[VIDEO] ICC World Cup 2019 : Turning Lords' into Lahore during Pakistan vs South Africa game

TalhaSyed

An unforgettable experience alhumdullilah!

An excellent venue!

A phenomenal crowd!

A spectacular result!

Amazing atmosphere!

Good job with the Video. My favourite bit was when they pumped Amir up.

We should request to have all our matches played here. Pak is unbeatable at Lords :))

Anybody else cringed when the two uncles were talking during the anthem. Have some respect babus :danish

Damn lovely video.... got me all pumped up :akhtar

The atmosphere was absolutely electric today both in and out the ground. For those who couldn't be there, I've uploaded a short video showing what happened in the streets following Pakistan's victory.

https://youtu.be/NUIznFT6JDY

Old Trafford is another ground where Pakistan gets immense support.
Isn't that where the India game was? If so, why so much blue? I know there is another thread on that tipic, but surely can't be an ICC trick. Why didn't Pakistanis turn up that game? Looked like it was in India

Pakistan had just as much support against Windies and Aussies. You can't fault lack of support. But it's nice to see the crowd getting some recognition, we do spend a lot of our money and time in supporting this team, good to get something in return for it.

Amazing atmosphere!

Bro i was there. Just at the other side of the bowlers pavilion. I think the family stand made the most noise and the atmosphere was amazing.

Regardless we make it or not in the semis. We must support pakistan team. They need our help and support.

1 question Waqar Younis did ask and it shut everyone mouth was “where were you guys in the india match”. It was a killer question.😬

Isn't that where the India game was? If so, why so much blue? I know there is another thread on that tipic, but surely can't be an ICC trick. Why didn't Pakistanis turn up that game? Looked like it was in India

Large number of tickets are given to sponsors, which mostly happen to be Indian.

Plus, Indians must have been better organised in buying the online tickets.

Otherwise Pakistanis outnumber Indians in Old Trafford

Great great video!

‘Hai jazba hai junoon, tu himmat na haar’

Thanks [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION] for sharing this video!

Pakistani Media are actually stating that this Passionate support at Lords was better than anything they have seen in Pakistan.

Large number of tickets are given to sponsors, which mostly happen to be Indian.

they also have more money than anyone. According to journalists one particular India "tycoon" was offering to buy up all the VIP boxes in the pak vs india match but wasnt allowed to. One thing people need to realise about india fans is they want to dominate everything. The supprot , their coverage, everything. Everything has to be about India no matter what. And this is very prevalent amongst British born indian fans..probably more so than the Indian born ones who i find a bit more chilled and more prone to being critical about india..

There was obvious demand from pakistan fans but ICC allocated a majority proportion to the indian fans instead of allocating evenly to both sets of supporterz

I know dozens of pakistan fans who put their name in the balllot but came away with nothing

It has nothing to do with the lack of support from the pakistan fans in the north

goosebumps..wish I could have gone..i was so close to getting tickets for this one..but couldnt get them..one of my old school mates was there too lol..

last time I was at lords was in 1992 when wiqi and was played against england..atmosphere was nothing like this..full of toffee nosed england supporters who had a problem witha handful of us pakistan supporters..to the point where they started swearing at the Pakistan zindabad chant..

goosebumps..wish I could have gone..i was so close to getting tickets for this one..but couldnt get them..one of my old school mates was there too lol..

last time I was at lords was in 1992 when wiqi and was played against england..atmosphere was nothing like this..full of toffee nosed england supporters who had a problem witha handful of us pakistan supporters..to the point where they started swearing at the Pakistan zindabad chant..

I had tickets but could not get out of work! Ive literally made provisions for every Pak match, but this is the only one I could not arrange time for, incidentally it was the only one I had tickets for too. :(

Listen to this debate on this subject, at around 13 minutes 30 secs, you will hear what the founder of the 'Bharat Army’ has to say.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m0005wfb
Officially, 11,000 ticket packages were sold by just one Indian ICC partner 'Bharat Army' to overseas Indians.
There were approximately 80,000 visa applications from Indians for this world cup, so there were many over here without tickets paying £1000+ just for this occasion.
Hence, you have a massive Indian following at the match.

Listen to this debate on this subject, at around 13 minutes 30 secs, you will hear what the founder of the 'Bharat Army’ has to say.
Officially, 11,000 ticket packages were sold by just one Indian ICC partner 'Bharat Army' to overseas Indians.
There were approximately 80,000 visa applications from Indians for this world cup, so there were many over here without tickets paying £1000+ just for this occasion.

The Bharat army have come a long way. they used to be a rag tag fan group a few years ago but have monetised their support. maybe Pakistani fans need to use this as an example.

