[VIDEO] Caption This: Younis Khan and Yasir Shah

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/447933827?title=0&byline=0&portrait=0" width="480" height="480" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

ys4.JPGys1.JPGys5.JPGys2.JPGys3.JPG

In the UK you wouldn’t see two men doing that. They would think you are gay. Especially with him sitting like that aswell

Definitely classed as odd behaviour in some parts of the world.

Some serious media training needed for our guys

That's it.

We, the fans, forget that most of these guys come from very very different backgrounds than ours. To expect them to conduct themselves as we would is not fair. Such behavior is quite common in the masses and most of our cricket team comprises of them.

It's a little sad but the team is also just a reflection of Pakistan's socio-economic status.

LOL seriously?

This is very normal / common in Pakistan.

Doesn't make it normal even if it's common. This is a very odd behavior, especially during a international sporting event when hundreds of people are watching you.

You can only do this when it doesn't even occur to you how it might be seen as. Attitudes in the west have changed so much that this sort of affectionate "grooming", once pretty normal perhaps, can now be seen in an entirely different light.

Oh please. People were fawning over the two Australian players being friendly in the dressing room balcony a few years ago. Stuff happens in a dressing room. Players spend so much time together, they are friendly with each other. Think of yourself sitting around with your friends. This is fairly normal.

Non-issue. Afridi “kissed” Junaid after that six in Asia Cup 2014, Indian Players have been noticed oggling and high-fiving after seeing streakers in Australia, Stoinis and some other Aussie guy were seen being all chummy... list goes on.

Don’t think there is any conflict of interest or breach of professionalism at risk here, which hopefully was your concern and why you started the thread :)

Oh please. People were fawning over the two Australian players being friendly in the dressing room balcony a few years ago. Stuff happens in a dressing room. Players spend so much time together, they are friendly with each other. Think of yourself sitting around with your friends. This is fairly normal.

Okay, this is certainly not how friends sit around with each other. What in the world? Like, I understand that masses in Pak aren't that aware of social norms and hence I don't blame these two, but those on this forum finding this normal is quite shocking.

It is pretty normal for a coach to feel paternalistic towards his players.

Mountain out of a molehill.

YK: get ready to bat only my child... u aint bowling in these conditions..
Genius Misbah: no he shoukd open the bowlig...

Men go hand in hand in Pakistan.
Can't see anything wrong with it.
Just because it's not normal in western culture does not make it wrong.

I'm sorry but that's a load of nonsense. Just because something isn't common in the west doesn't make it wrong or unacceptable. They did absolutely nothing wrong, you can't police every interaction someone has just because it might seem odd to someone else.

I understand your pov; But try and understand mind. We dont live in a vacuum. What is fine in our society does not sit well in others and perceptions matter. That's all I am saying and this no blot on how we live etc.

Okay, this is certainly not how friends sit around with each other. What in the world? Like, I understand that masses in Pak aren't that aware of social norms and hence I don't blame these two, but those on this forum finding this normal is quite shocking.

You're being pretty ignorant here. Social norms are a product of the society in which they are developed, they're not universal. Also the "masses in Pakistan" have their own social norms that have no obligation to follow your idea of what that should be. Friends are free to sit around and interact with each other however they like, it's all dependant on their comfort level with each other.

I understand your pov; But try and understand mind. We dont live in a vacuum. What is fine in our society does not sit well in others and perceptions matter. That's all I am saying and this no blot on how we live etc.

Fair enough, I get sometimes you have to alter your behaviour a bit in different parts of the world. There has to a limit though, this interaction is harmless and I can't imagine anyone in England getting upset over it, certainly not enough to require our players to train out those behaviours.

You're being pretty ignorant here. Social norms are a product of the society in which they are developed, they're not universal. Also the "masses in Pakistan" have their own social norms that have no obligation to follow your idea of what that should be. Friends are free to sit around and interact with each other however they like, it's all dependant on their comfort level with each other.

Is it normal in Pakistan for guys to do what Younis is doing to Yasir? :yk2

Fair enough, I get sometimes you have to alter your behaviour a bit in different parts of the world. There has to a limit though, this interaction is harmless and I can't imagine anyone in England getting upset over it, certainly not enough to require our players to train out those behaviours.

Bro, we all do stuff we do in private but when out in the open, we act differently. This is where training comes into play - its to do with media sensitivity. We have example of Sarfaraz in the past who may have said something which is quite acceptable in some parts of Pak society but caused a storm elsewhere.

I don't disagree with you that we change behaviours in public settings, I'm saying this particular behaviour shouldn't have to be changed because it is completely and utterly harmless.

Agree to disagree, but I have understood your point.

