[VIDEO] Can any current Pakistani batsman play shots like these from Rishabh Pant?

Savak

World Star
<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/y712xy" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Rishabh Pant may not have had a long stay in the middle at the Narendra Modi Stadium against England in the 1st T20I of the five-match series getting out for 21 off 23 balls as India struggled to get going – after being put into bat – but his short stay probably gave the fans the shot of the series already, when the wicketkeeper-batsman took on a 141 kmph delivery from Jofra Archer and scooped one over the keeper’s head for six runs. The shot had the fans in a tizzy, even though India had lost skipper Virat Kohli for his third international duck this year and KL Rahul. The shot also reminded fans of Pant’s audacious six – a reverse scoop – when he was in the 90s off James Anderson in the recently concluded Test series.

Earlier, for the first time in his career, Virat Kohli got out for successive ducks in international cricket as he fell without scoring in India’s first T20I against England in Ahmedabad. Kohli, who had made a duck in the fourth Test recently, was caught at mid-off off the bowling of Adil Rashid for a five-ball duck in this game.

It was Kohli’s 28th duck overall in international cricket. It was also his third in T20I cricket in 80 innings. It was also his third duck overall in 2021, and his third in his last five innings.

Kohli fell in the third over looking to attack Rashid despite India having lost an early wicket in KL Rahul.

His approach was in tune with his words on the eve of the game. In the press conference before the match, he had said that India will look to attack come what may given their depth in batting.

Link: https://www.news18.com/cricketnext/...y-has-twitter-in-disbelief-again-3528125.html

==

Comments: Which Pakistani Player can dream off playing a shot like that?

Indian batsmen have evolved their ODI-T20 batting to a good 10-20 years ahead of our batsmen.

Our pathetic Pakistani batsmen are still stuck with the 90's and early 2000's orthodox cricket. Not a single batsman can play the Dhoni's Helicopter shot, Dilshan's Dilscoop, the reverse ramp or the reverse sweep of a fast bowler.

In an ideal world, being able to attract high profile foreign T-20 coaches to our domestic cricket might have helped us fast track the gap but that is unlikely, but as long as you have the likes of Mansoor Rana, Basit Ali and co who played in a completely different era coaching the domestic sides, don't expect things to change

I don't watch T20 much, but don't we have many other players playing unorthodox shots more often in that format? I am sure I have seen some unorthodox shots played by Pakistani batsmen as well.

lol yea. I was wondering same. I’ve seen AB, Mccullum, Dilshan and the likes play even more outrageous shots against great bowlers
with an equal or stronger pedigree than Archer. I guess they don’t have the hype machine of a billion Indians behind them.

lol yea. I was wondering same. I’ve seen AB, Mccullum, Dilshan and the likes play even more outrageous shots against great bowlers
with an equal or stronger pedigree than Archer. I guess they don’t have the hype machine of a billion Indians behind them.

Name a player who has reverse swept a 141 Kph bowler like Archer. This specific shot.
Also name a player who has reverse swept Anderson with a new ball, in a Test Match.

Except ABD, no one else can do it. And ABD gets more hype in India than in his own country :inti

Rohail nazir did it against shaheen in the psl at 142 kph not the same but similar

Maxwell deserves a mention. Seen him play some ridiculous shots over the years.

A lot of players are able to do it but most of them do it quite cheaply. It comes off once at a time but often they fail to deliver it.

Only ABD and to an extent Buttler and Maxwell can do it with right posture and balance. That is why at their peak, he was able to execute it 8 out of 10 times. Pant also looks in similar lines to them but ofocurse it is too early to make any conclusion on him now.

Rohail nazir did it against shaheen in the psl at 142 kph not the same but similar

Rohail Nazir is the guy who is leaps and bounds better than Pant isn't he? [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION]

Bet he can do all Pant can and more.

Never seen dilshan or mccullum reverse sweep a fast bowler. Only ABD has. Also didn't know savak was part of billion Indians

Can Kohli or Rohit do it? No right. Its a shot which will lose you the match 90 percent times. No need. I would prefer if Pakistani youngsters focus on what Hafeez does in T20. Pure timing and power. No need for this. Let Pant do this drama

You don't need these dinky shots to succeed in cricket anyway. Some of our most prolific players - Tendulkar, Gambhir relied on proper technique to win dozens of games for India while chugging along at a good strike rate.

If you're a lower order hitter maybe there is a case in T20 cricket, but that's all.

Umar Akmal could and look how his career panned out.

Playing outrageous shots is not the benchmark of a cricketer.

Anyone can do it, you just have to have the bravery to actually go for it.

There are more risks involved in this shot.

