[VIDEO] Billy Stanlake from Queensland - Australia's tall fast-bowler

pacesensation

Local Club Star
He should be in aussie national t20 team

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=139353]ChachaCricket[/MENTION]

ur thoughts

Looks fast, impressive and seems quite penetrative

Regards
[MENTION=66397]Green[/MENTION]roars [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] plz put video word in the title of the thread

Tallest Aussie bowler. Balls with a high jump and slingy action. Is fast medium with some deliveries fast.

He is just 21 and body hasn't filled up yet. Aussie system will make him 5 to 7 kph faster in a years time.

The best he can become is tear away fast bowler. Won't have much control with that action. His pace and bounce will be his big weapons.

Well spotted brother.

You need to make a thread about all Pakistani active fast bowlers who can clock 140+ , little intro about them and their prospects. Even if they can ball few above 140.

Pata nai when we will get express pacer in our ranks.

Tallest Aussie bowler. Balls with a high jump and slingy action. Is fast medium with some deliveries fast.

He is just 21 and body hasn't filled up yet. Aussie system will make him 5 to 7 kph faster in a years time.

The best he can become is tear away fast bowler. Won't have much control with that action. His pace and bounce will be his big weapons.

Well spotted brother.

You need to make a thread about all Pakistani active fast bowlers who can clock 140+ , little intro about them and their prospects. Even if they can ball few above 140.

Pata nai when we will get express pacer in our ranks.

I do not know anyone in domestic cricket who can tell me about any express fast bowlers in pakistan. You know more than me, heck lots of us ask you about pakistani quickies.

You mentioned Sameen Wolverine to us, no one knew about him. Looking forward to that 3rd febuary pak u19 vs lanka u19 match only to see him bowl.

I generally like bowlers with enough express pace that can trouble batsmen. Cumming initially was very good, he even had a 6 fer against a confident south african team in a test match but injuries diluted his pace.

Bret lee at 20 was bowling in 90-91mph and at 23 he was bowling at 94-5mph. I read that in a newspaper back in 1999 when he demolished indians. Brett lee reaches his peak in 2003 when he was 26-28

Its just a thread about this billy guy. He can also become an express fast bowler. Just a thought, not a sure thing

Regards

Tall, fast arm, strong foot block, not much extension at the crease thus bowls from a good height, fairly accurate, even in his effort balls his body is moving towards the batsman. Overall a very good prospect.

Geez, it's a pace factory down under these days.

One after another.

Quality prospect.

Woah. This guy got done serious potential. His pace looks pretty high too. If I have to guess, somewhere in mid 140s. As someone mentioned above, he almost bowls with straight legs and thus will get extra bounce even at good length.

Geez, it's a pace factory down under these days.

One after another.

Quality prospect.

Pakistan also has good fast bowlers but they are just need to be unearthed. Holding a low quality pace hunt scheme is not the answer. More needs to be done

Yeah. He's one of the Australian fast bowlers I consider an A Grade talent.

Just went down with stress fractures but that isn't a surprise.

I do not know anyone in domestic cricket who can tell me about any express fast bowlers in pakistan. You know more than me, heck lots of us ask you about pakistani quickies.

You mentioned Sameen Wolverine to us, no one knew about him. Looking forward to that 3rd febuary pak u19 vs lanka u19 match only to see him bowl.

I generally like bowlers with enough express pace that can trouble batsmen. Cumming initially was very good, he even had a 6 fer against a confident south african team in a test match but injuries diluted his pace.

Bret lee at 20 was bowling in 90-91mph and at 23 he was bowling at 94-5mph. I read that in a newspaper back in 1999 when he demolished indians. Brett lee reaches his peak in 2003 when he was 26-28

Its just a thread about this billy guy. He can also become an express fast bowler. Just a thought, not a sure thing

Regards

Jhye Richardson bowled 142 regularly in his one BBL game. I suspect he get up to high 140s

Is short for a quick though

Jhye Richardson bowled 142 regularly in his one BBL game. I suspect he get up to high 140s

Great, is I searched for this jhye's video but could not get one.

How is jhye richardson's bowling action? any resemblance to former player?

Btw I billy the quickie looks very sharp to me. Brett lee had some stress fracture issues in his initial stages as a bowler and this lead to change of his bowling action.

I really hope billy returns stronger from stress fracture.

