Usman Tariq's bowling action cleared by the PCB [Updated Post# 29]

I am not sure if he chucks or not but here are a few things I do know:

Many people who are saying he chucks do not actually know what chucking is. They see a slightly bent arm in a still photo and think that proves he chucks. But that is not chucking. The important question is whether he straightens his arm after bending it and if he does whether the straightening is within 15 degrees.

He has been cleared twice by an ICC accredited lab in a reputable institution.

I expect the pressure from Indians and the drama / optics of Green's dramabazi (possibly more dramabazi to come from others) will ensure he will get reported at some point soon. I assume he will be suspended pending the results of the test. I expect it will happen fairly soon, maybe in the group stage of the world cup, maybe even sooner.
What a disaster that will be

Here’s another possibility - Pakistan might not play him in the next T20 vs Australia and have him bowl straight in the India match so even if he gets called in the game, he would have served his purpose already.
His whole career isn't just for playing one match v India.

He has bowled in this ugly way for a while. He's not been hatched in a lab for th sole purpose of playing you guys haha.

That is an ICC accredited centre iirc. So it's as good as ICC clearing him. And he's not a chucker anyway.
Yes apparently LUMs lab is icc accredited. So in theory he can take his next action test there too.

Wouldn’t that be redundant as he has been cleared by that centre?

Yes apparently LUMs lab is icc accredited. So in theory he can take his next action test there too.

Wouldn’t that be redundant as he has been cleared by that centre?

No, it won't be redundant, assuming umpires call him again.

Bowlers' actions can deteriorate over a period of time and if the umpires suspect that his action has changed, they can send him to LUMS again.

No, it won't be redundant, assuming umpires call him again.

Bowlers' actions can deteriorate over a period of time and if the umpires suspect that his action has changed, they can send him to LUMS again.
Over a period of time is a vague quality….

Someone who has been tested in same lab in very recent past is likely to pass the test unless something has drastically changed…

I’m uzi Tariq’s case action seems same as before too

Over a period of time is a vague quality….

Someone who has been tested in same lab in very recent past is likely to pass the test unless something has drastically changed…

I’m uzi Tariq’s case action seems same as before too
Yeah but he hasn't been called has he ? His action hasn't changed, I agree. It's the same .

I don’t really think he chucks, but even if he does, what advantage does it actually give him? More spin? Nope. More pace? He beats batsmen by lack of pace.

So what is the complaint?

Can't recall last time Pakistan produced a clean offie. The fun fact is, even PCB and Pak fans knows Usman Tariq chucks. That's why they don't want to play anymore matches until the India game on Feb 15th.

:klopp

He is very likley to be reported.
Yeah. Then again, Pakistan is boycotting WT20 as promised...so 15th Feb is not happening.

If they dont keep to their words and send their team to Colombo, it will be total beizzati and Sikku Bhai will not be happy.

BTW, what is it with Australian batters calling out Pakistani bowlers openly and accusing them of Chucking?

Moises Henriques called out Hasnain.

David Warner questioning Zaman Khan.

And now Cam Green is saying Usman Tariq chucks.

:yk2 :kp

BTW, what is it with Australian batters calling out Pakistani bowlers openly and accusing them of Chucking?

This has to be called out at a much lower level. When that doesn't happen this is what happens. Does anyone call any afghanistan spinners out for chucking even though they do pose problems for batsmen. So it is not exactly an agenda. There is a reason why Narine is not bowling in internationals. He knows he will be called out. In leagues you can get away.

I am not sure if he chucks or not but here are a few things I do know:

Many people who are saying he chucks do not actually know what chucking is. They see a slightly bent arm in a still photo and think that proves he chucks. But that is not chucking. The important question is whether he straightens his arm after bending it and if he does whether the straightening is within 15 degrees.

He has been cleared twice by an ICC accredited lab in a reputable institution.

I expect the pressure from Indians and the drama / optics of Green's dramabazi (possibly more dramabazi to come from others) will ensure he will get reported at some point soon. I assume he will be suspended pending the results of the test. I expect it will happen fairly soon, maybe in the group stage of the world cup, maybe even sooner.

Where have indians complained? Aussies have complained, why r u dragging indians into this?

