[VIDEO] Imad Wasim speaks of taking action if ignored again for selection

Major

Imad Wasim speaking in an interview:

"I can sit here and say what I like but then there would be no differnce between them and me, the whole world knows what's what, the people of Pakistan also know about it; I had left this whole matter to them and also left it to the Almighty, as He is watching all this and He will do the best for me"

"However, I will say this again, that the way I had not been told about reasons (for not being selected) for more than a year will not happen again; My actions will be more important because I am at the stage of my life that if I am discarded again then I will have to take a step as well, so I will do my best to solve such issues in a professional way"

“I never suffered any financial loss while I was away from the team. In fact, I earned ten times more than what I would have earned while playing for Pakistan"

“I am confident in my abilities. If I was that bowler who is said to be dependent on the conditions then T20 leagues of Australia and South Africa would have not signed me"

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="SnHP5BW"><a href="https://imgur.com/SnHP5BW">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Maybe an implicit threat there somewhere but seems to have spoken in riddles.

There's no question that he was wrongly left out due to his strained relationship with Babar and Mohammad Wasim.

I believe Pakistan would have won their semi final against Australia had Imad not been prematurely taken out of the attack.

Imad might be a toxic individual but he is correct in identifying that his removal from the side was for non-cricketing reasons. Mohammad Nawaz is a rellu katta player in t20's compared to him.

He was rightfully picked in the T20i side. He has to be patient and InshaAllah he will be back in the ODI squad too

The reason why he was dropped is Nawaz was introduced to the squad, a player who is able to take wickets.

It just happens since being dropped, Pakistan don’t have any half decent batsmen playing in the middle order making Imad value increase.

He is talking about "action" if ignored again - that's how I am reading it.

What exactly can he do? He can’t take them to court as it’s the PCB’s right to pick/drop whoever they feel deserves or doesn’t deserve to play

Yes, some injustices are blatant. For that I hope whatever ‘action’ he does take can be useful for other players who have been done wrong

-Qadir picked ahead of Mir
-Shadab cemented spot ahead of Mir
-Nawaz preferred over Imad
-Shan Masood preferred over dozens of players in each format
-Babar and Rizwan given cemented opening positions in T20
-Rizwan pointlessly preferred over Sarfaraz in Test and ODI for a middle order batting position
-Every hit and Miss power hitter picked over Umar Akmal in the Pakistan side
-Fakhar Zaman forced to bat at 3 and set up to fail again and again

Just some of the many injustices taking place in Pakistan right now

Someone should tell him that playing for pakistan is a privledge not his birth right.

Very glad babar stepped in and had his name removed. He is just a useless bowler who cant spin the ball and throws darts. Might work in t20, but useless in odi

There's no question that he was wrongly left out due to his strained relationship with Babar and Mohammad Wasim.

I believe Pakistan would have won their semi final against Australia had Imad not been prematurely taken out of the attack.

Imad might be a toxic individual but he is correct in identifying that his removal from the side was for non-cricketing reasons. Mohammad Nawaz is a rellu katta player in t20's compared to him.

Nawaz is a proper spinner. Imad is a dartter. The only reason Imad makes it is due to his ability to score runs against weak teams.

In india, you need 2 proper spinners atleast.

Nawaz is competing with Abrar and Usama Mir. Imad falls out in the pecking order automatically.

Nawaz is a proper spinner. Imad is a dartter. The only reason Imad makes it is due to his ability to score runs against weak teams.

In india, you need 2 proper spinners atleast.

Nawaz is competing with Abrar and Usama Mir. Imad falls out in the pecking order automatically.

Imad is a better batsman than all of them combined

Who else is a safer option to bat at 6 for us?

Imad has an economy of 6.2 in International cricket whilst Nawaz goes at 7.3 but apparently Imad can’t bowl at international level according to Major

Imad is a better batsman than all of them combined

Who else is a safer option to bat at 6 for us?

Anyone who knows their Pakistan cricket would acknowledge that Imad is best suited for the no.6 role. He's definitely a better batsman than he is a bowler. You don't average 40+ in ODIs and FC cricket if you can't bat but no he's a "useless bowler" and a "darter". Shocking analysis.

