[VIDEO] Abid Ali - First impressions in international cricket

Abid Ali - first impressions in International cricket

On to a very fine start, so elegant, looking to play along the ground. Very good technique as well.

Timing the ball so well, wristy player, seems like every ball will go to fence.

Impressive batting. Looking for the gaps and playing nice strokes. Very good with timing the ball. He should’ve been playing for Pakistan a few years ago

Thora gol matool hai... but already looks a better bat than Imam or Shan ever did. I think we have found a good partner for Fakhar.

The whole problem. Makes 20 runs and a thread is created declaring him GOAT.

Has much better potential than Imam and Shan Masood put together. Needs to work on his fitness some what but impressive

The whole problem. Makes 20 runs and a thread is created declaring him GOAT.

Lala this is about first impressions in international cricket. Where are you going?

A carbon copy of Hashim Amla. Very similar batting technique.

A big blunder by Inzi to not select him for the SA tour.

I'll be honest.

Haven't seen better strokeplay from a Pakistani opener since Saeed Anwar.

Apart from Saeed Anwar and Sharjeel Khan, seems like he has the potential to overtake all the other openers we've had.

Sad thing is, Shan Masood has his dad behind him - PCB board of governor's man. And, Imam has Inzi behind him.

That's why other, much better batsmen and openers never got a chance and probably won't get in near future either.

After this amazing display, 90% chance Abid still won't be selected for the World Cup and we'll still see Imam + Fakhar opening.

Fakhar + Abid is a MUST for the world cup if it's to be on merit.

Great timing of the ball. His fitness still needs work but I must say he's looking good. If gets a good score here and then the next game. Good luck Shan Masood.

Pleasantly surprised, I was expecting him to be another one of those tuk tuk players but he's looked very fluent so far.

Would like to see him pick regular singles. Limiting dot balls would go a long way into being in the team.

This is just first match syndrome. I’ve seen this many times before.

A new young star arises, makes a lot of runs early on and then fades away.

Hopefully this doesn’t happy to him but I refuse to get excited about him because I’ve seen this too many times with Pakistan.

Looks good but he's not better than our current openers. A standby player for the WC at best. However, good on Inzamam for giving him a go.

So we know from this innings that he is an excellent batsman both sides of the wicket. What I want to see is his concentration. Can he make a big score after a fluent start?

But but he's a geezer and 31 years old so we can't pick him because we have a thousand promising young openers in domestic cricket.

This is just first match syndrome. I’ve seen this many times before.

A new young star arises, makes a lot of runs early on and then fades away.

Hopefully this doesn’t happy to him but I refuse to get excited about him because I’ve seen this too many times with Pakistan.

Yes I suppose he has nothing to lose.

He's made 20 runs.

And?

How does that matter? I'm only talking about his strokeplay so far.

It doesn't mean he'll end up averaging 40+ at 90 strike rate.

That we have yet to see. We're only talking about his game today and the potential.

Really impressive he should open along side fakhar
I would take him over Imam surely

UMAR AKMAL.. WATCH & LEARN..
after 20 balls am convinced he’s going to the World Cup.. tough luck Shan..

While Haris is eating deliveries on one end, Abid is doing a great job rotating the strike and playing his shots. Looks like a solid compact player with both off and on-side game.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] another talent soptted by me after Ahsan ali thread few days back

Oh no . Abid is 31 now !!!? And he is debuting!! Where this lad was? Poor Pakistan cricket

I know he can keep but personally I wouldn't want him to. He's 31 and his fitness needs work. Right now I would want him to continue working on his fitness and batting.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] another talent soptted by me after Ahsan ali thread few days back

Well Done bro. Credit goes to you.

Well Spotted.

Playing quite well. Needs to lose weight so does Ahsan Ali.

Shan & Rizwan will be nervous atm :)

Chalo bhai...first innings and he is our savior for the World Cup. He looks promising but I’m not sure if we’ve given him enough time and conditioning to deliver during the WC.

Pakistani Michael Hussey. Started off late, but will win big matches for us.

Will smash Zampa for six after six to get us into WC final.

Has lost some weight which shows he is a hard worker/on the right track. (Needs to lose some more obviously).

Chalo bhai...first innings and he is our savior for the World Cup. He looks promising but I’m not sure if we’ve given him enough time and conditioning to deliver during the WC.

remember when PPers wanted to make Shan Masood captain after his 40 in SAF

on topic, Abid looks very good. Mix of aggression, defense, and strike rotation

not watching but damn that strike rate of 90+ from an opener is exactly what Pakistan need not just in boundaries but also in singles doubles. Hope he is playing his natural game in which case we can say goodbye to Imam.

He looks good. Just as I had expected him to be.