Looking forward to see him bowling jaffas after a few years

Regards

As long as he's not to short then height ain't a issue , the great bowler of our era dale steyn is 5ft 10 which isn't towering

Tall and pacy, definitely 140+ is this guy. And he is very young, he will improve his pace more and ma sure he will become a better bowler under brilliant Aussie system.

Yeap, 140k plus bowler indeed. Look at his height, Allah Nazar-e-bad se bachayay

this link contains two more wickets of his ie
http://www.cricket.com.au/video/bil...rs-perth-scorchers-big-bash-league/2016-01-05

First delivery he bowled is at 143k, its reasonable to assume that he can bowl at mid 140s.

Regards

According to cricket au com, this is not first time he has injury problems. Missed the entire 2014-12 season due to his back. Its a lumbar stress fracture that he is suffering from. And another article says that he can bowl at 145kph

Thanks

He's been 145 KPH+ consistently in the BBL.

thats nice to hear but is he as menacing as he was last year. He used to bowl mean short pitch delivers that would dismiss even aussie players.

Really excited to see him in action in international cricket. i hope he plays against pakistan in odis

thats nice to hear but is he as menacing as he was last year. He used to bowl mean short pitch delivers that would dismiss even aussie players.

Really excited to see him in action in international cricket. i hope he plays against pakistan in odis
He's troubling almost every batsman he's bowled to.

I think he'll play the first ODI.

The difference is rather than simply put him through the grind of domestic competitions there will be a lot of focus on his fitness. At his prime if things go as per plan Stanlake will develop into a strong, fit, fast bowler blessed with pace and bounce. When things do not go as per plan you end up with someone like Mohd. Irfan, all the potential in the world but with a body that cannot take the stress of longer spells, ground fielding etc...

His Queensland mentor Bichel speaks about him and keeps stressing on fitness. Stanlake is blessed that his growth is in such good hands!

He's troubling almost every batsman he's bowled to.

I think he'll play the first ODI.
I have been keeping an eye on him ever since i spotted him. I never doubted his ability but back injury is something that can destroy your career or make you become 1 yard or more slower eg waqar younis, dennis llilee. One does not have any control over his back injury so i asked. I checked one bbl match and I did not see him playing i thought he was still injured but I am glad he is back

But a not-that-serious-back-injury wont really affect you (eg umar gul, bret lee)
Both changed their actions however they did not really lose any penetration.

Thats why i was asking.

He is in line for pakistan odi, lets hope he plays

Bumrah has a similar action to him.

Aus have some extreme speedsters coming through. E.g. Jhye Richardson who bowled 150kph in the BBL although he seems a bit too short.
Very exciting prospects....

The difference is rather than simply put him through the grind of domestic competitions there will be a lot of focus on his fitness. At his prime if things go as per plan Stanlake will develop into a strong, fit, fast bowler blessed with pace and bounce. When things do not go as per plan you end up with someone like Mohd. Irfan, all the potential in the world but with a body that cannot take the stress of longer spells, ground fielding etc...

His Queensland mentor Bichel speaks about him and keeps stressing on fitness. Stanlake is blessed that his growth is in such good hands!

Generally I agree with your Post. Good Post but

I think 7'1 is an ABNORMAL height for a FAST bowler no matter how well you try to manage the guy.

Our management of Irfan was quite worst. Irfan we saw against in India is 2012 and in Odi's in SA in 2013 was the best and peak Irfan. Threatening, FAST. touched 151.7kph and was an economical wicket taking option. But it was short lived. Irfan started playing domestic cricket at an unofficial age of 26.

Maray gaye bhai.. Waisay hi waat lagni thi ab yeh sath foot ka Billy bhi agaya hai..

Systems my Bro systems.

20 years old Jhye Richardson has just hit 150 kph.

We can just see and CRY. That's it.

Systems my Bro systems.

20 years old Jhye Richardson has just hit 150 kph.