Right now,

Imad is the best T20 middle order batsman in Pakistan. Prove me wrong. Who is better than him? He is better than Babar if Babar bats in his position too.

When it comes to white ball cricket, I don't pay as much attention to averages because it's not as relevant as used to be. I consider that to be a very traditional way of analysing white ball cricketers.

I look at wickets per game along with economy rates. That's a better way of assessing a bowler in a more batting friendly era like we have in the modern game.

Bowling averages can give a poor representation. You could have two ODI bowling figures where one is decent and the other is poor but have the same average. An example of this could be 2 wickets for 80 runs and 1 wicket for 40 runs. The averages are the same but we all know that the latter is significantly superior.

He's earned his place in t20is and can earn his ODI place as well by performing well in LA cricket. This is where the lack of LA and FC in Pak frustrates me. There's just one tournament for them while there are t20 tournaments every 2 months.

As far as I know, Mohammad Wasim was the primary guy who had a problem with Imad. Babar kept asking for Imad's inclusion in the wt20 2021 squad but the original squad the great Wasim had picked had Azam and Khushdil in it. Malik and Imad were late inclusions in the squad.

As soon as wt20 was over, Imad was dropped again, Malik was kept in the squad for Ban series while Hafeez opted out as he could see what Wasim was upto.

This is probably where Babar and Imad's relationship soured.

Imad's done well with the bat and should continue to do well. The good thing about his batting is his ability to target the straight boundaries down the ground.

Lots of irrelevant posts deleted and edited.

Watch what and how you write your posts.

Whether you bowl darts, with your eyes closed, on tiptoes, or however else, surely it's your performance that counts - economy rate being key in T20 cricket?

Thing with unnecessary personal rifts in the dressing room is that they will find a way to impact the team’s performance. From what I’ve read of his statements, there seems to be an underlying sense of resentment.

We can talk about how great his batting form is from PSL or how Amir would’ve won xyz game with bowling (not really anymore, but just an Eg)

But the way these guys talk about their relationship with the team, you’d rather not have them. More stress in dressing room = worse performance. P simple.

Neither Imad or Amir are game breaking either. Maybe Imad if he plays as a specialist bat, but even then…

Babar cops a lot of criticism for on field tactics and hogging the opener position. Fair enough. But one thing he’s done well is keeping the team united. And if that means taking out guys like Imad and Amir from the equation who don’t respect the team, then so be it.

Thing with unnecessary personal rifts in the dressing room is that they will find a way to impact the team’s performance. From what I’ve read of his statements, there seems to be an underlying sense of resentment.

We can talk about how great his batting form is from PSL or how Amir would’ve won xyz game with bowling (not really anymore, but just an Eg)

But the way these guys talk about their relationship with the team, you’d rather not have them. More stress in dressing room = worse performance. P simple.

Neither Imad or Amir are game breaking either. Maybe Imad if he plays as a specialist bat, but even then…

Babar cops a lot of criticism for on field tactics and hogging the opener position. Fair enough. But one thing he’s done well is keeping the team united. And if that means taking out guys like Imad and Amir from the equation who don’t respect the team, then so be it.

But this isn’t Babar’s personal club XI. They are Pakistan players. If they are so bad, they should not even be given domestic contracts and not allowed to participate in the domestic competition if the end goal is that they cannot be selected as long as Babar is the captain. You can’t deny opinionated individuals if their performances merit a position in the national side

Someone should tell him that playing for pakistan is a privledge not his birth right.

Very glad babar stepped in and had his name removed. He is just a useless bowler who cant spin the ball and throws darts. Might work in t20, but useless in odi

How do you justify leaving out someone who averages 41 with the bat at a strike rate of 110 in ODIs from the ODI team?

Especially given his recent from and that there are no apparent disciplinary concerns since he’s in the T20 team anyway.

Dont think he was making threats. Basically he is saying that he will take action to address the issue. So if the captain does not like him, he will try to have an honest conversation.

This guy is highly under estimated. In my eyes he is a T20 legend for Pakistan.

He has always performed above his abilities.

Wish the cricket board had guts to make him captain.

Great post by Suleiman bhai. You can’t just talk crap against your captain and then expect to get picked by him. That’s not how cricket is played. Them two guys kept crossing the boundary and took digs at Babar Azam non-stop.