An unforgettable experience alhumdullilah!

An excellent venue!

A phenomenal crowd!

A spectacular result!

Turning Lords into Pakistan, no?

Or were there only expats from Lahore there?

Also it is strange isnt it, how Pakistani fans can sell out a near 30k seat stadium yet we hear there werent enough applicants for the India/Pak match, which is why less than 20% of tickers went to them.

The ICC really has to sort itself out.

Wonder how many of thr 80k were granted a visa?

The Bharat army have come a long way. they used to be a rag tag fan group a few years ago but have monetised their support. maybe Pakistani fans need to use this as an example.

Bharat Army is official fan club of Indian team, they are registered with both BCCI and ICC.

Stani Army has been crying about the same for quite some time now but PCB don't seem to be interested at all.

Amazing game probably the best one i've ever been to, the atmosphere was electric from ball one, it had more of a football match feel to it with the crowd getting behind the players and singing their hearts out. The highlights for me were seeing the English public get behind us and also sing along to DIL DIL Pakistan lets hope the team uses this energy to press on and make the semis.

Several reasons apparently including ICC asking who the fan is supporting, Indian fans tend to be wealthier, Indians are more organised, tickets resell at a very high price etc.

I went to a PAK v England T20 a few years back at Old Trafford...there were 80% Pak fans.

What an amazing atmosphere yesterday...went with my son and still high on the feeling. Even the English family with the cute kids in front of me were cheering on Pakistan!

Bharat Army is official fan club of Indian team, they are registered with both BCCI and ICC.

Stani Army has been crying about the same for quite some time now but PCB don't seem to be interested at all.

we used to have some members of the stani army on this forum but they seem to have vanished...maybe pakpassion can help get pak fans organised?

This!

Amazing! Thanks for sharing.

Great great video!

‘Hai jazba hai junoon, tu himmat na haar’

Thanks [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION] for sharing this video!

Damn lovely video.... got me all pumped up :akhtar

Amazing atmosphere!

Thanks guys - gad you enjoyed the video.

I am paying the price for it today and have lost my voice but was totally worth it :)

When I recording the videos in the OP and pulling together all the clips last night - I was getting goosebumps from the videos alone....

..I can't even explain what it felt like to actually be in the ground at the time :)

Just hope we can continue this run inshAllah in our remaining games.

Have to say in the UK they always pump up Amir.

Always you hear them chanting his name!

Amir has been though so much in his life already - it's crazy

This was an 18 year old Amir at Lords in 2010 in the aftermath of the spot fixing scandal

500_F_152846798_lSwmHpNWu1GnmaFGW5ZCaTPJSF0aUPy6.jpg

This was a 27 year old Amir at Lords in 2019 making his way to the top of the CWC2019 wicket takers list alhumdullilah

c1e7b2616aecc0da8117a786a311bda02832c7f2.jpg

Turning Lords into Pakistan, no?

Or were there only expats from Lahore there?

Also it is strange isnt it, how Pakistani fans can sell out a near 30k seat stadium yet we hear there werent enough applicants for the India/Pak match, which is why less than 20% of tickers went to them.

The ICC really has to sort itself out.

L for Lords - L for Lahore.

Don't take the fun out of things with petty regional differences :)

In my immediate family alone I have people who were born in Punjab, born in Sindh, born in Federal Areas and heck even born in India. I have only visited Lahore once in my life for 1 week and have no regional alliances. However, even I know the title of "Turning Lords in Lahore" has a much better ring to it then "Turning Lords in to Pakistan".

Move along man and focus on the positives rather than doing the typical Pakistani thing of causing rifts between people over petty silly regional issues. If the fans to do this we cannot get annoyed when we hear rumors (emphasis on rumors) of divisions within our team.

And yes - the ticketing system was a shambles and ICC should look into it

L for Lords - L for Lahore.

Don't take the fun out of things with petty regional differences :)

In my immediate family alone I have people who were born in Punjab, born in Sindh, born in Federal Areas and heck even born in India. I have only visited Lahore once in my life for 1 week and have no regional alliances. However, even I know the title of "Turning Lords in Lahore" has a much better ring to it then "Turning Lords in to Pakistan".

Move along man and focus on the positives rather than doing the typical Pakistani thing of causing rifts between people over petty silly regional issues. If the fans to do this we cannot get annoyed when we hear rumors (emphasis on rumors) of divisions within our team.

And yes - the ticketing system was a shambles and ICC should look into it

I think your title is the more rift causing factor but it is ok, I was being quite tongue in cheek about the whole thing. Possibly did not come across well when written.

My bigger point was, and still is the ticketing scandal, one which needs to be investigated.

