cricket, he'd come in nets daily and practice hundreds of balls, he'd have a strict diet plan and train hard to attain fitness, he would be living and breathing cricket, he would be burning to shatter records and add his name among the greats of the game. Sadly this is applicable to most of out team now.

Guys like Kohli and C. Ronaldo were average joes who only became champions through sheer hard work and determination, and this clown is still here for an one-off performance way back in 2009 through tailunt.

I think to build champion teams, the Pakistani notion of 'talent' needs to be destroyed. We need to understand that talent doesn't lies in flashy cover drives or classy looking sweeps, but in work ethic and determination. We need to teach our kids that even a great like Michael Jordan wasn't selected for his high school basketball team for he was considered not good enough, but through sheer effort look where he ended in history.

If Umar Akmal doesn't change his ways and get serious, boot him off forever.

Umar Akmal should never play for Pakistan until he proves to the selectors that he has something in that upper compartment of his. His technique has deteriorated to the point that the slog across the line was his go to shot in the last few matches he played. Also most Pakistani fans will never forgive him for the cowardice he showed in that T20 do-or-die game against New Zealand in T20WC.

Your argument that there are players as bad as Akmal in the team is absurd. Do you want to see Pakistan win games by selecting better players or go back to rubbish like Akmal in the hope that he somehow becomes a better player?

Which means, he didn't watch PAK-NZ ODI Series at all, neither the domestic tournaments and T20 squad was selected over internet?

Did you ask him anything else?

Umar Akmal should never play for Pakistan until he proves to the selectors that he has something in that upper compartment of his. His technique has deteriorated to the point that the slog across the line was his go to shot in the last few matches he played. Also most Pakistani fans will never forgive him for the cowardice he showed in that T20 do-or-die game against New Zealand in T20WC.

Your argument that there are players as bad as Akmal in the team is absurd. Do you want to see Pakistan win games by selecting better players or go back to rubbish like Akmal in the hope that he somehow becomes a better player?

Rubbish statements do not affect on Umar Akmal performances. He is a class player!

You need to have a special kind of foam in your skull to be an Umar Akmal supporter...or any Akmal supporter actually. Someone who couldn't find their feet in 8 years will somehow magically turn in to a beast because talent....Pakistani fans are just out of touch with reality.

Rubbish statements do not affect on Umar Akmal performances. He is a class player!

You're right. Do you remember his 250 against Australia at Adelaide? brilliant innings..can somebody post up the video for that?

Show us again? When did he show us his class previously? In the previous edition of PSL?

He is the top scorer of the PSL1 and 3rd over all and short by few runs only. Also he is the second highest T20 runs scorer Pakistani even though he has been in and out every time for several years now. He is a great T20 batsman. Please do statsguru on him.

A great T20 batsman who averages 26.82 in 77 innings with 8 half centuries? You're serious?

[MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] would you give him an IPL contract

There are far more dynamic Pakistani players than him. The man has done nothing but waste every bit of his talent his entire career. It has now come to the point where you don't even feel any sympathy for him.

He isn't going to mature anytime soon. Biggest waste of time and resources by the PCB of the past 10 years.

Rubbish player, no fitness & crucially NO BRAIN.. rather have Azhar Ali in loi teams & tbh having watched Azhar since 2010 sheer HARDWIRK & COMMITMENT would bring him success too

All he had to do today was stroke the ball around for singles and that would have een enough.

The foundations had been laid by BMac, but no, good old Umar Akmal had to go out there and try to smash it out of the park.

Rubbish player, no fitness & crucially NO BRAIN.. rather have Azhar Ali in loi teams & tbh having watched Azhar since 2010 sheer HARDWIRK & COMMITMENT would bring him success too

I have to agree with you. Umar Akmal is TRULY BRAINLESS. The most brainless cricketer I have ever seen in my life. How stupid do you have to be to keep failing and yet not learn anything. This guy has been getting out walking down against the spinners so many times that you would think he had improved in these last few years but to learn from your mistakes and improve requires hardwork and more importantly brain which he does not have. He has really become a trash player. Feel sad for supporting him all these years.

I really wished he would have improved himself and worked hard on his batting for this important tournament, at least for his fans, but there is no hope with him. Time to officially give up. I no longer support this trash. Yesterday watching him get out was really sad.

The last pic just sums up how many brain cells this guy has. The sad thing is the pitch wasn't even generating that much spin and he was also walking down the wicket against Imad of all spinners. It's sad to see supporting Lahore with clowns like him. LL should have picked more reliable batsmen than this hack. Feel sad for Rana but what can you expect when people like Aqib are in charge.

MRSN was probably one of the supporters who stood by akmal in good and bad times.

But when even he calls you stupid, it means akmal did reach a new level.

God this guy is awful man. Has the talent and tools to be a good batsman, unfortunately he is an Akmal and rather than continue with this doffus, maybe it would be better to bring in Aamir Yamin in for the next game. God his fitness doesn't look like its improved at all, he must be drinking too much water. Maybe he should like Coca Cola. God PCB invested alot time and resources in him, its time for them to take there losses and back off.

MRSN was probably one of the supporters who stood by akmal in good and bad times.