We can just see and CRY. That's it.

hi

you have to look at their action etc too. Muhammad Sami is fast but his line and length is too wayward

Here is the video

http://www.bigbash.com.au/video/bra...-scorchers-strikers-bbl-highlights/2016-12-23

he has promise but looks a bit wayward dont you think, though i like the fact that he is rightie but billy has more thappar than this one

no offense :) [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] yar mind na karna, bus fast bowler ke lyay waisai hi mein thora excited hojataa hoon

i hope aap mind nahee kar rahai.

hi

you have to look at their action etc too. Muhammad Sami is fast but his line and length is too wayward

Here is the video

http://www.bigbash.com.au/video/bra...-scorchers-strikers-bbl-highlights/2016-12-23

he has promise but looks a bit wayward dont you think, though i like the fact that he is rightie but billy has more thappar than this one

no offense :) [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] yar mind na karna, bus fast bowler ke lyay waisai hi mein thora excited hojataa hoon

i hope aap mind nahee kar rahai.

He is just 20. Yes currently Stanlake has more Tapparh but Richardson's action and physique look less injury prone.

Now Cricket has alot to do with Science. Professional Coaches, Biomechanics/Human movements experts, trainers, nutritionists form a Coaching team.

Australia I guess has more than 4 high performance centres. Just look at the way they turned Ryan Haris's career upside down and made him a great Fast bowler.

Look what these centres did to Johnson.

Now look at Starc's, Hazlewood's development and most current example is Billy Stanlake.

Gone are the days jub Vehari se uth k aagaya bacha jiska jism strong athletic tha naturally aor natural action ideal tha. Kisi change ki zarurat nai thee. Aor Fast ko Imran ki guidance ne express bana diya.

Don't see a Sir phirra Janooni Pindi express coming through.

Now it's all about showing some ability and will for hardwork than you go to High performance centres and they work on the Product and unleash finished product. All work done scientifically. No tuqqay baazi actions change etc.

In a country of almost 230 million people with Cricket being Priority Sports of most people we have only one NCA. Forget about high performance centre I won't even call NCA a Performance centre.

Billy Stanlake banks on x-factor to surprise Pakistan

With Josh Hazlewood rested for the first One-Day International against Pakistan at the Gabba in Brisbane, 22-year-old Billy Stanlake is in line to make his debut. At 6′ 7″, the lanky pacer is set to become the tallest player to represent Australia in the history of the game.

Stanlake has played just two first-class games so far for Queensland and has featured in four List A games. He hasn’t played in Sheffield Shield after a back injury since 2015 but has created a lot of ripples in the Australian domestic circuit.

“His name was mentioned last year before he got injured, he’s just that kind of bowler,” Usman Khawaja had said about Stanlake. “He’s a tall bloke, bowls fast, hits the bat hard and he’s very ugly to face.”

With the think-tank looking to manage the workload of premier pacers like Mitchell Starc and Hazlewood, the ODI call-up comes at an opportune moment for Stanlake to prove his mettle. He impressed in the Big Bash League games where he’s picked up six sticks in the last three games for the Adelaide Strikers.

However, even after promising performances, the pacer acknowledged that he wasn’t expecting a national team call-up. “Yeah, it was definitely a shock to me,” he said on Sunday (January 8). “It’s funny how things can happen so quickly. I was returning from injury a few months ago so it was definitely a big shock for me. It hasn’t yet sunk in. I’m just excited to get around and get to know everyone.”

Stanlake was also quick to point out that he’s taking this opportunity to learn and develop as a fast bowler. “I’ll just try and feed off everyone. I’ll try and learn as much as I can,” he pointed out. “My height and my bounce makes me a little difficult to face. That’s the x-factor and the Pakistan side haven’t seen me much so that’s an upside as well.”

Darren Lehmann, the coach, too was impressed with Stanlake’s pace and was excited to see him in the squad. “He’s very tall and very fast, and that’s two commodities you don’t get together a lot of times,” gushed Lehmann.

http://www.sportal.co.in/cricket/billy-stanlake-banks-on-x-factor-to-surprise-pakistan/

He is just 20. Yes currently Stanlake has more Tapparh but Richardson's action and physique look less injury prone.

Now Cricket has alot to do with Science. Professional Coaches, Biomechanics/Human movements experts, trainers, nutritionists form a Coaching team.

Australia I guess has more than 4 high performance centres. Just look at the way they turned Ryan Haris's career upside down and made him a great Fast bowler.

Look what these centres did to Johnson.

Now look at Starc's, Hazlewood's development and most current example is Billy Stanlake.

Gone are the days jub Vehari se uth k aagaya bacha jiska jism strong athletic tha naturally aor natural action ideal tha. Kisi change ki zarurat nai thee. Aor Fast ko Imran ki guidance ne express bana diya.

