[VIDEO] "I would've banned Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis forever": Ramiz Raja

RR was praising the 2Ws, until he was ousted as PCB Chairman and now claims he would have banned the 2Ws.

Why?

Moreover, while RR was Chairman he made it clear the like of Mohammed Amir would never return to Pakistan cricket, why did he not mention 2 Ws in the same breath at the time if Rr was against fixers?

That's the point.

Why was he prepared to sit next to them in the commentary box and work with them when he was allegedly so anti-corrupt cricketers.

In fact in Wasim Akram's book he says that Ramiz was actually sorting out the commentary rotas when he was Chairman.

In another interview, Ramiz Raja:

"Unfortunately, I played at a time when there were too many controversies. I can't tolerate that nine players are playing for a win, while two players are playing to lose. There is a sense of betrayal. If it was a first-time incident, then you could have said, 'ok this is the first instance, let's move on'. But here we have such events every three to four years. Till where can you in forgiving them?"

When the news anchor said, "So, you wanted to make an example out of Mohammad Amir?"; Ramiz replied: "Not Amir, Jitne bhi tainted players hai, unke liye mujhe koi mohabbat nahi hai (I have no love for tainted players)."

NDTV

As an Indian, I support Ramiz in doing his bit against match fixers. Since match fixing came to light, I have had doubt on many results and do not watch the games as keenly as before. It seems like match fixing money somehow supports cricket, which is why it is not going away.

There was no need for Ramiz to say these things, now. Serve no purpose.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kabhi hum main tum main bi payar tha… Life is way too short to dislike or hate someone <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@wasimakramlive</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Mushy_online?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Mushy_online</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Inzamam08?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Inzamam08</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/MoinKOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MoinKOfficial</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/JavedMiandadpk?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JavedMiandadpk</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/iramizraja?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iramizraja</a> Last time we met Qadir Bhai.. I miss him dearly <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RIP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RIP</a> <a href="https://t.co/IODyWj5MIX">pic.twitter.com/IODyWj5MIX</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1612670227430670336?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 10, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Admire his stance and he may well have been roadblocked by administration reducing his effectiveness

I agree with Rameez Raja on this stance! Even though he removed Misbah and was a bad pcb chairman, i will still consider him as the best chairmanw e ever had just for keeping fixers out of the team

You can't be serious.

The players banned in the 90s were banned for life, and none of them ever returned to playing cricket.

The one's who do fix in franchise cricket are either poor, unknowns, or looking to make a fast buck because they know they may not get another chance to play cos they are rubbish.

Higher saleries help immensely. If a player is paid £1000000 a year, he has no reason to bowl a no ball for a paltry £1000.

Though what I would say is this, that making an example of a corrupt player can go a long way depending on punishment. A simple ban with no exceptions is not as effective as putting a fixer in jail for 10 years minimum. And yes, the Pak trio were sentenced to prison in the UK, which will act as a deterrent to any player thinking about fixing in the UK, but not in Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh where this is no custodial punishment for fixing.

Give him a break. He has probably never heard of Hansie Cronje, Salim Malik and Mohammad Azharuddin. Which is probably why he is giving this expert opinion on the matter.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kabhi hum main tum main bi payar tha… Life is way too short to dislike or hate someone <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@wasimakramlive</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Mushy_online?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Mushy_online</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Inzamam08?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Inzamam08</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/MoinKOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MoinKOfficial</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/JavedMiandadpk?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JavedMiandadpk</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/iramizraja?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iramizraja</a> Last time we met Qadir Bhai.. I miss him dearly <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RIP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RIP</a> <a href="https://t.co/IODyWj5MIX">pic.twitter.com/IODyWj5MIX</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1612670227430670336?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 10, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Classy stuff by Waqar. Just forget the past, enjoy the life and be greatful to Allah SWT for all the blessings He has given.

More from Ramiz

"I did not come here to fight my case. For a year and a half, I focused on continuity and growth. It's an abuse that you come forward by bulldozing the constitution. This is an abuse of youth, as they will wonder what is going on here"

"There have been attempts to force things. A great team has been made for white-ball cricket as many stars have been developed. If you change the team, it will get negative results and nothing will be achieved. Pakistan has played in the final of the World Cup, is it a small thing? Babar and company's focus is on cricket"

"Those involved in fixing and that are tainted are not regarded well. Such people have no regard in my book. I am from an era when nine players were fighting for the win while two were just playing around."

"It means you're tweaking things unnecessarily, putting the white-ball team under pressure. There is no point in this. The white ball team is extraordinary"

"Sarfaraz Ahmed has always been a part of the team. The coach and captain have to choose from 16. I have tried to make the captain strong"

Fixing is present in all leagues and international cricket regardless of so called deterrents.

The underground bookies are making a killing because they have inside information and connections to different players either directly or indirectly and that is a fact.

There is no doubt that match/spot fixing is wrong however corruption is prevalent in all walks of life in every institution.

If you have a red line for cricket then you have to be consistent and have red line for everything else.