I think your title is the more rift causing factor but it is ok, I was being quite tongue in cheek about the whole thing. Possibly did not come across well when written.

My bigger point was, and still is the ticketing scandal, one which needs to be investigated.

Sure - lets agree to disagree on the first point :)

But yes I agree - the whole ticketing system in general needs sorting out and was a complete shambles this time around.

Sure - lets agree to disagree on the first point :)

But yes I agree - the whole ticketing system in general needs sorting out and was a complete shambles this time around.

I would not even like to use the term shambles, as that insinuates there were mistakes made, possibly unintended.

The ICC purposefully undersold tickets to a large and vibrant Pakistani fanbase that can sell out any stadium in this country. The PCB needs to take this up and show some spine.

Excellent support. Thanks to everyone who attended the match & lifted players moral. Can we expect similar crowd at birmingham?

You could see the look on the Pakistan players faces when the crowds were cheering them on, visibly lifted by the crowds support players like Shaheen, Haris etc who are finding their way in international cricket have probably never experienced something like this, PSL in Pak probably came close but without being there i can probably say the Lords atmosphere i witnessed yesterday was better than the PSL, UK Pakistanis know how to create hype. lets get behind the team and carry on for the rest of the tournament, save the criticism for the PP forums.

Amazing. I hope we get a similar atmosphere at Birmingham as i will be going to the game.

can't watch.. possible to upload on youtube, vimoe etc?
great to see excellent turnout and support from fans..

Brilliant video. Scenes inshAllah when we qualify for the semifinals and give massive phaintis to opposition in the semi and the final.

inshAllah.

Excellent support. Thanks to everyone who attended the match & lifted players moral. Can we expect similar crowd at birmingham?

InshAllah I will be in Birmingham and Leeds so I hope the crowd shows similar support there :)

I bet every Pakistani fan has a smartphone costing about £600! If they can afford gadgets, then tickets costing a couple of £100s is not even a challenge.

The crowd is the 12th man. No doubt the crowd makes a difference. I can only imagine how Amir is charged up when he hears his name chanted in the crowd in the 1000s. Amir! Amir! Amir! Simple vocal support can be the difference between average and superstar performance.

Yes. It is the X factor needed sometimes. Crowd Support gets your blood pumping and giving you that extra belief in your abilities, almost like a mental super power.
Who knows though? MAYBE, Indian fans WERE Ahead of the curve and bought out tickets in advance. Also, not saying we lost BECAUSE we did not have crowd support. This team needs serious work, as does Pakistani cricket in general. But, seeing Blue outnumber Green in such large numbers(90 to 10 as many people who attended have stated) just seems very unlikely simply because "More Indian fans applied" and "They have more money."

Pakistan get fantastic support in the UK, feels like a home away from home.

A million miles away from empty blue seats in Dubai where there's more players than fans.

You could see the look on the Pakistan players faces when the crowds were cheering them on, visibly lifted by the crowds support players like Shaheen, Haris etc who are finding their way in international cricket have probably never experienced something like this, PSL in Pak probably came close but without being there i can probably say the Lords atmosphere i witnessed yesterday was better than the PSL, UK Pakistanis know how to create hype. lets get behind the team and carry on for the rest of the tournament, save the criticism for the PP forums.

Yup every player was getting cheered which was great to see.

Towards the end of the game Shaheen was fielding in front of the stand I was in and you can see towards the end of the video he was asking the crowd to cheer loudly aftert he last ball was bowled. The crowd were chanting his name as if he was a superstar which would surely lift any one

Great video! Pakistan fans are on another level!

Some of the scenes on SKY were amazing too, like the mexican waves!

:)) Yea the uncle in the row behind me andhis son were trying for 2 hours to get the Mexican wave going. They asked me to help too but I was way too nervous regarding the game at that stage :P

Eventually when the wave got going they were so happy and it was an impressive wave - check 3:58 in the video if you havent already :)

Great vid and what an atmosphere.

I was at the Pak v India game and we were heavily outnumbered there, which wasn't great.

Unfortunately I wasn't at the game yesterday, but I will be at Edgbaston on Wednesday for the game vs NZ. I have no doubt it will be a similar atmosphere seen at Lord's.

Yup every player was getting cheered which was great to see.

Towards the end of the game Shaheen was fielding in front of the stand I was in and you can see towards the end of the video he was asking the crowd to cheer loudly aftert he last ball was bowled. The crowd were chanting his name as if he was a superstar which would surely lift any one

i was probably sitting not too far from you, i think the cheers got to his head towards the end missed a catch that he should have put more effort into and also could have saved a boundary :)). But its great to see especially after the videos doing the rounds on social media slagging the team off. The guys banging the stands on the higher tier near the screen was also excellent, still trying to get over the atmosphere made me really proud to be pakistani and the way the English fans were getting involved was something special. Even when the mexican wave reached the members stand the boos they got was all in good jest.

