Umar Akmal - The most talented Pakistani batsman of the last decade?

Hawkeye

Everybody talks about his talent.

Which is based on something concrete - his timing, range of strokes, his skills to play ALL sorts of orthodox AND unorthodox shots.

When he's on song, he's unstoppable - no bowler can escape his wrath, he'll hit you all over the park with his improvisation and strokes. ABDV-esque improvisation! :mj

Been a little inconsistent over the last year, but everyone goes through a lean patch. Now averages 35 at 86 strike rate in ODIs, 26 at 123 strike rate.

I still believe in him, and think he'll make a strong come back in the LOI side.

I haven't seen a more talented Pak batsman since he made his debut. Such a shame that he is notorious for his lack of temperament.

I think he'll improve. The amount of stick he gets though, is totally unfair. Just compare his stats with someone like Shehzad, who is praised by so many here.

Even after a lean patch of 1-2 years, Umar still averages more at a much better strike rate. He's young, not all young guys improve, but Umar will in the temperament department.

One knock and the threads are back. Let him play consistently for a few matches atleast.

It's nice to see him play well today but he has to do this on a consistent basis.

I was waiting for these threads... we knew his talent after he had played 5 matches. The problem is, that we are still talking about his talent.

Talent is not everything... He plays those one off innings and this was one of them...He is not consistent , good for t20s only leave him there.

People talk a lot about his inconsistency. I konw he's not super-consistent.

But.

Compare him with others. His average+strike rate is better than both Shehzad and Hafeez, this after a big slump in his average over the last 2 years.

I think he'll regain that consistency. It's just sad that others don't get the same amount of stick that Umar gets for inconsistency.

Most talented >>>>>>>>>>>>> YES

most brainless >>>>>>>>>>>>> YES

Is a decent talent with a high cricketing intelligence better than great talent wIth zero cricketing intelligence ? >>>>>>>>>>> YES

People talk a lot about his inconsistency. I konw he's not super-consistent.

But.

Compare him with others. His average+strike rate is better than both Shehzad and Hafeez, this after a big slump in his average over the last 2 years.

I think he'll regain that consistency. It's just sad that others don't get the same amount of stick that Umar gets for inconsistency.

Hafeez has the most hundreds for pak and most moms in the last few years so cant complain about him ....

Most talented >>>>>>>>>>>>> YES

most brainless >>>>>>>>>>>>> YES

Is a decent talent with a high cricketing intelligence better than great talent wIth zero cricketing intelligence ? >>>>>>>>>>> YES

I think you too have jumped on the 'bash Umar' train. You're sensible, so analyze a few things:

After a poor run of 2 years, his average dropped from 40 to 34, he has a strike rate of around 86-87.

This is STILL better than what Shehzad and Hafeez average, and... at MUCH MUCH better strike rate. How he has ZERO intelligence? He has been inconsistent in the last 2 years, but others have been way worse than him.

They have nothing in common. Why would you compare them? Also, He's an All-Rounder. Not fair to compare.
Forget bowling. As a batsman alone Malik is better. Umar might have more talent but he lacks temperament. Malik will win you more games and Umar will look brilliant time and again but will never be consistent. Temperarement unfortunately cannot be taught or fixed by net practice. Its a mental thing.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Forget bowling. As a batsman alone Malik is better. Umar might have more talent but he lacks temperament. Malik will win you more games and Umar will look brilliant time and again but will never be consistent. Temperarement unfortunately cannot be taught or fixed by net practice. Its a mental thing.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Malik has an average of 8.20 in England and an average of 24 in Australia.

Umar has an average of 25 in England and an average of 32 in Australia.

So much better Malik is obviously. Such an ATG.

I think you too have jumped on the 'bash Umar' train. You're sensible, so analyze a few things:

After a poor run of 2 years, his average dropped from 40 to 34, he has a strike rate of around 86-87.

This is STILL better than what Shehzad and Hafeez average, and... at MUCH MUCH better strike rate. How he has ZERO intelligence? He has been inconsistent in the last 2 years, but others have been way worse than him.