Babar cops a lot of criticism for on field tactics and hogging the opener position. Fair enough. But one thing he’s done well is keeping the team united.

I am sorry but Babar is a like a slow cancer for the team. Utter selfish not leaving the opening slot. Dumb tactics. And then giving chances upon chances to his buddies such as Hassan Ali & Usman Qadir.

You call this uniting the team, I call this destroying the team.

Great post by Suleiman bhai. You can’t just talk crap against your captain and then expect to get picked by him. That’s not how cricket is played. Them two guys kept crossing the boundary and took digs at Babar Azam non-stop.

Babar doesn’t pick the squad. The selectors do. What did Imad say that was wrong about Babar?

Did Ponting and Warne see eye to eye? Did they not put aside their differences for national interest?

I am sorry but Babar is a like a slow cancer for the team. Utter selfish not leaving the opening slot. Dumb tactics. And then giving chances upon chances to his buddies such as Hassan Ali & Usman Qadir.

You call this uniting the team, I call this destroying the team.

People are fooled by this ‘team unity’ rubbish. You could well be United in a group of 10-15 people who are countlessly being selected without merit. For instance, why wouldn’t Khushdil, Iftikhar, Dahani, Asif Ali, Rauf, Shadab etc not be behind their skipper who keeps picking them for every tour and is allowing them to go to all of these wonderful places in the world, 5* hotels and first class travel in the name of ‘team unity’? On top of that, Babar is well known for building an eating out with the boys culture, so yes these particular 10-15 boys will always be behind him because they are living the life under his leadership!

This is all great for social clubs, but national team is not a cricket club on tour!

Imad was not performing when he was dropped.He was suspect against short pitched bowling.His bowling was good only in power play.It was risky to play him in middle overs because he doesn’t spin the ball. He was very good in PSL8 so if he can maintain the same form and intensity then he should be in national T20,

Tbh i agree. It is refreshing to see a united Pakistan team. Toxic personalities and grouping is the primary reason our golden generation of the 90's achieved practically nothing. It was a frustrating period overall.

Meanwhile Arteta's Arsenal are a fantastic testament to how a dressing room purged of negative personalities can overachieve.

Ultimately Babar's Pakistan has done pretty well in white ball cricket, though i do think Imad would have given us an edge had he consistently been in the team over the last couple of years.

I do want Imad back, but he must learn to keep his mouth shut. Imad was rightly dropped as he stopped working on his fitness and became a chimney. I think all that smoke has altered his brain chemistry and now he does not know when to keep his mouth shut.

What goes around, will come around

Tomorrow, someone will drop Babar all together from the T20i team without explanation (if he doesn’t retire himself), and he will also be wondering why he has been dropped even though he is averaging 50 as an opener with a 130sr in the PSL 2 seasons in a row. He will also lash out, he will also vent his frustration or people close to him on his behalf will.

You either die a hero in this world of cricket or you live long enough to become the villain

How do you justify leaving out someone who averages 41 with the bat at a strike rate of 110 in ODIs from the ODI team?

Especially given his recent from and that there are no apparent disciplinary concerns since he’s in the T20 team anyway.
1. Thats very old avg. Last time he was in odi team was two years ago
2. The avg is boosted due to not outs. He wasnt really that good as a batter in odis
3. We already have a spin all rounder in shadab.
4. We are going to india, we need proper spiners, when compared to others he is down the pecking order

Being a rellu katta he has a wide range of competition, because balance in team is also required, Nawaz Shadab Mir Agha Abrar are all his competitors where Nawaz and Agha have a potential to play a meaningful innings while Shadab Abrar etc are wicket takers unlike Imad who most of the time is in dart mode

Imad is completing with salman ali agha's spot essentially in odis so its pointless comparing him with shadab or nawaz.

What action can he take if not selected? Go to court?

He needs to figure out what’s wrong in his PR skills that he got off the wrong foot with the captain, and fix that part.

Yes, nothing is fair, but you gotta make the best with what you have.

Technically speaking, his main skill is opening the bowling attack with the new ball ONLY AND ONLY on the wicket that has a good amount of skid.

Otherwise, his bowling is toothless with the new and/or old ball.