Ah nice man!

Yup absolutely! everyone got involved and made the whole occasion extremely memorable MarshAllah!

Yea the banging on the upper tier was so loud! I was concerned about the structural integrity of the stand at that stage! haha

Nice video.

Ive been to a lot of Pakistan matches but yesterday at Lords was one of the best in terms of atmosphere and surroundings. I moved around the stadium for different views. One of the highlights was the booeing of members when they failed to join in the mexican wave :yk

By the same logic as on the other thread, shouldn't RSA fans cry for discrimination based upon the crowd share?

If the other side doesnt have the capacity to fill there share then its prudent to sell to the opposition side.

Thats business sense and fair.

No one is crying. We're simply questioning as to why it was that way. Not even saying it's some conspiracy theory, but it is just odd how the Indian supporters outnumbered Pakistani supporters SO heavily. Was that the reason Pakistan lost? No. We played poorly and continue to do so(7 drops last match), but it's simply a question worth asking.

That's the way to do it lads. Indian fans are just sheer numbers only. Quality over quantity. :thumbsup

If the other side doesnt have the capacity to fill there share then its prudent to sell to the opposition side.

Thats business sense and fair.

the hypocrisy here is astounding. As long as it is convenient for you, it all makes sense and fair. But when it goes against, it is BCCIs conspiracy.

The whole aspect being questioned IS the capacity. Again, we can't say for sure, but to say Pakistanis in the UK did not have the CAPACITY to fill or at least fill the stadium to 30% in the India game is extremely hard to believe. The fact that crowd support was so HEAVILY tipped towards India is what is astonishing. Again, if Indian supporters are that organized and wealthy and progressive and all, then all credit to them. We are Simply raising a question.

500 people in line and 100 tickets and you give 70 of those to a particular group when 200 to half out of the total were of the other group.

Pak vs SA is like 120 people in line with 100 from 1 group and 20 from other and one group major part of the larger group gets 80-85 and other group gets 15-20 as they only had this much fans in total.

Its pretty simple to understand. There were huge number of Pak fans who wanted tickets for the Pak vs India game but Indians got more due to sponsors or whatever reason while in Pak vs SA, SA fans were pretty less to start with in UK.

Cant understand how the concept of hypocrisy applies here.

The whole aspect being questioned IS the capacity. Again, we can't say for sure, but to say Pakistanis in the UK did not have the CAPACITY to fill or at least fill the stadium to 30% in the India game is extremely hard to believe. The fact that crowd support was so HEAVILY tipped towards India is what is astonishing. Again, if Indian supporters are that organized and wealthy and progressive and all, then all credit to them. We are Simply raising a question.

At Manchester , Pakistan can easily fill a 100k capacity stadium if there ever was one. The north has many Pakistan fans. ICC shoulf have a look at things.

The Pakistan Vs India ticket situation is very odd.

It really comes down to how ICC wants to run and manage these matches.

I'm theory:

85% of tickets were sold to Indian fans. Which means the ratio of Indian fans to Pakistan fans was 6:1.

Inidias population is 1.3 billion whilst the Pakistani population is 197 million. That is a ratio of 7:1

Assuming the same percentage of population applied from each country - mathematically speaking India getting 85% of tickets makes sense.

However - India will ALWAYS massively out number any other country they play against so will the ICC just end up giving 85-95% of India game tickets to Indian fans?

Or will ICC make it harder for an individual in India to get tickets to India's game since they have a larger population?

I'm not sure which strategy is the correct one to adapt - however, given how much BCCI contributes to the ICC I'm pretty happy to bet on which strategy I think the ICC will adapt ..

Old Trafford is the where pak get the best support. but wherever india plays pakistan whether it be in birmigham manchester or london, its a mystery how indians outnumber pak fans.

Bro i was there. Just at the other side of the bowlers pavilion. I think the family stand made the most noise and the atmosphere was amazing.

Regardless we make it or not in the semis. We must support pakistan team. They need our help and support.

1 question Waqar Younis did ask and it shut everyone mouth was “where were you guys in the india match”. It was a killer question.😬

I was in that stand too was an amazing atmosphere. Brilliant day.

Another factor in India out numbering Pakistan at old Trafford was the aftermarket tickets. They were going at very prices and perhaps Indians more willing to pay.

Was at the ground. Was a loud roar everytime Pakistan hit a boundary or got a wicket. The atmosphere was electric.

Should have bought Pak v NZ ticket :(

I had no faith we will still have a chance by this stage of WC.

Lords atmosphere is always special.