-Ball can go straight into your helmet/head at 85MPH plus
-Ball can go straight up into the air for an easy catch to the keeper
-Batsman is putting his ribs/abdomen on the line also
-LBW/Bowled is 100% on

If you are willing to take all of these risks, then you can play these types of shots.

When you've had Misbah as captain and Head Coach for most part of the last 10 years, innovation and playing the modern game is the last thing you're going to get with him at the helm.

Misbah tried it once. Fans still abuse him for that. :inti
_ed0ff5da-d467-11ea-9eb6-4e4101534b74.jpg

There are more risks involved in this shot.

-Ball can go straight into your helmet/head at 85MPH plus
-Ball can go straight up into the air for an easy catch to the keeper
-Batsman is putting his ribs/abdomen on the line also
-LBW/Bowled is 100% on

If you are willing to take all of these risks, then you can play these types of shots.

It will look foolish if he plays a shot like this in a knock out match of the World Cup and gets out. It's too risky. :inti

The thread title should be renamed to Do the Pakistani players have the cojones to play such a shot to a 141kph bowler. Pretty sure some young Pakistani players can pull this off in LOIs and ODIs.
In Test matches, I dare say no one is as crazy as Pant to try this.

Afridi did all that years before the players these days were in their diapers... and his average was less than his age.. I don’t see the big deal of it.. if you can keep up the average and win matches for your team, that’s where you should get credit. And Pant is doing it so he rightly deserves all the credit.

But let’s not make a big deal out of some of these shots which are quite frankly idiotic. A straight drive for a six is much safer than playing a reverse flick outside off with a slip in place.

Afridi did all that years before the players these days were in their diapers... and his average was less than his age.. I don’t see the big deal of it.. if you can keep up the average and win matches for your team, that’s where you should get credit. And Pant is doing it so he rightly deserves all the credit.

But let’s not make a big deal out of some of these shots which are quite frankly idiotic. A straight drive for a six is much safer than playing a reverse flick outside off with a slip in place.

I have never seen Afridi play a reverse sweep to spinners or fast bowlers. Which match did he played such a shot ?

It will look foolish if he plays a shot like this in a knock out match of the World Cup and gets out. It's too risky. :inti

Wait, I thought he crossed that bridge in 2019? Wasn’t a reverse sweep, but given the situation and the occasion at hand, his shot was unwarranted.

I have never seen Afridi play a reverse sweep to spinners or fast bowlers. Which match did he played such a shot ?

I was referring to idiotic shots in general... his entire career is full of such audacious shots.. just Google them.

No but why is this important? Important thing is what do you average

Why the obssession in comparing him with pakistani players?

Good for him and india if he can play these shots

Name a player who has reverse swept a 141 Kph bowler like Archer. This specific shot.
Also name a player who has reverse swept Anderson with a new ball, in a Test Match.

Maxwell. AB has done it to even faster bowlers. Also this shot isn’t reverse sweet lol.

Besides the point is not the specific shot. The point being made is about outrageous shots and for that there are examples aplenty. (Not saying these aren’t great and exciting shots but it’s not something that hasn’t happened before)

Never seen dilshan or mccullum reverse sweep a fast bowler. Only ABD has. Also didn't know savak was part of billion Indians

I’ve seen similar shots played. Heck Umar Akmal has done a similar in Australia of all places. But that didn’t help his overall career.

Besides I’m referring to the hype overall on Twitter and other places. Not a single poster on a forum lol because if only he was talking about it, it wouldn’t be classified as hype lol.

This shot was audacious but I wud not want him to try this shot in the World T20 unless he is already on 70 of 30 balls

He will get roasted if he plays such a shot & get out cheap in big game

Current Indian players can't play these shots as well. KP, Maxwell, ABDV, Rohit, Baz, Dilshan, Dhoni all created their own shots. Virat kohli doesn't even play sweep shot. Some refuse to play these shots.

Dinesh Karthik played these shots long back when he started his career. Hitting the ball for six over keeper's head.

Pakistani batsmen overall are 10-15 years behind the rest of the world especially their neighbors and that is a fact. The PCB seriously needs to wake up to this batting emergency in the country.

It's just a great option to have. He doesn't overdo it. He attempted this shot just twice and was successful. There's also a video of him practising it. If one's confident and picks the right kind of ball to attempt it, there's nothing wrong with it. Anderson shot just demoralized the bowler and the Archer shot was a master stroke as well. The typical oldies or boomers as you would call them don't understand it. The game is evolving and 360 shots are a norm. People like Morgan can play a reverse sweep as well as a conventional sweep. The next gen players are always looking to score and it's good for the game.

I'd say Dilshan's dilscooping fast bowlers (pretty sure he did it to Starc when touring Australia, but it was a while ago) was more impressive than the reverse sweeping of a fast bowler.