He performed on these very wickets against good bowling attacks.

Been pushing for his selection for ages.

The ones who discarded him and called him geezer, old, fat and uncapable player should be ashamed of themselves. Yes ashamed because they criticized him without ever seeing him.

Our fans get excited very easily.

Performing on debut doesn’t make him younger. He will be 32 this year. Hardly a long-term option.

Abid Ali will do for next 2-3 years atleast - gives us some breathing space to find another good long term prospect

Performing on debut doesn’t make him younger. He will be 32 this year. Hardly a long-term option.

Oh please, like we have a bunch of worldbeating openers as it is.

A mediocre team like Pakistan should be happy with a 2-3 year short term fix.

Who cares even if hes 40. The WC is in 3 months time. The WC counts and if he can perform there he will have done his bit.

This guy didn't play a lick of PSL.

Yet he looks better than nearly all of our PSL "products" - what a useless tournament when we should be reward consistent domestic performers who put the hard yards in year in year out.

Who cares even if hes 40. The WC is in 3 months time. The WC counts and if he can perform there he will have done his bit.

Yes he should retire after scoring 1,000 runs in the World Cup. Would be quite a career.

This guy didn't play a lick of PSL.

Yet he looks better than nearly all of our PSL "products" - what a useless tournament when we should be reward consistent domestic performers who put the hard yards in year in year out.

Can’t disagree with that. About time the experiment of fast-tracking inexperienced PSL players ends.

Wristy , good at strike rotation , can play both sides of wicket.
But not a nephew unfortunately

Yes he should retire after scoring 1,000 runs in the World Cup. Would be quite a career.

That would do nicely and winning the WC would be the icing on the cake.

Dude who cares about JAMODIS.
Its all about the WC.
We need a big performance from PAK in the WC like PAK is known for!

Abid has shown today he should go to the UK and at the very least play the ODI series vs ENG.

You had no problem with a 44 year old now a 32 year old is geriatric for you.

Misbah was already playing. He wasn’t make his debut at 44.

Any cricketer making his debut after 30 is pretty much a waste.

Honestly... He's done well and looks like he can time the ball well, but I genuinely don't think he has a compact technique. I agree that technique alone doesn't make you a good player, but his technique is just screaming "loose shots".

Also.... his fitness looks atrocious!

31 for a batsman is completely fine. If he works hard he has easily 5 more years before he start losing reflexes.

If you want to critisize anything it has to be the selectors.

Misbah was already playing. He wasn’t make his debut at 44.

Any cricketer making his debut after 30 is pretty much a waste.

Misbah was older than current age of Abid Ali when he was recalled back to Pakistan team after a gap of many years.

A carbon copy of Hashim Amla. Very similar batting technique.

A big blunder by Inzi to not select him for the SA tour.

Abid is challenging Bhanja for opener's spot and you expect Inzi to give Abid Ali a chance ? He was blocking Abid Ali so far , for a a reason.

Inzamam wanted Abid Ali as the third opener, but Mickey rejected him because of his belly.

Been pushing for his selection for ages.

The ones who discarded him and called him geezer, old, fat and uncapable player should be ashamed of themselves. Yes ashamed because they criticized him without ever seeing him.

Hats off to you Bhai.

how the hell does one make a 100 on debut and that too against Australia?

Unbelievable.

Can be short term solution for this World Cup but let’s wait and see how he performs in the England series which he should absolutely play.

These guys forced us to be quiet and told us Imam is the best opener in Pakistan. Shut up, Abid CC is here now.

He was too edgy even in later part of his innings. Need to see more of him before making any call.

Meh, overrated. Dew and 3rd string Australian attack. Nothing to see here.

Looked very comfortable and assured.

An enjoyable innings and looked like a player who has been playing international cricket for many years.

Does anyone know how good a keeper he is,If he is a good keeper he should be selected for the world cup.This guy has glimpses of babar azam and hashim amla very strong and wristy like hashim with strong and beautiful offside play like babar and plus i think he is 31 which is normally the age the batsman are at its peak with quick reflexes and concentration level but the problem is with rizwan and abid both performing there is only a spot for one of them and i don't know about abids keeping but if he is an decent keeper then for me abid makes it to the 15 i still feel rizwan cant play the pacers as well as abid while abid plays both of them equally well so for me abid makes it to the world cup as an backup keeper.

Some more observations:

Struggles to clear the fence. A bit like Imam in that regard.

However, can make use of pace bowling and fielding restrictions in the early power play overs, getting boundaries with good timing.

Imam struggles with that too. Abid seems to be fine at that but still only one match.

Overall, if he's playing, it needs to be as an opener. Probably not someone who can dominate bowling in the middle and late overs, struggles for boundaries at that time.