Here is my simple logic. He averaged 40 2 years ago. He averaged what? 24 in last 2 years so his average dropped to 34??? If he had averaged 34 in last 2 years it would have been fine but he is averaging in mid 20s. So Do you agree he has been dropped on merit? He failed in CPL too this year. Did play brilliantly today. But this shouldnt mask the fact that he has played ridiculous shots at critical times in many many matches that shows his game awareness is low.

IF you or anybody else is suggesting he should be in the ODI team then i must say the ODI team is pretty much settled and in my opinion it wont be wise to disturb it. Who can umar akmal come in for? Even haris sohail who was probably the most consistent batmsan in the team would find it hard to steo into the XI now.

You don't look happy.

I'm excited, loved the way he played those strokes, great timing and improvisation. Been months since some PAK batsman played such shots.

I'm a big fan of his, but I'm not going to excited over one innings in T20.

He was a promising talent, but he was mistreated by the PCB countless of times, but he himself hasn't helped his cause.

Which is a shame, the guy was nearly the complete batsman lacking experience, only to be transformed into a slogger with not much of a brain.

T20 specialist. Nobody has ever denied his range of shots, its his temperament, he needs to show he can bat for longer than 30 balls without losing his head.

He has the talent but not the application. Hopefully he's turned a corner as it was a good knock today.

I don't know if he is the most talented. I don't know how to measure talent.

Probably yes. He needs to be consistent. Talent ka achar daalna hai kya?

ASK Muhammad Yousaf about this talent , Its sad to see so much hype on umar akmal and no Post for other talented player.

What is talent? The ability to play a couple of pleasing to the eye shots?

Rather have someone who scores big runs please

He has the skills, the shots and the ability. Plus he is an excellent fielder. A true match winner on his day and only one of the few players that has the x factor.

Problem is neither has he learned nor has the management been able to teach him. We still have time to groom him. he is an attention seeker, lets teach him that way.

In my opinion he should be given an extended test run to improve his temperance. He should also be promoted up the order to give him additional responsibility. If he does not come good after that, discard him.

It was his 1st match after come back, let's see what he is gonna do in next game. And btw, Performance > Talent

Umar Akmal is an enigma that doesn't have the mental capacity to occupy the crease but he will always be a decent T20 player; I hope he can win pak a T20 World Cup.

Of course he is the most talented batsman born not only in Pakistan but a gem given to this world by Allah, Following are just some of his those outstanding innings where he set the world on fire with his oozing talent :

1) That 132* against India in a pool match of 2015 WC to single handedly winning us the crunch game.
2) 89* against Australia in a quarter final in same tournament where he walked in when the scorecard was showing 97/3 in in 23 overs and was just 11 short of his century but credit to him for playing an anchor role, later to be declared Man of the Match.
3) Who can forget that great innings of 115 runs against India at Mohali in 2011.

Take a bow Sir Akmal, Bradman would be so happy for you. I am sure Sachin is going through many sleepless nights due to fear of losing all his credentials to you.

A finished article especially in ODIs! Have to play consistently in a bradmnesque way for changing my opinion about him. Has talent but cant translate it! Lost in translation! But Yes credit where its due. Played a handy knock today.

He is very talented and its a shame that he was not able to make more of an impact so far. 35 avg at 85+ SR is pretty decent in all honesty. The frustration is that he doesnt use his brain and could have been so much more.

Always believed in him and still do. He screwed himself over big time by dropping the gloves as it gave Sarfraz a free chance to audition and he has hung onto his ODI spot for the moment.

Though I still think he needs to spend time in the domestic circuit, or if he can somehow get another county deal, that would do his career wonders.

When he's ready he should get a proper chance in the top 4 for ODIs (read: PROPER chance, as in not 1 game and then throw him out again, I'm talking a full series or two). The dude has only played a game or two in the top 4 and then dismissed as a slogger, think he should get a longer rope than that.

He is best Pakistani batsman in ODI cricket.