But when even he calls you stupid, it means akmal did reach a new level.

it's been 3 years when he was shown the door from the national team after the world cup. Any good player would take this time to improve himself and get back into the team. The sad thing is we don't even have competition in batting as our batting standards are even worse than Bangladesh. All these years I was hoping against the hope that he would learn and improve his batting and make a comeback.

With Umar Akmal it's not about lack of skills but lack of brain cells. The first game he played a good cameo and brought LQ back into the match and when the RR was under control he played needless slog to get out and put his team back into trouble again. Last night when he was not trying to slog but the way he was countering the spin was pathetic. He came down the pitch three times out of three deliveries he faced from Imad and Afridi. Even Ramdin was staying inside his crease and working the spinners for odd singles and twos as this was the only requirement but UA's looked like he was facing Shane Warne on a 5th day test pitch. He really gives no hope to his fans if there are any left.

I doubt even [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] and [MENTION=107807]Pete Rose[/MENTION] would have any hope for future now. He is just done. Sad thing is Pakistan is really short of good batsmen otherwise UA would have been a history long time ago.

Close the door on Umar Akmal. Will never learn. Will never be good enough for international cricket. His brother is 10x the batsman he will ever be.

I have to agree with you. Umar Akmal is TRULY BRAINLESS. The most brainless cricketer I have ever seen in my life. How stupid do you have to be to keep failing and yet not learn anything. This guy has been getting out walking down against the spinners so many times that you would think he had improved in these last few years but to learn from your mistakes and improve requires hardwork and more importantly brain which he does not have. He has really become a trash player. Feel sad for supporting him all these years.

I really wished he would have improved himself and worked hard on his batting for this important tournament, at least for his fans, but there is no hope with him. Time to officially give up. I no longer support this trash. Yesterday watching him get out was really sad.

If you’ve stopped supporting him than all hope really is lost for umar akmal.

I was like you a few years ago but some time after the 2015 World Cup I gave up on him when he kept on getting in trouble.

I've had the pleasure of chatting with Umar away from the cricket ground a few times.

His heart is in the right place, he is not a bad lad and he wants to do his best, but it seems like what is being said to him goes into one ear and straight out of the other. I can imagine his coaches and captains have had the same experience as I did.

it's been 3 years when he was shown the door from the national team after the world cup. Any good player would take this time to improve himself and get back into the team. The sad thing is we don't even have competition in batting as our batting standards are even worse than Bangladesh. All these years I was hoping against the hope that he would learn and improve his batting and make a comeback.

With Umar Akmal it's not about lack of skills but lack of brain cells. The first game he played a good cameo and brought LQ back into the match and when the RR was under control he played needless slog to get out and put his team back into trouble again. Last night when he was not trying to slog but the way he was countering the spin was pathetic. He came down the pitch three times out of three deliveries he faced from Imad and Afridi. Even Ramdin was staying inside his crease and working the spinners for odd singles and twos as this was the only requirement but UA's looked like he was facing Shane Warne on a 5th day test pitch. He really gives no hope to his fans if there are any left.

I doubt even [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] and [MENTION=107807]Pete Rose[/MENTION] would have any hope for future now. He is just done. Sad thing is Pakistan is really short of good batsmen otherwise UA would have been a history long time ago.

Sadly true. If a batsman's bat & head both gets rotten, it's difficult to make a come back. Besides, he is not U23 anymore and despite all sorts of efforts/threats - he is still at least 10-12 KG over weight.

Honestly, I don't see a comeback for him soon and time is running away fast. He got stumped to Afridi to a ball which most top BD or Lankan players would have crashed either side of point 9 times out of 10, let alone Indians - this guy first misread the flight/length, then missed the spin and finally played a horrible shot, when asking was just about 6.5 and any decent batsman would have blocked that ball to survive.

Guy had a chance of back door entry as back-up WK, but watching his keeping even for a 20 overs' game, don't think either that avenue is wide enough now. May be, one last attempt can be to try as opener, but LQ is the last team for that - he is 4th in the packing after Mac, Narine & Fakhar.

Anyway, you never know - if Arthur quits after 2019, it's only a matter of which names Ul Haq can recall when it matters ...... don't think big guy watches much, or consults much - and Ul Haq never studied how the game is moving even in past, don't expect him to change now.

What I see in one of those pics up there... absolutely its a different UA. 10x more stupid to say the least.

Umar is an absolute talented person, existence of posts when they started first comparing him with Sachin and then Kohl is a testament that he is very talented cricketer. But something happened, which people forgot easily:

1) Rash Shots : If Afridi is allowed to play rash shots, even in WC final 2007 vs India, then why he is not allowed to play. People just finding a way to sack him for no reasons.
2) Brotherhood : Why people do think that I supported Kami bhai after Sydney test, and during WC 2011, is not good. He is my bro, and I have every rights to support him.
3) Fitness : I have had good fitness, and my own way to maintain it. But ever since Mickey Arthur came he wanted him to run and exercise, which is unfair.Even Shoaib Akhtar said, he don't believe in MA, and he has achieved nothing

UA should be our long term plan. Give him 3 series, not few matches.