Batting wise, he is a hit or a miss player but better than a couple of hacks in the team.

This statement will do him more “harm” than good.
Why would you even say something like that? It reflects why the management / captain didn’t wanted to have him in the team. And should be dropped alone on this statement.

I think imad is a must in t20s and you c an easily make a case for him in the ODI squad at the expense of Nawaz ho seems to be regressing

I get that Imad is upset at being discarded for a long time and I agree that there has always been a solid case for him, at least in T20s. However, his statement displays a level of arrogance that will do him more harm than good. I agree with [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] that nobody has a birth right to play for Pakistan and Imad unfortunately thinks he does.

The reality is that Imad was dropped as he was competing for a place with Nawaz. Nawaz has done a very good job since being selected. You would think from Imad’s statement that he had been discarded for a far inferior player, but the reality is not that at all. Yes in the recent PSL, Imad performed better than Nawaz, but it’s also true that for a long time in international cricket, Nawaz has been exceptional with ball and increasingly so with bat. Whilst Imad is good at holding up runs at one end, Nawaz is a wicket taker. This is why in ODI cricket where batsmen aren’t looking to hit out from ball 1, Imad doesn’t get any wickets.

Imad needs to learn to focus on his own performance, rather than make threats about what he will do if the powers above dare to drop him. Learn a bit of humility from far superior players, like Shaheen.

This What does he expect when he has a grudge against the captain of the national team and no 1 batsman of the country

Concentrate on improving your attitude and performance Why would babar want toxic personalities who will potentially harm the dressing room?

Imad should bat at 6 in odis and he's a genuine 5/6th bowling option.

Meaningless threats. Guy seems hangry in his interview, maybe the fasting playing a part.

I would have Imad in the ODI squad as backup. But we need a genuine frontline spinner and that's why Usama Mir needs maximum game-time.

Just to add the stats for ODI Bradman Imad here:

40 Innings.
17 Not Outs.
4 Fifties in a losing cause.
1 Fifty in a winning cause against Zimb.
44 Average in losing causes.

His most remarkable innings being the 49* against Afghanistan and going through his stats, it just performance after performance against top teams were the match is already over and his picking up the scraps of runs he can muster before the game ends or Pakistan set a sub par total.

Anyone that has seen him bat knows full well he is a bits and pieces batsman. Can you seriously say that he is at the batting level of a proper Batsman like Haris Sohail?

What goes around, will come around

Tomorrow, someone will drop Babar all together from the T20i team without explanation (if he doesn’t retire himself), and he will also be wondering why he has been dropped even though he is averaging 50 as an opener with a 130sr in the PSL 2 seasons in a row. He will also lash out, he will also vent his frustration or people close to him on his behalf will.

You either die a hero in this world of cricket or you live long enough to become the villain
We live in a society where the powerful crushes the weak, and the weak must keep their mouth shut.

Our national motto is that beggars cant be chosers and its all about being soft, kind, humble, smiley face, cut cake after losing etc.

I would have Imad in the ODI squad as backup. But we need a genuine frontline spinner and that's why Usama Mir needs maximum game-time.
He should not be your back up in ODIs.

He should be the captain!!!

This statement will do him more “harm” than good.
Why would you even say something like that? It reflects why the management / captain didn’t wanted to have him in the team. And should be dropped alone on this statement.

More importantly, how did PCB allow this? He is part of the national squad now - cannot be saying this on TV.

He should not be your back up in ODIs.

He should be the captain!!!

It won't work. Imad has been out of the team for too long to manage it. Whether it was for the right or wrong is different, but right now it would only be a disadvantage if he is given the reigns for being skipper, to manage a group of players who are better than him in all facets.

What action can he take if not selected? Go to court?

He needs to figure out what’s wrong in his PR skills that he got off the wrong foot with the captain, and fix that part.

Yes, nothing is fair, but you gotta make the best with what you have.

Technically speaking, his main skill is opening the bowling attack with the new ball ONLY AND ONLY on the wicket that has a good amount of skid.

Otherwise, his bowling is toothless with the new and/or old ball.

