Veteran Bollywood actor Kader Khan dies at 81 after prolonged illness

Mages

Toronto/Mumbai: Veteran actor-writer Kader Khan passed away due to prolonged illness at the age of 81 on December 31, his son Sarfaraz confirmed.

Khan was admitted to a hospital in Canada and his son confirmed that his last rites will be conducted in the country.

“My dad has left us. He passed away on December 31 at 6 pm as per Canadian time due to prolonged illness. He slipped into coma in the afternoon. He was in the hospital for 16-17 weeks.

“The last rites will be performed here in Canada only. We have our entire family here and we live here so we are doing it,” Khan’s son Sarfaraz told PTI.

“We are thankful to everyone for their blessings and prayers,” he added.

The news of the death of the actor-screenwriter, who was at his peak in the 1980s-90s, comes days after his son dismissed media reports of his demise.

Khan had developed breathing issues and the doctors had reportedly transferred him from regular ventilator to BiPAP ventilator.

As per reports, he was suffering from Progressive Supranuclear Palsy, a degenerative disease that causes loss of balance, difficulty in walking and dementia.

Born in Kabul, Khan made his acting debut in 1973 with Rajesh Khanna’s “Daag” and has featured in over 300 films.

He wrote dialogues for over 250 movies. Before becoming an actor he had written dialogues for Randhir Kapoor-Jaya Bachchan’s “Jawani Diwani”.

As a screenwriter, Khan frequently collaborated with Manmohan Desai and Prakash Mehra.

His films with Desai include “Dharam Veer”, “Ganga Jamuna Saraswati”, “Coolie”, “Desh Premee”, “Suhaag”, “Parvarish” and “Amar Akbar Anthony” and films with Mehra include “Jwalamukhi”, “Sharaabi”, “Lawaaris”, “Muqaddar Ka Sikandar”.-PTI

https://theprint.in/culture/veteran-bollywood-actor-kader-khan-dies-at-81-after-prolonged-illness/171509/

RIP, Kader saheb.

One of my favourite actors. His comic timing was amazing.

Sad news :( Correction in the article: Kader Khan was born in Chaman, Blauchistan (Pakistan) and not Kabul.

Brilliant actor and so versatile.

Sad news.

Inna lillah hai wa inna ilhai rajioon

Very sad news He was immensely entertaning when i watched bollywood films in the 90s growing up

RIP sir

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">T 3045 - Kadar Khan passes away .. sad depressing news .. my prayers and condolences .. a brilliant stage artist a most compassionate and accomplished talent on film .. a writer of eminence ; in most of my very successful films .. a delightful company .. and a mathematician !! <a href="https://t.co/l7pdv0Wdu1">pic.twitter.com/l7pdv0Wdu1</a></p>— Amitabh Bachchan (@SrBachchan) <a href="https://twitter.com/SrBachchan/status/1079979047885520901?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 1, 2019</a></blockquote>

Yeah, got to know that he was a mathematics teacher as well. Truly a man who wore so many hats with aplomb. Grew up watching his films and by all accounts he was such a fine human being.

Will be dearly missed.

Inna lillah hai wa inna ilhai rajioon.

Very versatile actor. He was always very good in his scenes even if the movie is flop.

Perhaps the most talented Khan of all time after Amjad Khan and Yousuf Khan. Certainly had more tricks up his sleeve than the other two being a dialogue writer as well. Wrote dialogues for over 250 films.

RIP Khan Sahab. You filled our childhood with laughter and joy with your classic comedies. Inalilahi wa inna ilaihi raji'oon.

Perhaps the most talented Khan of all time after Amjad Khan and Yousuf Khan. Certainly had more tricks up his sleeve than the other two being a dialogue writer as well. Wrote dialogues for over 250 films.

RIP Khan Sahab. You filled our childhood with laughter and joy with your classic comedies. Inalilahi wa inna ilaihi raji'oon.

is khan a category in acting in itself, that anyone with a surname of khan is compared with other actors who had that surname? i think it is demeaning to the actor.

It isnt. But sometimes we do it just for fun. Just like we do for Kapoors. It shouldnt be taken as demeaning the actor. Its just a way to show that he was a great among other greats.

Grew up watching his films, kinda sad to see him go , he had hard time in the last few years of his life.

Great dialogue writer and generally a very funny and humorous man. Love his "Baap numbri beta dus numbri" with his favourite co star, Shakti Kapoor. He will be missed for sure. Thanks for the memories and inspiring dialogues.