Don't see a Sir phirra Janooni Pindi express coming through.

Now it's all about showing some ability and will for hardwork than you go to High performance centres and they work on the Product and unleash finished product. All work done scientifically. No tuqqay baazi actions change etc.

In a country of almost 230 million people with Cricket being Priority Sports of most people we have only one NCA. Forget about high performance centre I won't even call NCA a Performance centre.
Jhye has absolutely no control. A fair distance away from a call up.

I've seen a bit of Jhye and know a few guys who have seen a lot of him. He's better than what a few T20 games show.

Biggest issue is his height. Will prevent him making the grade for Australia unfortunately

I've seen a bit of Jhye and know a few guys who have seen a lot of him. He's better than what a few T20 games show.

Biggest issue is his height. Will prevent him making the grade for Australia unfortunately
I've seen him play for WA as well, he lacks control.

If he can learn to swing the ball he will be an exciting upcoming prospect for Australia.

This bowler is pacy but looks like he can bowl only inswing to right handers.His action suits only inswingers.

‘Big’ Billy Stanlake is back from bizarre toe injury and determined to reclaim his ODI spot

BILLY Stanlake has battled stress fractures in his back, pelvis and feet but a pesky big toe has proved to be his most frustrating challenge.

Stanlake has finally been cleared to make his return to the field and will feature for the Adelaide Strikers in the upcoming Big Bash League.

The towering Queenslander put himself in the record books last summer when he became the tallest ever player in Australia’s national cricket history.

At 204cm, “Big Billy” made his one-day international and Twenty20 debuts for Australia on the back of strong fast bowling performances in the BBL.

But the 23-year-old Gold Coast product now faces a fight to wear the canary yellow this summer after being struck down by a bizarre toe problem.

“I got the toe infection after the first round of club cricket (this season),” Stanlake said.

“I had an open wound on the top of the big toe from bowling and it kept getting worse. It was pretty nasty. I couldn’t walk on it.

“I ended up having surgery in early September. They had to cut it open and clean out the infection.

“I’ve had them (injuries) all but this has been the most frustrating. Your body feels good but there is a toe keeping you out of so much cricket.

“Every time we thought we were on track, something would go wrong. I’ve changed footwear. I tried cutting a hole in the shoe but that cut me up as well.

“We’ve tinkered around with some things and we seem to have come up with a way to stop it happening again.”

Stanlake remains a player of national interest and in April secured the last spot on Cricket Australia’s list of 20 contracted players, highlighting the promise seen in him by national selectors.

But he has some work to do to win back his spot in the national side for the limited overs series against England next month.

Stanlake was struck down by illness in his ODI debut against Pakistan at the Gabba, limiting him to three overs, and took one wicket in his second match.

His focus is on lifting the Strikers into BBL contention this summer but national honours are still a goal after his unfortunate debut.

“I was crook and didn’t really recognise it on the day,” Stanlake said.

“I felt weak and wasn’t really eating. I thought it was nerves. That mixed with the heat didn’t help.

“This time last year I was coming off a back stress fracture and was so excited to get into the Big Bash, so to get called up into the Australian squad was a massive surprise. I never really saw it coming.

“The season is definitely not a write-off. I’m in a pretty good place physically.

“I’d love to get back into that (national) set up. It’s always what you’re striving for.

“It’s still a long way away. I’ve got to get myself ready and firing for the BBL.

“I want to be out there playing and earning my contract. I don’t want to be on the sidelines.”

Stanlake will join his Strikers teammates in Adelaide on Monday ahead of their tournament opener against Sydney Thunder on December 22.

If Stanlake does crack the national team for the five-match ODI series against England, he could feature at the Gabba on January 19.

https://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/c...-odi-spot-ng-7c75e15fdf31d740c97a669c1ce49b14

Made of glass. Could be a threatening option at 100% fitness but I seriously doubt he can get through his quota in the one dayers, and I expect him to lose pace over the next couple of years anyway.

Ponting: Stanlake can be one of the 'all-time greats'

Cape Town - Australia's Billy Stanlake can be one of the all-time great fast bowlers, according to Ricky Ponting, who worked with the Aussie team during the recent T20 tri-series.