This has to be called out at a much lower level. When that doesn't happen this is what happens. Does anyone call any afghanistan spinners out for chucking even though they do pose problems for batsmen. So it is not exactly an agenda. There is a reason why Narine is not bowling in internationals. He knows he will be called out. In leagues you can get away.

If tariq is found chucking by icc, then u will have to ask if pcb is encouraging this

May be because he doesn't has Bumrah's aura 😉

Why our Indian friends wasting time here, your team can easily score 250 plus anywhere in the world. So why bother oneself with such a low profile spinner because the last time I heard... before guys like Abhishek nothing matters.
Can't recall last time Pakistan produced a clean offie. The fun fact is, even PCB and Pak fans knows Usman Tariq chucks. That's why they don't want to play anymore matches until the India game on Feb 15th.

:klopp

Give him the first over on the 15th February.

I’d have him wear a baggy long sleeve jersey which allows him to extend his elbow over the 15 degree limit.

Also, make him wear a white headband and have him try to release the ball in front of his forehead.

I’d have him wear a baggy long sleeve jersey which allows him to extend his elbow over the 15 degree limit.

Also, make him wear a white headband and have him try to release the ball in front of his forehead.
Hahah...keep it slow mate...may cause heart attack to some

Why our Indian friends wasting time here, your team can easily score 250 plus anywhere in the world. So why bother oneself with such a low profile spinner because the last time I heard... before guys like Abhishek nothing matters.
Because if I chucked, you—or most people on this forum—would not be able to get anywhere near a single delivery from me. However, the scenario changes completely when I am required to rotate my arm and bowl legally. As was evident in Saeed Ajmal’s case, he was never the same bowler once the ICC forced him to remodel his action and bowl with integrity. He no longer generated the same turn he did when he was effectively throwing the ball like a javelin.

This is cricket, not baseball. You must rotate your arm to deliver the ball legally. Unfortunately, many Pakistani bowlers seem to reach international cricket without meeting this most basic requirement of the game. “If you can’t beat them, cheat them” appears to be the mantra here.

There you go @The Bald Eagle

If you can’t beat them, cheat them

Remember, Rajdeep is always right

:genius :kp

How Many time bumrah reported by umpire? And how Many player's arw are openly accused Bumrah for chucking.

Usman Tariq is reported by umpire and many international player's complaint about him during the live match.

:klopp :kp
Players can say whatever they want.
it is the umpire who decides. Honestly for me he and Bumrah both needs to be tested but again I am not the one who decides and being dictated.

Because if I chucked, you—or most people on this forum—would not be able to get anywhere near a single delivery from me. However, the scenario changes completely when I am required to rotate my arm and bowl legally. As was evident in Saeed Ajmal’s case, he was never the same bowler once the ICC forced him to remodel his action and bowl with integrity. He no longer generated the same turn he did when he was effectively throwing the ball like a javelin.

This is cricket, not baseball. You must rotate your arm to deliver the ball legally. Unfortunately, many Pakistani bowlers seem to reach international cricket without meeting this most basic requirement of the game. “If you can’t beat them, cheat them” appears to be the mantra here.

Little context here: Usman Tariq has cleared his action two times. What’s cheating if a bowler who has been cleared of suspect action bowls against India?

I am all for him being tested again but where does cheating mantra come from?

I would use the word "overlooking". They are notoriuos for overlooking or forgiving things like chucking, fixing, playing overage players. Since iCC doesn't micromanage PCB lets it play out.
These things you mention have been common in India too. Most of your u-19 players have fudged but you tell us it's ok as they are still u19 without anyway of us verifying.

ANd your theory falls flat when you consider he was called out in a Pakistani league.

Somehow worlds biggest chucker Narine is comfortable bowling in IPL where he has thrown rocks for 10+ years unnoticed.

These things you mention have been common in India too. Most of your u-19 players have fudged but you tell us it's ok as they are still u19 without anyway of us verifying.

ANd your theory falls flat when you consider he was called out in a Pakistani league.

Somehow worlds biggest chucker Narine is comfortable bowling in IPL where he has thrown rocks for 10+ years unnoticed.
They got penalized. How many age fudgers were penalized by Pakistan?

Somewhat similar to Indias Kedhar Jadhav who used to bowl from the side angle
Kedar Jadhav bowling is straight from gully cricket. One of the most common tactic used in gully as they play tennis ball cricket in tight spaces so they intentionally create low release awkward angles to stop boundaries. Mainly not a wicket taking tactic. Just to use him for defensive overs. Kedar was a converted bowler by MSD.