Kader Khan was also a mathematician and very fluent in the Arabic language. Truly a man of many talents some say he was born in Kabul where others say it was Pishin in Baluchistan, Pak. A very religious man he was a devout Muslim always talking sensibly. Many years back he wanted to produce and direct a movie called "Karbala" on the martyrdom of Imam Hussain. Later after some more thought on the matter he decided to shelve the entire project.

Inna Lillahee Wa inna ilayhee Rajeun.

May Allah forgive his sins, mistakes, and grant him Jannat.

I watched many of his films. Was a really funny actor, passionate and serious in some roles. He had good films with Govinda, Salman Khan. Dulhan Dulhania Le Jayenge, I watched it many times back then. His last film I saw was Mujhse Shaadi Karogi. Played those role perfectly.

Superb actor. thanks for the fond memories. RIP brother.

90s comedies of bollywood was the best, involving Kader Khan, Johnny Lever, Govinda, Anuma Kher, and that guy who came in that song Neendh Churayi in the film Ishq, tries to kill Aamir and Ajay, forgot his name

Inna Lillahee Wa inna ilayhee Rajeun

Lost a comedic gem, 90's Govinda movies with him and Johnny Lever were the best. Shame he wasn't part of Andaz Apna Apna, it'd been even better. May his sins be forgiven

Kader Khan's Son On Govinda's 'Father Figure' Comment: 'Has He Even Bothered To Call Us Once?'

Sarfaraz said: "I can assure his fans all over the world that we won't let the film industry forget him"

Kader Khan's Son On Govinda's 'Father Figure' Comment: 'Has He Even Bothered To Call Us Once?'

"Out-of-sight-out-of-mind mentality can't be helped," said Sarfaraz

Kader Khan's son Sarfaraz, who has featured in films like Tere Naam, Wanted and Once Upon a Time in Mumbaai Dobara, says that the Hindi film industry has too many "fragmented camps and loyalties" and it has an "out-of-sight-out-of-mind mentality (which) can't be helped," reports news agency IANS. On Instagram, Govinda paying a tribute to Kader Khan, wrote the late actor was like a "father figure" to him. But Sarfaraz had a different story to tell. He told IANS: "Please ask Govinda how many times he inquired about his 'father figure's' health. Has he even bothered to call us even once after my father's passing away? This is the way our film industry has become. There are no real feelings for those who have contributed to Indian cinema when they're no longer active."
Govinda and Kader Khan co-starred in several film including Haseena Maan Jayegi, Hero No 1, Raja Babu, Sajan Chale Sasural and Coolie No 1 among others.

RIP Kader Khan Saab. . He was not just my "ustaad" but a father figure to me, his midas touch and his aura made every actor he worked with a superstar. The entire film industry and my family deeply mourns this loss and we cannot express the sorrow in words. I pray to God that may his soul rest in peace.

However, Sarfaraz also said that among his colleagues, Kader Khan remembered Amitabh Bachchan fondly in his final days. "There are so many people in the film industry whom my father was close to. But the one person that my father loved the most was Bachchan saab (Amitabh Bachchan). I'd ask my father whom he missed the most from the film industry and the answer promptly would be Bachchan saab. And I know the love was mutual. I want him to know that my father spoke about him till the end," Sarfaraz told IANS.

Kader Khan had written several blockbuster dialogues for Amitabh Bachchan in the Seventies and the Eighties in films made by Manmohan Desai and Prakash Mehra. Coolie, Amar Akbar Anthony and Agneepath are a few examples. In a recent interview with IANS, David Dhawan had said: "As a writer, he made every hero sound credible and spectacular. Just look at Bhaijaan's (Kader Khan) contribution to Amit ji (Amitabh Bachchan's) on-screen persona."

Sarfaraz Khan told IANS that Kader Khan died surrounded by his family members and he had a 'smile on his face" as he died. "There was a smile on my father's face when he passed away. I cherish that smile more than anything else in the world. My father's final years were very painful for him. He suffered from a degenerative disease that left him completely without the will to do anything. He got the best possible medical care here in Toronto."

"My father has contributed so much to Hindi cinema. We intend to honour his memory in a substantial and relevant way. At the moment we're all mourning his going. But I can assure his fans all over the world that we won't let the film industry forget him," he added.