Its cute, what's wrong with it? I see so much prudishness here, there is no need, they are just being friendly, this is very common in India and Pakistan (from what some posters said).

Definitely odd for us living in the west to see such behaviour, but in Pakistan this is normal, thus nothing wrong with it.

I thought this was just a light-hearted moment, nothing more. Funny, if anything.

The Stoinis and Zampa incident was the same. It went viral with people being amused.

Did anybody even provide a caption? :(

YK: Puthar doosra theesra they are all the same ….. batsmen will give you wicket don't worry.
I trained them too.

Looked creepy rather than light-hearted.

I wouldn't want another man stroking my hair.

Yasir Shah: " Younis bhai Azhar or Asad ko khilate kyun hein him? Un se behtar batting to mein kar leta hun".

Younis who doesn't have an answer starts affectionately brushing Yasir's hair... Meanwhile music starts playing in the background ***"Tere masoom sawalon se... Pareshan hun mein.. Tujh se naraz nahi zindagi....."**

Thats why talented plus educated people should be chosen to represent country at international level.

Yeah 10000 runs and fastest to 200 guess that doesn’t matter haha.

The commotion in this thread is much ado about nothing. It’s more paternalistic and patronizing than anything else. Younis Khan is a father figure to most in the dressing room and acts as such.

Lastly, they can do whatever they want and are comfortable with, if they don’t think it’s weird then why is this an issue?

Looked creepy rather than light-hearted.

I wouldn't want another man stroking my hair.

In my case that couldnt happen as not much hair :D

Caption:

Dekho beta tumhari googly buss ballon mai hee hai, mai dhoondta hoon

Yeah 10000 runs and fastest to 200 guess that doesn’t matter haha.

The commotion in this thread is much ado about nothing. It’s more paternalistic and patronizing than anything else. Younis Khan is a father figure to most in the dressing room and acts as such.

Lastly, they can do whatever they want and are comfortable with, if they don’t think it’s weird then why is this an issue?

They are representing the whole Nation, not only their family. These things can be normal in their own region not in whole Pakistan. And at international level you have show the maturity and highness which country expects from you.. Not something which your region is doing..
It hardly matters how much amount of runs you have scored, if by chance some wrong tag is added with you..

I dont see what the issue is They arent braking any laws

Is this illegal? This kinda behaviour isnt out of the ordinary in some parts of pakistan so no issue

This is a normal behavior in subcontinent but may seem as abnormal behavior in western countries.

Caption: Maybe if I massage your head, you can bowl with better accuracy.

In the UK you wouldn’t see two men doing that. They would think you are gay. Especially with him sitting like that aswell

Definitely classed as odd behaviour in some parts of the world.

That's it.

We, the fans, forget that most of these guys come from very very different backgrounds than ours. To expect them to conduct themselves as we would is not fair. Such behavior is quite common in the masses and most of our cricket team comprises of them.

It's a little sad but the team is also just a reflection of Pakistan's socio-economic status.

LOL seriously?

This is very normal / common in Pakistan.

Doesn't make it normal even if it's common. This is a very odd behavior, especially during a international sporting event when hundreds of people are watching you.

Pathetic behavior. Younas Khan is a clown.

Like others have said this is normal behavior, also someone from the younger generation I can tell you guys that lately in the west there's been a strong effort to counter toxic masculinity and men shying away from expressing themselves, if anything we should be proud that in our culture masculinity is not so fragile that two grown men can outwardly express their bromance/camarederie or whatever you wanna call. Also it's nothing to do with class, I don't why Pakistanis are so elitist that they look down on what's considered the norm among the middle and working classes. Reminds me of rich white people in America complaining about how Black players in the NBA/NFL and working class white people in nascar "conduct" themselves. The word "Conduct" in itself is such a condescending and paternalistic word, it's like you're implying that these "uncouth" people are beneath you and they have to be "civilized". I hope one day Pakistanis can shed their ingrained elitist attitude like the west has.

Some strange takes here.... It's just an innocent moment between two people who clearly have a lot of love and respect for each other. Normalize expressing affection for each other through harmless gestures, life is too short to worry about stuff like this.

We all seen the indian players touching each others butts and khawaja doing something similar aswell.

Compared to that, this is nothing

At it again :D

movfLVU.png

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="et" dir="ltr">Mohammad Rizwan:<br><br>Wicket-keeper<br>Batsman<br>Masseur<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/hVmn817tWQ">pic.twitter.com/hVmn817tWQ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1300084468733169665?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 30, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Younis Khan today "I've been working with all of the boys on this tour in any way I can. I've even helped Mohammad Hafeez on his golf swing and Yasir Shah on his hairstyle" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvPAK</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1300409780239044609?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 31, 2020</a></blockquote>