Regardless, Pant is a crazy stroke player, great to watch. To answer the question, no, I don't think there is a Pak batsman who can do it.

I'd say Dilshan's dilscooping fast bowlers (pretty sure he did it to Starc when touring Australia, but it was a while ago) was more impressive than the reverse sweeping of a fast bowler.

Regardless, Pant is a crazy stroke player, great to watch. To answer the question, no, I don't think there is a Pak batsman who can do it.

Add McCullum to that as well. He played those scoops to Tait bowling at 150KPH.
I have not seen any one apart from Pant play a Reverse Sweep.. which is equally ridiculous and dangerous..especially against Archer who has pace and bounce.. No less.
The OP's concern was mostly that are their Pakistani players who have such a mindset and freedom to play such shots.. From the current lot.

Pakistani batsmen overall are 10-15 years behind the rest of the world especially their neighbors and that is a fact. The PCB seriously needs to wake up to this batting emergency in the country.

Yeah. That is the point everyone seems to be missing.

It's just a great option to have. He doesn't overdo it. He attempted this shot just twice and was successful. There's also a video of him practising it. If one's confident and picks the right kind of ball to attempt it, there's nothing wrong with it. Anderson shot just demoralized the bowler and the Archer shot was a master stroke as well. The typical oldies or boomers as you would call them don't understand it. The game is evolving and 360 shots are a norm. People like Morgan can play a reverse sweep as well as a conventional sweep. The next gen players are always looking to score and it's good for the game.

This is the thing. Hafeez in a recent interview admitted that the Pakistani players do not practice power hitting and innovative stroke play in the nets which is unbelievable and criminally unacceptable given that these Pakistani players have been playing non-stop for the last 10 years where the rest of the Big 5 batsmen have completely evolved their stroke play to other levels where scores of 400 plus have been consistently achieved. Hafeez also revealed that he only got an eye opener when he started playing these T-20 leagues worldwide from 2019 onwards and he saw how hard the West Indies players practiced, worked on their power hitting skills in the nets which explained why Pakistani batsmen are unable to add an extra 70 plus runs to their batting totals vs rest of the world. He also revealed that he took up golf as he found it a very relaxing leisure sport but over time it dawned on him that the golf technique, swing actually ended up perfecting his batting stance, swing and hitting technique which is why he started to strongly recommend to players at the NCA to take up the sport.

What troubles me about these revelations is that Hafeez himself has been a consistent regular senior player for Pakistan in the last 10 years and it took him this long to observe all these learnings with regards to how the Modern ODI and T-20 game is played?

IMO, the solution is to get rid of all the dinosaur coaches we have in our domestic cricket and to bring in foreign experts who can fast track the closure of this gap.

Rohail Nazir is the guy who is leaps and bounds better than Pant isn't he? [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION]

Bet he can do all Pant can and more.

He may in the future, but right now he cannot. Pant has the backing of the management as well as the confidence to play those shots. These are high risk shots , you need the backing of management and captain to try them in a match situation.

Not entirely sure, there is a famous Bruce Lee saying "I don't practice a hundred different kicks, i practice one kick a hundred times to perfect it". Our players do not practice these kind of shots day in, day out in the nets unlike ABD, Maxwell, Mccullam, Pant and it shows.

This is the thing. Hafeez in a recent interview admitted that the Pakistani players do not practice power hitting and innovative stroke play in the nets which is unbelievable and criminally unacceptable given that these Pakistani players have been playing non-stop for the last 10 years where the rest of the Big 5 batsmen have completely evolved their stroke play to other levels where scores of 400 plus have been consistently achieved. Hafeez also revealed that he only got an eye opener when he started playing these T-20 leagues worldwide from 2019 onwards and he saw how hard the West Indies players practiced, worked on their power hitting skills in the nets which explained why Pakistani batsmen are unable to add an extra 70 plus runs to their batting totals vs rest of the world. He also revealed that he took up golf as he found it a very relaxing leisure sport but over time it dawned on him that the golf technique, swing actually ended up perfecting his batting stance, swing and hitting technique which is why he started to strongly recommend to players at the NCA to take up the sport.

What troubles me about these revelations is that Hafeez himself has been a consistent regular senior player for Pakistan in the last 10 years and it took him this long to observe all these learnings with regards to how the Modern ODI and T-20 game is played?

IMO, the solution is to get rid of all the dinosaur coaches we have in our domestic cricket and to bring in foreign experts who can fast track the closure of this gap.