Umar is an absolute talented person, existence of posts when they started first comparing him with Sachin and then Kohl is a testament that he is very talented cricketer. But something happened, which people forgot easily:

1) Rash Shots : If Afridi is allowed to play rash shots, even in WC final 2007 vs India, then why he is not allowed to play. People just finding a way to sack him for no reasons.
2) Brotherhood : Why people do think that I supported Kami bhai after Sydney test, and during WC 2011, is not good. He is my bro, and I have every rights to support him.
3) Fitness : I have had good fitness, and my own way to maintain it. But ever since Mickey Arthur came he wanted him to run and exercise, which is unfair.Even Shoaib Akhtar said, he don't believe in MA, and he has achieved nothing

Just a facepalm for this post....I sure hope you are being sarcastic.

Welcome to PP Umar Akmal. I'm not sure you'll enjoy your stay here.

Akmal Brothers are very talented, they should be allowed to play ... And I hope UA can become par captain one day iA

Lol, I read every single post by this aboslute legend !! :14: :14:

HAIL THY [MENTION=1906]hailian[/MENTION] !!! :bow: :bow: :bow:

Why is Umar Akmal struggling to play even gun barrel straight deliveries?

Something is clearly not right with his batting approach or mindset. There was a time when all commentators around the world would sing praises about him being the best and most dynamic limited overs batsman in Misbah ul Haq's team.

To see him get lbw so easily. To see him miss gun barrel straight deliveries. I don't think there has ever been a bigger fall from grace than this guy. The level of regression this guy has exhibited as a cricketer is unparalleled. People keep raving and talking about talent but i just don't see it. The guy cannot even reliably hit rank half volleys and requires an element of luck to get his shots in of even bad deliveries.

He is a complete far cry from the 2009 batsman who batted sensibly on a tough Johannasburg wicket against the WI and against Bond in NZ, against Malinga in Sri Lanka.

Please stop. This is the 879999th thread on PP about this guy. He's failed and will continue to do so.

The biggest waste of PCB's time and resources. The return-on-investment has been zero with this guy.

Something is clearly not right with his batting approach or mindset. There was a time when all commentators around the world would sing praises about him being the best and most dynamic limited overs batsman in Misbah ul Haq's team.

To see him get lbw so easily. To see him miss gun barrel straight deliveries. I don't think there has ever been a bigger fall from grace than this guy. The level of regression this guy has exhibited as a cricketer is unparalleled. People keep raving and talking about talent but i just don't see it. The guy cannot even reliably hit rank half volleys and requires an element of luck to get his shots in of even bad deliveries.

He is a complete far cry from the 2009 batsman who batted sensibly on a tough Johannasburg wicket against the WI and against Bond in NZ, against Malinga in Sri Lanka.

Inability to learn and to accept his mistakes, supported by tainted media people who feed him bakwas about the world against him etc....

he is CHOOZE and useless in pressure situation. He isnt mentally strong enough to survive

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Well come to umer akmal and Saleem Jaffar as head coach in HBL cricket team <a href="https://t.co/vPCTwYn685">pic.twitter.com/vPCTwYn685</a></p>— Imran Farhat (@imranfarhat1982) <a href="https://twitter.com/imranfarhat1982/status/1034501134096969732?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 28, 2018</a></blockquote>

Poor guy, he never got enough chances to establish himself. Someone plz give him long run such as 150-200 ODIs and then if he does not do well, he will declare retirement. How come authority got away with these mistakes. Lost absolute legend 🙁🙁🙁

Another team, another disaster waiting to happen.

He never learns. It's so frustrating.

He should be in the T20 team, regardless of whether he has matured or not. An immature Umar is a better T20 batsman than most of our mature options.

With ease. None of the current PK t20 batsman could lace up the boots of umar Akmal from 2008-2014 including ODI. Pakistan destroyer him.

How? He was still the same Akmal then, he averaged 35 with a SR of 86 in those years.

While batting at stupid batting positions being chopped and changed. Our barring line up is hyped. Only guy that can score is zaman. Imam imad shadab sarfraz malik are all duds. Azam will be found out and will only score cheap runs against minnows and windies.

Akmal looked out of depth against Australia in 2017. Teams have worked him out and he has been brutally exposed. Does not have the attitude to work on his game and come back a better player. In my opinion, his career is over and may he never play for Pakistan ever again.

But Umar Akmal can't score against anyone.

Congrats.

Akmal looked out of depth against Australia in 2017. Teams have worked him out and he has been brutally exposed. Does not have the attitude to work on his game and come back a better player. In my opinion, his career is over and may he never play for Pakistan ever again.

So took 8 years to be found out? That’s not being found out that’s a blip in form. You’re saying exposed like he can’t play pace better then any Pakistani batsman currently. He’s lost a ton of weight but it don’t matter people like you would never give credit where it is due.

As I’ve said he was good from 2009 to 2014. However last three years his personal life, out of cricket antics, problems with PCB and admins has put a brake on his career.

Hopefully he works hard and comes back and does well batting at 5.

He should retire from tests. Waqar and Misbah destroyed his test career