[VIDEO] Anushka Sharma hits back after Sunil Gavaskar’s comment about Virat Kohli’s performance

Cricket icon Sunil Gavaskar on Friday found himself in the midst of a controversy for remarks about Virat Kohli and his wife actor Anushka Sharma in his commentary during an IPL match.

In the commentary box, Gavaskar had said: “Ab joh Lockdown tha to sirf Anushka ki bowling ki practice ki unhone, wo video dekhi hai (reference to a viral video), usse to kuch nahi hona hai (During the recent lockdown he only practised to Anushka’s bowling, I saw a video. But that is not going to be enough).”

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/goftnx" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Gavaskar was referring to a video clip that went viral after it was posted on a Kohli fan page. In the video, Kohli can be seen bowling to Anushka before taking to the stumps. The video then shows Anushka bowling to him.

Gavaskar’s remark, however, did not go down well with Kohli’s fans, with some urging the BCCI to remove him from the commentary panel.

Reacting to Gavaskar’s comment, Anushka Sharma posted on instagram: “Mr. Gavaskar your message is distasteful is a fact but I would love for you to explain why you thought of making such a sweeping statement on a wife accusing her for her husband’s game? I am sure over the years you have respected the private lives of every cricketer while commentating on the game. ”

Anushka-Sharma.jpeg

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...nt-on-virat-kohli-and-anushka-sharma-6610086/

This is why I despise social media. Everybody is in a perpetual state of outrage about something, anything.

The other day, even the late Dean Jones tweeted "then mute me" when somebody else said to him something to the effect of "Oh God, I have to mute the TV when you are commentating."

This seems like an over-reaction from Anushka. She should have more respect for Gavaskar. He is an all time great and a father figure for Indian cricket. Also he is a gentleman, and he was commenting on, what I presume was, public content, voluntarily uploaded onto social media (video of Anushka bowling to Kohli which I haven’t seen and know nothing about). So he was not commenting on their ‘private lives’ but their ‘public’ personas.... It would be like the Kardashians getting mad because a viewer comments on which Kardashians they like and dislike after watching their reality show on TV... If you didn’t want people to talk about it, why did you upload it?

Anyway, he wasn’t ‘accusing her’ or blaming her for anything... It was a joke about the difficulties of preparing for professional cricket under lockdown.. she was incidental to the joke. Strange response.

Definetly uncalled for from gavasker

Sure criticise a player n his performances but dont drag his personal life n wife into things

He should know better

This seems like an over-reaction from Anushka. She should have more respect for Gavaskar. He is an all time great and a father figure for Indian cricket. Also he is a gentleman, and he was commenting on, what I presume was, public content, voluntarily uploaded onto social media (video of Anushka bowling to Kohli which I haven’t seen and know nothing about). So he was not commenting on their ‘private lives’ but their ‘public’ personas.... It would be like the Kardashians getting mad because a viewer comments on which Kardashians they like and dislike after watching their reality show on TV... If you didn’t want people to talk about it, why did you upload it?

Anyway, he wasn’t ‘accusing her’ or blaming her for anything... It was a joke about the difficulties of preparing for professional cricket under lockdown.. she was incidental to the joke. Strange response.

In fact, I would have had wayy more respect for her if she had stood up for Kohli after his horror game and explained how much he had been training. She was in fact not even the butt of the joke, her husband’s performance was! Gavaskar’s whole comment had very little actually to do with Anushka. She seemed like a switched on lady to me before... anyway, I will just put it down to her not understanding anything about cricket and completely misunderstanding Gavaskar’s joke as being about her...

Stupid comments from Gavaskar. I don't think fans and pundits are aware are how much time it takes to get back to your best after 6 months out. KL Rahul has said he wasn't at his best. He played amazing yesterday but imagine when he feels at his best how he will be.

Seems a case of Chinese Whispers... Dont think he meant it any bad way towards Kohli's wife and it was all supposed to imply lack of practice.

Exactly, Gavaskar didnt actually said anything wrong. Kohli himself put a video in twitter playing cricket with Anushka and Gavaskar just highlighted that on air. I think its more of a sub continent mentality where taking someone's wife or parents name is considered disrespect.

Even though he said nothing wrong, he always tries way too hard to be funny.