And was best during 2011-2014 period.

He played most impact innings, and will end up with ODI average of 40+ SR of 85+. Which is WORLD CLASS for a number 5-6.

Tired of saying this now, but I would love to see him open in LOIs, with the license to go after the bowling.

He could reinvent himself at this position and make serious impact, but it is a very bold move and I don't see the management taking this route and the worst bit is that I find Umar's attitude questionable as well, don't think he will entertain this idea but it could work wonders.

Don't fancy him at number 3/4/5, because these are the positions that require greater cricketing IQ and an understanding of the art of construction an innings, which Umar lacks.

He's not versatile in terms of adapting himself to the match situation, and I don't see him coming good when the team is 10/1 in 3 overs or 20/2 in 6 overs etc., but he is at his best when he has the license to go after the bowling without worrying about his wicket, which can work in his hands if he opens alongside Azhar in ODIs.

A 40 at a strike rate of 120 or a 50 at 110 can really give us the lift early in our innings and such knocks can give him the confidence to go for a big score, get a 100 or a 120.

That's all hypothetical though, because like I mentioned above, neither party will entertain this prospect, and in that case, I would prefer him to forget ODIs for now and focus on F/C cricket and learn to bat for more than 50 deliveries.

He still has a lot of pedigree as a dynamic batsman and has the experience of 150+ international matches at such a young age, even if he does not improve, he will still end up playing 300 ODIs.

Test career looks done and dusted at the moment though, unless he remodels his batting from scratch.

It's either a brave call (opening) or the conventional way (F/C cricket) for Umar to evolve back into a batsman and not remain a glorified slogger.

I have always supported Umar and this one innings wouldn't have made a difference ... People that say he lacks intelligence .. I think they're naive to not see it was not him lacking intelligence it was his handlers lacking intelligence ... you don't make a horse run in a dog race ... you don't bat your star like a slogger and expect anything better than what he delivered ... you have to bat him higher up ... I assure you if kohli was giving the batting slot Umar was giving and the brief Umar was given .. he would be as confused and as lost if not more as Umar is .. You have an attacking star batsman .. you send him at a sloggers slot and then you tell him to play defensively !!! Seriously I would be kicking those people out ... it wasn't Umar who lacked intelligence ... it was Misbah who wasn't good at managing batting talent ... Before Misbah fanbase trash me .. I truly appreciate misbah and what he has given to Pakistan in the toughest of times ... but he had clear deficiencies .

If this is the reaction when he didn't even get 50, what will happen if he gets a ton?

Umar Akmal, the most talented batsman ever?

Tired of saying this now, but I would love to see him open in LOIs, with the license to go after the bowling.

He could reinvent himself at this position and make serious impact, but it is a very bold move and I don't see the management taking this route and the worst bit is that I find Umar's attitude questionable as well, don't think he will entertain this idea but it could work wonders.

Don't fancy him at number 3/4/5, because these are the positions that require greater cricketing IQ and an understanding of the art of construction an innings, which Umar lacks.

He's not versatile in terms of adapting himself to the match situation, and I don't see him coming good when the team is 10/1 in 3 overs or 20/2 in 6 overs etc., but he is at his best when he has the license to go after the bowling without worrying about his wicket, which can work in his hands if he opens alongside Azhar in ODIs.

A 40 at a strike rate of 120 or a 50 at 110 can really give us the lift early in our innings and such knocks can give him the confidence to go for a big score, get a 100 or a 120.

That's all hypothetical though, because like I mentioned above, neither party will entertain this prospect, and in that case, I would prefer him to forget ODIs for now and focus on F/C cricket and learn to bat for more than 50 deliveries.

He still has a lot of pedigree as a dynamic batsman and has the experience of 150+ international matches at such a young age, even if he does not improve, he will still end up playing 300 ODIs.

Test career looks done and dusted at the moment though, unless he remodels his batting from scratch.

It's either a brave call (opening) or the conventional way (F/C cricket) for Umar to evolve back into a batsman and not remain a glorified slogger.