Batting wise, he is a hit or a miss player but better than a couple of hacks in the team.

the action he is referring to is quiting Pakistan cricket and goin on to play franchise. Or, he will start speaking his mind out and be more verbal when critisizing Babar

Yes, you have the ability to read his mind I suppose?

I feel he should pipe down.

No reason to antagonize the PCB admin for making the likes of some GEO presenter happy.

There will be plenty of opportunities to do that in the future when he has retired.

So you are saying that the action he will take is something he is already doing anyways? Amazing ability brother

Imad said “I will take a step and try to resolve all the issues in a professional way going forward”

The softie brigade clearly didn't like it. How dare he said that he will resolve issues. That is going against patwari tradition

To be honest at the time Imad was removed Nawaz was doing really well with the bat in PSL. He was a proper hitter whereas Imad was at that time a decent batsman without the hitting capabilities of Nawaz. Furthermore, Imad had gained a fair bit of weight at the time of him being dropped. I think between Nawaz and Imad its always going to be an honest debate and we cant hold a grudge against Babar for Imad being dropped. Even if Imad was dropped because of Babar, Nawaz has proven himself. The innings against India in the Asia Cup was an innings Imad has never played for us in Pakistan colors against a big opposition. In terms of bowling Nawaz is a better wicket taking option while Imad is more economic. I think in the subcontinent we can easily accomodate all 3 of Imad, Nawaz and Shadab.

Imad and Amir had high hopes of becoming central Pakistani players again when Najam Sethi returned as chairman but so far Sethi hasn't gone out of his way to support these players.

He is fine for T20's. But would I want in him bowling at a ODI world cup semi final against Australia or England? No as he is not a regular wicket taker who spins the ball enough.

In ODI's, you need to take wickets and Imad doesn't do that enough to justify a spot in the 50 over Pakistan white ball team.

I feel he should pipe down.

No reason to antagonize the PCB admin for making the likes of some GEO presenter happy.

There will be plenty of opportunities to do that in the future when he has retired.

I miss the days when players would only let their performances speak for themselves. Imad performed well (mainly with the bat) in the PSL and, having been re-picked for Pakistan in T20s, that should’ve been the end of it.

But we now get these statements. It’s why he is never going to be an effective captain at the highest level. The best captains raise everybody else along with themselves. Imad can raise his own game, but the attitude displayed in these statements sucks the energy out of the dressing room.

Also why he shouldn’t be picked in ODIs. There’s literally no recent benchmark on how well Imad would do in ODI cricket, because he hasn’t played any list A cricket in forever. And t20 performance can’t be a barometer for ODI, for anyone asking.

Just to add the stats for ODI Bradman Imad here:

40 Innings.
17 Not Outs.
4 Fifties in a losing cause.
1 Fifty in a winning cause against Zimb.
44 Average in losing causes.

His most remarkable innings being the 49* against Afghanistan and going through his stats, it just performance after performance against top teams were the match is already over and his picking up the scraps of runs he can muster before the game ends or Pakistan set a sub par total.

Anyone that has seen him bat knows full well he is a bits and pieces batsman. Can you seriously say that he is at the batting level of a proper Batsman like Haris Sohail?

Who said he will be playing just as a batter ?

I like Imad but hes a very toxic individual. I still remember his antics back when Shady was captaining the side against NzLand. Does anyone remember those? Imad just doesn't have problem with Babar, he has a problem with anyone with authority as Imad thinks hes better than them when most probably he is not.

Who said he will be playing just as a batter ?

Imad averages 44 with the ball in ODIs. Compared to Nawaz who averages 27 with the ball in ODIs with both bowlers with similar economy rates then Nawaz is the obvious choice over him in terms of a 5th bowler and spinner.

Imad and Amir had high hopes of becoming central Pakistani players again when Najam Sethi returned as chairman but so far Sethi hasn't gone out of his way to support these players.

The thing is both can happily make a lot of money in franchise cricket and don't really need to play for Pakistan to make a living.

Imad thinks hes better than them when most probably he is not.

He a better tactician and a senior to both Babar & Shadab. Imad made his debut in 2009 when Shadab and Babar were at high school.

Imad deserves respect. I would be upset if I was Imad. Imad is a wanted quantity by all franchises in the world. Babar cant even get picked in the hundred.