Kader Khan's funeral was held in Canada today. He was buried in a cemetery in Toronto.

https://www.ndtv.com/entertainment/...-has-he-even-bothered-to-call-us-once-1971990

We should not expect celebrities like Govinda to be role models or anything other then normal people. Common people do that as well I mean we don't see a person for ages then express our condolences upon hearing of their demise. I don't recall Kader Khan ever fondly remembering actors who he worked many times with who passed away before him like a Vinod Khanna or Shashi Kapoor. Govinda's father figure comment should not be taken literally or a reason to call him a hypocrite. It is human nature to be like this.

90s comedies of bollywood was the best, involving Kader Khan, Johnny Lever, Govinda, Anuma Kher, and that guy who came in that song Neendh Churayi in the film Ishq, tries to kill Aamir and Ajay, forgot his name

His name is Tiku Talsania.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">T 3045 - Kadar Khan passes away .. sad depressing news .. my prayers and condolences .. a brilliant stage artist a most compassionate and accomplished talent on film .. a writer of eminence ; in most of my very successful films .. a delightful company .. and a mathematician !! <a href="https://t.co/l7pdv0Wdu1">pic.twitter.com/l7pdv0Wdu1</a></p>— Amitabh Bachchan (@SrBachchan) <a href="https://twitter.com/SrBachchan/status/1079979047885520901?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 1, 2019</a></blockquote>

What hypocrisy. He was singlehandedly responsible for ending Kader's career and did so on purpose. Kader has been on record and said this.

There are so many people in the film industry whom my father was close to. But the one person that my father loved the most was Bachchan saab (Amitabh Bachchan). I'd ask my father whom he missed the most from the film industry and the answer promptly would be Bachchan Saab. And I know the love was mutual. I want Bachchan saab to know that my father spoke about him till the end

Said his son Sarfaraz .

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.in...bachchan-till-end-reveals-son-sarfaraz-497190

--------------

Sometimes in the heat of moment ppl say things doesn't mean it's how they always feel..

Amitabh Bachchan appears to be a good and genuine man. Others calling him this or that for no reason is a common symptom called jealousy!:vk2 They attack the BIG B for always thinking about his own career which is the way it should be. The BIG B has never spoken poorly about any co star like others have done about him meaning he is the better man.

We should not expect celebrities like Govinda to be role models or anything other then normal people. Common people do that as well I mean we don't see a person for ages then express our condolences upon hearing of their demise. I don't recall Kader Khan ever fondly remembering actors who he worked many times with who passed away before him like a Vinod Khanna or Shashi Kapoor. Govinda's father figure comment should not be taken literally or a reason to call him a hypocrite. It is human nature to be like this.

Kader khan hasnt been well and not been on tv for several years so its no surprise nobody has heard from him regarding other recent celebrity deaths

And anyway the likes of vinod and shashi didnt have the same collaboration with kader as govinda and khan did Theyve probably been together in 2 dozen films over the years Kader was a large part of govindas success

If he didnt care for him be genuine rather than the fake father figure comment Govinda definitley needed putting in place for his crocodile tears

Kader khan hasnt been well and not been on tv for several years so its no surprise nobody has heard from him regarding other recent celebrity deaths

And anyway the likes of vinod and shashi didnt have the same collaboration with kader as govinda and khan did Theyve probably been together in 2 dozen films over the years Kader was a large part of govindas success

If he didnt care for him be genuine rather than the fake father figure comment Govinda definitley needed putting in place for his crocodile tears

You can't expect Govinda so run around after Kader when he was ill. His comment of the now deceased comedian/villain being a father figure should not be taken literally. Govinda was not crying that you are accusing him of crocodile tears. Shakti Kapoor starred in even more movies with Kader yet has not uttered a word about his demise. Sarfraz is just taking a cheap shot at Govinda, nothing else. Amitabh Bachchan also owes his great dialogues to Kader yet hardly said much about his death other then a tweet.

nobody is perfect; Kader Khan's son was wrong to make that statement about Govinda

Sarfaraz being a failed actor himself is just angry at his fathers Bollywood co-stars for no reason. I can tell you people that it's normal to be angry at the whole world after losing a parent. Govinda had to be diplomatic and logical when a reporter was forcing a microphone down his throat. He couldn't say "I don't give a damn about his death".

Kader Khan- pustoon
Govinda - sindhi
Vinod/Sashi - west punjabi

Seems like an episode from a pakistani drama :)