Good call but will never happen.

Too many contenders for opening spot. & Shehzad and Azhar have confirmed spot for quite a long time. Then next in line would be Sami Aslam, Mukhtar, Nauman, Sharjeel, Shan.

They are also looking at Shaan for ODI.

I think he'll improve. The amount of stick he gets though, is totally unfair. Just compare his stats with someone like Shehzad, who is praised by so many here.

Even after a lean patch of 1-2 years, Umar still averages more at a much better strike rate. He's young, not all young guys improve, but Umar will in the temperament department.

Yaar hawkeye - Shehzad played a good knock today...

Anyway both are young and probably have not reached their full potential yet. However, the worrying sign for Umer Akmal is that he has been regressing for quite a few years now. He was at his best back in 2009-10 but his average and big knocks have been decreasing ever since.

He needs to learn to be patient and value his wicket. With patience - runs will come and he needs to avoid playing the aerial shots earlier on in his innings. He has enough strokes and improvisation to make up for an initial low strike rate very quickly..

Completely agree with you on this part that he doesn't have attitude to accept this otherwise it will be a good move which can take his career to new heights if it worked for him

umer akmal = ishant sharma .... one or 2 excellent innings then.....

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

people keep talking about his temperament but what temperament can a batsmen display batting at 6/7. Like i said move him up the order then we can judge him, right now his averages are pretty good for a batsmen coming in at 6/7.

chris martin batting = umar akmal batting

Why so much hate ? He hasn't delivered as per his talent due to not being mentally strong & astute aswell as lacking the right spirit, attitude towards the game . But after inzimam & yousuf he was the most talented middle order batsman we got. His record isn't great or earth shattering in any format but it's not worst or average either for you to compare him with Chris martin.

I and many others have rightly criticised him for the right reasons since we have always had high expectations from him since his debut. But majority at PP hurl constructive criticism at him.

I know in 6 years time he should have played 25 30 quality innings where he has played just 4,5 quality innings but he played classy shots with technique & method against Johnson, Tait, muralithran, Shane bond, southeee, Chris Martin & malignant and and in the peak years of their career . This definitely shows his talent & ability.

people keep talking about his temperament but what temperament can a batsmen display batting at 6/7. Like i said move him up the order then we can judge him, right now his averages are pretty good for a batsmen coming in at 6/7.

Hussey used to bat from 5-7 so does dhoni he can and should do a lot better than he has done

Capture.JPG

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    89.8 KB · Views: 603
*Checks Umar Akmal's cricinfo page*

Nah, talented batsmen tend to average more than 35.

What a joke. You were just saying how he shouldn't be near the team in a thread a few days ago.

Read my post again - this is not going to happen, it is just a fantasy, but if it does it can work.

Kindly go through the archives and look at the no of times I've advocated for him to be trialled as an opener, I even have a thread on it, but I will not delude myself based on one or two good innings that he will amount to anything in the middle-order (3,4,5) in ODIs.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?160083-Umar-Akmal-as-an-opener

Post #57, and you can find other such posts as well...

His position/role in T20s is not a problem, he has been consistently our best bat in this format and still is, but he has regressed beyond measure as an ODI batsman and has the attention span of 20-25 deliveries.

What do people expect him to do when batting at 3 or 4 in ODIs? These positions require the batsmen to understand how to construct a proper innings, something he is not capable of anymore.

He is good when he has the license to go after the bowling, and it can work if he is asked to go after the bowling as an opener, but its a brave call and we won't make it, perhaps he won't be comfortable either, which is part of the tragedy.

The way he gave up keeping to allow Sarfraz into the ODI team summed him up, he really lacks the ability to think through things.

Yes as a middle-order batsman, he really should not be in the ODI team unless he remodels his batting. Malik, Rizwan, Haris and Sarfraz are superior options.

He is Pakistan's Rohit Sharma.

Talented but no temprament. TBH, if talent doesn't really translate into runs, it aint really talent.

He is Pakistan's Rohit Sharma.