It was set to backfire at some point.

Anushka Sharma is overreacting. He is not disrespecting her by any means or draging her name, if anything he is making fun of Kohli's preparations. The PC culture is going insane if people are asking him to be removed for that.

I also think the same.

Ab itna v kya hai IPL hi toh hai..If he is not performing it's okay, hope he gets back into rythm before the Australia series.

Am i missing something? That was a very light hearted comic comment by Gavaskar.

Talk about over reaction.

Stupid comment from gavaskar but not surprised most Indian commentators tend to say dumb things anyways so it's no suprise

When you have a choice to use Shivam Dube or Anushka Sharma to practise your batting against, I wouldn’t be surprised that you would prefer to stay home.

What is your fascination with Shivam Dubey? :))

An apt response to a distasteful comment.

According to u. It actually depends on how u take it.
I dont think u were even born when Gavaskar started doing commentary and he's certainly wise enough to know how people gonna react to anything he says on air.
I think people including anushka misunderstood him and social media anyways is meant to blow things out of proportion

Pathetic overreaction from the precious lady. However it wasn't unexpected.

lol, there is #BoycottGavaskar trending in India today! Who else but the Navika Kumar behind it.

According to u. It actually depends on how u take it.
I dont think u were even born when Gavaskar started doing commentary and he's certainly wise enough to know how people gonna react to anything he says on air.
I think people including anushka misunderstood him and social media anyways is meant to blow things out of proportion

It has nothing to do with when I was born and when I will die. It was a cheap comment and Gavaskar deserved a stern reply.

He might be wise in general but he wasn’t wise here. He has no right to make such comments. He has no idea how Kohli was preparing and training during the lockdown.

Am i missing something? That was a very light hearted comic comment by Gavaskar.

Talk about over reaction.
We're known for these kind of overreactions. Remember when Nasser Hussain compared our fielders with donkeys! Even Ravi Shastri laid into him. At least he should've seen the pun behind what Hussain said.

False outrage!!!

Nothing offensive here. The Bollywood diva is outraging over nothing.

We're known for these kind of overreactions. Remember when Nasser Hussain compared our fielders with donkeys! Even Ravi Shastri laid into him. At least he should've seen the pun behind what Hussain said.

I just saw the video where gavaskar commented about anushka and i now think he didn't say anything wrong.

Comparing indians to donkey was distasteful and shastri was right.
These cricketers represent our country.

Comparing indians to donkey was distasteful and shastri was right.
These cricketers represent our country.
But Nasser wasn't literally calling our fielders donkeys. That was just a metaphor for our poor fielding efforts on England tour.

Pity, we couldn't understand it and expressed our outrage over a totally harmeless comment.

I was watching live when Gavaskar just mentioned it as a simple joke. I actually thought the commentators found it cute that they played cricket. If I'm not wrong, Warner keeps playing cricket with her daughters when in home.

“Mr Gavaskar your message is distasteful is a fact but I would love for you to explain why you thought of making such a sweeping statement on a wife accusing her for her husband’s game? I am sure over the years you have respected the private lives of every cricketer while commentating on the game,” she said. “It’s 2020 and things still don’t change for me. When will I stop getting dragged into cricket and stop being used to pass sweeping statements?

Going by these comments I think she is still peeved over what some people said about Kohli's faliure in WC '15.

Poor Sunny was just a collateral damage.

There is actually a portion in the pre match show where it's shown what the players are up to personally. It was shown that Rohit's daughter was copying Bumrah's bowling action (very cute). I have watched personal lives clips of Dhoni (his wife talked about his life in lockdown), Hardik (that he became a father recently, overcoming injury) & Rohit (he was exercising with his wife in hotel).

This is a bit of over-reaction from Anushka IMO. Gavaskar never meant it when saying so. Nobody even bothered about that comment because it was so much in light nature, it was actually after Anushka's response that people have overreacted this.

On a celebrity, people tend to make light jokes which should be ignored for all good sake, over-reacting only makes life tougher on both sides.

What happened in 2015 WC semi final was not acceptable and Kohli was in all right to shut his critics but this was clearly on a light heart and should better be ignored.

I don’t even know the full context but looking at clip and reading article it seems it’s just a bad delivery of a joke by Gavaskar. I legit don’t get where she is getting outraged from.