Usman's action is no different to Malingas. The only difference is Malinga is a fast bowler that runs in one rhythm and bowls with a side on action using his back and shoulder. While Usman is a spinner with a side on action that uses his shoulder. He doesnt need to bowl in one rhythm as he is not a fast bowler.

Interestingly, Usman has been cleared twice by the same lab that found Hasnain to be guilty.

Alot of fuss is being made, and this wont be the end of it either.

My point is, you cant have different rules for fast bowlers and different for spinners. Usman Tariq is the first ever spinner with such action, while we have seen Malinga, Zaman Khan and Salman Irshad with the side on action

1769910856058.png1769910861131.png

Kedar Jadhav bowling is straight from gully cricket. One of the most common tactic used in gully as they play tennis ball cricket in tight spaces so they intentionally create low release awkward angles to stop boundaries. Mainly not a wicket taking tactic. Just to use him for defensive overs. Kedar was a converted bowler by MSD.

Thats not the point, point is Jadhav bowled liked that aswell

It’s not the same as icc clearing him, if he is reported, icc will decide where to send him for testing
lol
ICC is a cricket body, its not a medical body. Hence, they dont have their own lab. It accredits independent or partner labs around the world to perform official biomechanical testing that meet ICC standards. Players referred for analysis go to these ICC-accredited centres, which are typically run by national boards, universities, or independent research organizations, not owned and operated by the ICC itself.

The Lab in lahore found many Pakistani bowlers and Hasnain to be chucking.

This is like saying a player who failed a drug test shouldnt be ban as Jay Shah did not personally test the urine samples.

Can someone point me to a bowling video that purports to shows that he’s chucking?

I’ve only seen only limited footage of Tariq bowling and in those it seemed to be that:

A) Regarding the elbow, he was borderline but not chucking.

B) Regarding the sidearm action, it felt similar to Malinga, hence not chucking.

Would help to see a particular ball where it’s claimed to be a chuck.

Bowlers' pause can now be deemed unfair

The ICC has asked match officials to use their discretion to decide if the bowlers' pause before delivery is unfair play

Icc have not written any rules about the pause before bowl but asked umpires to use their own judgement. So its not a straightforward question just like Murali bowling pre controversy. If any umpire is not happy, he can declare it as no ball.This is receipe for a disaster.Icc should make it black and white instead of asking umpires. At worst I think, unofficially icc may have said its illegal and call it out but rules won't be written down.

Bowlers' pause can now be deemed unfair

The ICC has asked match officials to use their discretion to decide if the bowlers' pause before delivery is unfair play

Icc have not written any rules about the pause before bowl but asked umpires to use their own judgement. So its not a straightforward question just like Murali bowling pre controversy. If any umpire is not happy, he can declare it as no ball.This is receipe for a disaster.Icc should make it black and white instead of asking umpires. At worst I think, unofficially icc may have said its illegal and call it out but rules won't be written down.
Interesting, and we were given lectures by indians how pause is illegal.

Just like how joshila is spreading mis info on icc accredited labs

As per article ashwin , hafeez, raina etc used to do it till 2014.I dont think they have done it later. If its legal they may have continued it, as its a great tactic in t20 generation .I am.guessing that umpires may have quietly said " once u start the bowling action, u cant stop it".

LOL, poor conspiracy theorists who often cook khayali pulao about Bumrah's action are having a hard time because an opponent player accused one of Pakistan's own of chucking.​

Irony, who has been winning matcges due to untested chuckers( Ashwin and Bumrah) and harbjahan before.

He needs to be tested, what is wrong in testing if he is not chucking?
You get tested when an international umpire calls you for chucking. How many former players or current cricketers or cricket pundits have questioned Bumrah's action till date?

The only ones who doubt his action are those sour grape Pakistani and Bangladeshi fans.​

The only thing louder than your sledging is the crying after losing.
@Devadwal

View attachment 161200

Xavier Barlett responded when being asked about the gesture Cameron Green made after his dismissal:

“No idea. I walked out there, and it was tough conditions. I'm not even sure who he got out to. I was there trying to scramble to put my pads on, as it was a tough condition. Shadab bowled really well. These are really tough conditions and great learning for us moving forward.“

Xavier Barlett responded when being asked about the gesture Cameron Green made after his dismissal:

“No idea. I walked out there, and it was tough conditions. I'm not even sure who he got out to. I was there trying to scramble to put my pads on, as it was a tough condition. Shadab bowled really well. These are really tough conditions and great learning for us moving forward.“

So what’s the point? Xavier has simply side-stepped the question.