I read the Hafeez interview as well. Especially about the WI players. We assume their strength was the sole reason for those big sixes but the technique and the ability to hold one's shape are probably more important. The best part is that these skills came be acquired. So, we should celebrate those players that have the will to put in time and the guts to execute them in a game. I respect Hafeez for precisely doing the same. The coaches these days make sure the next gen is graduating with these strokes in their arsenal. As fans we need to understand that the game is not just about percentage shots anymore. A quick 30 in 15 balls is more valuable than a 50 in 40 balls in T20 cricket especially when teams don't get all out.

Not entirely sure, there is a famous Bruce Lee saying "I don't practice a hundred different kicks, i practice one kick a hundred times to perfect it". Our players do not practice these kind of shots day in, day out in the nets unlike ABD, Maxwell, Mccullam, Pant and it shows.

Practicing in nets is a different thing but in a live match its different , if you get out it makes you look like a real fool.

Such a childish thread &#55357;&#56900; and silly question. It's like asking can any Indian batsmen be in the position to play a scoop and then change his mind because the shot is not on and then play reverse scoop to Shaheen Shah Afridi like ROHAIL NAZIR did?

Exactly. Its a high risk silly shot anyways.

And for guys claiming Pak batsmen were never inventive, we were way ahead of the pack in the past only to be put back by a generation of lousy cricketers. A lot of the posters may have forgotten or were too young when the 1999 world cup was on, but Moin Khan played some outrageous shots off some of the best bowlers of the time (sneak peak here: https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x28u30t ) ... I even recall him playing a sweepshot off one of the SA bowlers (maybe it was Alan Donald if my memory serves me right). So yes been there, done that.

I think Pakistani batsmen were innovative and street smart , just that they have kind of gone down hill..and now teams analyze video footage consistently to make plans for these batsmen

Doesn't t20 need high risk shots unlike ODIs

That is why we are discussing about current generation of batsmen.
An no, Moin Khan's shots are not at outrageous as this one.
Those shots were played by batters in most teams those days.

Pant is extremely talented but these kind of shots make you look incredibly stupid if they don't come off. If one of our players gets out like this, there will be 10 threads bashing them for attempting it.

Misbah tried it once. Fans still abuse him for that. :inti
_ed0ff5da-d467-11ea-9eb6-4e4101534b74.jpg

LOL, the only issue is that Misbah did it agaisnt a trundler and had no pace to work with. Pity India didn't have any quick bowlers otherwise that would have been a clear six :)

No batsman in the current Pakistan team can think about playing that shot, let alone playing it.

In Pakistan, hitter means anyone who can hit cow corner. It's like how it was in the 90s, pinch hitters - that's still the definition going around in Pakistan cricket.

LOL, the only issue is that Misbah did it agaisnt a trundler and had no pace to work with. Pity India didn't have any quick bowlers otherwise that would have been a clear six :)

You mean like how Harbhajan smashed pace demon Shoaib for a six and then Amir off the penultimate ball to win the 2008 Asia Cup game? :amir2

I'd argue many players in Pakistan and around the world can play these kinds of shots.

However, they do not have the confidence to do so - because the ecosystem around them is based on cronyism, mistrust and doubt. When you are not sure of your place, you become conservative - as has been the case for Pakistan for a decade.

The last players I saw play with freedom were Aamir 1.0 and Umar Akmal 1.0.

One look at Ishan yesterday and you know Indian system allows for expressing yourself. Rishabh has got a tremendously long rope and is now delivering.

Trundlers helped kick off our T20 World Cup streak against Pakistan, from that Misbah shot to the one earlier where we hit the stumps 3/3 times in the bowl out after the group game, while the "greatest fast bowling attack in the world" couldn't do so even once. :batman:

It was in 2010 and pace demon Shobby got smashed after sledging Harbhajan no less :srini
Oh yeah. 2010. Shobby's reaction as he was walking off was very sweet :rabada2

Trundlers helped kick off our T20 World Cup streak against Pakistan, from that Misbah shot to the one earlier where we hit the stumps 3/3 times in the bowl out after the group game, while the "greatest fast bowling attack in the world" couldn't do so even once. :batman:

Even Uthappa knocked the stumps over unlike :)))

Playing an odd shot here and there? Yes.

Playing consistently like Pant? Well.

lol, that was really shabby from their bowlers. Not even 1 hit in 3 tries!

Trundlers are usually better at hitting at stumps as only way they can even make even domestic sides is if they can bowl wicket to wick at will.

That was not the greatest fast bowling attack at the time although it made it as far as the final.

Oh bhai yeh kya pant pant lagaya houa hai. Pakistan is one of the best T20 teams in the world. Yeh shots Afridi Apni jawani mein khel chuka hai, Aur Razzaq was a beast as well. Current T20 is a v good team aur pants se bhi achi shots khel leta hain hum kya batein kar rahe ho, absolutely pointless thread this.