It also seems he has been zabardasti mai put on hindi commentary here. Doesn’t seem to be speaking naturally

Anushka gets offended too fast. She is more upset for Kohli’s pathetic on field performances and taking out her frustration on Gavaskar.

Kohli deserves more criticism as he is the one that gets the most coverage and praise when India does well. Anushka needs to stick to Bollywood.

Na, its just a harmless joke and anushka should know better than to give in and react to it

Anushka Sharma and fake bollywood gangs should have shown the outrage on Anurag Kashyap and not on a 60 year old innocent Sunny Gavaskar.

Harmless joke or not Why bring up anushkas name? Shes right Would any other WAG be brought up as often as anushka is?

I believe all he said was something along the lines of "the only practice Virat got during the lockdown was Anushka's bowling as we saw from the videos". A harmless joke. He wasn't being disparaging or commenting on his performance at all. I think Anushka is a bit triggered because in the past she has been blamed for Virat's poor performances.

Smart thing to do was to just ignore it rather than giving unnecessary attention to a harmless comment

The comment wasn't necessary but at the same time he's not saying anything wrong or sexist. Stupid cancel culture world.

I think she is annoyed cause this isn't the first time. She is trolled every time Kohli fails. I think the same happened after CT 2017.

The comment wasn't necessary but at the same time he's not saying anything wrong or sexist. Stupid cancel culture world.

Who got cancelled though? Gavaskar still has his job and even on social media Gavaskar seems to be getting more support than Sharma.

If she doesn't want to be dragged into cricket, then she should stay away from posing for such pics like the first lady of indian cricket. can't expect these bollywoodias to be sensible.

DkBkKcvXgAAOu5J.jpg_large_1.jpeg

It seems Gavaskar made a low quality comment during a low quality match in a low quality league. No need to take it seriously. :inti

This is Sunil Gavaskar.

The love for Tendulkar is unprecedented but Gavaskar is arguably our greatest ever cricketer. He's spent more time in commentary alone than Anushka or Kohli's age. Learn to take a joke. The movie industry itself is built on freedom to express thoughts and make jokes.

She's overreacted to a statement media has already taken out of context to give a spin of its own.

Virat Kohli must be feeling like smashing his head at the wall seeing his wife going through PMS.

If she doesn't want to be dragged into cricket, then she should stay away from posing for such pics like the first lady of indian cricket. can't expect these bollywoodias to be sensible.

Totally with you on this Biscuit bhai

Who got cancelled though? Gavaskar still has his job and even on social media Gavaskar seems to be getting more support than Sharma.

Nobody has gotten cancelled but some people certainly are trying to cancel him. Apparently #BoycottGavaskar was trending on twitter in India.

Regardless, this statement wouldn't have been seen as controversial 10 years back.

Sania Mirza might have some sympathy for Anushka Sharma

Overreaction by Anushka. She comes across as a vindictive person.

Still remember her publicly scolding a guy for throwing a bottle on the road and uploading his video.

I had a girl friend who acted very similar to her. Would pick up fights with any and everyone and then if/when the shoe was on the other foot would ask me to protect her. Before the good riddance, I ended up with broken friendships and a bloody nose.

Absolutely nothing wrong with what Gavaskar said. It was a joke, a lame one, but essentially harmless.

If anything, it's Kohli that comes out of this looking like a fool. Modern life is exemplified by the state of perpetual outrage, entitled wastrels.

Kohli jokes about his fellow cricketers - both senior and junior. Should they start attacking him back?

Sunil Gavaskar, clarifying his comments on Virat Kohli’s performance in the Indian Premier League clash against Kings XI Punjab, said he had never blamed Anushka Sharma and that he had only commented on their social media video.

In a report in India Today, Gavaskar was quoted as saying, “Firstly, I would like to say it again. Where am I blaming her? I am not blaming her. I am only saying that the video said that she was bowling to Virat. Virat has played only that bowling during the lockdown period. It’s a tennis ball, fun game that people have to pass time during the lockdown. That’s all. Where am I blaming her for Virat’s failures?”