Irony, who has been winning matcges due to untested chuckers( Ashwin and Bumrah) and harbjahan before.
correction Ashwin is a "chucker exposer" lol HE is the first one to bring the attention to full sleeve chuckers like Saeed Ajmal. What is next SHane warne is a chucker?

Indians are jumping up and down like they are sitting on a hot plate about usman, when they had kedhar yadav in their side, bumrah, ashwin type guys who went unnoticed.

Nobody cares about your opinions here because Usman has cleared himself 2 times now.. you guys can cry rivers.

Indians are jumping up and down like they are sitting on a hot plate about usman, when they had kedhar yadav in their side, bumrah, ashwin type guys who went unnoticed.

Nobody cares about your opinions here because Usman has cleared himself 2 times now.. you guys can cry rivers.
There are two reasons . One is action itself. Second is prolonged pause which can be deemed unfair imagine someone holding the ball for 10 full seconds before releasing it. Umpires can call it dead ball.

First of all, 10 seconds?? are you crazy??

Second, the action has been tested 2 times already unlike all indian bowlers, and it was clear...

Stop crying now because an aussie player and goras are crying as well...

First of all, 10 seconds?? are you crazy??

Second, the action has been tested 2 times already unlike all indian bowlers, and it was clear...

Stop crying now because an aussie player and goras are crying as well...

Nothing to do with Cam Green. This prolonged pause is deliberate distraction. It has to be a reasonably continuous flow. International umpire can call it a dead ball and even penalize the team

Definitely not chucking. It’s a side arm sling action. You can question the pause and how it fits within ICC rules, which are ambiguous at this point.

International player's accused Usman Tariq for chucking during live match ,this is embarassing for any bowler , very soon he will be report by the umpires

Nothing to do with Cam Green. This prolonged pause is deliberate distraction. It has to be a reasonably continuous flow. International umpire can call it a dead ball and even penalize the team
Yeah because some people like you are saying..??? YEAH OK ICC NAVEEN

LOL... already cleared 2 times... Not afraid to do it again.. We are not bumrahs and ashwins
He has been given a clean chit by the PCB and we all know what the credibility of Pakistan and the PCB is.

And no One raised the question about Bumrah apart from Pakistani who are living in delusional.

For a testing, umpire has to be report him. Itna bhi nahi pta kya ?

He has been given a clean chit by the PCB and we all know what the credibility of Pakistan and the PCB is.

And no One raised the question about Bumrah apart from Pakistani who are living in delusional.

O bhai... He got tested in the ICC accredited lab in Pakistan..Not some railway station's Lab.

WHY ARE YOU CRYING BECAUSE YOUR GORA MASTER IS CRYING AS WELL???

O bhai... He got tested in the ICC accredited lab in Pakistan..Not some railway station's Lab.

WHY ARE YOU CRYING BECAUSE YOUR GORA MASTER IS CRYING AS WELL???
He tested in Pakistan, that's enough for us. Pakistan has zero credibility.

Now you can keep crying and whinning because World has exposed Pakistani chuckers.

He was reported in PSL and tested by icc accredited lab

Itna bhi nahi pta?

So why will ICC umpires randomly call him when he has already been cleared by an ICC accredited testing centre ?

It isn’t random.

Evaluating the bowling action during a game is a constant and continuous responsibility of the Umpire.

Just because someone has been cleared by ICC does not mean that they get a free pass after that.

This isn’t a comment either way on Usman who, from the limited video I’ve seen, isn’t chucking.

Lol hahah as suspected Indians have already started crying.
This is so fun to watch. Keep crying.
Usman tariq will play the world cup and you won't do anything about it.

Monafiqat

correction Ashwin is a "chucker exposer" lol HE is the first one to bring the attention to full sleeve chuckers like Saeed Ajmal. What is next SHane warne is a chucker?
He was never been tested, who knows the guys didn’t look like having clean action.
Harbjahan was a clear chucker by current ICC rules.
Bumrah needs to be tested hut ICC does not have the guts.