Usman Khawaja and Tim Paine take Australia to nail-biting draw in first Test against Pakistan

This is really Sad, Aus looks like they're drawing this :(.

38 more overs to survive. It's possible but difficult. If Pakistan fails to win it will a big big heartbreak for them. 5th day pitch,they put the opposition under pressure,they should win it.

With nothing much happening from the pitch, I believe Wahab is the key. He's specially in the team for dishing out fast spells. Sarfraz should just ask Wahab to let himself lose, go full throttle and don't worry about the runs.

Wahab in years gone by, has proved to break partnerships in the UAE.

Expecting Wahab to trouble someone these days is as good as expecting a dinosaur to fit in a baby's diaper. The only way Wahab can cause discomfort to anyone is by growing that cringeworthy moustache again.

This is going towards draw and honestly speaking If Aussies bat first in the next match, Pakistan will be under pressure and most likely lose

Khawaja has batted so well.

And Yasir and Wahab have been useless here.

The ball isnt turning at all now it seems. Batsmen are stepping out without fear. Incredible.

These pitches hardly detoriate

It's just due to pressure and constant spin that teams are unable to hold out for draws here

The ball isnt turning at all now it seems. Batsmen are stepping out without fear. Incredible.

It's turning, but extremely slow turn. Also, set batsmen don't fear turn much, rather uneven bounce - in UAE you don't get sharp turn or bounce in last couple of days on a dying wicket. Fast scoring is difficult, but surviving with a dead bat is possible, even by players not reputed to be great spin players. You know someone calls it worst place to play Test cricket, in fact cricket.

Inexplicable why Yasir hasn't gone over the wicket to Khawaja. He has played him masterfully from round the wicket. Also brings in LBW.

Imam 4 din off milega.Hope you are ready for Abu Dhabi test
Chot lagi bhai jaan ko.

Zaman ke naam se Dar lagta hai.

I think Pakistan throw this game when they not take reviews early on When Head was L.B.W

It's turning, but extremely slow turn. Also, set batsmen don't fear turn much, rather uneven bounce - in UAE you don't get sharp turn or bounce in last couple of days on a dying wicket. Fast scoring is difficult, but surviving with a dead bat is possible, even by players not reputed to be great spin players. You know someone calls it worst place to play Test cricket, in fact cricket.

It is the worst place. Absolutely nothing in it for the bowlers today.

Inexplicable why Yasir hasn't gone over the wicket to Khawaja. He has played him masterfully from round the wicket. Also brings in LBW.

Trying to bring foot mark in play. That's probably only option hereon such wickets. Going over the wicket does improve the LBW chance, but Yasir isn't turning much these days, if he is to get LBW, he has to pitch in line & expect batsmen miss a straight one.

Now there are greater chances of draw than a pak win! Brilliant batting and grit shown by Australia!

It is the worst place. Absolutely nothing in it for the bowlers today.

Hope you are not putting me in place bro, for trolls to come back here, if somehow PAK picks last 5 in a session.

I've never understood why Sarfraz gives the last over of a session to a part-timer. He's done this so many times. Why allow the batsman to negotiate a harmless over when the last over of a session is usually the most taxing mentally? The batsman is always thinking about the break and Sarfraz hands the over to an absolute part timer.

Hope you are not putting me in place bro, for trolls to come back here, if somehow PAK picks last 5 in a session.

Unless Aussies play some rash shots, its unlikely that they will lose any more wickets here. However, one wicket here might open up an end and you dont need much to get tailenders out. So we never know.

Told you guys - at some point we'll see Azhar & Asad to bowl. That's 2 spinners & 4 "Spin all-rounder" in this game - Yasir, Bilal & the quartet of Azhar, MoHa, Haris & Asad ... bonus is 2 centuries & a 80 with bat. Beta Sarfraz should try Babar as well - he can bowl legally as well.

So what is your point exactly?