He further stated that he has always supported that wives going with husbands on tour. “You know me, I am the one who has always batted for wives going with husbands on tour. I am the one that a normal guy going to the office for a 9-5 job, when he comes back home, he comes back to his wife. Similarly, cricketers, when they go out for a tour or even when they are playing at home, why can’t they have their wives with them?”

“Because after their working hours are over, they have to get back to their wives like every other common man does. So I am not blaming her.”

During RCB’s clash against KXIP, Gavaskar was heard saying that Kohli spent time with Anuskha during the lockdown and the batsman had practised against her bowling. He felt the lack of practice was quiet evident in Kohli’s performance as they were chasing a challenging 207-run target.

In the commentary box, Gavaskar had said: “Ab joh lockdown tha to sirf Anushka ki bowling ki practice ki unhone, wo video dekhi hai (reference to a viral video), usse to kuch nahi hona hai (During the recent lockdown he only practised to Anushka’s bowling, I saw a video. But that is not going to be enough).

However, his comments didn’t go well with the cricket fans as they slammed Gavaskar on Twitter, calling his remarks ‘sexist’. Anuskha also reacted to the comment, calling it ‘distasteful.’

Kohli, in a rare incident, had an off day in the contest against KXIP. The India skipper first dropped KL Rahul twice, who went on to score a century, in the KXIP innings and he only scored one with the bat before he was removed by Sheldon Cottrell. RCB went on to lose their second match of IPL 2020 by 97 runs.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...uskha-sharma-virat-kohli-kxip-vs-rcb-6610764/

Nobody has gotten cancelled but some people certainly are trying to cancel him. Apparently #BoycottGavaskar was trending on twitter in India.

Regardless, this statement wouldn't have been seen as controversial 10 years back.

I think the problem is someone on Twitter mistranslated what Gavaskar said. Gavaskar said "Kohli was playing Anushka's bowling", while the on Twitter the user misquoted him as saying “Aunshka’s balls rather than bowling . So the outrage was mostly based on the latter which is understandable as its sounds vulgar. But what Gavaskar actually said was pretty harmless lol.

I mean even with that wording, anybody who has watched or played cricket more than a couple of times would understand what he's trying to convey.

Surprised online trolls are actually supporting someone from Bollywood.. while it was only a joke but the current climate of "outrage" will make certain there can be no jokes about anyone.

To those who criticize Gavaskar, don’t complain about the lack of quality commentary.

I wonder if Gavaskar will now feel the wrath of BCCI and be 'rested' for future series.

Seems that players and those close to them hold some power over BCCI.

:vk1
I am really surprised that people are not making a big deal out of this picture this is outrageous
I mean what!
I have never seen something like this in any sport, ever!!

I am really surprised that people are not making a big deal out of this picture this is outrageous
I mean what!

Rohit Sharma unfollowed them on Insta after that :P

I wonder if Gavaskar will now feel the wrath of BCCI and be 'rested' for future series.

Seems that players and those close to them hold some power over BCCI.

Mumbai lobby has already given up Sanjay, and Sunny for something so small if "rested" would make other cricketers furious..

People are so sensitive these days! It was clearly just a joke from Gavaskar - nothing rude or insulting in it.

He thought she was fair game just because she's an actress. Desis don't respect women in showbusiness.

It is clearly an over-reaction to a harmless joke made in light nature by one of the greatest batsmen the game has ever seen.

Amidst all this, Kohli is looking like a fool.

Lol what kind of picture is This. What’s the context

Anushka did the right thing. At the end of the day, Gavaskar has no business mentioning families of cricketers, and the purported reason (video on social media) isn't reason enough.

I mean what!
You're correct. Kohli has made Indian cricket a personal fiefdom, even more than Dhoni did. If Indian cricket's genuine fans had to express their outrage, they should've done on seeing this pic.

I see someone like Bumrah barely fitting in the pic, while some others are not visible at all. But Anushka and that other lady (who I'm sure would've nothing to do with Indian cricket) are so comfortably placed.

Was she watching the match in the stadium? Or Sunil randomly made a comment about her?