Talented but no temprament. TBH, if talent doesn't really translate into runs, it aint really talent.

Rohit has two double centuries in ODI's. If Umar had these, he would have been lauded as Pakistan's Sachin Tendulkar.

There is a gulf of difference between Rohit and Umar.

Total mismanagment of Akmal has almost ruined his career.

He was doing quite well in Tests, but was oddly droppped despite averaging 36 and that too after playing only 1 inning in Asia and the rest being in Aus, Eng, NZ and WI which have tough conditions.

Was averaging 48 in FC with a score of 248 as his HS and that was primarily because he batted at the no. 3 or 4 position for his domestic side, then only given 6 opportunties through out his ODI career at the no. 3 and 4 position, plus they tried to make him a finisher and that didn't work out well because he was never a finisher and probably never will be.

Forcing him to play as a finisher and trying to mould him into one was the biggest blunder by the managment and if he is to make a return to the ODI side, then it should be at no. 3 or 4 or else it would be a waste of time.

He should be kept miles away from odis and test teams. Pakistan is finally trying to adjust players with ability as well well as brains , it will take some time for us to develop into a world class ODI team but we surely will. Umar akmal does not adjust anywhere in our new plans.

At-least you actually think about where he shouldn't be now, instead of saying he shouldn't even be in the T20 team.

Nice comment. Must suck to see Umar do well after your recent bashing of him.

Funny how Misbah's biggest supporters are usually the biggest critics of Akmal.

Why are you so obsessed with Misbah and bring him everywhere? He served PAK with dignity and was the best man to lead our team in dark times. Get over your hatred.

And stop spewing sensless stuff, this thread was created by a Misbah fan. Plus Pete is NO Misbah fan, can't be more wrong with your logics.

Why are you so obsessed with Misbah and bring him everywhere? He served PAK with dignity and was the best man to lead our team in dark times. Get over your hatred.

And stop spewing sensless stuff, this thread was created by a Misbah fan. Plus Pete is NO Misbah fan, can't be more wrong with your logics.

I think Pete can speak for himself.

As for what I post and bring up, that's my choice.

Don't know why people are bringing up Shehzad. Umer Akmal is on a higher level than him

Rohit has two double centuries in ODI's. If Umar had these, he would have been lauded as Pakistan's Sachin Tendulkar.

There is a gulf of difference between Rohit and Umar.

You really think two flukey doubles make him a good player? Plus he gets to bat as an opener, and UA bats at 6.

Having said that, is the Pakistanis sent a couple of their young batsman to train in India, and India should send their young bowlers to train in Pakistan for a couple of years.

That might show us how big an impact coaching and cricketing culture has on one's development. Good experiment that.

Lool. One nice knock by Umar Akmal against a flat SL bowling attack on a flat wicket, and now he is the man of the decade.

Seriously guys, be real. I like Umar Akmal but he has flopped in my book so far in his career. Lets see if this new post Misbah era brings the better out of him.

If your implying you don't care who's in the T20 team, why were you getting annoyed at the fact that Shehzad and Umar were in the T20 team?

I was worried a lucky 40 and he would strongarm the selector by lobbying through media. I hope that it does not happen now. Shehzad I can live with , at least he is sane enough to give his wicket some value. I am done with the unreliable ones.

Pakistanis' obsession with this slogger is weird. Some people advocating he should open should really stop watching cricket. Openers don't clear their front leg and slog. Play him as an opener and watch him dance like a chicken. The guy is a joke. T20s is what he should play only.

Yeah, about that.
Openers don't try to come down the wicket on every other delivery, too but Mccullum does and it works.
Everybody has a different style of play.

Yeah, about that.
Openers don't try to come down the wicket on every other delivery, too but Mccullum does and it works.
Everybody has a different style of play.

Didn't know averaging 30 was the new benchmark.

Don't try to change the point.
I was strictly talking about the style of play.
Never mentioned averages.
Both things are interconnected. if avg is not the issue you might as well send anyone to open and that had be fine.