Long story, can't explain in one liner, and I don't have the time to write an essay here. May be next time when PAK allows teams to get away from 12/3 or 87/3 facing 462 & 140 overs on UAE mud bed, I'll be in mood to tell you.

Well done sarfaraz.....just keep giving easy singles to usman and paine and this game is surely over for pakistan....

Longest 4th innings by Aus in Asia. Khawaja has now faced most balls in the 4th innings in UAE.

Long story, can't explain in one liner, and I don't have the time to write an essay here. May be next time when PAK allows teams to get away from 12/3 or 87/3 facing 462 & 140 overs on UAE mud bed, I'll be in mood to tell you.

Well done sarfaraz.....just keep giving easy singles to usman and paine and this game is surely over for pakistan....

Some Sarfraz basherz in action :yk

Wahab needs be sacked for the next game. Can't have too much pressure on Mohd Abbas. Should Mir Hamza be given a chance in the next game? Will Pakistan opt for Shadab?

The Australian team have clearly prepared hard for this tour. They will not be rolled over by the spinners this easily so going spin heavy appears to be a big gamble

I think sarfaraz should leave wicket keeping in test match because he is not able to concentrate both i.e. keeping and captaining.

Rahane has now become the lone member of the Worst top order batsman against spin club.

I think sarfaraz should leave wicket keeping in test match because he is not able to concentrate both i.e. keeping and captaining.

There is a reason that despite playing almost non stop for 2 decades & close to 100 Tests, Allen Knott, Godfrey Evans, Rod Marsh, Syed Kirmani, Jeff Doujon, Mark Boucher, Ian Smith, Don Talon, Bob Taylor .... were hardly appointed Captain, even deputy. Though, they were the smartest guy in team and Captain's go to guy in crisis. It's not easy for someone to lead a side on top of what is the most busy, cumbersome & rowdy job in the game.

Have to leave - never thought I'll have to make time for 3rd session :(

aus could have won this if they picked renshaw, handscomb maxwell instead marsh brothers and labuschagne

Is Sadaf Hussain is worse than wahab and aamir? I think selectors should give him a chance when you give so many chances to aamir and wahab.

Wahab has nothing to offer!!! He should announce his retirement after this test.

Is Sadaf Hussain is worse than wahab and aamir? I think selectors should give him a chance when you give so many chances to aamir and wahab.

Agree Sadaf should be selected. Also Mir Hamza is sitting on bench. He should be given a go too.

Abbas and Yasir are the only one who can provide a breakthrough and run through the tail enders. Just need 1 wicket ASAP. The longer it takes to break this partnership. More difficult it gets for Pakistan to win it.

Well looks like Australia are grinding their way to a draw barring some late drama. Surprised this pitch hasn't deteriorated more - this is still a decent surface to bat on.

Yasir's lack of effectiveness is hurting us a lot.

Ooooh.

Let’s see if AUS can get the target under 100 without losing another wicket.

Something isnt right here. Pakistani bowlers have been struggling a lot in the UAE for a few months now. I hope these guys are rewarded when they tour South Africa

Now the real fun starts guys. The match just got interesting.

Why is wahab is in the team?? Jitne overs wahab sahab ne poore test match m dale h utne to fakhar zaman bhi daal deta plus batting b krleta....And now he bowls a no bowl and giving easy runs...

Something isnt right here. Pakistani bowlers have been struggling a lot in the UAE for a few months now. I hope these guys are rewarded when they tour South Africa
I don't know what's the difference. Is it the pitch or the players or Misbah?

180 to win off approximately 175 balls. I recon have a go with Khawaja all set at the crease!

Why is wahab is in the team?? Jitne overs wahab sahab ne poore test match m dale h utne to fakhar zaman bhi daal deta plus batting b krleta....And now he bowls a no bowl and giving easy runs...

Yeah he seems so non present in the match. did not even realize he is playing the match. Seems

Broooooos look at wahab's pace!!!!! Class act!!!