Ponting was assistant coach to Darren Lehmann for the Trans-Tasman T20 tri-series, that also included New Zealand and England, which Australia won by beating the Kiwis in the final at Eden Park.

The almost seven-foot tall Stanlake impressed during the tournament, taking eight wickets in five games at an economy rate of 8.30 but also showed he can bowl quickly, going regularly over the 145 km/h mark.

Stanlake went into the tri-series competition in good form having taken 19 wickets in 17 matches for Adelaide Strikers in the past two BBL seasons at an economy rate of 6.77.

Ponting told the Cricket Australia website: "I just love the look of what he's got.

"He's almost seven feet tall, bowls close to 150 kilometres an hour, he can swing the new ball. He's got a little nasty streak in him as well - he likes bowling bouncers.

"When we see him get a bit more of a tank and grow into his body a bit more and put on a little bit of weight, I think he's someone that could be one of the all-time great fast bowlers.

"That's all there ahead of him, we just hope he stays in one piece and becomes the kind of cricketer we all think he can be."

The 23-year-old Stanlake has only played two first-class games for Queensland, both in 2015, but he will play in this season's IPL after being bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad and in the T20 Blast for Yorkshire.

Injuries have curtailed his red-ball cricket in the last few years with him having a succession of stress fractures but Ponting says Cricket Australia will make sure he can up his workloads.

Ponting continued: "Billy's in his early 20s now, just starting to fill into his body.

"I know Cricket Australia have got every intention of looking after him as well as they can and making sure they do bulk him up and don't break him too soon.

"I know coming out of the Big Bash and even being around this group, we've been trying to pump his loads up to get him to bowl seven or eight overs a day.

"But I'm sure if there's an opportunity for Billy to play a Shield game at the back end of the season, I think we'd all be silly not to let him have that opportunity."

https://www.sport24.co.za/Cricket/ponting-stanlake-can-be-one-of-the-all-time-greats-20180227

Looks a good prospect for Australia. Will be interesting to see how Australia use them, they are now spoilt for choices in the pace department.

Great skillset, he has the physical attributes, over to him to learn the international trade and become a smart operator, but he has most of the tools in the shed.

Kinda like jeff thomson. Comparatively a tad slower than Jeff thus far in his career.

Billy Stanlake: Australia block fast bowler's Yorkshire T20 Blast move

Fast-bowler Billy Stanlake will no longer join Yorkshire after Cricket Australia pulled him out of the move.

The 23-year-old had agreed to play a minimum of 12 T20 Blast games for the Vikings this summer, but Australia now want him to focus on other formats.

Stanlake has played two one-day and six T20 internationals for his country.

"They've pulled him out of our deal, which is obviously very disappointing for us," said Yorkshire director of cricket Martyn Moxon.

"Now the new Australia coach is in place, they want him to play some different cricket to T20 during the period he was due to be with us."

Right-armer Stanlake, who is centrally contracted, is recovering from a fractured finger which he suffered playing in the Indian Premier League.

He played the last of his two first-class games in 2015 but is now set to train with the Queensland Bulls and could feature in the Sheffield Shield later in the year in his native country.

"Cricket Australia got in touch on Friday and have decided on a different strategy for Billy Stanlake. We're not the only county, it would appear, who has been affected by this," Moxon told the club website.

"We'll assess the situation as to whether we go for a replacement or not. We may choose to stick with our own players."

https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/44138509

Derbyshire have signed Australia fast bowler Billy Stanlake for this summer's T20 Blast.

The 24-year-old has played seven one-day internationals and 17 Twenty20 internationals since his debut in 2017.

He replaces compatriot Kane Richardson, who was named in Australia's World Cup squad.

"Billy is an excellent white-ball bowler and has the qualities to trouble batsmen in this format," said Derbyshire boss Dave Houghton.

"He's someone we've kept an eye on and we've been impressed by what we've seen.

"We were disappointed to lose Kane, but I believe we have found a replacement who will not only complement our side, but bring in new skills to keep taking us forward."

Stanlake was set to feature for Yorkshire in last season's T20 Blast, but Cricket Australia pulled him out of the move to focus on other formats.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/48321208

Serious back issues have ruled Billy Stanlake out of the last 12 months.

But after seeing the same specialist as Tiger Woods, the 203cm quick is ready to make an impact for Tasmania.