He a better tactician and a senior to both Babar & Shadab. Imad made his debut in 2009 when Shadab and Babar were at high school.

Imad deserves respect. I would be upset if I was Imad. Imad is a wanted quantity by all franchises in the world. Babar cant even get picked in the hundred.

He needs to start behaving if he wants to play under babar senior or not

Its funny how your comparing the two as cricketers Its better not to go down that route as someone with Babars skill and class isnt comparable to anyone else in pakistan

He needs to start behaving if he wants to play under babar senior or not

Its funny how your comparing the two as cricketers Its better not to go down that route as someone with Babars skill and class isnt comparable to anyone else in pakistan

Shaheen says hi.

Honestly he's had the numbers to be a regular in all formats, not sure why he gets so hard done by

But this isn’t Babar’s personal club XI. They are Pakistan players. If they are so bad, they should not even be given domestic contracts and not allowed to participate in the domestic competition if the end goal is that they cannot be selected as long as Babar is the captain. You can’t deny opinionated individuals if their performances merit a position in the national side

You’re missing the point. Not everything is about pro Babar and anti Babar.

Bang average cricketer but very entitled person. Don’t think such players can ever be good for dressing room

Whether you bowl darts, with your eyes closed, on tiptoes, or however else, surely it's your performance that counts - economy rate being key in T20 cricket?

Imad prior to getting dropped (2020-2021)
Econ: 7.6
Wickets: 13 average 33
Batting: average 15 @ 135

Nawaz after being given a consistent run (2021-2022)
Econ:7.5
Wickets: 35 average: 26
Batting average 20 @ 138

Make your own interpretations. I would say the intangibles would go in favor of Nawaz. He is the younger man and a better fielder. Competition is good. Imad has reinvented his batting and now has been given a fair shot. But dropping him for a younger man who performed marginally better is not criminal or some form of injustice.

If you are a 33+ cricketer, you have to be thrashing your replacement. If you are barely performing better than a player five years younger, you need to make way.

Imad prior to getting dropped (2020-2021)
Econ: 7.6
Wickets: 13 average 33
Batting: average 15 @ 135

Nawaz after being given a consistent run (2021-2022)
Econ:7.5
Wickets: 35 average: 26
Batting average 20 @ 138

Make your own interpretations. I would say the intangibles would go in favor of Nawaz. He is the younger man and a better fielder. Competition is good. Imad has reinvented his batting and now has been given a fair shot. But dropping him for a younger man who performed marginally better is not criminal or some form of injustice.

Given our batting resources - that alone is a HUGE factor for his selection.

Exactly

He is the best middle order T20 batsman in Pakistan right now

Who’s better than him at this moment?

Exactly

We dont have a middle order.

We have a collection of people who cannot be relied upon to produce runs.

Imad has shown consistency and that is important.

Exactly

Being dropped made him do what he should have done a long time ago. He always claimed to be a bowling allrounder, but he is not. His bowling is gimmicky and it works really well under certain situations. He has always been a solid batter with a great temperament, he knows his shots, knows who to target, and does not buckle in pressure.

But the question is does he merit a spot in ODIs. You can get the same package in ODIs with Haris Sohail. Average bowling (6th option) and fielding and solid batting. Some people might disagree and claim Imad is a better bowler. But when it comes to middle over bowling, they both are probably similar in effectiveness.

The thing is both can happily make a lot of money in franchise cricket and don't really need to play for Pakistan to make a living.
So let them be, Imad is really not an important enough cricketer to fret over if he leaves for franchise cricket.

Nawaz has had more impactful knocks in his short career compared to Imad, who is stat-padding majority of the time.

Can we please not bring in Riz and Babar in every other thread?

We are discussing Imad Wasim.

So let them be, Imad is really not an important enough cricketer to fret over if he leaves for franchise cricket.

Nawaz has had more impactful knocks in his short career compared to Imad, who is stat-padding majority of the time.

That's up to the selectors.

I don't think Amir is desperate to play for Pakistan. Imad is still being picked, but again he's not desperate to play for his country.

Oh man the amount of talk this guy did. I will do this I will do that.

He even made a statement that he is the best All rounder from Pakistan...

Ended up playing 15 dot balls when 45 were required off 45.