Some of these cheap bollywood actors can crack jokes on anyone in shows like Coffee with Karan but can't take a joke themselves. Bollywood is already getting a negative publicity these days due to SSR's case and Drug scandals. Anushka and Virat both are dumb when it comes to handling themselves on social media. I remember they scolded someone for littering and recorded that whole conversation like jokers lol. :inti

absolutely. Ansukha is ruining his career. She is the biggest panvati for indian cricket. what an absurdly gross overreaction by this bollywood clown. Go away. We need kohli to perform on the cricket field. To do that, for kohli's and India's sake don't ever step into a cricket stadium. just do the bhangra and nagin dance from home. Thanks. bye

Overreaction by Anushka. She comes across as a vindictive person.

Still remember her publicly scolding a guy for throwing a bottle on the road and uploading his video.

I had a girl friend who acted very similar to her. Would pick up fights with any and everyone and then if/when the shoe was on the other foot would ask me to protect her. Before the good riddance, I ended up with broken friendships and a bloody nose.

one day ansukha may run Into a wrong person who won't be so submissive and servile and she will regret that day. She need a to stop running her mouth.

absolutely. Ansukha is ruining his career. She is the biggest panvati for indian cricket. what an absurdly gross overreaction by this bollywood clown. Go away. We need kohli to perform on the cricket field. To do that, for kohli's and India's sake don't ever step into a cricket stadium. just do the bhangra and nagin dance from home. Thanks. bye

Her bollywood career is finished anyway so she will look for these types of publicity to stay relevant. There is a very thin line between Anushka and Rakhi Sawant now. :inti

Kangana Ranaut criticised Sunil Gavaskar for taking Anushka Sharma’s name in his commentary during an Indian Premier League (IPL) match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab on Thursday. However, Kangana also accused Anushka of ‘selective feminism’.

“#Anushka remained quiet when I was threatened and called ********* but today the same misogyny coming to bite her, I condemn the fact that she was dragged in to cricket by #SunilGavaskar but selective feminism is equally uncool,” she wrote on Twitter.

Kangana said in a follow-up tweet that Sunil Gavaskar’s comments did not have a sexual connotation but he should not have mentioned Anushka, nevertheless. “Only a sex starved pervert will find sexual context to #SunilGavaskar’s statement which he made on national television for a woman, he should’ve not mentioned her, but Anushka is playing a cricketer in her next and there are several videos of her practising with her husband,” she wrote.

Earlier this month, Kangana was called a ‘********* ladki’ by Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut after she likened Mumbai to Pakistan-occupied Kashmir. Some of her colleagues from the film industry including Ranvir Shorey, Dia Mirza and Anubhav Sinha came out in support of her and condemned the remarks.

On Thursday, Sunil Gavaskar, while commenting on Virat Kohli’s batting, had made a reference to Anushka. The former cricketer said that Virat practised only to Anushka’s bowling during the lockdown, referring to a viral video of them playing cricket on their terrace in May, and added that it would do nothing to improve his performance on the field.

Anushka took to Instagram stories to hit back at him for his ‘distasteful’ comments. “That, Mr Gavaskar, your message is distasteful is a fact but I would love for you to explain why you thought of making such a sweeping statement on a wife accusing her for her husband’s game? I’m sure over the years you have respected the private lives of every cricketer while commentating on the game. Don’t you think you should have equal amount of respect for me and us?,” she asked.

“I’m sure you can have many other words and sentences in your mind to use to comment on my husband’s performance from last night or are your words only relevant if you use my name in the process? It’s 2020 and things still don’t change for me. When will I stop getting dragged into cricket and stop being used to pass sweeping statements? Respected Mr Gavaskar, you are a legend whose name stands tall in this gentleman’s game. Just wanted to tell you what I felt when I heard you say this,” she added.

Sunil Gavaskar, meanwhile, has denied allegations of sexism and said that he was only commenting about Virat’s inability to strike the ball due to ‘lack of practice’. “Virat also had no practice and the only practice that they had was when they were seen playing in their building compound and Anushka was bowling to him. That’s what I said. That’s the only bowling, I have not used any other word. She was bowling to him, that’s all. Where am I blaming her? Where am I being sexist in this?,” he told India Today.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/boll...ve-feminism/story-UahgziB4bK4eb1mfBH9r0L.html

Lets be clear about the ONE rule in the celebrity world.

"There is no such thing as bad publicity!"

All becomes very clear.

Anushka has pushed herself in the conversation related to arguably the biggest event India has going.